Back to Mail Designer 365 page
Mail Designer 365 free download for Mac

Mail Designer 365 Reviews

1.9.3
10 January 2020

Create customized e-mail newsletters and templates.

Jimw
24 May 2019

Most helpful

The posted price of this product is very misleading. The posted price of $20 is a monthly charge billed annually or $240 per year for as long as you use the product. A less featured version is available for $180 per year. This is subscription based software.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.1

Read 20 Mail Designer 365 User Reviews

Rate this app:

Jimw
24 May 2019
The posted price of this product is very misleading. The posted price of $20 is a monthly charge billed annually or $240 per year for as long as you use the product. A less featured version is available for $180 per year. This is subscription based software.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.1
1 answer(s)
Stoob
Stoob
07 August 2019
I'm so sick of subscription-based software.
Like
Jimw
28 April 2019
This App is $20 per MONTH or $240/Year! to design templates.
Like
Version 1.7.1
contetju
13 April 2018
Just another really bad review... Mail Pro 3 is not working with the last version of mac OS High Sierra.. they force you to buy a new license every year... SHAME
Like (1)
Version 3.5
joss0ne2
16 February 2017
Godd UI but many flaws when template transfered to Mailchimp, and tech support is inexistant. Sent 4 tickets, no answer on any of them.
Like (2)
Version 3.3.0
Harry Flashman
14 September 2016
I purchased 2.6 not long before version 3 came out and it wasn't cheap. It's clunky and awkward but just about allowed me to create a usable looking newsletter.

Roll forward a few months and I've just received an email saying it won't work under Sierra, so I should upgrade. An app I bought less than a year ago that won't work with the latest OS is pretty miserable and I think I'll look elsewhere rather than handing over more money.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.5
pkdesign
14 June 2016
I left this review for the regular version of this app as well, they are essentially the same save for some templates of resources. This is for the 2.6.1 version. I really wanted to love this app. Creating email is on onerous task. Unfortunately Mail Designer isn't quite up to the task yet. It could be a great tool if they fix it. Its not a *bad* app, just not very good yet. For a professional there are no precise controls. Everything is click and drag and that, quite frankly, becomes a drag at some point. I just want to enter a number into a box and be done. This app needs to be more like InDesign or Quark in that it gives the users better control over aspects of the design. One of my biggest beefs is that it doesn’t use standard html formatting, in that when you use images in the app, the code renames it in to a very long sequence of numbers and letters rather than keeping the original name. This makes editing in an html editing app or even a text editor impossible. Why would you want to use a html editor you ask? There are just some things that you have to do in an editor that this app will not do. Or you just want to tweak the code. i will say that customer service is excellent. In the end this is the only html email app that I have found that is works at all, so if they improve the app I may go back to using it. Right now I'd rather use online tools like Campaign Monitor and edit the code in Dreamweaver for now. It easier and far more elegant solution.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
a-olby
09 February 2016
Hopeless application if you use MailChimp. Every laboriously created template so far has rendered with blocks all out of alignment once exported to MailChimp for me. I didn't buy it to have to delve into HTML code! I also didn't like the UI at all, seems very unintuitive. After far too much tinkering and frustration I've since started using CoffeeCup's RED application, which is SO much better. Works a treat and does what you want it to do on multiple email clients. MailDesigner Pro 2: uninstall.
Like (4)
Version 2.5.4
Pugwash
21 December 2015
After all these years and Equinux still can't be bothered fixing the corrupt html export problem. I have been battling with this for years. Oh and there is NO support although they pretend there is. My advice, DON"T BUY!
Like (3)
Version 2.5.2
marshallh7
24 November 2015
I wasted a lot of time trying to build emails in this program. The program is buggy, crashes and you lose work often. Very frustrating. If you finally make it through building an email, you find out that the emails look good if your mail list is only on Apple products, but are not compatible with other email readers. Emails sent were unreadable by too many people on my list. The company is unresponsive when you do to write with questions about problems.
Like (2)
Version 2.5.2
Ecohomo
03 October 2015
BEWARE! BEWARE! BEWARE! Existing Mail Designer Pro 2 users should NOT upgrade to this version yet. It is rife with MASSIVE GLITCHES not the least of which is you can't save a project and have to force quit the app.
Like (2)
Version 2.5.1
monty-3
28 April 2015
First, no upgrade path for version 1 owners. Second, all purchased Stationery Packs are lost (unless you keep version 1). You have to re-purchase the in-app items. Mostly, the poor review is for the total lack of support. For over a month, Equinux fails to respond (either Customer Service/sales, or technical support) to problems or issues. If they can't support their product, then it's not worth it!
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Ronr
23 February 2015
Is the "upgrade" to MDP 2 worth it? I feel it's a bit of a slap in the face that the upgrade price from the "regular" MDP is the same as the "introductory offer" In the non-2 version, I've had lots of problems getting my customized designs to look good in Japanese Outlook on Windows. Still have very mixed feelings, and the lack of discount for those of us struggling with it already....will look at other options
Like (1)
Version 2.0.5
Pugwash
14 December 2014
Version numbering doesn't make sense. On the the Equinux blog; March 12 (http://blog.equinux.com/?s=mail+designer+pro&x=0&y=0&lang=en) they say that version 2.2 is available. However the trial download, and the version at Mac App store are 2.0.2. Not only that but I notice some reviews here from 2013 are for version 2.0.3. So is there actually a version 2.2? Not only that but in the blog post Equinux state: "As part of the new release, we’ve improved the collaboration with MailChimp....". However from the review posts I've read, both here and on Mailchimp, say that there are still problems. I have contacted Equinux support asking about Mailchimp integration, but as yet have had no reply, and given past experience with their so-called support I wonder if I will.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
Domes
11 November 2014
MAS Special Price: 49,99$ http://www.equinux.com/us/products/maildesigner2/mail-designer-pro-2/ why not here?
Like
Version 2.0.2
Tryme
11 September 2014
I bought Mail Designer when it was first released and though frustrating at first, stuck with it and worked around the bugs, limitations and quirks. A couple of years down the track, most of the anomalies were addressed and the software was working well for me. When Pro was released I found it incredibly annoying that no upgrade pricing was offered for owners of Mail Designer. I took the plunge anyway and upgraded for the responsive desktop and mobile formatting feature - and got deja vu, mainly in the form of bugs - including a pretty major formatting bug. Lodging a support request apparently fell on deaf ears - but I was pleased that they nailed the bug in the first update. As with Mail Designer, it's taken a little time and several updates to get Pro working smoothly. Do I think it's worth the price I paid to upgrade from MD? Not really. I've been extremely disappointed that on the two occasions I've had need to contact support, no assistance was forthcoming. I expect better from a company that charges premium prices for their software. Unlike Leocrespo, I have had no issue whatsoever with Mailchimp - all assets are exported and the newsletter looks identical on Mail Designer and Mailchimp.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
IanMawhinney
10 July 2014
I have used Mail Designer for 2 years and loves its simplicity. I bought Mail Designer Pro for the ability to send emails that look great on laptops/desktops but also auto-format for mobile devices (specifically iPad and iPhone 4/5). I was a little disappointed and went back to Mail Designer because I just couldn't predict the results the recipients would get. Sometimes they get the mail as text, but with no formatting, and every image as an attachment. Not very impressive. The Mail Designer version seems to work every time, but I just gave up on Mail Designer Pro in the end. I've just bought Mail Designer 2 and will see how that works.
Like
Version 2.2
leocrespo
02 June 2014
Easy to use and you can create some good looking newsletters, however you cannot export it to MailChimp properly. Images are not exported, the design you see in the app is way different than the design you see in MailChimp. The time it takes for you to fix all issues is longer than it would take you to design the newsletter in MailChimp itself. It's not worth the investment.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
09 September 2014
What about if you export it to an app like Direct Mail?
Like
HenrikPetersson6614
28 October 2013
I have mixed feelings about this app. On the one side, it's really easy and quick to use. Much faster to work with that similar online tools. On the other side, it is rather limited when it comes to styling the email. It relies heavily on using images instead of HTML for styling. There is no way to put borders, paddings and margins on elements, there is support for simple html elements such as tables or thematic breaks. It doesn't really do justice to its name as a "designer" software, it's more of a template oriented software. Even the free MailChimp editor has more advanced design features than this. It is however a very promising piece of software and no doubt it will fit the needs for many people. But for me it feels rather limiting at this point.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
HenrikPetersson6614
HenrikPetersson6614
28 October 2013
That should be "there is _no_ support for simple html elements.."
Like (1)
Pugwash
27 October 2013
I currently own Mail Designer, and while it may be good, for a small business it's quite expensive. I looked at the Pro version, which costs even more, but because the developer doesn't seem to offer any upgrade path I'm going to give it a miss. Note re: my rating - I didn't want to be unfair by giving the Pro version poor rating, and because I haven't tried it am basing my rating on Mail Designer.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
HenrikPetersson6614
HenrikPetersson6614
28 October 2013
According to the faq on the website they are offering an upgrade path for existing Mail Designer costumers.
Like (1)
JasonE
14 July 2013
Where did my comments from the last version go?
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3