Back to Quiver page
Quiver free download for Mac

Quiver Reviews

3.2.7
30 September 2019

The programmer's notebook.

InspiredLife2
09 March 2017

Most helpful

I tried at least five code snippet apps, including Dash, CodeBox, Snippets, and a few others. Quiver is the one I ended up buying. I find it to be excellent, and very well priced. It has a few bugs, and a few missing features (which the developer told me he planned to implement, but that was over a year ago, so I won't hold my breath). The primary bug is that bothers me is that it does not maintain the window state between sessions. So the width of the sidebar reverts back to one that is not wide enough for my liking, each time I quit and start the app. There has been no update since June 2016, so I am starting to think this app may have been abandoned. That would be a pity, if it's true. The feature I would like to see, which the developer said he was working on, is a better (more automated) way of capturing snippets from web pages, and of handling the pasting of code and text into a snippet. Ideally, such that pasting code and text will automatically break the content into text and code cells accordingly. I highly recommend this app.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.3

Read 18 Quiver User Reviews

Rate this app:

xcoxco
27 November 2018
Excellent application for documenting code.
Like
Version 3.2
Scott-C-H-
05 September 2018
I code for a living, but I fail to understand why I need to use Quiver (or any "snippet manager" for that matter) instead of a folder full of plain text files accessed via my code editor or LaunchBar's Snippet feature. It's instantaneous, cross-platform, not locked into a particular software vendor, and I can use any sync service I want. Oh, and they show up in macOS Spotlight search, too. Keep it simple, stupid. Don't over-complicate your workflow.
Like
Version 3.1.3
1 answer(s)
boni-aditya
boni-aditya
19 October 2018
I agree but think in scale image that you have 1000 .to 5000 ready made python code arrows in your quiver, and you need to pull out the boiler plate code on demand, would you be able to do that with you code editor? I was of the same opinion but after a while, I had over 20 - 30 tabs of code files open frantically searching for relevant code that I have used! That's when I thought, i need a proper management tool to find the code on demand, reliably!
Like (1)
Dellu
14 April 2018
Had the notes been searchable using Spotlight, this app would have been one of the best note writing apps in the mac. NO spotlight support.
Like
Version 3.1.3
gabkenobi
28 March 2018
This app is really helpful with a great interface. Great app... Great price. Don't hesitate!
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2
aaffonso
19 March 2018
They shouldn't market it as a note-taking for programmers because this software is a way more versatile than that. I'm using as Ulysses replacement, for article writing and taking small notes and after trying/buying many other alternatives (Bear, IAWriter, Notebooks) I think I found what I was looking.
Like (3)
Version 3.1.2
fiery12
17 February 2018
I briefly tested Quiver and I was pleasantly surprised to find:
- great Markdown support
- Markdown preview panel (as in Github)
- support for inline pictures (just drag & drop a screenshot as in Mail)
- code coloring

There is only one limitation that is related to sandbox. If I drag & drop a pdf and choose to move it inside Quiver when asked, then I'm not able to modify this pdf (i.e highlight some text, then save it). However, if I choose to keep the pdf in its current location (i.e. Documents folder), then modifying the pdf works fine.
Like
Version 3.1.2
Szeoli
22 October 2017
I should start by saying I am not a programmer, so this review will reflect my use of Quiver as a writing and note-taking app. Quiver's organizational structure reflects how I like to work, especially now that it allows nested notebooks. It has tagging, but tags are not essential means of organizing -- unlike some apps that tagging is the major method of organization. The editor is elegant and its cell system is innovative and useful, even though I do not make use of all the cell types. I use Quiver on two different MacBooks and it has so far sync'd flawlessly, and I like that you have options of which cloud service to sync with. Quiver is pretty easy to learn, even though it has some unique features. It has become my go-to writing app.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.7
Amergin
19 October 2017
Version 3.1.0 on the App Store brings nested Notebooks - excellent. I love the way the developer is retaining the ease of use and elegance of the original UI and finding ways to enhance it subtly.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.7
chmel
30 May 2017
excellent replacement for evernote, reasonably enough of whistles, neat UI. I love it!
Like
Version 3.0.7
InspiredLife2
09 March 2017
I tried at least five code snippet apps, including Dash, CodeBox, Snippets, and a few others. Quiver is the one I ended up buying. I find it to be excellent, and very well priced. It has a few bugs, and a few missing features (which the developer told me he planned to implement, but that was over a year ago, so I won't hold my breath). The primary bug is that bothers me is that it does not maintain the window state between sessions. So the width of the sidebar reverts back to one that is not wide enough for my liking, each time I quit and start the app. There has been no update since June 2016, so I am starting to think this app may have been abandoned. That would be a pity, if it's true. The feature I would like to see, which the developer said he was working on, is a better (more automated) way of capturing snippets from web pages, and of handling the pasting of code and text into a snippet. Ideally, such that pasting code and text will automatically break the content into text and code cells accordingly. I highly recommend this app.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.3
2 answer(s)
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
26 April 2017
hmm... still not good enough..
I go with Dash... all in one Documentation & Snippets...
Like
InspiredLife2
InspiredLife2
27 April 2017
Quiver has at long last received an update. Unfortunately, the issue of the panels not holding their width settings from session to session continues to play out.
Like
silvio-dante
11 May 2016
Great app, active developer. Can't wait for the release of the iOS-app.
Like
Version 3.0.2
Gestalt
10 February 2016
At version 3.0.1 as of February 8, 2016. Version 3 adds two new cell types (LaTeX and Diagram), import/export improvements, and a new icon among other things. An iOS version will be in Beta soon. Just discovered this app recently - it's proving amazingly useful in its current state, even for non-programming notes, and the developer seems to be making improvements rapidly.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Igor-Freiberger
20 December 2015
Just perfect. And not only for programmers. I am not a developer and found Quiver the best tool to keeping hundreds of misc notes well organized. Formatting tools, export in various formats, clean interface, tagging, the option to use styles and to set them with CSS – all this make Quiver much better than most notes apps.
Like
Version 2.1
skinnymuch
27 November 2015
Great app. Great developer (very responsive on Github for issues and bugs). Version 3.0 has been out since November 17, 2015. 10 days now.
Like
Version 2.1
bumper314
29 June 2015
Quiver is much closer to an Evernote replacement rather than a code snippet manager, so the list of "Similar Software" here isn't quite accurate. Overall, Quiver is amazing. Just the right amount of flexibility for creating varied notes without much overhead.
Like
Version 2.1
InspiredLife2
20 May 2015
Brilliant app for the price. I tried Dash, Snippets, CodeBox, CocoaBox, and a few others. Dash was also excellent, but twice the price. Likely worth it if you can benefit from all the code manuals, etc., that are integrated into it. Otherwise, I think Quiver is the best option. The way it can handle different kinds of data in one record is great (Code cells, text cells, markdown cells, etc.). Very handy for commentary or notes on the code in question.
Like (2)
Version 2.1
Amergin
11 February 2015
Bought this when it first came out and it has gone from being a handy little utility with a few rough edges to a solid and capable developer tool. The dev seems to be on the ball and replies promptly to emails.
Like
Version 2.1
Philosopherdog
09 December 2014
As far as code snippet apps go this seems to me to be the best one since it allows mixing rich text, images, markdown, LaTeX, and syntax highlighted code snippets in almost any language. I haven't used it long enough to stress test it, but so far it looks pretty sweet.
Like
Version 2.0