Back to Hemingway Editor page
Hemingway Editor free download for Mac

Hemingway Editor Reviews

3.0
18 January 2017

Word processor supporting markdown.

Prince-Isaac
04 October 2014

Most helpful

If you like it, use it. For me, writing is all about using the English language to its fullest extent rather than writing in what Wikipedia refers to as "simple English." I wonder what would happen if you ran a bunch of fiction best sellers through Hemingway: 400 pages reduced to perhaps 100? Or take any technical subject written for the layman, meaning it's already been "dumbed down" a bit, and see how that works for retaining the essence of the topic. I can see this put to excellent use for a multinational outfit that issues technical notes to engineers who don't speak English as a first language (which I had to do at a couple of Silicon Valley outfits ages ago). Just my humble opinion.
Like (2)
Version 1.0

Read 7 Hemingway Editor User Reviews

Rate this app:

Dr-Sparks
04 May 2018
I have been looking for an application like this one because I write articles and a book in English, which is not my native language. I hesitate to buy since it has not been updated for more than 15 months. I paid for so many good programs that do not work properly with the latest macOS versions, therefore I limit my purchases to those that regularly publish updates.
Like
Version 3.0
Turquoise
27 January 2018
I need a French version of this.
Like
Version 3.0
Ari-Tj
07 June 2016
Currently at version 2.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
19 January 2017
Or even 3.0.
Like
The Hemingway website accurately depicts the desktop software capability and it does not disappoint. I know that my writing needs help and Hemingway identified confusing long sentences, passive voice, and excessive adverbs. Absolutely no other word processing software I have found has these capabilities. Purchasing is super easy and the web site asks for minimal information so it takes very little time to get the download. I used AMEX and within the minute my iPhone sent me a message that it has paid the vendor. Very very nice. The little word balloons that pop up to explain why Hemingway marked the text are a little rough on the eyes and those appearing at the left margin are cut off, a very minor nuisance to be sure. The spelling checker does not seem to know enough words but then I write technical material. I would have taken back a star but Hemingway also understands Markdown which to me is huge. So the app gets five stars and I am positively looking forward to producing clearer writing with Hemingway.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Prince-Isaac
04 October 2014
If you like it, use it. For me, writing is all about using the English language to its fullest extent rather than writing in what Wikipedia refers to as "simple English." I wonder what would happen if you ran a bunch of fiction best sellers through Hemingway: 400 pages reduced to perhaps 100? Or take any technical subject written for the layman, meaning it's already been "dumbed down" a bit, and see how that works for retaining the essence of the topic. I can see this put to excellent use for a multinational outfit that issues technical notes to engineers who don't speak English as a first language (which I had to do at a couple of Silicon Valley outfits ages ago). Just my humble opinion.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
Lorin-Rivers
31 July 2014
Just discovered Hemingway the website and I had always considered myself to be a pretty good writer. It was a little humbling but also really, really helpful. I plan to check the app out as well, just wanted to give a thumbs-up to the concept.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Lorin-Rivers
Lorin-Rivers
31 July 2014
Just noticed the price is incorrect on MacUpdate. It's actually 6.99.
Like
skippy-dies
skippy-dies
02 August 2014
Yes, it had an intro price of $5 for a few days.
Like
skippy-dies
25 July 2014
I've used the web Hemingway app for several cover letters, and I decided I'd like to have it in desktop format. I'm not going to rate it yet because I've not used the desktop version much, but it looks promising.
Like (1)
Version 1.0