Back to ownCloud Client page
ownCloud Client free download for Mac

ownCloud Client Reviews

2.5.4
18 April 2019

Online synchronization tool with Finder integration.

Rochade
02 April 2014

Most helpful

No review yet? What a shame. I canceled my dropbox account for security reasons and I was looking for a replacement. I found own cloud does all I need: - Securely store and sync files across my macs - Share files with others - Calendar and contact server (incl. shared calendars and contacts) If you are a computer geek, there are even more things you can do like cloud based subscriptions, ... Yes, it isn't as easy to set up as dropbox but once you have configured your installation, you will get a secure and easy to use cloud storage system. There are still some minor things missing like copy public links from the Finder (you can use Automator to create such an action) but the app and server is in constant development and I am sure this will be implemented in future versions. Another drawback is that owncloud isn't as widely supported as dropbox by other apps and I hope other developers will include owncloud as an alternative to dropbox. So said: if you are looking for a secure, encrypted dropbox replacement and you have some computer tech knowledge, give own cloud a try.
Like (5)
Version 1.5.3

Read 4 ownCloud Client User Reviews

Rate this app:

Mondele
15 December 2016
OwnCloud is now on version 2.2.4. Installation of the server was easily done using the Softaculous software installer on my host. I installed the client software from the ownCloud page. So far it's as transparent as Dropbox, and because I have an unlimited package with my hosting provider, I don't have the space limits of Dropbox. I'll try to remember to file a proper review with a star rating once I've had a chance to use it for a while.
Like
Version 1.7.1
trim262
05 March 2016
Better than DropBox.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Teksestro
10 March 2015
Please note: OwnCloud SERVER software should not be installed on Macs - you must either run it on a Windows or Linux machine. OwnCloud has seriously flawed code relating to the way it deals with file name encodings - it does not follow recommended practices - and the code falls apart on the Mac. Although the Mac community has repeatedly offered time and resources - test machines, programming, etc. - since version 6, the developers have not shown sufficient interest in fixing the needed bugs, officially (some users have already provided bug fixes, but these remain untested and unverified by the developers, and the Mac continues to be an unsupported platform for the Server). As a consequence, if your OwnCould Server is a Windows/Linux machine, your OwnClient Client will function nicely. If your OwnCloud Server is a Mac, and you have a mixture of clients (Win/Mac/Linux) accessing your Server, you *will* lose files. OwnCloud has a nice interface, and nice features, but until the developers take up the offers in the community to implement *proper* Mac support for both client AND SERVER, Mac users should proceed with caution.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.1
Rochade
02 April 2014
No review yet? What a shame. I canceled my dropbox account for security reasons and I was looking for a replacement. I found own cloud does all I need: - Securely store and sync files across my macs - Share files with others - Calendar and contact server (incl. shared calendars and contacts) If you are a computer geek, there are even more things you can do like cloud based subscriptions, ... Yes, it isn't as easy to set up as dropbox but once you have configured your installation, you will get a secure and easy to use cloud storage system. There are still some minor things missing like copy public links from the Finder (you can use Automator to create such an action) but the app and server is in constant development and I am sure this will be implemented in future versions. Another drawback is that owncloud isn't as widely supported as dropbox by other apps and I hope other developers will include owncloud as an alternative to dropbox. So said: if you are looking for a secure, encrypted dropbox replacement and you have some computer tech knowledge, give own cloud a try.
Like (5)
Version 1.5.3
9 answer(s)
Skapplin
Skapplin
15 April 2014
I'm curious why you believe that your files on a small developer's ThinkPad are more secure than at DropBox?
Like
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
15 April 2014
@ Skapplin: because your files are on your own server in your own country with own privacy rights unlike the u.s.a where privacy rights are non existent.
Like (3)
Skapplin
Skapplin
15 April 2014
Obviously, you need an education in privacy rights. Privacy is protected far more vigorously in the US than anywhere else in the world. But that's irrelevant to my question. If your server is poorly protected or shuts down when you are not present, then you have nothing. Furthermore, why would I want my files on my computer when I operate from another location? I want files on a server I can access all the time from anywhere. And, files on my computer or on your computer are not that secure.
Like (1)
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
15 April 2014
NSA, scandal, Snowden, does a bell ring?
Like (6)
Skapplin
Skapplin
15 April 2014
I think you got your bell rung just a little too hard.
Like (2)
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
15 April 2014
Quick tipp, if you have your own webspace, you can most likely install the server based php script over Installatron. (Use Installatron to find applications for your website, install them, and keep them current.)
Like (2)
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
15 April 2014
wow, ownCloud is impressive! And it's in my own hands!
Like (2)
Hervé-5
Hervé-5
28 June 2014
Skapplin, my reason to select OwnCloud vs DropBox is that I could very easily install myself the open-source server php code on one of my hosting services (which I co-own, in my country), so I control absolutely everything as concerns data access. As the name says, to me it's become my OWN cloud. The family , friends and people I want to access, access. The others, don't have a say.
Like (3)
Krioni
Krioni
16 July 2014
@Skapplin: You are absolutely wrong in your belief that the US protects privacy rights "for more vigorously≥then anywhere else in the world." Check out Europe's privacy laws, for example. First take note that they actually _have_ privacy laws, whereas in the US, not so much. It would really help to educate yourself about other countries in the world before you just assume the US is better than them in every single way. In some things it may be better than most/all, it in others it definitely is not. It isn't hard - just read a bit.
Like (2)