Back to iA Writer page
iA Writer free download for Mac

iA Writer Reviews

5.2.8
14 August 2019

Professional writing suite (was iA Writer Pro).

F451
26 December 2013

Most helpful

Love the concept, but with no trial version how can one objectively decide whether it will work for them? Especially a writing app. Most of the MAS reviews are not good regarding version 1.0 (current version as of my writing this comment).
Like (7)
Version 1.0

Read 17 iA Writer User Reviews

Rate this app:

blockme
04 June 2019
Better than Scrivener because I focus on writing now. Links would be nice though.
Like
Version 5.2.7
benam
26 October 2018
A very helpful writing tool that helps me focus on the content rather than on its presentation.
Like
Version 5.1.3
LeroyMorrison
01 June 2018
Is this app worth the price? I do a lot of writing but I am not sure if I should purchase it or not.
Like
Version 5.0
3 answer(s)
szeoli-1
szeoli-1
03 June 2018
That depends upon what makes you unsatisfied with your current writing setup. iA Writer is a well-designed app that adroitly handles markdown-style editing and writing. The company continues to improve it. There is an excellent iOS companion app. They even have a Windows app now. The recent addition of the Organizer panel is a nice improvement. But there are other, cheaper options, such as LightPaper, which is also a nice app.
Like (1)
LeroyMorrison
LeroyMorrison
04 June 2018
Can you explain to me what markdown is and why I would want to use it? I have heard others talk about it before and I know that I could Google it, but how it works never seems to click with me.
Like
Neutralzone
Neutralzone
21 September 2018
In reply to your question, Markdown was designed to quickly and simply format text as you write. There are plenty of markup languages already like RTF and HTML, but Markdown formatting tags were also designed to be very easy to read and write. For info see:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Markdown

For me iA Writer is worth it for the simplified writing environment, and for the organizational features like the Favorites sidebar. But I don't really used the Markdown formatting very much, it doesn't fit my needs even though iA Writer can export to other formats. (I think what I need to do is learn to customize the. templates). But I think it's a great environment for fast writing in plain unformatted text. If I did not do that a lot, I would just use TextEdit in plain text mode. Which I still use for some things.

For heavy duty formatted writing I still use Word. But Word is just too much sometimes for simple writing.
Like (1)
williamreis8
09 February 2018
best
Like
Version 4.1.3
InspiredLife2
06 October 2017
This app appears to have doubled in price. It's now $19.99. Looks like the macupdate page needs updating.
Like
Version 4.0.4
Funjoy
26 July 2017
Although I haven't used some of the more epensive direct competition like Ulysses (though I own the previous version) or the unlocked version of Bear Notes, I am very pleased with IA Writer for much of my writing. It's beautiful (custom font, design, even little things like the blue cursor), it's powerful (able to insert links to graphics, pdfs and more) and it's well designed and stable.

I hope to soon try out the publish-to-Wordpress functionality that's built in.

I wish there were some more user customizations but it's a solid app and works beautifully with its iOS version too.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.3
mariabeatty111
30 November 2016
not bad
Like
Version 4.0
jsmm
14 October 2016
Without an Outline panel, I've had to discard this app for editing long documents; that is to say, for all my writing. I've replaced it with Typora.
And for pre-production Marked 2 is better. Though once I have it, I may try to use iA Writer to highlight adjectives, nouns, etc. That's it.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.6
1 answer(s)
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
15 August 2017
I agree. An outliner is so helpful. Sad that so few writing apps have one.
Like
xcoxco
02 March 2016
iA Writer Pro is a fine app. It does what it claims. It's a no frills word processor for creative ones. I use it regularly. I have never had problems with the software's quality.
Like
Version 3.1.2
Anastasio
13 November 2015
No demo version = no purchase.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
Filp
29 September 2015
Like most writers, I keep several apps around. Some I've always liked, some I used to like but now don't use much, and a few I turn to virtually every day. For me there are three of those every-day apps. Scrivener, the workhorse for just about any task. Byword, for quick sketches and direct posting to WordPress. And the current version of iAWriter, which is where I write short fiction and essays. Just what I want.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
Skapplin
Skapplin
29 February 2016
Filp,

My son-in-law is struggling to become a professional fiction writer. He has won some awards including a $5,000 fiction prize from a Chicago entity. Many think is quite talented. He is now teaching creative writing in an after-school program for gifted students in Chicago.

Any chance you may be able to help him out? I think he just doesn't know how to get his name out there and/or does not have a decent agent because of his limited publications history.

Sorry to use this forum for this unrelated matter, but I don't know any other way to write to you.
Like
Svenster
28 September 2015
Unfortunately I can not get this software to run stably. it keeps crashing on both OS X and iOS which is a shame as I really want to use it.
Like
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
Gazman
Gazman
29 September 2015
Svenster, I would suggest this is a problem with your setup. I use ia Writer extensively on both iOS and OS X and don't remember having a single crash. This is with some very large text files (10,000 words plus).
Like
Gazman
28 September 2015
As of Version 3 (currently at 3.0.1) iA Writer and iA Writer Pro are merged back into a single program. If you bought iA Writer Pro through the App Store version 3 is a free upgrade. So far I'm liking it much better than the old 'Pro' version with it's convoluted workspaces (writing, editing, notes).
Like
Version 3.0
dreamfactory
04 January 2015
There's a 21 days fully working demo on the dev's website: http://iawriter.com/demo/iA-Writer-Pro-1.4-6001.zip
Like (1)
Version 1.4
Zx81
02 October 2014
How can this app have a 5 stars rating on MU most recent updates page?
Like
Version 1.2
neartheredrocks
04 April 2014
How can the developer dare to name this software "Writer Pro" when there is since years a software by the name "Nisus Writer Pro"?
Like (2)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
24 April 2014
Yes. I agree. I wonder what 'Pro' means? Spin, Spin, Spin! Substance? Not much.
Like (1)
F451
26 December 2013
Love the concept, but with no trial version how can one objectively decide whether it will work for them? Especially a writing app. Most of the MAS reviews are not good regarding version 1.0 (current version as of my writing this comment).
Like (7)
Version 1.0
5 answer(s)
Filp
Filp
27 December 2013
I agree. The write-up and presentation on dev's website are very persuasive, but initial reactions from buyers are mixed, at best. If it proved to be all that the promo claims, I'd gladly pay $20. And to be fair, some of the low-balls on MAS read as if written by people who'd not troubled to figure out details of what must be an unusual — to the average Mac user — system. If Santa kicks in with a belated double sawbuck, I'll give it a try.
Like (1)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
27 December 2013
Count me in with yet another concurrence WRT no demo = do deal. It's also available as an iOS app and the mutual sync would be nice, however the reviews in the iTunes store are no less unfavorable than those in the MAS. Until user experiences start turning positive, I think these two apps are off my wish list.
Like (1)
lemon-kun
lemon-kun
27 December 2013
Yes, trying costs 20$. Good thing though, after that, you get the app for free, if you like it or not. Strange concept.
Like (6)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
27 December 2013
@ lemon-kun: Thanks for that! Now I have to clean coffee off my keyboard and monitor! :-)
Like (3)
Xenophile
Xenophile
24 August 2014
You ARE a leal subject of Apple, are you not? So send your $20 to the MAS and quit whining. $20 is nothing, you make that in a second, right? Oh wait, I was thinking of the geniuses who devised the MAS! THEY make $20/second, so why not buy to try?

Like