Back to Apple Security Update page
Apple Security Update free download for Mac

Apple Security Update Reviews2020-003

03 June 2020

For macOS High Sierra.

How would you rate Apple Security Update?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
fotoroberto
fotoroberto
Jun 5 2020
2020-003
1.0
Jun 5 2020
1.0
Version: 2020-003
OS and security updates now predominantly bring limitations and more and more nontransparent control and processes. Mojave 10.14.6 is maybe my last update on my 2018 MBP. I don't trust Apple no more. After more than 20 years working with Apple computers I feel that they deviated and we no longer can be safe like we were. Still infinitely better option than Windows or anything else but I feel something sinister. :(
Ward
Ward
Feb 5 2020
2019-004
0.0
Feb 5 2020
0.0
Version: 2019-004
Security Update 2020-001 was released on 28 Jan 20. More info: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT210919
PLAYER_ONE
PLAYER_ONE
Sep 12 2019
2019-004
0.0
Sep 12 2019
0.0
Version: 2019-004
I've got serious problem with latest security update on my 13' MacBook Pro Retina (Early 2015). After update my Mac heats up and throttle as hell. I reinstalled Mac OS Sierra from scratch, changed thermal paste on CPU twice, nothing helped. I can have ~80 celsius on my CPU, when I'm only browsing the net on Safari. It's hard to use any powerful applications, because it can heat up to even ~100 celsius and above. Please help, what can I do? Did anyone had the same problem? Thank you in advance P.S. I can't upgrade my OS to newest version due to my health problems. So I have to stay with Mac OS Sierra.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Aug 1 2019
2019-004
0.0
Aug 1 2019
0.0
Version: 2019-004
Untangling Confusion:

The original "Security Update 2019-004 (High Sierra & Sierra)" contained a bug that affected Sleep mode on a few recent Mac models. Without explanation, Apple pulled the update for several days. Then, without explanation, Apple made the update available again with modifications that removed the Sleep bug.

If you have questions about whether you have the correct version installed, simply download and install this latest version. For details, please read:
"Apple has released High Sierra and Sierra Security Updates 2019-004 again"
https://eclecticlight.co/2019/07/29/apple-has-released-high-sierra-and-sierra-security-updates-2019-004-again/
mason746
mason746
Jun 4 2019
2019-003
5.0
Jun 4 2019
5.0
Version: 2019-003
If you have an older Mac, you are stuck on macOS 10.13.6. A number of people have had problems installing Security Update 2019-003 10.13.6, where on shutdown the Mac hangs at a black screen with just the cursor visible, requiring a hard reset that doesn't complete the installation. Rinse and repeat, but no success.

Quick solution to enable successful shutdown, but does not install the Update:
Delete the files that trigger the patch installation on shutdown
https://apple.stackexchange.com/questions/188842/black-screen-with-cursor-on-logout-in-yosemite

Solution to clear and reset a whole load of "stuff", and get the update installed:
https://davidsimpson.me/2018/11/14/fixing-failed-macox-10.13.6-security-update-2018-002/
The above works for update 2019-003 as well.
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
May 14 2019
2019-003
5.0
May 14 2019
5.0
Version: 2019-003
Works fine as usual
stu241
stu241
Apr 2 2019
2019-002
1.0
Apr 2 2019
1.0
Version: 2019-002
I have High Sierra 10.13.6. When I try to update with this download, it comes up with "ALERT. This update requires macOS version 10.12". Yet this download is supposed to be for my OS as well? I had previously tried to update in the App Store, but every time I restart my screen goes black apart from my mouse pointer which works perfectly, but nothing happens, it stalls. The only way to do anything is to power off and on again and it loads fine. But as soon as you do a restart, the same thing happens. Help!
Michael Frankel
Michael Frankel
Mar 26 2019
2019-002
0.0
Mar 26 2019
0.0
Version: 2019-002
This is a seriously buggy POS (for reference, this was on High Sierra). Installed it, seemed to go fine, restarted after the updated, seemed to go fine, shut down my laptop and went to another location, restarted my comuter and it would NOT boot up (said there was something wrong with the Mac OS installation). I had to start without system extensions, open the App Store, and install it AGAIN. There was NO warning about problems with the initial install. Can't you do better, Apple??
Scion777
Scion777
Mar 26 2019
2019-002
0.0
Mar 26 2019
0.0
Version: 2019-002
https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1995?viewlocale=en_IN&locale=en_IN - 2019-002 Sierra https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1997?viewlocale=en_IN&locale=en_IN - 2019-002 High Sierra -- ignore the Dec 5, 2018 date on the page, this is the March 19th correct installer
samnangie
samnangie
Jan 28 2019
2018-006
0.0
Jan 28 2019
0.0
Version: 2018-006
This is great, thanks! Does anyone know where the 2019-001 update from Jan 22 is?
Aargl
Aargl
Dec 12 2018
2018-006
0.0
Dec 12 2018
0.0
Version: 2018-006
No trace of an Apple Security Update 2018-006 for OS X 10.11.6 anywhere — and I bet the 004 will be the last forever — so why keep on calling this page "For macOS 10.12.6 and OS X 10.11.6"? I've just lost time trying to find it... :-/
Flavum
Flavum
Aug 10 2018
2018-004
0.0
Aug 10 2018
0.0
Version: 2018-004
"Will Apple Security Update work good <sic> on macOS 10.13.4?" I'm guessing it won't. Nice work, MacUpdate.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Aug 10 2018
2018-004
0.0
Aug 10 2018
0.0
Version: 2018-004
Yes, Apple Security Update Version 2018-004 is from a month ago, July 9, 2018. You are not hallucinating. You most likely already have it installed.
Mcr
Mcr
Aug 9 2018
2018-004
0.0
Aug 9 2018
0.0
Version: 2018-004
When applying SecUpdate2018-004 to previous SecUpdate2018-003 installation on El Capitan, HEADS UP. There were TWO SecUpdate2018-003 updates for El Cap, an initial and a slip stream version that Apple very quietly slipped in to replace the initial one a few days later. If you installed the initial SecUpdate2018-003 download, the build number shows 15G21012, if you waited and downloaded it after Apple replaced it with the new one, the build is 15G21013 when completed..

NOW, if you try manually try to run SecUpdate2018-004 over SecUpdate2018-003 build 15G21012, it will refuse and say the SecUpdate2018-004 update can not be installed. Run it over SecUpdate2018-003 build 15G21013 and no issues. I had to first RE-APPLY SecUpdate2018-003 (the newer one and the one you get currently if you download a fresh copy from Apple) to get the build number from 15G21012 to 15G21013. Then I was able to apply SecUpdate2018-004 (which results in build number 15G22010 btw).

I don't know if it would have worked had I gone through MAS ; I always apply my updates by manually running the installer BECAUSE I always boot from another drive to run update. That's a tip everyone should follow, i.e. never boot from and install an update to/from the same boot partition. In my experience, this virtually eliminates the reports you hear about the update taking forever, and or the system taking forever to reboot, or runs slow after the update. This is because by booting from a different drive, the one you are updating is completely accessible and files can be updated quickly without delay. If you try to update the same drive you boot from, not all files can be updated first time around because the system is still running, its like trying to replace a rug while you are still walking on it. it takes a few reboots and a lot more time before everything is updated. With disk drives so inexpensive and HUGE these days, there is no excuse not to have an external boot drive or to divide your existing internal drive into multiple partitions, plus macOS is SO easy to clone and excellent cloning software is readily available (Chronosync, SuperDuper, CarbonCopyCloner to name just a few). In any case, for emergencies, you should ALWAYS have another boot option available to regain access to your working partition in case of trouble.
Peace.
rardin
rardin
Jul 13 2018
2018-003
0.0
Jul 13 2018
0.0
Version: 2018-003
SecUpdate2018-004 has been out since July 9, but the MacUpdate crew hasn't gotten around to adding it yet, so I thought it would be worth posting links to SecUpd2018-004ElCapitan: https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1972 and SecUpd2018-004Sierra: https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1971
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Jun 14 2018
2018-003
4.0
Jun 14 2018
4.0
Version: 2018-003
Weirdest security update ever (2018-003): the installation (onto an HDD) was very fast, faster than usual, but login into my main account—and I'm not kidding—took 6 (six!) hours for even my Desktop to show up, two more hours for all the startup items and scripts to load/run, and the machine was sluggish for many more hours. Now it's all good again, snappy & stable. But if you get the spinning beach ball for seemingly forever, don't force-shutdown, just wait it out, go to work, go party, read a book.
Mcr
Mcr
Jun 4 2018
2018-002
0.0
Jun 4 2018
0.0
Version: 2018-002
As of June 4, 2018, this MU listing is incorrect. It is actually Security Update 2018-003 for Sierra and El Capitan is the most current. For High Sierra, the fixes are included in 10.13.5 update.

2018-03 for Sierra here:
https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1968?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US

2018-03 for El Cap here:
https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1967?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US

10.13.5 combo for High Sierra here:
https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1965?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US

I ALWAYS recommend using the combo updater, even if updating from the immediate prior release, for example, even if updating from 10.13.4 to 10.13.5, I would still using the combo, not the incremental. I've experienced several instances were the incremental is missing necessary files or misses files from previous updates that for whatever reason didn't get updated. The combo by design will check all files back to the 10.x.0 release to confirm all needed files are current. And I always recommend booting from another partition or drive to run updates, i.e. don't boot from the same partition drive you also plan to update; this ensures the partition to be updated is offline and files are all accessible; dramatically reduces the time to run the update, in my experience.
jcraig
jcraig
Jun 4 2018
2018-002
0.0
Jun 4 2018
0.0
Version: 2018-002
Be patient with this one. My early-2011 MBP made a buzzing noise (firmware update?) and rebooted twice. After the second reboot, it seemingly sat dormant with the Apple/gray screen for some time before finally bringing up the login screen. Grab a snack and let the update do its thing, all will be well.
Scion777
Scion777
Nov 30 2017
2017-001
0.0
Nov 30 2017
0.0
Version: 2017-001
This does not point to the 2017-001 High Sierra update - which right now is only available via the App Store. This is pointing to the supplemental update released several weeks ago..
Thinking-Differently
Thinking-Differently
Nov 3 2017
2017-001
0.0
Nov 3 2017
0.0
Version: 2017-001
If you wish to directly download the update from Apple, try the following URL for the US english version: https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1940?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US
Yorh Ekin
Yorh Ekin
Jun 22 2017
2017-002
0.5
Jun 22 2017
0.5
Version: 2017-002
My MacBook Pro test machine on El Capitan got VERY hot, ***right after*** restarting and the fans were blowing like totally crazy for minutes and minutes until the whole MacBook broke down. I don't know what Apple is doing ... it's a mess. Even the installation process is a little glitchy. It doesn't run smooth for Apple at the present time. Too many under constructions and Sierra won't solve it. I recommend everyone, make a TC backup BEFORE installing OS related updates Even the migrations from a TM backup didn't work as expected after installing a clean El Capitan. Apple ... it's a total mess.
Thinking-Differently
Thinking-Differently
May 16 2017
2017-002
0.0
May 16 2017
0.0
Version: 2017-002
For those who wish to download it directly from an Apple web page, the correct URL for El Capitan (OS-X 10.11) is: https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1920 And the correct URL for Yosemite (OSX- 10.10) is: https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1919
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
Oct 30 2016
2016-002
0.0
Oct 30 2016
0.0
Version: 2016-002
Well finally i got it Since 10.10 every security update strangely coincided with the release of new system. and funny thing is each and everyone ended up f******-up the actual os. IS this the new apol strategy to brute-force people moving on the newest one? (mac fans pls do not reply to this, its rhetorical)
marketing-3
marketing-3
Oct 30 2016
2016-002
5.0
Oct 30 2016
5.0
Version: 2016-002
Great that we get security updates for El Capitan.
Adonsa
Adonsa
Sep 17 2016
2016-001
0.5
Sep 17 2016
0.5
Version: 2016-001
The secupd2016-001 update was performed on System 10.11.6 and resulted in a persistent "lsd quit unexpectedly" errors which rendered everything unusable. There are message threads on Apple website containing complaints about the "lsd quit unexpectedly" error, but no definitive solution except to reformat and restore from backup. Recommendation, do what you want, but you might want to have a good backup ready to restore from. Recommendation for Apple Computer - fix the problem.
outer
outer
Sep 2 2016
2016-001
0.0
Sep 2 2016
0.0
Version: 2016-001
It took me a further full Restart to get things back to expected (for example, ntpq was timing out waiting for localhost to deliver data). Apart from that, no problems. sw_vers now reports 10.11.6 (15G1004).
Fred-Dalzell
Fred-Dalzell
Sep 2 2016
2016-001
0.0
Sep 2 2016
0.0
Version: 2016-001
Security Update 2016-001 for El Capitan Something weird - when I updated using this download, Safari was still 9.1.2. App Store still showed it wasn't installed, so updated through store and now Safari is 9.1.3.
Mac-Freak
Mac-Freak
May 16 2016
2016-002
0.0
May 16 2016
0.0
Version: 2016-002
Security Update 2016-003 Mavericks http://support.apple.com/downloads/DL1878/en_US/secupd2016-003mavericks.dmg Security Update 2016-003 Yosemite http://support.apple.com/downloads/DL1879/en_US/secupd2016-003yosemite.dmg
slobjones11
slobjones11
Mar 24 2016
2016-002
1.0
Mar 24 2016
1.0
Version: 2016-002
Allowed my MacBook Pro running Yosemite 10.10.5 to install Security Update 2016-002 today. Tonight I find I'm only getting audio from the left channel of my headphone port. Deleting audio plists provides no relief. Anyone else experiencing this problem?
Low-Flyer
Low-Flyer
Jan 22 2016
2016-001
0.0
Jan 22 2016
0.0
Version: 2016-001
Security Update 2016-001 for Yosemite was posted by Apple on Jan 19, 2016 (https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1856?locale=en_US), but three days later still not available for update by App Store.
Aarrd
Aarrd
Jan 21 2016
2016-001
1.0
Jan 21 2016
1.0
Version: 2016-001
Be aware this could break your nvidia drivers for unflashed graphics cards on 10.10.5. After spending 5 days trying to get my system working the way I want between 2 computers and 3 OS they release this "wonderful" security update 2016 001 and I'm back where I started. Now after looking on the net I found this is a regular occurrence. I wish Apple and Nvidia could just talk to each other to give us some native drivers in the OS.
Bigboysdad
Bigboysdad
Dec 15 2015
2015-006
0.0
Dec 15 2015
0.0
Version: 2015-006
Well, I'm having to come here to download it because it's impossible to do so from the App Store. Jeez, I sometimes hate that App Store.
Mcr
Mcr
Dec 13 2015
2015-006
0.0
Dec 13 2015
0.0
Version: 2015-006
interesting. 2015-005 is released on Dec 8. 2015-006 is released on Dec 12, FOUR DAYS LATER. Really Apple? What did you not know on Dec 8 that you suddenly know on Dec 12? Or was there an error in 2015-005 that you had quickly correct? If there was an error what does that say about the QA testing for critical things like security updates?
Kobalt
Kobalt
Dec 9 2015
2015-004
0.0
Dec 9 2015
0.0
Version: 2015-004
The latest Security Update for Yosemite is 2015-005 1.0 https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1852?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US Post Date: Dec 8, 2015 File Size: 369 MB
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Aug 14 2015
2015-006
0.0
Aug 14 2015
0.0
Version: 2015-006
Apple Security Update 2015-006 is for BOTH OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion AND 10.9 Mavericks. It is NOT just for 10.9. And: WHY does MacUpdate have the Mountain Lion logo on this page when it (wrongly) says this update is only for Mavericks??? Cognitive dissonance storm!
ianrid
ianrid
Jul 1 2015
2015-005
0.0
Jul 1 2015
0.0
Version: 2015-005
Two Restarts on this one. But why does it have to make that alarmingly loud tone when the machine first shuts down?
Albabe
Albabe
Jun 30 2015
2015-004
0.0
Jun 30 2015
0.0
Version: 2015-004
It see,s, Today's Security Update kills SIMBL and EasySIMBL.
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
Apr 11 2015
2015-004
0.0
Apr 11 2015
0.0
Version: 2015-004
This might be worth noting, particularly the comment, "Macs running versions 10.9 or earlier remain vulnerable." http://arstechnica.com/security/2015/04/latest-version-of-os-x-closes-backdoor-like-bug-that-gives-attackers-root/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_med
MtnManEd
MtnManEd
Apr 9 2015
2015-004
0.0
Apr 9 2015
0.0
Version: 2015-004
Downloaded from here and directly from Apple and get the same error during installation: "...can't be installed on this disk. An error occurred while evaluating JavaScript for the package." So, it seems there's an issue with the code in the pkg.
wintermute
wintermute
Mar 21 2015
2015-003
1.0
Mar 21 2015
1.0
Version: 2015-003
**For users of old Mac Pro desktop machines running non-Apple EFI Nvidia cards-- if this is not you, you can probably ignore this.** Apple Security Update 2015-003 will likely break your video drivers. Without the video drivers loading, you will likely reboot to a black screen after installing the Apple Security Update 2015-003. Okay... not sure why this finally worked... I tried installing this "b4" Nvidia Web driver previously and it refused to install stating that I didn't have the correct build of OS X. I tried installing it with Pacifist, and it installed but still no video. I followed the outlined instructions I posted earlier for the "fix" which apparently worked for many others, but still no joy. The system kept reporting that the NVDAstartup.kext was unsigned and refused to load it. After repairing permission and trying a bunch of things, I simply ran the installer for the following "b4" version again... and it suddenly let me install it with no complaints. Odd. And then on reboot, all is working again. Go figure. Here's the link. Make a cloned bootable back-up first and then try installing this driver. If it will let you install it, you are probably good to go. Good luck. http://us.download.nvidia.com/dZAS8cBUHaT1cUk4pr4NBgqTMH8PbHXC/WebDriver-343.02.02b04.pkg
wintermute
wintermute
Mar 20 2015
2015-003
1.0
Mar 20 2015
1.0
Version: 2015-003
So here's my personal rating since this update killed my Nvidia drivers. Boo to Apple on this one. I understand that the security fixes needed to be made, but the fixes that were made should not have affected the graphics drivers... they dealt with Keychain security, not graphics drivers.
wintermute
wintermute
Mar 20 2015
2015-003
1.0
Mar 20 2015
1.0
Version: 2015-003
If you have an old Mac Pro with a non-Apple EFI Nvidia card, first create a cloned, bootable back up of your system to be sure you can boot back up as you are now. Second, either install an Apple EFI Video card or turn on Remote Access and have another mac available to remote in if needed. Third, install the Nvidia web driver from here:
http://us.download.nvidia.com/Mac/Quadro_Certified/343.02.02f03/WebDriver-343.02.02f03.pkg

Fourth, install the security update.

Finally, follow these instructions to enable the Web driver with the new build number of OS X which changes after the Security Update:

http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/159885-security-update-2013-003-breaks-nvidia-web-driver-again.html

Good Luck!
JBX
JBX
Mar 20 2015
2015-003
1.0
Mar 20 2015
1.0
Version: 2015-003
Kills Nvidia drivers!
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Mar 20 2015
2015-003
0.0
Mar 20 2015
0.0
Version: 2015-003
Despite what it says at the top of this page, this update is for Yosemite only.
Solutionscts
Solutionscts
Mar 20 2015
2015-003
3.0
Mar 20 2015
3.0
Version: 2015-003
The Mavericks update still exposes the mach.kernel which has to be re-hidden through terminal. That's a real pain when you have 50 plus Macs to update!
wintermute
wintermute
Mar 19 2015
2015-002
1.0
Mar 19 2015
1.0
Version: 2015-002
Another Security Update is out... 2015-003 1.0 Anyone know if this breaks the non-Apple Nvidia drivers again?
wintermute
wintermute
Mar 12 2015
2015-002
1.0
Mar 12 2015
1.0
Version: 2015-002
I can confirm that this latest security update, 2015-002, does indeed break the graphics drivers for users using non-Apple EFI Nvidia graphics cards. Users on old Mac Pros with non-Apple EFI Nvidia cards will likely reboot to a black screen after the update. Be sure you have a cloned, bootable back-up on hand before attempting this update or have an Apple EFI videocard installed.
DigiMonk
DigiMonk
Mar 11 2015
2015-002
2.5
Mar 11 2015
2.5
Version: 2015-002
Update installed successfully on a MBP 17'', Mid 2010 - it downloaded the update, rebooted to install it and rebooted again after and showed the configuration setup where you can put in your Apple-ID password to auto-configure everything related.
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
Mar 11 2015
2015-002
0.0
Mar 11 2015
0.0
Version: 2015-002
Just a warning about this security update, it bricked my MBP mid 2014. My system restarted after the security update installed through the App store, then it showed a progress bar for a few seconds and then it just shows a black screen with a white prohibitory sign. Booting into recovery mode and repairing disk does not help, it won't even boot into single user mode. Of course my backup disk is in a storage unit as I'm in the middle of moving to a new house... Dagnabit! So back up first (as always) :-)
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
Mar 11 2015
2015-002
0.0
Mar 11 2015
0.0
Version: 2015-002
Just a warning about this security update, it bricked my MBP mid 2014. My system restarted after the security update installed through the App store, then it showed a progress bar for a few seconds and then it just shows a black screen with a white prohibitory sign. Booting into recovery mode and repairing disk does not help, it won't even boot into single user mode. Of course my backup disk is in a storage unit as I'm in the middle of moving to a new house... Dagnabit! So back up first (as always) :-)