Back to ClassicWeather page
ClassicWeather free download for Mac

ClassicWeather Reviews

4.4.1
18 November 2019

Weather widgets, in the Dock, and in the menu bar.

anonymous-dingo-653
22 November 2013

Most helpful

I will not review this because I do not know how it compares to the iOS versions. Apparently that is the target audience it is aimed at. Overall, I was not impressed or unimpressed, as it is typical for the Mac world where the "look" is more important that "function" and user "adaptation." I have seen half a dozen "apps" for Android that do much more in a more space efficient manner. As to my notebook, I will stick with Meteorologist for its more minimalist versatility.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.3

Read 13 ClassicWeather User Reviews

Rate this app:

Winco
06 February 2019
Excellent weather app that is constantly being worked on an improved by the developer. I have the HD version purchased via The App Store. The latest version, 4.2, is very accurate. The app is pleasing to look at too.
Like (1)
Version 4.2
Spudboy
07 January 2019
$99 seems a bit pricey.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.1
1 answer(s)
Winco
Winco
06 February 2019
Errr do you mean $19.99? I presume this was a typo on your part Spudboy.
Like
wstevens
24 August 2018
Warning! Version 3.1 is free but crippled, unless you pay a $1.49 a year subscription. fee. ClassicWeather - deleted!!
Like
Version 3.1
6 answer(s)
Demodit GmbH
Demodit GmbH
26 August 2018
Difference between free and paid is only that with upgrade it has more functionalities.
Like (2)
wstevens
wstevens
26 August 2018
Yes. Less "functionalities" equals crippled.

Previous non-subscription version 3.0 had full "functionalities", equals not crippled.

You chose to cripple your v3.1software, and to use a subscription to un-cripple it.

Your upgrade from version 3.0 to version 3.1 took away "functionalities" and started your subscription. You took away the "functionalities" that we had already paid for in version 3.0, and now can only get them back in version 3.1 by buying into your subscription. Why should I buy a subscription for something I've already paid you for?

Good luck with you subscriptions. ClassicWeather - deleted!!
Like (1)
Demodit GmbH
Demodit GmbH
26 August 2018
No, what you write is totally wrong and misleading.

Free ClassicWeather can be updated to Premium version since ever. Never functionality has been removed from the free version with an update. Subscription model (instead of one time fee) has been implemented in 2017 before version 3.0.

Probably you mean ClassicWeather HD which is another app and which we did remove from App Store recently. Nevertheless, If you bought that, you can download it from App Store in the "Purchased" tab.
Like (1)
wstevens
wstevens
26 August 2018
Are you still selling and supporting WeatherClassic HD? Doesn't look like it. You took my money, and now WeatherClassic HD is abandonware.

Now you want to sell me a subscription for features I've already paid for in WeatherClassic HD.

What is the difference between WeatherClassic HD and WeatherClassic "Premium"? Looks like the subscription is the only difference.

Look it's your software and you can do with it what you want. But don't insult me by telling me, "what you write is totally wrong and misleading".

You know and I know there is no functional difference between WeatherClassic HD and WeatherClassic Premium except for the subscription.

I'm not impressed by a developer who takes money for WeatherClassic HD, turns it into abandonware, removes features, repackages it as WeatherClassic Free, and then says I can have the features of WeatherClassic HD back if I pay an annual subscription for WeatherClassic Premium.

Sorry, but abandoning your paying customers and then charging them a subscription for the same software while telling them it's different - is more than misleading.!!!

Good luck with your business model.
Like
Demodit GmbH
Demodit GmbH
07 September 2018
ClassicWeather is available since September 2013 !
The HD version came one month later on market. It's removed from sale but is still working and downloadable from App Store for earlier buyers. We are free to publish important updates from time to time.
This site is about ClassicWeather, not the HD version.
Like (1)
zlazkow
zlazkow
04 January 2019
NOTHING is "crippled" in ClassicWeather.
I use it for at least 5 years and never had any problem.
I gladly paid for it, because it looks very nice , not overloaded with useless graphics like many other application, and it gives you ALL the info you need. I have the HD version, from App Store. Subscription is up to you.
Like (1)
Winco
15 June 2018
Still the best weather app on the Mac. Version three brings a new weather data supply service and this in turn has resulted in more accurate weather data for our region (Australia). Also I had an issue with the app on one Mac in the household. The dev, Bruno, was very helpful in resolving it. Finally, it's very good value at US$2.99.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
lazk
16 July 2017
I'm using it for the last 5 years. There is no better one. Everything is just right, clear, pleasure to look at, flexible, and not overloaded with useless graphics. Highly recommended!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
Dgerzeeboy
12 November 2016
Good and useful app, but I'd like to see the current weather for my location--or any location in my list--displayed in the menu bar that I can glance up to (like Meteorologist, or the late, great MenuWeather) rather than having to repeatedly interrupt my work flow by clicking a tiny blank square to invoke a window that I don't care to leave permanently open. If I want to know more than the outside temperature, then I'd click on that to open the info window. Maybe in version 2.0.2.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
2 answer(s)
Demodit GmbH
Demodit GmbH
16 November 2016
Weather forecast for all locations is available in menu bar menu. Current condition of a specific location in menu bar (what you talk about) is available in paid version.
Like (2)
Dgerzeeboy
Dgerzeeboy
17 November 2016
Yes it does. Just bought the upgrade. Thanks. FIVE stars!
Like (2)
Steinar-Helgesen
17 October 2016
I really like this app. Nice with many options. Would like a option that gives it a bit transparency because i have black background but yeah get it.
Like (1)
Version 1.9
Winco
17 October 2016
Currently, the best weather app for the Mac.
Like (1)
Version 1.9
Maxter
06 September 2015
Nice and complete.

There should be an option to enable/disable locations.
In the menubar the list can quickly become too long too fit on a small screen.
It also takes "ages" to refresh when the connection is "poor" (which is case in many countries).
I the menu bar view the list should appear as it does in the main window.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Shallowp
08 August 2015
imo the best weather app for iOS and OSX. Period.
Like (3)
Version 1.7.1
Markf21
25 March 2015
I bought this not too long ago (I have family scattered in different parts of the world and like to see what the conditions are near them at any given time) and recently had a question for the developer. I got almost an instant reply to my question and after only a couple of times corresponding (via a 6 hour time differential) had my issue resolved and a promise to fix what needed fixing. I strongly recommend this product.
Like (2)
Version 1.6
ThomasB1059
19 December 2013
This app shows the weather in a clear way. Every location has it's own widget. The widgets can be presented as independent positioned widgets or all together in a single window. The app has a smart way of navigation, so if modifying the view for one city, it also changes the other cities. The weather forecasts is quite accurate.
Like (2)
Version 1.2
anonymous-dingo-653
22 November 2013
I will not review this because I do not know how it compares to the iOS versions. Apparently that is the target audience it is aimed at. Overall, I was not impressed or unimpressed, as it is typical for the Mac world where the "look" is more important that "function" and user "adaptation." I have seen half a dozen "apps" for Android that do much more in a more space efficient manner. As to my notebook, I will stick with Meteorologist for its more minimalist versatility.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.3