Back to CRAX Commander page
CRAX Commander free download for Mac

CRAX Commander Reviews

1.11.8
08 September 2019

Dual-pane and multi-tabbed file manager.

Bunky
01 October 2013

Most helpful

Seems like a nice little dual pane finder a/la Directory Opus DOPUS that I loved when I was using my old Amiga Computers Quick and easy to use
Like (4)
Version 1.1.46

Read 13 CRAX Commander User Reviews

Rate this app:

markrfriedman
23 March 2018
any work been done in the last 2 years?
Like (1)
Version 1.10.16
1 answer(s)
Soft4U2
Soft4U2
05 June 2018
Hello, the new version 1.11.1 has been released. The new one is in the progress and it will be soon.
Like
TeddyUrsadorable
28 February 2016
Nothing on their website or in the program about licensing with regards to the number of Mac's you can activate it on. (ie Desktop and Macbook)
Like
Version 1.10.8
1 answer(s)
MASLO
MASLO
02 March 2016
The CRAX license file is available on this weblink: http://crax.soft4u2.com/crax-license.txt.

THE LICENSE ALLOWS YOU TO INSTALL, USE AND RUN A COPY OF 'CRAX Commander' on MAXIMUM 3 (three) APPLE-BRANDED PRODUCTS.

Like
Cheops
27 January 2016
How about having a trial period for CRAX Commander instead of throwing up repeated nag screens? I've downloaded this app several times and each time I've ended up deleting it for that reason. When I'm doing something else and come back to it after several minutes I get another nag screen which makes me wait for ten seconds or whatever. That's really annoying.
Like (1)
Version 1.10.8
TC-Fan
22 January 2015
I am a Total Commander Windows user for many years., and tried for also many years to find a decent, TC-like version for the Mac. I tried them all, and they all failed. CRAX Commander is the first one for me which not only works very nice as Finder replacement, but also brings a lot of the features that TC users are used to. Finally someone did it right, and the more I work with it and set it up correctly the more I enjoy it. Please note that this is a young software still in develoment. My review is based on version 1.8, which is already lightyears away from versions used in older reviews here, where users were partly disappointed. I can only say: give it a try again!
Like (1)
Version 1.8.0
expa
20 January 2015
THX!
Like
Version 1.8.0
Lapkritinis
04 January 2015
Well, I am big fan of FAR commander on windows, while this software works - there are few "I don't like": I often use view function - I just don't like that it opens in separate window. I also often use right or left cursor keys to navigate to end of a file list, here it does something different - walks in/out folder. F3 (view) on a folder used to calculate folder size - not here. And this list goes longer and longer... Also very expensive, I am considering getting refund in app store.
Like
Version 1.7.6
2 answer(s)
MASLO
MASLO
12 January 2015
Thanks for your feedback. There is no software which satisfies all of users, but I always try to solve issues that are requested by end user. Please send me whole improvemnts list and I promise I will try to resolve them in the next releases.

"Open view in separate window" -> you could switch one of panel to the quick view mode and than view content of selected file in opposite panel.

"cursor keys (left/right) to navigate to the end of list" - when you look at preferences you could see that there are options in "OTHER SHORTCUTS" to define shortcuts as you want.

"F3 (view) on a folder used to calculate folder size" - this is simple and will be added in the next version. BTW you can use SHIFT+CMD+S to recount selected folder size.

Ragards
Like
MASLO
MASLO
14 January 2015
Regarding price - application costs less than PathFinder upgrade :)
Like
N3t
18 November 2014
Excelent, best Total Commander clone, now I don't miss Windows! Thanks!
Like (2)
Version 1.7.3
2 answer(s)
swdevguys
swdevguys
17 November 2015
I might sound harsh later on so let me sincerely start with his: without mentioning any other file manager for MacOSX CRAX HAS THE GREATEST POTENTIAL TO BECOME THE ULTIMATE DUAL PANE FILE MANAGER FOR MacOSX. Good luck addressing the issues, Marcin. You can do it if you team up with the right people and revisit all features one by one, with Total Commander as the Holy Grail. Show us something really important fixes and features in the version history. Ask Christian Ghisler for help or permission to use his ideas in CRAX and then implement them as he did. You are creating a TC clone, after all.

Anyway, seeing how many CRAX problems have not been addressed I have to write the following, just from the top of my head, there is more: as I personally learned CRAX IS DANGEROUS FOR THE FILES out of the box, pressing F8 or clicking the F8 Delete button will permanently delete the files and dirs!!! Uncompressing an archive containing files with special Slavic characters does not work reliably yet user does not get an error message that something went wrong. Some files just do not appear in the destination directory. When a user deletes the archive he will find out the problem when it is too late. Moving files is not moving but copying it first to destination, if it gets interrupted you can start over. Recursive dir operations not mastered yet. Recursive comparison of dirs including subdirs (as seen in Total Commander) missing. Background copy runs jobs in parallel by default instead of one by one. If CRAX crashes, mess is created. File copy/move resolution dialogue got improved only recently (did not show both time and date for both conflicting files). Redefined user shortcut for Delete issued from the keyboard (in my case Cmd D) does not work at NAS samba connected disk. File search dialogue offers the results and when you navigate to desired file by keyboard and press Enter, it runs the search AGAIN instead of taking the user to the dir with the file. Very annoying. Also it is not possible to browse the search results while the search is in progress. Not possible to SELECT FILES BY MOUSE, annoying menu (with SVN as the top option by default before you turn it off) pops up immediately. With file selector on a zip or rar file (2 most common archives) the right menu option UNCOMPRESS remains greyed out. Work with archives: you can browse archives but it is not possible to open the doc in associated app by simple Enter press. Annoying hardly readable color choice red/blue for selected file with file selector on. Total configurability of CRAX advertised somewhere is not true. Renaming files on samba connected NAS disk takes too long, I found out why with a several meg file: instead or renaming the file, CRAX makes a COPY to destination file with desired name. Can be checked by another file manager... The list goes on.
Internet is full of exciting little reviews which show only one thing (be it for Eltima Commander One or CRAX commander): the "reviewers" are superficial or insincere and should focus on advising the authors rather than putting out useless reviews which do only one thing: give the developers false feeling that they do a good job. CRAX endorsers contributing on CRAX facebook page are not very useful because they are aroused by marginal things and not advising what is really wrong. See for yourself.
Like
MASLO
MASLO
22 November 2015
Thanks for your opinion @swdevguys, but it would be better when before you write something you check the options of the app.
- F8 could be redefined and you could set in app's settings to use trash instead of permanently remove files "Preferences > General"
- if don't like SVN and you don't use it you could switch off this menu in settings "Preferences > General > SVN"
- moving files works as you described but only if you check on the option "merge content of dirs" - if you don't check it moving is performed using system API
- moving recursively is also available in the two modes: merging or overwriting
- background operation could be performed in queue (one by one) but it should be configured in the preferences "Preferences > General (Queue file operations with max opers set to 1)"
- you could redefine colors as you want - also selection color "Preferences > Colors"
- handling SAMBA is simple by mounting SMB shares so speed of performing operations is the same as in Finder


@swdevguys if you don't like CRAX Commander you may use another commander which you prefer but don't write something before you check it in preferences or in app.
Like
Cashtro
10 September 2014
Hello Crax is loooking better and way more better than before ... i hope u can change your app logo in your application with the new 1.. the new logo is nice!
Like (1)
Version 1.6.10
1 answer(s)
MASLO
MASLO
25 September 2014
App's icon has been changed in version 1.7.0 and in MAS version 1.6.10.
Like
anonymous-dingo-653
23 November 2013
Overall, one might think this is an alternative to Pathfinder (or maybe just Totalfinder, though there is also XtraFInder for free), a Grep unit, an FTP program, etc. You would be wrong. This application started off trying to be too many things at once and even now needs work in most of them. I'm not here to provide free consulting, so I'll leave it at that and go back to Pathfinder... pricier but thrice worth it and the one to beat... or XtraFinder for the rare times I have to work within that horrible Finder.
Like (4)
Version 1.2.7
6 answer(s)
MASLO
MASLO
24 November 2013
I would notice that your critical opinion is not constructive but thank you very much for your opinion on CRAX. CRAX is not yet an alternative to the Pathfinder. CRAX at this point is an application which is much more cheaper. Perhaps features are not sufficient for you, but application is still developed and updated and updates are for free for all new versions. Is it in Pathfinder ?
Like (3)
Cashtro
Cashtro
09 March 2014
@EWAS, Updates are free but how about upgrades? i hope i hear from u soon. Most wanted future is add icons/application on the toolbar
Like
MASLO
MASLO
09 March 2014
Upgrades are also free. You pay once and you have active license forever. This is simple solution the same as Total Commander.
Like (1)
Cashtro
Cashtro
10 March 2014
@EWAS My friend why is your aapstore version older than here at macupdate?
Like
MASLO
MASLO
10 March 2014
Hi, this is problem with AppStore app review procedure. Unfortunately, it takes some time for the Apple team to review app and make it available to buy and update at the AppStore. Sometimes it is a huge latency. It depends on the AppStore review team.
Like
MASLO
MASLO
08 April 2014
Icons/application on the toolbar has been added in the last version of CRAX.
Like
Robertbrock
09 October 2013
Comes with an installer. How to uninstall?
Like
Version 1.1.46
2 answer(s)
MASLO
MASLO
12 October 2013
Simply double click and the Installer App should be opened. This is standard installation package for MacOSX.
Like
MASLO
MASLO
21 October 2013
To uninstall u should simple remove Crax.app from /Applications. Another way is using the some uninstaller application AppCleaner for example/
Like
Bunky
01 October 2013
Seems like a nice little dual pane finder a/la Directory Opus DOPUS that I loved when I was using my old Amiga Computers Quick and easy to use
Like (4)
Version 1.1.46
Awado
26 September 2013
I disagree with homoerectus' statement. Basically it seems to be a nice two pane file utility with remote file system support. There could be some batch file and sync operation. The GREP search is a nice feature. (For the dev: The search pattern field should have the auto update attribute set. At the moment you have to leave this field by pressing TAB to have the application recognized the new input.)
Like (4)
Version 1.1.38
1 answer(s)
MASLO
MASLO
26 September 2013
Thanks for your comment. It is really helpful for the future development of application. I'll take your comments into consideration in the next releases preparation.
Like (2)
Homoerectus
23 September 2013
It has almost no value and should be avoided. It is no improvement at all over the FInder and in fact lacks capabilities the Finder has.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.28
2 answer(s)
MASLO
MASLO
23 September 2013
Did you see the full version or only DEMO ? What value you are expected ?
Like (4)
hwgray
hwgray
19 January 2014
"This sucks" is not a review. It's just an opinion. An *opinion* has no star value. *Why* has CRAX no value and should be avoided? *Why* is it no improvement over the Finder? Is it supposed to be? The only claim that the developer makes is that this version is better than the last version. Next time, post your opinion as a *comment* and not as a "review."
Like (2)