Back to Tex-Edit Plus page
Tex-Edit Plus free download for Mac

Tex-Edit Plus Reviews

4.10.4
26 September 2016

Styled text and development editor.

Pedromator
29 June 2013

Most helpful

Very good text editor. ***** Has many features and can handle text-files with large file size.
Like (9)
Version 4.9.16

Read 84 Tex-Edit Plus User Reviews

Rate this app:

Edac2
21 August 2019
Tex-Edit Plus has always been one of my most important apps, so I’ve been concerned about the warnings I’m getting about the upcoming Catalina upgrade. I asked the developer if an update is in the works, and he told me on 2019-08-21 that currently, "I have no plans to move TEP out of the 32-bit niche."
Like
Version 4.10.4
Flavum
18 September 2017
It's all been said before. A wonderful, stable, dependable program. Just the "sort ascending/descending" tool is worth the price of admission. And now it's free? Almost criminal.
Like (2)
Version 4.10.4
Derekcurrie
26 September 2016
Thank you Tom for all your years of work on Tex-Edit! After all these decades, Tex-Edit Plus remains my default text editor of choice, where I write all my first drafts. Later, I play in the big layout applications. Highly recommended, as ever.
Like (4)
Version 4.10.4
Annie-Walker
04 August 2015
I have one of the first serial numbers ever issued to this program many years ago. I have loved it and the incredible personalized service Tom provides everyone who owns the app., since day one. You will never find anyone more dedicated to their craft and product than Tom Bender and Tex-Edit Plus. It does everything you want, and then some; and I've always thought of it more as a word Processor than a text editor. Full of options, tools, and will for me, always be the King Of Great TexEditors. A thousand thank you's Tom, for your great contributions to the Mac world of Desktop home computing!!
Like (4)
Version 4.10.3
Mcfitz
15 February 2015
Really great app that doesn't take many resources but is quite powerful. I've used it for many years and it's been worth much more than I paid for it. I use it for almost all text editing work, especially cleaning up text for web sites. Please consider supporting the author--it's a wonderful piece of software.
Like (4)
Version 4.10.2
MacNotesGuy
08 February 2014
Been using for years; by far the best of this type of smile text editor for Mac. Responsive developer and good about updating.
Like (5)
Version 4.10
Alec124c41
06 February 2014
I wouldn't be without it. Flexible, fast, easy to use, and can clean up imported formats.
Like (4)
Version 4.10
Pedromator
29 June 2013
Very good text editor. ***** Has many features and can handle text-files with large file size.
Like (9)
Version 4.9.16
SickTeddyBear
29 June 2013
Just an FYI, from the developer's site: "Tex-Edit Plus is Shareware ($15). Our software is not locked, crippled, time-limited, or ad-infested. Use Tex-Edit Plus for free as long as you like and only pay if you want to."
Like (7)
Version 4.9.16
hmfwic47
21 February 2013
For the last two times, when I use the MacUpdate app to download a new version, for some reason, the app itself is not installed. I have to go and download it myself and then the app is in the applications folder.
Like
Version 4.9.15
1 answer(s)
Xandra
Xandra
04 August 2015
This is problem with MacUpdates service (I think because most other apps no longer come in folders). You lucked out better than me. I think the first time I went the macupdate route, I ended up with the App, but my folder (with all my Applescripts etc) landed in the trash. Personally I prefer to just go ahead an manually download / install myself. Safer, and more in tune with my controlling personality.
Like
ronaldpr
03 November 2012
Version 4.9.13 is the latest stable version since last week. See developer's site.
Like (1)
Version 4.9.13
Penguirl
27 September 2012
The current stable version is 4.9.12 available at:
Like (1)
Version 4.9.13
1 answer(s)
Penguirl
Penguirl
27 September 2012
Bah! http://www.tex-edit.com/software/tex-edit-plus-X.dmg
Like (1)
Jurij-Ricotti
20 August 2012
The best text editor ever, 15 dollars are nothing for that software, every writer should have it Jurij Ricotti
Like
Version 4.9.13
Jurij-Ricotti
24 May 2012
thanks tom i was waiting.......thanks again
Like
Version 4.9.13
Yazarim
24 May 2012
Simply the best since I do not know how many years. Many, many thanks, Tom!
Like (3)
Version 4.9.13
Aargl
10 May 2012
I've just come across what I think is a bug in the file format used by TE: when synching two macs through network, the "crossed out" attributes inside a file are not copied! (I've tried many times and checked vs .doc files) I've checked saving the file from both stable 499 and béta 4912 (and opening it on the other mac with corresponding version).
Like
Version 4.9.12
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
20 June 2016
I meant "Strikethrough". ;-)
This little bug made me switch to Bean, 4 years ago, but it looks that it's gone (I've just tried the last version and it looks ok).
As Bean is not developed any more, I was considering a come back to Tex-Edit Plus, but it doesn't seem to recognize URLs — they're not clickable, although they are in Bean, Growly Write, etc. :-(
Like
Anotheruser
10 April 2012
Just a note that if you have "TextTools" installed (marsthemes.com), you will not be able to save (or close save dialogs) in Tex-Edit Plus (v4.9.9 & 4.9.12). Must be a conflict Text Tools has with the WASTE text engine.
Like
Version 4.9.12
RavenNevermore
25 February 2012
Wow, it's back! This has been a favorite of mine from way back in SimpleText days. Makes me kind of misty eyed. :)
Like (5)
Version 4.9.12
2 answer(s)
Younkint
Younkint
25 February 2012
Yeah, back when I couldn't afford anything like MS Office, this was the bomb. Well, maybe it still is! I could always get a lot done and quickly with this gem. Been using it since System 6 or 7 ...so long I can't remember. I have an SE-30 that refuses to die and Tex-Edit Plus on OS 7.1 runs faster on that machine than does MS Office 2011 with Lion ...for real.
Like (2)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
26 February 2012
I still used it for many things until I upgraded to an Intel machine earlier this year. I was using it since System 7.5 days. :)
Like (2)
Kp4bjd
10 February 2012
I'm delighted to see this long time favorite return (presently in version 4.9.10), updated for OSX. Mr. Bender has always been available, open and responsive to suggestions and bug concerns. I particularly appreciate its scriptability, including the assortment of scripts already available from other programmers. Tex-Edit successfully competes with current full-featured word processors, and the best part is its price !
Like (3)
Version 4.9.12
Jimblue
08 February 2012
i remember everyone used Tex-Edit to replace Apple's SimpleText -- i mean it was standard practice. now Apple's TextEdit is way more advanced than SimpleText was. anyway, it's nice to see you back and with a lot of downloads.
Like (1)
Version 4.9.12
Meersworld
07 February 2012
Great to see Tex-Edit back. I lost it when I went to Lion-- or maybe earlier. Up and running with one of my favorite text editors-- and it took my registration from 2004! I no longer have to try to do some text tricks the really hard way with MS Word!
Like
Version 4.9.12
Iliketrash
02 February 2012
Weird. Dialog boxes can't be closed with Command-W.
Like
Version 4.9.11
2 answer(s)
Hkim
Hkim
03 February 2012
I'm not sure what you mean here. I can not detect any problem with closing windows. To "cancel" a modal dialog box (find), you can press the "escape" key or "command + [period]".
Like (3)
Anotheruser
Anotheruser
24 May 2012
See (if you haven't already) my note about the "TextTools" conflict (use "Troubleshooting" tab, above). Maybe this is your problem.
Like
Macvet22
29 January 2012
Simple one of the best! Not just a notepad, but extended features, editing and menu controls pare excellence. Great for cleaning up rogue internet characters and now (M$) xml text in txt and rtf formats in particular. Always had it on my machines since ahh, System 6?, guess I should pay Tom for his trouble some time! 11/10!
Like (2)
Version 4.9.10
Maclover1-1
23 December 2011
Texas in a NutShell.. Texas hold 'em, Alex Jones and Tex-Edit. Yeehah !
Like
Version 4.9.10
1 answer(s)
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
23 December 2011
And of course: Ron Paul !!!!
Like (1)
Charles-Miller
23 December 2011
I'd spent time trying to find a compact, powerful, trim text editor to leave open all the time for various uses. Thought I'd improve on TextEdit. The conclusion from all the searching (and greater familiarity with TextEdit) is that TextEdit may be the best choice. It's unassuming but IMO smart. Today, Text Edit Plus sounded promising. Downloaded & tried it with an arbitrary test. I copied a webpage column (with images, text, etc.) and pasted into both TE and TEP. TE showed all the items. TEP just showed the text. Wouldn't begin to judge TEP on this one feature. But since I use that feature, maybe I should stay with TE. Mentioning it here because there's likely more going on than I realize.
Like (2)
Version 4.9.10
Grandpa-John
20 October 2011
Hey! Tom Bender is back! So glad to see you old friend. I had relegated TEP to the back burners when it became to darn slow with the current string of updates to OSX. Now it is back faster than ever. It is still the best lean and mean solution to text manipulation needs.
Like (3)
Version 4.9.9
Svenster
20 October 2011
Love this program... Sooo glad its back. Thank You.
Like (3)
Version 4.9.9
Quiiick
20 October 2011
Great to see Tex-Edit Plus revived! :-)
Like (2)
Version 4.9.9
robfol
20 October 2011
Delighted to welcome an old friend back! Simple, flexible and now fast and furious again,. Thanks Tom
Like (2)
Version 4.9.9
tvalleau
20 October 2011
OMG, Tom! Welcome back!
Like (2)
Version 4.9.9
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
20 October 2011
Wow! I thought for sure Tex-Edit Plus was dead. There hasn't been an update released in four years - as far as I could tell. I've used Tex-Edit since OS 7, so I'm glad to see it's alive and well.
Like (2)
Version 4.9.9
Anotheruser
20 October 2011
What a SHOCK, surprise and delight to see this new UB version. I have ... well, actually HAD been using TE plus for decades, but had given up on it because the non-native version proved to be too slow for my torturous work. Now I'm happily downloading this and need to find all my old scripts and re-install them on my new machine. Thank you Tom Bender, for hanging in there!
Like (2)
Version 4.9.9
Derekcurrie
20 October 2011
It has been my pleasure to own and use Tex-Edit and its descendants from ages past through today. While using Mac OS X 10.6, I was a bit displeased with problems in version 4.9.8 and thoroughly dismayed that it no longer worked in Mac OS X 10.7 Lion. But now: Tom Bender, the developer, has thankfully put hard work into version 4.9.9 such that it is again my favorite and most used text editor. It is actually a relief to be able to use Tex-Edit Plus X after contending with the multitude of alternatives. It is intuitive, powerful and just works, all without clutter and crud getting in the way. I write just about everything in Tex-Edit Plus X, then toss the text into a more powerful manager or page layout program for my finished product. I wouldn't do it any other way. When I write I just want to write without any distractions from my text editor. Then consider the terrific raft of features in Tex-Edit Plus X that reside under the hood. It is THE BEST text-to-speech reader available, bar none. It allows integration of audio, graphic and video into your files. It is the boss of UNIX and DOS formatted text, allowing you to do anything you wish with it. It lets you see an manipulate all your text formatting. It is thoroughly scriptable, including working with Automator. It has a WYSIWYG font list. It allows full font styling, text and page coloring, markup, hilite coloring, justification, indenting, GREP, find and replace, sorting, line numbering, character and word counts, auto-save, automatic character smartening, page numbering, margins, ruler control, soft wrap and RTF (rich text formatting). Did I miss anything? Get it, love it. There are no 'nags' to buy it. But it's only $15. I own multiple licenses just to thank Tom Bender for keeping it alive, well and excellent.
Like (2)
Version 4.9.9
Slammo
10 September 2011
I've used TexEdit for so many years I can't count. It's a simple text editor, and I love it for that. It does simple tasks without a lot of hassle or clutter. It's entirely stable. It Just Works.
Like
Version 4.9.8
Jayce
29 August 2011
Check the developer's website for the new lion-ready beta (which is also great in 10.6.8.) It's great to have an updated well-functioning version. At least it sure makes me a lot happier now that I have it installed and running.
Like
Version 4.9.8
Wts
07 July 2011
LION killed this application. We need a new Tex-Edit Plus X build.
Like (5)
Version 4.9.8
1 answer(s)
Waveman
Waveman
23 July 2011
BBEdit
Like (1)
3lusiv3
21 December 2009
I still use this app occasionally because I haven't found anything more modern that works as well for cleaning up text. If anyone knows of a replacement app please let us know.
Like (1)
Version 4.9.8
2 answer(s)
Doug-Engelbart
Doug-Engelbart
25 June 2011
iText Express (free).
Like (1)
Sp0radic
Sp0radic
26 June 2011
Thanks for suggesting iText Express. I had a look but it doesn't have anywhere near the text cleaning or find and replace capabilities of Tex-Edit Plus X.
Like (1)
Saintfu
12 December 2008
Since the developer is no longer working on Tex-Edit, and a universal binary is not forthcoming, can anyone suggest a recent text editor that has its searc-and-replace and text formatting capabilities? Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 4.9.8
2 answer(s)
Miner
Miner
19 May 2011
Nisus Writer?
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
20 October 2011
The developer, Tom Bender, has been working on Tex-Edit Plus X! Get the latest version. It works beautifully with Mac OS X 10.7 Lion.
Like (1)
Anotheruser
31 July 2007
Yay! That's my review. That 'whose clause' intel scripting bug really needed fixing -- Thanks, Tom! Even as a Rosetta app (hint hint) it's still one of my most useful favorites.
Like
Version 4.9.8
Zoomaddict
30 June 2007
This is top-notch shareware but anyone considering it needs to be aware the developer is not currently supporting it. They claim to but Tex-Edit is not a Universal binary yet (and there is no date as to when it will be, just "I'll get to it when possible" about a year ago). Had to move to another text editor after several years, which was disappointing.
Like
Version 4.9.8b1
2 answer(s)
Dom21
Dom21
30 July 2007
This was my Number One text app for years. I really miss it on since moving on to Intel. Were the Dev to make this UB I would buy it in an instant!
Like (1)
Version 4.9.8
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
20 October 2011
Version 4.9.9 onward is a Universal binary, working with both PPC and Intel Macs. It is a vast improvement over version 4.9.8 and is as excellent as ever.
Like
Pink-Panther
02 February 2006
Name misleading. Nothing to to do with Tex or LaTex. Why not changing to "Text-Edit Plus X"?
Like
Version 4.9.7b7
5 answer(s)
Bmeguy
Bmeguy
13 April 2006
Actually it does have something to do with Tex, which is short for Texas. Of course, it isn't directly related to TeX, but you weren't asking that, were you. [If you're going to be anal about names, make sure that you at least spell them accurately, otherwise your self-righetous rant falls a bit flat.]
Like (2)
Version 4.9.7b10
smtips
smtips
04 July 2006
Well without going into a bunch of research about a simple complaint about a name, I do believe that Tex-Edit Plus has been around on the Mac a LOT longer than those you're talking about, so why don't THEY change the name of their apps? This app is called Tex-Edit Plus and has been around for the Mac for many years, how could that name be confused with Tex or La-Tex, except by you?
Like (1)
Version 4.9.7b18
Bobster
Bobster
04 January 2007
Indeed, Tex-Edit Plus has been around for years and it's a great program.
Like
Version 4.9.8b1
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
14 March 2007
_ Calling it 'Text-Edit Plus X' would just cause confusion with Apple's own TextEdit.
Like (2)
Version 4.9.8b1
hced
hced
17 July 2007
I have no intentions of adding to any negativism in this comment section, but I think Pink Panther's statement has some substantial value to it, after all. (Albeit, perhaps a tad bit shorthanded in terms of arguments left for wider interpretation.) But, what if you created an application in the early 90s, called Flash FX, or something in the fashion thereabout. Would you keep that name today? Or would you modify the name to circumvent any or most of the misconceptional risks? For valid reasons, I would probably take into consideration, a slight modification of the name (just a smidge), in some way or another, rather than staying stubbornly loyal to its original state. Just in order to maintain its integrity, as to not have it confused with a more recent, largely more reknowned invention, seeing as my software didn't even do the same thing as its namesake counterpart did. I'm not saying this to be "anal" (as a previous speaker put it) about insignificant details, but the matter of the gist is that, the first I thought when seeing Tex-Edit Plus, *was*, in fact, that it would have something to do with said TeX, or LaTeX technology. It's probably less relevant whether this app is older than TeX or not, for the time being; unequivocally, a lot of potential customers will have their eyes tilted there, for a short glimpse of a second - something that a developer might or might not care about, depending on various parameters. If the desired result of keeping a title that is this similar to a larger, more withspoken product, does not equal to the effect that was originally aimed for in Tex-Edit Plus' case, perhaps spending a short moment for re-evaluation wouldn't be a bad choice? Just a humble reflection, as I think this fine looking app definitely deserve a shelf of its own!
Like (1)
Version 4.9.8b1
Jamie Kahn Genet
11 September 2005
Instead I get a Save File dialog upon quitting. It doesn't matter if I do in fact save it somewhere the first time (thinking maybe I have to do it just once at the beginning now). I still get it every time :-( This Workbook feature used to work perfectly in the previous version I was trying out. But not now. It's annoying as I'd come to reply on a scratchpad for my thought that I didn't have to bother saving manually. This and actual changing of files just to view them without garbage characters (e.g. line ending conversion), is very frustrating. I'd _like_ to use Tex-Edit to _view_ text files, but always being presented with Save File dialogs I then have to cancel out of, is a big waste of my time. I DON'T want to save anything to a readme, or other documentation file. It's a pity, as despite the flaws in Tex-Edit I'd like to have made it my main plain text and RTF editor. Now I'm looking at buying Nisus Express for rich text editing and keeping Text Wrangler around for plain text. Not as simple a solution as a better, working Tex-Edit may have provided me, but what else can I do? :-(
Like
Version 4.9.4b6
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 September 2005
Your review/comment starts off by saying "Instead, ..." Well, that just begs the questions: "Instead" of WHAT?
Like
Version 4.9.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 October 2005
I agree. "Instead Of.." What?? It looks like you copied and pasted and didn't copy all of what you typed somewhere else. In fact you are very UNclear on what your issues are. If you open a file and make a change it will present a Save dialog...every time, I guarantee it :) You said you are getting it without making changes, then you should check the prefences of Tex-Edit Plus because you MUST have something like "Auto-convert LFs when opening document" turned on or something else that is forcing a change as soon as it's opened. Of course...I'm wasting my breath here I think because A) You were extremely unclear about your issue and B) You haven't re-appeared here in a month and a half to see if anyone could help you with your problem. So you rant rant ranted and didn't care about a solution it seems. Tex-Edit Plus is a fantastic program, plain and simple. Beats all the others (although a BIT more versatility with Tab stops would be great)
Like
Version 4.9.5b4
Anonymous
31 August 2005
Great app, but i gotta agree, JUNK THE STUFFIT FILE!
Like
Version 4.9.4b2
Anonymous
29 August 2005
yeah wth? this needs to be a dmg file - i'm not even going to bother downloading this version since I'm really happy apple has ditched the stuffit garbage FINALLY
Like
Version 4.9.4b2
Anonymous
15 August 2005
Again: please do provide a downloadable file in .dmg or .zip-format too!!! Stuffit-Expander is no longer installed with the latest release of the MacOS (OSX 10.4 Tiger). And have you ever tried to download a copy of Stuffit-Expander? It's nearly impossible. You need to install the WHOLE StuffIt-suite of applications, which are by the way NOT freeware, in order to use Stuffit-Expander! This is insane! Make Tex-Edit Plus a DMG-file, please!
Like
Version 4.9.3
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 August 2005
Hello, Quillick -- maybe I'm some kind of lucky guy, but when I went to the Stuff-it site I managed to download (free) the unstuffing utility all by itself. Works fine on my Tiger system. I agree with you and all those who lament the dropping of .sit handling from Tiger, but things aren't quite as desperate as you make out. Give it another try.
Like
Version 4.9.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 August 2005
Stuffit 902 Expander is now available as a Expander-only product. It's true that for several versions ( in the v 7 and 8 range, when company was Alladdin, and maybe early Allume) they had for some not-user-friendly reason changed the way you get Expander. So for a while (years) you often did end up having to download the whole suite package, which they tried to sell you, just to get the free Expander. thankfully, someone came up with the wise and simple idea to make the free Expander a single product download - again - like it used to be.
Like
Version 4.9.3
Anonymous
28 July 2005
Stuffit-Expander is no longer installed with the MacOS (OSX 10.4 Tiger). In addition, since OSX was introduced, Apple recommends to generate disk-images (.dmg-files) for distribution of applications over the internet. So, could the developer please provide a downloadable file in .dmg or .zip-format (also supported by MacOS X since version 10.3) and not this clunky, proprietary .sit file-format. Thanks!
Like
Version 4.9.3b9
Anonymous
04 July 2005
Ditto to some of the other comments. Buy it. Excellent software.
Like
Version 4.9.3b8
Anonymous
30 June 2005
This is not a review. I have given it five stars several times over the 8 or so years I have used this great program. The best software bargain I know of. This is a rock solid program for me. Buy it and support it.
Like
Version 4.9.3b8
Anonymous
09 February 2005
It is unusable with czech language.
Like
Version 4.9.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 May 2005
To není pravda (It's not true). Of course you can use Tex-Edit for writing Czech, but you need to enable the Czech script/keyboard layout as well as use fonts that support CE characters. If you're not familiar with using Czech language on your Mac you might want to check out (or "czech out"... :) e.g. www.mujmac.cz for some instructions. Also note that prior to approx. Mac OS X 10.3.5 there was a nasty Mac OS X bug affecting character mapping in old Adobe CE PostScript fonts used in *any* OS X app, so those fonts were practically useless in OS X. Apple has finally fixed it in one of the Panther updates.
Like
Version 4.9.2b3
Arm3
29 January 2005
Hey guys and gals, if you have never paid for shareware, this is a good place to start. This guy has supplied us with a fine tool, and should be rewarded.
Like
Version 4.9