Back to Simplenote page
Simplenote free download for Mac

Simplenote Reviews

1.9
14 January 2020

Note-keeping app that syncs with all your devices.

gautamkrishnar
03 December 2019

Most helpful

Best Note taking app that does its job
Like (1)
Version 1.8

Read 14 Simplenote User Reviews

Rate this app:

gautamkrishnar
03 December 2019
Best Note taking app that does its job
Like (1)
Version 1.8
szeoli-1
17 December 2018
SimpleNote is the champion app if you want cross-platform access to your notes without the bloat of Evernote.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.0
Cattus-Thraex
29 November 2015
Simple, well done, perfectly syncs my mac notes and my notes on an Android phone. A gem of software.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Mhoutman
06 October 2015
After all theses years I love this simple but very powerful software. Yet I have not much experience with the latest Notes app on OS X and iOS. This could be a dangerous contender if you want mote bells and whistles ...
Like
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
Baannongdong-Kap
Baannongdong-Kap
28 November 2015
Question: why is it necessary to open an account? There are so many apps that we need to have an account to use. I fear the security of having to have an account to use an app that supposedly is for private use. Can someone explain? I thought it would be great, but I don't want to use the app before I find out, so I couldn't try it out without creating an account.

Like (3)
Ptk3
Ptk3
26 July 2017
Like Baannongdong-Kap, the need to open an account before doing anything keep me awayr from the new Automattic version of the app. Though I'm a big user of Wordpress (free and hosted versions) and already have an account at wordpress.com, I don't want to open an account to an app that is only a notekeeper, even more if I don't understand the necessity of it…
Like
Mikael-B
31 August 2015
How does SimpleNote improve on the Notepad app coming with OS X and IOS? They're both simple and free. Can I add content in SN I can't with the Notepad app?

Is it just the fact that SN is available on Windows and Android that is the main attraction?
Like (1)
Version 1.0.18
Cattus-Thraex
11 January 2015
Simple and neat. Sometimes, it must be shut down and reopened, as text vanishes after a longer sleep. Work perfectly on my mac and my 2 Android devices, sync is almost simultaneous. Good work.
Like
Version 1.0.14
Prince-Isaac
21 September 2014
I'm curious: People are talking favorably about Just Note in comparison to SimpleNote and for syncing. What are the advantages of one over the other?
Like
Version 1.0.12
1 answer(s)
Simon3
Simon3
13 December 2015
Markdown support. For some of us, that matters a lot.
Like
Colourgravity
11 June 2014
I use and love Simplenote on iOS, and would like very much to use it on OS X, but the lack of sorting options in the Mac version rules it out for me. This is a shame, as I continue to have sync problems with Justnotes, which is my (otherwise excellent) current Mac alternative. I don't understand why Simplenote's developers allow me to sort alphabetically by title on the web app, on my iPhone and on my iPad, but not on my Mac. Very frustrating.
Like
Version 1.0.7
Jazzyguy
27 February 2014
Just had to complement the Developer on a GREAT APP.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.6
Cocoanut
31 December 2013
I like it but I'd love to see a Safari clipping extension to quickly add content from the web. Other than that it's great!
Like (2)
Version 1.0.5
Jazzyguy
28 December 2013
A good and plain app to jot down notes.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
Dolphinboy2u
10 December 2013
Simplenote is a great service and I depend on it throughout the day for numerous to-do lists and other data that I want to have synced throughout my computing ecosystem. However, I don't use this app (and I'd really like to) because it absurdly does not allow you to change the font size. At all. Unbelievable! I currently use Justnotes for my Simplenote syncing, which works well enough but frustratingly drops the connection often, requiring resetting the account about once a day.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.2
Uncle-zed
23 October 2013
The app looks great, but simple note is great for quick and easy notes and it should stay in menubar to be accest instantly form anyware. please! make menubar icon and option to switch off dock mode. i used old justNotes app that sitted in menu bar for ages with simplenote account, and as its a little ugly and not well organised its much quicker to use than dock/quitting app
Like (2)
Version 1.0.2
1 answer(s)
Cocoanut
Cocoanut
31 December 2013
I second your request! Good suggestions.
Like
Mhoutman
20 September 2013
Finally, lean and mean. It's a great app to sync with Simplenote iOS too !
Like
Version 1.0.1