Back to LightPaper page
LightPaper free download for Mac

LightPaper Reviews

1.4.2
21 March 2017

Markdown editor.

LuxLogica
12 November 2015

Most helpful

@macupdate admins please note: this app is now at version 1.0 (November 2015). The appropriate URL for the app developer site is: http://lightpaper.ashokgelal.com. App is no longer free, but there is a trial version available for download.
Like (3)
Version 0.8.7

Read 13 LightPaper User Reviews

Rate this app:

Saxintosh
19 January 2017
Awesome! Better than Ulysses!
Like (1)
Version 1.4
Uncoy
14 October 2016
Not nearly as good as the simple, elegant and free Mou (I donated there) for rapid composing. Lightbox has too many bells and whistles and is kind of clunky on the screen in comparison. But I couldn't get postbox quality output from Markdown business letters in Mou. The export PDF does the trick almost at default settings in LightPaper. Delighted with the purchase as I have no other way of turning Markdown business letters into truly printable versions which doesn't take a lot of custom fiddling with formatting (waste of time). In the end, I'm delighted I own LightPaper too.
Like
Version 1.3.1
putitoverhere
28 April 2016
Ahoy, there, 42 squares! You still developing this fine app? Haven't seen much dust in about a quarter, and I'm just trying to stir you up! This app is sooooo close to really great, that I do hope you carry it forward. LOVE everything the mini does, and I use it as my go-to scribbler. But with some tweaks on the Editor, this thing could do it all. My personal wish? A bit more "pretty" and functionality on the document sidebar. Last doc sorts at least...
Like
Version 1.3.1
guillevelasco
19 March 2016
Easily the best markdown editor. The ONLY thing I hate is that EVERY time I open the app a popup encourages me to Subscribe to the their list. I subscribed, but still appears every time when the app is started. Until I click in Join or Cancel, the app doesn't responses, I can't close it until I click one of these options. Anoying.
Like
Version 1.3.1
silvio-dante
17 February 2016
The MacUpdate-Price (9.99 USD) seems to be wrong, LightPaper is on sale for 14.99 USD and the regular (?) price seems to be 19.98 USD now. At least that’s what the pop-up says after updating to version 1.2. I actually didn't know this was a paid upgrade – now I can use this previously free software for only seven days without purchase! I'd really love to now when a free software gets paid software *before* I hit the update-button! Please add informations about the price/upgrade fee in the pop-up/update-notification!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
gluhring
gluhring
23 August 2016
Everywhere I go lately it's described as "a simple, beautiful, powerful, yet free text editor for passionate writers" but it costs $15!
Like (1)
LuxLogica
12 November 2015
@macupdate admins please note: this app is now at version 1.0 (November 2015). The appropriate URL for the app developer site is: http://lightpaper.ashokgelal.com. App is no longer free, but there is a trial version available for download.
Like (3)
Version 0.8.7
Francarstens
20 October 2015
LightPaper is no longer free. > https://gumroad.com/l/lightpaper I love this app, but I don't think I'll be upgrading.
Like (1)
Version 0.8.7
Is this working on El Capitan? It doesn't look like it's being updated, which is a shame. It's the best replacement for WriteMonkey if you're coming from Windows. It's the only OSX markdown editor that actually has useful features, such as tabs and folder view. Other editors are either too minimal, or too bloated. I was hoping it would add a few more writing features, such as word count for selected text, option to exclude comments from word count, and more detailed statistics similar to WriteMonkey. (Words, characters, paragraphs, sentences, pages and more elaborate statistics like word frequencies, lexical density, Gunning Fog index.) This could have been the best writing software for mac, would the developer consider making it open source?
Like
Version 0.8.7
This is the only markdown editor I know with three panes. Two for the standard markdown and preview, but a third for folder view. Very handy when using Lightpaper for a project.

I hope this is still in development, I got the latest version from the developer's website.
Like (2)
Version 0.8.7
1 answer(s)
mr-tylerdurden
mr-tylerdurden
10 March 2016
FYI, you can get that 3-pane (folder/markdown/preview) functionality using (free) Atom.io editor or Sublime Text (70$, trial version available w/o time limitations) and respective "Live Markdown preview" add-ons (both add-ons free), among others.
Like
Akanico
02 January 2015
In 0.8.7, the preview window is not well synchronized, goes way too fast and at some point I don't see the changes I'm writing, I'm lost so it's confusing.
I have to try the v0.9 to see if there is improvements on this.
Overall it seems like a neat free application.

btw, macupdate, don't know how it works on your side but since v0.9 is out, would be great to have access to it from your site as well.
btw too, the link you provide to the developer's site have changed, it's http://www.ashokgelal.com/lightpaper-for-mac/
Like
Version 0.8.7
Taoeffect
05 December 2014
I compared several Markdown editors. My two favorites are Mou and LightPaper (and it's clear both derive some inspiration from each other). But ultimately I have to pick LightPaper over Mou because of its support for editing multiple documents in one window. Otherwise both are fantastic editors! Remarkable job that puts the paid ones to shame!
Like (1)
Version 0.8.7
Big-Mac-XXL
06 August 2014
Impressive little text editor. Startup is like a flash --> immediately. I needed a tiny and very quick text editor for ideas. And this one was the champ!
Like (2)
Version 0.8.7
1 answer(s)
Big-Mac-XXL
Big-Mac-XXL
07 August 2014
Drag&Drop of text within the editor window doesn't work. Also Drag&Drop of text from the Finder into the editor window doesn't work yet. Maybe this will come later.
Like (1)
MichaelE5084
17 June 2014
Wow! I shelled out for Texts, MultiMarkdown Composer, and iA Writer before settling a couple of months ago on Byword. And then I discovered LightPaper this afternoon by fluke. It's easily a Byword competitor in terms of versatility, elegance, and simplicity, but it excels the good folks at Metaclassy by being free. Bravo and thanks!
Like (3)
Version 0.8.7
2 answer(s)
MichaelE5084
MichaelE5084
20 June 2014
Oh, and version 0.9's available on the developer's website.
Like (2)
Simon3
Simon3
30 May 2015
Could this be abandonware already?
Like