Back to TunesKit page
TunesKit free download for Mac

TunesKit Reviews

5.1.0
25 September 2019

iTunes DRM media converter.

lqcindy
16 June 2016

Most helpful

Not bad for the first use. I may continue using this converter.
Like (10)
Version 2.9.2

Read 26 TunesKit User Reviews

Rate this app:

meeleem77
05 November 2018
The best iTunes video converter I have used. Even though it doesn't support Mac OSX 10.14, their support man give me a free windows license so I can use it on my windows computer. It works as expected!
Like (6)
Version 4.3.0
1 answer(s)
andymiller0926
andymiller0926
05 November 2018
It seems they resolved Mac 10.13 or above OS problem with the same solution. Hope this app can be updated soon to work well with Mac
Like
GLW
22 June 2018
Previous versions crashed on High Sierra, so I wanted to see if the present version (4.1.0) fixed things. I launched it (no crash -- a good sign!) and selected a file to try. TunesKit brought up a warning dialog box to the effect that the trial version would only convert 1/3 of the content. So I clicked Continue and .... nothing! It just sits there. So how am I supposed to tell if it works properly?
Like (1)
Version 4.1.0
1 answer(s)
GLW
GLW
28 June 2018
Version 4.1.1 squashed some bugs. I was hoping that the Do Nothing bug might have been one of them, but no..... So I still don't know if TunesKit actually works in High Sierra.
Like
Bdkennedy1
07 March 2018
Crashes on macOS 10.13. Interest lost.
Like
Version 3.5.2
LeMerlot
23 February 2018
Don't buy it if you're using High Sierra ! I bought it and can neither register nor convert. With older OS'es it worked seamlessly.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.2
1 answer(s)
higherterrain-com
higherterrain-com
10 May 2018
Even M4VGear still hasn't found a workaround with their software.
Like
meeleem77
12 January 2018
Great drm removal tool for my Mac. I have used it to convert several iTunes rental movies to MP4 videos at the first time use.
Like (2)
Version 3.5.2
billsm2
30 July 2017
Don't believe the marketing: - It's not lossless, re-encodes audio and video regardless of settings - SLOWWWWWW (cannot do better than 1x speed) Worse still, it modifies you're copy of iTunes which breaks the apps signature on your Mac. Looks more like malware than a proper app.
Like (4)
Version 3.4.7
TVDN
15 June 2017
Well I installed the demo version and it already requested me to install iTunes version 12.6.1.27. Funny thing is that it requests me to download and install from a location other than Apple website. Currently have 12.6.1.25 and looked everywhere in apple website even in the developer section for a "beta" of this new version of iTunes and it does not exist. This stinks of malware all over.
Like (2)
Version 3.4.5
msjavery
24 March 2017
Absolutely did NOT work with a movie I purchased via iTunes
Like (2)
Version 3.3.5
1 answer(s)
TCalhau
TCalhau
30 March 2017
Really very strange to your statement! What movie was that???
Like
ChrisDaemon
07 October 2016
Does what it advertises. I assume by speed and filesize, that it doesn't re-encode the file - but that's still a guess. It works, and I can play my iTunes videos on OSMC. @Julian-Lewis-Booth, I suggest using Subler to then optimize the video file.
Like
Version 3.1.1
gtrsteve
19 July 2016
This is not version 3.0.2. I had to update from the app. So the MacUpdate Desktop didn't update to 3.0.2 either.
Like
Version 3.0.2
lqcindy
16 June 2016
Not bad for the first use. I may continue using this converter.
Like (10)
Version 2.9.2
1 answer(s)
higherterrain-com
higherterrain-com
29 December 2016
Does it work with Version 10.12.2 (16C67) since macOS is out of beta?
Like
Essadee
31 December 2015
Wake me when this thing can fix my iBooks purchases to read on my Kobo — but I guess it will be a long wait since current iBooks DRM hasn't been broken yet and nobody can profit off the work of others if it hasn't been done.
Like
Version 2.8.4
2 answer(s)
EthanO5921
EthanO5921
08 April 2016
Hi Essadee, if you want to remove DRM from the iBooks so as to read on Kobo, actually you can try TunesKit iBook Copy from this: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/56123/tuneskit-ibook-copy. It was released for a rather long time, back to December 2015.
Like
Essadee
Essadee
07 October 2016
Why are you telling me about software that is only valid for stripping DRM off books that is no longer used by Apple? You're just packaging up other people's software and must not really understand how it works or something.
Like
TCalhau
17 September 2015
What justifies inflate both the version number? It seems that almost nothing was changed. However, the numbers jumped from 2.3.1 to 2.8.0. Attitudes like this only spoil the name of the software and the company that develops. We're not idiots!
Like (1)
Version 2.8.0
1 answer(s)
Willy2018
Willy2018
14 October 2015
Hi, the version 2.8.0 supports the newest Mac OS El Capitan now.
Like
Julian-Lewis-Booth
05 September 2015
Quite a few negative(ish) reviews here, thought it only fair to try and rebalance. This application works well. Just because the previous versions weren't 'signed' do not make it a bad application. I have stripped the DRM from a number of my itunes purchased movies because I don't have (or want) AppleTV's for all my TV's. My only complaint is that the output file is not as well optimised for streaming at home as if I had ripped it directly from a Bluray, that said I suspect that it is just the original Apple encoding being replicated without the DRM. Quite expensive but if like me you are stuck in the Apple Ecosystem and want to play your movies on other devices at home then this does what it says on the tin.
Like (3)
Version 2.3.0
Humiston
10 May 2015
Can't even get the trial to run. Tried converting a 2 minute video and it said there is a restriction of only converting the first 5 minutes of a video and would only let me buy it. So, I have no idea if it would even work. So, bye bye!
Like
Version 2.2.2
1 answer(s)
TCalhau
TCalhau
17 May 2015
Hello Humiston. I would like to tell you that I bought a license for that application and I can assure you that it works WELL. However he does not generate a decrypted file that corresponds to 100% to the DRM file. It generates a decrypted file that corresponds to about 99% DRM file. Having said that he is not fully LOSSLESS as stated. An application that is truly 100% lossless is the Requiem 4.1

Therefore I consider the TunesKit a very good application and it works well in almost all cases. But it is still not perfect as the Requiem
Like (1)
iMiNiMaL
03 February 2015
Unsigned application by the developer identified I don't install on my Mac, don't buy and don't recommend! Please, I request that the developers fix this flaw.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.0
1 answer(s)
TunesKit
TunesKit
04 February 2015
Hi there, thanks for your notification. We've fixed the problem and applied the developer identification on TunesKit for Mac now.
Like (4)
anonymous-buzzard-3462
13 November 2014
Does not work with Mavericks/Yosemite's default security settings because the app is not signed by an identified developer. Try M4VGear or Noteburner M4V Converter if you don't want to lower your system's security settings.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.9
2 answer(s)
iMiNiMaL
iMiNiMaL
03 February 2015
Really has no place an application very expensive still not be signed in the current version 2.2.0 this is another thing that developers must fix if you want to see my money! I'm not going to install unsigned application on my Mac.
Like (1)
TunesKit
TunesKit
04 February 2015
Hi, the Mac developer identification was applied to TunesKit successfully. You may have it on your Mac to test if you are interested in this program.
Like (2)
TCalhau
29 October 2014
Now was that I really got confused about TunesKit's claim to be free of losses (Lossless) once on the What's New (Version 2.1.9) appears: "Improve the conversion quality and speed" but how can you improve the quality of conversion if you say do it without losses (Lossless)??? Again I will request more detailed explanations of exactly how the TunesKit works. And I suggest you follow the path of the Requiem 4.1 that only removes the DRM and NOTHING more!!!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.9
5 answer(s)
TCalhau
TCalhau
29 October 2014
See: http://cl.ly/YHLf/How_to_improve_the_quality_of_conversion_of_a_Lossless_conversion.png
Like (1)
UberAzure
UberAzure
24 January 2015
I'll give you an explanation that I think will be definitive for your question:

The differences in size of TunesKit files from the original iTunes files are for 3 reasons:

1 - The TunesKit skip certain tracks. For example, the track menu and the track with the JPEG image with the cover of the film;

2 - The TunesKit apparently re-encodes AAC audio track, because it is a little smaller.

3 - The TunesKit uses a different packaging that iTunes. While iTunes uses M4V, TunesKit uses MP4. These formats are similar, but have some differences, which also creates differences in bytes.

But you should not worry about it. The most important tracks, which are the H.264 video track and the AC3 (Dolby Digital 5.1) audio track, are exactly like the original iTunes tracks without any re-encoding. I know this because I used Requiem 4.1 and TunesKit in the same iTunes file and did the comparison of binary streams (this is the right way to compare). And the files are identical.

Then, continue using the TunesKit. It is an excellent program for what it is intended, that is decrypt content from iTunes. I do not like the way it packages the files, but I can always extract the streams and package in a more robust format, such as Matroska (MKV).
Like (1)
iMiNiMaL
iMiNiMaL
03 February 2015
See what another user wrote down:

VideoDetailer Dec 28, 2014

"I have done a detailed comparison between the video files from a Requiem decrypt and a TunesKit decrypt.

Requiem is a true lossless decryption method.

TunesKit is not really lossless.
1) The video stream bit rate is dropped slightly on the decrypted file (went from 5,006 to 5,001)
2) The number of reference frames used is decreased on the decrypted file (went from 4 to 2)
3) On two channel sound tracks, the bit rate mode is switched from constant bit rate to variable bit rate for the decrypted file
4) On two channel sound tracks, the audio bit rate is decreased on the decrypted file (went from 160 Kbps to 125 Kbps)

All those factors combined are what contribute the decrypted video file being slightly smaller. Most of the shaved off size comes from the changes made to the two channel audio. Surround sound audio remains unchanged in the decrypted file.

At the end of the day, although the decryption is not truly lossless, the changes are very minor and 99% of people won't be able to tell the difference."

---

Soon the TunesKit really is not LossLess! Developers should improve it and make it truly LossLess!
Like (1)
UberAzure
UberAzure
03 February 2015
Dear iMiNiMaL:

I have not checked in the test that I made the items 1 and 2 of the message that you quoted. I have not looked at the video features. I did a binary comparison, and the files are exactly identical. If they are binary identical, so obviously all video features are also equal. It may be that this message was made from some old software version. In the current version, I can guarantee you that it will not re-encodes the H.264 video stream.

As to items 3 and 4, it is true, and I said that in my message. It modifies the stream AAC 2.0. But does it matter so much? I don't know why Apple includes 2 audio tracks in iTunes files. Maybe they have some old product that does not support any type of Dolby Digital. Any player plays Dolby Digital, and if it is stereo, downmix is automatically done to 2 channels.

Of course the ideal would be that it would not change anything. I also agree with your request for the application to be signed. But I think these are minor faults close to the advantages of an application so unusual and easy to use.
Like (1)
iMiNiMaL
iMiNiMaL
09 February 2015
I am testing the application now! But I'd like to see these small problems fixed in a new version so that I could buy it! If these minor problems are fixed I will buy this App!
Like (1)
TCalhau
28 October 2014
Let's my perceptions! I am using this application a week and already removed the DRM from 6 movies that I bought and all worked as expected. However, I have noticed some features that I'll show you below! Overall I consider this application very good and recommend it to anyone who wants to remove the DRM from your iTunes files easily and practice! Let's start with the screenshots that I withdraw the DRM from a movie purchased from the iTunes Store: http://cl.ly/YFL2/TunesKit_Foto_01.png http://cl.ly/YF2L/TunesKit_Foto_02.png http://cl.ly/YFVG/TunesKit_Foto_03.png http://cl.ly/YFPz/TunesKit_Foto_04.png http://cl.ly/YF1P/TunesKit_Foto_05.png http://cl.ly/YFGf/TunesKit_Foto_06.png http://cl.ly/YGFo/TunesKit_Foto_07.png http://cl.ly/YGFB/TunesKit_Foto_08.png Now let's peculiar issues that led me to not give full marks to this application (at least in this version 2.1.8): Unlike the Requiem 4.1 (which unfortunately doesn't work anymore in new Macs) the final file generated by TunesKit 2.1.8 doesn't have the same amount of bits the Original file! As this is the principle of encryption removal, it was expected that the final file (DRM-free) had EXACTLY the same size as the original file. In Requiem 4.1 THIS HAPPENS but unfortunately not the case with this version 2.1.8 of the TunesKit! See the image below where I compare the Original file from the iTunes Store (left side) with the final file (DRM-free) from TunesKit (right side). Notice also that the containers were changed from .m4v to .mp4 (it should be optional but this version still is not). http://cl.ly/YFaz/TunesKit_Foto_09.png Doing a quick account we note that the final file (DRM-free) has 112,104,310 bytes to more than the Original file from the iTunes Store! I contacted the support of TunesKit who kindly replied as follows: ------------ "Dear Tiago, Thanks very much for your feedback. I just asked our developers for more details regarding to your problem. And they said it was normal, because we use different methods to encode the metadata info of the converted iTunes videos. It makes the file size larger than the original one's. In addition, most people buy TunesKit to enable the iTunes movies playable on different devices or media players, but M4V format is not compatible with most devices. That's why we change the file extension to MP4. But you can see the resolution and bit rate is the same as the original movies. Regards Andres" ------------ As I am curious I wanted to make a new test. For that, I exclude the DRM-free version that had just created on TunesKit and again put the TunesKit to remove the DRM from the same movie! Obviously I used the same Original file from iTunes Store! Was to be expected, given the response of support TunesKit the final file (DRM free) possessed EXACTLY the same amount of bits of another file previously generated! But to my surprise it didn't happen! See the image below that the second file generated DRM free (of the same movie) has a different amount of bytes of the previously generated!!!! http://cl.ly/YGFj/TunesKit_Foto_10.png Think with me! If the reason for the final file generated by TunesKit be different from the original file is because the TunesKit move in the metadata of the file, the same movie should have the same metadata changes and thereby generate an output file EXACTLY the same size as how many times it was run! This happens with the Requiem 4.1 which preserve EXACTLY the amount of bits of the Original file it always generates a final file containing the same amount of bits. This fact assures me beyond a shadow of a doubt that the Requiem 4.1 makes only a DRM removal without any video conversion! However, I can't reach that same conclusion logic using the TunesKit 2.1.8 For my happiness, a little while ago I received another email from TunesKit support who told me: ------------ "Dear Tiago, I'm so sorry for the trouble caused to you. Please no worry, I will forward your requirement to our developers soon. It may not be fixed in next version, because the next version is in schedule already. However, we will add this feature in future version. Best Regards Andres" ------------ Finally, we need more information about what exactly are these metadata changes produced and because a second conversion generates a file with different size! Metadata changes should be the same and therefore the final size should be the same as the TunesKit claims not to do video conversion, i.e., be free of losses (Lossless). These are my perceptions about the application. He is a very good application but need to improve on the points already mentioned. Honestly I hope soon the TunesKit becomes the real successor to the late Requiem 4.1
Like (2)
Version 2.1.8
7 answer(s)
TCalhau
TCalhau
28 October 2014
http://cl.ly/YF4L/Response_TunesKit_01.png

http://cl.ly/YFUO/Response_TunesKit_02.png
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
29 October 2014
If the file looks the same while watching it, why do you care if it's slightly smaller. I think you are agonizing over nothing. Also, removing the DRM data should cause a change in file size. That has nothing to do with the file quality. The DRM is a wrapper.
Like (1)
TCalhau
TCalhau
29 October 2014
The DRM is just encryption! His removal does not change ANYTHING in the amount of bits of a file! The proof of this is the operation of Requiem 4.1 that never changes a single bit
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
29 October 2014
And where in the file is the encryption stored? It has to have a key. Otherwise any version of iTunes on another computer could decode it. The iTunes files have your account into embedded too. Maybe you don't realize how encryption works? The other software might have been replacing it with padding.

Either way, it's not going to make a difference. Do you think a few bits off is going to ruin what you are watching? It's the same with audio CDs, they have a high error rate, but also have error correction. So the software fills in the missing pieces, and you never know it. Same with MPEG compression.
Like (1)
TCalhau
TCalhau
31 October 2014
What I do know is that beyond the decryption, the TunesKit changes the metadata of the files! This should be optional! Should be an option to use it as the Requiem 4.1 that would be perfect and win 5 stars with praise!
Like (1)
VideoDetailer
VideoDetailer
28 December 2014
I have done a detailed comparison between the video files from a Requiem decrypt and a TunesKit decrypt.

Requiem is a true lossless decryption method.

TunesKit is not really lossless.
1) The video stream bit rate is dropped slightly on the decrypted file (went from 5,006 to 5,001)
2) The number of reference frames used is decreased on the decrypted file (went from 4 to 2)
3) On two channel sound tracks, the bit rate mode is switched from constant bit rate to variable bit rate for the decrypted file
4) On two channel sound tracks, the audio bit rate is decreased on the decrypted file (went from 160 Kbps to 125 Kbps)

All those factors combined are what contribute the decrypted video file being slightly smaller. Most of the shaved off size comes from the changes made to the two channel audio. Surround sound audio remains unchanged in the decrypted file.

At the end of the day, although the decryption is not truly lossless, the changes are very minor and 99% of people won't be able to tell the difference.
Like (2)
TCalhau
TCalhau
02 January 2015
Thank you very much! You confirmed my suspicions.
I just think the developer should seek to implement a real Lossless decryption or be true in the advertisement of your application! TunesKit Is Not LOSSLESS!
Like (1)
Gordon142
13 October 2014
Somewhat surprisingly, it actually works quite well. Converted a two-hour movie in about 3 minutes. It's definitely doing a straight-up removal of the DRM with no format conversion. iTunes even still recognizes the file as a "purchased" video file with the purchased date and everything (only the user account metadata is missing.) All I can say is I'm pretty impressed. I ponied up for the full version pretty quickly. Until now, I would rent but never buy movies on iTunes because I don't consider DRM-encumbered video to be truly "owned" by me. The ability to losslessly strip the DRM is actually making purchasing video on iTunes a viable option for the first time (I actually made my first purchase specifically to have something to test this with.) Pretty cool. No idea if this works with iTunes rentals, but seriously…don't use it on rentals - play fair.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.8
1 answer(s)
Gordon142
Gordon142
13 October 2014
And yes, the company is a little shady. For instance, they advertise free licenses to people who write reviews on their blog or post YouTube videos about the app (Doesn't say they have to be positive, but I think that's implied.) I probably would not have given my credit card number to them directly. Fortunately, they use a major third-party payment processor, so you don't have to trust them with your info.
Like
bulbousbuy2
11 October 2014
It appears to convert, but the converted (5 minutes in the trial) file doesn't actually play.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.8
1 answer(s)
TunesKit
TunesKit
04 February 2015
Anyone who meets any problem in using TunesKit, please feel free to reach us at: support@tuneskit.com and we will always be there to help you solve your confusions.
Like (1)
Evaminers
19 August 2014
A nice DRM removal tool, although it still contains some minor bugs.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.2
Willy2018
18 August 2014
I'm not going to criticize the software, because it's merely a tool. It can be used for legal purposes and illegal as well. To be honest, I just downloaded this free trial on my macbook pro, and I want to bypass the Fairplay DRM protection and watch the iTunes movies on my home theater system.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.2
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
19 September 2014
Hawk, I don't use this, nor do I buy movies from iTunes, but this might fall into "Fair Use" since it falls into personal use and not for profit.

For example, the recording industry never wants to tell people that you are legally allowed to make a copy of an album and give it to your brother.

And the "home recording act" allows people to make copies of media to allow viewing or listening on a different device. Only the movie industry decided to use DRM and the music industry didn't.

Apple always told people they could burn an audio CD to remove DRM from music back when they used it.
Like (2)
anonymous-thrush-1121
15 August 2014
DreamL5760 wrote only this review since Jun 4, 2014. EthanO5921 wrote this review and more one since Aug 11, 2014. It is strange that only the account of the quickie writes a praise review. Will you live by stealth stealth marketing?
Like (2)
Version 2.1.2
2 answer(s)
Willy2018
Willy2018
19 August 2014
Hi, Hawk, I don't know why are you so emotional for this product. It's only a tool. I noticed there was a declaration on its official site which said "TunesKit is a home edition for personal use only."
I'm sorry to say that I don't have an Apple TV and I won't buy one in future. I think Apple makes its content too proprietary. I purchased a tv show on their store, and I have to buy an Apple device to watch it. It's unreasonable.
Like (3)
Willy2018
Willy2018
19 August 2014
BTW, I'm not try to against the copyright protection
Like (1)
EthanO5921
12 August 2014
Among such programs I've used before, neither would they generate lossless quality, nor would keep Dolby 5.1 audio tracks. This one just works beyond my imagination. It not only delivers fantastic output video quality, but also retains 5.1 audio tracks and subtitles. It's the most powerful iTunes DRM remover I've ever met.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.1
2 answer(s)
Miner
Miner
15 August 2014
And you joined MacUpdate specially to share this with us out of the goodness of your heart.
My emotions are barely contained, thank you so much for that goodness of your heart!
Like (2)
Miner
Miner
15 August 2014
And now seriously:
MacUpdate: ratings like this pollute the whole system. Can you please remove this "review"? Thanks!
Like (2)
DreamL5760
12 August 2014
I have downloaded the trial. It works flawlessly on my Macbook Pro. It's really a cool app! I will recommend it to all my friends.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.1