Back to Tri-BACKUP page
Tri-BACKUP free download for Mac

Tri-BACKUP Reviews

9.1.2
16 October 2019

Automatically backup files on multiple machines.

BuffaloJohn
19 July 2016

Most helpful

After many years of using Tri-Backup I am leaving this software for good. This software is a solid backup solution but is far too expensive to keep. Upgrades should be reasonable. Expecting $50 for minor updates every couple of years is ridiculous. I have switched to Chronosync. Chronosync is a one time purchase of $39. Upgrades are free forever. I also find Chronosyn a superior solution for my needs. Goodbye...
Like (4)
Version 8.0.2

Read 22 Tri-BACKUP User Reviews

Rate this app:

persecutor
22 July 2017
It works for me on a 10.11.6. One difference to CCC is, that this one has a bug, "root creation date" on bootable backups. I remember this from the times of OS9... Nothing changes :D
Like (2)
Version 8.1.1
BuffaloJohn
19 July 2016
After many years of using Tri-Backup I am leaving this software for good. This software is a solid backup solution but is far too expensive to keep. Upgrades should be reasonable. Expecting $50 for minor updates every couple of years is ridiculous. I have switched to Chronosync. Chronosync is a one time purchase of $39. Upgrades are free forever. I also find Chronosyn a superior solution for my needs. Goodbye...
Like (4)
Version 8.0.2
2 answer(s)
Hank2
Hank2
17 September 2016
ChronoSync is $49.99 (USD). ChronoSync + ChronoAgent Bundle is $59.98 (USD).
Like
BuffaloJohn
BuffaloJohn
20 September 2016
Thanks Hank. They did just raise the price. Chronosync continues to impress... I will also point out that Chronosync is a one time purchase. Once you buy it upgrades are free forever!
Like
Panocha
12 June 2015
Do not trust this company. I purchased Tri-Backup years ago, then there was an OS update, and Tri-Backup vanished. It was a completely dead product. There were no updates for literally over 5+ years. Then, all of the sudden, they reappear from the dead, and start making updates again, and all of their customers that they let hang out to dry are expected to pay to get their application working again, that they already paid for, and it never worked in the first place. There is no customer loyalty at all. They could just vanish off the face of the earth again at any time. I have been using ChronoSync ever since, and it has been great with amazing support and upgrade policies.
Like (2)
Version 7.1.4
1 answer(s)
Thirol
Thirol
08 July 2015
Hello,
This is not the truth. You should have missed something!
5 years ago, there was Tri-BACKUP 5. Since we released Tri-BACKUP 6 late 2011 and Tri-BACKUP 7 early 2014, with minor updates regularly.
Yes, major upgrades are paying (5 or 6 to 7 for example), but minor updates are free (a version 7 can be updated for free to 7.x.x versions).
Thierry Rolland
Like (1)
George6
09 February 2014
With every major release they make a slightly different UI... but all are terrible and not at all macosx like. the app itself works good but their ui designers should be condemned to a life time working with their own UIs :D (peace)
Like (6)
Version 7.0.0
Mousee
16 September 2011
$49 for an upgrade is a little high. Make it $29, or even $39 and I'll consider it. For now I'll stick with v5.
Like (13)
Version 6.0.0
1 answer(s)
Kitmos
Kitmos
16 September 2011
agreed, although a revamped interface is LONG overdue
Like (3)
MrFlatulences
11 February 2011
Tri-Backup is the best backup program for the Mac. I have tried everything Synk7, ChronoSync, iBackup, GetBackupPro, Smartbackup - none of these programs can match TriBackup! TriBackup5 every cent is worth it! From the simple to the expert mode, very good help and an assistant. For an administrator with regular backup essential services and the remote start backups over the local network will love it soon! Runs on Intel and PPC extremely stable - had been no crash on PPC no matter, or iMacCore2 iMaci7. Consumes very little computing power and demand has Tribackup other useful dialogue for the professional (logs, status, etc.). Available languages English, French, German (www.softdes.de). Look at it, check them out and how you will use it every day!
Like (2)
Version 5.2.8
Detlevski
14 December 2009
"Update downloaded.." So where the #.7% is it ?
Like (1)
Version 5.2.4
3 answer(s)
Mrglsmrc
Mrglsmrc
14 December 2009
it's on your hard drive. use the finder to look for it.
Like (1)
Version 5.2.4
Detlevski
Detlevski
03 May 2010
It's on your hard drive O, really ? That's quite helpfull, probably the answer to this question is also on "their site"
Like (1)
Version 5.2.7
Waynei
Waynei
13 August 2010
I'm guessing in your downloads folder if you're using Snow Leopard. Perhaps your desktop if using an older OS.
Like (1)
Version 5.2.8
GregJ
21 November 2008
Stay Far Away From This Software............. They can't even maintain their Web Site. I recommend Super Duper for backup software at a reasonable price. I have used it for many many years and the upgrades are FREE !!!!!!!!!!! Nuff Said !
Like (6)
Version 5.1.2
4 answer(s)
Miner
Miner
21 September 2009
Nice comment, I also use SuperDuper, but that is a bit of a sublime one-trick pony which I use for cloning. And I use Synk Pro for synchronization, for which it is superb. Tri-BackUp is substantially more versatile than either, which comes at the price of complexity. But for Backup I rely on TBU! A comment that product A is very good adds very little to assess the merits of product B, imo.
Like (8)
Version 5.2.1
Xenophile
Xenophile
07 August 2012
@Miner: If TBU is so great, why do you have to supplement it with SuperDuper and Synk Pro? It doesn't sound like TBU is at all versatile if it can't do what it says on the tin!
Like (3)
Miner
Miner
07 August 2012
Other way around: Started with SuperDuper, but found that too limited for real backup. Then Synk to supplement, but for synking it was good, but for backup, versioning it was not. TBU does it all, and if that where the first I had bought, I had never looked back. But since I have licenses to all, I can cherry-pick for the task at hand.
Like (4)
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
19 February 2014
I appreciate Miner's comments, not only about this product but about the need to have reviewers chime in who can provide insights based on having used and compared features and benefits, as well as flaws and idiot=syncrosies, of all the products seeking a market in their category. I used to be a diehard Retrospect user, when it was in its heyday and the only game in town worth considering. Now I won't touch it. I agree with Miner is SuperDuper is the software of choice for cloning, but not necessarily for backup, or for incremental storing of works-in-progress. I loved Retrospect for that. I don't much like the price of Tri-Backup, but, based on Miner's insights, I might give it a try. I'll have to run in against Intego's product again, as well as a proprietary product that comes bundled with my external LaCie drives. I find ChronoSync exceptionally versatile for file and folder syncing, and although its document says that it can also clone drives and be used for incremental backups, I have yet to do my test and comparisons. GetBackUp+ is wonderfully fast and easy for syncing up files in different folders across internal and external volumes. So, too, is Syncovery, the new name for the SuperFlexibleSliceEmandDiceEm-LongistWeirdestSoftwareName in the world, which it still seems to be, although Mac purists keep knocking its interface as being too Windoze-like. I never tried Synk Pro, nor did I ever get far into Carbon Carbon Copy, once I discovered SuperDuper and concluded it met my needs in that department. In short, I, too, do not think that there is any one program which does it all, i.e., backing up, backing up incrementally, syncing files and folders across all kinds of barriers, and cloning. So, test them all out, until you find the set that meets your individual needs. Just stop putting a program if it can't be the Swiss Army knife of the backup world: you'll only make yourself sick.
Like
Tvcnet
26 February 2008
Tri-Backup 4.04 was exceptional last year... The new 5.0 beta version is nicely featured as well and seems to respond very well in Leopard. Downside is that 4.04 is flaky if it works at all under Mac OS X Leopard, requiring you to dump 4.04 and install the 5.0 beta. Once the beta expires you'll be forced to pay the new software fee: Upgrade price is US$49 from Tri-BACKUP 4 to Tri-BACKUP 5 (normal version), and US$69 to Tri-BACKUP Pro 5. My gripe: First, the value of the dollar has dropped, so this $49 is not last years $49. So they've affectively raised their rates while other just as decent software developed by hard working US developers costs half as much. So, you get to decide: 1. Pay a company who is charging for upgrades and who's upgrade history between versions spans a year a more. Version 5 beta: Feb 2008 Version 4.0.4: Jan 2006 Version 4.0.3: May 2005 Version 4.0.2: Aug 2004 2. Pay a company who has effectively raised their rates at a time when their version 4.04 version has become nonresponsive under Panther (something akin to holding some folks by the you know what, because the old version no longer works reliably). 3. Go with a USA company who's offering lower cost software with a good upgrades track record, who doesn't have a record of increasing their rate when an older version stops working... so you are trapped into paying for the next version. I hate being forced to pay software companies because they stop supporting their apps. I recommend supporting companies who maintain ongoing a history of periodic upgrades, instead of one that took almost a year to upgrade to 5.0, and then appear to be forcing existing paid customers to pay when their older version stopped working. Enjoy!
Like (3)
Version 5.0b80204
1 answer(s)
Captainpovey
Captainpovey
05 March 2008
Reviewing software based on an exchange rate and xenophobia is never very helpful. And why not take Adobe as an example of a good 'ol USA company - they update less frequently than Tri-edre AND charge European customers more than twice the US price? Bad practices exist on both sides of the Atlantic.
Like (7)
Version 5.0
dwp-1
07 February 2008
These guys are two days late for the party.
Like (1)
Version 5.0b80204
Joy-Livingwell
06 October 2006
Summary: Great backup, lousy restore I just tested this software. It does a great job backing up, with lots of options. Backups can be native file format in a Finder folder hierarchy, so you can search them with any search utility. Iterative backups get made within the same folder hierarchy, in dated folders. It's fast. It's smart. Unfortunately, Tri-BACKUP's restore functionality is, AFAICT, extremely limited. You can't simply tell it to restore a folder to how it was at last backup ... or at a given date in the past ... or how it was when some previous backup got made. Nope, you've got to manually page through a file list to decide which version of what gets restored. Since I have over 250,000 files in my Documents folder alone, plus a huge photo archive, restoring using Tri-BACKUP just isn't practical. Too bad, because otherwise it's a nice program, and I've heard very good reports about its reliability.
Like
Version 4.0.4
1 answer(s)
Lucid
Lucid
15 December 2009
You may be interested in LBackup (drag and drop restore if you perform a local backup).
Like
Version 5.2.4
Ffass
11 April 2006
Great backup software! I've been using this app for years for normal daily backups with no problems. Due to some recent computer problems I've realized that I needed to use Tri-Backup to take my data backups to another level. So, I recently cloned my start up disk to another drive using Tri-Backup and it made a perfect bootable duplicate! I now have the program set up to quickly update the cloned copy at the click of a button. The impetus for cloning my start up drive was what seemed to be a drive failure, but the use of Disk Warrior and an OS reinstall fixed what actually turned out to be a "missing node" problem. I had "evolutive" backups on hand of my data but it still took a day and half to manually drag or reinstall everything back to where it previously was. Having a bootable clone is of great benefit in light of my experience: now if some digital disaster rears it's ugly head, I can now simply reboot to start up drive #2 and jump right back into whatever it was that I was doing on my computer, and deal with the problematic drive at a more convenient time later on. Note that cloning a drive is NEVER a sensible replacement for regular backups of your valuable data! I suggest using Tri-Backup's "evolutive" backup scheme to retain at least 5 previous versions of your important files.
Like
Version 4.0.4
Anonymous
05 September 2005
Looks interesting. But requires StuffIt to decompress. I don't want to install StuffIt, so I'll have to look elsewhere for a backup program.
Like
Version 4.0.3
Anonymous
26 May 2005
It's written : "A 'lite' version is also available for free." But I nomore see it.
Like
Version 4.0.3
foozman
27 September 2004
This is good app for backing up to a server or external drive. It allows compression and encryption, and it will make evolutive backups (that save older versions of files). I don't know how I would like it for backing up to removable media like CD-ROMs, but it has this capability. I am currently biased towards Retrospect (expensive), Impression (cheap) or cdbackup (free, but with only command line interface) for that purpose.
Like
Version 4.0.2
Anonymous
02 August 2004
This is a fantastic app. It is the only backup program I found that will allow you to do the various backup actions between user accounts .. no permissions to worry about or access privileges. The interface is very intuitive. Thank you Mr. Developer!
Like
Version 4.0.1
Anonymous
28 February 2004
Not true, jvhVR : I make bootable drive copies every day. Tri-Backup is the Finest Backup program on the market. It's updated often, It's extremely reliable, and the programmers answer questions promptly. I backup 240 GB/day and have tried every program on the market. CCC is ok but doesn't do 1/10th of what Tri-Backup does. Elegant and Powerful.
Like
Version 4.0.1
Jvhvr
27 February 2004
4.0.1 does not start on my system (OS X 10.3.3)... ?
Like
Version 4.0.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 May 2005
4.0.2 does not work on my tiger, nothing moves, Lacie SilverKeeper 1.1.3 is better and easier to use.
Like
Version 4.0.2
Anonymous
09 July 2003
This program is elegant, lean and mean, and simply works. I work all day and don't worry about anything, because I know it's running it's schedule and all is well. This is really an easy, straight ahead program that does what it says. I run an external Firewire drive for backing up what I'm doing all day, and it updates all changes and keeps things current...I don't have to think about it...which is really nice at the end of the day.
Like
Version 3.2.1
Anonymous
05 February 2003
I cannot think of a bad thing to say about this program. It gives you multiple options for backing up your files, works smoothly and is intuitive. After searching long and hard for a simple but flexible backup program this one is the one that has done the trick. V. 3.1.6 OS9.2
Like
Version 3.1.6
Jvhvr
05 January 2003
Indeed, you can't use this program to make a bootable backup. Use Carbon Copy Cloner instead !
Like
Version 3.1.5
1 answer(s)
Macupdate50
Macupdate50
01 December 2003
I made 2 bootable exact copy of my system on external firewire drives before. Never had a problem...
Like
Version 4.0
zan
05 January 2002
I was very excited to hear about this product because it claimed to be able to backup Mac OS X volumes and that the backups would be bootable, but I found that it wasn't the case, in practice. This feature gets a briefer-than-brief mention in the PDF manual (which appears to have been written in German and then run through a translator program) and I had no success transferring my boot volume to a larger drive. I tried several times. It wasn't much fun.
Like
Version 3.0.4