Back to Microsoft OneNote page
Microsoft OneNote free download for Mac

Microsoft OneNote Reviews16.54

14 October 2021

Free digital notebook.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
michaelpilgrim88
michaelpilgrim88
Apr 10 2021
16.47
1.0
Apr 10 2021
1.0
Version: 16.47
I used to really like onenote 2016 but I just bought a mac and the onenote version is awful. No functionality, annoying navigation, no option to quickly add a quicknote, I can't find any of my previously made quicknotes. Absolutely ridiculous how much worse this is than the previous version. I've been using Onenote for about 4 years but now I am forced to find a different app for my notes as this is intolerable
ricky_t
ricky_t
Mar 22 2021
16.47
5.0
Mar 22 2021
5.0
Version: 16.47
Can truly recommend it. Using it for more than 4 years and without any horrible consequences)) Its something that you can use between various devices (iOS and Android, for example) There's just one thing that makes me sick of: sometimes, when you copying text from OneNote, it can paste as plain text and picture simultaneously
ben-marko
ben-marko
Apr 18 2020
16.35
3.0
Apr 18 2020
3.0
Version: 16.35
This needs the ability to save selections from a source like Evernote. That ability pops up in the Evernote clipper whenever you select a block of text or a group of photos. If the OneNote clipper could do just that, I would bail on Evernote in a heartbeat. It's the only reason I haven't do so yet.
robertofibres
robertofibres
Feb 28 2020
16.34
4.0
Feb 28 2020
4.0
Version: 16.34
A very controversial note taking app. It is possible to talk very positively, or very negatively, about it yet telling the pure truth. Please take into account that the Mac version is reduced compared to that for Windows, and my review is referred to the Mac version. THE GOOD: it is the best concept of electronic filofax available free of charge. It is possible to create tons of separates notebooks, everyone of them divided into sections, and every section into pages. I find layout and colours scheme very pleasant and functional, so it is easy to divide and classify every single piece of information. Single pages have no virtual limits of extension and are compiled through separated text boxes. Contents are accessible also online through the web browser, and synchronise quickly (the Windows version, strangely, is not so efficient at it). Moreover, It works very well in the iPad with the Apple pen. THE BAD: search engine is cumbersome compared to that of Apple Note, and neither written content in attached documents nor hand writing is searchable. The web clipper is slow and has nothing to do with that of Evernote, so bad that the version for Safari has been removed (so, not a significant loss). It is possible to protect with password only sections, but never a complete notebook nor a single page. THE UGLY: it seems impossible to delete a single notebook from the online version. In the app a deleted notebook appear deleted, but in the online version still survive like an immortal zombie.
James
James
Feb 23 2020
16.34
4.0
Feb 23 2020
4.0
Version: 16.34
One of the issues with OneNote is that it is not possible within the App to export multiple 'pages' (capture or clipped articles) to PDF in batch but only one at a time. Workarounds usually involve running Windows on your Mac, or finding fee based 3rd party App to do it, which so far I have been unsuccessful in getting full featured trial versions to work. However I accidentally stumbled on a process for doing this using existing or free 3rd party software to do it. This process I have tested using the free LibreOffice replacement for MS Office or it was indicated that MS Office would work as well. The procedure is as follows: - Open OneNote and choose the desired folder to see the 'pages' - Shift-Click and select desired pages - Copy using Cmd-C or Copy from the Edit menu Open LibreOffice and create a blank Write document - Use the 'Paste Special' options from the ribbon to do HTML, RTF, or Unformated Text depending on what you want. HTML provides the most accurate formatting. - All of the selected 'Pages' are now pasted into this single document and you are free to edit and separate them into individual articles, including inserting page breaks to print them out as separate PDF articles by choosing in the print dialog which pages to export (Print to PDF). Another advantage of doing this is that since LibreOffice does proper pagination, you will not land up with split lines on multipage articles.
acbakke219
acbakke219
Sep 18 2019
16.29
1.0
Sep 18 2019
1.0
Version: 16.29
Have been using one note on my Mac for several years now. Took extra time to get it synced to start but has been great up till NOW. This new 2019 update has not synced notes, doesn't seem to like my password "sometimes" and other times it's ok. Get this FIXED!!! Upgrades are not free and the extra time spent trying to figure it out to get it to work is unappreciated and costly to small business. Very Sad how low the quality of this new upgrade is.
Ulyssesric
Ulyssesric
Sep 12 2019
16.29
2.0
Sep 12 2019
2.0
Version: 16.29
Data sync works weird and web clipping is miserable. No better than just Select All - Copy - Paste in Note.app. Microsoft doesn't seem to know that there is a simplified "Reader Mode" in some browsers like Safari, that can save you tons of trouble clipping through HTML DOMs.
Martin-Smatanik
Martin-Smatanik
Jun 19 2019
16.26
5.0
Jun 19 2019
5.0
Version: 16.26
Great app!!!
rphartle88icloudcom9267
rphartle88icloudcom9267
Dec 12 2018
16.20
0.5
Dec 12 2018
0.5
Version: 16.20
I had this App for about a year had tons of notes in and then after a certain # update nothing would sync. I tried everything Microsoft suggested even starting a new account with a blank notebook... digging deep in folders and deleting preferences and other MS crap. I went round and round with them for two weeks and Still Syncing spun for hours before saying there was an error in Syncing... Never had a problem with any other App on my Mac that Syncs to the cloud... finally I copied all my OneNote Notes and pasted into Apple Notes and Never a problem again.. I deleted all traces of anything Microsoft from my MacBook Pro and works fantastic.. I use Google Docs for anything Office related as do many companies now... plus eliminated 5gb of MS Bloatware from MY internal SSD... now I use that 5GB for Storing Local content as opposed to Relying on Microsoft's Non-Syncing Cloud. Don't need no Snotty, Smelly, Unkempt Window IT guy to maintain my Systems... just an excuse for them to keep them creeps around the office.
AlVarnell
AlVarnell
Oct 13 2018
16.18
0.0
Oct 13 2018
0.0
Version: 16.18
Attention MacUpdate: Version 16.18 requires macOS 10.12 or later, not 10.10.
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
Sep 22 2018
16.17
0.5
Sep 22 2018
0.5
Version: 16.17
The following video demonstration convinced me NOT to use OneNote: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kgcsYRnOoik Vendor lock-in has always been a significant issue with this type of "Everything Bucket" style apps. Several people persistently urged me to try it. No way I will commit to this bloated app.
ken-92
ken-92
Sep 18 2018
16.17
0.0
Sep 18 2018
0.0
Version: 16.17
OneNote came with my MS Office Purchase. Word, Excel and PowerPoint all work fine but OneNote kept showing an error when I tried to open it. After several attempts to get support for the problem, unsuccessfully, I decided to remove the programme. I'll try to find out how to re-install but haven't found where this can be done.
Rick6
Rick6
Jul 11 2018
16.15
4.5
Jul 11 2018
4.5
Version: 16.15
This is great software for all you devices
Tomq
Tomq
Mar 24 2018
16.11
0.0
Mar 24 2018
0.0
Version: 16.11
Microsoft needs to enable ****local**** storing of notes as soon as possible. Available for Windows but not Mac!!!!
christinalagoda
christinalagoda
Feb 14 2018
16.10
5.0
Feb 14 2018
5.0
Version: 16.10
I like this app. Use only this one for my notes!
angijordan
angijordan
Feb 13 2018
16.10
5.0
Feb 13 2018
5.0
Version: 16.10
One of best apps I've used. 5/5 for sure
davidbrown154
davidbrown154
Feb 13 2018
16.10
4.0
Feb 13 2018
4.0
Version: 16.10
this one and evernote are the best really
James
James
Dec 29 2017
15.41
4.0
Dec 29 2017
4.0
Version: 15.41
This is such an incredible tool it is hard for me to imagine why MS is giving it away for free. Using browser extensions for the 3 major Mac browser, it allows users to capture and turn slideshows into editable articles, change fonts and size, and save them as PDF's. It also does the same for multiple page web articles while eliminating advertising. It used to take me a good part of an hour to copy and paste various pages of slideshows into a text document then save it as PDF. With OneNote it just takes a couple of mouse clicks and less than a minute to perform the same task, while ignoring ads, and documenting the webpage it came from as part of the article it came from.. The capability of OneNote seems to be one of Microsofts best kept secrets, especially for Mac users.
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
Dec 14 2017
15.41
0.0
Dec 14 2017
0.0
Version: 15.41
Maybe my expectations were wrong and maybe I didn't do it right but I couldn't import the notebook I made using OneNote 2016 for Windows (I exported it using the build-in export feature). And it puzzles me why OneNote for Mac (and any other Mac Microsoft Office application for that matter) is different from its Windows version. It's a missed opportunity to an Office platform that is identical for Windows, OS X and Linux rather than different versions for each OS. .
ben-marko
ben-marko
Dec 4 2017
15.40
3.0
Dec 4 2017
3.0
Version: 15.40
If you are thinking about leaving Evernote for this, the only real reasons are multi-depth (?) organization (of everything pretty much...big reason), and the fact that OneNote is free. Those are good reasons, though! Otherwise, be aware that there are many features that come with the Windows version that are not included with the macOS version - such as missing tool types, color effects, and exclusive features such as Ink to Text. So you may want to stick with Evernote (or another) for now. Pretty irritating, since MS gives every impression that you'll be getting what the Windows version has.
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Jun 13 2017
15.35
0.0
Jun 13 2017
0.0
Version: 15.35
420MB for a "notes" application? seriously?? More M$ bloatware
Ulyssesric
Ulyssesric
Apr 14 2017
15.33
2.0
Apr 14 2017
2.0
Version: 15.33
Looking for an alternative to Evernote. Played OneNote for a while and decided I don't like it.

1. The editing feature of OneNote is definitely better than any note taking apps in the market. But I'm not a big fan of the "write anywhere" idea. Text-box is convenient for annotation, but not for primary content.

2. While I'd appreciate the note category style in OneNote ( notebook > section > pages ), but it's still vital to support tags for a KM application. Unfortunately, the Mac version can only choose from a pre-defined set of tags, while the Windows version can define customized tags.

3. Besides tags, lots of features available in Windows version are also missing from the Mac version. I'm fine that I can't open multiple pages side by side, but I don't understand why I can't move the pages list tab to the left side of window. And the lack of control of spell checking for foreign language rendered the whole feature useless for non-English users.

4. The imagine of whole user experience is "heavy". The reaction of every move is as sluggish as Word or PowerPoint 2016 on my 3-years old MacBook 13" Retina. And the synchronization speed is tremendously slower than other services (Dropbox = Google > Evernote > iCloud >> OneNote) from my locale.

5. The web clipper is junk. It never succeed to detect the main article area correctly, and the whole page clipping is rendered as image; not PDF, but plain image. That's ridiculous. Evernote clipper is far more advanced that this.

6. The Evernote importer is not a big issue to me though.
john_cheers
john_cheers
Mar 31 2017
15.32
5.0
Mar 31 2017
5.0
Version: 15.32
My favorite app for notes. Even a free version is enough for all your needs
ottojohnson363
ottojohnson363
Jan 24 2017
15.30
5.0
Jan 24 2017
5.0
Version: 15.30
Clearly my favorite app for all of my notes
W.Gottsching
W.Gottsching
Nov 30 2016
15.28
4.5
Nov 30 2016
4.5
Version: 15.28
One of my favorite applications. But, I need edits history and tags.
romanzdk
romanzdk
Oct 27 2016
15.27.1
0.0
Oct 27 2016
0.0
Version: 15.27.1
VOTE FOR SAVING LOCALLY AND TO OTHER ONLINE SERVICES THAN ONEDRIVE - http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/ms-onenote-to-other-clouds
OhEssex
OhEssex
Aug 17 2016
15.25
1.0
Aug 17 2016
1.0
Version: 15.25
Today Microsoft announced the following:

Thanks for expressing your support for local notebooks on Mac. We have no plans to support local notebooks in our other clients, since storing your notebooks in the cloud enables experiences that are not otherwise possible. OneDrive gives you 5GB of storage for free, but if you need more space we recommend subscribing to Office 365 which includes an additional 1TB each for up to five users.

This is unacceptable on a lot of fronts:
1. You can do this on a PC already but they are categorically denying it for Mac users.
2. Corporations will not allow their sensitive data to be stored in a cloud
3. Microsoft will data mine your documents for profit (otherwise why would they *only* give it to us for free)

This was, by far, the most currently requested feature in the OneNote feedback forums and Microsoft said they just weren't going to do it:

http://onenote.uservoice.com/forums/327165-onenote-for-mac/suggestions/6176420-mac-add-support-for-offline-local-onenote-noteb

There are so many other examples of things lacking in the Mac version vs the PC version that it's just not funny anymore. Do not believe Microsoft when they say this is a fully cross-platform tool. The Mac marketing people within Microsoft all need to take a Customer Service 101 course...
Summer-Fine
Summer-Fine
Aug 12 2016
15.24
4.5
Aug 12 2016
4.5
Version: 15.24
Oh, I must say I love this app very much, for it did help me a lot. Before downloading it, I need to always transferring files to my partner. With this app, we can write and add anything at the same time, and the interface is really simple, which I like best. It combines the function of Word and Excel. But, I do not know why the synchronization is sometimes very slow, which I think this app can do a bit well on this aspect.
Summer-Fine
Summer-Fine
Aug 12 2016
15.24
4.5
Aug 12 2016
4.5
Version: 15.24
Oh, I must say I love this app very much, for it did help me a lot. Before downloading it, I need to always transferring files to my partner. With this app, we can write and add anything at the same time, and the interface is really simple, which I like best. It combines the function of Word and Excel. But, I do not know why the synchronization is sometimes very slow, which I think this app can do a bit well on this aspect.
OneAfter909
OneAfter909
Apr 7 2016
15.21
1.0
Apr 7 2016
1.0
Version: 15.21
The Mac version continues to lack important features that are in the Windows version. For example, you cannot open multiple windows in the Mac version like you can in Windows. Want to open two notes to compare, copy and paste, etc.? You're out of luck. And it would be a nice "feature" if someone would put an end to the dozens of fraudulent 5-star reviews in the App Store that appear almost immediately after every update.
Svenster
Svenster
Dec 6 2015
15.16
1.0
Dec 6 2015
1.0
Version: 15.16
What a waste of space...! All I can do on the so called free Mac version is type everything manually...! I Cant copy and paste text - All it does is put "OneNote - Free" no matter what I do. No import function and no local drive access. This is Bloatware...! Nothing is mentioned about this serious limitation. I just downloaded almost 1GB of bandwith to get this Bloatware on my Mac iPad and iPhone and its worse than USLESS
OhEssex
OhEssex
Dec 3 2015
15.16
1.0
Dec 3 2015
1.0
Version: 15.16
Technical sketches, graphs, formulas and drawing in general is a fundamental part of my note taking world. You can do that in OneNote on the PC, you can do it in OneNote on the iPad, BUT YOU CAN'T DO IT ON THE MAC.
You can pay full price for Office on the PC and that buys you the right to store your files locally so MS won't data mine them, but if you pay full price for Office on the Mac YOU ARE FORCED TO STORE EVERYTHING IN MICROSOFT'S CLOUD.
These two things are critical fails and the software is dead to me until they are fixed.

Oh, and how about this. In the OneNote preferences under the Security & Privacy tab there is only one selectable option - a check box that reads "Send personal information to Microsoft to make improvements to Office". Really!!!
Melman-Flink
Melman-Flink
Nov 12 2015
15.15.16
0.0
Nov 12 2015
0.0
Version: 15.15.16
Yo, Microsoft. How about also updating your mouse driver for the latest version of OS X as well?!
Panocha
Panocha
Oct 2 2015
15.14.2
1.0
Oct 2 2015
1.0
Version: 15.14.2
Still no local mode. Totally useless app. I guess I am going to upgrade my main system to El Capitan just for Apple's Notes app.
benjitek
benjitek
Sep 28 2015
15.14.1
0.0
Sep 28 2015
0.0
Version: 15.14.1
Have been using OneNote for a while. The native OSX/iOS Notes app syncs with Notes in Office365. Basic, quick, convenient -- text only.

Now iOS, iCloud.com and El Capitan have much improved Notes app. It's almost to the point where I could use it 100% of the time. Just needs a couple things:

** Clip a webpage, like in OneNote, instead of a postage-stamp sized snippet you need to click on and open the site in a separate window. Being able to add a web page in it's entirety to a notebook is one of my most used OneNote features.

** The ability to password-protect folders in Notes like you can with notebooks in OneNote.

Now I'm wishing Notes showed up in the OneNote sharesheet so I could copy some stuff over... ;-)
Superultramegagigabyte
Superultramegagigabyte
Sep 7 2015
15.13.3
5.0
Sep 7 2015
5.0
Version: 15.13.3
It's a good app and it works on all platforms, not only on Windows.
Raro
Raro
Aug 26 2015
15.13.3
0.0
Aug 26 2015
0.0
Version: 15.13.3
Still no support for DropBox syncing :-(
mhasman
mhasman
Aug 26 2015
15.13.3
0.0
Aug 26 2015
0.0
Version: 15.13.3
Is there URL to download ver. 15.3.3 from Microsoft, please?
larrymcj
larrymcj
Aug 5 2015
15.12.3
0.0
Aug 5 2015
0.0
Version: 15.12.3
OneNote for Mac is by far superior to Evernote or other competing note-taking apps. The Mac App Store shows nearly 7000 5-star reviews of OneNote for Mac, but here it garners only 3 stars, and from only 27 users. To me, this appears to be more about disliking Microsoft than accepting that Microsoft has made a gigantic step toward embracing Mac users with all their latest products, especially Office 2016 for Mac. I'm not a Microsoft fan...but I'm a huge fan of good software, and OneNote is an amazing product.
Der-Offizier
Der-Offizier
Jul 23 2015
15.11.2
5.0
Jul 23 2015
5.0
Version: 15.11.2
great application to have on your phone and computer. like it very much!
Radus
Radus
Jul 1 2015
15.11.2
3.0
Jul 1 2015
3.0
Version: 15.11.2
onenote 2013 is one of the best apps for windows 8.1 / 10 but without export/import to/from a file it is nearly worthless for the mac - for large files sync over a cloud is not fast enough
CDavid
CDavid
Jun 30 2015
15.11.2
5.0
Jun 30 2015
5.0
Version: 15.11.2
To be honest, I don't really like Microsoft, or Windows, or MS Office. The only app I like and use on all devices is OneNote. Every time I need to write down something, or create a list of items - I use this application. Pros: - Syncs notes and other things I create across all of the devices I own (Mac, iOS and Android) - I really like the colors and the design of the application - The app's quite stable and fast - New theme is awesome Cons: - No cons so far. Bottom Line: It's a good-looking, pretty functional and free app. Give it a try!
larrymcj
larrymcj
Feb 21 2015
15.4
0.0
Feb 21 2015
0.0
Version: 15.4
Actually, the very latest version that released just a few days ago is not bad, but, it still has some issues. One being that while notebook colors can be user-selected, not so for the default notebook it creates when you first install it. So if you're OK with Pea Green (default color) to look at 24/7 in your primary notebook, then it's fine. I happen to hate that color so into the trash can it went. Microsoft is going the extra mile to make strides in winning over Mac users with their products, but they need to refine the basics first. Even the iOS version of OneNote is very good, but again...you have to be able to tolerate a color you may not like.
OhEssex
OhEssex
Jan 28 2015
15.4
1.0
Jan 28 2015
1.0
Version: 15.4
I've heard I can scribble drawings via my wacom graphics tablet directly into onenote. Great! - so I downloaded it to give it a try, but I can't get to first base without creating an account with M$ (and I'm not going to do that). If the program is any good I'm happy to pay for it , but I'm not going to let my notes be data-mined... I could create a fake account so I can try it out, but if I end up liking it then is there any way to buy/use onenote without all the privacy issues?
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
Oct 30 2014
15.3.2
0.5
Oct 30 2014
0.5
Version: 15.3.2
No cool, Microsoft only lets you use this if you set up an email account on their domain. Try Evernote instead, much better product.
Panocha
Panocha
Sep 19 2014
15.2.2
1.0
Sep 19 2014
1.0
Version: 15.2.2
Looks pretty, but can't really use it. If it only had all of the files and notes local like iTunes and Together, I would use it. Instead all of your notes and data are lost in some kind of a proprietary database and can't be found. There is no way to right-click and "show in finder" or even navigate your user library and find anything. It must pack everything into it's own format, so if the database corrupts, it's all gone. If it used regular files, then it could be backed up, synced with any backup program or cloud service. I will stick with together until something better comes along. It's too bad, because the interface is very nice looking, but data integrity and security is more important.
LikeSummer
LikeSummer
Sep 19 2014
15.2.2
3.0
Sep 19 2014
3.0
Version: 15.2.2
IT takes about 240 MB on my MacBook Pro.... It really works, but I think Evernote is more my choice.
Cowicide
Cowicide
Aug 19 2014
15.2
0.0
Aug 19 2014
0.0
Version: 15.2
Almost 240 MBs for a note app? Um, this screams of bloatware. Also, Microsoft is notorious for developing subpar software on the Mac side. And, Microsoft's horrid security breach history doesn't exactly inspire confidence for keeping private records on the cloud. Pass.
Razz
Razz
Aug 1 2014
15.2
0.5
Aug 1 2014
0.5
Version: 15.2
This is another bloated Microsoft ploy to sell their online/cloud services and they reserve the right to use your content to further their best interests. NO THANK YOU.
Drdul
Drdul
Jun 7 2014
15.1
3.0
Jun 7 2014
3.0
Version: 15.1
I've been looking for an Evernote alternative, and although OneNote is the best I've found so far (for my needs, at least), it still doesn't match Evernote. The showstopper for me is the inability to edit the list of tags, creating new tags and removing the ones I don't want. The additional organizational options in OneNote are nice, but I rely heavily on tags in Evernote and if I can't organize my notes in a similar manner then OneNote isn't going to work for me. I like the additional formatting options, especially being able to place text, images, tables and other items anywhere on the page, but was disappointed to find that I can't cut and paste a mix of text and images (such as from a web page) and instead have to paste the text and add each image one-by-one. I also can't drag stuff into OneNote like I can with Evernote. And surprisingly, I can't move sections from one notebook to another. The Mac version is definitely missing features that are in the Windows version. For example, I wanted to rename a notebook and change its colour. I found instructions on Microsoft's website indicating that i could make these changes in the notebook properties dialog, which doesn't exist on the Mac version (or the iPad version for that matter). My only option was to delete the notebook and re-create it with the name and colour I wanted. Maybe in a few more versions Microsoft will add enough features to OneNote to make it a viable alternative to Evernote.