Back to iNotePad page
iNotePad free download for Mac

iNotePad Reviews

2.4.2
14 August 2008

Replacement for Apple NotePad.

surloff
04 November 2006

Most helpful

The best...features, UI, price! Nothing else is as complete.
Like (3)
Version 2.4

Read 30 iNotePad User Reviews

Rate this app:

Aargl
12 November 2015
Looks I'm the last user left... ;-) Just dropped in to say how happy I am that iNotepad is still perfectly working in OS 10.9.5! I'm still using it daily for all kinds of notes, it's one of those apps so essential that it would make me think twice if I had to switch to a more recent OS.
Like
Version 2.4.2
1 answer(s)
aaron-berk
aaron-berk
25 September 2018
I'm still here! Looks like Mohave is the last it seems as they're going 64-bit after this. There is a new iNotepad I'm about to try....
http://vojousoftware.weebly.com/inotepad.html or
https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/inotepad/id511850807
There is a free trial from their site or in-app purchases from iTunes. (I have not tried the app yet and do not work for them so not pushing this at all)
Like
Aargl
04 July 2013
Dev's site has changed: http://vojousoftware.weebly.com/inotepad.html
Like (1)
Version 2.4.2
Aargl
07 August 2012
I suppose the dev doesn't work anymore to update iNotepad, but just in case: I've tried synchronising my database between a G5 and a Mac Intel and the internal labels are not copied! In the other direction, no problem! I've tried every possible thing to ensure it wasn't due to the system (the Finder does its job ok with the labels, including sub-folders inside the .inotepad packages). I've noticed in PPC that the internal iNotepad labels you give to a note are copied instantly in the Finder's files while in Intel no (I haven't understood where it actually stores the labels, but I came to the conclusion that the Intel part of the app behaves diffferently to that matter than the PPC part...) May it be useful to someone! ;-)
Like (1)
Version 2.4.2
3 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
07 August 2012
I've forgotten to say that I've also tried to push the iNotepad folder to the Intel Mac via an archive: no way! :-(
Like
Aargl
Aargl
08 August 2012
One more trial and I must correct this: synchronising the database from Intel to PPC copies some labels but not correctly, some colors are different... :-(
Like
Aargl
Aargl
08 August 2012
Here's a moment I deserve being called a genius! ;-D I had the brilliant idea of stripping down the Intel part of the app so it runs through Rosetta! It works!!! And it confirms my theory. ;-) So, until I'm in Snow Leopard, I don't have to find another solution! :-)
Like
Aargl
04 July 2012
Still working perfectly in Snow Leopard! Note from the dev's site: "2012/06/17: Free reg code for iNotePad (name: free version, code: 0057968178) 2012/04/21: iNotePad is not available for sale anymore!" So it's not a shareware anymore but a freeware! Thanks the dev for this great software!
Like (3)
Version 2.4.2
Kimmac
08 February 2012
I accidentally posted this in reviews instead of in troubleshooting, so here it is again. I've been a happy user of iNotepad for many years. Today I tried to move my database so it would be available on my wife's desktop as well as my own. I followed the instructions in the help file to create a folder called "iNotePad" in Dropbox then an alias of the same name in my user/documents folder. When that didn't work for me I restored the database to it's own "iNotePad" folder in my Documents folder. However, now the database shows up in the Database drop down menu in iNotePad but it will not accept my password. When I enter the password, nothing happens but the drop down menu just returns to the default database it was showing before (which has no content). I have tried restoring the file using Time Machine several times but nothing is working. I'm desperate as I have huge lists of passwords, app registrations and key data for several websites. Can anyone help?
Like
Version 2.4.2
Kimmac
08 February 2012
I accidentally posted this in reviews instead of in troubleshooting, so here it is again. I've been a happy user of iNotepad for many years. Today I tried to move my database so it would be available on my wife's desktop as well as my own. I followed the instructions in the help file to create a folder called "iNotePad" in Dropbox then an alias of the same name in my user/documents folder. When that didn't work for me I restored the database to it's own "iNotePad" folder in my Documents folder. However, now the database shows up in the Database drop down menu in iNotePad but it will not accept my password. When I enter the password, nothing happens but the drop down menu just returns to the default database it was showing before (which has no content). I have tried restoring the file using Time Machine several times but nothing is working. I'm desperate as I have huge lists of passwords, app registrations and key data for several websites. Can anyone help?
Like
Version 2.4.2
Kimmac
08 February 2012
I accidentally posted this in reviews instead of in troubleshooting, so here it is again. I've been a happy user of iNotepad for many years. Today I tried to move my database so it would be available on my wife's desktop as well as my own. I followed the instructions in the help file to create a folder called "iNotePad" in Dropbox then an alias of the same name in my user/documents folder. When that didn't work for me I restored the database to it's own "iNotePad" folder in my Documents folder. However, now the database shows up in the Database drop down menu in iNotePad but it will not accept my password. When I enter the password, nothing happens but the drop down menu just returns to the default database it was showing before (which has no content). I have tried restoring the file using Time Machine several times but nothing is working. I'm desperate as I have huge lists of passwords, app registrations and key data for several websites. Can anyone help?
Like
Version 2.4.2
Kimmac
08 February 2012
I've been a happy user of iNotepad for many years. Today I tried to move my database so it would be available on my wife's desktop as well as my own. I followed the instructions in the help file to create a folder called "iNotePad" in Dropbox then an alias of the same name in my user/documents folder. When that didn't work for me I restored the database to it's own "iNotePad" folder in my Documents folder. However, now the database shows up in the Database drop down menu in iNotePad but it will not accept my password. When I enter the password, nothing happens but the drop down menu just returns to the default database it was showing before (which has no content). I have tried restoring the file using Time Machine several times but nothing is working. I'm desperate as I have huge lists of passwords, app registrations and key data for several websites. Can anyone help?
Like
Version 2.4.2
6 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
13 March 2012
I've tried to find some trick, but I'm afraid you'll have to ask the dev... You can try trashing iNotepad's prefs, relaunch, create a new folder with same name and same password, quit put the old folder (or file) instead of the one you created (inside the .inNotePad package), relaunch and... Without any warranty as they say! ;-) (that may be a hard — but good — lesson for always working on copies, but we all made the misatake, at least once... :-D)
Like
gatovadio
gatovadio
09 May 2012
i had to move on from inotepad when upgrading to lion because i had a similar issue with an encrypted db. apparently, it doesn't run well on lion and your encrypted db might be rendered useless. i reported this bug to the author and, despite having no response, there's now a note on the homepage saying "Not tested with Mac OS 10.6 and 10.7" (but i remember it working in snow leopard). if you don't have a backup of a decrypted version of your db, i suggest you install os x 5 or 6 on a partition or external disk, run inotepad and decrypt it. at last you'll have a folder structure with your data safe, so you can import it into another similar app until (if) inotepad is ready for lion.
Like
Aargl
Aargl
07 August 2012
Caro Gato, Can you name which app you moved to, to replace iNotepad? I'm greatly interrested! ;-)
Like
gatovadio
gatovadio
19 September 2012
sorry man, only saw your reply now. i switched to Together, but i don't use half of its features.
Like
gatovadio
gatovadio
19 September 2012
but Together is harder to set up and doesn't use our own folder structure. it has now a "link to files" option (as opposed to just "copy" and "move"), which is useful so when you edit your files, they change on disk, but you'll have to recreate the folder structure by hand, in Together's library folder, and then import files a folder at a time. it simply doesn't import your whole folder structure and link to files. anyway, once you're set up, you can browse by folder structure, encrypt documents (which i needed), label and text highlighting support but no ftp uploading.
Like
Aargl
Aargl
19 September 2012
Thanks! :-)
Like
DONLEONE
20 December 2011
Finally, thanks be to God I found the IDEAL note-taking app! After trying out & searching through the complete MacAppStore and here on Macupdate (and hours of googling), finally I found this little app that truly is the perfect simplicity, distraction-free, notes organizing app, and yet even through simple looking (but it looks quite modern on OS X Lion, not at all like in the "old" picture here), and yet as simple as it looks it is indeed a powerhouse with uniquely useful features such as: – automatic Backup (in Archive format, which is just perfect for Dropbox, Cloud Uploading etc.), – Database Password Protection, – Nested Tree Structure with Color Coding!, – Rich Text Editing – Color Text Highlighting, – Instant Search etc. And that all for just small $14 ! Please do not be fooled by its initial simplicity, this app is a hidden gem! I used and bought Journler, Scrivener and Curio for my note taking but NONE made me work so efficient and clear-minded as this little app !!
Like
Version 2.4.2
1 answer(s)
lacwbo
lacwbo
08 February 2016
What app are you referring to? I'm very interested.
Like
Erwin-Dink
15 December 2011
This program ruined me. Because printing from it is poorly implemented and it hasn't been updated in ages, I have spent years looking for an alternative. I've tried everything, even paid for a lot of high end alternatives. Nothing has ever matched iNotePad for basic concept and implementation. Again and again I keep coming back to it. I wish all software could be this simple and intuitive yet still very powerful. It's got some weaknesses for sure (customization, an outdated look, limited printing options) but I have found nothing better for storing and finding for information, I use Notational Velocity for snippets and iNotePad for a small business user manual. I'll take nested folders over tags any day.
Like
Version 2.4.2
gatovadio
15 March 2011
yeah, i also tried a billion notepads and inotepad wins everytime. first, it uses a folder structure (how flexible is a flat note list or time wasting tagged libraries, featured in a number of other similar apps?) which shows up in path finder as real folders and rtfd files which are easy to view outside inotepad. then it features file locking (to prevent accidental edits), multiple databases with encryption and password protection, automatic saving and backup, rich text and image editing, color labels, ftp uploading... so many features in a single windowed app. ok, like appscout says, the icons could be updated =) but if it bothers me too much, i can update them myself in the package contents. anyway, it's time to forget the lure of eye candy apps which in turn, lack in flexibility and functionality. inotepad is simple, fast, lightweight and it's pefect for storing all song lyrics, recipes, well, everything. even your sensitive passwords (why use a dedicated password keeper app with limited fields and organization levels? just because it has pretty icons of a bank, a smile and a plane?). two things that i could use, missing from inotepad are the ability to resize an image in the notebody and an option to auto encrypt folders when exiting the app (currently i have to set the whole db to be protected which encrypts on exit and asks for my pass on launch, but if i don't encrypt the db and just encrypt a folder on the left pane, if i unprotect it during a session so i can read the contents, i have to remember to protect it again before exiting inotepad).
Like (1)
Version 2.4.2
Appscout
09 April 2010
I've used this app since the OS9 days. It's a valuable tool for me. I'm an info snippet junkie. The Dev is very responsive, and he has a good sense of humor. [And thanks for replying in English] My only complaint - quite trivial, infact - is that I wish he'd update the toolbar icons! Too nineties ;-)
Like (1)
Version 2.4.2
Aargl
22 March 2010
Quite perfect to me! The Finder like organization with folders and labels suits my needs. I could only complain about some detail such as this one: while it uses .rtfd format for storing the notes, if you try to open them in some other app, it works but you'll probably lose formatting such as margin, width, tabs, page breaks and so on if you share that document between both apps. (I needed to repeatedly print a long evolving note and wanted to have it with a particular layout when printed, but keeping the ease of use of iNotepad, but in the end I had to make a separate document) I confess it's nothing compared to all it does well... ;-)
Like (1)
Version 2.4.2
Burak
03 March 2010
Current UI is very nice. Excellent app, no bloat, but without a contextual menu item to "Put in ..." it's not as easy to use as the excellent freeware, xPad. And there must be an option not to show delete confirmation. The price while very competitive is not awesome; we have xPad.
Like
Version 2.4.2
surloff
04 November 2006
The best...features, UI, price! Nothing else is as complete.
Like (3)
Version 2.4
2 answer(s)
Jellybelly
Jellybelly
14 August 2008
Huh? That's an ugly UI! :X Try MyNotes or ShoveBox. Much nicer! Simple and efficient too.
Like
Version 2.4.2
Fishscale
Fishscale
05 February 2009
Interface is excellent, simplicity... can shovebox encrypt your notes? Can it lock your notes? Can it instantly export to ipod or ipublish, or email? Multiple databases that save and make backups on their own? I use both apps, they are completely different. I forget what other item you mentioned but I am positive it can't do a 1/3 of what inotepad can.
Like (4)
Version 2.4.2
jaylee
21 May 2006
I love this program: it is small. efficient and does exactly what it claims. I have notes and bits and pieces accumulated over many years stored in iNotepad and I can find them all with no fuss. Also, because each record is in fact an .rtfd file I have worked out how to make hyperlinks from my wordprocessor files to individual records in the database (they open in TextEdit) I use the same technique to make links between individual records. I realise that I'm innovating here and it's no ones fault but my own if I mess things up. But that gives an indication of what I'd like to see in future releases of iNotepad
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
gryphonent
27 April 2006
I've been using iNotepad since version 1 under MacOS 9. It never let me down and has constantly improved. The developer is very responsive and I'm happy to see three of my recent requests implemented in this update. In fact, the developer emailed a beta within a couple of days asking for feedback. The pricing is justified and the level of convenience really high... as I said, it's a lil' app that I use on a daily basis. Been trying out DevonNote and others but always returned to iNotepad
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
Macmuse
24 February 2006
Addendum: As a curiousity, I just did a test of various notepads with 5 identical notes w/images in each one. iNotePad was the winner taking the least amount of storage on your hard disk: 238kb versus 1.2 MB and even 7.3 MB with another one! Although hard drives are huge these days, I like the idea that the database files can still be lean, especially for laptops. And, it is quick and responsive. There's my decision.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
Macmuse
17 December 2005
This is a lovely app, lean, unobtrusive, and quick. It does its job extremely well without getting in the way of my other running applications. After all, it is for quick note taking/information gathering. I'd like to be able to drag PDFs into the window. I can do that with TextEdit documents but not PDF??? One of the running databases I want to create is of PDFs I've gathered, so they can be listed, organized, and selected click click click instead of opening each one from my documents folder.
Like
Version 2.3.1
Anonymous
29 November 2005
Great notepad software, light & powerfull A .mac sync feature would be awesome !
Like (1)
Version 2.3
Anonymous
01 September 2005
I just tested 2.3b1 version and it works fine and be worth each US$ paid. Thank you, Voujou. ;)
Like
Version 2.3b1
Hardcat
02 February 2005
I've been trying out iNotePad 2,1.2 and find it's interface very intuitive. I have just completed entering all my software registrations. A few times it crashed! which does not give me a feeling of complete confidence. I like the way databases are both created and selected all from the main window, no hunting around your disc drive hunting for that elusive notepad you know you started. The ability to label documents with colours and lock documents is good, features available on many similiar products. Encrypting documents also seems a good idea although I'm not sure I'd use this feature a great deal. URLs can be entered and used to launch a browser. I think this could have been implented better. I have looked at many of the other like applictions available for the Mac and although I can't put my finger on it....I really do like this NotePad.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
09 December 2004
iNotePad 2.1.1 (v35) Big problems with database decryption!!!!! This version will not decrypt anything.
Like
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 December 2004
The decryption bug of database will be fixed in a few minutes in 2.1.2 Sorry for the incovenience.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
01 December 2004
2 functions which were available in 1.6.2 and not in 2.1 and which I would like to have: save notes as txt or rtf files and save the iPublish html files to the desktop (for offline previewing). iNotePad is my favorite notepad. :-)
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
VoJou Software
VoJou Software
31 December 2004
You can export your notes as RTFD files by draging them from iNotePad (list of notes) to your desktop. Saving HTML page generated by iPublish will be back in iNotePad 2.2.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
11 November 2004
Simply the BEST !!
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
29 February 2004
wow very nice - I like the folder concept much more than the category idea in iOrganize. I will kick the tires on it and maybe switch.
Like
Version 2.0p5
Brazil
29 February 2004
Wow - - This ones a keeper . I am a new iNotepad convert . Bought straight away . Good call on this one folks .
Like
Version 2.0p5
Anonymous
29 August 2003
what about encryption?
Like
Version 1.6.1
Anonymous
21 July 2003
I love this program. I have used it for years, and I use it every day. I keep all my important information stored here (can be password protected) in folders e.g. "Bank-Credit," "Travel," "Medical," etc. I would really like to see a Palm version; there is nothing available for Mac/Palm that even comes close to the flexibility of iNotePad.
Like
Version 1.6.1
Mike B.
08 September 2000
Clean, sophisticated, and easy to use. Plenty of great features! This one's better than anything else out there and the new beta release is even better. (My paid registration gave me a free preview of it.)
Like
Version