Back to Shazam page
Shazam free download for Mac

Shazam Reviews

2.9
05 December 2019

Discover and share songs playing around you; Mac version of the popular iOS app.

knappeduivel
19 February 2018

Most helpful

This desktop version of Shazam is very disappointing. The interface is confusing as it seems lifeless when it doesn't recognize a song, and that happens a lot. My guess is 10-20% is matched, sadly there are a lot of mistakes. Not just different versions of a song but different artist and song altogether. Needs work.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.5

Read 14 Shazam User Reviews

Rate this app:

knappeduivel
19 February 2018
This desktop version of Shazam is very disappointing. The interface is confusing as it seems lifeless when it doesn't recognize a song, and that happens a lot. My guess is 10-20% is matched, sadly there are a lot of mistakes. Not just different versions of a song but different artist and song altogether. Needs work.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.5
ilian-1
24 December 2017
I am trying to avoid the stupid mac app store and you are sending me right there , WTF download means to you ???
Like
Version 1.2.5
1 answer(s)
knappeduivel
knappeduivel
19 February 2018
Shazam offers no direct download option. Like it or not, many developers choose to distribute only trough app stores.
Like (1)
CharltonB
23 October 2017
I like that all my songs are saved automatically. 4 because sometimes the app finds original songs (instead of remix i was scanning).
Like
Version 1.2.4
Albabe
31 August 2017
This app is crap. It doesn't do ANYTHING on my Mac besides start-up... and sit there..
Like
Version 1.2.3
Jimw
24 June 2017
According to the 'help' information, Version 1.1.2 will only work with a single sample rate at 24 bit than can be set in the Apple included app 'Audio Mido Setup'. If you input device does not have this option Shazam will not work.

From the 'Help' info with the app:
- You will need to open the Audio MIDI Setup Utility.
- Then, please ensure that both the Built-in Microphone and Built-in Output devices are both set to 44100.0Hz/2ch-24bit integer.

Like
Version 1.2.2
Fredducker
30 January 2017
It works about once every 20 songs that play in your house. The rest of the time it's probably just streaming what happens inside people's houses to god-knows-what-surveillance agency without anyone knowing. And another thing is that if you're a writer who looks at your keyboard a lot, the message "Shazam has timed out. Restart/Dismiss" will eventually steal the focus when you least expect it and you'll have typed a few things into oblivion. Wish it was a Growl-type notification, or just became grey when it times out...
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
Leesa
15 December 2016
I've D/Led this and have tried to run it on my 2008 Mac Pro and it does nothing at all. I listen to a lot of Podcasts in Safari that play unusual songs that I'd Love to Identify, and it doesn't seem to "hear" anything in Safari. In fact, it doesn't "hear" anything on my Mac.

And as far as I can tell, there are no Preferences and the so-called "Help," doesn't "help" at all. And there is no Help on their Site.

As far as I ca tell, this is crap.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Albabe
10 December 2016
I D/Led this and it won't even start-up... nothing... nada... zip.
Like
Version 1.2.1
hmfwic47
23 October 2016
The only thing that irritates me about this app, ver 1.1.2, is that when I start up my computer, I get an alert that says "Shazam is now finding the music around you." It has a OK button to click. I should not have to do this each time. The alert should disappear after 5-10 seconds. Hope you can fix this.
Like
Version 1.1.2
Unfortunately, when you REALLY need to know the title of an important gem, something rare or old but FIRST CLASS that ANY musically cultivated person knows, it fails, no way!
Like (1)
Version 1.1.2
hmfwic47
27 August 2015
Apple's App Store app says version 1.1 is available. Tried installing it. Got a crash report 5 times. The report only was visible for 1 second. When I went to the app store app for Shazam and clicked on "Open" under the icon, another crash report came up. I don't recommend installing 1.1 until a new version comes out.
Like
Version 1.0.1
Panocha
24 August 2014
It doesn't seem to work at all. My iPhone and Android versions work great, and when I saw this, I was excited to try it. I have the input set to my built-in mic on my MacBook Pro, and no matter what I try, it doesn't pick anything up at all. I am sitting here, hitting it on my Android, and it detects everything on the TV with no problem, but the Mac version can't hear a thing.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Leesa
Leesa
10 December 2016
It won'r even start-up on my 2010 or 2008 Mac Pro.
Like
Soneé
02 August 2014
I decided to install this application in hopes that I will be as good as it’s iPhone companion app. And I am very pleased by the results, Shazam is so amazing that last night there was a party going on across the street and Shazam picked up and identified the songs with ease! Since this is an new Mac app there is some room for improvement. One feature that I will like to see is the ability to clear the table view to my knowledge I haven’t seen any button or function to do this. Also I when clicking on a notification I would really like it to clear from notification center. Lastly I will really like to have manual detection just like the iPhone app via a hotkey. Overall Shazam is simply that Shazam! Note: This app was tested on an iMac Late 2012 (With dual mics. some reviewers are saying that I doesn’t work but, it works fine for me at least)
Like
Version 1.0.1
cjred
01 August 2014
Dear Shazam, Just one comment can we have a black colored menubar icon? thanks !
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1