Back to DockMod page
DockMod free download for Mac

DockMod Reviews

4.02
20 October 2015

Dock customizing utility.

bbbc
04 May 2014

Most helpful

I've never said something like this before, but please stay far away from this sucker as possible. The author claims to offer an unlimited trial of the software, but I've never seen a bigger piece of nagware in my life. Once you alter your dock, the icons' titles get the extra text of "DockMod Trial". In addition, a red scrolling banner / ticker text appears under your dock about the software being unlicensed. This was all within ten minutes of usage. Man, this guy really wants his $8 bucks. Different folks on Apple's forums have struggled with getting DockMod uninstalled. If you want a transparent dock on Mavericks or other tweaks, grab the free cDock on SourceForge.
Like (11)
Version 2.03

Read 27 DockMod User Reviews

Rate this app:

Psychiatry
21 May 2017
Last updated: 10/20/2015. Developer website: dead This is dead software. Sad. SPECULATION: The problem I had this this software is that you had to modify the dock.app. This meant you couldn't update the app with every update to Mac OS unless the author updated the app also. For a low volume app like this, $8.00 isn't enough to cover the cost of living for continued work on this app. System integrity production probably killed off this app. This I suspect is why the author gave up on it.
Like
Version 4.02
ronaldpr
23 March 2016
In the meaantime I am getting used to the default Yosemite Dock. Another couple of months, and I will not need Dock modification software anymore.
Like
Version 4.02
1 answer(s)
ronaldpr
ronaldpr
23 March 2016
Of course I meant the default El Capitan Dock.
Like
Rikyman
23 March 2016
Developer vanished, no reply to licenced users.
Like
Version 4.02
Mojo850
02 March 2016
Looks like Dockmod isn't the only thing Apple's stealth update screwed up. http://www.macnn.com/articles/16/02/29/somebody.at.cupertino.pushed.a.security.update.that.blacklisted.ethernet.drivers.132784/
Like
Version 4.02
Rikyman
02 March 2016
The app stop working with the lastest security update from Apple, no Word from the devloper to licenced users. So for the time being is a no go.
Like
Version 4.02
Mojo850
29 February 2016
Bought a 3 license pack. One day it just stopped working. I uninstalled it and tried to download another copy of 4.0.2 (why does their web site only have ver 4.0.1. The installer would not work. Finder said to move it to the trash. Sent 4 emails with NO answer. Other installer worked but not the Ver 4. I think they have terrible support, took my money too with NO problem. Tried to download and install on a fresh OS 10.11.1 and NO go. It failed same as everything else I tried. Other installers had no problem. This software is ####ed up. No response is even worse. They should be banned form the developers community.
Like (1)
Version 4.02
3 answer(s)
ronaldpr
ronaldpr
01 March 2016
Apparently Apple push-installed a security update "Incompatible Kernel Extension Configuration Data" version 3.28.2 (see System Information - Software - Installations) that labeled the DockmodDriver.kext (in /Library/Extensions/) incompatible, effectively disabling an installed DockMod and preventing re-installation.

Also on my Mac (OSX 10.11.3) the extension did not load at the next restart (checked with EtreCheck) and DockMod thus stopped working.

I sent a message to the developer. No answer yet and no information on the DockMod website.
Like (1)
Mojo850
Mojo850
01 March 2016
With this new information, I realize it wasn't the developers fault. However it would be nice if they updated their website with the latest version and any technical info. The way Apple has been going .... Any updates from Apple should have the users permission to install. Shame on Apple. At least they are standing up ti the govt. But this stinks that Apple is doing this. What is the reason? Was there a serious threat? Or they just don't want users/developers modding anything. Hopefully the developer will figure something out. I have disabled SIP to install injection etc... the reactivate SIP. It seems Apple thinks all Apple owners are of the herd mentality and they know best.
Like
ronaldpr
ronaldpr
01 March 2016
It was a signed kext. Maybe the signature expired. Not sure to what extend Apple allows such modifications.

The special security updates are pushed by Apple without user intervention and even without notification. They are in fact small text files that are read by security software that is part of OSX. In the same way Apple disables for instance old versions of Flash Player.

If you do not want such updates, you can deselect "Install system data files and security updates" in App Store System Preferences. The downside is that you will not get these specific updates at all, also not with later OSX updates and announced security updates.
Like
ronaldpr
30 January 2016
I installed DockMod 4.02 on OSX 10.11.3 (El Capitan). I installed it while logged in as administrator. There was no need to disable SIP and it is now running in trial mode. It works perfectly! But... it took me some time to get it working. There is no manual or help file and the interface is not self-explaining. To get it to work at all, one must do two things: 1. Get a three-day trial license from the Help menu. 2. Switch DockMod on with the slider-button in the upper-right corner of the main window. It took me hours before I tried that button. With that button one can switch DockMod and the changes to the Dock on and off. Without that button on (green), clicking Apply does nothing. With DockMod on, one can select one of the default themes. Double-clicking a theme will reveal additional settings and at the bottom of those setting panels one can add more settings. Clicking Apply will apply the chosen theme to the Dock Once you know how it works, it works fine and I am happy to be able to customize my Dock in El Capitan without the need to disable SIP. I will pay for a regular license.
Like
Version 4.02
benjitek
25 October 2015
After uninstalling the trial version, my previous dark-dock turned light blue and couldn't be changed. The system setting for 'use dark menu and dock' had no effect on it. No response from developer. Another app, cDock, has a setting to 'reset Dock to factory default', that worked.

No more Dock-mod apps for me ;-)
Like
Version 4.02
hugmup
13 October 2015
This program works well, but there are some things to take into account. In OS X Captain Crunch, you have to disable SIP. You also have to install it in a admin account. If you install it in a standard account, it will run but it won't do anything. After you install it in the admin account, it will work in all accounts on the same machine. The only caution is that it is hard to get the license to take effect. I paid for one and can't find a way to apply it.
Like
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
hugmup
hugmup
13 October 2015
An update. Do this:
1. Turn off SIP.
2. Switch to an admin account if necessary.
2. Install DockMod while you are in the admin account.
3. Purchase the license from within the application.

I had to buy a second license, but it's not enough money to worry about.
Like
Rikyman
10 October 2015
I just broght it, I like the way it's simpler to customize the doc, but version 4 is not working on el capitan, at least for me, and there is no way to completly remove and make a clean install the program and make it work, something gets damaged in the process.

And also there is no way to transfer licences when we sell an old computer, licences die with the computer.

Thats a bad investiment, I Will wait two days for the developer to resolve the issue, then I Will cancel the purchase.
Like (1)
Version 4.0
Sgginc
09 October 2015
I've been purchasing this for years. Never got it to work. This time I paid the $8 and it still fails to work. I've been submitting crash reports to the developer and not one response. cDock works fine.
Like (2)
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Sgginc
Sgginc
09 October 2015
Finally a response:
There is an issue with the current version of Dockmod. We are aware of this issue and are working to resolve. We hope to have a fix released in a few days.

Thanks for understanding, we are quite embarrassed about this.

- Bryan
Like
Rjmorita
08 October 2015
It does not work on my Mac running El Capitan. Is it supposed to work without disabling System Integrity Protection ? Not a mention of it anywhere.
Like
Version 4.0
2 answer(s)
Sgginc
Sgginc
09 October 2015
Doesn't work for me either.
10.11
Developer is unresponsive.
Like
Sgginc
Sgginc
09 October 2015
From developer:
There is an issue with the current version of Dockmod. We are aware of this issue and are working to resolve. We hope to have a fix released in a few days.

Thanks for understanding, we are quite embarrassed about this.

- Bryan
Like
hwgray
17 July 2015
The current price is $10.00, not $15.00.
Like
Version 3.01
recuerom
28 February 2015
Just got V3 and I am very impressed with the customisation under Yosemite, best looking 3D dock period. Have used Cdock which is free and does give you a 3D dock if that is all you are after. I did find myself relaunching Cdock after a restart, this was intermittent and annoying which is why I paid for Dockmod. Had a couple of queries and the support email responded promptly. If you want a pretty dock this is the one !
Like
Version 3.01
ezkay
20 November 2014
I am using this since Mavericks (10.9), now on Yosemite (10.10). Imo this thing is the best you can get for styling your Dock. Gets you the 3D classic Dock back on Yosemite! It costs money, yes. But it's worth it!
Like
Version 2.04
2 answer(s)
bChon
bChon
05 December 2014
Quick ? ..does the old 3D classic dock reflect the icons in DockMod? I ask this because I'm using cDock at the moment, which works just fine except for the part where it still doesn't give it the classic icon reflection. Thanks in advance!
Like (1)
Okuyukashī
Okuyukashī
05 December 2014
Hello, paid advertiser! Welcome to MacUpdate! Enjoy your stay!
Like (1)
snickers2k
20 November 2014
Just Awesome! Everything works like a charm.
Like (1)
Version 2.04
Buhbye
11 November 2014
Excellent product that offers a dizzying array of customization features -- even more so with the Yosemite-friendly version 3.0, which is available from the developer's site but apparently not yet here on MacUpdate. The developer stays on top of new OS X releases, offers prompt support, and has delivered something light, clean, and fast that makes ostensibly similar products' limited features very much a case of "you get what you pay for." Version 3.0's new interface behaves more like a true image and level editor than a simple dock tweaker, making its most often suggested competitor's clumsy customization method look like a DOS-era joke.
Like (2)
Version 2.04
polocanada
21 July 2014
1. Does this allow me to have 2 or 3 docks on one display? The video on website shows 3 docks on 1 screen? I need something like this because I am running Matrox TripleHead setup with 3 monitors that are actually one monitor, so there is no way to have 3 docks on one screen without having to reach out across the span of 3 monitors to the one with dock on the bottom. This video shows 3 docks on one screen.. http://spyresoft.com/assets/videos/dockmod-screenies.mp4 2. I spent good part of my day to customize the dock, so if I install cDock and apply one of the settings.. do I lose some of the customizations.. does DockMod create custom dock on it's own or does it inherit the customizations already present from using tools such as Tinkertool, Secret, iTweakX, MacUtil etc... My customizations: spacers, new list view, mouse highlight in list, custom indicator for open items, recent apps/docks item in the dock, scroll to show content... 3. Is there a way to create backup of the settings in case I want to go back to my customized version of the dock in case I don't like the dock in DockMod. 3. What options do I have for Customized dock. Can I have the customizations I listed in point 2?
Like
Version 2.04
1 answer(s)
polocanada
polocanada
23 July 2014
@ bbbc
No sucker dared to respond to my list of questions above, so I assume the questions suck and I can just go and suck my finger I guess ;)
Like (1)
Harv
02 July 2014
Perhaps if I was aware of cDock, I would have gotten that. I dunno. But I do know that DockMod is rock-solid and does all it claims to do, and does it conflict free. That I have the option to customize the dock in infinite ways is but another benefit Updates have always been within a day of the OS update and customer support is first-rate/same day. That I can also help an aspiring IT student, is just more icing on the cake.
Like (4)
Version 2.04
Wile-E-
02 July 2014
Personally I am rather surprised by low value ratings that only appear to be used to promote a different application as opposed to reviewing whether or nor DockMod works or is a well written application. I have been a user of DockMod almost since its beginning and am very satisfied with what it offers and its reliability. It has been easy to use as well as easy to customize the Dock in many different ways - not just as a transparent Dock. For me, 8 bucks is great value for what this software offers and delivers.
Like (3)
Version 2.04
Harv
16 May 2014
If you find that DockMod no longer works with 10.9.3: 1. Launch DockMod 2. Go to User Preferences 3. In the top right corner, toggle the On/Off switch (you may need to restart). AFAIK, that always works (though there is always a machine somewhere that proves me wrong).
Like
Version 2.03
mag01
07 May 2014
I also highly recommend cDock instead of this. I actually wondered why cDock doesn't have an entry here so I just posted a new entry for it (waiting to be reviewed, hopefully it will make it).
Like
Version 2.03
Eric•Woehler
06 May 2014
Agree re cdock from sourceforge - simple, free app that did exactly what I was looking for - a transparent dock. Why pay $8 when if all you want is a transparent dock (or a couple of other basic options)? Was put off by 'videos' on dockmod webpage - sort of videos you might expect from second-hand car dealer...
Like
Version 2.03
Abofrapa
06 May 2014
A million thanks to bbbc. Following his or her advice, I downloaded the free cDock on SourceForge, which uninstalled DockMod easily. I felt uncomfortable using DockMod because VirusBarrier quarantined my Dock application after installing the application. Experts may have all kinds of technical explanations for this, but for an average user who has been using a Mac since 1991, these are hardly sufficient.
Like
Version 2.03
It's clear from the fast-paced videos on the author's web site that he hasn't got a clue about suability. The videos flash by so fast they could give one seizures. They'r all about showing how great he is at making flashy videos but how poor he is about communicating useful information. The guy's a poseur - that is, pretentious in the extreme.
Like
Version 2.03
Planetary-Paul
05 May 2014
This program nicely does what it advertises to do. The authors are up front about the fact that it is a hack. I like the way they go about the program and the website. To me it is worth the $8 and I hope SpyreSoft will be successful. For those who are complaining about not being able to use the program for free for extended periods of time despite the $8 price tag: Duh!? Maybe you should consider a naghelmet instead of calling people names. It took me just a few minutes to figure out whether I liked the program or not and whether it was worth the price to me. In my case it turned out to be a double positive. If it hadn't, I could have walked away. I'm not in any way forced to buy the program, neither are you.
Like (6)
Version 2.03
bbbc
04 May 2014
I've never said something like this before, but please stay far away from this sucker as possible. The author claims to offer an unlimited trial of the software, but I've never seen a bigger piece of nagware in my life. Once you alter your dock, the icons' titles get the extra text of "DockMod Trial". In addition, a red scrolling banner / ticker text appears under your dock about the software being unlicensed. This was all within ten minutes of usage. Man, this guy really wants his $8 bucks. Different folks on Apple's forums have struggled with getting DockMod uninstalled. If you want a transparent dock on Mavericks or other tweaks, grab the free cDock on SourceForge.
Like (11)
Version 2.03
5 answer(s)
Wts
Wts
05 May 2014
Thanks for the heads up on this swindler.
Like (1)
snickers2k
snickers2k
20 November 2014
it's a great App, jerk...
Like
hwgray
hwgray
13 April 2015
As bbbc has expressed it, "I've never seen a bigger piece of nagware in my life." He is correct. I tried this app and it seemed to be OK. Then, before I knew it, the trial-period had expired and I've been being nagged endlessly, ever since. Still, I'd blow eight bucks on it. As I said, it *seems* to be all right. But, *fifteen* bucks, without having had time to be sure that I'm going to be happy with this one-trick pony? As Steely Dan put it, "I can't go for that, no."
Like
Rikyman
Rikyman
10 October 2015
Formatted my mac, and from a clean install, docmod does not work, at least version 4.0
Like (1)
Rikyman
Rikyman
11 October 2015
I do not think is a bad app, I really like it, but launch an app that does not work well is a really big mistake, and correcting it should be maximum priority.

I brought 3 licences, and can't use it at the moment, is really frustrating.
Like