Back to sixtyforce page
sixtyforce free download for Mac

sixtyforce Reviews

2.0.0
14 October 2019

Play Nintendo 64 games on your Mac.

Corradokid
08 August 2011

Most helpful

Your best N64 emulation option for OS X, but support is seriously lacking, sadly. Can't help but feel with an update of the app it could take much better advantage of OS X's progression as an OS and possibly support better audio/video. I paid for the app YEARS ago and still feel it was worth it, but hope either Gerrit continues work on the app or lets someone else take over the project.
Like (4)
Version 0.9.5b1

Read 52 sixtyforce User Reviews

Rate this app:

Swordman
29 August 2012
Version 0.9.6 crashes almost immediately upon launching. Repeated efforts yielded exactly the same. Reverting to older version fixed the problems.
Like
Version 0.9.6
2 answer(s)
Corradokid
Corradokid
02 September 2012
Working fine for me... late 2011 15in MBP, OS X 10.8.1.
Like
Swordman
Swordman
07 October 2012
0.9.7 All is right with the world again. Terrific job Gerrit!
Like (1)
Corradokid
08 August 2011
Your best N64 emulation option for OS X, but support is seriously lacking, sadly. Can't help but feel with an update of the app it could take much better advantage of OS X's progression as an OS and possibly support better audio/video. I paid for the app YEARS ago and still feel it was worth it, but hope either Gerrit continues work on the app or lets someone else take over the project.
Like (4)
Version 0.9.5b1
2 answer(s)
Biggey
Biggey
08 September 2011
I completely agree, this is in sore need of an update, the last stable release was from 2007, and the latest beta (from early 2010) crashes a lot and also gets rid of widescreen and resolution customization. Here's to hoping that Gerrit will continue development very soon, or maybe even make it open source like Dolphin. Either way, it's pretty much the best us Mac users can get for a N64 Emulator, so it would be awful to see it die :/
Like (2)
randald
randald
17 December 2015
Have you tried the OpenEmu option and it's FREE...
Like
polarbear1717
31 March 2011
i cant figure out how to download specific games onto the sixty force... if i dont need to download them, how do i get them???
Like
Version 0.9.5b1
1 answer(s)
Corradokid
Corradokid
09 August 2011
You still need the ROM files (games) for Sixtyforce to open and play. Once you have those you just choose "Open" from the File menu.
Like
Yoshinatsu
02 June 2010
OOT's graphics are all messed up with the new beta version... Weirdly enough, Majora's Mask works just fine :S
Like
Version 0.9.5b1
Daniel-Bazurto
24 May 2010
Screen is black on the bata version, Am I the only one with this problem?
Like
Version 0.9.5b1
Artistlive
13 November 2009
I need help. This is stupid, but once I download a plugin for games on sixty force, how do i "plug them in"???? How do I get them to work?
Like
Version 0.9.2
some-kid-you-know
14 November 2008
is there going to be a gameshark for this i wish so that's why i payed for this kick*** Emu and i'm sorry but mupen64 does not work on mac version 10.4.11 it mite not it does not work on zelda games though...
Like
Version 0.9.2
Hendo
23 December 2007
I wish it was free:( Oh well, maybe I'll buy in the near future.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.2
Anonymousse
20 November 2007
On an Intel Macbook, it works perfectly. It is definitely worth supporting and paying the $16 fee...naturally, it runs faster when it's not full-screen, but it still works fine when it is. The only problems I encountered stemmed from using faulty ROMs. Controllers can be used, keyboard controls can be adjusted and most every aspect can be adjusted/tweaked. I've found it to work so far with all the major titles. Well worth it.
Like
Version 0.9.1
Geepz
16 October 2007
Much improved. Hope development continues. Great work and much appreciated.
Like
Version 0.9.1
Maukku92
06 May 2007
I was amazed about sixtyforces performance on 0.9.0 version. Many games run very well on my mac mini G4 1.42ghz and 1 g of ram. There is just one question: Is it possible to save games like Majoras mask, in free version of sixtyforce? I thought that it is (like in older versions), and I played to second dungeon (and saved always when possible), then i did quit the game, and next time everything was gone! There was nothing in /documents/sixtyforce saved games folder. p.s Sorry for my bad english :p
Like
Version 0.9.0
Starbark
04 March 2007
i installed the new version 0.9.0 over 0.9.0b1. unfortunately, i can no longer run my saved games. i can still see the sixtyforce Saved Games > Cartridge Database but I don't kno why sixtyforce does not recognize it. i have "enable memory expansion pack" checked, but still nothing.
Like
Version 0.9.0
Soma
30 November 2006
I'm amazed this emulator has come as far as it has, and I look forward to version 1.0. I know emulators (on PC or Mac) take a lot of work, which explains why there are so few out there and even fewer that actually work well enough to use (MAME being an exception, but that's a far cry from an N64). It seems to me that very few games work on it well enough to actually play. The only one I've found so far is Mario Party 3. The rest, many of them the most popular N64 titles, either don't work or technically function but are simply unplayable (i.e. Goldeneye, The World is Not Enough, Donkey Kong 64). Some games appear to work but freeze and or cannot save data later (i.e. Mario Kart 64). I don't have the entire N64 game catalog at my disposal, so maybe you'll have better luck with your collection. Rest assured, at only version 0.8.5, this program is extremely stable and data safe. I'm glad so much of the effort thus far has been put into making the application useable and user-friendly. It's definitely worth trying out on your own N64 game collection. I'm thinking of buying it now, and I never buy anything before a final 1.0 release. But, this app is 95% of the way there and only needs a bit more tweaking (as far as I can tell) to get a large number of games working, and working well. Seems like a solid investment towards the future product.
Like
Version 0.8.5
1 answer(s)
polarbear1717
polarbear1717
31 March 2011
how did you get to playing mario party 3
Like
Davets
07 November 2006
Amazing emulator, all of its functions work surprisingly well. It loads game freezes very fast. The ability to change the resolution is a godsend, along with the large selection of resolutions to choose from. Full Screen mode = thumbs up. Unfortunately (maybe its just me), when I've played around with the graphic adjustments it just screws the display of the game up, rather then improve the quality. Maybe its just the way the games are ported. Also, although I can get any game to load and show up there are a lot of games that I've found don't play well, or at all, much past the title screen, if the graphics load correctly. And the audio plug-in could use some improvement(or be reworked all together) as the track tends be broken up into segments that play, then pause, then play; very much like a bad streaming audio file. You can completely rework all the controls with a variety of controller options. Games run smooth when they run, and freeze when they dont. The games that work, work great! Can't wait to see future versions.
Like
Version 0.8.5
1 answer(s)
Davets
Davets
07 November 2006
p.s. The save functions (aside from the game freezes) tend to not work for me, oh well.
Like
Version 0.8.5
Tuxy-Boi
06 October 2006
Great emulator! I'd just like to see more things to be supported with the PPC version too, but since it's a Universal Binary (I think) it won't really matter (I think again) What I really want to see is GameShark to be in the emulator too, I've always wanted to run the "Beta Quests" in Legend Of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. Also, maybe a new sound plugin would be great - I've heard you can download them, buy I don't know where :/ I love the ability to be able to put my resolution ack up to 1280 x 1024 while playing the emulator - makes it look nice a crisp (unlike the sketchy 640 x 480 ‚) Anyways, great job on the emulator so far and keep up the good work! P.S. Hopefully my ideas will be considered :)
Like
Version 0.8.5b3
Graxa1982
05 September 2006
Mario Kart support for intel, please.
Like
Version 0.8.5b2
Istumbler
04 September 2006
Okay, after playing a bit the Intel version of Sixtyforce is excellent. The PPC version lagged on my 1Ghz Powerbook but now I have to turn on speed limiting just to make mario playable. Looks beautiful, plays smoothly, even the default keyboard controls are well though out. $15 is a great price for a product of this caliber, you just can't underestimate the ammount of work that goes into making really great software.
Like
Version 0.8.5b2
Istumbler
04 September 2006
I was excited to play Zelda, sadly it's not supported yet: "This preview release is meant to show off months of work on sixtyforce's Intel support. (So you can finally rest assured an Intel version is vigorously being worked on.)" "On Intel machines, the only playable game is Super Mario 64." Guess I'll have to settle for collecting a few stars...
Like
Version 0.8.5b2
Nigletsyz
04 April 2006
Works well, but $15 just isn't worth donating for an emulator as basic as this i.e. no cheat support, sound still sucks.
Like
Version 0.8.5b1
Qwerty-Denzel
04 April 2006
It's back!
Like
Version 0.8.5b1
Anonymous
17 October 2005
Sixtyforce is awesome. I love it. It works well and my favourite game is MarioKart 64. You can get free commerical N64 ROMs via Limewire
Like
Version 0.8
2 answer(s)
Julien
Julien
27 November 2005
What Mac do you use ? Mine freezes when I finish a cup, does yours do that too ?
Like
Version 0.8
S-kalb
S-kalb
28 April 2006
me too, freezes when finishing cup
Like
Version 0.8.5b1
Anonymous
05 August 2005
i had much trouble getting this to work with my ibook g4 1.2ghz 1.25g RAM.. but after reading through many forums i finally found the problem to the "lagging" that many people get when playing... if you are using a notebook that runs on battery power make sure to check the "better performance" in the prefrences menu energy saver section.. this makes a big diffrence as the cpu is running full throttle instead of half to save battery. this way you get the most from your emulator. this probably should be stated somewhere in the documentation so that ppl kno why its not working on their system as it should. as for those of you that are running lower than 600mhz.. i believe it states somewhere that the minimum amount of processor speed to run it must be at least 600mhz.. so that may be ur problem.. i duno. if you get this far also go through all of the graphics and prefrence menus in sixtyforce to select things that will get you either better fps or better game play... dont check things to get you better graphics because this is just not going to work. neway i love this emulator.. the only problem ive had thus far has to do with my usb controller.. im using an xbox controller to usb adapter with the "xbox hid driver" 2.somthing... it works for all my other emulators [i.e nestopia, boycott] but when i try to configure it in sixtyforce it wont recognize the buttons but only the analog sticks. i duno whats the deal there but it just wont work. ive tried using "gamepad companion" but it cause the emulation to slow down quite a bit along with the rest of my system as it makes odd demonic noises through my speakers when activated. ive tryed usb overdrive also with little success.. i cant seem to configure it with the xbox controller.. i think its just not recognizing it as a gamepad. neway i hope this helps out someone cause i had to a bit of research to get this far but its all worth it. =P
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
30 June 2005
But it's much slower and there is no decent Mac port of 0.4 since the original porter quitted some time ago.
Like
Version 0.8
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 June 2005
Sorry, was talking about Mupen 64. That reply function here seems to fail from time to time...
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
26 June 2005
mupen64 is better,open source,and free.
Like
Version 0.8
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 October 2005
Mupen64 doesn't work on my eMac. So I use Sixtyforce.
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
21 April 2005
Wouldn't it be illegal to charge for an emulator of a system made by another company?
Like
Version 0.8
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 April 2005
No, it's completely legal. See, for example, Connectix Virtual Gamestation.
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
24 December 2004
Where is a site that allows you to get roms?
Like
Version 0.8
1 answer(s)
Pridmore
Pridmore
22 July 2005
Are all the Nintendo 64 roms on romreactor.net compatible with sixtyforce?
Like
Version 0.8
09 September 2004
I always get an error. It has to be with opengl. Im running os 10.1.5 and it has opengl. I dont understand what is going on. Before i upgraded to os 10.1.5 i was running os 9.2.2 and this emulator was working good, but now it doesnt. If you wanna help, contact me at xboxgt12@yahoo.com
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
30 August 2004
i just got sixtyforce for my os X which is an ibook G4. i don't know how to run the roms after i download them. do all roms work? o yeah and i need a good rom downloading site
Like
Version 0.8
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 February 2005
U open up sixtyforce. Drop down the file menu and go to open rom find gthe rom in the folder you placed it. Limewire is a great program to find roms
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
23 June 2004
Ok, works alright for me, shame about the very small resolution, but it has quite good compatibility and runs games at a good speed. I've found that Mupen's free full screen and multiple resolutions are much better, and it has more compatability with n64 rom files than sixtyforce, but it lacks the many options sixtyforce has to do with graphics, and the audio is much better on sixtyforce too. I recommed trying them both. So yeah, great program, shame about paying for smaller resolutions than a free version brings, but the free functions are great.
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
26 May 2004
Sixtyforce 0.8 works great for me. I've had a little trouble with sounds not working, but it's the best N64 emulator out there for Mac. Nintendo_Kid, you have no idea what you're talking about.
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
23 March 2004
its a legitamate emulator, its just the games are a little tricky to hide ( hint: look for "v64" files). Otherwise its a great app for your mac. Just the pain of having to register it and all, but otherwise its WORTH IT.
Like
Version 0.8
Rick
25 January 2004
I have a new 15" PowerBook. It's runnin a 1.25 GHz G4 with 512 SDRAM and this emulator still runs pretty choppy. What's the deal? It doesn't give you many options to lower the frame rate or whatever. I don't know if this is normal or not. If anyone has any advice, then please email me.
Like
Version 0.7.5
Anonymous
23 December 2003
This is not free, you have to register it to be able to run in full screen.
Like
Version 0.7.5
FLAN!
24 November 2003
Definately the best n64 emulator i have found yet. But Its slow on my mac, is it my mac or the emulator? I have a ibook G3 600mhz w/384 mb RAM thats 2 years old. Do I need a video or graphics card to make it run at the right speed? And are there any other graphics or audio plugins that are compatible? Please Help.
Like
Version 0.7.5b2
1 answer(s)
Corradokid
Corradokid
11 April 2004
I believe it's your Mac - a G3 just won't cut it with your video card. I'm running a 533MHz G4 (altivec instructions help a lot) and an nVidia GeForce 4MX (64MB) card with 1.12GB RAM and it's *just* playable. A friend has a 17" Powerbook and it's much better for her, but the sound is still choppy so it looks like Gerrit has a little more work to do and things should be better.
Like
Version 0.8
David Wagner
19 November 2003
i cant find any games and when i do they dont work.
Like
Version 0.7.5b2
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 January 2004
download Acqlite. it's a great mac p2p program. you'll find ton's of ROMs on that.
Like
Version 0.7.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 January 2004
Unfortunately the only way to find roms is on limewire but if you own the cartridge it is totally legal. If there is a better way please post it.
Like
Version 0.7.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 February 2004
Try emuparadise.org you have to register, but it's free. enjoy
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
19 November 2003
Seems to not to use threading in a Dual CPU Setup. So just one is used. Sound is still squirky. BUT it´s gettin better !
Like
Version 0.7.5b2
Anonymous
22 September 2003
i think the graphics are great but need to focuys on speed and game support
Like
Version 0.7.0
Anonymous
17 September 2003
I think that they should try to focus on more game support too.. But the software , is great.
Like
Version 0.7.0
Anonymous
11 September 2003
Im'a gonna wait a few months for them to improve it. -_-
Like
Version 0.7.0b4
Anonymous
01 September 2003
I have gotten 102 in 1 sitting... so its not IMPOSSIBLE
Like
Version 0.7.0b3
UmarOMC
01 September 2003
As of this version; quits trying to run ANYTHING! FW800 MDDG4 1GHz/1GB RAM/Radeon9kPro/X.2.6
Like
Version 0.7.0b3
Marky
12 August 2003
you can find custom made n64 roms at www.pdroms.com. this website also does not have the top 50ww and also dos not have porn ads on it so it is safe to go on.
Like
Version 0.62b1
Anonymous
29 July 2003
So far what i can see with the demo rom is that it works good. However, i would like to get some real roms to test it out. Does anyone know a commercial website that i can find these and not have to go through a bunch of 'Top Fifty'and porno?
Like
Version 0.62b1
Ian Lueck
04 March 2003
To the previous poster: Actually, battery back-up support IS implemented; it's in the Cartridge Database file. It's updated every time you play a game. You're correct on the save states, though. Hopefully that will be added.
Like
Version 0.62b1
Anonymous
04 March 2003
Its really good, but lacking in compatability. I'm sure the next release will be much better. Currently it doesn't save nor does it let me make freeze states, so even playing the few games it DOES work with is impossible. Who can get all 150 stars in mario in one sitting?
Like
Version 0.62b1
1 answer(s)
Julien
Julien
27 November 2005
Well, I have the same problem : each time I finish a cup in Mario Kart, the game freezes and doesn't save my progress. Therefore I can't progress nor in Mario Kart, neither in Super Mario 64, and I can't even start a Zelda... I wrote the author, but got no answer. If someone has a solution, please let me know !... Otherwise, it works great on my iMac G4.
Like
Version 0.8
Ian Lueck
26 February 2003
All I'm able to play in 0.62b1 is Mario 64, which runs perfectly. Pretty much all other games are ultra slow, have serious graphical glitches, or crash the emulator on start. And forget about playing a game with sound; it just slows it down, and I own an iMac, 800 MHz with 512 MB of RAM!
Like
Version 0.62b1
Anonymous
09 April 2002
where can i get roms for it?
Like
Version 0.62b1
Mizra
08 February 2002
Let me remind everyone that this is the ONLY Nintendo 64 emulator for mac. Virtual Reality, the alternative, a port from pc, doesn't compare. Gerrit has done an excellent job on this project, and I hope he continues work on this ambitious emulation undertaking.
Like
Version 0.60
Anonymous
07 February 2002
SixtyForce has a full emulation feature set, I just falls flat in other places. Like compatibility. It only plays old popular games. Think Mario, not Zelda :( . Plus without a 733 or faster, you cannot have sound and have the graphics run full speen. It's more than a good start, it just needs a ton of optimizing and compatibility work.
Like
Version 0.60
IrnBru001
19 May 2001
This simply is unplayable. I'm on a G4 450Mhz and it is still too slow to play. Not at all worth the download. Wait for a full release.
Like
Version 0.5.6b1