Back to G-Force page
G-Force free download for Mac

G-Force Reviews

5.8.2
25 June 2018

Visualizer plug-in for iTunes.

Cortig
11 July 2008

Most helpful

This is a nice iTunes visualizer, but the idea (not clearly indicated on the site) that I have to pay my tax every year to get the new point-release versions really doesn't do it with me. Eudora tried that and it didn't do them much good. I'd rather stick to the usual notion of getting the point-releases free (with the bugfixes) and paying for more important ugrades when they come out (and if I want to). I renewed my licence a couple of times, but the scheme eventually got on my nerves.
Like (15)
Version 3.8.4

Read 184 G-Force User Reviews

Rate this app:

$20 for a friggin' visual plugin (or $30 for the whooeee! "Platinum" edition?!?!" (Plus $15 or more for the frequent upgrade fees, or so I've read?) Well, there's a sucker born every day and unfortunately, the only person laughing is the developer...all the way to the bank.! G-Force is another insignificant product from Soundspectrum, who charges the same outrageous prices for the Whitecap visual plugin. I wouldn't pay more than $3 for aniTunes plugin unless it had AI built in and could do my tax returns and make my toast in the morning. (incidentally, the basic version of TurboTax is FREE and it does do my taxes.)
Like (3)
Version 5.7
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
31 December 2016
Well, if ever an update was worth the fee, this one is it. I was running version 5.4.3 and it was definitely buggy in full screen mode, in OS X 10.9.5 Mavericks and now in OS X 10.12.1 Sierra. Fortunately, for me, my license is still good so I didn't have to pay the upgrade fee. But in iTunes G-Force (version 5.5.0) now launches instantly into full screen mode when I hit Command-t, no stutters or confusion. If you want to leave full screen mode, use the escape key. And, or course, to quit the visualizer, hit Command-t again. If you are having no problems with an earlier version then you may consider not upgrading. But the improvements in this upgrade were obvious to me, something that has not always been the case. YMMV. And, as always, the G-Force visuals are mesmerizing.
Like
Version 5.5
2 answer(s)
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
04 January 2017
I don't know if you read my feedback below from May 30, 2016, but I could certainly use some extra convincing regarding paying the upgrade fee for 5.5.

I use G-Force Platinum and upgraded to 5.4.3 last year. As you have noted, 5.4.3 has been quite disappointing. Whenever I wake up and look over at my screen, it seems to be doing weird things in fullscreen mode on a 24" iMac running El Capitan, as if it is stuck or something. I honestly don't know what is going on with it, but it has been rather disappointing.

I opened a support ticket with the developer last year in which I discussed the iffy upgrade policy with him. I am referring to the fact that paying the upgrade fee is a gamble for the end user, because we never know in advance if there will even be any upgrades in the coming year that we pay for.

Even if there are upgrades, will they actually contain new features, or just bug fixes for bugs which he actually created himself?

Personally, I don't think any developer should expect end users to pay an upgrade fee for bug fixes for bugs which the developer created. If there are some major new features, then maybe the upgrade fee is worth it.

One problem I have is the way the developer lists his "What's New" info all jumbled together above. It is confusing, and makes it more difficult to know which things apply specifically to the Mac version, and which ones only apply to the Windows version.

In my view, separating them into two lists would make it a lot easier for us to determine whether or not we feel paying the upgrade fee is really worth it.

I am still going to hold off on paying for 5.5. I just don't know after 5.4.3's performance. "Several new outstanding WaveShapes" is not enough to convince me to make an upgrade purchase.
Like
OhEssex
OhEssex
16 January 2017
I quit paying for this over 10 years ago. The way I see it, I'm ahead over $200...
Like
WordWeaver
30 May 2016
Do you remember the time when kind-hearted software developers would ask you for a one-time payment so that you could use their app for life, and receive all future updates for free as well? Well, as an old-time Macintosh user, I most certainly do. Sadly, thanks to greedy companies like Adobe, those days are now gone, and many developers -- including the G-Force developer -- now demand a yearly subscription fee, if we wish to take advantage of the new features in their app; that is, assuming that there are any updates during the particular year that our license is in effect. In my case, I purchased a license for G-Force Platinum 5.4.2 a year ago for $30.00. Recently, I received an email notification informing me that my license was about to expire, and that if I want to enjoy any future updates -- and whatever enhancements they may include -- for the next year, I need to fork over another $15.00. And on and on it goes as long as G-Force exists, I suppose. I am having a problem with this; the reason being that over the past year since I acquired my license, there has been only ONE update -- 5.4.3. Based on the above "What's New" info, for Macintosh users, 5.4.3 has only included a few bug fixes, but no major new features of any kind. Now I am being asked to fork over another $15.00 -- basically by faith -- not really knowing what I will get, if anything, during my coming new license year. Will there be any updates? Will they offer any major new features, or just more bug fixes? Who knows? No one but the developer. Do you see my point? This is why I am uncomfortable with this whole yearly subscription model. It puts end users at a disadvantage. It also makes me feel like I am being milked for all I am worth. Don't get me wrong. I fully understand that software developers need to earn a living, and I have absolutely no problem with that. However, I am not convinced that the yearly subscription model is the way to do it. You see, in the old days, because software developers offered lifetime licenses with free updates, they had to work hard to acquire NEW customers, in order to keep their revenue stream flowing. Now, in my view, many of them have become soft, lazy and greedy, and they just want to keep milking their old customers over and over again. This may be the easy road for them to take, but it is wrong. If I am going to be asked for a yearly subscription fee, then I want to at least receive some kind of indication from the developer, what I should expect to be receiving in the coming subscription year, BEFORE I put my money down, so I can determine if it will truly be worth it. Let me conclude by saying that G-Force is a great app. No doubt about it. It is one of the best visualizers and screensavers I have ever used, especially if you are using the Platinum version. But the subscription model? Meh. What do YOU think? Let me know below.
Like (2)
Version 5.4.3
4 answer(s)
mattblackmanGeekEsq
mattblackmanGeekEsq
28 December 2016
The subscription model works in some cases. For example, Office365 is a decent value for me - you can get a discounted license code via Amazon, and Microsoft releases frequent updates. Surprisingly, even their betas are rock-solid - it's been years since I've seen a Word or Outlook error on the Mac - much better performance than the PC versions.
...but in the case of apps like G-Force, which are, in essence, toys, I completely agree with you. Unless there are some significant new features, or a steady stream of bug fixes and improvements, I can't justify paying the recurring license fee.
Like
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
04 January 2017
@mattblackman: Matt, please see my reply above to
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc. Let me know what you think. I am still hesitant to pay for the 5.5 upgrade. Do you actually use G-Force yourself? Thanks.
Like
mattblackmanGeekEsq
mattblackmanGeekEsq
04 January 2017
In response to yours of 1/3/17, I haven't used G-Force in years, or any iTunes visualizer so it's not worth it for me. Your listening habits may be different. But I'm not a big fan of the developer's policy, though, so I would recommend against.
Like
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
04 January 2017
@mattblackman: Matt, thanks for your response. Actually, I very rarely ever listen to music at all. I primarily use the desktop screensaver portion of the app for when my screen blacks out, such as when I am sleeping. I have to keep my machine running all the time, because I run a web server. Anyway, I am still debating the issue.
Like
outer
20 February 2016
Sorry to have to say, but this is the least stable & most crash prone release ever from this Developer. Unusual & bizarre. No response received within 24 hours of complaint, again, unusual. Something bad going down.
Like
Version 5.4.3
mattblackmanGeekEsq
19 February 2016
Wow - I remember this one from years ago. Neat to look at, but I just don't spend that much time staring at my Mac while listening to music - can't justify the recurring license costs (if I recall correctly, the $20 is for a time-limited subscription).
Like (1)
Version 5.4.3
Jazzyguy
24 June 2014
I have changed my mind about this app. I renewed my license just Friday and I can't use it on my iMac Snow Leopard Macs. I was told by the developer I could use it on my Macs as long as I am the single user. I paid with PayPal so I will get my money back. I have sent them 7 messages and they do not reply. There is something wrong with their administration
Like (3)
Version 5.3
1 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
25 June 2014
When Andy O'Mara ran it.It was a great app. He always responded to user's emails. Something went wrong with the administration of this app. I have been a licensee for at least 14 years.
Like (2)
Leoofborg
18 January 2014
I don't understand *why* folks are trashing one of the only two Screensavers/Visualizers that I'd even consider paying for (the other is ScreenSleeves by Peacock Media, buy *that* if GF runs your fans too much). Yeah, year over year I've paid. Why? 1/ Responsive Dev. Most dev teams are REALLY small, or if 'large' then they're offshore. You do NOT want that crap on your Mac. 2/ Small Dev Teams *have* to charge more. They're NOT Apple with a shitton of money in reserve. They're normal folks like you & me. 3/ G-Force is a REALLY speclalized visualizer AND App suite. As I said in the comments below, if you don't need it, or even don't need it *this year" then don't pay for it. I've dropped other subscription apps due to lack of need. G-Force (unlike those other apps) won't just 'expire' or 'stop working' if you stop paying. 4/ And FINALLY: It's been my experience that SS 'discounts' renewing subscriptions. Sure you've been paying $20 or so a year. Was that for GOLD or PLATINUM? Remember, Plat is $30 to newbs. There's no guarantee that SS will discount again. I'm just saying.. if you don't enjoy G-Force as much as you did, you can either move on or support the Dev. There *are* shyster devs out there trying to shake $$ out of you.. more towards the "Clean ur Mac" or AV side of things -- this Dev(s) is NOWHERE NEAR THAT. They do good work.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.4
Kappe
05 December 2013
oh come on trash this
Like (2)
Version 5.1.3
1 answer(s)
Leoofborg
Leoofborg
18 January 2014
You're perfectly free to do so. Everybody whining that 'this is too expensive' is basically saying that the Dev has no right to eat. G-Force is NOT for everyone. Those who say that the default iTunes Visualizer is 'the same' are 70% right. The other 30%, those who'd make our own visualizer objects, want precise settings, want to input audio from something OTHER than iTunes, etc... are willing to pay for it. In fact, if you drill into the settings there's networking to other screents and some commercial stuff there (that I'd never use). But someone does. Last thing: Unlike SOME vendors, G-Force will still work. You could probably stop paying and (depending on the stability of the build) it'd keep working for another year. The Dev *is* responsive and does good work. They are NOT going to just 'up and cut you off' as some are wont to do.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
29 September 2013
Here is my Review and comments on this GREAT visualizer. First of all let me preface my review by stating that I am NOT an employee or relative of the Developer. This application is very expensive to maintain and to update.The staff are eager to reply to each and every inquiry by the users.I have used this app since its inception and it has improved over the years to such a degree that it is hard to recognize it from its first appearance.There is no way I will not back up this App with my money because of the rancor of the crowd that protests the charges. The Developers need money to produce the best Visualizer available anywhere on the web. their staff is large and the service is great,that is why I support it over the years.
Like (2)
Version 5.1.2
MisterE
07 June 2013
WOW, I remember when G-Force was a 5 star featured app. How the mighty have fallen.
Like (3)
Version 5.0.1
lursay
30 May 2013
OUTRAGEOUS CONSTANT BILLING Never more, you are asking 24$ for a license renewal ... it is years I have been paying but this time is one to much; so no more again; really you must be out of your mind. 24$, this must be some stupid farce; how can you expect we are going to buy it...........
Like (10)
Version 5.0.1
1 answer(s)
Acuraice
Acuraice
29 September 2013
don't you love the way fools on macupdate click the frown symbol on comments you post that are perfectly valid arguments??? they are simply hating on us for posting what they don't want to hear. oh well,the minus symbol or plus symbols mean nothing in reality,so ignore them. keep on rocking on bud! i loved your comment and clicked the happy face for you :)
Like (4)
Xenophile
21 September 2012
This is not a rhetorical question, I appreciate the time the developer put into this app and from my testing over the years (much of it done many, many versions ago), the visuals are truly beautiful. What is the difference between G-Force visuals and the built-in iTunes visuals? At first glance, they appear quite similar. For a $20 annual subscription fee, I expect a bit more differentiation from Apple's visualizer. Here's another perspective: I last bought G-Force in 2002 for use on a 500 MHz single core Power Mac G4. Yesterday I tested the latest version of G-Force on my 3.33 GHz Hexacore Xeon Mac Pro. That's $200 worth of updates between the two releases, and over an order of magnitude in the difference of hardware capability. I could not discern any meaningful differences between the two releases.
Like (5)
Version 4.4
1 answer(s)
outer
outer
21 October 2012
as must be evident, i'm an unabashed fan. if you can't tell the difference, this probably isn't for you.
Like (4)
outer
27 August 2012
So far G-Force continues to perform flawlessly and impeccably under Mountain Lion OS X 10.8.1, at least for me. Still the best.
Like (3)
Version 4.3.2
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
06 December 2011
I have to update my remarks on G-Force. After some correspondence with the Sound Spectrum support staff I found out that G-Force is now compatible with OS X 10.x, Lion. If you upgrade to Lion you'll find that your older versions of G-Force (before 10.3.1) don't work in iTunes, which, in Lion, is a 64 bit app. Even iTunes running in 32 bit mode won't work with G-Force. That said, I think G-Force is an excellent visualizer for iTunes and an attractive screen saver. But it's far from an essential piece of software. Especially given the expensive upgrade cycle, it is a luxury item only. I don't agree with the low ratings for G-Force. I think they are skewed by angst over the annual subscription cost, though I agree that cost is a drag on its appeal. G-Force has a lot of interesting features - most of which I don't even use. It's easy to use as a visualizer and a screen saver. And it's a stable program in my experience. The only mark down I can give it is for value. Other than that it's a solid product. That said, I'm not sure the folks at Sound Spectrum pay any attention to this forum. Nor is their online blog particularly useful for posting complaints. If you want them to get the message about how PO'd you are about their pricing policy, the best way to let them know is to use the contact form on their web site. I've found they do respond to items posted their.
Like (3)
Version 4.3.2
2 answer(s)
outer
outer
21 October 2012
yeah, well, the mac is pretty much - and i'd emphasize pretty - a luxury item to start with, right?
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
21 October 2012
@ Outer: Hardly. Millions of people use Macs for day to day and professional work - just ask Adobe and Microsoft. Your view of Apple products is more than a decade out of date. Your opinion is in serious need of an upgrade.
Like (5)
alas!
05 December 2011
While I still think that G-Force is incredibly good at what it does, I do feel that the $15 upgrade tax year after year IS most egregious. I stopped upgrading a couple of years ago……my last version(platinum) works quite well and I'll stay with it. I've got its DMG safely stored away. The download for one's paid for version should be available at Sound Spectrum's website and is keyed to its registration code. It's really not necessary to stay with the most up to date versions; "what's new" with each version is not usually noticeable or apparent. Any changes are usually "under the hood" and not visible. Anyway, the annual $15 tax is outrageous. JUST SAY NO!
Like (13)
Version 4.3.2
MisterE
17 November 2011
HaH! And here I thought Skype was the lowest rated feature app on MU. Hey MU mods / admin, if an app has under 3 stars it should lose it's featured status. This steaming pile certainly doesn't deserve it.
Like (2)
Version 4.3.1
2 answer(s)
Kappe
Kappe
18 November 2011
today is the crapware day and yes, stop featuring 2 or less star stuff
Like (1)
alas!
alas!
05 December 2011
I cannot agree with others here who characterize G-Force as "a steaming pile of shit" or "crapware". As to being "frivolous", well, If one appreciates aesthetically appealing imagery that responds to music, then G-Force is far more than frivolous. I think that the major bone of contention here is Sound Spectrum's unconscionable $15 ad infinitum tax. I originally paid $30 for the Platinum version and I'm not about to pay and pay and pay year after year. But G-Force does deliver the goods, and beautifully.
Like (2)
Kappe
17 November 2011
this is still 20$ lol
Like (1)
Version 4.3.1
Macfool
17 November 2011
A frivolous software add-on that "phones home" is simply not a welcome addition.
Like (2)
Version 4.3.1
Toxicthree
12 June 2011
Ridiculous.... I agree with many others in the respect that it's a cool thing, nicely done, but the demands made on the user are not worth the bucks. Also, it has crashed three times once I upgraded to Leopard, taking iTunes with it. Again, ridiculous..
Like (3)
Version 4.2.0
N-Flick
12 April 2011
Yearly extortion fees for fixes that should have been free. Not a chance in hell! Fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me. You aren't burning me a second time!
Like (9)
Version 4.2.0
4 answer(s)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
12 April 2011
I don't know what your problem is, but G-Force has worked with every version of OS X I've used it on for the last eight years of so, including Leopard and Snow Leopard. I'm currently using a four year old 3GHz quad-core Mac Pro with 8GB of RAM and OS X 10.6.7. I have a G-Force Platinum license, which has a two year renewal cycle. G-Force works for me both as a screen saver and as a visualizer in iTunes. I suspect your problem is not with Apple or SoundSpectrum but rather with some aspect of your own computer. Determining what that problem may be would, of course, entail some troubleshooting. I agree SoundSpectrum's subscription pricing structure is onerous, which is why I let the license lapse for WhiteCap, a visualizer I used less often than G-Force.
Like (3)
outer
outer
12 April 2011
You are, one might suspect, a Mac user, right? And you still don't understand that if you have to ask how much the best costs you can't afford it?
Like (1)
Aliendude
Aliendude
25 June 2011
N., couldn't agree with you more!
Like (1)
iPoopStore
iPoopStore
05 December 2011
Well said Nick. The yearly fees for this eye candy is a rip off. B. Jefferson Le Blanc and Outer. Some advice for you two. Learn to read. You'll get farther in life once you learn the basic skills of reading and writing comprehension. Your replies only makes you look clueless.
Like (1)
Tdfarmer
12 April 2011
$20 every year for home use? Nope
Like (10)
Version 4.2.0
Stormchild
11 April 2011
Dated, boring visuals hampered by idiotic, ripoff licensing scheme. No idea why this still exists.
Like (10)
Version 4.2.0
Wesmak
16 March 2011
The developer of this program doesn't understand Apple's current OS and doesn't know how to make a screensaver to work in any operating system after 10.4. Or was it 10.3? Anyway, if you paid for any of their schemes ("Gold", "Silver", etc.), you would get updates free for the particular time period, 1 year from payment I believe. Well, I paid to renew my "Gold" subscription and shortly after, Apple came out with their new OS, (which most people upgraded to), but G-Force would not work anymore. The developer blamed Apple and would not compensate or refund the purchase because they claimed "it wasn't their fault". Since they could not figure out how to make the thing, but other developers could, I can only conclude that this company is limited in their knowledge of developing products to work in Apple operating systems and therefore cannot recommend it to anyone. No, it's not sour grapes. I liked the way the screensaver worked, and never went to extremes to get my money back. I waited patiently while they did nothing but leave people confused and waiting for someone to fulfill a lacking confidence level, which never came. Unless you have an original Bondi Blue iMac, don't waste your money.
Like (10)
Version 4.1
Corpsecorps
13 November 2010
Nice but killed by it's ridiculous overpricing.
Like (10)
Version 4.1
Meandering
13 November 2010
I too gave up on this great little app. I liked it sufficiently to purchase it numerous times for friends. But the once-a-year subscription-style payment format is not only excessive, it has become untenable to this artist living on a sparse income. I believe in decent compensation for creative endeavors, I appreciate efforts made to keep perfecting a product, keeping it compatible, but I also believe that there should be some degree of loyalty to those who contributed to a product's early development. I have many apps which I've used for years, with a few upgrades along the way and ongoing dialogue with and responsive support by their developers without having to pay relentless rent on their wares.
Like (10)
Version 4.1
Mactraxx
13 November 2010
Like others here, I paid for this a couple of years back, but didn't renew. I think that's crazy for non commercial use to be asked to continue to pay year after year for a visual, eye candy, iTunes plug in. It's a cool piece of software, but I pay enough taxes already.
Like (9)
Version 4.1
1 answer(s)
GLW
GLW
11 April 2011
I often listen to music on iTunes while working on the computer; but under that circumstance the visualizer is not operating. I doubt if I would spend 5 minutes per year doing nothing but stare at the iTunes visualizer. And for those 5 minutes, the built-in visualizer is more than adequate. So I cannot possibly justify paying and repaying year after year for this marginally useful product. I paid for this at one time; but like many others, I have let it lapse because I cannot possibly justify the exorbitant ongoing expense. Sayonara, SoundSpectrum.
Like (4)
Pepelepugh
13 November 2010
It's way too spendy for my liking.
Like (9)
Version 4.1
Holypoly
13 November 2010
Here's whats new in 4.1: Internal graphics engine enhancements for more consistent performance and quality across systems. SoundSpectrum now uses an all-shader model for vertex and fragment processing under Direct3D (see the Resources/Shaders dir). Many excellent new ColorMaps from BT! Added "Slideshow.EnableOnStartup" pref for ConfigSets to prevent slideshow mode from being enabled on startup. Added "MostRecent.ResumeOnStartup" pref for ConfigSets to cause the most recently run config to load on startup. Resolved switch to full screen mode issues on multiple display device setups. Fixed iTunes crash on exit under OS X. Fixed RealPlayer support. Fixed OS 10.4 compatibility issues. Worked around OS 10.6 screen saver issue causing error messages to appear in the system log (Apple bug report filed).
Like
Version 4.1
1 answer(s)
So-Far-So-Good-So-What
So-Far-So-Good-So-What
13 November 2010
No offence directed at you HOLYPOLY but who cares what the changes are. Anyone crazy enough to keep paying a yearly fee when updates and bugs should have been fixed for free for paying customer needs to get their head's examined. I paid for this 2 years ago. It never worked properly and then I was told to pay again so I could download an updated version that supposedly resolved my problem. Not a chance in hell! This developer should have been banned from MacUpdate as a scam artist. Any company pulling this stunt in the corporate world would have been lambasted with lawsuits and civil lawsuits for defrauding it's customers.
Like (9)
Version 4.1
22duke
12 November 2010
Have to agree with most other posters I like the visualizer and bought it several years ago but only paid a additional year of taxes as in my eyes a iTunes plug in does not justify a yearly tax. pity would not mind using it again but not for a yearly update fee.
Like (7)
Version 4.1
Masterminter
18 July 2010
Personally I do not see any reason paying for this. I mean, it is just a nice demo-like plugin. The absurdly high price tag is insane! Not to mention the yearly submissions. It just feels like someone is pocket-picking your money. Free it would be nice to watch at it ones and worth 4 stars. Paying for it is foolish.
Like (9)
Version 4.0
alas!
11 June 2010
G-Force is really good but I also agree that $15 each year for updates is obscenely egregious and I won't be paying it anymore. I've already paid the $15 tax for the current update many months ago and I'll be staying with version 3.9.4 (I've got the zip file under lock and key).
Like (7)
Version 3.9.4
4 answer(s)
Zenzenpup
Zenzenpup
15 July 2010
The whole lot of you "overpayers" deserves a smack on the back on the head... Whether or not YOU have the $15 he's asking for, calling it "absurdly egregious", or "usurious" is just being plain lazy. $10 every calendar year of 365 days for upgraders would be a much more sensible position to espouse. Start using your heads and spend less time crying...
Like (1)
Version 4.0
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
23 August 2010
Zenzenpup=SHILL
Like (9)
Version 4.0
Jon555
Jon555
12 November 2010
@ZENZENPUP Nice try, G-Force developer.
Like (8)
Version 4.1
So-Far-So-Good-So-What
So-Far-So-Good-So-What
12 November 2010
@ZENZENPUP You just proved the old line "A sucker is born every minute" I wouldn't pay a dime for this even you ZENZENPUP offered to pay the whole price tag! Only an idiot would allow themselves to be fleeced for a reoccurring cost for such fluff.
Like (8)
Version 4.1
Ponti
02 June 2010
Yeah, G-Force is a really fine visualizer but not to the point of having to shell out $15 every year after the first year's purchase, for upgrades. I'd go for $15 for three years worth of upgrades though, that would be fair and equitable. What's really nasty though is that they don't give you access to any previous versions that you've already paid for(in the event that you, for example, need to reinstall it). I've got version 3.9.4 and if it becomes corrupted and fails to work any more I'll just live without it. But $15 year after year is a bloody outrage, and I've had enough.
Like (8)
Version 3.9.4
Aliendude
21 May 2010
Just received an email from SS telling me that my license has expired. I can renew for $15 and get it upgraded from gold to platinum for free. G-Force IS an excellent visualizer, but a very, very expensive one. And since it has not been 64 bit ready as of this writing, I don't think I should have to pay for an useless renewal. At the end of the day, the folks at SoundSpectrum are unethical and greedy.
Like (9)
Version 3.9.4
alas!
29 December 2009
While I do like G-Force, I originally purchased the Platinum edition for $30, I'm really sick and disgusted with SoundSpectrum's unconscionable $15 yearly update fee.While I did pay it for a while I now have to say "Enough, no more!". Why can't SoundSpectrum Just offer G-Force's Platinum edition with updates at no charge? I had also purchased their Whitecap visualizer but refuse to pay the $15 upgrade. I do agree with others who feel that SoundSpectrum is just too money hungry.
Like (7)
Version 3.9.4
Siddhartha
20 December 2009
I agree with many here-I WAS a paid user of this program, but the upgrade policy got to me, and I've not used this in about a year or so. I think a one-time 20$ price would be fair, but making us pay for upgrades each year doesn't make it worth it to me
Like (7)
Version 3.9.4
Danmarc
19 December 2009
Have to agree with many others here, the too constant (paid) upgrade got to me too and I gave up. Nice but not that nice...
Like (6)
Version 3.9.4
Ss-Support
03 November 2009
THUS.SPAKE.Z: This is Paul with SoundSpectrum Sales and Support. I apologize if you had a bad experience with our customer service, however I can only assure you that we respond to EVERY email and support ticket sent to us within 24 to 48 hours. And if sent via our "Contact" form during work hours, responses can often come within a few hours. As I cannot access your full name or email address here on MacUpdate, I cannot look up any support ticket you sent to us to see if there was any resolution. Though, if you provide us with the ticket number you were assigned, or simply wish to reopen a dialog with us, feel free to send us any comments via the following link: http://www.soundspectrum.com/support/contact.html As for compatibility with Mac OS X 10.6 (as some other posters here have inquired), please see our relevant FAQ entry: http://www.soundspectrum.com/g-force/faq.html#snowleopard And for a more technically detailed explanation, our head developer Andy (creator of G-Force) posted this on our SoundSpectrum forums: http://www.soundspectrum-forums.com/viewtopic.php?p=13986#13986
Like
Version 3.9.3
Mitch-de
03 November 2009
Any plans to include OpenCL support - would reduce cpu load much ! For an 20 US$ plugin maybe an work which can be done up to spring 2010.
Like
Version 3.9.3
Mredrup
03 November 2009
I really used to enjoy this screen saver but after 2 years of renewing at these costs I cant justify it. Way too expensive annual update fees.
Like (9)
Version 3.9.3
Hogaku
24 September 2009
I have G-Force Platinum which no longer works in Snow Leopard. No response after two attempts to contact. Greedy and incompetent customer service. Advice: stick with the free version.
Like (5)
Version 3.9.2
Frodo-life
24 January 2009
agree with last review, cool thing and I actually used to own it but update fees and purchase fees are to high for a screen saver/visualiser so haven't used it for a while.
Like (9)
Version 3.9
2 answer(s)
OhEssex
OhEssex
06 August 2009
Agreed - $150/decade (plus the cost of the app) is just too much for an iTunes visualizer. I let my subscription go after a couple years. These guys are way too greedy...
Like (6)
Version 3.9.2
Da-La
Da-La
06 August 2009
I totally agree, it's way too much money for a visualizer. I also bought the Platinum version a couple of years ago but let it expire due to their insane pricing.
Like (5)
Version 3.9.2
Corpsecorps
18 October 2008
Does cool things and gets updated, but $20-$30 is a bit much for a visualizer. 8^(
Like (11)
Version 3.8.5
2 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
23 January 2009
It's only $20 or $30 if you buy the Gold or Platinum version. The plug-in for iTunes is free, right?
Like
Version 3.9
@timi
@timi
24 January 2009
The plug-in is a demo. You have to buy it to make the demo text/banners go away. But then, you only get updates for a year - and they won't help you get back to a version you're licensed to use if you overwrite it. Their customer support is awful.
Like (5)
Version 3.9
Cortig
11 July 2008
This is a nice iTunes visualizer, but the idea (not clearly indicated on the site) that I have to pay my tax every year to get the new point-release versions really doesn't do it with me. Eudora tried that and it didn't do them much good. I'd rather stick to the usual notion of getting the point-releases free (with the bugfixes) and paying for more important ugrades when they come out (and if I want to). I renewed my licence a couple of times, but the scheme eventually got on my nerves.
Like (15)
Version 3.8.4
1 answer(s)
Feh-App-Store
Feh-App-Store
11 July 2008
Ya I just let mine lapse too. Stupid to pay year after year for an iTunes visualizer. Too bad too. I really like WhiteCap and would have bought that too if I knew I didn't have to rebuy it every year.
Like (8)
Version 3.8.4
Jazzyguy
28 June 2008
I have had it since inception.I like it.Period! It is worth the money and I don't mind paying annually for the updatesas the developer and his staff have to have the funds to maintain this application.Magnetron BTW is not available as the developer is coming out with a new app. (I hope I have the spelling right.)I really don't know anything about Magnetron but this app fulfills my needs completely for a visualiser.
Like (4)
Version 3.8.2
Cal6n
14 May 2008
I can't believe the greed of the developer. I've blindly paid the annual upgrade-tax since it was first introduced. I must have paid over $50 by now, and for what? A plug-in for iTunes that was quite clever 5 years ago. Well, it's not clever now. It may have improved its frame rate at higher resolutions, but it hasn't progressed one bit. The FREE Magnetosphere is at the start of its life and is far more interesting than this, but if you want to see what a real visualiser should be like, go and look at milkdrop on a windows machine. It's free, it's innovative and it shows the G-Force team up for the money-grubbing, amateurs that they are. Check out ProjectM, although it's in its infancy and the many new quartz-composer based visualisers that are springing up. More problems: Firstly, EVERY time I upgrade, I have to trash all the crap "sprites" that are supplied and replace the collection I've built through the years. Secondly, this POS now insists on licence verification over the internet for EVERY upgrade installation. Thirdly, it won't play nicely through a video mixer and projector set-up. This greedy bunch of slackers won't be getting their upgrade tax this year, or ever again, from me. It is, after all, just a third-rate iTunes plug-in. On a more positive note, most versions rarely crash.
Like (12)
Version 3.8.1
Syharris
01 May 2008
G-Force is much more than "just a visualizer", it's a device that creates constantly unfolding images of such incredible beauty, breathtaking elegance and mind boggling sophistication that one's esthetic sensibilities are brought to orgasm again and again. There is nothing out there like it, absolutely nothing. Images can be saved to savor again and again with just the touch of a key on one's keyboard. And, of course, it's a luscious compliment to your music listening enjoyment. The $20 (Gold version) or $30 (Platinum version - with additional features), and optionally, a $15 yearly fee for all updates....which are frequent, is money well spent, imo, considering the unending pleasure and enjoyment it provides.
Like (3)
Version 3.8
2 answer(s)
Cal6n
Cal6n
14 May 2008
You must be both rich and easily pleased, mate, because G-Force is an expensive, substandard visualiser. It might have got faster over the years but it hasn't actually progressed enough to justify the annual upgrade-tax. Go and have a look at milkdrop on a windows machine. It makes this look like an infant's finger-painting on a paper doily.
Like (1)
Version 3.8.1
Syharris
Syharris
14 May 2008
Well, I'm neither rich nor easily pleased but G-Force does put a smile on my face while Milkdrop doesn't. I saw Milkdrop on a friends PC and wasn't really impressed. I do think that G-Force is more elegant and sophisticated. I will agree, though, that the $15 yearly fee for upgrades is rather greedy and disgusting of the developer, especially since, as you pointed out, G-Force hasn't really progressed all THAT much over the past few years, at least not enough to really justify the annual $15. Dunno, yet, but I may just stop paying the fee. But the enjoyment that I've gotten and still get from G-Force has made the overall cost, so far, worthwhile. If you're not "jazzed" by G-Force and prefer Milkdrop, fine....people have different tastes.
Like (4)
Version 3.8.1
Ron-Hamelin
05 January 2008
way too expensive for something that is just a visualizer. There are many other options out there for less money or even free.
Like (5)
Version 3.7.5
Ray16
27 September 2007
Hello Ray, Unfortunately, G-Force 3.7.2 does not work with Mac OS X 10.3 (it's been a while since it became impossible to support 10.3 give G-Force's graphics requirements). When you enter your e-mail/license code on the download page, you need to download the older version, 3.1.3 that is specified for Mac OS X 10.3. Give that a try and let us know how you make out. Thanks, Anton Shevchenko I post this only for the reason that on site it says 3.7.2 does work on 10.3.9 Another good idea is they should keep an arcive for old versions.
Like (1)
Version 3.7.2
Ray16
26 September 2007
My G3 B&W went down awhile back, now I'm on an old slot loading iMac. 400mhz. Reinstalled last build of 10.3.9 updated all the software, but G-Force just shows a black screen, nothing. I think it's cuz at the moment there is only 128 of RAM, I will install 2 512's soon. Or could it be a bug???
Like
Version 3.7.2
2 answer(s)
8oo8
8oo8
26 September 2007
G-Force is quite processor intensive. Your machine's 400MHz of power may not be able to handle G-Force's requirements. And merely 128 MBs of RAM is really crippling your machine, especially these days. It's most unlikely that the problem is due some glitch in G-Force. I'm running G-Force 3.7.2 on a Powerbook 1GHz with 1.5GBs of RAM and am experiencing no problems whatsoever.
Like
Version 3.7.2
Ej1
Ej1
05 October 2007
I believe the newer versions of G-Force require a G4 processor. Check the FAQ's : http://www.soundspectrum.com/g-force/Documentation/faq.html#system
Like
Version 3.7.3
Doug-S-
12 September 2007
Please don't take this as flaming, but instead as only curiousity, but how is this different from the default iTunes visualiser?
Like
Version 3.7.2
3 answer(s)
8oo8
8oo8
13 September 2007
G-Force is FAR more sophisicated in what it can do.The imagery is much more complex and has a far greater depth to its beauty. I believe G-Force's developer had a hand in the creation of the iTunes visualizer some years ago. iTunes visualizer doesn't seem to be updated or improved upon, it remains as it was when initially created (correct me if I'm wrong, anyone), whereas G-Force is always being improved upon.
Like
Version 3.7.2
8oo8
8oo8
13 September 2007
I'm referring to the default iTunes visualizer, of course.
Like
Version 3.7.2
Doug-S-
Doug-S-
13 September 2007
I see... Thanks for the reply! Makes much more sense now.
Like
Version 3.7.2