Back to Locko page
Locko free download for Mac

Locko Reviews

1.2.1
23 April 2015

Password manager and file vault with browser extensions.

Mrtomato
10 October 2013

Most helpful

I just bought this so can't really write a thorough review. However, I spotted a huge omission and since the developer seems to be listening, I'll add it here: there is no import function! There's no way I'm going to enter in a couple hundred passwords manually. So within 5 minutes, I've reached an impasse. I'll keep going for the time being just to see how the rest of the app works...
Like (3)
Version 1.0

Read 23 Locko User Reviews

Rate this app:

Visible-Evidence
26 April 2018
Yep, it's abandonware. What a shame. It really was only an update or two from being serious contender. Throw this on the pile with other fantastic apps, like "On The Job" or "Aperture", that dead end and leave you with another ugly data migration on your hands.

It really is burning me out supporting developers who come up with great products but can't seem to find the follow through to, you know, *develop them.* More and more I feel like I'm wasting my time with these people. You want to know how big companies win? THIS is how they win.

I feel like this could have been a four or five star app but I want to give this company one star for abandoning it. So let's split the difference, huh?
Like
Version 1.2.1
Diarbyrag
19 October 2017
I just wanted the final word on this "app"... Don't bother ever... it will be years before this dev ever creates the iphone and/or iPad versions so it will only ever do 1/3rd of a job. I now use Safe+ and it is totally brilliant, it syncs perfectly between the Mac, iPad and iPhone versions, everything is customisable and it secures in 256 bit encryption. I have no connection with the Safe+ dev but I have contacted him and he replies and is helpful !! unlike BN whose replies are usually abrupt and unhelpful even if or when they bother...
Like
Version 1.2.1
Diarbyrag
05 March 2016
Works ok neat and well designed.....except for the fact they appear to have given up supporting it. months since the firefox extension stopped working, no replies from support. no iPad version so not really a very good allround password manager. quite disappointed with Binary Nights
Like
Version 1.2.1
6 answer(s)
Hermie
Hermie
28 April 2016
The Firefox plugin is still NOT SIGNED, which means it gets disabled by FF. You can turn it back on though, search in FireFox Help for the about:config setting.

Locko looks like abandone ware though.
Like (1)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
24 May 2016
Thanks for the reply Hermie, found out how to change the ff setting here http://tinyurl.com/golpg5o , plus there is an add-on for changing about:config,
works now thanks but the dev is still a loser for not bothering to reply.
They will be expecting me to pay for an update to Forklift 3 if they ever finish it.
Fat chance of them getting any more money from me if the ( lack of ) support for that is as bad as Locko.
Like (1)
Hermie
Hermie
25 May 2016
BinaryNights just emailed me back saying they want to release Forklift 3 before looking at Locko. In the mean time I read on Firefox Help somewhere that starting with the next major update to FF 47 the about:config trick won't work anymore. Which means I'll then dump Locko and switch to 1Password probably.
Like (1)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
01 August 2016
I know they want to finish Forklift but how long must it take to just sign the FF extension, that is all we are asking for, I honestly think that Binary Nights is just one person, you were lucky to get an email if they ( or he or she ) is that busy 24 hours a day. I'll believe it when I see it...
Like (1)
Hermie
Hermie
03 August 2016
Firefox 48 disables the Locko plugin permanently, no more workaround. Dev has done nothing at all to get it signed, as expected. So goodbye Locko!
Like
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
27 February 2017
Had a look at the BN site and the firefox extension is dated 24th Dec 2016, so they may have updated it for Christmas, however I deleted Locko ages ago so too little too late BN !

I have now bought safe+ and although that does not work with firefox it is available on Mac OS and iOS and syncs via wifi perfectly between the mac. ipad and iphone with 256-bit AES encryption and i can add custom icons. Fantastic and highly recommended.

I tried FL3 but it is very buggy and tries to do too much so I have bought Yummy ftp and that works perfectly too.

I wish Bn well but you can only wait so long for a product that works !
Like (1)
misterjspencer
06 December 2015
Its cheaper than half price compared to 1Password, it does the same job. It syncs using iCloud like Keychain, it automatically backs itself up. It has an add on for every browser. it works smoothly and easily. Money well spent.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Stephan2nd
16 August 2015
Very good alternative for 1Password. Worth checking out
Like
Version 1.2.1
misterjspencer
03 May 2015
I downloaded this to test it. I like the idea of this because it so much cheaper that 1 Password. However the Lockohelper crashes all the time and so it is worthless to me, I have extensions installed on Chrome and Safari but they just won't work without the helper.
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
misterjspencer
misterjspencer
03 May 2015
Sorry I take it all back, I took a risk, uninstalled the demo and bought it on the MAS, it now works perfectly
Like
Macmeyou
23 November 2014
Still no IPad version.
Like
Version 1.2
M-Luther
11 October 2014
Locko is currently FREE! If you go to the App Store, this is what you will find: *** Free until the iOS version is available *** I am currently using 1Password v.3, and am not going to pay to upgrade to 1Password v.4, so "bought" Locko now so it is in my App Store purchase history, as I may use it in the future if 1Password v.3 quits working on me.
Like (2)
Version 1.2
Dan-D
25 August 2014
Free for a limited time now! Actually "Free until IOS version is available" – Yay!!! iOS version is just around the corner! :-D
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Chas-m
20 August 2014
Still listed as 1.1.1 at the Mac App Store. I assume (hope) that will change in a day or so, would really like to test Locko under Yosemite.
Like
Version 1.2
2 answer(s)
Binarynights
Binarynights
21 August 2014
Locko has been already submitted to the App store and should be available within a couple of days.
Like
Dan-D
Dan-D
28 August 2014
Update (V1.2) was approved and is available for download via MAS today.
Like
Dan-D
10 August 2014
I really like the interface – I would switch from 1Password to Lock just for the great UI – but I'd love to see an iOS-version of Locko ! Having all my passwords/log-in data/serial numbers/etc. in (wifi-) sync with my MacOS and iOS devices is the main reason I stick with 1Password.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Wafubu
29 July 2014
simple elegant and works every time.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Cocoanut
05 May 2014
I like Locko's interface much more than 1Password and the application is stable and well designed but it needs features. Here is my list in order of importance to me: - wifi syncing - drag and drop items between folders - better organization of folder tab. Should segregate the generic folders which only hold one type of data with folders that you can organize yourself - manual reordering of folders - Title headers for the item list - ability to create or hide custom fields - create new items by drag and drop of items to the dock icon. Example I'd like to add a photo by dragging a pic to the dock icon and have the app know which folder i want it to go into. Same with a pdf file or text data - a popup window to quickly add a new item from any application - Of all the similar apps out there, I think Locko is the best suited to evolve into a desperately needed Bento replacement; a personal database, not necessarily focused on passwords but on personal data of all types. Since Bento left this space there are no real alternatives except for Tap Forms. Tap Forms is a nice app with a wonderful feature set but it's far, far too buggy and unstable to be taken seriously as a storehouse for personal info. Locko is very different, but it's tight programming and excellent UI make it a great base to build a personal database on. I hope the developer chooses this route rather than trying to compete with 1Password, I think that would be far more difficult than what I propose. Great app. Good luck!
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
2 answer(s)
Cocoanut
Cocoanut
05 May 2014
Locko has manual reordering of folders, what I meant to say was categorizing of folders into custom groups.
Like
Dan-D
Dan-D
25 August 2014
WIFI-Sync would be a great feature indeed!
Like
Djefis
25 April 2014
Simple and functional, it can only get better.
Like
Version 1.1.1
SickTeddyBear
23 April 2014
For a limited time, this is only $0.99 in the MAS: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/locko/id863040375?ls=1&mt=12
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
phasevier
10 April 2014
horrible update. Notes can not be displayed. After accessing a note no content of any object can be displayed! rollback to 1.0 does not find the backups.
Like
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
Binarynights
Binarynights
10 April 2014
Sorry for the inconvenience. We have fixed the issue already and the update will be available soon. Before it goes official you can download it here: http://download.binarynights.com/Locko1.1.1.zip Let me know if it works for you.
Like (2)
phasevier
phasevier
11 April 2014
@dev: great! works fine, but needs some improvements at the buttons to edit the entries. Some of these are too short and in German there is " Abbrech " instead of " Abbrechen ". Thank you!
Like
Ryan129
07 December 2013
Hello I recently tried out Locko, and it works, but some UX tweaking would be appreciated: - pressing tab in the "custom fields" section should add a new custom note - hotkeys for adding custom fields - ability to add custom icons Is there an issue with the current version of Locko's browser plugin and Safari 7? Because I cannot get it working on Safari 7 nor on Chromium. I personally dislike the skeumorphic look, so I made some clean backgrounds for Locko. Screenshot: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/43553575/Locko/Locko_scr.png Files: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/43553575/Locko/Locko_clean_textures.zip
Like (1)
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
Cocoanut
Cocoanut
14 December 2013
Ryan129 I agree with your assessment of Locko. Overall it's UI is excellent and I really like the smooth feel of the app and the refined user experience. That said, I also agree about the skeumorphic look, I don't mind textures though, just not the colors and textures of the app as it currently is. So, besides needing a minor paint job, the application is definitely a winner. I'm looking forward to some fleshed out features and hopefully wifi sync. This is the one feature which keeps me stuck in 1Password world.
Like
Ryan129
Ryan129
20 December 2013
Hello again I recently made myself a minimalistic Locko icon and a new set of textures and thought you people might like it. https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/43553575/Locko/Locko_icon.png https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/43553575/Locko/Locko_textures_21-12-2013.zip
Like (1)
Binarynights
Binarynights
20 January 2014
@Ryan129 Thanks for the mockups. I think you will like the upcoming update which will have a flatter look :) You can already find some screenshots if you check out our tweeter.
Like
Mrtomato
10 October 2013
I just bought this so can't really write a thorough review. However, I spotted a huge omission and since the developer seems to be listening, I'll add it here: there is no import function! There's no way I'm going to enter in a couple hundred passwords manually. So within 5 minutes, I've reached an impasse. I'll keep going for the time being just to see how the rest of the app works...
Like (3)
Version 1.0
7 answer(s)
Binarynights
Binarynights
11 October 2013
Hi Mrtomato, Please let us know which application you would like import from.
Like
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
12 October 2013
Lastpass and 1Password. I will add to my review here that once websites are added to the plugin, the plugin works fairly well. Websites can be added automatically once you've logged in, but Locko does not ask to save them. A notification would be nice..
Like
YuriF3583
YuriF3583
14 October 2013
Import from 1password would be nice
Like (2)
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
24 October 2013
I was about to make a feature request for a separate app locker tab until I noticed that I can add my own categories. I have to say that I like this feature a lot! However, I have not been able to work out how to save license keys for apps that require them. I'm adding them to the Documents folder for now, but this is not an ideal solution.
Like
chris-com
chris-com
12 November 2013
I don't think I'm alone in my desire to find an alternative to 1Password. (Their "completely re-written" version 4 is a debacle, IMO.) You may want to capitalize on their misstep and make it very easy for people to switch.
Like
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
23 March 2014
that's the first thing that came in my mind to.
Like
Slowandsteady
Slowandsteady
23 April 2014
Import from mSecure by Mseven software
Like
stuff-7
10 October 2013
Binary Nights is an amazing dev - Forklift is the best FTP I have used... but Locko needs a lot more work. There simply has to be ios counterpart for a serious password app for business use IMO. There needs to be a pop up or toolbar for auto save when Locko detects a log in. The log in needs to have the option to be put in categories and auto login or not. There should be multiple fields in log ins, different categories for log ins, credit card details etc. Importing would be nice too (from Lastpass or 1 Password). I want my computer to stay logged in to Locko indefinitely not just 30 minutes. I want to swap & use Locko but it's not ready for us...YET! I expect this to grow & hopefully soon I will love it as much as forklift!
Like (1)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Binarynights
Binarynights
10 October 2013
Hi Ploth, Thanks for the review. We're listening and will consider your suggestions in the upcoming updates. You can disable Auto-Locko in Preferences > Security already.
Like
Davidmeade
Davidmeade
25 July 2014
I love Forklift, too! Haven't tried Locko yet. Based on reviews, I might wait a bit. I've had 1Password. Presently i use RoboForm Anywhere app for most everything. It's good, clean, syncs between devices.
Like
Nontroppo
09 October 2013
Hm, love the screenshot showing Forklift 3 features notes -- YUM YUM!!!
Like
Version 1.0
xBlack
08 October 2013
The new Mini icon is very annoying and it won't let me use Safari without automatically enabling that icon. If this is how is going to be from now on, I'll temporary revert back to version 3. Already looking at Locko, which looks great: https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/49100/locko
Like
Version 1.0
Cocoanut
24 September 2013
After spending more quality time with this app I have to retract my comment above that it's bare-bones for the price. Not only is the interface polished and very clearly thought out, but the features one expects in this type of app are there and nicely executed. So I was wrong in jumping to any conclusion about that. Yet, my comment that it should be priced lower stands. This isn't due to a lack of value, it's due to a sense that an app like this, in a crowded field, should compete on price when in the development stage to get people interested. Just my humble opinion.... That said, I do have some feature requests: - an iPhone app - WiFi syncing - An input "tray" which lets a user easily add items from other apps. Overall, the app is highly refined and surprisingly full featured for v1.0.
Like (2)
Version 1.0 Beta 2
Cocoanut
17 September 2013
I sort of like this, nice interface but VERY bare bones for the price. I think this would be much better priced @ $4.99 rather than $20.00. I'll keep watching it but would never purchase at this price.
Like (1)
Version 1.0 Beta 2
6 answer(s)
Binarynights
Binarynights
17 September 2013
Hi Cocoanut, Thanks for the feedback. Please let us know what functionality or feature you are missing and we will consider it in a future update.
Like
Okuyukashī
Okuyukashī
30 September 2013
Why does the interface look so much like 1Password?
Like
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
01 October 2013
1Password on the other hand is 50 bucks!
Like
Okuyukashī
Okuyukashī
01 October 2013
@Rasputinsrevengereloadet AND it's been proven over multiple devices. AND I have yet to see anyone say they have been breeched in 1Password. AND once paid forever upgrades free. AND whats your point in brining up price for security?
Like
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
01 October 2013
@OkuyukashÄ I'm just saying, I'm also a 1Password user since the early beta and still very happy with it. But when this software will be any near as good as the developers other software called ForkLift, then Locko will be very good also!
Like
Okuyukashī
Okuyukashī
07 October 2013
@Rasputinsrevengereloadet fair enough. But does not answer the original question...Why does the interface look so much like 1Password? Is it so that you can "steal" away 1Password customers with a familiar GUI? hmmmm? I just see this sort of thing over and over and copyrights lawsuits over & over. . .
Like