Back to Sparkle Pro page
Sparkle Pro free download for Mac

Sparkle Pro Reviews

2.8.2
27 July 2019

Visual website creator.

Xenedar
06 April 2014

Most helpful

You might want to re-think the name. https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/20366/sparkle
Like (7)
Version 1.0

Read 69 Sparkle Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

biondi
17 September 2019
Intuitive and fast UI. The best front-side web design tool ever since using Cyberstudio Golive and iWeb.
Like
Version 2.8.2
Edgar1
23 June 2019
The best of its kind
Like
Version 2.8.1
zlazkow
29 April 2019
I already left a very favourable comment after trying it last year here, but would like to ask a question though, have anybody had experience with Sparkle building an e-commerce site, an online store ? or is it better to go with sites like Shopify, bigCartel, wix..etc. ?
Like
Version 2.7.2
1 answer(s)
River SRL
River SRL
07 May 2019
Hi, sorry for the late reply, you can actually integrate Shopify and other embedded buttons and shopping carts in your Sparkle site. We have a video about that here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=79N-9IYFVg8

This is not the best channel for Sparkle support, please get in touch via our site or via email for quick support!
Like (1)
Antonypg
18 April 2019
Over the years I have used virtually every web site creation tool available for both Mac and PC. The last few sites I have used Sparkle, and I am now converting older sites to Sparkle as well. This has got to be one of the easiest packages around, it makes very modern looking sites very easy to accomplish in a short time. I love the ability to have multiple layouts for different devices.
Like
Version 2.7.2
mwelz75
30 March 2019
I am just blown away about the functionality of this app and how efficient I can create modern Web2.0 and 3.0 websites. I am a professional webdesigner who coded the templates and used Wordpress and Drupal. It is a very tedious process to have something launched in an efficient manner. Honestly the customer won't pay all the time and at the end they don't want to even touch the CMS. SO I went back to basic, satitic HTML with some emdeded life features as e-commerce and blogging,but the programming effort is immense. So i went out and investigated that web and looked anbd tested at probably every single Website Builder app for the Mac. Some resctricts you as hell, some you need to have a doctor title to understand the handling and some not worth the money. Then i found Sparkle that i had eactuallt already installed for 2 years and forgot about, i started it and felt easy to use straight away. First I thought it looks too cheap probably i cannot even build a decent website. After study some quick videos I saw the imennse functionality and use in this program. Now I am creating website one page in 1-2 websites per day, so mega easy. And the best is you don't need to care about maintenance, SEO or security updates, everything build in. Can highly recommend this app it will change your way how to create website effenciently.
Like (1)
Version 2.7.2
loco-3
11 March 2019
I bought the less expensive Sparkle software (since my web site is small and not a business) and am very pleased with it. It goes well beyond what I was capable of doing with iWeb, with much greater ease. But what I want to emphasize here is the top notch tech support when I was converting from iWeb to Sparkle and publishing a web site. The same tech support person (Duncan) stuck with me via email for almost a full day on back and forth emails. He was able to help me negotiate the pitfalls one might encounter when changing web building software and then publishing the site to my domain server, GoDaddy. You can't go wrong with either product and the quality tech support.
Like (1)
Version 2.7.2
IvoryBlues
29 September 2018
Great app as always
Like (1)
Version 2.7.1
jazzbird
23 August 2018
Without question, this is the BEST WYSIWYG programme available. I am not a professional web designer but I've been making websites since 1998 (first one was on Word!). I then used Frontpage and then started using Wordpress. However, WP started becoming difficult to use for this non-technical lass and FP faded from existence. I volunteered to create a website for my church thinking I could build it on WP but the security updates were a pain and then making even supposedly minor changes on the site proved tedious. That's when I decided to scour the net and after downloading a number of programs (using free trials), I stumbled across Sparkle. Oh my goodness! What a difference! After watching a 3rd party how-to video, I was up and running within minutes and I re-built the entire site from scratch in one evening. My church love the site almost as much as I enjoyed building it! Building websites is fun again! There are some features that I hope one day will be offered to make Sparkle my go-to for all my website building needs. One is a blogging feature. I'm in the midst of creating a Mummy blog but unfortunately have to rely on WP for that - though I would really prefer to use Sparkle. It'd also be great to have an advert rotator to easily monetise a website. And the ability to integrate third party apps/scripts would be good too. But despite the lack of blogging ability, this is the BEST EVER WYSIWYG programme in existence and it beats Frontpage, Wordpress and iWeb! It's ease of use and the beautiful sites it can create is just amazing. Thank you Duncan from Sparkle!!!
Like (2)
Version 2.6.3
appleHQ
15 August 2018
Great App! Using it for quick Website creation. Always looks professional. Highly recommended.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.3
momomorpheus
27 June 2018
I'm buy to Sparkle, but it's not "Export to Disk", "Publishing_ FTP". Finally ended the Web page and a web site. But there was not a possibility of seeing a web browser at on-line. Why don't the web files create? Why anything isn’t visible?
Like
Version 2.6.1
2 answer(s)
momomorpheus
momomorpheus
28 June 2018
The cause of problem was simple.
The problem in my gain and loss tribe, well became the solution.

Awesome, Visual Website Creator, Sparkle.
Like (1)
mwelz75
mwelz75
30 March 2019
so you could change the rating to 5 star ion you think is awesome ;)
Like (1)
jazzbird
21 June 2018
Hi! I'm currently using Wordpress for several websites but I'm finding maintaining the sites burdensome as there always seems to be an issue when there's been an upgrade. So now I'm looking at Sparkle. Has anyone had experience exporting a Wordpress site into Sparkle? Is it very difficult?
Like
Version 2.6.1
1 answer(s)
jazzbird
jazzbird
23 August 2018
I ended up rebuilding the entire site using Sparkle. I love it so much! Please read my review.
Like (1)
IvoryBlues
06 March 2018
Just keeps getting better. The app is so good I didn’t even upgrade from 2.2.3. Just bought a new license.
Like (2)
Version 2.5.1
Noraa
01 March 2018
This has to be the best WYSIWYG web development app out there. I actually purchased the app back when it was still in version 1.x via a Macupdate promo, but really didn't start using it until version 2.x. At first glance, Sparkle seems to be very barebones and limited. Upon first open, your are simply presented with a blank canvas and there are no built-in templates (though there are some available to download) and no direct editing of html code (though you can easily add embedded code). However, when you start digging into what Sparkle can do you quickly realize just how powerful it is. It has the ability to create a multiple "size" web page - i.e. a desktop version, tablet version, phone version, etc. all rolled into a single page. There are tools to easily create a photo gallery, a menu system that is automatically linked to the pages you've created - including sections where you can have multiple pages under a single menu item. Laying out a page is a piece of cake, as it is pure WYSIWYG - so all you have to do is drag and drop where you like the various page elements to appear. In addition, unlike other WYSIWYG editors, Sparkle generates extremely clean html. Perhaps best of all, the development team is extremely responsive - I've e-mailed them a multiple times with questions and feature requests, and have also heard back in a timely manner - they have even added some of the features I've requested, while others are still in the works.. They continually update the app with new features, and thus far have not charged for major updates (i.e., bought the app at version 1.x, didn't have to pay anything to go to version 2.x). TL;DR This is a wonderful and powerful web development tool. If you don't know how to code, or simply don't like coding, there isn't a better WYSIWYG web development program out there.
Like (4)
Version 2.5
goldenwebmaster
11 February 2018
This is a great app.
I am not the greatest coder, but have been using wysiwyg web builders for a long time; Adobe PageMill, SiteMill, GoLive CyberStudio > Adobe GoLive, Adobe Dreamweaver. I moved on from the complex to just building small responsive web sites. Been into Blocs and Wolf for a couple years now, but Sparkle is now my only choice.
The end result created by Sparkle for a mobile/computer friendly site is awesome. The mirroring of the basic 960 pixel into a 320 pixel web page is great.
One last note. When you look through your computer at the web page and adjust your side bar for smaller page width you will see your mobile friendly web page! Instead of continuously having the page downsized, or "blocs" moving ((2 pics side by side > moves to stacking on top of each other) it will show the mobile easy to read & view.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.3
1 answer(s)
goldenwebmaster
goldenwebmaster
15 February 2018
Wow, I added the 768 pixel & 480 pixel and without even an adjustment I have set things for 4 different devices. Google Chrome shows all 4 sizes on a computer by simply moving the sidebar closer together. I did have some major adjustments between 960 & 320 to make things the way I wanted it to come out. But adding the 768 just made a smaller 960 and when I added the 480 it made a larger 320. Just awesome!
Like (1)
tamerasneal
08 January 2018
I could not be happier with this program especially the technical support from the developers! Duncan worked with me until the website was up and running! He deserves a trophy for his patience and steadfast spirit plus technical knowledge! I enjoyed creating the website using this program. It was fun, intuitive and artistic.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.3
tdscrna
31 October 2017
I have been using Sparkle Pro for a little over 2 years now and am constantly impressed by the quality of the design and the features it has. The updates have shown definite improvements since I started using it, and I appreciate that. I did have some struggles at first, as there is a learning curve, as there is with all complex software. I reached out to support with my questions and Duncan Wilcox answered me within hours! I have had several interactions with him over the last couple of years and he is very responsive and helpful. I love this App. And I am constantly learning more about it. It is complex, as I said before. I like going on the Sparkle site and looking at the "Model Sites" they have there. It is easy to look on the page setups to see how they did their designs and then just do what those developers did, and bingo—it works! If you are going to get this App, get the Pro. It is definitely worth it.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.3
tomofukuda009
25 September 2017
Disappointed for too limited number of templates in their web site. The number of templates in the web site does not increase more than several years. Better to move to Everweb.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
6 answer(s)
tomofukuda009
tomofukuda009
27 September 2017
I am an official user of Sparkle, and paid full price for this software. I have a right to express whatever opinion as the user.

I obtained the direct E-mail from Software support, his name is Duncan Wilcox. Previously, I pointed out the disadvantage of sparkle due to the too limited number of template. However, Duncan never ever accept my opinion, and making a lots to excuse. Then, I put the negative comment of this software, since he does not listen to my opinion. Today, I obtained the direct E-mail from Duncan Wilcox, as listed in below.
>>>

A 1 star review definitely becomes a disadvantage in sales. Really?


Duncan

>>>

This letter is quite inappropriate E-mail against the official user of the software. Sparkle company is sending threatening E-mail to the user? Is this company anti-against First Amendment Rights? The support of this software is trying to erase out the negative feedback, and fill out all space with positive comments? If it is so, better to stay away from this software. They should be more modest to the official user.
Like (1)
River SRL
River SRL
27 September 2017
Dear Mr. Fukuda, you are entitled to your opinion, nobody is taking away any rights from you.

My comment was referring to the advice, that you had also expressed in private email, that few templates would be a disadvantage for Sparkle sales. We are a very small business that relies on worth of mouth, user reviews definitely play a big part, so if you are really concerned with Sparkle's future, the future of a product you have invested in, you would not post a 1 star review.

We offer the most generous free trial conditions among all of our competitors, and if despite the unlimited free trial you are still unhappy after having purchased, we offer a full refund.

Regarding templates, we have a very clear vision about Sparkle. It is not based on cookie-cutter templates, on making your site identical to 1000 others. We give full freedom of layout and believe Sparkle users appreciate it. We have a few templates that we develop as showcase and as design inspiration, but by no means do we believe that's what Sparkle users want. They would be using Wordpress, where there is an unlimited availability of templates.

Clearly you have a different opinion, and I respect it, but that doesn't mean that we rush to change our vision and development roadmap. If this means Sparkle is not useful to you, you can have a refund, you know my email address. I wish you good luck with whatever tool you end up using.

Duncan
Like (4)
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
09 October 2017
Hey Tomofukuda009, take a very deep breath before you rate and comment. Try to be fair. Peace! :)
Like (3)
IvoryBlues
IvoryBlues
28 February 2018
tomofukuda009: How is that a treating email? You could've downloaded the free trial and in between make suggestions and take it from there. Yes, I agree with the Developer(s). They have a vision/roadmap going and unfortunately, not all requests can be fulfilled. ;)
Like (2)
mrsidoric
mrsidoric
09 March 2018
Actually there are many templates – and you can easily create your own. You can also download a website you enjoy and preserve the basic layout to reuse. Sparkle is also MUCH more standards-compliant hat EverWeb or any other competitor. The developers listen and respond.
Like
jazzbird
jazzbird
23 August 2018
Sparkle is amazing as it's so simple, templates are virtually redundant! I created a beautiful website, without a template, in just one evening and I'm not at all a professional designer. Sparkle has some recent Youtube videos that can easily guide you on how to recreate a website you fancy. Btw, I did try Everweb but found it nowhere as intuitive or as simple as Sparkle.
Like
mczilla
23 August 2017
Is there any way to extend the Image Gallery past 15 images? I have around 30 I need to exhibit, with some text for each. thanks
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
1 answer(s)
River SRL
River SRL
08 September 2017
We have galleries with 100 images and more, though in 2.2.1 we have a glitch with preview that might look like a limit. There's no actual limit, if you publish the site you'll find that all images are exported. Adding text to gallery images isn't currently supported.
Like
lazk
21 August 2017
Sounds good and looks good.
Two questions to the developer or anybody who uses it:

1). is it possible to import pages from Etsy shop ? or copy & paste only ?
Importing items from Etsy shop to say Bonanza or other place, works fine. With CSV file. Almost perfectly, although you need to edit every item's description.

2). Are any discounts, specials planned soon ??? and where ?
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
3 answer(s)
River SRL
River SRL
08 September 2017
Sorry for the late reply. I'm guessing importing pages from Etsy will not be straightforward, meaning you can import the basic layout and content, but not the store part. The "import page" feature is in the Insert top level menu. We have offered a discount for black friday for the past few years, we aren't participating in bundles anymore.
Like
lazk
lazk
22 September 2017
Thank you!
what do you mean "...you can import the basic layout and content, but not the store part." ?
Say, I have 6 pages. On each page there are 12 thumbnails of 12 items.
Under each image a title from Description of the item.Clicking the image opens another page with a larger image and description, plus the price and "add to cart" button.
Usually with importing SVG file, description - all images, titles, price...all imported on one page which should edited before publishing.
The same works with Sparkle ?
Like
River SRL
River SRL
23 September 2017
What that means is the store generally has active components, say a javascript part in the page and a server side part, and those doesn't carry over in the import.
Like
Row00
14 August 2017
more than expected …
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
joergm3488
26 July 2017
finally, a replacement for iweb!!!
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
Changewk
15 July 2017
I'm behind the curve in updating my 20th century website to make it responsive. Sparkle has made it a smooth easy-to-understand transition. It is very well done, no bugs to speak of and the support has been prompt and patient with my beginner questions and mistakes. I find Blocs confounding to the way I work although some people will like it a lot. I almost bought Evernote until I realized that I would have to build a 2nd website for phones and tablets; it looked good otherwise. Sparkle meanwhile has been just great.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Ptk3
02 April 2017
I don't really understand the new price policy of Sparkle: does Sparkle become Sparkle Pro ? What if I buy Sparkle on the Apple Store? Do I have to repay for it to have the pro version?
Like (2)
Version 2.1.4
1 answer(s)
River SRL
River SRL
03 April 2017
Sorry about the confusion. Sparkle is free to download and you can use it free forever, with some restrictions (namely a maximum of 3 pages published to a single website, with a "Made with Sparkle" bar on top).

Once you intend to buy, we sell Sparkle from our website, here on MacUpdate and on the Mac App Store.

You can purchase two different licenses from the Mac App Store ("one" and "pro") and four from the others (adding the multi-user "family" and "business" variants).

From within each channel you upgrade the free version to paid, or upgrade from one tier to the other.

We only just recently introduced the lower cost single site "Sparkle One", Sparkle has been free with in-app purchase for nearly a year now.

Hopefully this is a bit more understandable, but feel free to ask for any clarification.
Like (1)
IvoryBlues
11 March 2017
Simply the best. Can't wait to see what new features will be implemented in upcoming versions.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3
Old-Muley
05 March 2017
I had been using Freeway Express for my web design needs, but found myself struggling to climb the rather steep learning curve that it had. Then in November of 2016 the company behind Freeway closed its doors, so I went looking for a new solution. Sparkle quickly rose to the top of the list for WYSIWYG web design software. It may not have all the bells 'n' whistles, but boy is it a delight to use! Within a few hours of playing with Sparkle, I was essentially able to recreate my old website. Overall a very well designed and well supported program.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
Morlo
22 February 2017
fantastic. it's like a keynote for web design. i havent tried the others because i didnt need to. Very easy "what you see is what you get" design approach. And support is quick to respond. I would like to see such things as image editing (exposure, tint, flop, color overlay, masks, etc).. basically, the closer it can get to keynote the better. Also, a way to apply changes in one page, and have it update all others, like master pages in Adobe Muse. Please keep up the good work!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
4 answer(s)
Morlo
Morlo
22 February 2017
there's also a feature in Adobe Muse that let's you slide all content from a point downwards or upwards with ease.. in Sparkle, you have to manually select and move all the elements, which can be a drag.
Like (1)
River SRL
River SRL
22 February 2017
Hi Morlo, thanks for the kind words!

Sparkle has a different approach to master pages which is showing an element, or group of elements, in multiple pages. It's explained here http://sparkle.cx/docs/arrange.html

We aren't done developing Sparkle and image editing is planned, as well as different modes of interaction with canvas elements.
Like
tina_1
tina_1
01 March 2017
I would love to see a website made using Sparkle. Would that be possible?
thanks so much!
Like
River SRL
River SRL
01 March 2017
Hello tina_1, if you mean a showcase, there are a few Sparkle-made websites featured on our site (http://sparkle.cx), and even the Sparkle site itself was made using Sparkle. Over on our facebook page we feature sites from time to time: http://www.facebook.com/SparkleWebsiteBuilder
Like
blackbirdy-1
21 February 2017
I bought Sparkle when it was on sale for around 30 dollars, now it's free on the App Store with the 80 dollar in app purchase. Is this a new version? Do I need to purchase an upgrade?
Like
Version 2.1.0
1 answer(s)
River SRL
River SRL
21 February 2017
Your license is valid for 2.1. Get in touch via email if you have any trouble getting 2.1 going. feedback@sparkle.cx
Like
stephentemperley
03 February 2017
Great app. Does everything it should easily and with style. Plus the support is outstanding. First class all around.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.6
scott-92
02 January 2017
Excellent design program. Everything you could wish for. I had previously been using wordpress, but this is cheaper and better than paying out monthly to be able to use wordpress.. You can create professional looking web sites really easily. Thanks Sparkle team.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.6
kalexan
09 November 2016
Super
Like (1)
Version 2.0.6
ylluminate
20 September 2016
How does this compare to the current version of EverWeb?
Like (1)
Version 2.0.5
1 answer(s)
jerry-turi
jerry-turi
04 February 2017
I'm interested in this question as well.
Like
yrellag200
28 August 2016
Have been using Sparkle intensely for the last 3 month and I am in total awe of just how brilliant this software is. At first I though, hey this just OK and like mac's old software iLife.. but I was so wrong, as I am now creating a website well above my expectations. I have used Adobe Golive, Adobe Muse and variouse versions of Rapidweaver. I thought the early version of Rapidweaver were far better than what they produce now! Anyway, the only disapointment I have found so far is that I can not have full width changing banners, and a image change on mouse over. But apart from that everything, yes everything is magical about Sparkle. I have no idea why this software has not gained a fanfare or brilliant 5 star reviews from some of the major on-line reviews, I can only think it's because they have not tested it long enough. I hope the brilliant people who have made this software don’t give up as it’s a delight to use. Thank you to all the Sparkle people, you guys truly rocked it here, keep the updates coming and I’ll be sending a donation, because the price of Sparkle is well to cheap!! If only I could give it more stars than 5!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
jimkphoto
jimkphoto
28 March 2017
The less-than 5-star reviews might be related to the the poor image gallery navigation: no arrows or buttons to click-through an image set. Also, where is ecommerce? Isn't this a must in today's internet? If you needs are modest, Sparkle may be the one.
Like
Pollywollydoodle
27 August 2016
I'm loving Sparkle, it is so easy to use. Previously I was a Freeway Pro user for over 12 years.

Sparkle makes things simple - from setting out your pages to creating font styles. It is all within one viewing window. Simple drag and drop for images means you can create single photos or a beautiful slideshow.

I love the ability to create a variety of versions to suit all types of device simply by switching off different elements within the specific device settings, this mean you can create mobile/iPad/computer friendly versions of your website within minutes.

Highly recommend it, wish it had been developed years ago.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
Hessburg
10 August 2016
Sparkle is really as simple to use as any Mac App should be. The way the preview of websites shows changes you made almost in realtime on all your devices is awesome – open the local preview URL in your browsers and it automatically changes when you change something even on your iPhones and iPads. Its current set of features may be a bit limited but it is still good enough for most modern websites. If you prefer usability and quick results.then Sparkle is the right choice for you.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
michel-fontaine-pub
10 August 2016
Sparkle is a remarkable software for all designers who will not spend his time in programming. We can spend our time developing a graphical site. Sparkle is growing day by day to give satisfaction to all those who use it. Congratulations Sparkle!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
Alvin-H
24 May 2016
Before using sparkle, I use others like: iWeb, sandvox then rapidweaver. I'm quite satisfied with rapidweaver, but it force me to update every year cot: $60 , for me is quite pricey, i'm just a doctor who like to build web on spare time, so reapidweaver is not for me. When try sparkle for 15 minutes, i buy it!! it's easier, it's more beautiful... and v2 is free update, if fit me better
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
Hanstyo
08 May 2016
I'm a photographer/sometimes designer and have been searching for years for software to produce simple good looking websites. Started with Dreamweaver long time ago, tried Rapidweaver, Sandvox and Wordpress until I stumbled on Sparkle. This is exactly what I had in mind for my needs and more than I hoped for. Easy to use, flexible and elegant. It's stable and the support is one of the best I ever experienced. Contacted support twice and got an answer in minutes from one of the developers. Can't wait for v2 which should be out in the next few days. Highly recommended without reservation.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.7
pedrotaquelim
08 May 2016
This a great software. But, is it still being developed? There is no news in about 7 months (the last video on youtube). And the newest post in their site/blog is from August 1st, 2015.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.7
1 answer(s)
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
08 May 2016
Well, Good news!
I emailed them yesterday and I got a reply today:

"Is Sparkle still alive?
— Yes! In fact we’re releasing a major update tomorrow. Here’s the release notes:

• video and audio from local disk, including dragging an .mp4 or .mp3 in
• links to downloadable files, including dragging a pdf or a zip in
• full window video background and custom background patterns
• in-page links with smooth scrolling
• on-scroll animations for images, video, text blocks and buttons
• privacy and cookie law support, including opt-in/opt-out privacy banner
• independent borders on boxes
• element rotation
• visual setup of contact form
• built in incremental FTP support with streamlined setup
• drag and drop from Photos
• integration of pixabay.com stock photography
• selection and drag autoscroll
• constrained proportion element resize
• selection of elements obscured by others
• copy/paste of element style
• automatic detection of the best image format
• faster image download on retina devices

Duncan"
Like (2)
julia555sara
27 April 2016
Pretty helpful thing if you want to make a website for your business on your own. Easy to use, lots useful functions, user-friendly interface. Recommend it!
Like (4)
Version 1.2.7
greenwayrod
13 April 2016
Easy to use and comprehensible app even for novice Mac users. Best tool for creating websites ever. Try it and you won't regret.
Like (4)
Version 1.2.7
ZeroDark:30
31 March 2016
I started "hand-coding" HTML with version 1 until 3.2, when enough new stuff was coming out. Then I wanted something easier, dived in with GoLive, PageMill, SiteMill, tried to make sense of Dreamweaver's plethora of options (like MS Word, it felt), before settling on iWeb. iWeb got the job done, looked decent, and I tried not looking at the code too closely.

Fast forward a few years, finding myself back needing to publish a website, and so many things have changed, yet, underneath, a lot is familiar. Confusing, intimidating, where do I start . . . .

I was looking for a "standalone" app that isn't tied to hosting, as the top-level domain I'm working with is hosted by MacMate, and, I'm paid up and satisfied with MacMate.

I really appreciated iWeb, and the ease with which it tolerated my tinkering.

When I tinkered with various options, including FreeWayPro, Dreamweaver, WorkPress, on to EverWeb and Sandvox, it was, OK, it could work, but, there was this . . . missing tinkering freedom thang? . . . that for some reason, here and now, was missing.

I followed one of those MacUpdate referrals to Sparkle, when I was about ready to flip a coin between Sandvox and EverWeb, downloaded it, opened it up, . . . . two hours later I had this "wow" website, doing kewl things, my tinkering "fingerprints" barely discernable - I felt like that Josh Whedon saying, "I Did This!"

For some strange unexpected unscripted reason, I had FUN learning, and I didn't feel so dang intimidated by all the new protocols from Google this to Facebook that - just something elegantly simple, yet functional enough to show off, without getting so caught up in web standards across every. single. web. access. device. I could focus on design helping to tell the story versus compliance. I had enough compliance with HP and government.

My audience is comprised of those bored with web compliance taking precedence over "the story" - they challenged me to "just tell the story."

My site will be linked/working with educator print products, involving Maker, mechatronics, and machine-tool education tag-teamed with the human story of a middle-aged two-time cancer surthrivor finding a meaningful place in this world.

Sparkle gives me the ability to begin what was once a scary project.

I went from "Zero" to "Maker" in a couple of hours - that is a great metric for me!

River SRL seems like such a small endeavor, yet, what really cinched the purchase was the technical support. Within a few hours, I had answers to my hosting, transfer, and other questions, with the topper line:

"I’m afraid your questions aren’t answered precisely in any documentation we have. However I’m happy to answer via email until everything is crystal clear :)"

Wow.

Sold.

Happy.

Like (2)
Version 1.2.7
Jifi
07 March 2016
Very good program. Intuitiv and versatile. Top support. I agree totally with the other positive recension. I cannot recommend Sparkle highly enough.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.7
provencal66
03 March 2016
I have used many Web design softwares for Mac and nothing come close to Sparkle. If you are into Web design, either beginner or professional, give a try to Sparkle. A few minutes of use was enough for me to be convinced that Sparkle was the Web design software to get. I bought it as a replacement for iWeb and Dreamweaver. Ease of use, flexible, very nice UI, Sparkle is very powerful and intuitive. I am using version 1.2.7 Support is great. Thanks Duncan and the team. Long live Sparkle.
Like (3)
Version 1.2.7
ben-pink
11 February 2016
After trying out close to 10 different web design programs and not getting on with any of them, I found Sparkle. It took minutes to realise this was different and I haven't looked back since. I'm currently building my 3rd website and have more planned. I cannot recommend Sparkle highly enough, it's a fantastic program and the latest updates have just made it even better. Ben P
Like (2)
Version 1.2.7
cliquei
10 February 2016
Great APP . Really easy to use. Really complete for such a new product in the market. It is really flexible. I can hardly wait for new versions with more power !
Like (2)
Version 1.2.7
myrith
15 January 2016
I was looking for a good web design program as an alternative for adobe's CC, - cause i didn't want to shell out 20 euro's a month anymore for software i didn't own - on mac and on Windows. On doing a lot of testing on the Windows part i found out that none of those had a good clean UI. Always a big bunch of buttons slapped together for a diversity of functions that only half did what i wanted. So i was quickly finished there.

Then i started looking on Mac where a lot of software has a much better UI, that deliver great results, but are often limited by template only usability.

Then i found Sparkle, and after some testing, - which i always try to do to find out the limits of software - i found out it had a great UI, with some great features to quickly have a beautiful design. As a young program it is normal that you won't find everything you need. But you can add your own html, export it, and add extra interactivity within the exported code.

There is also very good support from the developers, whenever you need it, with even the option to participate in the béta program.

I gave it a 4.5/5 because perfection doesn't excist and there is always room for improvement.
If they stay on the path they are on right now, they will do great things, i'm sure.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.7
vince-1
08 December 2015
There are a many options for web development on OS X. I personally license freeway, dreamweaver, rapidweaver, macaw and bootstrap studio as well as several editors. Each of them has their pro's and con's like any other tool. For me personally, I had yet to find one that was efficient in handling tasks quickly until I found Sparkle. It really makes life easier when setting up a website. It is still a little rough around the edges but that is to be expected from a new piece of software from a small company that is trying to fill a gaping hole in the available tools for OS X web development. I give Duncan a lot of credit for taking on the task and coming up with a product that looks and works pretty well with plenty of room to grow. I hope they can hang in there with the competition with our support . We need tools like this. Keep up the great work!
Like (2)
Version 1.2.7
jankilianboettcher
01 December 2015
Makes more fun than Rapid-weaver but its somewhere behind RW.

I won`t upload my page now. In Preview I cant make a bigger size per click with pictures.
Is this possible when I`ts online??? Or is there a special trick ? Can people extend the pictures in the Gallery ??

1. What I miss very much is a more elegant and simple way to present pictures and expand them a. But if I was a fisher and not an artist this would fit.
2. At next it is hard to work with more sites in one project because a new one can only be added in the end of the menu.
3. A better coordination for adding elements would be nice a raster as the google web pager uses.
4. There are a lot submittals for the back-round integrated. But it seems that it is not possible to use a own back-round image for the whole site
5. I miss a liquid way to put text and pictures together. I mean text floating around the image.

But at least I like it much more than the other Programs I tried. It was my first imagination since I started to do build my own website to have a easy intuitiv drag and drop tool like this. R.W. is much more bulky and 80`s like only because of your flexibility. I mean the Sparkle menu isn`t that 2000 like.

Please give me some more. I want the next version right now! :) just a little more and I will be the first one to buy it and give five Stars.

U have good chances RW is evolving slow and there are more things u need to buy and learn extra.

I like it

Greetings

J
Like
Version 1.2.7
1 answer(s)
duncanwilcox
duncanwilcox
03 December 2015
Hey there, thanks for the kind words! We've been working hard on a major update but software takes time. The update is now close to shipping (within the next 1-2 months we hope) and will be free. We're definitely addressing most of the issues you mention.

That said zooming a picture in a lightbox is already possible, you need to set the zoom image setting in the interaction section of the image inspector, and it works in preview as well.

We have a beta program for the next version if you want to try the new features sooner, anybody feel free to get in touch at feedback@sparkle.cx

Thanks!
Duncan
Like
ericcire
04 November 2015
Sparkle is the best website creator of the world :-) I am from germany and the support is great. Its easy for a beginner to create a fantastic website. You can see my website under www.auktionshaus-bad-homburg.de - A big thank to Duncan and the sparkle team ✓
Like (2)
Version 1.2.7
tdscrna
28 October 2015
OK. So I bought it. I was using Rapidweaver, which is very limited in what it can do. The ads on the web made this appear to have more freedom in design. I did find it easy to use. Very intuitive. I developed a 5 page site for testing purposes before I committed too much time and effort. Glad I did that. I found out the fonts and formatting will not stay uniform across various platforms. It does not create multiplatform web pages that will easily transition from a PC, Mac to a tablet or cell phone. Even going to a smaller PC screen size lost some of my headings. Bad news. There is a button and a menu for various screens, and it seems to test for each device. But in practice it doesn't seem to work. Also, no ability to make "buttons". That is a problem with Rapidweaver as well. NO Buttons! The menu buttons Sparkle does allow are fixed. You get 2 choices, Horizontal or Vertical. And you cannot separate them from each other. If you have many pages the menu will become a very long string. Also, no way to "sub" menu either. The web site documentation says under Buttons - "still working on it" I would hope so. The best I can give this is 3 Stars. It is a nice design and is very intuitive. But without variable sizing it isn't much good in today's world. I won't use it to build my site, so I wasted my US Dollars. I am going to go back to WordPress and run with the big dogs. It takes more time to set up, but the results are much better.
Like
Version 1.2.7
2 answer(s)
duncanwilcox
duncanwilcox
29 October 2015
The state of our documentation "can be improved" (is inexcusable), we're a tiny company doing our best. Happy to help if you want to get in touch.
Like
tdscrna
tdscrna
16 November 2015
I have to do an update on this App. I continued working with it at the same time I was struggling with WordPress. I ended up using Sparkle to publish my site. There are some bugs in the design, like the way that it works across platforms, but it is so easy to set up and use. And compared to RapidWeaver, the cost alone is a big plus. It takes about $200 in add-ons to make RapidWeaver work the way Sparkle does (columns, banners, etc).
Finally, it is the support I get that makes me want to continue using this product. It is a small company and they are really quick in getting back with the answer to a problem. And they are constantly updating. I have to go 5 stars on this. I hope many more people use this App, because the more people use it, the better it will get.
Like (1)