Back to Microsoft OneNote page
Microsoft OneNote free download for Mac

Microsoft OneNote Reviews

16.29
12 September 2019

Free digital notebook.

Lord-Lightning
02 April 2014

Most helpful

235 MB - and you still need an online account to give your deepest thoughts to the CIA! No, apart from the conspiracy theory, if the thing is this large - like everything MS does, why can't you use it to store everything on your computer, just like most featherweight note takers? I look at this and I think - grotesque. They write their code in long-hand with a 2B pencil.
Like (14)
Version 15.0.2

Read 56 Microsoft OneNote User Reviews

Rate this app:

Ulyssesric
12 September 2019
Data sync works weird and web clipping is miserable. No better than just Select All - Copy - Paste in Note.app. Microsoft doesn't seem to know that there is a simplified "Reader Mode" in some browsers like Safari, that can save you tons of trouble clipping through HTML DOMs.
Like
Version 16.29
Martin-Smatanik
19 June 2019
Great app!!!
Like
Version 16.26
rphartle88icloudcom9267
12 December 2018
I had this App for about a year had tons of notes in and then after a certain # update nothing would sync. I tried everything Microsoft suggested even starting a new account with a blank notebook... digging deep in folders and deleting preferences and other MS crap. I went round and round with them for two weeks and Still Syncing spun for hours before saying there was an error in Syncing... Never had a problem with any other App on my Mac that Syncs to the cloud... finally I copied all my OneNote Notes and pasted into Apple Notes and Never a problem again.. I deleted all traces of anything Microsoft from my MacBook Pro and works fantastic.. I use Google Docs for anything Office related as do many companies now... plus eliminated 5gb of MS Bloatware from MY internal SSD... now I use that 5GB for Storing Local content as opposed to Relying on Microsoft's Non-Syncing Cloud. Don't need no Snotty, Smelly, Unkempt Window IT guy to maintain my Systems... just an excuse for them to keep them creeps around the office.
Like
Version 16.20
AlVarnell
13 October 2018
Attention MacUpdate: Version 16.18 requires macOS 10.12 or later, not 10.10.
Like
Version 16.18
Scott-C-H-
22 September 2018
The following video demonstration convinced me NOT to use OneNote: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kgcsYRnOoik Vendor lock-in has always been a significant issue with this type of "Everything Bucket" style apps. Several people persistently urged me to try it. No way I will commit to this bloated app.
Like
Version 16.17
ken-92
18 September 2018
OneNote came with my MS Office Purchase. Word, Excel and PowerPoint all work fine but OneNote kept showing an error when I tried to open it. After several attempts to get support for the problem, unsuccessfully, I decided to remove the programme. I'll try to find out how to re-install but haven't found where this can be done.
Like
Version 16.17
Rick6
11 July 2018
This is great software for all you devices
Like
Version 16.15
Tomq
24 March 2018
Microsoft needs to enable ****local**** storing of notes as soon as possible. Available for Windows but not Mac!!!!
Like (2)
Version 16.11
1 answer(s)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
14 April 2018
Lack of local storage is the main reason I don't use this product. I found it very useful on Windows 10 and wish there was a free alternative on MacOS. Evernote costs money and I refuse to be a revenue stream.
Like (1)
christinalagoda
14 February 2018
I like this app. Use only this one for my notes!
Like
Version 16.10
angijordan
13 February 2018
One of best apps I've used. 5/5 for sure
Like
Version 16.10
davidbrown154
13 February 2018
this one and evernote are the best really
Like
Version 16.10
1 answer(s)
OhEssex
OhEssex
15 April 2018
I'm not a Microsoft shill either. However, here are some counterpoints to your statements. Businesses (including the one I work for) PAY Microsoft for a cloud service that is proprietary so that they can be assured their data is kept private (corporate strategies, marketing, secrets etc.). Ordinary Windows users (of which I am also a member) do have the option to PAY for OneNote and categorically NOT have their notes stored in the cloud. Mac users do NOT have that option - it's the cloud for "free" or nothing. I'll bet you that if Microsoft revoked the paid version of OneNote for ordinary users and only gave it to them for free that you'd see some fall-out.

If you're so sure developing and maintaining software made available for free to your users is your path to riches, I suggest you try it... It certainly works for EverNote (but we all know why).
Like
Jimw
29 December 2017
This is such an incredible tool it is hard for me to imagine why MS is giving it away for free. Using browser extensions for the 3 major Mac browser, it allows users to capture and turn slideshows into editable articles, change fonts and size, and save them as PDF's. It also does the same for multiple page web articles while eliminating advertising. It used to take me a good part of an hour to copy and paste various pages of slideshows into a text document then save it as PDF. With OneNote it just takes a couple of mouse clicks and less than a minute to perform the same task, while ignoring ads, and documenting the webpage it came from as part of the article it came from.. The capability of OneNote seems to be one of Microsofts best kept secrets, especially for Mac users.
Like
Version 15.41
2 answer(s)
OhEssex
OhEssex
15 March 2018
They're giving it away for "free" because you are forced to keep all of your data in their cloud. They data-mine everything and make more money using that business model than if you were able to buy the product. That's why you *cannot* buy it (it's not even an option), you can't store stuff privately on your computer and you MUST use their cloud (and suffer all of the consequential marketing etc.). And that's why I'll never use it...
Like (3)
Mcr
Mcr
14 April 2018
I am NOT a Microsoft shill, but there is SO much FUD spread by Mac users about Microsoft Products. Microsoft does NOT mine the data stored on OneDrive/Microsoft Accounts. Its privacy policies are in fact are probably more stringent than most other companies, certainly more than Google, and millions of Google users every day have no issue sharing their data with big G. Instead of paranoia, just think it through logically.

Perhaps more than any other company in the world, Microsoft software, servers, infrastructure are used by by enterprise; this includes use of Azure business services, web services, Windows Server, Office 365, Exchange, OneDrive and so on. The sheer VOLUME of confidential business information flowing through MS products, software and servers EVERY SECOND dwarfs any other company in the world.

MIcrosoft has to continually prove to IT depts, CIOs and CTOs of the biggest and most powerful companies in the world that their business data is secure, protected and held confidentially by MIcrosoft products.

So the 'theory' that OneNote is free because MS needs to mine your consumer data to make money is ridiculous. The SLIGHTEST hint that MS was doing any of the kind, and the collective Enterprise/Business world that runs on MS tehcnology would CRUCIFY MS to the wall.

This anti MS attitude by so many Apple users is not based on fact but years of institutionalized animosity perpetuated by Apple itself and its pundits, who needed a 'bad guy' to point to to rally the Apple faithful. Luke Skywalker needs his Darth Vader to validate his purpose. These same Apple supporters who are quick to demonize MS and accuse it of mining their data don't blink an eye that their iDevices are sharing their email, contacts, calendars all over iCloud, and how many of these folks also have DropBox accounts? Plenty. And what of Google users who use Google Docs, and all these companies to some degree have used Amazon AWS services and infrastructure. You think all that iCloud data is being stored on or passed through infrastructure solely owned and operated by Apple?

The EU is even more paranoid about privacy and security than the US. Office 365 (and therefore the cloud services that are included) meets the EU's data protection and privacy guidelines (aka Articles 29), and was approved by the EU privacy authorities back in 2014.
https://blogs.microsoft.com/blog/2014/04/10/privacy-authorities-across-europe-approve-microsofts-cloud-commitments/
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/trustcenter/privacy/you-own-your-data
Google and others, in contrast, have gone to court in the EU to fight to be EXEMPTED from compliance.
There is no conspiracy to steal your data; OneNote for MAc is free so that Mac users working in mixed (Windows and Mac) Enterprise environments who have to collaborate with with co-workers are able to access collaboration documents stored on 365. The Enterprise market for Office Mac isn't large enough to worry about, so more good will is gained by offering it as a 'value add', rather than for profit.

MS doesn't need your data to hawk for money, it doesn't need the handful of Mac Office users to pony up a few dollars to pay for OneNote to make a difference in its bottom line. What it DOES need is for its Enterprise customers who pay TRILLIONS in MS services, software and products to be happy and assured that their business information is secure and confidential. It just so happens that consumer users benefit from the same processes and policies.
Like (3)
Lounge-Deluxe
14 December 2017
Maybe my expectations were wrong and maybe I didn't do it right but I couldn't import the notebook I made using OneNote 2016 for Windows (I exported it using the build-in export feature). And it puzzles me why OneNote for Mac (and any other Mac Microsoft Office application for that matter) is different from its Windows version. It's a missed opportunity to an Office platform that is identical for Windows, OS X and Linux rather than different versions for each OS. .
Like
Version 15.41
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
15 April 2018
Windows, Mac, Web, iOS, Andriod versions of Office 365 were initially on separate code bases; there are literally MILLIONS of lines of code in each app, for each platform. Apple users often forget that Office is available on all of these platforms, not just Win and Mac. For several years MS has and continues to work on merging the code bases across all platforms. The recent jump in Office Mac from version 15.x to 16.x is a major step, with Windows/Mac platforms now on version 16 numbering; it's not just a cosmetic difference to get on the same number; under the hood it means the code base was merged, meaning when a bug is fixed, it's fixed on all platforms, when a new feature is released, it is released on all platforms (more or less, there will always be some exceptions).

Why is this important? Shortens time to market; reduces cost. Instead of separate development teams working on each app, each platform, now you have one base development team per app. You no longer have the 'Excel Windows team' and the 'Excel Mac team', just the 'Excel team'. Bug fixing and feature enhancement is simplified by orders of magnitude.

I suspect we will start seeing feature parity get closer now that the code base is merged. Apple has/had a similar plan for its iWorks products; and eventually ALL of its apps, desktop or iOS. Several years ago when people saw features disappearing from Pages, Numbers and Keynote, it was because Apple had to step back to get the desktop, iCloud and iOS versions of these apps back on a common base; unfortunately this meant the desktop versions had to step back so that iOS could catch up. Long term the plan is obvious, one code base, with developers being able to compile simultaneous iOS and macOS versions of their apps instantly with no or minimal changes. Long term this HELPS all developers who won't have to choose between or splitting resources between iOS or macOS (or web); write one app, pay for one development team, sell to both markets, make PROFIT from both markets while also lowering COSTS. iOS is the donkey pulling the Apple cart (pun intended), not macOS.
Peace.
Like (1)
ben-marko
04 December 2017
If you are thinking about leaving Evernote for this, the only real reasons are multi-depth (?) organization (of everything pretty much...big reason), and the fact that OneNote is free. Those are good reasons, though! Otherwise, be aware that there are many features that come with the Windows version that are not included with the macOS version - such as missing tool types, color effects, and exclusive features such as Ink to Text. So you may want to stick with Evernote (or another) for now. Pretty irritating, since MS gives every impression that you'll be getting what the Windows version has.
Like
Version 15.40
Eric•Woehler
13 June 2017
420MB for a "notes" application? seriously?? More M$ bloatware
Like
Version 15.35
Ulyssesric
14 April 2017
Looking for an alternative to Evernote. Played OneNote for a while and decided I don't like it.

1. The editing feature of OneNote is definitely better than any note taking apps in the market. But I'm not a big fan of the "write anywhere" idea. Text-box is convenient for annotation, but not for primary content.

2. While I'd appreciate the note category style in OneNote ( notebook > section > pages ), but it's still vital to support tags for a KM application. Unfortunately, the Mac version can only choose from a pre-defined set of tags, while the Windows version can define customized tags.

3. Besides tags, lots of features available in Windows version are also missing from the Mac version. I'm fine that I can't open multiple pages side by side, but I don't understand why I can't move the pages list tab to the left side of window. And the lack of control of spell checking for foreign language rendered the whole feature useless for non-English users.

4. The imagine of whole user experience is "heavy". The reaction of every move is as sluggish as Word or PowerPoint 2016 on my 3-years old MacBook 13" Retina. And the synchronization speed is tremendously slower than other services (Dropbox = Google > Evernote > iCloud >> OneNote) from my locale.

5. The web clipper is junk. It never succeed to detect the main article area correctly, and the whole page clipping is rendered as image; not PDF, but plain image. That's ridiculous. Evernote clipper is far more advanced that this.

6. The Evernote importer is not a big issue to me though.
Like (2)
Version 15.33
john_cheers
31 March 2017
My favorite app for notes. Even a free version is enough for all your needs
Like
Version 15.32
ottojohnson363
24 January 2017
Clearly my favorite app for all of my notes
Like
Version 15.30
W.Gottsching
30 November 2016
One of my favorite applications. But, I need edits history and tags.
Like
Version 15.28
romanzdk
27 October 2016
VOTE FOR SAVING LOCALLY AND TO OTHER ONLINE SERVICES THAN ONEDRIVE - http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/ms-onenote-to-other-clouds
Like (2)
Version 15.27.1
2 answer(s)
OhEssex
OhEssex
17 November 2016
Thanks for posting this, and I did vote. After voting you are taken to a page that says you need to click on a verification link in an email they send you - but they don't actually send it to you (it's likely a bug). On that same page they also provide a link to resend that verification email and when you click on that it actually sends the email so you can verify. I wonder how many votes weren't counted because of this issue? I also emailed their support line about this.
Like
Mcr
Mcr
14 January 2017
I would be very careful about using ipetition.com There are numerous reports that this is a very suspicious site. If you trying this site on Windows, using any good quality A/V program (Norton, Kaspersky), you will periodically get alerts of the site trying back door attacks. Also, what leads anyone to think that the petition actually gets delivered to Microsoft in any meaningful way?
Like (1)
OhEssex
17 August 2016
Today Microsoft announced the following:

Thanks for expressing your support for local notebooks on Mac. We have no plans to support local notebooks in our other clients, since storing your notebooks in the cloud enables experiences that are not otherwise possible. OneDrive gives you 5GB of storage for free, but if you need more space we recommend subscribing to Office 365 which includes an additional 1TB each for up to five users.

This is unacceptable on a lot of fronts:
1. You can do this on a PC already but they are categorically denying it for Mac users.
2. Corporations will not allow their sensitive data to be stored in a cloud
3. Microsoft will data mine your documents for profit (otherwise why would they *only* give it to us for free)

This was, by far, the most currently requested feature in the OneNote feedback forums and Microsoft said they just weren't going to do it:

http://onenote.uservoice.com/forums/327165-onenote-for-mac/suggestions/6176420-mac-add-support-for-offline-local-onenote-noteb

There are so many other examples of things lacking in the Mac version vs the PC version that it's just not funny anymore. Do not believe Microsoft when they say this is a fully cross-platform tool. The Mac marketing people within Microsoft all need to take a Customer Service 101 course...
Like (2)
Version 15.25
2 answer(s)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
15 September 2016
For this reason, I tossed OneNote. I want to be able to store my Notebooks locally ONLY and without this option, I'll look at other tools. The first thing the app asked for was my Microsoft.com account. When I clicked cancel, the program quit. Straight into the trash.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
11 January 2017
"1. You can do this on a PC already but they are categorically denying it for Mac users."

If it's in the Windows version, it should be in the Mac version. But just as with office, it's never been that way.

"2. Corporations will not allow their sensitive data to be stored in a cloud"

Lots of corporations do... they use things like DropBox and even OneDrive. But what corporations are going to use OneNote for sensitive data? It's a simple note taking app.

"3. Microsoft will data mine your documents for profit (otherwise why would they *only* give it to us for free)"

I think you are thinking of Google. Microsoft doesn't produce ads.

Why is it free? Why are the Office apps free for iOS? Why is OneDrive (and DropBox, and Google Drive) free? They want people to subscribe to Office 365, so they give them slightly crippled apps.

Just use the Notes app on macOS and iOS if you want local storage. It does everything OneNote does.

Personally I use them both, and with the cloud storage. It's nice having them synchronize between platforms.
Like
Summer-Fine
12 August 2016
Oh, I must say I love this app very much, for it did help me a lot. Before downloading it, I need to always transferring files to my partner. With this app, we can write and add anything at the same time, and the interface is really simple, which I like best. It combines the function of Word and Excel. But, I do not know why the synchronization is sometimes very slow, which I think this app can do a bit well on this aspect.
Like (2)
Version 15.24
Summer-Fine
12 August 2016
Oh, I must say I love this app very much, for it did help me a lot. Before downloading it, I need to always transferring files to my partner. With this app, we can write and add anything at the same time, and the interface is really simple, which I like best. It combines the function of Word and Excel. But, I do not know why the synchronization is sometimes very slow, which I think this app can do a bit well on this aspect.
Like
Version 15.24
OneAfter909
07 April 2016
The Mac version continues to lack important features that are in the Windows version. For example, you cannot open multiple windows in the Mac version like you can in Windows. Want to open two notes to compare, copy and paste, etc.? You're out of luck. And it would be a nice "feature" if someone would put an end to the dozens of fraudulent 5-star reviews in the App Store that appear almost immediately after every update.
Like (5)
Version 15.21
Svenster
06 December 2015
What a waste of space...! All I can do on the so called free Mac version is type everything manually...! I Cant copy and paste text - All it does is put "OneNote - Free" no matter what I do. No import function and no local drive access. This is Bloatware...! Nothing is mentioned about this serious limitation. I just downloaded almost 1GB of bandwith to get this Bloatware on my Mac iPad and iPhone and its worse than USLESS
Like (2)
Version 15.16
2 answer(s)
Svenster
Svenster
06 December 2015
Well it would appear the copy paste fail issue isn't with OneNote. But OneNotes Limitations haven't helped.

I’ve been attempting to get data out of Notability as I’ve been having significant issues with its performance and handling.

It appears there is an issue with copying data from Notability. It doesn't function as expected. Clicking around pages in Notability creates unexpected results. The application appears to be come unresponsive to the click being made but it hasn't crashed and the page clicked on isn't updated to what you have clicked on.

On top of that after a copy of a page in Notability, the copy function appears to become disabled and the clipboard will not update with any further data. This is repeatable. Effectively getting data out of Notability is currently only possible if you export each and every single page.

Its a major pain. Shame because Notability has potential.

But OneNote is equally painful in its NON Mac behaviour.

I’ve wasted hours on both these apps in the last few days.

You live and learn.

Like (1)
Svenster
Svenster
06 December 2015
Well the work around for this app is to hook it up with Outline. They auto sync between each other and Outline is a more Mac App. Haven't purchased the Mac app yet but the iPad version works very well.

We don’t yet have a licence for the Map App but we had one for the iPad version and it syncs up quite well.

So we can chaos which app to use to input and now have the option to export via Outline if and when we need to.

Its roundabout but its working at the moment at least until the next one updates and breaks everything again as they do.
Like
OhEssex
03 December 2015
Technical sketches, graphs, formulas and drawing in general is a fundamental part of my note taking world. You can do that in OneNote on the PC, you can do it in OneNote on the iPad, BUT YOU CAN'T DO IT ON THE MAC.
You can pay full price for Office on the PC and that buys you the right to store your files locally so MS won't data mine them, but if you pay full price for Office on the Mac YOU ARE FORCED TO STORE EVERYTHING IN MICROSOFT'S CLOUD.
These two things are critical fails and the software is dead to me until they are fixed.

Oh, and how about this. In the OneNote preferences under the Security & Privacy tab there is only one selectable option - a check box that reads "Send personal information to Microsoft to make improvements to Office". Really!!!
Like (2)
Version 15.16
Melman-Flink
12 November 2015
Yo, Microsoft. How about also updating your mouse driver for the latest version of OS X as well?!
Like (1)
Version 15.15.16
Panocha
02 October 2015
Still no local mode. Totally useless app. I guess I am going to upgrade my main system to El Capitan just for Apple's Notes app.
Like (1)
Version 15.14.2
3 answer(s)
OhEssex
OhEssex
04 December 2015
Correct. No local storage allowed. You will be data mined for profit (just like Google's and EverNote's business model).
Like (2)
Balanchine
Balanchine
10 July 2016
You can work offline, you just can't sync to the cloud without a net connection (the changes will sync when you reconnect), nor can you choose to keep sensitive documents out of the cloud..
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
22 July 2016
You should update your main system to El Capitan anyway.
Like (1)
benjitek
28 September 2015
Have been using OneNote for a while. The native OSX/iOS Notes app syncs with Notes in Office365. Basic, quick, convenient -- text only.

Now iOS, iCloud.com and El Capitan have much improved Notes app. It's almost to the point where I could use it 100% of the time. Just needs a couple things:

** Clip a webpage, like in OneNote, instead of a postage-stamp sized snippet you need to click on and open the site in a separate window. Being able to add a web page in it's entirety to a notebook is one of my most used OneNote features.

** The ability to password-protect folders in Notes like you can with notebooks in OneNote.

Now I'm wishing Notes showed up in the OneNote sharesheet so I could copy some stuff over... ;-)
Like
Version 15.14.1
Superultramegagigabyte
07 September 2015
It's a good app and it works on all platforms, not only on Windows.
Like (3)
Version 15.13.3
1 answer(s)
Panocha
Panocha
08 May 2016
All platforms? Is there really a Linux version?
Like
Raro
26 August 2015
Still no support for DropBox syncing :-(
Like (2)
Version 15.13.3
1 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
29 September 2015
Also needs to be able to import Evernote notes.
Like (1)
mhasman
26 August 2015
Is there URL to download ver. 15.3.3 from Microsoft, please?
Like (1)
Version 15.13.3
larrymcj
05 August 2015
OneNote for Mac is by far superior to Evernote or other competing note-taking apps. The Mac App Store shows nearly 7000 5-star reviews of OneNote for Mac, but here it garners only 3 stars, and from only 27 users. To me, this appears to be more about disliking Microsoft than accepting that Microsoft has made a gigantic step toward embracing Mac users with all their latest products, especially Office 2016 for Mac. I'm not a Microsoft fan...but I'm a huge fan of good software, and OneNote is an amazing product.
Like (4)
Version 15.12.3
1 answer(s)
Panocha
Panocha
27 September 2015
It would probably be a great app, and we would probably use it, if they allowed us to use it locally and not sync all of our private stuff to their server to be data mined and hacked. I just keep looking at every new version to see if the new features list includes local data, but so far, not. It is not a hate or bash Microsoft problem, it is a poor design problem, and to be honest users here are a lot smarter than AppStore users that don't know any better. For the record, I hate Evernote too. I have been mostly sticking with EagleFiler for now. I would try, and probably use this app, because it does look really good, if they would just get rid of forcing people online.
Like (1)
Der-Offizier
23 July 2015
great application to have on your phone and computer. like it very much!
Like (4)
Version 15.11.2
Radus
01 July 2015
onenote 2013 is one of the best apps for windows 8.1 / 10 but without export/import to/from a file it is nearly worthless for the mac - for large files sync over a cloud is not fast enough
Like (1)
Version 15.11.2
CDavid
30 June 2015
To be honest, I don't really like Microsoft, or Windows, or MS Office. The only app I like and use on all devices is OneNote. Every time I need to write down something, or create a list of items - I use this application. Pros: - Syncs notes and other things I create across all of the devices I own (Mac, iOS and Android) - I really like the colors and the design of the application - The app's quite stable and fast - New theme is awesome Cons: - No cons so far. Bottom Line: It's a good-looking, pretty functional and free app. Give it a try!
Like (8)
Version 15.11.2
1 answer(s)
Panocha
Panocha
02 October 2015
No Cons? Really? How about a show-stopper. No local mode!
If they were just smart enough to add this one thing, then the app would be usable.
They will probably never do it because they want to datamine all of your private stuff.
Like
larrymcj
21 February 2015
Actually, the very latest version that released just a few days ago is not bad, but, it still has some issues. One being that while notebook colors can be user-selected, not so for the default notebook it creates when you first install it. So if you're OK with Pea Green (default color) to look at 24/7 in your primary notebook, then it's fine. I happen to hate that color so into the trash can it went. Microsoft is going the extra mile to make strides in winning over Mac users with their products, but they need to refine the basics first. Even the iOS version of OneNote is very good, but again...you have to be able to tolerate a color you may not like.
Like (2)
Version 15.4
OhEssex
28 January 2015
I've heard I can scribble drawings via my wacom graphics tablet directly into onenote. Great! - so I downloaded it to give it a try, but I can't get to first base without creating an account with M$ (and I'm not going to do that). If the program is any good I'm happy to pay for it , but I'm not going to let my notes be data-mined... I could create a fake account so I can try it out, but if I end up liking it then is there any way to buy/use onenote without all the privacy issues?
Like (3)
Version 15.4
Donmontalvo
30 October 2014
No cool, Microsoft only lets you use this if you set up an email account on their domain. Try Evernote instead, much better product.
Like (5)
Version 15.3.2
4 answer(s)
Izdale
Izdale
25 November 2014
That's not true, you can create a Microsoft account using any email address without creating an actual Microsoft email address. Stating that a competing product is better is not a review, so you should have posted that as a comment instead.
Like (7)
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
22 February 2015
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/office/forum/office_onenote-onenote_mac/onenote-for-mac-faq/a822bfa5-947b-4603-b6eb-c7ad976791df

Stinks any way you slice it, I don't want any of my data on Microsoft's servers.

OneNote is a better product, unless you're a Microsoft Fan Boy, whatever.
Like
OhEssex
OhEssex
14 May 2015
Whether it's your OneNote data in Microsoft's cloud or or your EverNote data in EverNote's cloud, either way your stuff is being data mined and sold off to the usual suspects. At that point, we're down to which is the better product. Personally, I don't use either because I can't keep my data to myself.
Like
Loehman
Loehman
21 January 2016
Not true.
Like
Panocha
19 September 2014
Looks pretty, but can't really use it. If it only had all of the files and notes local like iTunes and Together, I would use it. Instead all of your notes and data are lost in some kind of a proprietary database and can't be found. There is no way to right-click and "show in finder" or even navigate your user library and find anything. It must pack everything into it's own format, so if the database corrupts, it's all gone. If it used regular files, then it could be backed up, synced with any backup program or cloud service. I will stick with together until something better comes along. It's too bad, because the interface is very nice looking, but data integrity and security is more important.
Like (5)
Version 15.2.2
1 answer(s)
lemon-kun
lemon-kun
24 November 2014
"if the database corrupts", "data integrity", "security" – hey, this app is from Microsoft, what could ever go wrong ;-)
Like (3)
LikeSummer
19 September 2014
IT takes about 240 MB on my MacBook Pro.... It really works, but I think Evernote is more my choice.
Like (1)
Version 15.2.2
1 answer(s)
Cheops
Cheops
30 October 2014
Yes, it's bigger than all the office suites.
Like (1)
Cowicide
19 August 2014
Almost 240 MBs for a note app? Um, this screams of bloatware. Also, Microsoft is notorious for developing subpar software on the Mac side. And, Microsoft's horrid security breach history doesn't exactly inspire confidence for keeping private records on the cloud. Pass.
Like
Version 15.2
1 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
22 November 2014
I’ve always found OneNote useful on a PC, even though at my place of business no one else seemed to be using it - and could not be convinced to do so (and this is a windows environment). They would rather use post-its on their desktops.

Its getting better, but its still not the same as OneNote on a PC.

I like Outline better as a Mac interface to OneNote files, but I got that at discount & I don’t think I’d pay full price to get to OneNote files.

You still have very limited control of the environment in OneNote - appears I remain unable to change a note’s background color, unless it originated on a PC style. Its been quite some time now since the advent of OneNote on the Mac & any improvements have been spare & slow.

A lot of tech businesses disallow cloud accounts for proprietary data, probably for a very good reason - if it gets hacked you might as well have let the hackers in the front door!

Like (2)
Razz
01 August 2014
This is another bloated Microsoft ploy to sell their online/cloud services and they reserve the right to use your content to further their best interests. NO THANK YOU.
Like (4)
Version 15.2
Drdul
07 June 2014
I've been looking for an Evernote alternative, and although OneNote is the best I've found so far (for my needs, at least), it still doesn't match Evernote. The showstopper for me is the inability to edit the list of tags, creating new tags and removing the ones I don't want. The additional organizational options in OneNote are nice, but I rely heavily on tags in Evernote and if I can't organize my notes in a similar manner then OneNote isn't going to work for me. I like the additional formatting options, especially being able to place text, images, tables and other items anywhere on the page, but was disappointed to find that I can't cut and paste a mix of text and images (such as from a web page) and instead have to paste the text and add each image one-by-one. I also can't drag stuff into OneNote like I can with Evernote. And surprisingly, I can't move sections from one notebook to another. The Mac version is definitely missing features that are in the Windows version. For example, I wanted to rename a notebook and change its colour. I found instructions on Microsoft's website indicating that i could make these changes in the notebook properties dialog, which doesn't exist on the Mac version (or the iPad version for that matter). My only option was to delete the notebook and re-create it with the name and colour I wanted. Maybe in a few more versions Microsoft will add enough features to OneNote to make it a viable alternative to Evernote.
Like (1)
Version 15.1
RavenNevermore
01 May 2014
This is actually a nice little note app. I needed something where I could embed images that I could share between my Mac and iPhone. This app fits the bill. It's also very handy for making shopping lists, etc. Yes, it syncs with OneDrive, but I'm not worried about someone reading my shopping list or other documents. There's no sensitive info there.
Like (5)
Version 15.1
Lord-Lightning
02 April 2014
235 MB - and you still need an online account to give your deepest thoughts to the CIA! No, apart from the conspiracy theory, if the thing is this large - like everything MS does, why can't you use it to store everything on your computer, just like most featherweight note takers? I look at this and I think - grotesque. They write their code in long-hand with a 2B pencil.
Like (14)
Version 15.0.2
3 answer(s)
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
03 April 2014
As others have pointed out - you MUST read the Terms of Agreement if you are thinking of using this.
Like (4)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
14 April 2014
I still don't see a lot of ecstatic & impressed people here. Understandably, a lot of people here are Microsoft-phobic, but OneNote is among the best things Microsoft makes. On the Windows side, anyway. It doesn't leave a warm & fuzzy feeling to go to the cloud. My place of employment is paranoid enough about the cloud to prohibit access to insure its proprietary data; a large international company. You could save locally, but it waits for a connection to push to the cloud. Is that so very different from Evernote? This is really what the OneNote lite version is, to this point: Evernote competition. Anybody been able to change background colors, yet? Also, setting Fonts by level, or page type didn't seem to be an option. There are other tools which do this better, compared to this limited version, even if I have to work with discrete applications & link them. As such I don't desire to create a use for the mac version, simply because it exists. Overall complaint: its a bad junk drawer & depends upon the organizing skills of the user to pull it all together.
Like (3)
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
14 May 2015
Question: You say "you need an online account." I assume you mean a Microsoft online account (as opposed to, say, iCloud). Right? And a Microsoft Cloud ciosts money, right? So isn't this just a come-on to try to get us inside the tent?
Like
Quantumpanda
20 March 2014
Maybe it's me, but I'm at a loss to see what OneNote is capable of doing that several other, non-MS, apps already do well. In particular, I don't see anything here that Evernote doesn't already do quite well for me. Could someone who knows the differences better please enlighten me?
Like (1)
Version 15.0.1
1 answer(s)
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
14 May 2015
Yup. I downloaded, thinking maybe I could just use on my Mac. But right after I launched came up a sign-in/create account form. So I trashed the thing immediately. Sorry, but I'm already paying for iCloud and I don't feel like spending any more for another service of that kind.
Like
Brooklyn-Al
19 March 2014
I urge people to review the Microsoft terms for the use of OneNote. This item caught my eye from the terms of agreement: "3.3. What does Microsoft do with my content? When you upload your content to the services, you agree that it may be used, modified, adapted, saved, reproduced, distributed, and displayed to the extent necessary to protect you and to provide, protect and improve Microsoft products and services. For example, we may occasionally use automated means to isolate information from email, chats, or photos in order to help detect and protect against spam and malware, or to improve the services with new features that makes them easier to use. When processing your content, Microsoft takes steps to help preserve your privacy. " The URL for the terms: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-live/microsoft-services-agreement
Like (4)
Version 15.0.1
1 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
14 April 2014
A blanket statement written by lawyers rot cover broad eventualities. Like many SLA’s. They can poach for advertising purposes & cull uses or features they haven’t thought of. Ostensibly, if you create a stellar template - they can copy it for inclusion without recompense. Is it more insidious than usual?
Like
Kihoalu
19 March 2014
Launching this: Its a seriously basic port of OneNote with a lot of stuff missing. They should be embarrassed. • You HAVE to create a OneDrive account to launch it. • It wants to be online all the time & sync. • The page colors don’t even seem to work properly.
Like (1)
Version 15.0.1
Aeschylus
19 March 2014
I'm not happy with this. Having used OneNote on the PC, it is a poor imitation here on the Mac. It is also complicated, like the PC version. It doesn't store files inside notes, and I'm not happy with only online storage. It needs you to create an account to work. Why?? I prefer Growly Notes. Even with a modest cost, it is still far and away better than One Note. It stores formatted text, images, movies, audio clips, PDF files, tables, lists, Web and file links, and drawings you create in Notes. That is the real essence of the One Note I knew on the PC, and not in this One Note on the Mac.
Like (1)
Version 15.0.1