Back to Unibox page
Unibox free download for Mac

Unibox Reviews1.9.2

14 October 2018

Email client with messages organized by person.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
ZGR
ZGR
Aug 12 2020
1.9.2
5.0
Aug 12 2020
5.0
Version: 1.9.2
Still using both iOS and macOS versions, though its not been updated sine 2018. No app came close so far. Tried Spike for a while (3 months) but ditched it after privacy concerns.
Aargl
Aargl
Jun 6 2020
1.9.2
0.5
Jun 6 2020
0.5
Version: 1.9.2
No update since 2018... Here's another long standing issue, though: when you press the delete key to ditch an email, it often doesn't seem to work — the mail moves as if it was deleted but comes back in view — so you press delete again, but it doesn't move... Going to the Trash can, you see it actually deleted the mail the first time, then deleted an older mail from the same sender! :-o Luckily, this doesn't happen when clicking on the Delete icon, but this issue is a real pity. :-(
ahmedhatata-ah
ahmedhatata-ah
May 20 2019
1.9.2
5.0
May 20 2019
5.0
Version: 1.9.2
Still the best email client for me as student , quickly and easily navigate through my daily emails , reply , group them by people make it very easy to reply to all . Very powerful and convenient email client for me , just need the dark mode. Definitely 5 stars and no issue at it .
Aargl
Aargl
Apr 27 2019
1.9.2
0.5
Apr 27 2019
0.5
Version: 1.9.2
I've just found another issue: URLs that you paste in a mail won't be recognized as such in any mail manager under MacOS 10.4.11 PPC (I couldn't test 10.5) — tested Mail.app, Postbox and Thunderbird — and won't be clickable by the recipient. They are probably somehow malformed. I've tested the same text sent by Mail.app, Postbox or Thunderbird: no problem. The funny thing is that the only one I've found that has the same issue is the old Sparrow, from which Unibox is very "inspired"... ;-) You might say that very few people still use Tiger, but who knows if the issue is not present in some other OS? Anyway, using an app that you can't rely on at 100% is quite daunting... :-(
Zoidbert
Zoidbert
Jan 3 2019
1.9.2
0.0
Jan 3 2019
0.0
Version: 1.9.2
Still love this app. It's a regular launch for me when I want to cut through my emails pretty quickly, but it's not my go-to mail app (that's still Apple's own Mail) because it doesn't handle filing and etc. as seamlessly as it could.

Still and all, it's unique in the field and a great app. I won't call it dead in the water -- the developer did just update it in October 2018 -- but its feature set seems to have stalled and, like a few others, I've not received any feedback on feedback.

FWIW, Eightloops does have a Twitter account, but there's never been any activity. I'll keep checking it, this page, and their site, and hope they continue development -- it's a good app and well worth consideration.
Aargl
Aargl
Nov 15 2018
1.9.2
0.5
Nov 15 2018
0.5
Version: 1.9.2
I'm on my way to switching from Mavericks to El Capitan and tried this last version of Unibox: it doesn't see or import the mail accounts from version 1.5.2 — and probably from any other version! :-o Apple Mail 9.3 is horribly slow compared to Maverick's but I don't have time to set up again my many accounts in Unibox, just because the dev didn't even think that former users might someday update their app... ;-) Luckily v1.5.2 still works ok in El Capitan.
zlazkow
zlazkow
Nov 4 2017
1.8.2
5.0
Nov 4 2017
5.0
Version: 1.8.2
NEW version November 3, 2017 - 1.8.2
zlazkow
zlazkow
Aug 23 2017
1.7.2
5.0
Aug 23 2017
5.0
Version: 1.7.2
I posted today a reply(not comment) that Unibox developer responded to my question about the development. It's in work, updates...etc. So I think it's a good news.
Aargl
Aargl
Jul 17 2017
1.7.2
0.5
Jul 17 2017
0.5
Version: 1.7.2
After leaving it aside for a few months, I've recently started using Unibox 1.5.2 on a daily basis. I really love the clear and simple interface, it turns the daily use of mails into a delight! Having no support for Spamsieve, it means that you have to have Apple Mail (or Postbox ;-) ) running in the background, and run to those apps when you have some complex stuff to do. So, it is not a Mail replacement for demanding users, but rather a pleasant interface for it, and it's ok when you think of it that way — though it's probably perfect for common users with 1 or 2 accounts (but those probably don't feel the need for an Apple Mail replacement...) Unfortunately, they stopped supporting OS 10.9.5, so this review is for v1.5.2.
zlazkow
zlazkow
Jul 11 2017
1.7.2
5.0
Jul 11 2017
5.0
Version: 1.7.2
I'm trying Unibox at this moment. The first few minutes of looking how brilliantly this application works, I'm totaly amazed! It took 30 seconds for Unibox to identify all my gmail settings and then presented me with absolutely fresh idea of sorting the email in the most efficient way, sorting it 'from/sender". Sure, Apple mail has all kinds of sorting, even "from". But NOT like Unibox does it.
It's not only by "sender", but also chronologically. If you get an email from Jerry, it goes on top, and all emails from Jerry are included. A number on the right side shows the total number of Jerry's emails. So, here you have a very easy opportunity to clean up all your emails.
So, so far it's brilliant and super effective!
lukas-mueller
lukas-mueller
Jan 8 2017
1.6.2
0.5
Jan 8 2017
0.5
Version: 1.6.2
probably abandonware... nothing new since many months. it once was under active development, but that was like 2 years ago..
Pjot
Pjot
Nov 23 2016
1.6.2
0.5
Nov 23 2016
0.5
Version: 1.6.2
I purchased Unibox a while ago, liked the way it handles mail but wasn't happy completely. I discovered some minor bugs about which I sent mail to the developers but never received an answer so I stopped using it. After a recent crash I reinstalled Unibox from a backup, opened it once and returned to my present standard mail programma. After clicking on a mail link on a websit Unibox opened. Eeh? I checked the settings of Mail and indeed, Unibox had promoted itself without my consent to my standard mail program. I changed the setting in Mail back to my standard mail program only to find out that Unibox again had returned as the standard mail program. I repeated this several times but to no avail: Unibox kept coming back as the standard mail program. This is unheard of. So I removed Unibox completely from my system and believe me, it will never return there. Pity as it has a lot of potential. For the software as such I could easily give 4 stars, the arrogance of the developers to ignore reactions from users and the impossiblity to remove it as standard mail program scales the rating down to half a star.
Aargl
Aargl
Oct 9 2016
1.5.2
0.5
Oct 9 2016
0.5
Version: 1.5.2
At first try, a really nice app but still no support for Spamsieve and their blog doesn't look like they're doing active development... :-/ (last update 10 months ago...) Their FB page and Tweeter are full of messages from happy customers, which is great, but I'd rather see some news about what the devs are working on, instead. ;-)
Noraa
Noraa
Aug 8 2016
1.5.2
0.0
Aug 8 2016
0.0
Version: 1.5.2
The price listed is incorrect. The app currently costs $15.99 on the App Store.
Max29
Max29
May 19 2016
1.5.2
1.0
May 19 2016
1.0
Version: 1.5.2
5 stars for the cool email client but unfortunatelly 0 stars for the not existent support. Support doesn't reply to any requests. Products without support are worthless.
Guest
Guest
Oct 19 2015
1.4.2
0.0
Oct 19 2015
0.0
Version: 1.4.2
This replaced Mail and all of the other options well over a year ago and I've been content with it since. It has its bugs, but it is so far above the other options as far as keeping things in a consolidated location that I have been able to overlook any of the glitches.

And I have to say that my glitches probably simply stem from managing a much larger number of email addresses than most folks. :)

Oh, and their support team is rather responsive to boot.
Bfulop
Bfulop
Oct 13 2015
1.3.2
5.0
Oct 13 2015
5.0
Version: 1.3.2
I've been using Unibox for about two years now. The concept has been working great for me. The idea is that all your emails are grouped by contacts so email looks like more like an instant messaging app. This for one encourages you to write shorter emails. It's when I open my inbox in another client like mail.app I realise how messy it is! In Unibox it looks nice and organised and you have the impression that there's much less email in your inbox. Read the "inbox zero" article on their FAQ page to get this auto-organising working. I used this setup about two years ago, and didn't touch anything ever since. No complicated folder structures, smart folders, auto whatever. Recently they added more keyboard shortcuts and now you can everything without touching the mouse. I'm on the beta channel and there's an update almost every week, it feels good to know the app is being very actively developed.
polocanada
polocanada
Sep 2 2015
1.2.1
5.0
Sep 2 2015
5.0
Version: 1.2.1
Very refreshing take on email app for Mac. It's not a one-trick pony and unlike the others, this offers departure from traditional email views which become less and less useable today. Yes, it misses many other things I like about some other apps such as...

1. Postbox - ability to file to Evernote client (LOCALLY)
2. Mail app OSX with EverMail plugin - ability to file to another non-local Evernote account (REMOTE account)
3. Opera Mail - TABBED interface option (yes, I still do like it so much and I find the tabbed approach to email in certain situations very useful, if need to work on a project and sift through information in different emails in different threads etc)

But overall, this app looks great.

Perhaps one last thing on my wish list would be integration with Linkedin, so I could see the person's profile and click button "Connect" to send the invite.. (well at least somewhat similar to what the Tipbit app does today on iOS).

larrymcj
larrymcj
Nov 24 2014
1.2.1
5.0
Nov 24 2014
5.0
Version: 1.2.1
Regardless of whether I initially liked it or not, for me Unibox is absolutely compelling to use. At first I was turned off by its people-centric way of arranging email by contacts (and I still don't care for that...but see the second paragraph). This concept probably works just fine for most casual users of email because it's more like chat or instant messaging, and in that regard it's actually better if you'll just give yourself time to get used to it. For business and professional email users like me, this concept most likely won't work because we get a lot of daily email and most of it needs to be acted on and then either labeled (Gmail) or put into folders (other email types). Fortunately, Unibox has recently recognized the existence of this email user demographic and made preference changes that allow Unibox to function more like a classic email client. (The most important preference change to help this type of user is found here: https://www.uniboxapp.com/faq/organizing-emails/inbox-zero) What will eventually win you over to Unibox (despite its high price tag of $17.99) is its absolutely beautiful user interface. The developer has uniquely managed to put everything into one single window, even the message creation window when called up. So writing a new email or replying to an existing email, allows you to focus on the email you're creating instead of bouncing around between multiple windows. No other email client does this. Last, but not least...email providers. Very few email apps support all email providers, but Unibox "automatically" found all of my email addresses (Google, iCloud, Outlook.com, Yahoo, Hover Mail, personal IMAP server, and even Exchange (IMAP enabled). It needed a little help configuring my DOVECOT IMAP server account, but only to the extent I had to add the specific IMAP and SMTP addresses as the account is intentionally configured a bit strange in that regard. Is Unibox perfect? Of course not...nor is any email app. But it's as close to perfect (for me) as I've found and it has become my email app of choice because it's easy to look at, efficient, font selections are uniform between inbox and messages, and it supports all my email addresses. Add to this the developer is very responsive to email support questions (a rarity these days) and I think Unibox is certainly headed in the right direction. The Apple ecosystem is filled with email apps, but Unibox is a true breath of fresh air.
larrymcj
larrymcj
Nov 12 2014
1.2.1
5.0
Nov 12 2014
5.0
Version: 1.2.1
Love the user interface of Unibox, but have too many things going on in my email life to live it without folders. Unibox needs two versions...one for people oriented and the other for the rest of us who just want email to be like it's always been. Still, props for the beautiful UI.
TCalhau
TCalhau
Nov 1 2014
1.2.1
4.0
Nov 1 2014
4.0
Version: 1.2.1
Unibox is my default email application! I love the way he centralizes the e-mails in the senders. In addition, the application works perfectly stable. Never witnessed errors during the months I've been using! However, he does not yet support the OpenPGP (GPGTools) Although developers have already informed that will add support for OpenPGP
aaffonso
aaffonso
Sep 10 2014
1.2
4.0
Sep 10 2014
4.0
Version: 1.2
I really love the simplicity of this app, but the lack of SpamSieve integration doesn't allow me to use Unibox as my main email client.
MacMec
MacMec
Apr 16 2014
1.1
4.5
Apr 16 2014
4.5
Version: 1.1
Finally an end to all the mess. Archived 3500 E-Mails today and I relay like the conversation view. No manual needed, it is intuitive and great UI.
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
Mar 1 2014
1.0.1
1.0
Mar 1 2014
1.0
Version: 1.0.1
Why use PKG as trial installer? Weird.
Sasasushi
Sasasushi
Feb 12 2014
1.0.1
5.0
Feb 12 2014
5.0
Version: 1.0.1
I love the concept of this app, organizing mail based on contacts. It is intuitive, attractive, fast, low resource and the search feature works very well. It has now become my default mail client.
aka
aka
Jan 1 2014
1.0.1
0.0
Jan 1 2014
0.0
Version: 1.0.1
A trial version is aviable at https://www.uniboxapp.com/trial
JasonE
JasonE
Dec 10 2013
1.0.1
0.0
Dec 10 2013
0.0
Version: 1.0.1
Great potential in this app. We would be interested in this mail client, if it supported pop accounts as well as imap accounts.
Robertcoogan
Robertcoogan
Oct 26 2013
1.0
0.0
Oct 26 2013
0.0
Version: 1.0
It advertises organization by contacts, but doesn't say if you can also go to a date received view. There seems to be a lot going for it, it has some really nice features. But limiting the Inbox view like that really is a turnoff. Also there is nothing about spam filters, yet again (and not just this app, it is just a nut Apple hasn't allowed us to crack yet). And it would be nice to have a demo available. Even for $10.