Back to Mailbox page
Mailbox free download for Mac

Mailbox Reviews

0.7.7
08 December 2015

Mac version of popular iOS email app (beta).

Monkeyjunkey
22 August 2014

Most helpful

If the nice design of this app makes you consider using it, be aware that all your mails will be going through their servers (if you use IMAP, that's all mail you ever received on that account and if you didn't emtpy the trash it's even that mail). That means Dropbox (on who's board people like Condoleezza Rice are) then have control over your mails and are free to analyze your social graph and content of your mails. If you use mail-encryption this is reduced to the social graph.
Like (13)
Version 0.3.6

Read 18 Mailbox User Reviews

Rate this app:

BadApplesInc
25 May 2016
obviously discontinued and dead: http://www.mailboxapp.com/
Like
Version 0.7.7
Gazman
09 December 2015
I have been using Mailbox on my iPhone and iPad for years, and was an early beta tester on the Mac. In short, I'd been using Mailbox well before Dropbox came along and bought it. Seeing as Dropbox has now decided to withdraw support from Mailbox, I'm now going to be withdrawing my support of Dropbox. In this day and age of iCloud and Office365, Dropbox has now become redundant anyway.
Like
Version 0.7.7
garagethrash
19 August 2015
It's Alive! Mailbox was just updated to version 0.7 and it is fantastic so far. It fixes everything that was wrong with 0.4.2, and adds heaps more stuff like contextual menus, Yosemite UI, etc. This Mac app and the iOS version has legitimately revolutionised the way i handle emails. And they are the only mail apps that i have tried that handle google accounts in a competent fashion. I seriously cannot recommend this mac app highly enough now. Looking forward to version 1.0!
Like
Version 0.4.2
larrymcj
12 August 2015
I really would like to use this, but unfortunately it just forces me to do too many things like "they" want and not like "I" want. I want to know how many unread messages I have in my inbox...they want me to know how many total messages I have there. I come from the land of Gmail and I want to use labels (or at least folders)...they want me to use nothing. They want me to put 10 years worth of email into one single "Archive" bucket and just accept the fact they're never going to add labels or folders (though all they support is Gmail and iCloud). Odd, isn't it, since the two mail services use labels and folders. Thanks...but no thanks.
Like
Version 0.4.2
ian-23
05 August 2015
Unusable due to stability issues, in spite of a nice interface. No updates for 6 months so I assume this has been discretely dropped.
Like
Version 0.4.2
ian-23
05 August 2015
Hopelessly unstable. Lovely interface, but ultimately unusable. No updates for 6 months, so it's safe to assume they've given up on the desktop platform.
Like
Version 0.4.2
ian-23
05 August 2015
Hopelessly unstable. Lovely interface, but ultimately unusable. No updates for 6 months, so it's safe to assume they've given up on the desktop platform.
Like
Version 0.4.2
ian-23
05 August 2015
Hopelessly unstable. Lovely interface, but ultimately unusable. No updates for 6 months, so it's safe to assume they've given up on the desktop platform.
Like
Version 0.4.2
ian-23
05 August 2015
Hopelessly unstable. Lovely interface, but ultimately unusable. No updates for 6 months, so it's safe to assume they've given up on the desktop platform.
Like
Version 0.4.2
Tyrannosaurs
14 July 2015
I love Mailbox on iOS but on the Mac, even for a beta, the stability issues are unacceptable (for me it's genuinely unusable and I'm not alone). Almost as concerning is the fact that there hasn't been a meaningful update to the software since February (the fact it's listed on this site as June is misleading, it's the same version number as released in February) and there's no word on when to expect one. Until there's a new release I wouldn't go near it.
Like
Version 0.4.2
jedimojoaustin
01 July 2015
When they first released this BETA, it was fantastic. Sure, it had bugs, but the mail app I have long looked for. Sadly, with each update, it gets worse and worse. I cannot move things forward to another date more than once, without having close the app and reopen. The delete function doesnt work 50% of the time. And that is just for starters. Plus the updates have all but stopped, the last one in April that made things a whole lot worse, not better. I just dont see Dropbox invested in this app. Too bad, because it was a great app and could still be, but as of Jul 2015-- its a VERY broken app.
Like (1)
Version 0.4.2
Trampas
24 May 2015
I like the interface and don't give a hoot about what any data cruncher does with my emails. It's still work in progress, but as long as it can download my gmail more effectively than Apple Mail, then I'm a tentative convert.
Like
Version 0.4.0
Penguirl
25 April 2015
No, just no. I don’t want iOS on on OS X. It may work fabulously on the iPhone/iPad but it just seems silly on a desktop. Next.
Like
Version 0.4.0
1 answer(s)
Shock-J
Shock-J
10 June 2015
This response make little to no sense to me. Being cross platform is a benefit, not a hindrance, especially when it comes to productivity apps. Just because it was developed on mobile first doesn't mean it's "wrong." And if you haven't noticed, Apple themselves is steadily taking iOS/mobile innovations and moving them to OSX/desktop. Have you even tried the Desktop version of the app? If you've tried it and don't like it, that's one thing, but it's very short sighted to rate it a half-star simply because it started off as and iOS app first.
Like (2)
MacUpdate-Ryan
14 October 2014
This is now in an open beta, so anybody can try it out https://twitter.com/Mailbox/status/521737188154019841/photo/1
Like (1)
Version 0.3.8
Monkeyjunkey
22 August 2014
If the nice design of this app makes you consider using it, be aware that all your mails will be going through their servers (if you use IMAP, that's all mail you ever received on that account and if you didn't emtpy the trash it's even that mail). That means Dropbox (on who's board people like Condoleezza Rice are) then have control over your mails and are free to analyze your social graph and content of your mails. If you use mail-encryption this is reduced to the social graph.
Like (13)
Version 0.3.6
6 answer(s)
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
24 August 2014
Dropbox is a huge company, with hundreds of employees. They never ever charged you a dime for using their services (most user never use the free account). So somewhere they must get the money to pay their employees. And that's by selling your Information you giving to them ...
Like (4)
Chas-m
Chas-m
26 August 2014
To be fair, Dropbox are no worse than GMail/Google in this regard. But to me this is more than enough to not use Mailbox.
Like (4)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
26 August 2014
I'm not worried about Condi Rice at all. But I am reluctant to use this software for some security issue.as you indicated .
Like (2)
Graphic-Mac
Graphic-Mac
26 August 2014
Paranoid much?

They have no more or no less access to your email than every other email provider that offers IMAP mail.
Like (2)
Jim-Leff
Jim-Leff
20 December 2014
-------------
"Paranoid much?

They have no more or no less access to your email than every other email provider that offers IMAP mail"
-------------

...but these guys are not an email provider. Just an email app. Big diff, and the security issue is dismaying.
Like (2)
schmelding
schmelding
19 August 2015
Because Eric Schmidt, Larry Page, Sergey Brin and Al *cough* Gore aren't evil enough?
Like
blobber
20 August 2014
Still a work in progress. I really like the interface, but I'm not sure I will be able too use it. Will integrate with Omnifocus, Reminders, Calendar, etc..? It looks like it has its own approach to GTD.
Like
Version 0.3.6
1 answer(s)
cjred
cjred
21 August 2014
yah really hoping for an Evernote integration.
Like
Max-G
20 August 2014
More info: www.theverge.com/2014/8/19/6031985/mailbox-for-mac-app-beta-review
Like (1)
Version 0.3.6
cmotdibbler
20 August 2014
Anyone else get this to even install? I'm intrigued and want to test but the .dmg image won't open, even with the betacoin they mailed.
Like
Version 0.3.6