Back to Tap Forms page
Tap Forms free download for Mac

Tap Forms Reviews

08 June 2021

Easily keep track of your important information.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
ehicks4470
ehicks4470
Sep 21 2021
5.3.19
0.0
Sep 21 2021
0.0
Version: 5.3.19
I had Bento from decades ago and even tho I bought Tap Forms, I never migrated all of my databases into it. Then came Tap Forms 5 and I didn't migrate because by then Bento was no longer supported and I couldn't open it w/out my license # from my Bento purchased eons ago and was lost thru the years. I contacted support and Brendan came to my aid immediately. He helped me every step of the way and was able to open Bento and capture all of it. He sent me these files in a format that very easily migrated everything. I was amazed at the simplicity. I am the administrator of an historic cemetery and have 1,900 records w/ 29 fields each and photos of monuments. I have the only copy of this database and should I lose, it would be tragic. I am now sending it to iCloud. I also use Tap Forms 5 for an inventory of everything in my home, for home maintenance records, for purchase history, and soon I hope for my recipes. As a Louisianian, I have recipes out the wazoo. This is going to be fun. I can never thank developer, Brendan, enough for the help he gave me trying to migrate from Bento to Tap Forms to Tap Forms 5. I did it easily by following his instructions which were perfect. Everything was transferred - even the photos which I didn’t think would happen. I will never not update as soon as it is available like I did before; that got me into such a mess. But, if I do get myself into a mess again, I know who to call for help - my friend Brendan.
sheetgeek
sheetgeek
Jul 27 2021
5.3.19
0.0
Jul 27 2021
0.0
Version: 5.3.19
Looking for a simple yet powerful online form maker or survey builder app? Your search ends here. With the SheetGeek Mobile Forms app, you can easily capture data using online forms for your business.
prLab
prLab
Jun 9 2021
5.3.19
5.0
Jun 9 2021
5.0
Version: 5.3.19
Why does it appear here before being updated on the Mac store? The latest version 5.3.19 also appears on a pirate website. PS: I am a paid user. :)
wangdm357
wangdm357
Jan 19 2021
5.3.17
5.0
Jan 19 2021
5.0
Version: 5.3.17
I had been running a couple of data bases using Bento 3 software on a 12-year-old MacBook Pro. The data bases originated way back on an Apple IIe using the original AppleWorks software, eventually migrating to Bento when AppleWorks would no longer run. Frankly I was quite satisfied with Bento and would have been happy to continue with it indefinitely. Unfortunately, when it came time to replace the old MacBook Pro, I discovered Bento would not run on newer Mac’s. After some research it looked like my only option was to go with Filemaker Pro, software from the same Apple subsidiary that made Bento. Two big problems became apparent: First, Filemaker Pro is expensive. Very expensive. And, second, figuring out how to make Filemaker Pro do what I needed appeared daunting to a non-techie. And Filemaker Pro seemed like using an 18-wheeler to do a job better suited to a compact pick-up truck. A friend suggested I check out Tap Forms 5 made by Tap Zapp Software Inc. The price seemed eminently reasonable. In describing their product Tap Zapp explicitly mentioned Tap Forms 5 was an ideal platform for migrating from Bento. I decided to give it a try. Tap Forms provided easily understood directions on how to make the migration work. When I ran into roadblocks (I had to convert Bento 3 to Bento 4 and Bento 4 would not run on any of the three Mac’s I had at hand, Brendan, a Tap Forms developer at Tap Zapp, offered to do the necessary conversions for me. Long story short: the migration was easier than when I went from AppleWorks to Bento. I am very happy with the Tap Forms software and especially with the personal help I was given to solve my unique problems. If you are a Bento user looking for a long-term solution you simply cannot go wrong with Tap Forms 5. Even if you are not migrating from Bento this is a great software package. I highly recommend the company, the product, and the staffers who are available to help you make the migration!
lenoreliz
lenoreliz
Dec 29 2020
5.3.17
5.0
Dec 29 2020
5.0
Version: 5.3.17
I have used TAP Forms when Bento was no longer viable on the iMac. So a number of years. I have found that the developer is quick to respond when you need help and always has the answers first time round. I will continue going forward to use this database maker for as long as I am able to work with it. I am 77 years old and still find it very valuable on a daily basis on all my IOS devices. Thank you very much for being there when you are needed.
skaloupi
skaloupi
May 27 2018
5.2.11
0.0
May 27 2018
0.0
Version: 5.2.11
I have downloaded the trial and it is actually pretty good. Just a question: can I create drop-down menus, so I can press an arrow and choose values from a list? (e.g. in Symphytum this type of field is available). This field-type is really important to me... Thanks
jonescarol
jonescarol
Feb 25 2018
5.2.8
5.0
Feb 25 2018
5.0
Version: 5.2.8
Great personal application
Yazarim
Yazarim
Dec 8 2017
5.2.4
4.0
Dec 8 2017
4.0
Version: 5.2.4
Very good app, indeed. I have practically substituted it to my old FileMaker 9 Pro files, which where becoming more and more unreliable (new FileMaker is too costly for my needs). And the support is fantastic. But I really can not understand why Tap Forms flies like a lightning on my iPad and is so slow and clumsy on my iMac Retina with latest Sierra. It never opens, you have to wait for centuries. And with exactly the same documents. That's why I do not give it 5 stars
burton999
burton999
May 15 2017
5.1.3
5.0
May 15 2017
5.0
Version: 5.1.3
I want to thank the developers for being so friendly and supportive. So many developers, especially big ones no longer provide prompt response to emails. Developers providing good support should be rewarded.
prLab
prLab
Apr 29 2017
5.1.1
5.0
Apr 29 2017
5.0
Version: 5.1.1
with the addition of "nearby" sync, Tap Forms just became my most indispensable app, . I had been using it's IBM Cloudant service without any problems but I am wary of any cloud-based service. I can now remove that and sync more securely with my devices locally. I use Tap Forms for work databases, sports training data and testing and passwords. No need for any wallet apps. This does it all and without any problems. Brendan developer,, t will get back to you quickly.
isdn
isdn
Apr 27 2017
5.0.10
5.0
Apr 27 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0.10
Great personal database app.
jerry-turi
jerry-turi
Feb 2 2017
5.0.10
4.0
Feb 2 2017
4.0
Version: 5.0.10
I have this on my phone. Good solid app! Do you have old versions for OS X 10.9, I have this work computer that I'm not allowed to update, I would like to install the Mac version too.
Rob-N
Rob-N
Jan 30 2017
5.0.10
5.0
Jan 30 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0.10
I have been using the app for a number of personal sets of info and have recently begun to import old Bento databases into Tap Forms. I ran into issues and wrestled awhile. Finally an email to the developer brought a *very* quick response - - and after only a few interchanges - - a comment made by him led me to suspect my error. Following his suggestion - - he was right. My Bento databases imported wonderfully - - without flaw. It’s great to have a database app such as this available - - especially one with a future - - and one that is now a seeming delight to work with. Sincere appreciation to the developer and to the app itself. It seems most stable on El Capitan.
Pik80
Pik80
Dec 5 2016
5.0.9
4.5
Dec 5 2016
4.5
Version: 5.0.9
Fantastic replacement to the old bento app. Cloud syncing system works fine for me.
Tim27
Tim27
Aug 20 2016
5.0.3
4.5
Aug 20 2016
4.5
Version: 5.0.3
There were a few bugs when version 5 launched, but the developer has handled them fairly quickly and the app is now really stable and works great. Love the new updates. For those that used Bento in the past this is an awesome alternative. Also for those that don't need all the power, complexity and cost of Filemaker Pro.
prLab
prLab
Aug 4 2016
5
5.0
Aug 4 2016
5.0
Version: 5
Can't recommend this app highly enough. It works. Also has a good online forum. Like other comments here, I can vouch that the developer, Brendan, responds quickly. What a rarity. He released the new version 5 yesterday and I had a question about the altered synching method. He responded within minutes on what must have been an extremely busy day.
Nanajana
Nanajana
May 1 2016
3.5.14
5.0
May 1 2016
5.0
Version: 3.5.14
This app has become indispensable to me since the disappointing demise of Bento. It's pretty simple as databases go so you don't have to be a genius. The best thing is that Brendan is SO responsive when I have a question. It is so rare to get help from a developer that I give apps 100 extra points for that. I use TF to keep info on a variety of subjects, e.g. room reservation clients, medical providers, stores, and restaurants. I use Evernote too, for free form info but Tap Forms is better for more structured uses. I’m syncing with the iPhone using Dropbox and it works well most of the time.
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
Nov 23 2015
3.5.8
5.0
Nov 23 2015
5.0
Version: 3.5.8
I've been using this for a couple of years since Bento went by the wayside. It turned out to be way better than Bento right from the start and each update makes it that much better. It's an extremely easy app to use to create great databases. I'm especially please that it syncs (via Dropbox) to its companion on my iPad as I like to take my iPad out in the field as a resource. Support has been phenomenal as the dev has been very responsive to my questions. This app is as good as it gets for personal databases and the price is very affordable.
Guest
Guest
Oct 23 2015
3.5.6
0.0
Oct 23 2015
0.0
Version: 3.5.6
I have used this App on all my devices since the beginning. It is something I can not live without at this point. I am a huge fan of the power of databases and this one is simple, easy and affordable. Being able to sync all of my information has come in so handy, even when travelling. I am able to keep track of all my logins, accounts, identification, and more. I can not say enough about this App honestly. Their improvements just keep coming and I become more addicted with every new release. Can not wait for the new versions.
Tait-Kahray
Tait-Kahray
Aug 5 2015
3.5.3
4.5
Aug 5 2015
4.5
Version: 3.5.3
After a few months of use, I can say this is a very nice app! It's very handy, flexible and stable. It easily imported and handles one of my databases with over 2,000 records. After a little initial work and fiddling, syncing with IOS operates well and quickly. It's a pleasure to use and I find myself doing so more all the time. Thanks!
anonymous-thrush-1121
anonymous-thrush-1121
Jul 16 2015
3.5.3
4.0
Jul 16 2015
4.0
Version: 3.5.3
mistake
anonymous-thrush-1121
anonymous-thrush-1121
Jul 16 2015
3.5.3
4.0
Jul 16 2015
4.0
Version: 3.5.3
not work OS X El Capitan PB1.
prLab
prLab
May 20 2015
3.5.1
5.0
May 20 2015
5.0
Version: 3.5.1
Becoming more indispensable the more I use it. iCloud sync works well.
Blackmacdaddy
Blackmacdaddy
Jan 9 2015
3.0.2
3.5
Jan 9 2015
3.5
Version: 3.0.2
Demo for 3 requires 10.9.5? I'm on 10.8.5 for Pro Tools & I can't even buy 10.9 from Apple now (1-8-2015) and Pro Tools is unstable with 10.10. No 10.8.5 means no sale. Back to Home Inventory for me.
anonymous-thrush-1121
anonymous-thrush-1121
Nov 9 2014
3.0
4.0
Nov 9 2014
4.0
Version: 3.0
I like this, because nice wrapping DataBase. But I cannot be understood why a reduction lower limit level of the Window width is so wide.
Foulger
Foulger
Oct 31 2014
3.0
5.0
Oct 31 2014
5.0
Version: 3.0
Still the best thing since fried eggs! Well done Brendan
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
Oct 24 2014
3.0
5.0
Oct 24 2014
5.0
Version: 3.0
I like this very versatile database app, syncs well with my iphone version, nIce work guys and thanks for the update to V3.
Psifi
Psifi
Oct 20 2014
2.2.3
0.0
Oct 20 2014
0.0
Version: 2.2.3
I have just been in touch with the developer and a Yosemite compatible Version 3 is currently with Apple for review.
prLab
prLab
Sep 1 2014
2.2.3
5.0
Sep 1 2014
5.0
Version: 2.2.3
I'm hoping there may be a discount for buying both applications. I'm a volunteer Veterans welfare counsellor and this app would be perfect. Waiting to hear from developer.
Foulger
Foulger
Aug 19 2014
2.2.3
5.0
Aug 19 2014
5.0
Version: 2.2.3
For a long time I have been searching for a relational database with the ability to work as Filemaker but without the high price. I can say with certainty that Tap forms is to Filemaker as Numbers is to Excel. In other words it will do most if not all of what the average user will want at a price they can afford. Coupled with the iphone and iPad apps and the ability to send to iCloud, I now have an excellent system that will do what I require from any location. Coupled with the open and willing developer to interchange ideas and suggestions and to show infinite patience to a database beginner, I can only recommend this app as the leader in its class. Also with version 3.0 on the horizon to be launched around the same time as Yosemite, it will only get more comprehesive as time goes on. A+++ to Zapp Software.
Tanuddin
Tanuddin
May 4 2014
2.2
4.5
May 4 2014
4.5
Version: 2.2
after using tap form for several month i found the app is fast, and easier to learn,and stable. The support team is very quickly to response when i have a problem using the app.
Skyhorse
Skyhorse
Mar 9 2014
2.1.1
3.5
Mar 9 2014
3.5
Version: 2.1.1
A fast, powerful, highly capable database with only one absolutely critical failing--it has NO autofill! It does have pick lists, and two layers of them, but you have to manually populate the pick lists--not an option if you have dozens of columns of data with dozens of potential entries that need an autofill capability, and you do have to go pick your item manually each time you want to use it (if it's in there yet). Otherwise you risk a mistype that will cause you to miss that item on a search or find ONLY that item when there should be dozens. You can use an external product called TextExpander if you want slightly more ease of use and don't mind spending the additional money (TextExpander costs more than Tap Forms if for Mac), but TextExpander also requires you to manually build pick lists and then select them. What I really want is to be have to use a second product to go find a data entry in the one I'm using to select from a long list of for every field in my database, oh yes.
Arcarnat
Arcarnat
Jan 20 2014
2.0
5.0
Jan 20 2014
5.0
Version: 2.0
Excellent software. I was very upset when support for Bento was discontinued, as I had a large Bento database. Well I bought Tap Forms, and am disappointed no more. The Bento importer for Tap Forms works amazingly well and efficiently. Even better, Tap Forms is a far better designed database software that Bento. So thank you FileMaker for forcing me to switch. I do however, agree with a previous comment that Tap Forms could use WiFi syncing.
AndrewKooi5143
AndrewKooi5143
Jan 9 2014
2.0
3.0
Jan 9 2014
3.0
Version: 2.0
Would be nice if the Mac, iPad and iPhone versions could be purchase in 1 price instead of 3 different ones
Terrycen
Terrycen
Jan 2 2014
2.0
3.5
Jan 2 2014
3.5
Version: 2.0
The form really comes in handy when I sort out my business contacts like email addresses and item categories. I think I’m gonna keep using it for a while but I may not pay the full price to own one.
Cocoanut
Cocoanut
Dec 31 2013
2.0
4.0
Dec 31 2013
4.0
Version: 2.0
Tap Forms is great. I bought it and I've been using the new version intensely for the past couple of days. It very closely resembles the functionality of Bento (but without all the hideous themes) and is a rational, functional database for personal use. Overall, the app is very well designed but has a some dark sides. It has some interface bugs, not critical, or data related, but the interface could use some refinement and bug testing. The biggest problem for me is the lack of WiFi syncing. For many reasons I absolutely refuse to use the "cloud" for sensitive data such as passwords or other sensitive information. So cloud syncing is wasted on me. I want private network syncing which doesn't involve any cloud. Give me that and this would be a nearly perfect personal database.
Appledogx
Appledogx
Dec 17 2013
1.5
0.0
Dec 17 2013
0.0
Version: 1.5
Actually version 2.0 of this came out yesterday. It has a few bugs that appear to be relatively minor, but is a worthy successor to Bento. Version 1.5 still left a bit to be desired, but this new version is really fabulous. When 2.0 gets put in here, I'll review it.
Nick-Collingridge
Nick-Collingridge
Nov 30 2013
1.5
0.0
Nov 30 2013
0.0
Version: 1.5
I echo the comments of others. I am interested in Tap Forms but don't really want to spring for the full cost just to try it out. Your website is not at all specific in terms of capabilities - two examples: 1. You mention text fields - do these have full editing and style capabilities or are they just simple text fields? 2. URL/website fields - can you click on these to go to a website in your browser? These are two questions I have about the product off the top of my head, but there is much more about it that I would like/need to know before adopting it. Trying the product out is the only practical way to fully understand how it works and what its capabilities are, so I urge you to put some time into creating a demo version that enables your potential customers to understand whether it is going to fulfil their requirements.
Tlance
Tlance
Oct 15 2013
1.5
0.0
Oct 15 2013
0.0
Version: 1.5
You have an actual website. Many developed offer trials hosted elsewhere besides MAS.
Tap-Forms
Tap-Forms
Sep 5 2013
1.5
5.0
Sep 5 2013
5.0
Version: 1.5
Thanks for the great comments and reviews guys. A demo version is something I'd like to build, but I'm currently working on improving Tap Forms Mac with a new layout engine. Plus I'm working on an update for iOS 7 for the iPhone and iPad version. But I'll be sure to let you know when a demo version becomes available. It would be great if there was some way developers could flip a switch on the Mac App Store to let a demo become available for a certain time period, then disable the app unless it's purchased. But there's nothing like that right now.
Homer1
Homer1
Aug 3 2013
1.5
4.0
Aug 3 2013
4.0
Version: 1.5
One suggestion, spring for the $25. I did this afternoon and had my first database (CD/LP Collection) created (based on an import from Bento) within 15 minutes. As of yet it doesn't have the layout design features of Bento, but what it does have is an ease of creation and an uncluttered interface. I'm sure additional features will follow. Give it a try, you won't be sorry.
Anon-Bud
Anon-Bud
Jun 26 2013
1.5
0.0
Jun 26 2013
0.0
Version: 1.5
Boy, I'd really like to try this out before I spend $25! Oh, wait. That's right this is from the MAS, so no demos. Too bad. I will not buy an app that I cannot demo first. Period.
Hobojoe
Hobojoe
Jun 24 2013
1.5
4.5
Jun 24 2013
4.5
Version: 1.5
Tap Forms is a fantastic personal database. It has lots of handy features, and has corresponding iOS apps as well. The developer is super friendly and responsive, and has come up with software that is in many, many ways better than Bento (and Filemaker is a much bigger company than this one). I've tried a bunch of these, including Bento and iDatabase, and Tap Forms is my favorite. Having said that, the Mac app is still a bit buggy. I haven't lost any data or anything serious like that, but sometimes things don't update properly until you quit and restart, and moving the main window around is very stuttery. I'd love to see this program grow and mature. Definitely give it a whirl if you're in the market for a database app.