Back to OmniWeb page
OmniWeb free download for Mac

OmniWeb Reviews

6.0 test
14 August 2019

Web browser with Safari engine and many enhanced features; now free.

Handycam
26 September 2008

Most helpful

Version 5.8 is like Safari with every Safari add-in already in it. I prefer WebKit over Gecko, and OmniWeb offers that plus additional features such as site preferences and workspaces that further enhance browsing. Oh, and I run 5.8 for hours and the RAM hovers just under 250mb.
Like (7)
Version 5.8

Read 569 OmniWeb User Reviews

Rate this app:

Niku1000
27 January 2019
Is Omniweb compatible with Mojave?
Like (1)
Version 5.11.2
Derekcurrie
18 October 2018
OmniWeb lives on in the version 6.0 test series and runs fine on macOS 10.14 Mojave! As of June 26, 2018, the current version is 6.0 test (v630 r313008). I still prefer it for some purposes on the Internet. If you are an OmniWeb fan, fear not the v6.0 tests! I've been enjoying them for years. You can download it from the OmniWeb site under Apps/More. Why hasn't v6 come out of 'testing'? OmniGroup tell me they no longer support OmniWeb. Its testing is something of a hobby, a side interest only. It is set aside when they're busy on other things.
Like (2)
Version 5.11.2
1 answer(s)
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
18 July 2019
Latest Test Build version: OmniWeb v6.0 test (r318604)
OmniWeb (10.6 MB) - Sep 24, 2018 17:26:57 PDT
https://omnistaging.omnigroup.com/omniweb/
Like
next-to-the-best
23 October 2016
It is cool. I love it
Like (1)
Version 5.11.2
Jazzyguy
26 December 2014
It loads well in SnowLeopard. I feel that the developer has to get it further developed.
Like
Version 5.11.2
7 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
07 January 2015
i got it to work. It works perfectly and saves my passwords.I am using Yosemite.
Like
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
07 January 2015
Are you using 5.11.2 or one of the test builds of 6.0?
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
12 January 2015
I had a copy on my clone of Ominiweb 6. I cloned cloned my drive.It is now my best browser of the bunchI carry.So question it is the best.
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
12 January 2015
I had a copy on my clone of Ominiweb 6. I cloned cloned my drive.It is now my best browser of the bunchI carry.So question it is the best.
Like
sbchavel
sbchavel
23 July 2015
where do you get 6.0 beta?
Like
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
23 July 2015
@sbchavel http://omnistaging.omnigroup.com/omniweb/
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
23 July 2015
I don't have batas I have 6.0. I got if off my clone.
Like
Jazzyguy
24 December 2014
Omniweb5.11.2 No longer loads in Macupdate or anything else on Yosemite. I was the very first paid user when they first started up.
Like (1)
Version 5.11.2
Derekcurrie
09 October 2014
OmniWeb used to be my very favorite web browser. But OmniGroup moved along into other realms and neglected it. HOWEVER! OmniGroup is now beta-testing version 6.0, a 64-bit version of OmniWeb that I’m running right now! If you’re running OS X 10.9+ and you’d like to play with the beta of OmniWeb 6, or simply read about what they’re up to, head over to this address: http://omnistaging.omnigroup.com/omniweb/ At the moment, the ‘stable’ test build of v6.0 is “6.0 test(v625 r219164).” But there are several more testy test builds beyond that, if you’re daring. It’s great to see this web browser brought into the future of OS X again.
Like (2)
Version 5.11.2
pixturesk
11 March 2014
I continue to use Mac Tiger Intel 10.4.11 on an iMac Core Duo 20", 2gigs ram, so using a contemporary browser is a problem because very few support Tiger. Omniweb 5.11.2 meets my requirements perfectly as it is built (not much of a techie!!), I believe, on the Safari Web Kit, so it emulates Safari 5, where with Tiger I can only use Safari 4.1.3. Flash, Java seem to work perfectly, especially with Google Drive, allowing me to upload both files folders. Omniweb is quick, stable, reliable. I was able to import my Ten Four Fox/Firefox bookmarks to this contemporary browser. TFF Intel was very buggy, Firefox was legacy, even Opera was legacy, so with Omniweb, I can continue to use Tiger, my favourite OS, with a newer technology browser.
Like
Version 5.11.2
sweetp9608
03 March 2014
Troulbe after I took the update! I visited a site and now every time I open Omni I get That Page! I DID change settings to "empty"! there are several functions that are marked oneway but perform other wise. GRRRRR! WHERE is the Preferences Folder/Files for Omni? In Mnt. Lion 10.8.3, I do not see it.
Like
Version 5.11.2
1 answer(s)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
29 September 2014
I don't believe this version of OmniWeb works on Mtn Lion. If you want to continue using OW delete this version then go to the developer's site and try the latest experimental build of OmniWeb 6.
Like
Koloraro
08 January 2014
The Omniweb 6.0 testbuilds can be found here: http://omnistaging.omnigroup.com/omniweb/ About 1 to 3 new builds everyday.
Like (2)
Version 5.11.2
2 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
06 February 2014
Yep, MR is behind the curve...
Like (1)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
06 February 2014
Err MU ;)
Like
misterjspencer
05 January 2014
I am forever searching for a better browser that gives me some features but doesn’t become a bloated everything net app like Firefox or Chrome. I use Safari when I can but add a few extensions and it becomes slow and buggy So then I see Omniweb 6, (used omniweb before and quite liked it, but gave up after a while) used the post below went to the website downloaded and began to use, its excellent. I have to ask where is the money in browsers is it in the search engines, tracking info and surfing and selling it on, why produce one? My fave of all time was Shiira, where is that now?
Like
Version 5.11.2
1 answer(s)
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
20 January 2014
I remember Shiira! That was a rockin' little browser...developed by someone in Japan, as I recall. I've been using the 6.0 Omniweb betas, and while it was a little shakey in the earlier betas, recently they've really getting down to a stable beast. I love how fast it is, the side tabs, the ***workspaces** and how little ram and cpu is uses compared to any of the other browsers. I'm so glad it didn't fall by the wayside as this company focuses on its "big dogs" and iOs apps.
Like
Penguirl
17 October 2013
Of course as soon as I decide to give up and move to another browser a test version of OmniWeb 6 is released. You can read about it here and follow the download link if you like. http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=30557
Like
Version 5.11.2
1 answer(s)
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
31 October 2013
AWESOME!! Thanks so much for posting this. OW 6.0 is working fine (Mavericks on an late 2008 iMac) with no obvious big glitches after hours of use. So glad this great browser isn't going to fade away. Thank you Penguirl!
Like
Penguirl
03 October 2013
I paid for OmniWeb 4 and 5 and never regretted it, it was worth every penny to me then. Sadly in it's current state even free is too much. I've been desperately holding onto OmniWeb for years now for it's features such as per-site preferences but it's just become too slow and unable to keep up with current web features. I have reluctently switched to iCab because it most closely replaces OmniWeb's features. If OmniWeb is updated and brought to modern standards I will switch back in a heartbeat, until then it is just a pleasant memory.
Like
Version 5.11.2
bbw7
02 February 2013
Haven't used it enough to warrant a full-on review rating; however, I find the side-drawer tabs to be cumbersome and slow. Additionally, I have found that clicking links that would normally automatically open a separate smaller window or new tab for an audio player doesn't work unless one chooses "open with a new tab/window". But the big bummer is that running videos uses major CPU. Activity monitor shows three different processes using over 100% cpu in my duo core machine, and the fan starts a whirring. That said, it seems to be a fast browser, and I use it as an adjunct/auxillary one sometimes with this or that workhorse browser. But ixnay on the video viewage.
Like
Version 5.11.2
Tom46
12 December 2012
I love this browser and it has some great features (shortcuts, site preferences), but it has too many little bugs that seem to take forever to fix. I think I'm about to abandon it.
Like (1)
Version 5.11.2
Jazzyguy
22 July 2012
I have used Omniweb since 2002. I was glad to pay for it then and I use it now quite frequently. It has numerous features that other browsers lack and they are unique to Omniweb. It is a polished browser and I still love it after years of using it.
Like (5)
Version 5.11.2
Dana-Sutton
21 July 2012
I love OmniWeb, but my basic complain is that, since it has been made a free product, it seems to be something like an orphan within Omni's scheme of things, they do very little to update and improve it. I think it needs some equivalent of Safari's extensions, specifically those extensions that prevent Google tracking and otherwise enhance privacy and security. I also really like Safari's Top Sites page and wish that Omni had something similar.
Like
Version 5.11.2
1 answer(s)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
21 July 2012
And of course when other unnamed browsers upgrade every few weeks there are huge cries of protest and derision. OW doesn't upgrade often because it doesn't need to. It already does the basic job a serious browser needs to do. If you want to eliminate Google tracking go to Google Dashboard (search for it), "Pause" your Google tracking, and delete your Google history. As long as you keep Google in "Pause" it won't track you even though its bots will still visit the pages you browse. If you want something like Safari's Top Sites look at the "Most Visited" file on OW's Bookmarks Menu.
Like (1)
mackhalid
27 June 2012
i love it
Like
Version 5.11.1
Pripyat
20 April 2012
This is a magnificent web browser. I've been using it for years (back when it was still shareware) and it's never let me down. I discontinued its use for a while when Safari 5 was released, but OmniWeb always worked best for me in terms of RAM & CPU usage. It did however take me a while to get used to the different tabs system again - would be great if an option was added that allowed Safari-style tabs in OmniWeb.
Like (2)
Version 5.11.1
pixturesk
18 December 2011
Fast Browser, can use my Safari Bookmarks, but I can't get images to load automatically, have to click the "Load Images" icon for all the images to load on a webpage, then have to click again if I change webpage. How can I fix this in Preferences? Thanks.
Like
Version 5.11.1
2 answer(s)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
19 December 2011
MacUpdate is not a support site. Ask your question here: http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8
Like (1)
pixturesk
pixturesk
19 December 2011
Thanks Fyreflye, I was able to figure this out myself, in Preferences/ Ad Blocking, had to uncheck an image block function. Ken.
Like
pixturesk
18 December 2011
Fast Browser, can use my Safari Bookmarks, but I can't get images to load automatically, have to click the "Load Images" icon for all the images to load on a webpage, then have to click again if I change webpage. How can I fix this in Preferences? Thanks.
Like
Version 5.11.1
Iliketrash
17 December 2011
I've tried _all_ the rest and OmniWeb is still the best.
Like (1)
Version 5.11.1
Xenos
17 December 2011
a modern browser without 1Password integration in a world consisting of hundreds of personal sites with identification need ??? consequence: all in the same boat will have to move to little beloved Safari or worse ?
Like (1)
Version 5.11.1
11 answer(s)
Penguirl
Penguirl
17 December 2011
I'm still using 1Password 3.5.13 for Camino support which also supports OmniWeb, I didn't know that AgileBits had dropped support for OmniWeb too. But that's on AgileBits, the Omni Group has no control over AgileBits.
Like (1)
Chadcn
Chadcn
17 December 2011
1Password works fine with Omniweb. There's no need for integration.
Like
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
17 December 2011
Yes, I'm running OW 5.11.1 using the current 3.8.12 version of 1Password. Though in fact Keychain is faster than 1P at entering passwords. Make sure "Enable additional browser extensions" is checked in 1P Preferences. If that doesn't work launch OW, go back to 1P and uncheck and then recheck "Enable additional browser extensions," then close and relaunch OW, and that should do it.
Like
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
17 December 2011
Keychain works quickly and efficiently on Camino as well as OW and even Safari/WebKit. I rarely need to click the 1P extension icon anymore when I stick to those browsers. I can understand why some here seem to be enslaved to 1P using the Google Vampire browsers but there's no actual need to use 1P on native Mac browsers.
Like
Chadcn
Chadcn
17 December 2011
@Fyreflye Hehe, then you've never used 1Password. It is so much more than a program that stores usernames and passwords. That much is quite evident by just opening the app. Keychain certainly isn't faster...as fast, sure. And frankly, Keychain works just fine with Chrome as well.
Like
Xenos
Xenos
17 December 2011
Penguirl wrote: "But that's on AgileBits, the Omni Group has no control over AgileBits." It's the lack of a plugin structure like in other web kit browsers that was undoubtedly on Omni Group to get integrated; this is finally what's responsible for OmniWeb not being compatible with recent versions of 1Password
Like (1)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
17 December 2011
@Xenos There are two posts on this very thread pointing out that OmniWeb *is* compatible with recent versions of 1Password.
Like (1)
Chadcn
Chadcn
17 December 2011
It depends which version of 1Password is used, to be honest. The MAS version doesn't, however the non-MAS version does, simply because of the restrictions Apple has put in place for the MAS. Ultimately it is up to Omniweb to implement a proper extension structure. The route 1Password currently uses is most likely going away thanks to Apple Non-MAS version: Open 1Password, go to Preferences, unclick "Other Browsers" box; open OmniWeb, click on "Other Browsers" box in 1Password, close 1 Password. The 1P button should now be available in the OmniWeb "Customize Toolbar" popup.
Like (1)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
17 December 2011
@Chadcn I purchased my 1P license on April 12, 1999. And I've never seen a post here lamenting that they just can't do without 1P because of its Identities and Wallet.
Like
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
17 December 2011
Um, that should be April 12, 2009.
Like
Penguirl
Penguirl
11 February 2012
@Xenos You have a good point. Maybe in OW 6? I would buy it again if I could to help support development.
Like
Ericg
17 December 2011
Very ironic. A once very popular and compelling and hugely distinctive Mac Browser comes out with its first public upgrade in over a year ostensibly to incorporate Lion OS Yet it cannot go full screen and doesn't make use any of the Lion screen gestures. Could it be an Omnijoke?
Like (1)
Version 5.11.1
2 answer(s)
Penguirl
Penguirl
17 December 2011
OmniWeb has features that no other browser that I know of has, features that I value far more than those that Lion has. But then I don't run Lion anyway so it makes no difference to me.
Like (3)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
17 December 2011
A browser like OW that elects to support every Mac OS from 10.4.8 through 10.7 may not be able to handle every one of Apple's latest innovations. But unlike nearly all the other browsers it's not abandoning support and development for those still using earlier versions of OS X and/or PPC machines.
Like (2)
silverhand31
03 December 2011
Just install this the first time. Look quite interesting but -Full screen -Extension -Smart Zoom Do we have it?
Like
Version 5.11
2 answer(s)
Penguirl
Penguirl
17 December 2011
Full screen? Try clicking the green gem. ;-) Extensions? Those are in /Library/Internet Plug-Ins. ;-) Smart Zoom? Can't help you there, though OS X supports zoom. :-)
Like (1)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
18 December 2011
Can I use full page zoom in OmniWeb? Yes! Just like Safari, OmniWeb supports full page zoom. However it is not on by default. To enable it, quit OmniWeb. Open a terminal window and enter the following line: defaults write com.omnigroup.OmniWeb5 WebKitDebugFullPageZoomPreferenceKey 1 When you next launch OmniWeb, all content on the page will zoom in and out.
Like
wickedsp1d3r
01 August 2011
Great and speedy browser! Although the current alignment of tabs is an unique feature of OmniWeb, I'd like to see an option to use a regular tab bar like the other browsers out there. In my opinion it takes a bit too much space from the window.
Like
Version 5.11
friautz
22 July 2011
Excellent work and nice that it's free now. Only the strange tab bar makes me a bit crazy, lol. But it's something other browsers don't have. Ye and thank you for still supporting PPC and Tiger!
Like
Version 5.11
Thresher-the-Shark
05 July 2011
Att. MacUpdate. It may be time to update OmniWeb page's icon and screenshot.
Like
Version 5.11
1 answer(s)
Thresher-the-Shark
Thresher-the-Shark
05 July 2011
Sorry my bad. Icon change was due to a custom theme.
Like
Lord-Lightning
02 July 2011
The Omni Group - Weʼre passionate about productivity! That right? Really?
Like
Version 5.11
Thresher-the-Shark
22 June 2011
Thank you OmniGroup for continuing to support PowerPC and Tiger Users!
Like (3)
Version 5.11
Lvdoc
21 June 2011
Back in the day, this browser was not free. I paid for a license. I not regret that, nor do I feel bad that it's now free. I would still pay for a license if it were required.
Like
Version 5.11
Cortig
21 June 2011
Still the best as far as I am concerned.
Like (2)
Version 5.11
1 answer(s)
Lesoth0
Lesoth0
21 June 2011
Yup. 100% agree. It does 90% of my main web browsing with Firefox taking the rest of bespoke stuff like Hotmail
Like
Lord-Lightning
12 June 2011
Easily has the measure of every other browser except for the needlessly annoying inflexible search bar. Just that one fix and I would use ahead of Camino - the only thing that comes close for every day use. Please fix the search bar Omni.
Like (1)
Version 5.10.3
7 answer(s)
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
16 June 2011
As you say above, what makes Omniweb superior is the the sum of all the little things; the attention to detail. Please - just this one little detail, now that you are up to version 5.10.
Like
El-Duderino
El-Duderino
22 June 2011
Just curious what the issue is here. Could you not just take out that bar and do searches from within the location bar? Just set prefix strings for whatever alternate search engines you might want to use other than your default from time to time? The downsides of this browser for me, so far, that I've noticed, are very poor ad-blocking indeed compared to most other browsers, and to a minor extent, inflexible tabs.
Like
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
22 June 2011
All you have to do is remove the search bar and bookmark the home page of any search engine of your choice (I use and recommend Scroogle.) Keep it in "Favorites" where it's always available. I've never used the search bar on any browser; too little space.
Like
El-Duderino
El-Duderino
23 June 2011
Indeed although thats marginally slower because its step 1) activate shortcut, load page then step 2) type search query in box rather than step 1) type query in location bar and that's it. So in shortcut prefs where it says www.*.com, that nsme can just be changed to "default" (or whatever one likes) and then put in the string of the engine of choice, e.g., https://encrypted.google.com/search?ie=utf8&oe=utf8&q=%@ and voila anything typed into the location bar becomes a Google query (or whatever query desired). Again if one is to have a bee in bonnet about anything on Omniweb its got to be the seemingly almost absurdly difficult/impossible to achieve consistent Ad Blocking!
Like
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
23 June 2011
Excellent suggestions indeed - but they should not be needed. Camino etc etc etc all have sliding search scrubbers Why can't my favourite browser have one too? I have to enter long copied text strings of medical terms and then edit them in the bar as I do my searches. The piddly little one in Omniweb impedes that task and all the work-arounds in the world are just that - workarounds. That is why I prefer Camino - hell even Safari is better than Omniweb for fluid flexible searching. Thanks for the Scrobble tip - I now have the unlocked padlock in my favourites. Brilliant.
Like
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
23 June 2011
In order to attain consistent Ad Blocking search the web for a copy of ad_blocking.css, download it and place it somewhere easily accessible on your HD. Go to OmniWeb -> Preferences -> Page Appearance Preferences. Go to Style Sheet, toggle to Other in which case a search window will open. Go to where your .css is stored and select it. Ads will be consistently blocked across the board, but you can whitelist individual pages by clicking Site Preferences for the page and changing Style Sheet to None. But keep "From Blocked urls" in your Ad Blocking Preferences checked as a backup and uncheck the other two options. It's worked well for me for years.
Like
El-Duderino
El-Duderino
23 June 2011
Ah but which ad_blocking.css. In all of the internet. Another strand of OmniWeb hassle in the quest for the potentially elusive right file. I then noticed Camino has just such a named file ("ad_blocking.css") in its package contents. So I dragged a copy of that out and into the style sheets preferences as suggested. (In theory that sounds like that should be the solution a simple style sheet to block stuff, much like one would have done things with Opera before Opera Extensions with the "fanboy" CSS, although the Omniweb literature suggests other things and this preference pane is not the one called ADBLOCKING, one would think the ADBLOCKING!! pane would be the port of call but ho hum). So yeah, Camino's ad blocking css should logically at least be able to block to the level of Camino. Should do. Alas, no. Style sheet loaded and no difference. Basic, obvious google ads still visible. This in addition to following various suggestions on the Omniweb forums and even configuring OW via terminal to work with Safari AdBlock (in theory). Then as I wrote the above, it occurred to me - okay, use the (opera) "fanboy" css. And yeah I admit that does seem to effect an improvement so thanks for the tip. But my oh my what an odd route to the solution - use a stylesheet associated with another browser and completely ignore the Adblocking pane and, seemingly, OW's advice and OW users forum advice on the matter!
Like (1)
St00pid-M0nk3y
15 March 2011
Holy crap, this browser is fast... and the default ad blocking is awesome. o_O
Like (2)
Version 5.10.3
Nomad11
06 December 2010
Has an old fashioned UI, but it's the fastest browser I have. My default browser: Safari is way too slow, and Firefox isn't integrated well enough in the mac system (no formatted copy and past / services). Important: OmniWeb ad-blocking works well
Like
Version 5.10.3
sbchavel
26 November 2010
I love the look and customization that is possible. But through various versions I have had repeated trouble, in which streaming of either voice of video hands the application. Safari never has this problem. Any help welcome.
Like
Version 5.10.3
OliverTerrier
18 November 2010
I still love this browser too; it's a great alternative to Safari. A slight modernization would be welcome but it still looks great to me. I LOVE the tab previews in the drawer it's a killer feature that I wish Safari had.
Like (1)
Version 5.10.3
3 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
18 November 2010
Now that Safari has extensions omni should port the tab drawer over to Safari.
Like (1)
Version 5.10.3
Easer
Easer
18 November 2010
SafariStand will let you have the tab preview feature, if it's what I think you're describing: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/16687/safaristand Nonetheless, I've always preferred OmniWeb, not just for this feature but for the ability to set site-specific settings. It's now free, but I gladly paid for a license many years ago when they charged for it. And I'd still pay for one if they required it. And even though it's free, they have great customer service as well.
Like
Version 5.10.3
Pik80
Pik80
18 November 2010
Thanks, I'll take a look at it.
Like
Version 5.10.3
Lesoth0
26 October 2010
Still my favourite browser overall. The side Tabs are just so elegant compared to the rest, and I just love the Favourites bar with the .ico file beside the bookmark. Glad Omni fixed the "stale cookies" bug.
Like (5)
Version 5.10.2
zx
26 October 2010
I'd pay good money for some real development on this wonderful browser! Also, a redesign will be nice....
Like (5)
Version 5.10.2
1 answer(s)
zx
zx
26 October 2010
Btw, it's a ššššš browser when Omni is actully working on it.
Like (3)
Version 5.10.2
Libertyforall1776
26 October 2010
Still not 64-bit like Safari...
Like (4)
Version 5.10.2
2 answer(s)
Chadcn
Chadcn
27 October 2010
There's no reason for it to be 64bit. Until Apple starts making it a requirement, you have no argument. These troll posts of yours are getting old
Like (5)
Version 5.10.2
Penguirl
Penguirl
18 November 2010
Then use Safari and quit bitching about it.
Like (2)
Version 5.10.3
Biker4mac
23 August 2010
This has been my favorite browser since switching to OSX many years ago. However, after it became a free program support for it has been dwindling and I've been having to use Safari or other browsers for certain sites. A shame, because OmniWeb still does a number of things I value that no other browser can compare to. Perhaps I'll have to check out more of the plugins for Safari and FireFox to see if I can make one of them behave like OmniWeb enough to switch.
Like (3)
Version 5.10.1
Aetnaria
29 May 2010
For those that don't want to wait until the next official release of OmniWeb, check out their latest SneakyPeek: http://www.omnigroup.com/products/omniweb/download/sneakypeek/ Just be aware that it is an ongoing alpha, and thus prone to untested issues.
Like (4)
Version 5.10.1
Penguirl
26 April 2010
Still my favorite browser, primarily for the Workspaces, graphical tabs, page markers, and per site preferences. I used to have occasional crashes with OmniWeb but now I can't remember the last time that it crashed. I only wish they'd update the version of WebKit in OmniWeb more often.
Like (5)
Version 5.10.1
Ahkira28
03 April 2010
Would be my favorite browser except, in its current incarnation, it typically uses 600 - 800MB memory. Omnigroup needs to address this. I am currently using Chrome which draws much less resources. Though they are not frequent I also experience more crashes with OW than with any other browser.
Like (3)
Version 5.10.1
zx
21 March 2010
Best browser by far! I wish that the OG will putt some more effort into it. Anyway, I'll gladly pay for it★★★★★
Like (1)
Version 5.10.1
Libertyforall1776
05 February 2010
I loved OmniWeb, and they have lead in browser design, including the NEXTSTEP days, but wake me up when they finish the 64-bit version, until then Safari for me...
Like (1)
Version 5.10.1
1 answer(s)
M-Rick
M-Rick
03 July 2010
what do you a 61 bit version for a browser ??? it is not an engineering software or a graphical software.
Like (2)
Version 5.10.1
L-G-S
21 December 2009
Very nice web browser with a very useful features. However the interface is old and ugly will be nice a new one more leopard alike. Specially with the tab drawer thing and the search box. It's time to change that. They are some problems with javascript links in diferents webs like hotmail. Actions doesn't work. Also they should add some default rules for some websites like MobileMe which dont let use the web interface with Omniweb unless you change the web browser identity to Safari or Firefox.
Like (3)
Version 5.10.1
Leonledragon
23 November 2009
No services avalaible !!! Not completely compatible with mobile me...
Like
Version 5.10.1
1 answer(s)
Penguirl
Penguirl
26 April 2010
What do you mean no services available? If you are referring to the Services in the OmniWeb menu I use them with OW all the time.
Like (2)
Version 5.10.1
Syzzygy
17 November 2009
While OmniWeb is generally fast its rather cumbersome, inefficient method of handling bookmarks make it a pain-in-the-ass to use. With all other browsers, one merely clicks on 'bookmarks' in the browser's menu bar and then clicks on the bookmark one wants from the drop-down menu; and voila....that's all. With OmniWeb, one clicks on 'open bookmarks window', then clicks on one's bookmarks list and then scrolls down the list to find the bookmark one wants, then double clicks on it to go the bookmarked website. How is that any better than the tried and true expeditious method employed by all other browsers? I'll stick with the lovely, fast and feature rich Firefox; the latest version 3.6b2 being very stable.
Like (4)
Version 5.10.1
2 answer(s)
Robotank
Robotank
18 November 2009
What are you talking about? OmniWeb has a drop down bookmark menu in which you can access all of your bookmarks like every other browser... and every other browser has a bookmark window or manager too. Check in the menu bar for the Bookmarks menu (gasp!). Your bookmarks are listed just below the actions (Add Bookmark, Show Bookmarks Page, etc.). You should really make an effort to have, at the very least, some slight idea of what you're talking about before you post a ridiculous and completely inaccurate comment.
Like (3)
Version 5.10.1
Syzzygy
Syzzygy
19 November 2009
In OmniWeb you first click on 'Bookmarks' in OmniWeb's menu bar. Then you click on 'Open Bookmarks Window'. Then you go to the 'Collections' column on the left of the window. Then you click on Bookmarks in the column to display your list of bookmarks. Then you go to your bookmarks list and scroll down to the bookmark that you want and double click on it. In all other browsers, you click on 'Bookmarks' in the browser's menu bar, then move your cursor down to the bookmark that you want(no scrolling involved) and click on it....that's all. Slick and efficient. I'd say that OmniWeb's way of handling bookmarks is unnecessarily unwieldy and most annoying. By the way, on one occasion I went to OmniWeb's bookmarks and found that all my imported bookmarks were gone; I haven't a clue why. Does not inspire confidence. Also, I have yet to discover how to delete a bookmark from my list there. And can you drag your bookmarks into alphabetical order? There doesn't seem to be a way to alphabetize them. And where's OmniWeb's bookmark manager? Anyway if OmniWeb floats your boat, it's cool with me but OmniWeb sure won't be my choice of browser anytime soon.
Like (2)
Version 5.10.1
Maclover1-1
02 November 2009
Could easily be my favorite if I did not find the icons and overall appearance so appalling... I seriously wish it has a Safari skin ;-) Ugly girls don't get any sorry, no matter how smart. Ok behind closed doors with a bag over the head I lik'em smart and possibly ugly.. Kiss don't tell. But do get a makeover anyway OmniGirl will ya' ?!! Ya could be MUCH prettier.
Like (2)
Version 5.10.1
1 answer(s)
Penguirl
Penguirl
26 April 2010
Go off on tangents much? Seriously, WTF does any of that have to do with a web browser? Sounds like you aren't happy with what you are getting, maybe if you worked on your personality you could do better.
Like (4)
Version 5.10.1
Southpawami
02 November 2009
It just doesn't get better. It's stable, it's solid, it has a library of options that aren't elsewhere out of box. How can you not like this? The only thing that really isn't nice about this software is that it isn't on Linux or Windows.
Like (1)
Version 5.10.1