Back to Tap Forms page
Tap Forms free download for Mac

Tap Forms Reviews

5.3.10
18 January 2020

Easily keep track of your important information.

skaloupi
27 May 2018

Most helpful

I have downloaded the trial and it is actually pretty good. Just a question: can I create drop-down menus, so I can press an arrow and choose values from a list? (e.g. in Symphytum this type of field is available). This field-type is really important to me... Thanks
Like (1)
Version 5.2.11

Read 38 Tap Forms User Reviews

Rate this app:

skaloupi
27 May 2018
I have downloaded the trial and it is actually pretty good. Just a question: can I create drop-down menus, so I can press an arrow and choose values from a list? (e.g. in Symphytum this type of field is available). This field-type is really important to me... Thanks
Like (1)
Version 5.2.11
jonescarol
25 February 2018
Great personal application
Like
Version 5.2.8
Yazarim
08 December 2017
Very good app, indeed. I have practically substituted it to my old FileMaker 9 Pro files, which where becoming more and more unreliable (new FileMaker is too costly for my needs). And the support is fantastic. But I really can not understand why Tap Forms flies like a lightning on my iPad and is so slow and clumsy on my iMac Retina with latest Sierra. It never opens, you have to wait for centuries. And with exactly the same documents. That's why I do not give it 5 stars
Like (2)
Version 5.2.4
doublebees
15 May 2017
I want to thank the developers for being so friendly and supportive. So many developers, especially big ones no longer provide prompt response to emails. Developers providing good support should be rewarded.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.3
Prlab
29 April 2017
with the addition of "nearby" sync, Tap Forms just became my most indispensable app, . I had been using it's IBM Cloudant service without any problems but I am wary of any cloud-based service. I can now remove that and sync more securely with my devices locally. I use Tap Forms for work databases, sports training data and testing and passwords. No need for any wallet apps. This does it all and without any problems. Brendan developer,, t will get back to you quickly.
Like (3)
Version 5.1.1
2 answer(s)
Neutralzone
Neutralzone
30 April 2017
Nearby sync is not new. It was introduced with Tap Forms 5 last August along with Cloudant sync. I've been using Nearby sync for months since then.

The new sync options in 5.1 are the re-introduction of iCloud sync and the addition of CouchDB sync (no idea what that is). With the reappearance of iCloud sync I have switched back over to that.

Nearby sync is of course relatively secure since no data leaves your LAN. But it is inconvenient because all databases to be synced must be open for the sync to be possible, so if I was on my Mac and the Tap Forms app on my iPhone was not open, no sync could occur. I was doing OK that way, but I prefer the more hands-free iCloud sync and am glad it is back..
Like (2)
Tap-Forms
Tap-Forms
05 May 2017
Yup. Nearby sync has been around since August. But the new sync options in Tap Forms 5.1 are iCloud sync and Apache CouchDB. Apache CouchDB is great because it's free (open source) and you can install it on your own server. It basically gives you cloud sync, but without the cloud :) See my online user manual for details on how to set it up if you're interested. It's rather technical, but certainly doable.
Like (4)
isdn
27 April 2017
Great personal database app.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.10
jerry-turi
02 February 2017
I have this on my phone. Good solid app! Do you have old versions for OS X 10.9, I have this work computer that I'm not allowed to update, I would like to install the Mac version too.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.10
1 answer(s)
Tap Zapp Software Inc.
Tap Zapp Software Inc.
05 May 2017
Tap Forms 3.5.19 is still available which will run on OS X 10.9.5. But it's no longer updated. Tap Forms 5 is now under constant development.
Like (1)
Rob-N
30 January 2017
I have been using the app for a number of personal sets of info and have recently begun to import old Bento databases into Tap Forms. I ran into issues and wrestled awhile. Finally an email to the developer brought a *very* quick response - - and after only a few interchanges - - a comment made by him led me to suspect my error. Following his suggestion - - he was right. My Bento databases imported wonderfully - - without flaw. It’s great to have a database app such as this available - - especially one with a future - - and one that is now a seeming delight to work with. Sincere appreciation to the developer and to the app itself. It seems most stable on El Capitan.
Like (5)
Version 5.0.10
Pik80
05 December 2016
Fantastic replacement to the old bento app. Cloud syncing system works fine for me.
Like (2)
Version 5.0.9
Tim27
20 August 2016
There were a few bugs when version 5 launched, but the developer has handled them fairly quickly and the app is now really stable and works great. Love the new updates. For those that used Bento in the past this is an awesome alternative. Also for those that don't need all the power, complexity and cost of Filemaker Pro.
Like (3)
Version 5.0.3
1 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
17 October 2017
One thing I’d like the developer to add is reports with charts/graphs and the ability to set your own layouts as the default layout for a form.
Like
Prlab
04 August 2016
Can't recommend this app highly enough. It works. Also has a good online forum. Like other comments here, I can vouch that the developer, Brendan, responds quickly. What a rarity. He released the new version 5 yesterday and I had a question about the altered synching method. He responded within minutes on what must have been an extremely busy day.
Like (2)
Version 5
2 answer(s)
Anddave
Anddave
20 August 2016
The app, by itself, is great.

Syncing support has gone down the drain, and ONLY supports Cloudant, so say hello to another monthly subscription fee.

This craptastic "feature" should be front and center. Oh wait, we better not, NOBODY WOULD BUY THE APP.
Like
Tap-Forms
Tap-Forms
28 August 2016
@Anddave, Tap Forms 5 also supports WiFi syncing. I think you probably wouldn't ever go over the free limit for Cloudant syncing. It works really well.
Like (1)
Nanajana
01 May 2016
This app has become indispensable to me since the disappointing demise of Bento. It's pretty simple as databases go so you don't have to be a genius. The best thing is that Brendan is SO responsive when I have a question. It is so rare to get help from a developer that I give apps 100 extra points for that. I use TF to keep info on a variety of subjects, e.g. room reservation clients, medical providers, stores, and restaurants. I use Evernote too, for free form info but Tap Forms is better for more structured uses. I’m syncing with the iPhone using Dropbox and it works well most of the time.
Like (2)
Version 3.5.14
Prince-Isaac
23 November 2015
I've been using this for a couple of years since Bento went by the wayside. It turned out to be way better than Bento right from the start and each update makes it that much better. It's an extremely easy app to use to create great databases. I'm especially please that it syncs (via Dropbox) to its companion on my iPad as I like to take my iPad out in the field as a resource. Support has been phenomenal as the dev has been very responsive to my questions. This app is as good as it gets for personal databases and the price is very affordable.
Like (4)
Version 3.5.8
lookforandrew
23 October 2015
I have used this App on all my devices since the beginning. It is something I can not live without at this point. I am a huge fan of the power of databases and this one is simple, easy and affordable. Being able to sync all of my information has come in so handy, even when travelling. I am able to keep track of all my logins, accounts, identification, and more. I can not say enough about this App honestly. Their improvements just keep coming and I become more addicted with every new release. Can not wait for the new versions.
Like (3)
Version 3.5.6
Tait-Kahray
05 August 2015
After a few months of use, I can say this is a very nice app! It's very handy, flexible and stable. It easily imported and handles one of my databases with over 2,000 records. After a little initial work and fiddling, syncing with IOS operates well and quickly. It's a pleasure to use and I find myself doing so more all the time. Thanks!
Like (3)
Version 3.5.3
mistake
Like
Version 3.5.3
not work OS X El Capitan PB1.
Like
Version 3.5.3
1 answer(s)
Tap-Forms
Tap-Forms
23 October 2015
Version 3.5.6 is fully compatible with El Capitan.
Like
Prlab
20 May 2015
Becoming more indispensable the more I use it. iCloud sync works well.
Like
Version 3.5.1
Blackmacdaddy
09 January 2015
Demo for 3 requires 10.9.5? I'm on 10.8.5 for Pro Tools & I can't even buy 10.9 from Apple now (1-8-2015) and Pro Tools is unstable with 10.10. No 10.8.5 means no sale. Back to Home Inventory for me.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
Tap-Forms
Tap-Forms
24 February 2015
My apologies for the requirement for 10.9. It's difficult to keep supporting older OS versions. There were things in 10.9 and 10.10 that just were not available in 10.8 or earlier so I had to end support for 10.8 and earlier. It became very time consuming to test and support the older operating system versions, so that's another reason why I had to leave them behind. I'm very sorry that this has caused you troubles.
Like (2)
anonymous-thrush-1121
09 November 2014
I like this, because nice wrapping DataBase. But I cannot be understood why a reduction lower limit level of the Window width is so wide.
Like
Version 3.0
Foulger
31 October 2014
Still the best thing since fried eggs! Well done Brendan
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Diarbyrag
24 October 2014
I like this very versatile database app, syncs well with my iphone version, nIce work guys and thanks for the update to V3.
Like
Version 3.0
Psifi
20 October 2014
I have just been in touch with the developer and a Yosemite compatible Version 3 is currently with Apple for review.
Like
Version 2.2.3
Prlab
01 September 2014
I'm hoping there may be a discount for buying both applications. I'm a volunteer Veterans welfare counsellor and this app would be perfect. Waiting to hear from developer.
Like
Version 2.2.3
1 answer(s)
Prlab
Prlab
06 September 2014
What really hurts is that on the Aussie Apple store it's $38. We always pay more, even though the dollar is worth almost as much as the US. Just greedy Apple.
Like
Foulger
19 August 2014
For a long time I have been searching for a relational database with the ability to work as Filemaker but without the high price. I can say with certainty that Tap forms is to Filemaker as Numbers is to Excel. In other words it will do most if not all of what the average user will want at a price they can afford. Coupled with the iphone and iPad apps and the ability to send to iCloud, I now have an excellent system that will do what I require from any location. Coupled with the open and willing developer to interchange ideas and suggestions and to show infinite patience to a database beginner, I can only recommend this app as the leader in its class. Also with version 3.0 on the horizon to be launched around the same time as Yosemite, it will only get more comprehesive as time goes on. A+++ to Zapp Software.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.3
Tanuddin
04 May 2014
after using tap form for several month i found the app is fast, and easier to learn,and stable. The support team is very quickly to response when i have a problem using the app.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Skyhorse
09 March 2014
A fast, powerful, highly capable database with only one absolutely critical failing--it has NO autofill! It does have pick lists, and two layers of them, but you have to manually populate the pick lists--not an option if you have dozens of columns of data with dozens of potential entries that need an autofill capability, and you do have to go pick your item manually each time you want to use it (if it's in there yet). Otherwise you risk a mistype that will cause you to miss that item on a search or find ONLY that item when there should be dozens. You can use an external product called TextExpander if you want slightly more ease of use and don't mind spending the additional money (TextExpander costs more than Tap Forms if for Mac), but TextExpander also requires you to manually build pick lists and then select them. What I really want is to be have to use a second product to go find a data entry in the one I'm using to select from a long list of for every field in my database, oh yes.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
Arcarnat
20 January 2014
Excellent software. I was very upset when support for Bento was discontinued, as I had a large Bento database. Well I bought Tap Forms, and am disappointed no more. The Bento importer for Tap Forms works amazingly well and efficiently. Even better, Tap Forms is a far better designed database software that Bento. So thank you FileMaker for forcing me to switch. I do however, agree with a previous comment that Tap Forms could use WiFi syncing.
Like (5)
Version 2.0
AndrewKooi5143
09 January 2014
Would be nice if the Mac, iPad and iPhone versions could be purchase in 1 price instead of 3 different ones
Like (1)
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
22 February 2014
@ Andrew... I second that wholeheartedly. It's like going to Safeway and having to pay for your meat at the butcher counter, then pay for your produce at that counter, then your milk at the dairy counter. It sucks. Unfortunately however, it's the nature of the Apple iTunes/Mac App stores that these products are sold separately.
Like (1)
LynnC1841
LynnC1841
23 February 2014
I agree wholeheartedly. I own the iPhone version and plan to purchase the other two-would be nice to have a slight discount for buying all three apps.
Like (1)
Pusfarm
Pusfarm
18 September 2014
I have to agree. As good as this looks (they're on v3.x as I write this), I'm done purchasing apps that charge separately for Mac, iPhone, and iPad versions. No problem with separate Mac and iOS charges, but not for separate iPhone and iPad.
Like
Terrycen
02 January 2014
The form really comes in handy when I sort out my business contacts like email addresses and item categories. I think I’m gonna keep using it for a while but I may not pay the full price to own one.
Like
Version 2.0
Cocoanut
31 December 2013
Tap Forms is great. I bought it and I've been using the new version intensely for the past couple of days. It very closely resembles the functionality of Bento (but without all the hideous themes) and is a rational, functional database for personal use. Overall, the app is very well designed but has a some dark sides. It has some interface bugs, not critical, or data related, but the interface could use some refinement and bug testing. The biggest problem for me is the lack of WiFi syncing. For many reasons I absolutely refuse to use the "cloud" for sensitive data such as passwords or other sensitive information. So cloud syncing is wasted on me. I want private network syncing which doesn't involve any cloud. Give me that and this would be a nearly perfect personal database.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
Tap-Forms
Tap-Forms
31 December 2013
Version 2.0.1 will be coming out soon which is mainly a bug fix release. Thanks for the feature request for WiFi syncing. A few people have asked for that before.
Like
Cocoanut
Cocoanut
01 January 2014
Thanks for the update. WiFi sync would be most welcome. Otherwise, I really love your app, well conceived and executed, just wish I could sync it with my phone. Happy New Year!
Like (1)
Femigh
Femigh
18 January 2014
Ditto on the request for wifi syncing. I would adopt Tapforms as my primary DB, but don't want to expose password data to iCloud access. Wifi syncing is one thing that Bento does (did) well.
Like (1)
Appledogx
17 December 2013
Actually version 2.0 of this came out yesterday. It has a few bugs that appear to be relatively minor, but is a worthy successor to Bento. Version 1.5 still left a bit to be desired, but this new version is really fabulous. When 2.0 gets put in here, I'll review it.
Like
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Tap-Forms
Tap-Forms
31 December 2013
I will be submitting version 2.0.1 to Apple for review in the next couple of days. It fixes a few bugs here and there. Perhaps some that you've seen.
Like
Nick-Collingridge
30 November 2013
I echo the comments of others. I am interested in Tap Forms but don't really want to spring for the full cost just to try it out. Your website is not at all specific in terms of capabilities - two examples: 1. You mention text fields - do these have full editing and style capabilities or are they just simple text fields? 2. URL/website fields - can you click on these to go to a website in your browser? These are two questions I have about the product off the top of my head, but there is much more about it that I would like/need to know before adopting it. Trying the product out is the only practical way to fully understand how it works and what its capabilities are, so I urge you to put some time into creating a demo version that enables your potential customers to understand whether it is going to fulfil their requirements.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Tap-Forms
Tap-Forms
31 December 2013
Hi Nick. I have a demo version of Tap Forms for Mac 2.0 that you can try out on my website. Just visit http://www.tapforms.com and click on the right of the main image arrow to go to the Mac info. There's a download button there. But to answer your questions (sorry it's so long after you posted this, but I haven't been back to MacUpdate in a while): 1. With the new layout designer you have full control over fonts, styles, sizes, colour, and alignment. 2. The website field will launch your browser given the URL you specify in the website field.
Like (1)
Tlance
15 October 2013
You have an actual website. Many developed offer trials hosted elsewhere besides MAS.
Like
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Tap-Forms
Tap-Forms
31 December 2013
Hi Tlance, You can now download a demo of Tap Forms Mac directly from my website.
Like (1)
Tap-Forms
05 September 2013
Thanks for the great comments and reviews guys. A demo version is something I'd like to build, but I'm currently working on improving Tap Forms Mac with a new layout engine. Plus I'm working on an update for iOS 7 for the iPhone and iPad version. But I'll be sure to let you know when a demo version becomes available. It would be great if there was some way developers could flip a switch on the Mac App Store to let a demo become available for a certain time period, then disable the app unless it's purchased. But there's nothing like that right now.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Homer1
03 August 2013
One suggestion, spring for the $25. I did this afternoon and had my first database (CD/LP Collection) created (based on an import from Bento) within 15 minutes. As of yet it doesn't have the layout design features of Bento, but what it does have is an ease of creation and an uncluttered interface. I'm sure additional features will follow. Give it a try, you won't be sorry.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Anon-Bud
26 June 2013
Boy, I'd really like to try this out before I spend $25! Oh, wait. That's right this is from the MAS, so no demos. Too bad. I will not buy an app that I cannot demo first. Period.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
05 July 2013
I have the iPhone version and it works pretty well, is flexible to do just what I need, I bought that as there is a free version to try. A demo of the desktop version is definitely needed if the dev expects people to pay big bucks ! I hate the MAS approach to apps. a step backwards for long time Mac fans IMO.
Like
Hobojoe
24 June 2013
Tap Forms is a fantastic personal database. It has lots of handy features, and has corresponding iOS apps as well. The developer is super friendly and responsive, and has come up with software that is in many, many ways better than Bento (and Filemaker is a much bigger company than this one). I've tried a bunch of these, including Bento and iDatabase, and Tap Forms is my favorite. Having said that, the Mac app is still a bit buggy. I haven't lost any data or anything serious like that, but sometimes things don't update properly until you quit and restart, and moving the main window around is very stuttery. I'd love to see this program grow and mature. Definitely give it a whirl if you're in the market for a database app.
Like
Version 1.5
2 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
24 June 2013
Thank you for posting your experience with Tap Forms as it is always nice to see a review from a MU user pertaining to mas apps. This seems like it could be exactly what I have been searching/waiting for but I have bought promising apps on MAS before only to have the developer go awol once a good amount of positive reviews have rolled in. I do not think that is the case with this developer though because the developer has chosen to have a forum on the website for customers to converse and echo their praise and/or grievances. Lots of praise but $25 on a hunch still has me a bit nervous about taking the app seriously. If the developer reads this I would recommend handling MAS apps as Fletcher Penney has done with MultiMarkdown Composer. Give us a DEMO to explore the UI, interact with the app but cripple it to the point of not being able to save any information. This app would be pretty useless with no save functionality but it would be much appreciated to those of us who would like to buy the app but can't currently justify throwing decent money at an application we may end up hating after a quick few minutes of use. Anyways, sorry for the rant but I will keep my eye on this app and hopefully a demo will appear sooner rather than later or never.
Like (1)
Hobojoe
Hobojoe
24 June 2013
Fishscale, If there are any questions I can answer for you, I'd be happy to. I seem to remember the developer saying something about putting out a demo version, so hopefully that will happen sometime soon. If I had to sum up my experience with the app right now, I'd say it's got great functionality, but needs more polish, both in UI and bug-squashing. None of it has kept me from using it effectively though.
Like