Back to Shotcut page
Shotcut free download for Mac

Shotcut Reviews21.09.20

24 September 2021

Free open-source video editor.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
May 4 2021
21.05.01
0.0
May 4 2021
0.0
Version: 21.05.01
The link above is for ARM64 ('Apple Silicon') version ONLY, useful on M1 Macs, which of course require macOS 11.x. --> Intel X86 Macs must use the link for 'shotcut-macos-unsigned-210501.dmg' @ https://github.com/mltframework/shotcut/releases/download/v21.05.01/shotcut-macos-unsigned-210501.dmg - - IOW: NO combined version is being offered at this time.
Marko85
Marko85
Feb 11 2021
21.01.29
5.0
Feb 11 2021
5.0
Version: 21.01.29
This app seems quite useful even if you have some other video editing app... you could use it to convert videos to lots of different formats... including QuickTime Animation with an alpha channel and WebM with an alpha channel... for both of those, you just choose one of the included presets. You could also make your own preset for ProRes with an alpha channel if you choose the ProRes preset, make sure "Advanced" is selected, go to "Other" and change the text in the box to these lines: mlt_image_format=rgb24a pix_fmt=yuva444p10le vprofile=4444 vendor=apl0 movflags=+write_colr+faststart Then, just save that as a preset. It seems good for converting videos to HEVC and AV 1 too... it has the "Quality-based VBR" option were you can set the "Quality" and it changes it to CRF... HandBrake recommends something between 18-28 for HEVC (setting the "Quality" to something between 65% to 47% in Shotcut would set the CRF to that)... so the "Quality" set to 55% (CRF 23) will probably be a good balance for most videos and for more high quality videos you can raise it a bit or lower it a bit for lower quality videos... for lower resolution videos that would be upscaled, it would be a good idea to use somewhat higher quality settings than for 4k, if it's a high quality SD video. If you want a "slow" preset for HEVC or H.264 (to encode it more slowly to get a somewhat higher quality), just change one of the existing presets (just change the "preset=medium" to "preset=slow" under "Other") and save it as a new one. Also, you can edit WebM and even WMV directly in it, without having to convert it first. The interface maybe seems kind of "clunky", like it often seem to be the case with apps that are ported from Linux... but it's a useful app. So 5 stars for the usefulness... although the interface could probably be significantly improved... but at least it doesn't require XQuartz like Linux ports sometimes do... so it seems like a relatively decent Linux port.
Geography Is Destiny
Geography Is Destiny
Sep 15 2020
20.09.13
0.0
Sep 15 2020
0.0
Version: 20.09.13
The following statement in your overview is no longer true, so you might think about removing it: "Note: Since the application is not signed, you need to Control-click the app icon and choose Open from the context menu the first time you run it."
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jun 1 2018
18.05
0.0
Jun 1 2018
0.0
Version: 18.05
Note that the currently downloading version is 18.05.08, released May 8, 2018.
artymex
artymex
Aug 16 2017
17.06
5.0
Aug 16 2017
5.0
Version: 17.06
For those who, like me, are interested in, earlier versions are no longer available at: http://www.shotcut.org/bin/view/Shotcut/OlderBuildsOSX They are available at: https://github.com/mltframework/shotcut/releases By the way, there you can follow all the advancements of the project. You're served!
Noivad
Noivad
Jan 18 2017
16.12
3.5
Jan 18 2017
3.5
Version: 16.12
The App does what it needs to, but it is not as intuitive as other video packages. But those packages cost money. So, if you’re willing to learn a less Mac-like way of operating when selecting ranges, etc. , you’ll probably be very happy with the plethora of control you have over exported files. The UI knocks off a full star and a half, but if you don’t care about the UI, it’d rate a 5.
smіlеyyу
smіlеyyу
Dec 6 2016
16.12
5.0
Dec 6 2016
5.0
Version: 16.12
This editor is good enough. It is free but it does everything I need in video editing and the process is simple. I also like it is cross-platform so I can use it on both my machines, Mac and Windows which is very convenient for me. A lot of features are available.
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
Dec 5 2016
16.12
5.0
Dec 5 2016
5.0
Version: 16.12
best free video editor... works very well on Sierra and MBP 2016
Mcr
Mcr
Feb 23 2016
16.02.01
0.0
Feb 23 2016
0.0
Version: 16.02.01
Note to Developer:
on the home page it says requirements for OS X is 10.8+. On this MacUpdate page it still says 10.6 or later.

It appears Shotcut is using the Qt version 5 framework. For all those with OS X 10.6, note that Qt 5 is no longer tested against 10.6.
http://doc.qt.io/QtSupportedPlatforms/index.html#qt-5-4
And in case some of you don't know, by 'Qt' , does NOT mean QuickTime, it means the Qt development framework that allows you to write programs using the same code that will run on OS X, Windows and Linux. Calibre is a well known, widely used app you may have heard of that also is built using Qt.
Eviandem
Eviandem
Jan 2 2016
15.06
5.0
Jan 2 2016
5.0
Version: 15.06
Excellent Software. (Almost) easy to use, many export formats
Enkaytee
Enkaytee
Sep 3 2015
15.06
4.5
Sep 3 2015
4.5
Version: 15.06
A bit of a steep learning curve for someone who's not an expert on video editing tools but amazingly powerful and full featured for a free app (but donations are possible - mine will be on its way very soon!) Thanks to the dev for all his hard work...
Basti79
Basti79
Apr 5 2015
14.08.01
4.5
Apr 5 2015
4.5
Version: 14.08.01
I've searched for a software to edit .TS files recorded on my sat receiver for quite some time now. I used to convert it into some editable format using handbrake, then edit out start, end and commercials and finally convert it into MPEG/H.264 or the likes. I also tried Wondershare software which was a rather disappointing experience. Then I stumbled on this piece of software and it just does it for me. It imports .TS files via Finder mounted share off of my sat receiver just fine. I can frame-exact place in and out-markers, add sections to the timeline or the playlist then finally export to a couple dozen video output formats. Okay, the UI could be a bit more simple especially the selection of encoding codecs but other than that this is a truly fine piece of software. @Developer: Thank you very much for the work and effort you've put into this software! I really do appreciate it.
DanD7477
DanD7477
Jan 7 2015
14.08.01
0.0
Jan 7 2015
0.0
Version: 14.08.01
The latest version at the web site is 15.01.
macmarx
macmarx
Nov 7 2014
14.08.01
5.0
Nov 7 2014
5.0
Version: 14.08.01
Actual version is 14.11.01: Release 14.11 Sat, 01 Nov 2014 20:15:00 +0000 The new version 14.11 of Shotcut is now available for download with the following enhancements in addition to the usual bug fixes: -The HTML5 features are finally available on Windows! -Add source code editing to the HTML editor. -WebGL logoAdd 3D Text filter based on WebGL, typeface.js, and three.js. -Add support for DirectShow devices on Windows in the Open Other dialog. -Add the Opus audio codec. -Change the VP9 WebM preset to use the Opus audio codec. -Add support for the #localtime# keyword to the Text filter (no button yet). -Restart instead of simply closing the app when changing the GPU or language settings. -Change the Redo keyboard shortcut to Ctrl+Y on Windows only. -Save file paths in MLT XML with relative names for assets in the same folder or sub-folder. This makes it easier to use a relocatable project folder. -Add scale and offset parameters and a preset widget to the Rotate filter. Usually after rotating a video, part of the image has been clipped. These new parameters provide control for that clipping processing including no clipping. -Add Italian translation. Remarks: I'm not the developer, but I've just installed the actual version and missed that information on MacUpdate
Emile-b
Emile-b
May 13 2014
14.05.02
1.0
May 13 2014
1.0
Version: 14.05.02
Release 14.05.02 does not work on 10.6 - Frozen at the launch plugin step !
Emile-b
Emile-b
May 13 2014
14.05.02
1.0
May 13 2014
1.0
Version: 14.05.02
Release 14.05.02 does not run on 10.6.x - frozen at the launch plug-in step... !
pmorpurgo
pmorpurgo
Apr 14 2014
14.04.13
0.0
Apr 14 2014
0.0
Version: 14.04.13
This version and the previous one do work for me, running on a MacBook 13" late 2007 with OS X 10.7.5 and these QT plugins: AC3MovieImport AppleIntermediateCodec AppleMPEG2Codec Elgato Turbo EyeTV MPEG Support mp4vEncoder Perian x264Encoder xvidEncoder
Emile-b
Emile-b
Apr 8 2014
14.04.08
1.0
Apr 8 2014
1.0
Version: 14.04.08
it could be nice if this application could start on 10.6 !!!! This app does not pass the load plugin step... and can not start !!!!
JacobsG
JacobsG
Mar 29 2014
14.03.29
0.0
Mar 29 2014
0.0
Version: 14.03.29
It does not work at all. It starts and quits at the same time.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Mar 28 2014
14.03.27
0.0
Mar 28 2014
0.0
Version: 14.03.27
The Requirements for Shotcut are WHAT?! Using OS X 10.7.5 I've tried the most recent version as well as the earliest version (from February) on the developer's website and I always get: "Error: This program requires OpenGL version 2.0 with frame buffer object extension." 10.7.5 only has OpenGL v1.8.1, whereas 10.9.2 has v9.6.0. MacUpdate says Shotcut runs on 10.5 on up. No it doesn't! I'm going to have to assume it currently requires 10.8 or higher.
Emile-b
Emile-b
Mar 25 2014
14.03.24
1.0
Mar 25 2014
1.0
Version: 14.03.24
Crash on launch - plugin item does not load !
Mac-Mail
Mac-Mail
Dec 24 2013
13.12.23
0.0
Dec 24 2013
0.0
Version: 13.12.23
Crashes, crashes, and crashes!!!
Jobst
Jobst
Dec 24 2013
13.12.23
0.5
Dec 24 2013
0.5
Version: 13.12.23
Crashes on launch on MacBook Pro running 10.6.8
flash1296gmailcom8977
flash1296gmailcom8977
Dec 24 2013
13.12.23
0.5
Dec 24 2013
0.5
Version: 13.12.23
Crashes on Launch. Error Message re: OS on 10.9.1
Molamola
Molamola
Dec 24 2013
13.12.23
0.0
Dec 24 2013
0.0
Version: 13.12.23
crashes on launch on my MacBook pro running 10.9.1. seems it is trying to load a library from a path which probably only exist on the developers computer (user ddennedy ?): Dyld Error Message: Library not loaded: /Users/ddennedy/Qt/5.2.0/clang_64/lib/QtCore.framework/Versions/5/QtCore Referenced from: /Applications/Shotcut.app/Contents/MacOS/lib/QtGui Reason: image not found