Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to TunesKit page
TunesKit free download for Mac

TunesKit Reviews5.1.0

25 September 2019

iTunes DRM media converter.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
infantsquirrel
infantsquirrel
Jan 21 2021
5.1.0
1.0
Jan 21 2021
1.0
Version: 5.1.0
I have a software issue (error 14 - a known issue). TunesKit iOS repair cannot fix it, even though it's a known software (not hardware) issue. They are refusing to refund me despite making me provide error logs to them, which prove their software failed to fix the phone. Be weary of this company and this product. It is no different than any other ios repair service, except that they blame you for their software failing and will only refund you half of your money. It's really pathetic when a company cannot stick by their own money back guarantee. They've wasted hours or my time, making me provide logs and "prove" to them the software didn't work - only to tell me that I must have a hardware issue.
schultechris
schultechris
Dec 17 2020
5.1.0
2.0
Dec 17 2020
2.0
Version: 5.1.0
I just checked out the free demo. This couldn't open m4p files. Isn't that what it's for? Maybe it has some redeeming features so I gave it the benefit of the doubt with two stars instead of one.
rnausp
rnausp
Nov 9 2020
5.1.0
1.0
Nov 9 2020
1.0
Version: 5.1.0
Purchased iOS System Recovery, thinking it could help me, as I could not get recover from iTunes. Tuneskit behaved same way. I wasted my money. It says can repair up to 50 kinds of iOS system issues on iPhone/iPad/iPod touch. But in fact, any problem you mark result the same process, reinstalling the firmware. And it can't install unsigned ones. Purchased the 1-Month License, with auto renewal. I want to cancel, but cannot find where... If you do not want to lose money and time, do not buy it.
avdboom
avdboom
Oct 24 2020
5.1.0
1.0
Oct 24 2020
1.0
Version: 5.1.0
I tried tunes kit in a trial, and that seems to work with me. I bought a license, but noticed that the software didn't import an entire song of Spotify. I bought a new Mac (2020) and tried to install the software again, but Apple isn't able to verify the app and I couldn't install it all. I asked a refund, but the disappointing reaction was a link to the refund policy. No refund received. I haven't seen any company that is proud of its product and responds in such way. I do not recommend Tuneskit (Music converter)
francinolttj0440
francinolttj0440
May 28 2020
5.1.0
5.0
May 28 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1.0
It works well on my laptop. I just loved its clear interface, settings and lossless quality.
carloszuletaflex
carloszuletaflex
May 12 2020
5.1.0
1.0
May 12 2020
1.0
Version: 5.1.0
I purchased this software to fix my IPhone 8. After multiple attempts of trying to use this software, which NEVER WORKED...I contacted customer service for assistance via email since they don’t even offer customer service by phone or chat. It took them 6 days to reply to my concerns!!! I wasted my time and money on this software and ended up having to take my phone to the Apple store anyway! The customer service is horrible. Not only did they not help me with the issue they didn’t even offer me a full refund as ADVERTISED ON THEIR WEBSITE. That’s the least they could have done since there software DID NOT WORK ! DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT IT IS A SCAM!!! Below are all the screenshots with proof that their customer service is horrible
meeleem77
meeleem77
Nov 5 2018
4.3.0
5.0
Nov 5 2018
5.0
Version: 4.3.0
The best iTunes video converter I have used. Even though it doesn't support Mac OSX 10.14, their support man give me a free windows license so I can use it on my windows computer. It works as expected!
GLW
GLW
Jun 22 2018
4.1.0
0.0
Jun 22 2018
0.0
Version: 4.1.0
Previous versions crashed on High Sierra, so I wanted to see if the present version (4.1.0) fixed things. I launched it (no crash -- a good sign!) and selected a file to try. TunesKit brought up a warning dialog box to the effect that the trial version would only convert 1/3 of the content. So I clicked Continue and .... nothing! It just sits there. So how am I supposed to tell if it works properly?
Bdkennedy1
Bdkennedy1
Mar 7 2018
3.5.2
0.0
Mar 7 2018
0.0
Version: 3.5.2
Crashes on macOS 10.13. Interest lost.
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
Feb 23 2018
3.5.2
1.0
Feb 23 2018
1.0
Version: 3.5.2
Don't buy it if you're using High Sierra ! I bought it and can neither register nor convert. With older OS'es it worked seamlessly.
meeleem77
meeleem77
Jan 12 2018
3.5.2
5.0
Jan 12 2018
5.0
Version: 3.5.2
Great drm removal tool for my Mac. I have used it to convert several iTunes rental movies to MP4 videos at the first time use.
billsm2
billsm2
Jul 30 2017
3.4.7
0.5
Jul 30 2017
0.5
Version: 3.4.7
Don't believe the marketing: - It's not lossless, re-encodes audio and video regardless of settings - SLOWWWWWW (cannot do better than 1x speed) Worse still, it modifies you're copy of iTunes which breaks the apps signature on your Mac. Looks more like malware than a proper app.
TVDN
TVDN
Jun 15 2017
3.4.5
0.0
Jun 15 2017
0.0
Version: 3.4.5
Well I installed the demo version and it already requested me to install iTunes version 12.6.1.27. Funny thing is that it requests me to download and install from a location other than Apple website. Currently have 12.6.1.25 and looked everywhere in apple website even in the developer section for a "beta" of this new version of iTunes and it does not exist. This stinks of malware all over.
msjavery
msjavery
Mar 24 2017
3.3.5
1.0
Mar 24 2017
1.0
Version: 3.3.5
Absolutely did NOT work with a movie I purchased via iTunes
ChrisDaemon
ChrisDaemon
Oct 7 2016
3.1.1
5.0
Oct 7 2016
5.0
Version: 3.1.1
Does what it advertises. I assume by speed and filesize, that it doesn't re-encode the file - but that's still a guess. It works, and I can play my iTunes videos on OSMC. @Julian-Lewis-Booth, I suggest using Subler to then optimize the video file.
gtrsteve
gtrsteve
Jul 19 2016
3.0.2
0.0
Jul 19 2016
0.0
Version: 3.0.2
This is not version 3.0.2. I had to update from the app. So the MacUpdate Desktop didn't update to 3.0.2 either.
lqcindy
lqcindy
Jun 16 2016
2.9.2
4.0
Jun 16 2016
4.0
Version: 2.9.2
Not bad for the first use. I may continue using this converter.
Essadee
Essadee
Dec 31 2015
2.8.4
0.0
Dec 31 2015
0.0
Version: 2.8.4
Wake me when this thing can fix my iBooks purchases to read on my Kobo — but I guess it will be a long wait since current iBooks DRM hasn't been broken yet and nobody can profit off the work of others if it hasn't been done.
TCalhau
TCalhau
Sep 17 2015
2.8.0
2.5
Sep 17 2015
2.5
Version: 2.8.0
What justifies inflate both the version number? It seems that almost nothing was changed. However, the numbers jumped from 2.3.1 to 2.8.0. Attitudes like this only spoil the name of the software and the company that develops. We're not idiots!
Julian-Lewis-Booth
Julian-Lewis-Booth
Sep 5 2015
2.3.0
4.5
Sep 5 2015
4.5
Version: 2.3.0
Quite a few negative(ish) reviews here, thought it only fair to try and rebalance. This application works well. Just because the previous versions weren't 'signed' do not make it a bad application. I have stripped the DRM from a number of my itunes purchased movies because I don't have (or want) AppleTV's for all my TV's. My only complaint is that the output file is not as well optimised for streaming at home as if I had ripped it directly from a Bluray, that said I suspect that it is just the original Apple encoding being replicated without the DRM. Quite expensive but if like me you are stuck in the Apple Ecosystem and want to play your movies on other devices at home then this does what it says on the tin.
Humiston
Humiston
May 10 2015
2.2.2
0.5
May 10 2015
0.5
Version: 2.2.2
Can't even get the trial to run. Tried converting a 2 minute video and it said there is a restriction of only converting the first 5 minutes of a video and would only let me buy it. So, I have no idea if it would even work. So, bye bye!
iMiNiMaL
iMiNiMaL
Feb 3 2015
2.2.0
0.0
Feb 3 2015
0.0
Version: 2.2.0
Unsigned application by the developer identified I don't install on my Mac, don't buy and don't recommend! Please, I request that the developers fix this flaw.
anonymous-buzzard-3462
anonymous-buzzard-3462
Nov 13 2014
2.1.9
0.0
Nov 13 2014
0.0
Version: 2.1.9
Does not work with Mavericks/Yosemite's default security settings because the app is not signed by an identified developer. Try M4VGear or Noteburner M4V Converter if you don't want to lower your system's security settings.
TCalhau
TCalhau
Oct 29 2014
2.1.9
2.5
Oct 29 2014
2.5
Version: 2.1.9
Now was that I really got confused about TunesKit's claim to be free of losses (Lossless) once on the What's New (Version 2.1.9) appears: "Improve the conversion quality and speed" but how can you improve the quality of conversion if you say do it without losses (Lossless)??? Again I will request more detailed explanations of exactly how the TunesKit works. And I suggest you follow the path of the Requiem 4.1 that only removes the DRM and NOTHING more!!!
TCalhau
TCalhau
Oct 28 2014
2.1.8
2.5
Oct 28 2014
2.5
Version: 2.1.8
Let's my perceptions! I am using this application a week and already removed the DRM from 6 movies that I bought and all worked as expected. However, I have noticed some features that I'll show you below! Overall I consider this application very good and recommend it to anyone who wants to remove the DRM from your iTunes files easily and practice! Let's start with the screenshots that I withdraw the DRM from a movie purchased from the iTunes Store: http://cl.ly/YFL2/TunesKit_Foto_01.png http://cl.ly/YF2L/TunesKit_Foto_02.png http://cl.ly/YFVG/TunesKit_Foto_03.png http://cl.ly/YFPz/TunesKit_Foto_04.png http://cl.ly/YF1P/TunesKit_Foto_05.png http://cl.ly/YFGf/TunesKit_Foto_06.png http://cl.ly/YGFo/TunesKit_Foto_07.png http://cl.ly/YGFB/TunesKit_Foto_08.png Now let's peculiar issues that led me to not give full marks to this application (at least in this version 2.1.8): Unlike the Requiem 4.1 (which unfortunately doesn't work anymore in new Macs) the final file generated by TunesKit 2.1.8 doesn't have the same amount of bits the Original file! As this is the principle of encryption removal, it was expected that the final file (DRM-free) had EXACTLY the same size as the original file. In Requiem 4.1 THIS HAPPENS but unfortunately not the case with this version 2.1.8 of the TunesKit! See the image below where I compare the Original file from the iTunes Store (left side) with the final file (DRM-free) from TunesKit (right side). Notice also that the containers were changed from .m4v to .mp4 (it should be optional but this version still is not). http://cl.ly/YFaz/TunesKit_Foto_09.png Doing a quick account we note that the final file (DRM-free) has 112,104,310 bytes to more than the Original file from the iTunes Store! I contacted the support of TunesKit who kindly replied as follows: ------------ "Dear Tiago, Thanks very much for your feedback. I just asked our developers for more details regarding to your problem. And they said it was normal, because we use different methods to encode the metadata info of the converted iTunes videos. It makes the file size larger than the original one's. In addition, most people buy TunesKit to enable the iTunes movies playable on different devices or media players, but M4V format is not compatible with most devices. That's why we change the file extension to MP4. But you can see the resolution and bit rate is the same as the original movies. Regards Andres" ------------ As I am curious I wanted to make a new test. For that, I exclude the DRM-free version that had just created on TunesKit and again put the TunesKit to remove the DRM from the same movie! Obviously I used the same Original file from iTunes Store! Was to be expected, given the response of support TunesKit the final file (DRM free) possessed EXACTLY the same amount of bits of another file previously generated! But to my surprise it didn't happen! See the image below that the second file generated DRM free (of the same movie) has a different amount of bytes of the previously generated!!!! http://cl.ly/YGFj/TunesKit_Foto_10.png Think with me! If the reason for the final file generated by TunesKit be different from the original file is because the TunesKit move in the metadata of the file, the same movie should have the same metadata changes and thereby generate an output file EXACTLY the same size as how many times it was run! This happens with the Requiem 4.1 which preserve EXACTLY the amount of bits of the Original file it always generates a final file containing the same amount of bits. This fact assures me beyond a shadow of a doubt that the Requiem 4.1 makes only a DRM removal without any video conversion! However, I can't reach that same conclusion logic using the TunesKit 2.1.8 For my happiness, a little while ago I received another email from TunesKit support who told me: ------------ "Dear Tiago, I'm so sorry for the trouble caused to you. Please no worry, I will forward your requirement to our developers soon. It may not be fixed in next version, because the next version is in schedule already. However, we will add this feature in future version. Best Regards Andres" ------------ Finally, we need more information about what exactly are these metadata changes produced and because a second conversion generates a file with different size! Metadata changes should be the same and therefore the final size should be the same as the TunesKit claims not to do video conversion, i.e., be free of losses (Lossless). These are my perceptions about the application. He is a very good application but need to improve on the points already mentioned. Honestly I hope soon the TunesKit becomes the real successor to the late Requiem 4.1
Gordon142
Gordon142
Oct 13 2014
2.1.8
5.0
Oct 13 2014
5.0
Version: 2.1.8
Somewhat surprisingly, it actually works quite well. Converted a two-hour movie in about 3 minutes. It's definitely doing a straight-up removal of the DRM with no format conversion. iTunes even still recognizes the file as a "purchased" video file with the purchased date and everything (only the user account metadata is missing.) All I can say is I'm pretty impressed. I ponied up for the full version pretty quickly. Until now, I would rent but never buy movies on iTunes because I don't consider DRM-encumbered video to be truly "owned" by me. The ability to losslessly strip the DRM is actually making purchasing video on iTunes a viable option for the first time (I actually made my first purchase specifically to have something to test this with.) Pretty cool. No idea if this works with iTunes rentals, but seriously…don't use it on rentals - play fair.
bulbousbuy2
bulbousbuy2
Oct 11 2014
2.1.8
0.5
Oct 11 2014
0.5
Version: 2.1.8
It appears to convert, but the converted (5 minutes in the trial) file doesn't actually play.
Evaminers
Evaminers
Aug 19 2014
2.1.2
4.5
Aug 19 2014
4.5
Version: 2.1.2
A nice DRM removal tool, although it still contains some minor bugs.
Willy2018
Willy2018
Aug 18 2014
2.1.2
5.0
Aug 18 2014
5.0
Version: 2.1.2
I'm not going to criticize the software, because it's merely a tool. It can be used for legal purposes and illegal as well. To be honest, I just downloaded this free trial on my macbook pro, and I want to bypass the Fairplay DRM protection and watch the iTunes movies on my home theater system.
anonymous-thrush-1121
anonymous-thrush-1121
Aug 15 2014
2.1.2
0.5
Aug 15 2014
0.5
Version: 2.1.2
DreamL5760 wrote only this review since Jun 4, 2014. EthanO5921 wrote this review and more one since Aug 11, 2014. It is strange that only the account of the quickie writes a praise review. Will you live by stealth stealth marketing?
EthanO5921
EthanO5921
Aug 12 2014
2.1.1
5.0
Aug 12 2014
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
Among such programs I've used before, neither would they generate lossless quality, nor would keep Dolby 5.1 audio tracks. This one just works beyond my imagination. It not only delivers fantastic output video quality, but also retains 5.1 audio tracks and subtitles. It's the most powerful iTunes DRM remover I've ever met.
DreamL5760
DreamL5760
Aug 12 2014
2.1.1
5.0
Aug 12 2014
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
I have downloaded the trial. It works flawlessly on my Macbook Pro. It's really a cool app! I will recommend it to all my friends.