Back to sixtyforce page
sixtyforce free download for Mac

sixtyforce Reviews

29 October 2020

Play Nintendo 64 games on your Mac.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Josh "Light" Work
Josh "Light" Work
May 28 2021
2.0.2
0.0
May 28 2021
0.0
Version: 2.0.2
the web form on his website isn't working. does anyone know another way to get in touch? his email used to be available but no longer. any pointers? thanks!
Simba-Cub
Simba-Cub
Nov 26 2020
2.0.2
0.0
Nov 26 2020
0.0
Version: 2.0.2
re. version sixtyforce 2.0.2 EXCELLENT emulator, hardly misses a beat. Been updated regularly recently and work seems evident. Now the task is to upgrade it to the new M1 chip Apple have brought out which is probably no easy thing!
Swordman
Swordman
Aug 29 2012
0.9.6
0.0
Aug 29 2012
0.0
Version: 0.9.6
Version 0.9.6 crashes almost immediately upon launching. Repeated efforts yielded exactly the same. Reverting to older version fixed the problems.
Corradokid
Corradokid
Aug 8 2011
0.9.5b1
5.0
Aug 8 2011
5.0
Version: 0.9.5b1
Your best N64 emulation option for OS X, but support is seriously lacking, sadly. Can't help but feel with an update of the app it could take much better advantage of OS X's progression as an OS and possibly support better audio/video. I paid for the app YEARS ago and still feel it was worth it, but hope either Gerrit continues work on the app or lets someone else take over the project.
polarbear1717
polarbear1717
Mar 31 2011
0.9.5b1
4.0
Mar 31 2011
4.0
Version: 0.9.5b1
i cant figure out how to download specific games onto the sixty force... if i dont need to download them, how do i get them???
Yoshinatsu
Yoshinatsu
Jun 2 2010
0.9.5b1
0.0
Jun 2 2010
0.0
Version: 0.9.5b1
OOT's graphics are all messed up with the new beta version... Weirdly enough, Majora's Mask works just fine :S
Daniel-Bazurto
Daniel-Bazurto
May 24 2010
0.9.5b1
0.0
May 24 2010
0.0
Version: 0.9.5b1
Screen is black on the bata version, Am I the only one with this problem?
Artistlive
Artistlive
Nov 13 2009
0.9.2
0.0
Nov 13 2009
0.0
Version: 0.9.2
I need help. This is stupid, but once I download a plugin for games on sixty force, how do i "plug them in"???? How do I get them to work?
Guest
Guest
Nov 14 2008
0.9.2
0.0
Nov 14 2008
0.0
Version: 0.9.2
is there going to be a gameshark for this i wish so that's why i payed for this kick*** Emu and i'm sorry but mupen64 does not work on mac version 10.4.11 it mite not it does not work on zelda games though...
Hendo
Hendo
Dec 23 2007
0.9.2
0.0
Dec 23 2007
0.0
Version: 0.9.2
I wish it was free:( Oh well, maybe I'll buy in the near future.
Anonymousse
Anonymousse
Nov 20 2007
0.9.1
5.0
Nov 20 2007
5.0
Version: 0.9.1
On an Intel Macbook, it works perfectly. It is definitely worth supporting and paying the $16 fee...naturally, it runs faster when it's not full-screen, but it still works fine when it is. The only problems I encountered stemmed from using faulty ROMs. Controllers can be used, keyboard controls can be adjusted and most every aspect can be adjusted/tweaked. I've found it to work so far with all the major titles. Well worth it.
Geepz
Geepz
Oct 16 2007
0.9.1
4.0
Oct 16 2007
4.0
Version: 0.9.1
Much improved. Hope development continues. Great work and much appreciated.
Maukku92
Maukku92
May 6 2007
0.9.0
0.0
May 6 2007
0.0
Version: 0.9.0
I was amazed about sixtyforces performance on 0.9.0 version. Many games run very well on my mac mini G4 1.42ghz and 1 g of ram. There is just one question: Is it possible to save games like Majoras mask, in free version of sixtyforce? I thought that it is (like in older versions), and I played to second dungeon (and saved always when possible), then i did quit the game, and next time everything was gone! There was nothing in /documents/sixtyforce saved games folder. p.s Sorry for my bad english :p
Starbark
Starbark
Mar 4 2007
0.9.0
0.0
Mar 4 2007
0.0
Version: 0.9.0
i installed the new version 0.9.0 over 0.9.0b1. unfortunately, i can no longer run my saved games. i can still see the sixtyforce Saved Games > Cartridge Database but I don't kno why sixtyforce does not recognize it. i have "enable memory expansion pack" checked, but still nothing.
Soma
Soma
Dec 9 2006
0.8.5
0.0
Dec 9 2006
0.0
Version: 0.8.5
Important ammendment to my previous review! I have been able to make some games work *perfectly* that I previously may have mentioned as "technically working, but not really playable." I'm talking about major games, some of which made the N64 popular and definitely make this emulator an incredible must-have fun item. Off the top of my head, I have been able to get GoldenEye, Diddy Kong Racing, Perfect Dark (#1) working perfectly, with NO graphics or interface problems. Again, these are only three that I can remember. There were others, and you should try your own collection! Sound may still be problematic and a bit skippy on some titles, but I found that disabling in-game music works most times. Otherwise, try toggling the "enable audio plugin" setting (or, worst case, just toggle the entire "enable sound" setting). But a fair number of these games run perfectly otherwise. In every case, try running the ROM again and again with various settings on/off (i.e. audio plugin, expansion pack, speed limiter, and the big one that helped me make major games work: multisample level, under graphic settings). Also, no matter how sure you are, make sure your game ROM works. I found one or two ROMs were faulty, nothing to do with Sixtyforce whatsoever. I'm having a lot more fun, and this thing is worth the money, easily. Sure, it doesn't work with everything. And it needs a bit more smoothing with regards to the audio plugin, but I've never seen an emulator so robust, stable, and functional. You just have to be willing to experiment with the settings (sometimes even the settings that you don't understand and are really apprehensive about touching!).
Soma
Soma
Nov 30 2006
0.8.5
0.0
Nov 30 2006
0.0
Version: 0.8.5
I'm amazed this emulator has come as far as it has, and I look forward to version 1.0. I know emulators (on PC or Mac) take a lot of work, which explains why there are so few out there and even fewer that actually work well enough to use (MAME being an exception, but that's a far cry from an N64). It seems to me that very few games work on it well enough to actually play. The only one I've found so far is Mario Party 3. The rest, many of them the most popular N64 titles, either don't work or technically function but are simply unplayable (i.e. Goldeneye, The World is Not Enough, Donkey Kong 64). Some games appear to work but freeze and or cannot save data later (i.e. Mario Kart 64). I don't have the entire N64 game catalog at my disposal, so maybe you'll have better luck with your collection. Rest assured, at only version 0.8.5, this program is extremely stable and data safe. I'm glad so much of the effort thus far has been put into making the application useable and user-friendly. It's definitely worth trying out on your own N64 game collection. I'm thinking of buying it now, and I never buy anything before a final 1.0 release. But, this app is 95% of the way there and only needs a bit more tweaking (as far as I can tell) to get a large number of games working, and working well. Seems like a solid investment towards the future product.
Davets
Davets
Nov 7 2006
0.8.5
4.0
Nov 7 2006
4.0
Version: 0.8.5
Amazing emulator, all of its functions work surprisingly well. It loads game freezes very fast. The ability to change the resolution is a godsend, along with the large selection of resolutions to choose from. Full Screen mode = thumbs up. Unfortunately (maybe its just me), when I've played around with the graphic adjustments it just screws the display of the game up, rather then improve the quality. Maybe its just the way the games are ported. Also, although I can get any game to load and show up there are a lot of games that I've found don't play well, or at all, much past the title screen, if the graphics load correctly. And the audio plug-in could use some improvement(or be reworked all together) as the track tends be broken up into segments that play, then pause, then play; very much like a bad streaming audio file. You can completely rework all the controls with a variety of controller options. Games run smooth when they run, and freeze when they dont. The games that work, work great! Can't wait to see future versions.
Tuxy-Boi
Tuxy-Boi
Oct 6 2006
0.8.5b3
0.0
Oct 6 2006
0.0
Version: 0.8.5b3
Great emulator! I'd just like to see more things to be supported with the PPC version too, but since it's a Universal Binary (I think) it won't really matter (I think again) What I really want to see is GameShark to be in the emulator too, I've always wanted to run the "Beta Quests" in Legend Of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. Also, maybe a new sound plugin would be great - I've heard you can download them, buy I don't know where :/ I love the ability to be able to put my resolution ack up to 1280 x 1024 while playing the emulator - makes it look nice a crisp (unlike the sketchy 640 x 480 ‚) Anyways, great job on the emulator so far and keep up the good work! P.S. Hopefully my ideas will be considered :)
Graxa1982
Graxa1982
Sep 5 2006
0.8.5b2
0.0
Sep 5 2006
0.0
Version: 0.8.5b2
Mario Kart support for intel, please.
Istumbler
Istumbler
Sep 4 2006
0.8.5b2
4.3
Sep 4 2006
4.3
Version: 0.8.5b2
Okay, after playing a bit the Intel version of Sixtyforce is excellent. The PPC version lagged on my 1Ghz Powerbook but now I have to turn on speed limiting just to make mario playable. Looks beautiful, plays smoothly, even the default keyboard controls are well though out. $15 is a great price for a product of this caliber, you just can't underestimate the ammount of work that goes into making really great software.
Istumbler
Istumbler
Sep 4 2006
0.8.5b2
4.3
Sep 4 2006
4.3
Version: 0.8.5b2
I was excited to play Zelda, sadly it's not supported yet: "This preview release is meant to show off months of work on sixtyforce's Intel support. (So you can finally rest assured an Intel version is vigorously being worked on.)" "On Intel machines, the only playable game is Super Mario 64." Guess I'll have to settle for collecting a few stars...
Nigletsyz
Nigletsyz
Apr 4 2006
0.8.5b1
3.3
Apr 4 2006
3.3
Version: 0.8.5b1
Works well, but $15 just isn't worth donating for an emulator as basic as this i.e. no cheat support, sound still sucks.
Qwerty-Denzel
Qwerty-Denzel
Apr 4 2006
0.8.5b1
0.0
Apr 4 2006
0.0
Version: 0.8.5b1
It's back!
Guest
Guest
Oct 17 2005
0.8
4.3
Oct 17 2005
4.3
Version: 0.8
Sixtyforce is awesome. I love it. It works well and my favourite game is MarioKart 64. You can get free commerical N64 ROMs via Limewire
Guest
Guest
Aug 5 2005
0.8
4.3
Aug 5 2005
4.3
Version: 0.8
i had much trouble getting this to work with my ibook g4 1.2ghz 1.25g RAM.. but after reading through many forums i finally found the problem to the "lagging" that many people get when playing... if you are using a notebook that runs on battery power make sure to check the "better performance" in the prefrences menu energy saver section.. this makes a big diffrence as the cpu is running full throttle instead of half to save battery. this way you get the most from your emulator. this probably should be stated somewhere in the documentation so that ppl kno why its not working on their system as it should. as for those of you that are running lower than 600mhz.. i believe it states somewhere that the minimum amount of processor speed to run it must be at least 600mhz.. so that may be ur problem.. i duno. if you get this far also go through all of the graphics and prefrence menus in sixtyforce to select things that will get you either better fps or better game play... dont check things to get you better graphics because this is just not going to work. neway i love this emulator.. the only problem ive had thus far has to do with my usb controller.. im using an xbox controller to usb adapter with the "xbox hid driver" 2.somthing... it works for all my other emulators [i.e nestopia, boycott] but when i try to configure it in sixtyforce it wont recognize the buttons but only the analog sticks. i duno whats the deal there but it just wont work. ive tried using "gamepad companion" but it cause the emulation to slow down quite a bit along with the rest of my system as it makes odd demonic noises through my speakers when activated. ive tryed usb overdrive also with little success.. i cant seem to configure it with the xbox controller.. i think its just not recognizing it as a gamepad. neway i hope this helps out someone cause i had to a bit of research to get this far but its all worth it. =P
Guest
Guest
Jun 30 2005
0.8
4.3
Jun 30 2005
4.3
Version: 0.8
But it's much slower and there is no decent Mac port of 0.4 since the original porter quitted some time ago.
Guest
Guest
Jun 26 2005
0.8
4.3
Jun 26 2005
4.3
Version: 0.8
mupen64 is better,open source,and free.
Guest
Guest
Apr 21 2005
0.8
4.3
Apr 21 2005
4.3
Version: 0.8
Wouldn't it be illegal to charge for an emulator of a system made by another company?
Guest
Guest
Dec 24 2004
0.8
4.3
Dec 24 2004
4.3
Version: 0.8
Where is a site that allows you to get roms?
Guest
Guest
Sep 9 2004
0.8
0.0
Sep 9 2004
0.0
Version: 0.8
I always get an error. It has to be with opengl. Im running os 10.1.5 and it has opengl. I dont understand what is going on. Before i upgraded to os 10.1.5 i was running os 9.2.2 and this emulator was working good, but now it doesnt. If you wanna help, contact me at xboxgt12@yahoo.com
Guest
Guest
Aug 30 2004
0.8
4.3
Aug 30 2004
4.3
Version: 0.8
i just got sixtyforce for my os X which is an ibook G4. i don't know how to run the roms after i download them. do all roms work? o yeah and i need a good rom downloading site
Guest
Guest
Jun 23 2004
0.8
4.3
Jun 23 2004
4.3
Version: 0.8
Ok, works alright for me, shame about the very small resolution, but it has quite good compatibility and runs games at a good speed. I've found that Mupen's free full screen and multiple resolutions are much better, and it has more compatability with n64 rom files than sixtyforce, but it lacks the many options sixtyforce has to do with graphics, and the audio is much better on sixtyforce too. I recommed trying them both. So yeah, great program, shame about paying for smaller resolutions than a free version brings, but the free functions are great.
Guest
Guest
May 26 2004
0.8
4.3
May 26 2004
4.3
Version: 0.8
Sixtyforce 0.8 works great for me. I've had a little trouble with sounds not working, but it's the best N64 emulator out there for Mac. Nintendo_Kid, you have no idea what you're talking about.
Guest
Guest
Mar 23 2004
0.8
4.3
Mar 23 2004
4.3
Version: 0.8
its a legitamate emulator, its just the games are a little tricky to hide ( hint: look for "v64" files). Otherwise its a great app for your mac. Just the pain of having to register it and all, but otherwise its WORTH IT.
Guest
Guest
Jan 25 2004
0.7.5
0.0
Jan 25 2004
0.0
Version: 0.7.5
I have a new 15" PowerBook. It's runnin a 1.25 GHz G4 with 512 SDRAM and this emulator still runs pretty choppy. What's the deal? It doesn't give you many options to lower the frame rate or whatever. I don't know if this is normal or not. If anyone has any advice, then please email me.
Guest
Guest
Dec 23 2003
0.7.5
4.3
Dec 23 2003
4.3
Version: 0.7.5
This is not free, you have to register it to be able to run in full screen.
Guest
Guest
Nov 24 2003
0.7.5b2
0.0
Nov 24 2003
0.0
Version: 0.7.5b2
Definately the best n64 emulator i have found yet. But Its slow on my mac, is it my mac or the emulator? I have a ibook G3 600mhz w/384 mb RAM thats 2 years old. Do I need a video or graphics card to make it run at the right speed? And are there any other graphics or audio plugins that are compatible? Please Help.
Guest
Guest
Nov 19 2003
0.7.5b2
0.0
Nov 19 2003
0.0
Version: 0.7.5b2
i cant find any games and when i do they dont work.
Guest
Guest
Nov 19 2003
0.7.5b2
4.3
Nov 19 2003
4.3
Version: 0.7.5b2
Seems to not to use threading in a Dual CPU Setup. So just one is used. Sound is still squirky. BUT it´s gettin better !
Guest
Guest
Sep 22 2003
0.7.0
4.3
Sep 22 2003
4.3
Version: 0.7.0
i think the graphics are great but need to focuys on speed and game support
Guest
Guest
Sep 17 2003
0.7.0
4.3
Sep 17 2003
4.3
Version: 0.7.0
I think that they should try to focus on more game support too.. But the software , is great.
Guest
Guest
Sep 11 2003
0.7.0b4
4.3
Sep 11 2003
4.3
Version: 0.7.0b4
Im'a gonna wait a few months for them to improve it. -_-
Guest
Guest
Sep 1 2003
0.7.0b3
4.3
Sep 1 2003
4.3
Version: 0.7.0b3
I have gotten 102 in 1 sitting... so its not IMPOSSIBLE
Guest
Guest
Sep 1 2003
0.7.0b3
0.0
Sep 1 2003
0.0
Version: 0.7.0b3
As of this version; quits trying to run ANYTHING! FW800 MDDG4 1GHz/1GB RAM/Radeon9kPro/X.2.6
Marky
Marky
Aug 12 2003
0.62b1
3.0
Aug 12 2003
3.0
Version: 0.62b1
you can find custom made n64 roms at www.pdroms.com. this website also does not have the top 50ww and also dos not have porn ads on it so it is safe to go on.
Guest
Guest
Jul 29 2003
0.62b1
4.3
Jul 29 2003
4.3
Version: 0.62b1
So far what i can see with the demo rom is that it works good. However, i would like to get some real roms to test it out. Does anyone know a commercial website that i can find these and not have to go through a bunch of 'Top Fifty'and porno?
Guest
Guest
Mar 4 2003
0.62b1
0.0
Mar 4 2003
0.0
Version: 0.62b1
To the previous poster: Actually, battery back-up support IS implemented; it's in the Cartridge Database file. It's updated every time you play a game. You're correct on the save states, though. Hopefully that will be added.
Guest
Guest
Mar 4 2003
0.62b1
4.3
Mar 4 2003
4.3
Version: 0.62b1
Its really good, but lacking in compatability. I'm sure the next release will be much better. Currently it doesn't save nor does it let me make freeze states, so even playing the few games it DOES work with is impossible. Who can get all 150 stars in mario in one sitting?
Guest
Guest
Feb 26 2003
0.62b1
0.0
Feb 26 2003
0.0
Version: 0.62b1
All I'm able to play in 0.62b1 is Mario 64, which runs perfectly. Pretty much all other games are ultra slow, have serious graphical glitches, or crash the emulator on start. And forget about playing a game with sound; it just slows it down, and I own an iMac, 800 MHz with 512 MB of RAM!
Guest
Guest
Apr 9 2002
0.62b1
4.3
Apr 9 2002
4.3
Version: 0.62b1
where can i get roms for it?