Back to FreeFileSync page
FreeFileSync free download for Mac

FreeFileSync Reviews

10.17
18 October 2019

Backup software with cross-platform file synchronization.

802redwood
22 April 2019

Most helpful

Somehow I just discovered this. I used Unison, bsync, ChronoSync and this is by far the easiest, most useful, and quickest. Someone hit it with an ugly stick, but I can live with that since it works so well.
Like (2)
Version 10.11

Read 12 FreeFileSync User Reviews

Rate this app:

802redwood
22 April 2019
Somehow I just discovered this. I used Unison, bsync, ChronoSync and this is by far the easiest, most useful, and quickest. Someone hit it with an ugly stick, but I can live with that since it works so well.
Like (2)
Version 10.11
Phillat5dock
19 March 2018
This is a terrific application. I have used Carbon Copy Cloner for years, but I wanted to copy the files from my NTFS Windows 10 drive to an external drive. It is easy to use, despite it not being a "typical" Mac application. I was also pleased with its speed. I will definitely be using it on a regular basis now. And it is Free!!
Like
Version 9.8
Lounge-Deluxe
31 December 2015
Excellent app, I also use it on my Windows system from work. Easy to configure and it has all the options I need. I also have a license to ChronoSync but I actually prefer FreeFileSync as it works much easier and can be set up much quicker for ad hoc sync tasks.
Like
Version 7.6
Daniel-Deimert
23 May 2015
Free, works great and is easy to use. Very capable. Actively developed. Can be recommended.
Like
Version 7.0
Pfackelmann
19 May 2015
Re: Support synchronization with MTP devices (Android I tried wireless and USB - no success I asked Zenju - no answer So?
Like
Version 7.0
Pfackelmann
19 May 2015
Re: Support synchronization with MTP devices (Android I tried wireless and USB - no success. I asked Zenju - no answer. So?
Like
Version 7.0
1 answer(s)
Panocha
Panocha
07 November 2015
so, you leave negative feedback because it doesn't do something, that it doesn't claim it can do???
anyone with 1/2 a brain would put in a feature request, or a comment, but why bring down the rating for something that is not listed in the features?
MU should delete your rating.
Like (3)
Volcanus
22 December 2014
File permissions are improperly set. Very inconvenient if owner and user are not identical.
Like
Version 6.12
1 answer(s)
steve-c-323
steve-c-323
18 November 2018
I just used it to sync between a folder on a mac and a networked folder on a pc, so that doesn't seem true, although maybe it would happen mac to mac. But the comment is also 4 years old at this time.
Like
Amcarter3
06 October 2014
Works better than every other sync tool I've tried. However, the instructions presume the user has significant tech background -- way too much techie jargon. Lot's of information is provided that is meaningless to the average computer user. IF the user help file explained more in simple English, it would be MUCH better. NOTE: It would also help if the app revealed its VERSION #.
Like (1)
Version 6.5
1 answer(s)
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
06 December 2014
NOTE: Contrary to what the Developer says, just hitting the DELETE key does NOT delete a saved configuration.. However, there are two ways to delete a saved configuration:

1) Control Click (Right Click) on the configuration and delete it.
2) hit Function key AND Delete key simultaneously.
Like
Runty
20 April 2014
Version 6.4 is out.
Like
Version 6.3
Jazzyguy
04 March 2014
Very like Chronosync,I like it and it is FREE!
Like (1)
Version 6.3
Xenos
04 March 2014
am i missing something? when (out of curiosity) i was opening the HELP, only examples for Windows seemed to exist; what about the Mac related things (although, for the most part, it will be possible to translate accordingly)
Like
Version 6.3
Aeschylus
07 January 2014
This software may be brand new here on MacUpdate, but it has a solid long term presence on SourceForge, where people comment favorably about it by a wide margin. While it may not be as Mac-like as the popular Mac full-featured backup software, for freeware it seems to offer a lot of capability and has a track record to show it isn't likely to be buggy. Can anybody think of a reason not to try this? Freeware backup software on the Mac has not been quite this capable since CCC went commercial.
Like (3)
Version 6.1
2 answer(s)
cmotdibbler
cmotdibbler
02 February 2014
I can see using this on windows but how is it different from timemachine? Aeschylus is correct though, this has a long history on SourceForge.
Like (1)
Abbott
Abbott
25 February 2014
I think this is more comparable to ChronoSync than CCC or Time Machine. Rather than being geared toward "backup" per se, FreeFileSync seems geared toward folder/directory synchronization among Macs. I'd be inclined to use this software if I have, say, a desktop and a laptop and I want to keep user documents synchronized across the machines without having to go to a cloud-based product.
Like (2)