Back to Garmin Express page
Garmin Express free download for Mac

Garmin Express Reviews

6.19.1.0
19 November 2019

Manage your Garmin devices.

gosselindustin49
28 June 2019

Most helpful

Having a Garmin Express is an effective way of getting free map and software updates. You simply have to register with Garmin for gain these handsome benefits. However, if you are looking for a swift way to register your Garmin device without having Garmin Express, you must check out this Garmin Registration guide. You will find step by step guide following which you can register your Garmin device. for more : https://garmingpsmap.net/how-can-i-register-my-garmin-gps-without-garmin-express/
Like (1)
Version 6.14.1.0

Read 44 Garmin Express User Reviews

Rate this app:

gosselindustin49
28 June 2019
Having a Garmin Express is an effective way of getting free map and software updates. You simply have to register with Garmin for gain these handsome benefits. However, if you are looking for a swift way to register your Garmin device without having Garmin Express, you must check out this Garmin Registration guide. You will find step by step guide following which you can register your Garmin device. for more : https://garmingpsmap.net/how-can-i-register-my-garmin-gps-without-garmin-express/
Like (1)
Version 6.14.1.0
JorgeR6679
17 March 2019
It's not like you have other options when you have a Garmin smartwatch, but the application does what it should, although some appears through a browser, which begs the question: why the app? Regardless, it's a must have for Garmin watch users.
Like
Version 6.13.0.0
adrianaxr13
30 January 2019
never found country side address in Ontario Canada
Like
Version 6.11.0.0
wir505
30 January 2019
I love Garmin Express, I am notified when there are updates, when I am having problems they are aways available online to trouble shoot and always resolve my issues. I have always used Garmin devices and I always will!
Like
Version 6.11.0.0
junk-38
11 January 2019
Does not run on OS X 10.13.6. C'mon Garmin, what good is lifetime maps if you can't connect and update?
Like (1)
Version 6.11.0.0
1 answer(s)
robstoreshaw
robstoreshaw
05 June 2019
I have OSX 10.13.6. I had the same problem. The software has always worked great for me, but I could not download Garmin Express 6.14.1.0. It would stall and said I needed to quit the application which wasn't in the Force Quit Menu.. I went to the System Preferences to Users and Groups and then to Login Items. There I noticed that the Service was in the list and deleted it. Voila - no problems downloading the new app.
Like (1)
Pafka
04 December 2018
Yes it does not work!!!
Like (1)
Version 6.10.0.0
Todd-Flippin-X
27 October 2018
The update does not work. Crashes constantly and has rendered my Garmin a brick. Brilliant work
Like
Version 6.8.0.0
1 answer(s)
Bill-601
Bill-601
06 November 2018
Please tell us what model Garmin.
Like
kend-1
25 September 2018
App is great for updating maps, maintaining and enhancing the GPS unit.
Like
Version 6.8.0.0
Thinking-Differently
21 September 2018
It would be great, if not for the problems. Either it thinks that there are no applications in the system, or it forgets the login each time.
Like
Version 6.8.0.0
Q6wheel
11 August 2018
Would be nice if they updated their listing to indicate that 10.10 is no longer supported.
Like
Version 6.7.0.0
Would be nice if this utility could install to the SD card, instead of the device itself. Also the ability to move things between the device and the SD Card and to delete unneeded items.

The Garmin's memory is almost full. But the SD card is empty.
Like (1)
Version 6.2.0.0
Ross-a0c3c6eb
13 April 2017
Not a lot bells and whistles, but does its job of providing a conduit between GPS watches and Garmin Connect web services through your Mac. The app is only a conduit for most features as Garmin Connect is where you view data, update, settings, and create items such as workouts and routes.
Like
Version 5.0.0.0
Tomq
03 September 2016
Garmin needs a voice command for zooming the map. It is too dangerous to be trying to press the + and - buttons while driving. TomTom has had voice command for zooming forever. Come on, Garmin!!!
Like
Version 4.1.27.0
5 answer(s)
Tomq
Tomq
22 May 2017
Hello Garmin, Still no voice commands for zooming???????!!!!!!!!
Like
Tomq
Tomq
22 November 2017
Still?
Like
Tomq
Tomq
06 April 2018
Still no voice command for zooming: Garmin, very dangerous.
At least the years of mistaking "Oregon" for "Florida" has finally been fixed in the voice commanding find addresses.
Like
Tomq
Tomq
03 July 2018
NO! Garmin still confuses "Oregon" for "Florida" in Find Address voice commands. GARMIN, PLEASE FIX THIS LONG TERM BUG!!!!!!
Like
Tomq
Tomq
08 July 2019
Still! It is July 2019 and Garmin STILL has not fixed their Garmin software's Voice Command to consistently recognize the state of Oregon instead of frequently returning Florida (this was NOT fixed in April 2018). And STILL no safety improvement by adding Zoom In and Zoom Out voice commands instead of forcing one to unsafely tap the Zoom In and Zoom Out screen buttons
Like
DonkeyKong
20 August 2016
Ever wanted to buy a good GPS for running, cycling, .. ? Take a Garmin and you never regret buying it. If you are thinking of buying a Mio ... dont and go for Garmin instead.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.26.0
One major feature that is missing from this application, is the ability to download security camera updates. Garmin is happy to sell you those subscriptions, but currently there is no way to do this on a recent version of OS-X.

Garmin has a plug-in for Safari, but I tried it on 10.9, 10.10, and 10.11. In no case would it work. I went through first level tech support. They were friendly, but could not fix the problem. 2nd level eventually said it was a “known problem.” I asked for an extension on the subscriptions that I could not use, but they would not give it to me.
Like
Version 4.1.23.0
One major feature that is missing from this application, is the ability to download security camera updates. Garmin is happy to sell you those subscriptions, but currently there is no way to do this on a recent version of OS-X.

Garmin has a plug-in for Safari, but I tried it on 10.9, 10.10, and 10.11. In no case would it work. I went through first level tech support. They were friendly, but could not fix the problem. 2nd level eventually said it was a “known problem.” I asked for an extension on the subscriptions that I could not use, but they would not give it to me.
Like
Version 4.1.23.0
persecutor
20 May 2016
So far so good
Like
Version 4.1.21.0
NedC
13 February 2016
I'd love to leave a review or comment but since I've been accused of ONLY leaving 4 stars or higher on all of the software I feel is worth anything, I'll have to stick to a 3star.
Like
Version 4.1.16.0
umaromc
24 December 2015
How is it Garmin's site is always setting off Chrome's security/privacy alerts? It's like they hired Sony's IT department. NET::ERR_CERT_COMMON_NAME_INVALID This server could not prove that it is download.garmin.com; its security certificate is from a248.e.akamai.net. This may be caused by a misconfiguration or an attacker intercepting your connection.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.12.0
1 answer(s)
Soap-On-A-Rope
Soap-On-A-Rope
07 January 2017
Same problems here. I informed their customer service team and they didn't seem to care. Pure slovenly behavior on their IT team's part.
Like
Felix01
21 December 2015
Now up to version 4.1.12.0. Does anyone on the MacUpdate staff monitor this piece of software?
Like
Version 4.1.7.0
Felix01
06 December 2015
Current version as of today is 4.1.11.0.
Like
Version 4.1.7.0
1 answer(s)
Felix01
Felix01
06 December 2015
Garmin sent an e-mail that the update was "critical."
Like
Franko
16 October 2015
Always like apps that present a total package and this one fits the bill. No confusing interface it brings together all necessary updates required by your device. I would like to see a charge indicator so I don't have to guess, unplug and check the charge on my NUVI 750.
Like
Version 4.1.7.0
takkae
21 July 2015
Downloaded version is 4.1.2.0 not 4.1.4.0
Like
Version 4.1.4.0
22duke
22 June 2015
have no issue with the app works well for all of my 3 Garmin devices
Like
Version 4.0.24.0
Just-Fred
28 April 2015
Horrible, horrible, horrible!!! I want my Garmin Express Fit app back! I made the mistake of downloading this app. When I went to install it, it told me I had to close my Garmin Express Fit app, and then it removed it and replaced it with this beastly piece of dreck that bounces in my dock forever, painting its splash screen all over my desktop and nothing else. Here I am, on a trip, and now I can't log my runs. I've always felt Garmin didn't know diddly-squat about writing Mac software, and so I've been tentative about updating. The software that came with my 220 actually worked! Why, or why, did I get suckered into downloading this #@%@#$???
Like (1)
Version 4.0.18.0
1 answer(s)
Just-Fred
Just-Fred
28 April 2015
Alright, I will tentatively retract the above rant. After digging a bit, I found the Garmin Express Service not responding, so I force-quit it and restarted the app. It now seems to be running (crossing my fingers). I don't quite understand why Garmin feels the app needs both a menu as well as a menu bar item, but they've never quite followed Apple's "rules," so why should I be surprised?
Like
Donmontalvo
28 April 2015
Very, very well written app. It simply works.
Like
Version 4.0.18.0
NedC
16 February 2015
Works fine for me. This software has NEVER let me down. and the only thing is that could be a negative, would be that you have to go to "about Garmin Express" to go for the update, instead of showing it in help or somewhere else. on the menu bar.
Like
Version 3.2.30.0
Jpwgibson
27 October 2014
It's not enough that Garmin Express insists on imposing itself into my Menubar; now it demands that I verify when I want to quit it from the Menubar.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.21
Henrik-Dalgaard
29 August 2014
Avoid this update if you want to own your training data. It will stop saving your workouts on your Mac, and instead send them to Garmin Connect. You can ask Garmin Connect for a copy of your workout data, but you have to ask for each and every workout. For me this policy change means uninstall and revert to Garmin Ant Agent.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.17.0
2 answer(s)
Harv
Harv
27 October 2014
I have now set Little Snitch to deny all outgoing connections to Garmin.

But wonder what the consequences will be (and if it will solve your problem).
Like (2)
Jpwgibson
Jpwgibson
27 October 2014
I've noticed this as well, since my preference is to save my workouts in Garmin Training Center. You can still save it in Training Center by manual upload (File/Import/Garmin [i.e., your device]/Activity).

Hope this helps.
Like (1)
No support for 10.6?? Shame on Garmin. Stupid too! If I spend lots of $$$ upgrading my Mac, that's less $$ for me to spend on Garmin. TomTom knows how to right 10.6 software. Why not Garmin?
Like
Version 3.2.13.0
4 answer(s)
Blloyd
Blloyd
20 July 2014
Because it's not "free" to support OS versions that are 5+ years old? You should update your OS. Soon you will be FOUR OS X versions out of date. Expecting a company to support FIVE OS versions is unrealistic and a waste of resources. It's a lot of work for a number of laggards who have shown themselves unwilling to keep up with technology.
Like
Thinking-Differently
Thinking-Differently
20 July 2014
The official release date of 10.7 was July 19, 2011. And the release of 10.6.8, build 10K549 was July 25, 2011. Not sure where you get your 5+ years. But I'm not sure it matters. I happen to think that upgrading my OS every year is a waste of MY resources.
Like (1)
Blloyd
Blloyd
20 July 2014
10.6 was released on August 28, 2009. That is almost 5 years ago. The date of 10.6.8 is really irrelevant; after the release of 10.6 the APIs are fixed and subsequent releases are largely bug fixes. There have been HUGE enhancements in the OS and supported APIs in the past 5 years. Sure, upgrading your OS "every year" may be a waste of your resources, but not upgrading for FIVE YEARS means you're going to have a large number of applications you can never run. If I were a software developer I would not support more than two OS versions at a time. I'd drop 10.8 support by the end of this summer.
Like
Thinking-Differently
Thinking-Differently
20 July 2014
Sorry, I find the opposite to be true. I find that upgrading my OS to a major new version often results in lots of stuff being broken. And that isn't free either. You are free to feel as you do. However, if Garmin wants me to upgrade frequently, I'm going elsewhere for my GPS purchases. I'm still free to choose whomever I want for my GPS supplier. (And my computer OS supplier as well.)
Like (1)
ItsPhilD
09 June 2014
Not sure what all of the complaints are about. I have 3 different Garmin GPS I keep updated with this app without any problems. Could be if you're having problems you're getting a drop in transfer or your speeds are too slow.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.6
Tom34772
18 May 2014
This application is now up to version 3.2.5.0 -- for those of you keeping score at home... :-)
Like (1)
Version 3.1.3
Harv
10 April 2014
For me, all the horror stories that others have noted, came to pass; incredibly slow, tried to install data already installed, and then failed/crashed when trying to complete the update, and left the app (and I don't know what else) unstable. Fortunately I had a full OS backup. Perhaps it was just moi or my system, but for now, I'll wait for the next version.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.7
2 answer(s)
Harv
Harv
22 April 2014
As one who damned earlier versions, I am pleased to note that this one works as advertised. The Garmin Lifetime updater was replaced, as in a version updater, but now the app is called Garmin Express and has a different icon. Time will tell re how solid/robust this version is, but for now, the outlook is favorable.
Like
Jimw
Jimw
22 April 2014
While it is true that Garmin Express data downloads are as slow as molasses in January, and that language files are available for installation when they are already installed, Garmin support and updates are 1000 times better than its main competitor, Magellan. One needs to have to deal with Magellan in order to really appreciate the support that Garmin provides. I did years ago and after a frustrating week of dealing with them, I took my unit back to the store I bought for and exchanged it for a Garmin. I have never looked back or even thought of buying another Magellan product. As for Tom-Tom, while I have never experienced their support, my research (years ago) left me with the impression that they just are not as full featured and sophisticated as Garmin. Actually automobile navigation is sort of a secondary product line for Garmin as they are a leader in the field of avionics and produce ultra reliable instruments that cost thousands of dollars. I have always felt that some of that reliability and sophistication has been passed down to their automotive line.
Like
Harv
09 April 2014
Alas, I remain confused... I already have Garmin Lifetime Updater and Garmin Web Updater. What does this app do that is different/better than what I already have? Or has it merely supplanted those or what?
Like
Version 3.0.7
1 answer(s)
Gregm
Gregm
09 April 2014
Garmin finally got the Mac software functionally reliable. No more failed updates (after waiting *forever* for the download/ processing). One-time connect to establish your unit's ID/ status -- after that, you do not need to reconnect until there is *really* an update for you. One easy to navigate source for add-ons, manuals, etc for your specific units.
Like
Donmontalvo
16 March 2014
3.0.7.0 is out.
Like
Version 2.3.7
1 answer(s)
MaurizioL
MaurizioL
02 April 2014
Today (April 2, 2014), Garmin Express from Garmin site is version 3.1.3.0 .
Like (2)
Sebehk
24 February 2014
Just downloaded an update through the app earlier today. The latest version is now 3.0.2(0), according to the "About..." menu item.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.7
Donmontalvo
05 December 2013
Nice update, however it continues to list updates you've already applied. Garmin: there has to be a way to make your apps smart enough to know what's available and NEEDED, and not just what's available. :)
Like (1)
Version 2.3.7
VirgilBoy
04 December 2013
I find this version is a big improvement over my previous. Makes it so easy to just install the new maps onto my Mac. Worked perfectly for my 2555LMT!
Like
Version 2.3.7
Merl1n
02 December 2013
The System Requirements for this version (2.3.7) are wrong. It will not install on Snow Leopard (10.6.8). When you try to run the package it complains that it will not install on this system and directs you to go to Garmin's site and download a version for Snow Leopard. The latest is 2.1.8.
Like
Version 2.3.7
1 answer(s)
Stevencee
Stevencee
04 December 2013
This is true, it will not install on Snow Leopard, please change the requirements as shown on the MacUpdate site.
Like
Pfackelmann
02 December 2013
Doesn't recognize my nüvi 2240
Like
Version 2.3.7
1 answer(s)
Pfackelmann
Pfackelmann
02 December 2013
Recognized it - after the 5th trial
Like
MacGrobo
16 November 2013
hmm, what's with the headline? "Keep your nüvi, zūmo, or dēzl up-to-date." http://i.imgur.com/x5DwgyV.jpg huh?
Like
Version 2.1.8
1 answer(s)
Purps
Purps
02 December 2013
What's confusing? That's the various series of GPS devices they sell. MR has since changed the title, but still.
Like
Hawke5501
29 September 2013
I just spent 2 days trying to install a map update and they all failed. I ran Express for 12 hours and at the last minute the error code came up stating the download failed. I am using a DSL connection and I have no problem with other large downloads. This one is only 5.53 Gig. This software or the Garmin servers are not ready for prime time. The unit works great but their update software and update policies are crap. Apple and others have made online distribution of software painless but Garmin still seems to have problems.
Like
Version 2.1.2
1 answer(s)
Sebehk
Sebehk
11 October 2013
Today, I had the same problem in updating the map for my nüvi 1300. After 3 hours stuck on downloading the map, I decided to re-download the Garmin Express application. Just like DavyB said below, the app's version was 2.1.8. The one I had was 2.1.7. After installing 2.1.8, the map downloaded and installed onto my nüvi 1300 flawlessly.
Like
DavyB
13 September 2013
having updated the maps on my Garmin Nüvi via a fresh copy of Garmin Express, today 2013-09-13, the version downloaded was 2.1.8
Like
Version 2.1.2
1 answer(s)
Adreitz
Adreitz
04 October 2013
Right. 2.1.2 is an old version. It was actually the version I had, and I started manually looking for an update because I saw messages in Console that Garmin Express tried to self-update and failed. I guess there was a bug in the self-updater in 2.1.2, so I got frozen at that version.
Like
Abbott
27 July 2013
I've been updating my Nüvi's with Lifetime Map Updater, and the other software using Web Updater. I was looking forward to Garmin Express. The app works well, EXCEPT that there doesn't seem to be a way to simply download your maps to your computer for use with Garmin Roadtrip (this is easy to do with Lifetime Map Updater). I got so frustrated after trying it several times that I've decided to just stick with my old regimen. While using two apps for updates is a little more cumbersome, at least I can do what I need to.
Like
Version 2.1.2