Back to Hermes page
Hermes free download for Mac

Hermes Reviews

1.3.1
26 March 2017

Standalone Pandora client.

Phantasm
26 May 2014

Most helpful

I've been using this app for about a week and have had a good experience so far. It's stable, lightweight, low on resources and has a lot of features packed into its minimal appearance. My only issue is that the most recent station automatically starts to play on launch. Someone has already mentioned this on GitHub so hopefully an option to turn this off will be implemented in a future version. Recommended for anyone looking for a lightweight Pandora client. It does more than the browser-based version while using less of your resources.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.0

Read 24 Hermes User Reviews

Rate this app:

Aeschylus
27 March 2017
It's the only way I listen to Pandora on my home computer.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1
TwisterMc
14 March 2017
Hermes works great, is tied to my keyboard play/pause buttons, and picks up right where I left off if I pause it. Great app.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.0
newsview
12 December 2016
Interface is straightforward. I like how it sits in the menu bar near my Google player. Audio quality is first rate. I'm running an older version under Snow Leopard and it works great!
Like (1)
Version 1.3.0
Uncoy
17 September 2016
Lovely Pandora app with quite good audio quality (not sure if it's as good as the Pandora air desktop app) with much better keyboard shortcuts. V 1.19 runs well on Snow Leopard: https://s3.amazonaws.com/alexcrichton-hermes/Hermes-1.1.19.zip Unfortunately scrobbling to Last.fm does not work with this version (it does with latest 1.28). Even sadder, Hermes is no longer actively maintained.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.8
1 answer(s)
newsview
newsview
12 December 2016
Thanks for the link, Uncoy. It works great under SL. I was using a newer player from the App Store under El Capitan but wanted one in my legacy OS partition and Hermes fits the bill.
Like
Dolphinboy2u
21 May 2016
MacUpdate's link to developer takes you to GitHub, but here's what seems to be a more public-facing web page for Hermes: http://hermesapp.org
Like (1)
Version 1.2.7
Mcoyle
12 May 2016
Great little app. I've been using if for a couple years. I was having trouble logging in, but this update has fixed that.
Like
Version 1.2.7
Tengutech
07 August 2015
My favourite way to experience Pandora. In my opion the best bit is not the skipping of adds, but the low memory/cpu usage, and the ability to skip Flash/AdobeAir.
Like
Version 1.2.6
bowlerboy-jmb
07 May 2015
I've been running Hermes under Mavericks for two days now, and it's functioning flawlessly. This is a really neat little program. What no one seems to have mentioned is that, unlike accessing Pandora via a browser, which, if you do not pay a monthly fee, will result in irritating advertisements, Hermes provides wall-to-wall music: no bothersome ads to break-up your mood. Together with all the other features that allow you to create new radio stations, or edit your existing stations, adjust volume, pause, play, skip songs, and either play/pause when your screen saver kicks in, I find that the avoidance of those irritating ads to be the great touch to make playing Pandora through Hermes a more satisfying experience than through a browser.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.6
Bluebird
07 May 2015
Perfect little app that I keep open all day at work to play soothing background music to tame the savage beast. Works perfectly and keeps nicely in a corner or in the dock. The notifications let me know what playing. This is the first such app I've used that simply does not have a single glitch after several months of use. Perfect.
Like
Version 1.2.6
WordWeaver
06 May 2015
In order to avoid confusion, the developer should consider changing the name of this software, the reason being that Hermes and Hermes II is the name of a popular Macintosh BBS package which has been in wide use since the mid 1980s. Following are some related links: http://www.armageddonbbs.com https://github.com/malyn/HermesBBS http://www.hermesbbs.com/ The first link above is the home page for my own BBS, which uses the Hermes BBS software.
Like
Version 1.2.6
csaborio
24 April 2015
Works perfectly fine with 10.10.3, does what it needs to do.
Like
Version 1.2.5
wintermute
23 March 2015
Works great for me on OS X 10.10.2 and previous OS X versions. Not sure why other people are having problems. Love it!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.5
Jazzyguy
30 December 2014
This version works. Unfortunately it didn't say to put my email in the box.
Like
Version 1.2.5
1 answer(s)
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
07 May 2015
Gosh! You have nearly 4,000 contributions on MacUpdate, so you know the game. Yet, instead of merely initially commenting on this fine application, you gave it a rating of one-half star due to what appears to have been a mistake or oversight on your part. A little too-quick on the gun, there, Jazzguy? You deserve credit for acknowledging your mistake, but too bad you can't take back you unjustified low rating. Do be more careful in future.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
30 December 2014
This version does NOT work.When i put it in my SnowLeopard Mac it shows the window for Pandora but when I insert my Pandora Information the window does Not accept it, It does NOT show that it was incorrect .It shows NOTHING at all.
Like
Version 1.2.5
Jazzyguy
30 December 2014
This version does NOT work.When i put it in my SnowLeopard Mac it shows the window for Pandora but when I insert my Pandora Information the window does Not accept it, It does NOT show that it was incorrect .It shows NOTHING at all.
Like
Version 1.2.5
Jazzyguy
28 December 2014
Does NOT work in 10.6.8. I checked it in 2 Macs.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.4
5 answer(s)
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
28 December 2014
You found the flaw in this program. I've been using it all morning and couldn't find a meaningful complaint. I wonder if the developer needed resources not available in 10.6.8,, or if he didn't have a system to test.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
28 December 2014
My guess is that he didn't have a 10.6.8 to test.
Like
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
28 December 2014
Maybe if he receives enough requests about 10.6.8, he will fix this. I understand a lot of people still need or prefer to use that version, but so far there haven't been a large number of downloads for such a great program.
Like
ybroude
ybroude
29 December 2014
Sorry for the topic-change but I'm new at this and can't see a way to reply properly. Jazzyguy, I hesitate to upgrade to Mavericks, concerned about losing Thoth. I've carefully read your posts about it, but can't tell if it works on Mavericks or not. Can you please clue me in? If it DOES, should/can I update to the latest (Dec '13) Thoth version? It Thoth DOESN'T work with Mavericks, is Unison the only option? Thanks very much.
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
29 December 2014
I'm sorry about your problem with Thothe.It works with Mavericks and works in Yosemite.
Like
Jazzyguy
28 December 2014
Does NOT work in 10.6.8. I checked it in 2 Macs.
Like
Version 1.2.4
Aeschylus
28 December 2014
Simple, works great, unobtrusive, light on resources, and decent interface. Further, it found my settings for Pandora without any input from me whatsoever. This is truly the player I've been looking for for several years, and one of the most delightful pieces of software. This will increase my use of Pandora considerably. I can't imagine anything better. The price is great. Thank you, Developer.
Like
Version 1.2.4
1 answer(s)
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
28 December 2014
I should have given this app 5 stars! i didn't use it long enough to see and appreciate the song history and the easy to find lyrics. Wow. I'm really impressed.
Like
Eveningclouds
01 November 2014
Problem free, unobtrusive, doesn't hog memory, access to Pandora if you need it.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
Jazzyguy
13 July 2014
Excellent Software.Runs Well and is a great Pandora client.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.2
Sonnendeck
12 July 2014
Good work!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
13 July 2014
This application runs well and is a great Pandora Client
Like (1)
JML54
27 May 2014
Works perfectly. And I'm impressed with the speed of MacUpdate adding Hermes to the site, one day after I suggested it.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.0
1 answer(s)
JML54
JML54
27 May 2014
I forgot: It also surpasses the free competition with the ease of finding lyrics for a song that's playing.
Like (1)
wesco
27 May 2014
Love it!
Like
Version 1.2.0
Phantasm
26 May 2014
I've been using this app for about a week and have had a good experience so far. It's stable, lightweight, low on resources and has a lot of features packed into its minimal appearance. My only issue is that the most recent station automatically starts to play on launch. Someone has already mentioned this on GitHub so hopefully an option to turn this off will be implemented in a future version. Recommended for anyone looking for a lightweight Pandora client. It does more than the browser-based version while using less of your resources.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.0