Back to cDock page
cDock free download for Mac

cDock Reviews

1.2.0
05 November 2018

Customize your dock.

WordWeaver
04 August 2015

Most helpful

Good work Wolfgang! We are riding again under 10.11! :)

It is a shame though that the ColorfulSidebar option is no longer working. Even installing SIMBL and ColorfulSidebar separately from cDock does not work. Likewise, the ColorfulSidebar installation that is included in Xtrafinder and with SideEffects don't work either.

Apple's current, drab gray-on-gray user interface is really boring and for the birds. I honestly don't know what they are thinking over there.

For decades, Macs have always been about color, beauty, and eye-popping clarity in the OS's graphic design. Personally, I much preferred the metallic, platinum look with colorful icons everywhere. It gave windows more depth.

Everything has gone downhill design-wise since then.

I also have to wonder why, after so many years, Apple hasn't offered more user interface options in the Dock. Would it really be so difficult for them to introduce dock themes, so that we don't have to rely on a third party hack like cDock?

So be thankful that Wolfgang is doing his best to keep cDock updated and compatible for us. I most certainly am. :)
Like (10)
Version 9.2

Read 136 cDock User Reviews

Rate this app:

nataliajunttila
02 September 2019
Doesn't work on my Mac Mini. I have this problem for almost a year now. The problem is on Mojave with version cDock 1.2.0. The program is impossible to use, so useless purchase!
Like
Version 1.2.0
Jimw
06 July 2019
Wasted a lot of time on this. Conflicted with Flashlight and disabled Spotlight operation. Had to rebuild my entire user folder to isolate the issue. Then after reinstalling Flashlight, CDock and MySimbl from the latest versions I could find with System Integrity disabled (required), neither Flashlight or CDock would work. Finally gave up and deleted all of them, including MySimbl. Wasted 7 hours on this stuff. Running High Sierra 10.13.6.
Like
Version 1.2.0
1 answer(s)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
15 July 2019
I wasted a couple hours myself, not to mention $5.
Like
Jeff-H-
05 July 2019
Can't get ElCapitan 2008 Pro to boot into recovery mode so I just gave these guys $5 for NOTHING! I guess buyer beware but I ABSOLUTELY HATE PISSING $ AWAY LIKE THAT!!!!!
Like
Version 1.2.0
Wade-Smith
16 February 2019
Continues to have a crash upon downloading. It recovers every time, but still.... Crashed Thread: 1 Exception Type: EXC_CRASH (SIGABRT) Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000000, 0x0000000000000000 Exception Note: EXC_CORPSE_NOTIFY Application Specific Information: *** Terminating app due to uncaught exception 'NSGenericException', reason: '*** Collection <CALayerArray: 0x604000241470> was mutated while being enumerated.' terminating with uncaught exception of type NSException abort() called
Like
Version 1.2.0
rarter777
04 December 2018
Won't keep preferences when I boot up. Mojave on an iMac. I have to restart cDock each time I restart. Only problem I'm having.
Like
Version 1.2.0
1 answer(s)
arizdave
arizdave
29 June 2019
I have EXACTLY the same problem cDock v1.2, and SIP is always disabled. On iMac restart I have to "restart" cDock again & everything is fine.
Like
SuperTab-Team
05 September 2018
I ran cDock 1.1.3 on my iMac with Sierra and cDock rendered my Mac *ENTIRELY* unusable. I launched it and it then got itself into an endless loop of (what looked like) restarting the Dock and itself, over and over and over every second or so. I couldn't select Force Quit, I couldn't quit it directly, etc... I had to power down my Mac and boot in safe mode just to be able to remove it.
Like
Version 1.1.3
1 answer(s)
wmh
wmh
15 September 2018
I had the same situation on my MacBook Pro.
Like
MichaelHaeusler
24 August 2018
It's a great app for sure, but starting with Mojave, the user will have to keep System Integrity Protection (or at least the relevant part of SIP) disabled for cDock to work. On High Sierra you could disable SIP, install the SIMBL helpers for cDock, then enable SIP again. That's sadly not possible anymore. And I'd rather leave my machine protected than have a nicer Dock. Too bad for the money.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.3
Eric•Woehler
13 August 2018
Excellent app to personalise your dock! Many options (my pref is transparent dock), options to remove various GUI items that Apple feels are necessary. One purchase/licence covers laptop and desktop, so very cheap for the various features and options on all of your macs. Recommended!
Like
Version 1.1.3
lifesview-kerry
05 August 2018
Had problems with it working on my Mac Mini..
Like
Version 1.1.1
Maclover1-1
09 July 2018
Makes the Dock pleasant and useful again. If only to be able to place it at the top of an edge where I can finally feel like using it, but it does so much more.
Like
Version 1.1.1
eli-ny
25 October 2017
love this app. hope the developers will continue to update and support
Like
Version 0.12.4
RogerKatz
19 November 2016
VirusBarrier altered me that OSX/Eleanor.PY, within cDock-Helper, was malware.
Like
Version 0.12.4
3 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
06 December 2016
That's no small contention. Anyone else have this experience? Is this trustworthy software?
Like
TeddyBearX
TeddyBearX
28 August 2017
The official cDock application isn’t hiding anything, in fact it is fully open-source on GitHub (https://github.com/w0lfschild/cDock2). Either you downloaded it someplace shady, or it seems like you need to reconsider your anti-virus software.
Like (2)
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
28 August 2017
Per TeddyBearX's reply (below, on Aug 27, 2017) I downloaded it (again) from both the Developer's website and via MacUpdate. After installing it in macOS Sierra, VirusBarrier no longer Alerts me with the warning I mentioned on Nov 19, 2016..
Like
markowa
18 October 2016
Nice thing to play with. Easy way to change your dock appearance.
Like (2)
Version 0.12.4
Steinar-Helgesen
17 October 2016
The first app to be installed on any MacOS i install. THE dock app to have.
Like (1)
Version 0.12.4
Big Johnson
12 October 2016
"Big fixes." LOL Guess that's better than some little BUG fixes.
Like
Version 0.12.2
BradMacPro
11 October 2016
This release 0.12.2 actually got to work under Sierra 10.12.1 beta 4. I used the editors choice theme and edited a few settings from there. Most important function is to make the indicators wider and taller so they are more visible.
Like (1)
Version 0.12.2
musheam
09 September 2016
I installed cDoc on my  Mac mini running OS X El Capitan. Unfortunately, its not working. Any suggestions on how I should troubleshoot to get it to transform my dock?
Like
Version 0.12.1
1 answer(s)
Wolfgang Baird
Wolfgang Baird
08 October 2016
Make sure you disable System Integrity Protection to allow cDock to install/update SIMBL.
Like
Wts
27 August 2016
I am deferring my rating. Wish there was a manual. Yes, i'm a manual reader. Does this run in the background ? It seems not because when i am setting up preference . Also getting some message about internal error/crash unless i select continue.
Like
Version 0.11.4
mdl00
27 August 2016
cDock 0.11.4 is out with 10.12 support. I'm still running 10.11, though, and the update seems to have introduced an issue. All non-running apps now have a darkened icon. I cannot seem to find a setting to change this, and it didn't happen before the update. Even choosing "Disable theming" did not change it back to the way it was.
Like
Version 0.11.3
6 answer(s)
Ptc
Ptc
27 August 2016
I confirm this issue with 10.11.6 - non-runing apps, and folders, in dock are now greyed/darkened. No, I take that back: after mousing over the icon in the dock it goes light again, and so fas, has stayed that way. Folders need to be opened first. Not sure yet what will happen after a reboot.
Like
mdl00
mdl00
27 August 2016
FWIW, mousing over the icon did not fix it for me, however, I right clicked on the icon and then it reverted and has stayed that way since. Like you, I have not tried a reboot yet.
Like
Weasel-Boy
Weasel-Boy
27 August 2016
I'm on 10.010.5 and I was seeing the darkened non-running apps as well. I tried right cilcking on them all, following with a reboot, but they all darkened again. Since there is no way to reverse this in the cDock control panels (that I could find), I reinstalled the previous version, which solved the problem. I can wait until the next version to see if this gets fixed.
Like (1)
herbs2
herbs2
27 August 2016
Yes, there is a problem. I've gone back to 0.11.3 and look forward to 0.11.5.
Like
raugust
raugust
28 August 2016
I can confirm that this darkening problem is also present on 10.10.5. I've also reverted back to 0.11.3 while awaiting a fix.
Like
-w0lf
-w0lf
06 September 2016
Should be fixed now.
Like (1)
Moxiesozo
15 June 2016
Simply too many SIMBL crashes. Look in your various Crash Logs folders to see if you have similar experiences. And Colorful Sidebar no longer works consistently with Yosemite, so... until and only when SIMBL can be made to be solid will I start using this app again. LOVED making my Dock (and only my Dock, not the menubar) black, and making the indicator lights bright green to stand out. Bummed that SIMBL simply isn't stable.
Like
Version 0.11.3
2 answer(s)
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
18 July 2016
I'm using Mac OS X 10.11.5 El Capitan on a MacBook Pro 15" Retina.
Using CDock 0.11.2 (1781), I see ZERO SIMBL crashes in the Console App in any of the logs and crash logs.

So far I am very happy with cDock. I just hate the default Dock appearance. The only limitation is Apple's Mac OS X Security that has to be disabled for installation. I hope it doesn't have to be permanently disabled.
Like
-w0lf
-w0lf
03 August 2016
@Psychiatry System Integrity Protection only needs to be enabled to install or update SIMBL.

@Moxiesozo That's odd. I have never really encountered any SIMBL crashes. What exactly is crashing SIMBLAgent or other Applications? Crashes might be due to an outdated SIMBL plugin.
Like
fredd9320
15 June 2016
This is the best app ever, now I got rid of the horrible mac dock for ever, I just hope you can do the same wonderful job on the new macOS when it arrives in October 2016.
Like (1)
Version 0.11.3
Lightning
14 June 2016
It works great in 10.11.6 beta2
Like
Version 0.11.2
Amergin
28 March 2016
Just installed OSX 10.11.4 (against my better judgment but forced on me by being a dev) and cDock doesn't work. I loathe Herr Ive's UI dictates and cDock saves me from staring at the ridiculous white dock all day. I've done the SIP tap dance as well as Binarymix's additional suggestions to no avail. cDock is not working for me. I'm on a retina iMac. For now I'm going to just turn dock hiding on so I don't have to spend all day gagging!
Like (1)
Version 0.10.4
MichaelHaeusler
12 February 2016
One of the first OS X applications I used ages ago was a Dock modding app, I think it was "Transparent Dock". I've stuck with Dock modding until today, and I'm truly super-glad we still have a working solution for El Capitan. I could think of several feature enhancements, like dimming unlaunched applications, but cDock is already awesome. Strange that Apple, who always produce great-looking OSs, have never quite managed to turn the Dock into a beautiful thing. Thanks to Mr. Baird, we can!
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7
ben-marko
11 February 2016
Seems to be broken after last update (to version 0.10.4). Dock no longer is affected by clock at all, an hourglass error tone is heard after clicking the "Apply" button.
Like
Version 0.9.7
Virgquest
10 December 2015
I had the same problem as several others here in that I installed cDock2 (v0.9.7) after disabling SIP and it didn't appear to work under either 10.9 or 10.11. I kept looking for an "apply" button because the app appeared to be running, but nothing was happening when I changed dock theme settings. Thanks to BinaryMix's comment (quoted below), I was able to get it working by manually moving the cdock.bundle to the right location. Really miss left and right bottom dock pinning, but that's not the developer's fault.

One note - I wish it were harder to inadvertently change the pre-installed developer themes. I explored theme options by tweaking one of the pre-installed themes and then discovered there was no easy way to revert those changes without deleting and reinstalling the original theme bundle. :/

Five stars for the (now) working app, one star for the installation problems = 3 overall.

"Binarymix Oct 04, 2015: I did some troubleshooting within console. The installation of cdock into the SIMBL plugins folder was giving a permission denied error. (even though the permissions popup asked for permission)

I copied the cdock.bundle from within /Applications/cdock.app/Contents/Resources/, to /Library/Application Support/SIMBL/Plugins/, opened Activity monitor, force quit cdock agent, and SIMBL agent, then restarted cdock. All is working as it should now :D"
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7
Steinar-Helgesen
09 November 2015
Lost most of the layout options, like old School Cool, how do i get it back?
Like
Version 0.9.7
1 answer(s)
Steinar-Helgesen
Steinar-Helgesen
09 November 2015
Nm put back a backup and now its back.
Like
Loehman
14 October 2015
Works now without any special startup configs. Note the PayPal icon and click it. The no-longer-ugly dock is worth it. Despite the review by WordWeaver, my ColorSidebar are working just fine.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7
ben-marko
13 October 2015
Most definitely broken now. I had SIP (rootless) turned off, and clock was working fine. When this update was pushed, my dock stopped being transparent. Turning SIP back on did not fix the issue (I assumed that this update addressed SIP issues). Thank God for Time Machine.
Like
Version 0.9.7
Crunchie
08 October 2015
Using v0.9.7 on my Mavericks iMac I'm trying to remove this utility but it won't let me. After all associated files have been trashed using AppZapper I restart to a grey desktop with no dock working, and without the ability to double-click the top of a window to make it go into the dock. Only when I open the cDock app again do things look OK, and even then I get the spinning beachball and have to force-quit it.. If I delete the app from the User's log-in's I get the same grey desktop again so back to square one. Why can't I be allowed to remove the app to restore the unmodified state of my system?
Like
Version 0.9.7
4 answer(s)
-w0lf
-w0lf
11 October 2015
In the preferences tab click disable.
Like (1)
Crunchie
Crunchie
11 October 2015
When I launch the app I get spinning ball (app not responding). After force-quitting I launch again and press Disable and get spinning ball again. What files do I have to trash to completely remove this please?
Like
-w0lf
-w0lf
11 October 2015
/Library/Application Support/SIMBL/Plugins/cDock.bundle
Like (1)
Crunchie
Crunchie
11 October 2015
I removed the SIMBL bundle but when I remove the app from the User Log-in window and then Restart I get a grey desktop and no dock at all.
Like
Pissnaround
08 October 2015
Will cDock continue to work after re-enabling SIP and do you have to disable SIP every time there is an update?

TIA
Like
Version 0.9.7
1 answer(s)
Jpwgibson
Jpwgibson
09 October 2015
Not sure what will happen after future updates, but for now, cDock does continue to work after re-enabling SIP.
Like (1)
Moxiesozo
08 October 2015
Wolfgang, thanks so much for offering cDock 2. It is FANTASTIC. (So sad we have to depend on the intelligence and generosity of third-party developers to bring back USEFUL and DESIRED features to the Finder. Apple is going in the wrong direction with removing features and options. Taking way our choice to have a colorful interface is ridiculous.)
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7
Remi
08 October 2015
Fantastic!!!
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7
WordWeaver
08 October 2015
Due to the way that MacUpdate has this app labeled, I was a little confused when I downloaded it and saw the version number. For the record, going by the version number, and the icon, and what is found on the Github website, this actually appears to be what the developer -- Wolfgang Baird -- refers to as cDock 2. In other words, it is cDock 2 version 0.9.7. I have been using this app for a while now, and was up to 0.9.5 before this current release. As I have said before, if you miss your transparent Dock, this app will get it back for you, and more.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7
Kennett
05 October 2015
cDock2 v0.9.7 is available from the developer's website.
Like (2)
Version 9.5
hugmup
05 October 2015
Does not work on El Captain. (Does absolutely nothing.)
Like
Version 9.5
1 answer(s)
Steinar-Helgesen
Steinar-Helgesen
08 October 2015
See post on disable SIP further down.
Like (1)
Jeff-H-
01 October 2015
Says "El Cap ready" but definitely not working here. Completely uninstalled and downloaded the newest version and NADA love. Why do I keep upgrading my OS? Freakin madness every time!
Like (2)
Version 9.5
3 answer(s)
duke-6t
duke-6t
03 October 2015
HOW TO REPAIR C-D0CK TO WORKING ORDER IN EL CAPITAN

In every OX upgrade apple makes changes to its operating system that the average person is not aware of because they are behind the scenes, (Hidden from sight). This is why c-dock will not function. The one causing our problem is SYSTEM INTEGRITY PROTECTION or SIP for short. In order to fix this problem follow the steps below exactly as out lined and it should work. Worked for my iMac

1. Re-Start your Mac while holding down the Command and “R” key > Release power after chime This will boot you into the recovery > Disregard everything in the centre of the screen, instead go to the top left and click on utility menu > from the drop down down menu open Terminal.
2. At the flashing prompt type the following exactly as shown csrutil disable
3. Hit Enter-Return
4. Terminal will display a confirmation if you followed instruction correctly. If you get an error, you did something incorrectly and must start over from beginning.
5. To reverse this process follow steps 1 and 2 > change csrutil disable to csrutil enable.

Good Luck
Hope this Helps
Like (1)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
03 October 2015
Thank you for your response duke_6t. I've gone back to 10.10.5. El Capitan broke too many 3rd party pieces of software that I rely on in my daily workflow.
Plus jumping through all those hoops for a clear dock is WAY more work then I have time for.
Like
cmotdibbler
cmotdibbler
06 October 2015
I'm running transparent dock and even FinderPop by disabling SIM using the method described by duke_6t's.... this is on on 10.11.1 beta 2. It *will* work but Apple is making it more difficult for these deep system changes.
Like
jakejoiner12
01 October 2015
Doesn't work in el capitan. nothing works. I change docks, it doesn't change. Fix this!!!!
Like (1)
Version 9.5
4 answer(s)
-w0lf
-w0lf
03 October 2015
You need to disable System Integrity Protection.
Like
Binarymix
Binarymix
04 October 2015
It's not working for me either, and SIP is disabled.

Total finder works, so the system is allowing injection.
Like
Binarymix
Binarymix
04 October 2015
I did some troubleshooting within console.

The installation of cdock into the SIMBL plugins folder was giving a permission denied error. (even though the permissions popup asked for permission)

I copied the dock.bundle from within /Applications/cdock.app/Contents/Resources/, to /Library/Application Support/SIMBL/Plugins/, opened Activity monitor, force quit cdock agent, and SIMBL agent, the restarted cdock.

All is working as it should now :D
Like (1)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
08 October 2015
Dear Jake, I think you meant to say " Fix this please !!!!! " You should be grateful the guy has bothered to make this utility, try yelling at Apple instead. they should be giving us easy choices in the first place
Like (1)
zo219
23 September 2015
Can't believe I can still modify the dock, damn Apple anyway. Seeing open app indicators on a small lapstop screen is so great, and geting rid of that white ribbon.
Like
Version 9.5
Steinar-Helgesen
10 September 2015
Have to follow the System Integrity Protection can still be disabled: http://www.macbartender.com/system-item-setup/ After GM version released today to get cDock to work again.
Like (1)
Version 9.5
Lony
05 September 2015
Hello all, I have os x 10.11 beta public 5 I installed but doesn't work. Some options are working but not all. What can i do? Thx
Like
Version 9.5
SirArthur
03 September 2015
Customize your dock whithout any efforts! Great app.
Like (3)
Version 9.5
Kenm22
03 September 2015
It seems that with the latest beta release of 10.11 the System Configuration Utility is no longer available in Recovery Mode. Since we can't turn off the System Integrity Check (Rootless) I wonder if there is any other way to install SIMBL.
Like
Version 9.5
3 answer(s)
-w0lf
-w0lf
03 September 2015
System Integrity Protection can still be disabled:

http://www.macbartender.com/system-item-setup/
Like (1)
Kenm22
Kenm22
04 September 2015
Thank you.
Like
Steinar-Helgesen
Steinar-Helgesen
10 September 2015
Have to do this again when GM was released today.
Like
Steinar-Helgesen
13 August 2015
Thanks for the latest 9.5 version, more and more functions. Love the ability to change and customise cDock. Awesome.
Like (1)
Version 9.5
2 answer(s)
Steinar-Helgesen
Steinar-Helgesen
13 August 2015
Old School Cool is SO cool.
Like (1)
Steinar-Helgesen
Steinar-Helgesen
14 August 2015
Any know how to "fix" so the color on theme dock labels so its not brown color in Old School Cool, would like it to be black. :)
Like
Kenm22
08 August 2015
Installed 9.4 on both 10.10.4 and 10.11 PB4. Before installing I removed all cDock and SIMBL files. On both 10.10.4 and 10.11 PB4 cDock will not go into effect until I do a menu click with the mouse. It then functions as intended. It will not automatically go into effect. Version 8.3 works perfectly on 10.10.4. My review is one star for 9.4 and five stars for 8.3.
Like
Version 9.3.1
2 answer(s)
-w0lf
-w0lf
13 August 2015
This should be fixed now.
Like
Kenm22
Kenm22
13 August 2015
I was about to post the fact that it's fixed on both 10.10.4 and on 10.11.
Thank you. I think we all appreciate it.
Like
Holypoly
08 August 2015
Version 9.4 is out: - cDock 9+ requires administrator credentials to install SMBL - SIMBL install is done by ‘cDock-Helper’ - OSX 10.11 requires rootless be disable for initial install - OSX 10.11 does not support Colorfulsidebar - New theme - Lion - OS X 10.9 - Fix picture themes not showing . Fix custom indicators drawing behind icons - Theme options - Custom separator - OS X 10.9 and above - Fix heavy CPU usage when resizing with icon Reflections enabled - Fix heavy CPU usage when moving mouse over dock with Custom indicator enabled - Fix medium CPU usage when moving mouse over or resizing soxk - Fix dock infinitely stretching with full width option - Theme options - Rounded corners - Border layers are back - OX X 10.10 and above - Fix Separator layer flashing when resizing full screen dock - Fix blur (frost) layer flickering when moving mouse over dock - Prevent custom indicators from being affected by Dark/Light mode - Theme options - Force inverse Dark/Light mode - Resize default indicator - Color default indicator - Translations - Fix issue with magnification setting - Source code - More notes - Small tweaks and bug fixes - Known issues - Separator layer is behind background layer (10.9+) - CPU usage when moving mouse over or resizing Dock with picture background (10.9+) - CPU usage when moving mouse over or resizing Dock with custom indicator (10.9)
Like
Version 9.3.1
3 answer(s)
Holypoly
Holypoly
08 August 2015
https://github.com/w0lfschild/cDock/releases/download/v9.4/cDock_v9.4.zip
Like
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
10 August 2015
Can rootless be turned on after the initial installation?
Like
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
10 August 2015
@Psychiatry: Yes, you should re-enable SIP after you install cDock. It will continue to work. However, ColorfulSidebar no longer works; not only in this app, but also in "XtraFinder" and "SideEffects".
Like
Harv
06 August 2015
While earlier version had some problems, for me, v9.3.1 put all to right, and it is again, stable and works as designed. Time will tell if latent problems surface, but as long as you have a backup, me thinks it's well worth the (negligible) risk. Enjoy!
Like
Version 9.3.1
Shane-Smith
05 August 2015
Is there no way to colour the separator?
Like
Version 9.3.1
Mcoyle
05 August 2015
It's really important that we let Apple know that System Integrity Protection is limiting the way we have enjoyed using our computers. If you're beta testing El Capitan, file a bug report. It takes 30 seconds. So far, I've done it for LiteIcon, TotalFinder and cDock. These are all utilities that I love using to customize my Mac and I want them back!
Like (3)
Version 9.3.1
Msl
04 August 2015
Great when it works, but sadly none of the updated versions (including 9.3.1) work for me on OS 10.10.4.
Like
Version 9.2