Back to Sparkle Pro page
Sparkle Pro free download for Mac

Sparkle Pro Reviews3.1.5

22 October 2021

Visual website creator.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Selcuk
Selcuk
Sep 3 2021
3.1.3
5.0
Sep 3 2021
5.0
Version: 3.1.3
Best!
nobody2011
nobody2011
Feb 19 2021
3.0.8
0.0
Feb 19 2021
0.0
Version: 3.0.8
Yes (and thanx for that) Sparkle v3.0.8 is free, but Sparkle Pro is NOT Free. Sparkle is available both as a one time purchase and as a subscription. One time purchase €129,99 - Subscription €6,33/month
carrara1
carrara1
Jan 2 2021
3.0.6
5.0
Jan 2 2021
5.0
Version: 3.0.6
Rasta to use, ver y complete gratis asistan e web it is needed. The best web develop aplicación for Mac.
w-2-o
w-2-o
Dec 31 2020
3.0.6
5.0
Dec 31 2020
5.0
Version: 3.0.6
I may have hand-coded my last static website. Sparkle takes care of technical details and lets you focus on making something that looks good and does what you want it to do. It's about as easy as laying out a document in a word processor. Sparkle has a lot of great built-in features. It is flexible enough to give you full control over your design and opinionated enough to nudge you towards making something that will look really good. This app has been thoughtfully designed not just to make your web design task possible, but to make it easy, to help you along the way.
martin-240
martin-240
Dec 18 2020
3.0.5
5.0
Dec 18 2020
5.0
Version: 3.0.5
An intuitive and very efficient software.
anonymous-heron-5709
anonymous-heron-5709
Dec 2 2020
3.0.3
5.0
Dec 2 2020
5.0
Version: 3.0.3
Can't recommend Sparkle strongly enough! Simple, intuitive, fast, and it works. I'm an artist who paints, with a website that's my online portfolio. Not complex, but I need to be able to add and delete photos or pages or CV information quickly and easily on my own. I'm not a web designer or tech guy--Sparkle lets me focus on what I do, not forcing me to become a developer. I'm another iWeb refugee, Sparkle replaced my previous process of using iWeb on an old laptop, transferring the content via thumb drive to my desktop computer, uploading to Godaddy via FileZilla. Just the upload normally took 10 to 15 minutes. I had to enter all the ftp and password information every time. Recently an important page had been dropped, no idea why, and I could not get that page online even with 1-1/2 hours on the phone with Godaddy. Instead, now I have Sparkle on my desktop. It automatically pulled in my existing website, with just a few hiccups (changed fonts, missing letter space, small stuff). Without instructions, I was able to make the adjustments to my liking, and when I clicked “Publish” and entered the ftp information—only 1 time!—I could not believe how fast the site uploaded. Like, 15 seconds instead of 15 minutes. The site was complete with the missing page. I am sold and will never look back! Hallelujah!
jayemmxxx
jayemmxxx
Nov 4 2020
2.8.12
4.0
Nov 4 2020
4.0
Version: 2.8.12
Reading the comments, I find it hard to believe they're real. Sparkle is good; it's very good, but it's not perfect. It certainly does make creating a lively, modern looking site possible without excessive effort or coding knowledge. However, if the site is very large it's page management system isn't convenient as it obliges you to scroll through hundreds of pages to get to the one you want. It has no template creation system, so complex groups of elements have to be rebuilt to repeat them. You can group pages in sections, but they can't be published as folders, so www.mysite.com/section isn't available to users. Make even one small change on any page and all pages are republished (what a waste of time & bandwidth). CSS styles management is flaky (or non existent) as colour swatches are few but reused and font/text styles can't be sort and sequenced. There's more... However I'd prefer Sparkle to all alternatives at the moment.
karin-21
karin-21
Aug 12 2020
2.8.12
5.0
Aug 12 2020
5.0
Version: 2.8.12
I was very sad when I heard about Muse’s estimated death, but now I wouldn't go back to Muse because Sparkle works even smoother and easier. I tried every non-template editor there is, but only Sparkle sparks joy :-} The app is great, nice Mac worthy interface with clear documentation. In case of specific questions the Community provides in good, friendly and patient support for newbies! I noticed that remaking my site was fun again, which wasn't the case with Everweb and less with all the other apps I gave a try. I hope to work 25 years with it, like I did with PageMill-GoLive-Muse.
jimcourtri
jimcourtri
Jul 22 2020
2.8.12
0.0
Jul 22 2020
0.0
Version: 2.8.12
OMG. I just started using Sparkle. I'm hooked. I spent 10 years building websites in iWeb, because I preferred the interface. Then one day, iWeb doesn't work anymore on my new Catalina Macs. Cant even open the files. Tried InDesign. Tried Dreamweaver, Tried Photoshop. They all suck. Then tried Sparkle. All I had to do was copy the URL of my company site (which I needed to update), paste it in and the whole WYSIWYG site showed up, ready for me to update!! Just like in iWeb!! No rebuilding! Just had to relink my video files from Vimeo. Sparkle, you saved my web design career.
producerguyaz
producerguyaz
May 3 2020
2.8.11
5.0
May 3 2020
5.0
Version: 2.8.11
I've tried literally every Mac-based web-design editor that's existed: iWeb, Everweb, Freeway Pro and web-based editors like WiX (stay away from them, they've gone totally belly-up in reliability). Sparkle Pro is by far the easiest, most intuitive and stable platform for site design that I've ever used. Tech support is readily available and responds quickly. The interface makes sense; things "just work". And unlike web-based editors there's no waiting for the interface to update while you upload every file needed to build your site. Just drag-n-drop to your canvas and go to work. The two things I just LOVE the most about Sparkle, is the immediate and accurate previews available using whatever browser you want and; the built-in FONT catalog and browser. The easiest, most logical font-type selector I've ever seen in ANY application Forget about Squarespace, Wix, Weebly, Everweb...whatever. Get this app and watch how your site "sparkles". See how I did that little play on words? hahaha
msmithbulk
msmithbulk
Sep 27 2019
2.8.2
5.0
Sep 27 2019
5.0
Version: 2.8.2
This app is UNBELIEVABLY good, easy to use, and well-integrated with professional results. The app's structure is great, intuitive, and lets you unleash your true creativity without having to know some of the more arcane details of "coding" and such. HIGHLY recommend this app!
biondi
biondi
Sep 17 2019
2.8.2
5.0
Sep 17 2019
5.0
Version: 2.8.2
Intuitive and fast UI. The best front-side web design tool ever since using Cyberstudio Golive and iWeb.
Edgar1
Edgar1
Jun 23 2019
2.8.1
5.0
Jun 23 2019
5.0
Version: 2.8.1
The best of its kind
zlazkow
zlazkow
Apr 29 2019
2.7.2
0.0
Apr 29 2019
0.0
Version: 2.7.2
I already left a very favourable comment after trying it last year here, but would like to ask a question though, have anybody had experience with Sparkle building an e-commerce site, an online store ? or is it better to go with sites like Shopify, bigCartel, wix..etc. ?
Antonypg
Antonypg
Apr 18 2019
2.7.2
5.0
Apr 18 2019
5.0
Version: 2.7.2
Over the years I have used virtually every web site creation tool available for both Mac and PC. The last few sites I have used Sparkle, and I am now converting older sites to Sparkle as well. This has got to be one of the easiest packages around, it makes very modern looking sites very easy to accomplish in a short time. I love the ability to have multiple layouts for different devices.
mwelz75
mwelz75
Mar 30 2019
2.7.2
5.0
Mar 30 2019
5.0
Version: 2.7.2
I am just blown away about the functionality of this app and how efficient I can create modern Web2.0 and 3.0 websites. I am a professional webdesigner who coded the templates and used Wordpress and Drupal. It is a very tedious process to have something launched in an efficient manner. Honestly the customer won't pay all the time and at the end they don't want to even touch the CMS. SO I went back to basic, satitic HTML with some emdeded life features as e-commerce and blogging,but the programming effort is immense. So i went out and investigated that web and looked anbd tested at probably every single Website Builder app for the Mac. Some resctricts you as hell, some you need to have a doctor title to understand the handling and some not worth the money. Then i found Sparkle that i had eactuallt already installed for 2 years and forgot about, i started it and felt easy to use straight away. First I thought it looks too cheap probably i cannot even build a decent website. After study some quick videos I saw the imennse functionality and use in this program. Now I am creating website one page in 1-2 websites per day, so mega easy. And the best is you don't need to care about maintenance, SEO or security updates, everything build in. Can highly recommend this app it will change your way how to create website effenciently.
loco-3
loco-3
Mar 11 2019
2.7.2
5.0
Mar 11 2019
5.0
Version: 2.7.2
I bought the less expensive Sparkle software (since my web site is small and not a business) and am very pleased with it. It goes well beyond what I was capable of doing with iWeb, with much greater ease. But what I want to emphasize here is the top notch tech support when I was converting from iWeb to Sparkle and publishing a web site. The same tech support person (Duncan) stuck with me via email for almost a full day on back and forth emails. He was able to help me negotiate the pitfalls one might encounter when changing web building software and then publishing the site to my domain server, GoDaddy. You can't go wrong with either product and the quality tech support.
IvoryBlues
IvoryBlues
Sep 29 2018
2.7.1
5.0
Sep 29 2018
5.0
Version: 2.7.1
Great app as always
jazzbird
jazzbird
Aug 23 2018
2.6.3
5.0
Aug 23 2018
5.0
Version: 2.6.3
Without question, this is the BEST WYSIWYG programme available. I am not a professional web designer but I've been making websites since 1998 (first one was on Word!). I then used Frontpage and then started using Wordpress. However, WP started becoming difficult to use for this non-technical lass and FP faded from existence. I volunteered to create a website for my church thinking I could build it on WP but the security updates were a pain and then making even supposedly minor changes on the site proved tedious. That's when I decided to scour the net and after downloading a number of programs (using free trials), I stumbled across Sparkle. Oh my goodness! What a difference! After watching a 3rd party how-to video, I was up and running within minutes and I re-built the entire site from scratch in one evening. My church love the site almost as much as I enjoyed building it! Building websites is fun again! There are some features that I hope one day will be offered to make Sparkle my go-to for all my website building needs. One is a blogging feature. I'm in the midst of creating a Mummy blog but unfortunately have to rely on WP for that - though I would really prefer to use Sparkle. It'd also be great to have an advert rotator to easily monetise a website. And the ability to integrate third party apps/scripts would be good too. But despite the lack of blogging ability, this is the BEST EVER WYSIWYG programme in existence and it beats Frontpage, Wordpress and iWeb! It's ease of use and the beautiful sites it can create is just amazing. Thank you Duncan from Sparkle!!!
appleHQ
appleHQ
Aug 15 2018
2.6.3
5.0
Aug 15 2018
5.0
Version: 2.6.3
Great App! Using it for quick Website creation. Always looks professional. Highly recommended.
momomorpheus
momomorpheus
Jun 27 2018
2.6.1
1.0
Jun 27 2018
1.0
Version: 2.6.1
I'm buy to Sparkle, but it's not "Export to Disk", "Publishing_ FTP". Finally ended the Web page and a web site. But there was not a possibility of seeing a web browser at on-line. Why don't the web files create? Why anything isn’t visible?
jazzbird
jazzbird
Jun 21 2018
2.6.1
5.0
Jun 21 2018
5.0
Version: 2.6.1
Hi! I'm currently using Wordpress for several websites but I'm finding maintaining the sites burdensome as there always seems to be an issue when there's been an upgrade. So now I'm looking at Sparkle. Has anyone had experience exporting a Wordpress site into Sparkle? Is it very difficult?
IvoryBlues
IvoryBlues
Mar 6 2018
2.5.1
5.0
Mar 6 2018
5.0
Version: 2.5.1
Just keeps getting better. The app is so good I didn’t even upgrade from 2.2.3. Just bought a new license.
Noraa
Noraa
Mar 1 2018
2.5
5.0
Mar 1 2018
5.0
Version: 2.5
This has to be the best WYSIWYG web development app out there. I actually purchased the app back when it was still in version 1.x via a Macupdate promo, but really didn't start using it until version 2.x. At first glance, Sparkle seems to be very barebones and limited. Upon first open, your are simply presented with a blank canvas and there are no built-in templates (though there are some available to download) and no direct editing of html code (though you can easily add embedded code). However, when you start digging into what Sparkle can do you quickly realize just how powerful it is. It has the ability to create a multiple "size" web page - i.e. a desktop version, tablet version, phone version, etc. all rolled into a single page. There are tools to easily create a photo gallery, a menu system that is automatically linked to the pages you've created - including sections where you can have multiple pages under a single menu item. Laying out a page is a piece of cake, as it is pure WYSIWYG - so all you have to do is drag and drop where you like the various page elements to appear. In addition, unlike other WYSIWYG editors, Sparkle generates extremely clean html. Perhaps best of all, the development team is extremely responsive - I've e-mailed them a multiple times with questions and feature requests, and have also heard back in a timely manner - they have even added some of the features I've requested, while others are still in the works.. They continually update the app with new features, and thus far have not charged for major updates (i.e., bought the app at version 1.x, didn't have to pay anything to go to version 2.x). TL;DR This is a wonderful and powerful web development tool. If you don't know how to code, or simply don't like coding, there isn't a better WYSIWYG web development program out there.
goldenwebmaster
goldenwebmaster
Feb 11 2018
2.2.3
5.0
Feb 11 2018
5.0
Version: 2.2.3
This is a great app.
I am not the greatest coder, but have been using wysiwyg web builders for a long time; Adobe PageMill, SiteMill, GoLive CyberStudio > Adobe GoLive, Adobe Dreamweaver. I moved on from the complex to just building small responsive web sites. Been into Blocs and Wolf for a couple years now, but Sparkle is now my only choice.
The end result created by Sparkle for a mobile/computer friendly site is awesome. The mirroring of the basic 960 pixel into a 320 pixel web page is great.
One last note. When you look through your computer at the web page and adjust your side bar for smaller page width you will see your mobile friendly web page! Instead of continuously having the page downsized, or "blocs" moving ((2 pics side by side > moves to stacking on top of each other) it will show the mobile easy to read & view.
tamerasneal
tamerasneal
Jan 8 2018
2.2.3
5.0
Jan 8 2018
5.0
Version: 2.2.3
I could not be happier with this program especially the technical support from the developers! Duncan worked with me until the website was up and running! He deserves a trophy for his patience and steadfast spirit plus technical knowledge! I enjoyed creating the website using this program. It was fun, intuitive and artistic.
tdscrna
tdscrna
Oct 31 2017
2.2.3
5.0
Oct 31 2017
5.0
Version: 2.2.3
I have been using Sparkle Pro for a little over 2 years now and am constantly impressed by the quality of the design and the features it has. The updates have shown definite improvements since I started using it, and I appreciate that. I did have some struggles at first, as there is a learning curve, as there is with all complex software. I reached out to support with my questions and Duncan Wilcox answered me within hours! I have had several interactions with him over the last couple of years and he is very responsive and helpful. I love this App. And I am constantly learning more about it. It is complex, as I said before. I like going on the Sparkle site and looking at the "Model Sites" they have there. It is easy to look on the page setups to see how they did their designs and then just do what those developers did, and bingo—it works! If you are going to get this App, get the Pro. It is definitely worth it.
tomofukuda009
tomofukuda009
Sep 25 2017
2.2.1
1.0
Sep 25 2017
1.0
Version: 2.2.1
Disappointed for too limited number of templates in their web site. The number of templates in the web site does not increase more than several years. Better to move to Everweb.
mczilla
mczilla
Aug 23 2017
2.2.1
0.0
Aug 23 2017
0.0
Version: 2.2.1
Is there any way to extend the Image Gallery past 15 images? I have around 30 I need to exhibit, with some text for each. thanks
zlazkow
zlazkow
Aug 21 2017
2.2.1
0.0
Aug 21 2017
0.0
Version: 2.2.1
Sounds good and looks good.
Two questions to the developer or anybody who uses it:

1). is it possible to import pages from Etsy shop ? or copy & paste only ?
Importing items from Etsy shop to say Bonanza or other place, works fine. With CSV file. Almost perfectly, although you need to edit every item's description.

2). Are any discounts, specials planned soon ??? and where ?
Row00
Row00
Aug 14 2017
2.2.1
5.0
Aug 14 2017
5.0
Version: 2.2.1
more than expected …
joergm3488
joergm3488
Jul 26 2017
2.2.1
5.0
Jul 26 2017
5.0
Version: 2.2.1
finally, a replacement for iweb!!!
Changewk
Changewk
Jul 15 2017
2.2
5.0
Jul 15 2017
5.0
Version: 2.2
I'm behind the curve in updating my 20th century website to make it responsive. Sparkle has made it a smooth easy-to-understand transition. It is very well done, no bugs to speak of and the support has been prompt and patient with my beginner questions and mistakes. I find Blocs confounding to the way I work although some people will like it a lot. I almost bought Evernote until I realized that I would have to build a 2nd website for phones and tablets; it looked good otherwise. Sparkle meanwhile has been just great.
Ptk3
Ptk3
Apr 2 2017
2.1.4
0.0
Apr 2 2017
0.0
Version: 2.1.4
I don't really understand the new price policy of Sparkle: does Sparkle become Sparkle Pro ? What if I buy Sparkle on the Apple Store? Do I have to repay for it to have the pro version?
IvoryBlues
IvoryBlues
Mar 11 2017
2.1.3
5.0
Mar 11 2017
5.0
Version: 2.1.3
Simply the best. Can't wait to see what new features will be implemented in upcoming versions.
Old-Muley
Old-Muley
Mar 5 2017
2.1.2
5.0
Mar 5 2017
5.0
Version: 2.1.2
I had been using Freeway Express for my web design needs, but found myself struggling to climb the rather steep learning curve that it had. Then in November of 2016 the company behind Freeway closed its doors, so I went looking for a new solution. Sparkle quickly rose to the top of the list for WYSIWYG web design software. It may not have all the bells 'n' whistles, but boy is it a delight to use! Within a few hours of playing with Sparkle, I was essentially able to recreate my old website. Overall a very well designed and well supported program.
Morlo
Morlo
Feb 22 2017
2.1.1
4.5
Feb 22 2017
4.5
Version: 2.1.1
fantastic. it's like a keynote for web design. i havent tried the others because i didnt need to. Very easy "what you see is what you get" design approach. And support is quick to respond. I would like to see such things as image editing (exposure, tint, flop, color overlay, masks, etc).. basically, the closer it can get to keynote the better. Also, a way to apply changes in one page, and have it update all others, like master pages in Adobe Muse. Please keep up the good work!
Mamabee
Mamabee
Feb 21 2017
2.1.0
0.0
Feb 21 2017
0.0
Version: 2.1.0
I bought Sparkle when it was on sale for around 30 dollars, now it's free on the App Store with the 80 dollar in app purchase. Is this a new version? Do I need to purchase an upgrade?
stephentemperley
stephentemperley
Feb 3 2017
2.0.6
5.0
Feb 3 2017
5.0
Version: 2.0.6
Great app. Does everything it should easily and with style. Plus the support is outstanding. First class all around.
scott-92
scott-92
Jan 2 2017
2.0.6
5.0
Jan 2 2017
5.0
Version: 2.0.6
Excellent design program. Everything you could wish for. I had previously been using wordpress, but this is cheaper and better than paying out monthly to be able to use wordpress.. You can create professional looking web sites really easily. Thanks Sparkle team.
kalexan
kalexan
Nov 9 2016
2.0.6
5.0
Nov 9 2016
5.0
Version: 2.0.6
Super
ylluminate
ylluminate
Sep 20 2016
2.0.5
0.0
Sep 20 2016
0.0
Version: 2.0.5
How does this compare to the current version of EverWeb?
yrellag200
yrellag200
Aug 28 2016
2.0.3
5.0
Aug 28 2016
5.0
Version: 2.0.3
Have been using Sparkle intensely for the last 3 month and I am in total awe of just how brilliant this software is. At first I though, hey this just OK and like mac's old software iLife.. but I was so wrong, as I am now creating a website well above my expectations. I have used Adobe Golive, Adobe Muse and variouse versions of Rapidweaver. I thought the early version of Rapidweaver were far better than what they produce now! Anyway, the only disapointment I have found so far is that I can not have full width changing banners, and a image change on mouse over. But apart from that everything, yes everything is magical about Sparkle. I have no idea why this software has not gained a fanfare or brilliant 5 star reviews from some of the major on-line reviews, I can only think it's because they have not tested it long enough. I hope the brilliant people who have made this software don’t give up as it’s a delight to use. Thank you to all the Sparkle people, you guys truly rocked it here, keep the updates coming and I’ll be sending a donation, because the price of Sparkle is well to cheap!! If only I could give it more stars than 5!
Pollywollydoodle
Pollywollydoodle
Aug 27 2016
2.0.3
5.0
Aug 27 2016
5.0
Version: 2.0.3
I'm loving Sparkle, it is so easy to use. Previously I was a Freeway Pro user for over 12 years.

Sparkle makes things simple - from setting out your pages to creating font styles. It is all within one viewing window. Simple drag and drop for images means you can create single photos or a beautiful slideshow.

I love the ability to create a variety of versions to suit all types of device simply by switching off different elements within the specific device settings, this mean you can create mobile/iPad/computer friendly versions of your website within minutes.

Highly recommend it, wish it had been developed years ago.
Hessburg
Hessburg
Aug 10 2016
2.0.3
5.0
Aug 10 2016
5.0
Version: 2.0.3
Sparkle is really as simple to use as any Mac App should be. The way the preview of websites shows changes you made almost in realtime on all your devices is awesome – open the local preview URL in your browsers and it automatically changes when you change something even on your iPhones and iPads. Its current set of features may be a bit limited but it is still good enough for most modern websites. If you prefer usability and quick results.then Sparkle is the right choice for you.
michel-fontaine-pub
michel-fontaine-pub
Aug 10 2016
2.0.3
0.0
Aug 10 2016
0.0
Version: 2.0.3
Sparkle is a remarkable software for all designers who will not spend his time in programming. We can spend our time developing a graphical site. Sparkle is growing day by day to give satisfaction to all those who use it. Congratulations Sparkle!
Alvin-H
Alvin-H
May 24 2016
2.0.2
5.0
May 24 2016
5.0
Version: 2.0.2
Before using sparkle, I use others like: iWeb, sandvox then rapidweaver. I'm quite satisfied with rapidweaver, but it force me to update every year cot: $60 , for me is quite pricey, i'm just a doctor who like to build web on spare time, so reapidweaver is not for me. When try sparkle for 15 minutes, i buy it!! it's easier, it's more beautiful... and v2 is free update, if fit me better
Hanstyo
Hanstyo
May 8 2016
1.2.7
5.0
May 8 2016
5.0
Version: 1.2.7
I'm a photographer/sometimes designer and have been searching for years for software to produce simple good looking websites. Started with Dreamweaver long time ago, tried Rapidweaver, Sandvox and Wordpress until I stumbled on Sparkle. This is exactly what I had in mind for my needs and more than I hoped for. Easy to use, flexible and elegant. It's stable and the support is one of the best I ever experienced. Contacted support twice and got an answer in minutes from one of the developers. Can't wait for v2 which should be out in the next few days. Highly recommended without reservation.
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
May 8 2016
1.2.7
0.0
May 8 2016
0.0
Version: 1.2.7
This a great software. But, is it still being developed? There is no news in about 7 months (the last video on youtube). And the newest post in their site/blog is from August 1st, 2015.
julia555sara
julia555sara
Apr 27 2016
1.2.7
4.5
Apr 27 2016
4.5
Version: 1.2.7
Pretty helpful thing if you want to make a website for your business on your own. Easy to use, lots useful functions, user-friendly interface. Recommend it!