Back to Opera Mail page
Opera Mail free download for Mac

Opera Mail Reviews

1.0.1040
29 July 2013

Lightweight mail client from Opera.

Mountabe
30 July 2013

Most helpful

Crashes upon opening, for me at least. 10.8.4, of course.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1040

Read 13 Opera Mail User Reviews

Rate this app:

Tommy-Gun
12 November 2016
I am using Mail for a very long time but with macOS Mail is become sluggish. It doesn't react promptly when selecting a mail. So I am looking for a alternative. Using Opera Mail for a couple of days now it seems to be running fine. I'm always open for other good Mail alternatives (payed or free).
Like
Version 1.0.1040
Derekcurrie
02 August 2016
"Opera browser sold to a Chinese consortium for $600 million The Norwegian company has sold its browser, performance apps and name." https://www.engadget.com/2016/07/18/opera-browser-sold-to-a-chinese-consortium-for-600-million/
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1040
Penguirl
25 April 2015
Don’t let it’s spartan appearance fool you, Opera Mail is deeper than it appears at first glance. Not my primary client but it works very well for my offshore accounts. And the price can’t be beat.
Like
Version 1.0.1040
Whitebuck
24 April 2015
A crude start, but enough bones to develop a viable Default Email Client. But to release it as a capable Default Email Client, is ludicrous. Opera has seemingly failed to recover from their catastrophic, revised Mission Statement.
Like
Version 1.0.1040
Donw
01 October 2014
Not a beauty but very reliable and it works great with one mailbox with different users.
Like
Version 1.0.1040
Cgc
08 January 2014
Didn't have much success importing email from Mail.app. Looked pretty but not able to do the most basic of imports so into the bin it goes.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1040
polocanada
06 October 2013
One thing caught my eye when I was setting up. It doesn't seem to support SSL it only lists TLS. Yahoo requires 993 SSL port for incoming and 465 SSL/TLS for outgoing. Make sure you change that in case you use Yahoo IMAP/SMTP. The fact it still supports POP3 is notable. Most mail clients don't support anymore, it's outdated but there are probably a few people who still use it.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1040
2 answer(s)
Cunamara
Cunamara
30 October 2013
Tens of millions of people use POP3 and almost every mail client still supports it.
Like (4)
polocanada
polocanada
25 May 2014
If you want to vote my comment down, it would be better to be constructive and put your comments instead of voting it down but providing to particular reason.
Like
polocanada
06 October 2013
Surprise, works pretty well. Doesn't crash on my OSX 10.6.8. I Usually don't have much good to say about Opera browser because of the CPU use (Firefox is same issue), the opera mail makes sense as it never really made sense to use Opera Browser Mail. Pretty good designed for initial release. I always liked opera for it's simply no-nonse approach with GUI and the application features and GUI. Hope this is a continuing project not just a test release to abandon again.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1040
1 answer(s)
polocanada
polocanada
02 September 2015
When Opera discontinued their old version of Opera (old, ultra-fast, non-Chrome version) they unbundled the Mail application which was part of the browser. We can appreciate the fact they did it because normally companies like that would just terminate the product and that's it. They released it and the client is rudimentary but it works find.

It doesn't have the neat features of Unibox for example, but I like the TABBED interface and it's very useful, if need to work ... on a project and sift through information in for example in different emails in different threads etc)

I use Opera Mail as a 2nd mail client when working on specific tasks and projects. It's perfect for what it is for. Also notice - when you close the client and reboot the computer, when you restart Opera, it will re-open the tabs with emails you had open. This is same as browser.

Opera had low but devoted following, 1-2% of users for last 20 years use Opera but I've been using Opera for 20 years and I didn't find other browsers come anywhere close (even through Opera is quasi Chrome today).
Like
Penguirl
04 October 2013
Crashes at launch for me on 10.6.8
Like
Version 1.0.1040
Uwitberg
18 September 2013
One thing missing: Can't assign an IMAP folder for Drafts. Account properties allow to choose IMAP folders for Sent, Trash and Spam, but not for Drafts.
Like
Version 1.0.1040
Uwitberg
17 September 2013
still crashing on startup, combo update 10.8.5 did not change this ... a pity.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1040
1 answer(s)
Uwitberg
Uwitberg
18 September 2013
Made a new attempt: Searched for "opera" and discovered a few remnants of old Opera browsers in prefs and app support. Deleted everything and then it worked!
Like
pettifogger0712
30 July 2013
Works fine on my system (a mid-2011 iMac 2.5Ghz running Mountain Lion 10.8.4). Drag-'n-dropped the app file to my Applications folder, opened it, punched in my AOL username and password and it auto-configured without any problems
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1040
Mountabe
30 July 2013
Crashes upon opening, for me at least. 10.8.4, of course.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1040
6 answer(s)
Mextex
Mextex
30 July 2013
I'm also running 10.8.4 and it's working fine for me.
Like (1)
Mountabe
Mountabe
30 July 2013
Wow, dude. Just chill the heck down. Family place. And no, I'm not a liar like you're insinuating. Here's a tip: don't vote and don't breed.
Like
Mextex
Mextex
30 July 2013
I didn't insinuate that you are a liar.
Like (2)
bbw7
bbw7
31 July 2013
@Mountabe, So why rate it as 5 stars then, if it crashes on you?
Like (5)
Mountabe
Mountabe
01 August 2013
AOL. Just caught that. Are you over or under the age of 70?
Like
polocanada
polocanada
06 October 2013
Get this troll arrested please.
Like (1)