Back to MemoryTamer page
MemoryTamer free download for Mac

MemoryTamer Reviews

1.5.3
09 October 2019

Automatic memory-freeing app.

pnoguchi
29 July 2014

Most helpful

Very useful memory optimizer. Many have said that OSX memory management, especially in Mavericks doesn't need any help form apps like these. Well, that may be true for some, but I have had my MacBook Pro run out of memory such that it looks up with no recourse but a shutdown and restart. Memory Tamer (0.9.1) works the best to free memory of several memory optimizers that I have, even the sudo purge command in Terminal. The several preferences take some time to understand for optimal use, and the the author seems to introduce new features on a very rapid basis. For example, the new auto-threshold seems to interact with the trim threshold in a way that to me is not quite predictable (I had set the trim threshold to twice the default threshold in version 0.8.x); the trim resets to some number that is very close to the total free memory after using Free Memory now. Trim is very useful, as it seems to unobtrusively "trim" a bit of allocated memory to free in a transparent way. This is particularly useful when using Google Chrome and multiple tabs, as each tab takes up some small amount of memory. Periodically as Chrome keeps using free memory, the auto trim function will reset it back to a useful level I am very please with this useful app, and find it well worth the small charge for it.
Like (2)
Version 0.9

Read 21 MemoryTamer User Reviews

Rate this app:

Aargl
08 December 2016
It's working, no doubt: just run it while looking at Activity Monitor RAM tab... But I was unable to find anywhere an explanation on how to set the preferences! Not even a "back to default" button... :-/
Like
Version 1.4.6
Panocha
27 July 2016
Bad link to adware crap fake installer. Go to the author; http://www.memorytamer.com/
Like (1)
Version 1.4.5.7
user-z1
18 April 2016
Is it possible to keep open dozens of applications; browser with half a hundred tabs? And at the same time continue to operate the system? Answer: In general, yes, if you have 16 GB of RAM or more ... However, if you have a MacBook with 4GB RAM? Of course - no, that's crazy! The system simply will stand! But, believe me, this madness is possible with this great application ... "Memory tamer" application . The latter, a free add up to 20-25% of RAM, at the expense of efficient compression and memory reallocation (MAK OS Why it can not do?) That allow you to run more resource-intensive processes. But it is possible for a second snubs when switching between processes. Memory tamer, unlike the majority of similar, do not suffer from memory leaks. And they do not lead to freezing of the system when they are doing their job. There are some minor inconvenience to configure the application. You have to find the optimal result empirically. It is hoped that the developer will be able to optimize the application in the direction of its tuning the parameters of the system and user processes running.
Like
Version 1.4.5.5
1 answer(s)
user-z1
user-z1
12 May 2016
There is another application in addition to the above. SmartMemoryCleaner - he is not here macupdate, but it is in the appstore https://itunes.apple.com/ru/app/smartmemorycleaner/id505099079?mt=12 This is a unique application for the memory cleaning application to complete its work and processes. In what can be independently set clear behavior for each process or application. Nothing of the kind proposed in other applications to clean up the memory on mac. If you want to get to work the old or weak mac, for which there is no physical possibility to build-up the amount of RAM - is salvation. Three applications will save our weak mac: "SmartMemoryCleaner" (set only for cleanup applications and processes) + "Memory tamer" (http: // www .macupdate.com / app / mac / 51681 / memorytamer), (adjustable compression (not redistribution) and pruning inactive memory, instructions for setting up the developer + "app Tamer" https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/35293/app-tamer (stop or slow down processes and applications). Just want to say that the proposed option for coalition work above the name of the application requires a thoughtful setting. Probably will not be able to adjust smoothly the first time, but believe me, it works, and your mac will breathe a sigh of the new.
Like
RavenNevermore
17 September 2015
Unlike some snake oil apps that claim to do this or that, this actually works. The current memory management system in OS X does not work that well. It tries to hold onto all the free RAM, so that if you re-launch an app it will load quicker. But my experience is as you run low on free RAM performance suffers, Then you get the dreaded spinning beachball. And I have 8GB of RAM. The developer found the same thing. So he wrote this app to request all the free RAM, which it then releases. This is similar to what the purge command used to do. I've found this does what it says it does and works well. The only issue is the app itself suffers from a memory leak. So you have to restart it every now and then.
Like
Version 1.4.4
1 answer(s)
siamlotus
siamlotus
27 October 2015
Hi RavenNevermore, I have tried many of these memory apps which all seem to purge the system and actually make the system slower. What I have found is that by using Onyx to reconstruct the DYLD cache it frees up "inactive" memory which makes my Mac faster. No idea why as I edit photos and surf with my Mac but you may want to try this out.
Regards,
Shaun.
Like (1)
Jason-Milles-76
29 July 2015
The urban legends amongst apps. As other comparable apps this SEEMS to work but in practice it doesn't. In fact, it slows down your total OSX performance on several levels. The only valid reason for clearing up memory is when you are using an app that has huge memory leaks. Otherwise this is wast of money.
Like
Version 1.4.3
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
17 September 2015
I have to disagree here. The new memory system in OS X just doesn't work well. Apple is using the idea that free RAM is wasted RAM, so they hold on to most of it. In my experience even though I have 8 GB of RAM, as soon as the free RAM drops to a certain point I'll have lots of spinning beachballls, etc.

I used to use the purge command in Terminal to free up unused RAM, but that no longer works in Mavericks or Yosemite. So this app will request all of the free RAM and then release it. This gives an increase in performance.

Don't always listen to Apple. They also say you no longer need to defrag a hard drive, but that's not true either!

Plus you clearly didn't try it, so why are you giving it 2 stars? That's not how it works here. This isn't about your opinion.

Like
pnoguchi
10 April 2015
Five stars!

I have used memory tamer for quite awhile (since version 0.9x, maybe longer since it used to be free). I have been very satisfied with its performance, and the developer continues to update the product in a transparent way.

Since he nows offers an unlimited use license , I decided to buy that license (just $2.49!) because I use this on every computer, and am sure that I would outgrow the 3-use limit with the Paddle license. One tip if you do this, you will need to deactivate the paddle license using the menu directly in MemoryTamer, and then use the activation method described in the FastSpring email. Unfortunately you cannot actually see the license number within MemoryTamer itself, unlike the case with the Paddle registration.

In terms of memory management, the menu now lists a number of parameters including Memory Pressure, so you can monitor that without going to Activity Monitor. There have been several times especially recently with the Yosemite 10.10.3 update where Memory Press has gone up to 51%; quitting applications helps to ease the pressure, and you can also relaunch MemoryTamer which helps in some cases.

Like (2)
Version 1.4.2.1
ApplesGuy
13 March 2015
Love MemoryTamer! It is definitely the best program to free up memory and auto free up memory without slowdowns! wow! I tried various other free program that free up memory such as memory clean and MemoryTamer beats it hands down it terms of performance, function and controls! 5 out of 5 stars rating! It is definitely worth $2.49! You get quality for a small price vs the free crap memory freeing programs-- you get what you pay for!
Like (2)
Version 1.4.2
tjekov37
20 February 2015
After install and start, it's freezing all my MAC OSX Yosemite 10.10.2 / clean install / !!!!!
Like
Version 1.4.1.1
3 answer(s)
Eric-Henderson
Eric-Henderson
20 February 2015
That's rather odd. MemoryTamer doesn't do anything that should freeze the system for more than a few seconds (if at all), so I'm not sure why that is happening.

Are you on the latest 1.4.1.1? I fixed a MemoryTamer crash in that version.
Like (2)
tjekov37
tjekov37
21 February 2015
But it is FACT for me ! After uninstall MemoryTamer...Yosemite worked fine !
Like
Eric-Henderson
Eric-Henderson
23 February 2015
It's unfortunate that you are unable to use MemoryTamer, but it would help if you could give me more detailed information on what is happening so I might actually be able to fix the problem. I haven't gotten any other reports like yours, so I don't really know anything useful for solving the issues.

If you could start a conversation with me at eric@memorytamer.com, I might be figure out the information I need to allow me to get the problem solved so that you can use MemoryTamer without it causing trouble for you.
Like (1)
Andy-Hewitt
27 January 2015
Just a couple of notes so far. I've been running the demo for a couple of days, I need to know if I can trust this app on *my* system first, and of course see if it does have any value for me. So far it does seem to be doing 'something', although with 16GB of memory in my iMac, I haven't ever pushed it to the limit. Otherwise I do notice that the usage chart in iStat Menus is showing less usage than normal (usually it sits around 60-70% usage, with MT running it's just under 50%).

My main thing is the lack of any kind of documentation. At least some basic explanation of the functions would be helpful - for example, you did post a reply further down here regarding the trimming settings, but it would be better the know a bit more I think, such as why do we need to change these settings, and what would be a good setting to use, and why choose 'memory pressure' over 'plain allocation' - they have no meaning to us! And what on earth is 'auto escalate for?

I like the idea of the auto memory clearing, a feature that is indeed handy compared to other apps (I have one or two others that can do this manually, as indeed can a reboot or even a simple logout and login).

If I could understand better the meanings of the functions, and based on my trial so far, I wouldn't hesitate to pay the very reasonable price for this.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.4.2
2 answer(s)
Eric-Henderson
Eric-Henderson
28 January 2015
Unfortunately, I've never been good about documenting things. I got started on a PDF manual for MemoryTamer, but so far all I've completed is the "getting started" section. I also have an unrelated full-time job, so MemoryTamer is developed in my free time, and I tend to spend more time on the code than the documentation.

At one point, I had created some documentation located at https://github.com/henderea/MemoryTamer/blob/master/USING.md, but it is now quite a bit out of date. However, it may explain some of the things you are unsure about, such as the difference between "memory pressure" and "plain allocation", as well as what "auto-escalate" is.

I do hope to get the manual completed at some point, but until recently, MemoryTamer had been on the back burner, and even now, the time I spend on it is not as much as when I first started working on it. I do have some features planned, and I am working on them, but the progress is somewhat slow. The current feature I'm working on is the ability to run a purge from MemoryTamer, but I haven't managed to get it to work yet, mainly since it involves some complicated stuff that I haven't worked with before (specifically, inter-process communication and privileged helpers).
Like (1)
Andy-Hewitt
Andy-Hewitt
28 January 2015
Thanks for that Eric, very much a help. The link has actually explained enough to me that I now at least understand why I might need to use each setting. Could be worth bunging it within the DMG as a 'Read me' along with a caveat about being a bit out of date. It was still helpful nonetheless.

Now I'm trying to buy this, but the PayPal link seems broken.

All the best.
Like
Panocha
27 January 2015
I don't know if it can be trusted. It wouldn't run at all, and kept quitting until I allowed it internet access in my application firewall. Who knows what's it's sending out or letting in. There were a lot of addresses, not just an update check. No application like this should require internet access!
Like
Version 1.2.4.1
3 answer(s)
Eric-Henderson
Eric-Henderson
27 January 2015
It requires internet access for the license handling. The license handling is implemented by an external framework, so I don't really have control over the web requests it makes. However, I'm confident that the licensing framework I use is not doing things it shouldn't be.
Like (1)
Panocha
Panocha
28 January 2015
It's not just your site for a license or update check.
It is trying to go to; paddleapi.com, hockeyapp.net, and others.
If it fails to work at all without an internet connection, then it's a problem for laptop users.
Also, I installed it for the first time yesterday to try it, and it said it had 7 days, and now today, after installing the update, it says 0 days and the trial is expired.
With so many problems, how can it be trusted?
just getting the app to run shouldn't be so hard.
Like
Eric-Henderson
Eric-Henderson
28 January 2015
Paddle (and related sites like paddleapi.com) are related to the purchasing framework I use. HockeyApp is the crash reporting, feedback collecting, and update supplying service I use.

While hopefully not the case, it is possible that the demo version doesn't work without an internet connection.

As for the sudden expiration of the trial, I had to change an API value in the Paddle framework in the latest version, so it's possible that that messed up the trial. If you exit the app and delete /Users/<your username>/Library/Preferences/us.myepg.MemoryTamer.plist (you may need to hold down the option key and use the "go" menu in Finder to get to the Library folder), then re-run the app, it should hopefully reset the trial (although it will also reset any setting changes you have made).

If you continue having trouble running the demo without an internet connection, please contact me at eric@memorytamer.com and I'll give you a 100% off coupon to use for getting a license. I'd rather have one more satisfied customer than a couple of dollars.

My main reason for charging for MemoryTamer is because I do have costs related to services and tools I use for it. The payments for those services and tools initially come out of my personal funds, so I'm mainly just trying to at least break even.
Like (2)
Iliketrash
23 October 2014
I have tried at least six of the competitive apps like this, most free, some paid. I have also tried the purge command (yes, with the dev tools installed). Some of these methods don’t do much, or if they do work for a while, they eventually lose to the memory leaking. Some have to be invoked manually. Memory Tamer is the first one that has best solved the problem, by far. Some apps (I’m looking at you, Eye TV) are what can only be called agressive leakers. When my RAM is pretty full and Eye TV is playing from the buffer or from a file, it leaks about 2 MB per second. Under those conditions, Memory Tamer runs as often as every two minutes, but it doesn’t slow the system down or cause any problems even while watching TV. I have seen Memory Tamer apparently get beaten by Eye TV when under an extreme case of RAM usage and Eye TV’s crappiness, resulting in a lot of swap space being used, but it did not cause me to have to reboot as I normally would have. I, too, am not happy that OS X has come to this sad state of affairs, but Memory Tamer has saved the day. And at $2.49, it’s essentially free.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.3
1 answer(s)
Eric-Henderson
Eric-Henderson
23 October 2014
I opened up voting on the next feature of MemoryTamer recently, and so far the front runner is detecting rapid memory drop.

My current plan for that feature is to let the user configure the drop amount (as percent of free or total memory, or as raw amount of free memory in MB), the timeframe (in seconds), and the action to use while in that state (trim, free, ignore). I may even include an override setting for the minimum 30-second interval between trims (and 60 seconds between full freeings) when in a rapid memory drop situation. I could also potentially have a second pair of thresholds to use in rapid memory drop situations. I would probably have the rapid memory drop state last for a configurable amount of time before it re-checks if memory is still dropping fast.

There's a lot of potential for the feature, and it could potentially help with this situation. Voting goes until Nov 1, but I think there's a good chance it will win.
Like
Annie-Walker
21 October 2014
I didn't allow myself to star rate the app. I'm taking the time to do so now. Annie
Like
Version 1.2.2
4 answer(s)
tjekov37
tjekov37
21 October 2014
its true !!!! Mr. Henderson, pleas make the app better and fix the problem, not add the stuped funktions !!!!!!!!!!!!
Like
Eric-Henderson
Eric-Henderson
21 October 2014
@tjekov37 "make the app better" is kind of vague. Is there something specific you want me to improve on?

Also, what problem is it that you are referring to?
Like
Eric-Henderson
Eric-Henderson
21 October 2014
@tjekov37 "make the app better" is kind of vague. Is there something specific you want me to improve on?

Also, what problem are you referring to?
Like
Eric-Henderson
Eric-Henderson
21 October 2014
Sorry, it didn't show my first comment right away (even after refreshing the page a few times), so I tried commenting again and ended up with 2.
Like
jack2001
07 October 2014
ce ne sono migliori gratis
Like
Version 1.1.4
1 answer(s)
Eric-Henderson
Eric-Henderson
07 October 2014
Google Translate: "there are better free"

I agree, to some extent. Memory Diag is a free app in the Mac App Store that is much quicker at freeing up memory and still does a pretty good job. I probably wouldn't have created MemoryTamer in the first place if Memory Diag had an automatic freeing capability. I still keep it running in my menu bar because it has a great visualization of the memory usage, shows the individual memory amounts (which I haven't added to MemoryTamer yet), and can sometimes free a tiny bit more memory after freeing with MemoryTamer.

I will make no claims that MemoryTamer is better than other memory freeing apps. However, I will say that for me, it tends to work better overall than the other apps I've tried (which are only a few). Some apps might be better in certain areas (Memory Diag is one example), but I personally get more overall benefit from MemoryTamer than the others I've tried.

If you have any specific memory freeing apps that you feel are better, it would be nice to hear what they are. I might be able to make improvements to MemoryTamer by looking at what my competition does.

MemoryTamer is a paid app because I do spend some of my time on it and also have development costs associated with it. These development costs include things such as $100/year for a Apple developer account (which I need for code signing so the app can run on Mountain Lion and up), as well as other paid services I use to improve the app (such as the automatic crash reporting system I use). Right now, I'm still at the point of trying to cover my development costs for the year, since I have to pay for the services up front and have only been selling MemoryTamer for a couple of months.
Like (1)
zo219
11 September 2014
Five stars! Tried several similar apps but this is well worth the small price--and while I resent like hell that this is necessary--I mean this is 2014, this is Apple, how long has this been going on--the developer has really worked on this, integrated it into OS X very well.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.6
2 answer(s)
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
21 October 2014
I love it. Tried them all. This is the best by far. I don't even care if it's "all in my mind" (LOL), I really don't. I bought it, I'm glad, and I think the developer is more than honest, transparent and reliable. No complaints.
Like (1)
Eric-Henderson
Eric-Henderson
21 October 2014
I'm glad you like it. I try to provide the kind of support and service that I would want as a customer, although I am limited in what I can do as a single developer with an unrelated full-time job.

I also tried several other memory freeing apps before I created MemoryTamer. The only one that I thought was decent was Memory Diag (free in the Mac App Store), but that doesn't have automatic freeing capabilities. It does have a really nice visualization of the memory and can sometimes free a tiny bit more after I free with MemoryTamer, so I still keep it around in my menu bar.
Like
Eric•Woehler
11 September 2014
for those brave (!) enough to use the Terminal application, fire it up and type sudo purge then enter your password when requested this will 'reduce' your memory use etc and save you a few bucks
Like
Version 1.0.6
5 answer(s)
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
11 September 2014
sudo purge _does_not_ do what MemoryTamer does. On my computer purge has no apparent effect. On the other hand, MemoryTamer works as needed to keep a decent amount of free memory so that unnecessary swapping doesn’t start happening. (That’s my impression—not sure how the developer would describe it.) Apple has screwed the pooch with its memory management on the last two major versions of OS X so that on some computers, with apparently some software, after some amount of time (for me, 3–5 days), swapping becomes the dominant activity so that rebooting is necessary. Quitting apps doesn’t reduce the swap space which (under Mountain Lion at least) could easily reach 12 GB on my computer which has 4 GB of RAM. On Mavericks, the swap space doesn’t grow as large but that is because I have to reboot when the swap space is only a few hundred MB.
Like (1)
hwgray
hwgray
01 October 2014
And not only that, but stopping doing whatever you're in the middle of in order to do it yourself works is just *way* more convenient than having it happen automatically! Right, Eric? *That's* not worth paying for, is it?
Like
GeogProf
GeogProf
02 October 2014
Iliketrash, using the purge command in Terminal requires that XCode developer tools be installed. Without XCode, purge does nothing, though Terminal gives no indication that it wasn’t executed.

BTW, all memory optimizers like this are complete bullsh1t — more often than not they actually make open apps run SLOWER as a result of removing important operating instructions from the RAM. In my experience, such utilities only improve system snappiness when 1) no apps are running, or 2) only apps with minuscule RAM needs are running. In any case, paying $2.49 for such snake oil will benefit you less than spending it on a cup of coffee instead.
Like (2)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
04 October 2014
@GeoProf, you are correct that you need XCode to run the purge command. Also, with the new memory management system introduced with Mavericks, purge doesn't do as much as it used to.

However, you are mistaken when you say this is "complete bullsh1t."

I have 8GB of RAM installed. That's certainly nothing to sneeze at. When OS X doesn't released recently used memory, the system can start to get sluggish, and the you end up with the dreaded spinning beach ball from doing simple tasks like switching to the Finder. I generally have about 8 apps open.

I have found this app will remover the free RAM the system is holding on to, and for whatever reason, this improves performance greatly. I understand the reasoning behind hanging onto recently used memory. It will speed reopening an app. But it's just not working right yet. And when the OS gets down to less than 1 GB free the performance suffers.

What this app does is ask the system for more RAM up to the threshold point. So the system relinquishes that RAM and then this app releases it.

It works great, and you don't even know it's running.

The memory management is much better in Yosemite PB 3, but this still helps.
Like (1)
Eric-Henderson
Eric-Henderson
07 October 2014
Personally, I created MemoryTamer because even with 16GB of RAM, I still can have memory problems on Mavericks.

Purge tends to slow down my computer significantly and even freezes it up during the purge process. Besides that, it usually doesn't even free up as much as any decent memory freeing app. Other memory freeing apps either weren't automatic (like Memory Diag (in the Mac App Store), which is really great at quick & effective on-demand freeing) or didn't do a good enough job keeping my memory free.

I will admit that sometimes when I have MemoryTamer set to be really aggressive with its freeing (freeing pressure set to critical), it does occasionally slow down apps, but the less aggressive setting generally does not, nor does the trimming, which is the operation that usually gets run most of the time.

I actually typically had more free memory in Mountain Lion than I do in Mavericks. I think MemoryTamer is able to free up a larger amount of memory in Mavericks because of the compressed memory, but Mavericks normally holds on to more memory than previous versions of OS X. I haven't really tried the Yosemite preview enough to say anything about its memory management, but if it is a significant improvement, I definitely can't wait for the final version to be released.

The usefulness of memory freeing apps like MemoryTamer probably depends on how full your memory tends to be. If, for example, you normally only have a quarter of your RAM used up, you probably won't get any benefit from a memory freeing app. But if you're like me and tend to have a bunch of apps running all of the time, including some memory-intensive ones, memory freeing apps are probably going to make a decent difference for you.

Also, a correction on something @RavenNevermore said: MemoryTamer does not actually free up to the threshold. The threshold is to determine when to trigger the freeing/trimming, but the freeing and trimming processes will actually try to free up enough memory to get well over the threshold if they can. The amount freed is limited by what the system will let MemoryTamer free up, and also depends on how aggressive MemoryTamer is trying to be in the freeing. The aggressiveness of the full freeing operation is controlled by the freeing pressure preference (Mavericks and up only), and the trimming is set to be less aggressive than a full freeing in order to run more quickly and with less impact to performance. The automatic freeing and trimming operations are exactly the same as what you get with the manual "Free memory now" and "Trim memory now" menu items.
Like
tjekov37
09 September 2014
What exactly does this function in App - " Trim Threshold in MB " , or "Trim Memory " ? Please explain more simply for a beginner ! Thank You :-)
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Eric-Henderson
Eric-Henderson
09 September 2014
Memory Trimming is a feature that does a quick partial freeing in order to maintain memory at a high enough level that a full freeing is not necessary (or at least not as often). The Trim threshold should be higher than the Free threshold.
Like (1)
hwgray
02 August 2014
This works great for me and I'd like to buy it, but "Error 1006 Ray ID: 15389fe8203d0d91 Access denied What happened? The owner of this website (pay.paddle.com) has banned your IP address, (XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX). CloudFlare Ray ID: 15389fe8203d0d91 • Your IP: XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX • Help • Performance & security by CloudFlare" So, since MemoryTamer has timed out and I can't buy it... Well, maybe the developer will switch to PayPal.
Like
Version 0.9.4
5 answer(s)
Eric-Henderson
Eric-Henderson
02 August 2014
That's really weird. Does https://pay.paddle.com/checkout/492767 work for you?

If it doesn't, maybe you could e-mail me your IP and I could see about getting it un-banned.
Like (1)
Eric-Henderson
Eric-Henderson
02 August 2014
You can use the e-mail address eric@memorytamer.com to contact me.
Like (2)
hwgray
hwgray
03 August 2014
Thanks for the quick reply and apologies for my slower one. If the URL doesn't work for me, I'll drop you a line.
Like
hwgray
hwgray
09 August 2014
T'd like to report that Eric worked like a Trojan to help me get up and running with his app, even after it had become clear that the problem was essentially mine and I had notified him that I no longer was expecting to help out, *especially* since I hadn't *paid*, yet. Nevertheless, not only did Eric continue to work with me until *he* had found a solution, but he also discounted the already-trivial price to make up for *his* having had to deal with *me*! I've spent serious money, as much as over $1K, without having such effort expended for my benefit. Kudos and many thanks to Eric!
Like (2)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
12 August 2014
I'd also like to give Eric kudos... I emailed him abut the memory leak issue, and he both emailed me an experimental version, and then implemented this new version within an hour!
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
30 July 2014
Version 0.9 is not retaining preference settings. You can change the memory threshold, but it stays at 0. Otherwise works well when you manually invoke it.
Like (1)
Version 0.9
2 answer(s)
Eric-Henderson
Eric-Henderson
30 July 2014
I guess I accidentally introduced a bug in version 0.9.1 that caused it to set the memory threshold to 0 when the trim threshold was 0. I have fixed that in version 0.9.2. Use the check for updates menu item to get the latest version.

Thanks for helping me catch this.
Like (2)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
30 July 2014
Thanks Eric, that fixed it! So far it's working great!
Like (1)
pnoguchi
29 July 2014
Very useful memory optimizer. Many have said that OSX memory management, especially in Mavericks doesn't need any help form apps like these. Well, that may be true for some, but I have had my MacBook Pro run out of memory such that it looks up with no recourse but a shutdown and restart. Memory Tamer (0.9.1) works the best to free memory of several memory optimizers that I have, even the sudo purge command in Terminal. The several preferences take some time to understand for optimal use, and the the author seems to introduce new features on a very rapid basis. For example, the new auto-threshold seems to interact with the trim threshold in a way that to me is not quite predictable (I had set the trim threshold to twice the default threshold in version 0.8.x); the trim resets to some number that is very close to the total free memory after using Free Memory now. Trim is very useful, as it seems to unobtrusively "trim" a bit of allocated memory to free in a transparent way. This is particularly useful when using Google Chrome and multiple tabs, as each tab takes up some small amount of memory. Periodically as Chrome keeps using free memory, the auto trim function will reset it back to a useful level I am very please with this useful app, and find it well worth the small charge for it.
Like (2)
Version 0.9
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
09 August 2014
I think Apple's new memory management is a work in progress. I often run out of memory, and I have 8 GBs installed.

While I understand the concept that free memory is wasted memory, once the OS gobbles it all up my Mac gets sluggish and I get lots of beach balls just doing things like clicking on a Finder window.

I used to use the purge command in Terminal, but that doesn't work as well anymore. MemoryTamer to the rescue! This fixes those situations, and it does it automatically.
Like (1)
JohnG5534
28 July 2014
Works awesome. I've been using this app for a couple of weeks and it has saved me from reaching the dreaded 7.99 megabytes of memory used. Apparently some of my system's applications take memory that they don't need, and they don't free it up when the OS asks them to. But memory tamer keeps them in check and I haven't even come close to having a problem since I've been using it. Great app!
Like (1)
Version 0.8.1
Edgarcabrera
27 July 2014
Good application, it does what it says. I'm using a MBA mid 2011 and I've got 1.5 Gb free since I've bought it. It's working on Yosemite.
Like (1)
Version 0.8
2 answer(s)
Eric-Henderson
Eric-Henderson
28 July 2014
I'm glad my app is helping. I originally designed it because I wanted an automatic memory freeing app that didn't slow down my computer while it was freeing memory. I couldn't find anything that satisfied me, so I made my own. It's definitely been helping me too.

BTW, have you tried the new Memory Trimming feature in v0.8? It's kind of experimental at this point, but it is designed to do a quicker clean to try and delay the need for a full clean. I disabled it by default so that people wouldn't have a sudden change in behavior, but I feel that it can be pretty useful.
Like (1)
Edgarcabrera
Edgarcabrera
28 July 2014
Yes, I've been using the memory trimming, it's working fine, quite handy when using low demand applications. I think more documentation would be brilliant, specially on describing what is the difference between memory pressure and plain allocation methods, which is faster, etc.
Like (1)