Back to PDFwriter page
PDFwriter free download for Mac

PDFwriter Reviews

1.2.1
15 November 2013

Virtual PDF printer.

Mikael-B
15 November 2013

Most helpful

And the gain to using "save as pdf" is what exactly?
Like (3)
Version 1.2.1

Read 15 PDFwriter User Reviews

Rate this app:

stef-8
06 February 2020
I prefer Vipriser
Like
Version 1.2.1
Aargl
22 February 2017
As I generally "print" to PDF, this is useful as I don't have to go each time to the submenu and select "save as pdf", once I set it as my default printer. One great addition would be to open automatically the destination folder in the Finder, once printed: I do that with Hazel — I suppose it can be done also with a lauchagent.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Volcanus
19 June 2016
Now there is a modified newer version; https://github.com/rodyager/RWTS-PDFwriter
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1
2 answer(s)
Buffalolee
Buffalolee
04 October 2016
It works! Thank you.
Like
Aargl
Aargl
22 February 2017
Thanks!
I can't see any difference but yes it works. :-)
Like
nmlinguaphile
17 June 2016
I've tried printing multiple files with this but when I try to open them in either Acrobat or Adobe Reader I get a message that the file is either not supported or is corrupt.
Like
Version 1.2.1
frequencydip
01 December 2015
This was great back in the day, it however no longer works under 10.11. look for VipRiser as a replacement.
Like
Version 1.2.1
MEHMETBOZATLI
17 March 2015
A pdf printer that DOESN'T use ghostscript is useless. Mac OS X has a native pdf output already, any use of a pdf printer would be to output as a printer, not using the internal capabilities. For example, it would solve the Autocad pdf/plot style problem, and become an invaluable mac program. For now, what's the point?
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
britras
05 December 2014
Please help me! I'm desperate to find the file after it "printed." I see the thing below: /private/var/spool/pdfwriter but I don't know what to do with that or where to type it in order to find it. Can someone please help me? Thanks so much!
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
fiery12
fiery12
02 February 2015
PDFwriter installs a shortcut to printed files. You can find it at:
<boot folder>/Users/Shared/PDFwriter

You can also use Terminal app. Just paste the following command (then hit enter):
open /private/var/spool/pdfwriter/
Like (2)
polocanada
02 September 2014
It took me forever to find where this app actually prints and saves the PDFs. Here is the location: ../private/var/spool/pdfwriter
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Arie15
Arie15
09 November 2014
Thank you very much for this tip! I almost uninstalled the app because I could not find the prints. It is a shame how bad the documentation is.
Because of your information here I can finally use this app.
Like
myoldmac51
27 August 2014
Same concept as CutePDF for windows. A workaround to fix PDFs that open fine in Acrobat but not Preview. Would be good to have a save location but at least it works. Downside is that PDFs created are HUGE. Use Acrobat again to "optimize" them.
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Volcanus
Volcanus
12 March 2017
CutePDF uses GhostScript like CUPS-PDF. PDFwriter avoids this.
Like
MadL6492
31 July 2014
mmm....just installed on Yosemite beta, not sure if something has happened regarding finder and the folder structure, however users/shared can not be found. I have also just searched for the filename of the printed documents and it cant be found. Maybe im missing something but although it installed first time, i dont think this is compatible with Yosemite beta.
Like
Version 1.2.1
2 answer(s)
Cattus-Thraex
Cattus-Thraex
13 November 2014
Why do you 'generously' give 2 stars for a simple and wonderful utility, which you cannot handle? You either ask how to use it and, if OK, you give the corresponding number of stars, 5. This is simple deontology...
Like
fiery12
fiery12
02 February 2015
PDFwriter installs a shortcut to printed files (tested on OS X 10.10.2) here:
<boot folder>/Users/Shared/PDFwriter

First you need to add the printer as explained in the Readme and print some file. This will create the spool folder. Otherwise the above link will not open anything. Finder and Spotlight don't look in the hidden /var folder. You can instead use the free EasyFind for better results.

Finally, you can use the Terminal app (/Applications/Utilities) to open that folder. Just paste the following command (then hit enter):
open /private/var/spool/pdfwriter/
Like
Ochre
16 July 2014
There appears to be an error in the quoted release date for the current version, 1.2.1. According to Sourceforge (where this project is hosted), 1.2.1 was released 15th March 2011 (15-03-11), not 15th November 2013 (15-11-13).
Like
Version 1.2.1
Craig42a
22 June 2014
I have a book I created in InDesign and I wanted to produce a PDF of just the thumbnails of the layout in a grid configuration of 3x3 per page. While it is an easy enough to export pages to PDF using "Export" you cannot make thumbnails into a PDF, only print thumbnails to paper through the print dialog box. This software solved that problem instantly. Easy to install, and it appears as a print driver that you can select when you are in the print dialog box. When you "print" to PDFWriter it automatically saves the file to a special location (read the instructions that come with the download): e.g. /Users/Shared/PDFwriter The only downsides of this program are you can't choose the save location and you can't rename the PDF before saving as you can during an InDesign PDF Export. But that's okay. The hours I saved in alternative ways of creating PDF-format thumbnails of the book makes this a five-star app all the way. Thank you.
Like
Version 1.2.1
tbarth
04 May 2014
I'm new to Mac, and I can't find how to save the pdf output file from this printer. Nowhere is there a setting for that as far as I can see. And there is nothing to be found in Documents. Can someone please help me, thanks.
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Grandma-Duck
Grandma-Duck
15 May 2014
It's all said in the readme file accompanying the installation package: "The PDF files will be stored in the directory /Users/Shared/PDFwriter." Cheers.
Like
Volcanus
19 November 2013
Much better than cups-pdf! Saves the pdf created internally by an application into a file. Works like a virtual printer. Very helpful also to save Airprint output.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Mikael-B
15 November 2013
And the gain to using "save as pdf" is what exactly?
Like (3)
Version 1.2.1
9 answer(s)
J-a-duke
J-a-duke
15 November 2013
The value of this tool is that certain apps, like Acrobat, won't let you Save As PDF. I've had several non-standard PDFs that open fine in Acrobat but fail in Preview. Tweaking them in Acrobat Pro and saving still doesn't correct the problems. Printing the problem documents to PDFWriter gives me clean PDFs that will work anywhere.
Like
Doctor-Whiteface
Doctor-Whiteface
15 November 2013
J.a.duke ... Not true. Acrobat indeed allows one to save a file as a PDF. Just go to File > Save As, and you should notice that the first menu option is PDF... . And that's not all that's offered. Cheers!
Like
J-a-duke
J-a-duke
15 November 2013
My good Doctor: In my example, saving from Acrobat or Acrobat Pro didn't fix the problems with the file-I still had corrupted graphics & text when opening in Preview. Printing from Acrobat via PDFWriter gave me a file that worked anywhere. Cheers.
Like
Doctor-Whiteface
Doctor-Whiteface
15 November 2013
J.a.duke ... While this free app works for you as it might well as for others, it does not necessitate stating ... " certain apps, like Acrobat, won't let you Save As PDF". Just pointing that out. Cheers!
Like
Faithless
Faithless
16 November 2013
With this fantastic little tool you can batch convert documents. I have a lot of word documents that I need to pdf when finished. With this you can drag an alias from the system prefs. of the print driver to your desk top, then drag and drop a bunch of files. It then works its own way through them. Big time saver.
Like (3)
dainius-sileika
dainius-sileika
20 December 2013
An example: I have a PDF made from several different sources. The page sizes are all slightly different. Acrobat won't permit me to resize everything to x paper size, so I have to save the PDF, open in Preview, select print, change the paper size, and then save to PDF. If I could print -> save to pdf in Acrobat--which this programme allows--it would save me a step.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
20 December 2013
Thanks for your explanations how this useful to you Faithless, J.a.duke and dainius.sileika. I use CutePDF when on Windows, so this is pretty much the same concept.
Like
k9gardner
k9gardner
17 October 2014
Reversing the page sequence in a large PDF is easy if you select "Reverse page sequence" in the print dialog and then print to a PDF printer driver. It is impossible if you're using the pulldown "save as PDF" because that doesn't pay attention to these other printing preferences.
Like
AaronGreen3955
AaronGreen3955
04 August 2015
Using Citrix-based medical record system (serves Windows programs), I cannot print to PDF from the Windows dialog. I *can* print to PDFWriter if it's my default printer--THANK GOODNESS FOR PDFWRITER!
Like