Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to EtreCheck Pro page
EtreCheck Pro free download for Mac

EtreCheck Pro Reviews6.5.1

22 July 2021

For troubleshooting your Mac; displays important system details.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Krupnix
Krupnix
Jul 7 2021
6.4.4
0.0
Jul 7 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.4
Etrecheck is a great app. Liked it so bought the paid Pro version for full features. It gives a really detailed, comprehensive view of my system, including extensions, daemons. It even has a disk use visualizer. Don't know where the star ratings are on MacUpdate, but I give this app 5 stars.
Acheteur
Acheteur
Mar 15 2021
6.4.3
1.0
Mar 15 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.3
Cet utilitaire n'est pas GRATUIT comme il est indiqué sur ce “site” !... Le déverrouillage des fonctions les plus basiques et essentielles pour ce genre de “logiciels” EST PAYANT !... À fuir !...
Mcr
Mcr
Feb 4 2021
6.4
0.0
Feb 4 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4
MACUPDATE: This is now a Universal app supporting Apple Silicon natively
lamyo16
lamyo16
Nov 28 2020
6.3.5
1.0
Nov 28 2020
1.0
Version: 6.3.5
I had the same problem many have. The app said I had a failing hard disk. Had it checked and its ok. Bit scary this!!
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
Sep 27 2020
6.3.2
5.0
Sep 27 2020
5.0
Version: 6.3.2
Just a note to say thanks for the new features!! Improve collection of system diagnostic reports; Add reporting of SSDs with poor performance; Add link for information about discrete video; Add link for system user guide; Update alert displays for consistency across operating system versions; Improve reporting of unsigned files; Remove warning notice for beta operating system; and Other bug fixes and improvements.
Foulger
Foulger
Sep 13 2020
6.3.1
5.0
Sep 13 2020
5.0
Version: 6.3.1
I’m always surprised at the number of whingers who leave reviews. If the app doesn’t suit you then don’t use it. Also if you think the app has deficiencies go away and develop one that suits you. For me ECP does everything that it says it does at a reasonable cost.
Dp-G4-450guy
Dp-G4-450guy
Aug 6 2020
6.3.1
0.0
Aug 6 2020
0.0
Version: 6.3.1
You're not serious, are you, Foulger?? Onyx can't really 'fix' any major problem, and compared to DW - even at the current version - EtreCheck is laughable at handling any major disk corruption. Alsoft is awaiting APPLE to issue information that they are late by 2 years now - maybe these Congressional hearings will get crazy-Cooke to get moving!
baxsur
baxsur
Aug 4 2020
6.3
1.0
Aug 4 2020
1.0
Version: 6.3
EtreCheck told me my HD was about to fail. Concerned, I boxed up my Mac and took it to the Apple Store to have a new HD installed. After testing I was told my HD was fine....that was 2 years ago and still no problems.
Foulger
Foulger
Jul 17 2020
6.2.6
5.0
Jul 17 2020
5.0
Version: 6.2.6
Best thenceing since fried eggs. I'm so glad the developer is charging for it now. With Diskwarrior for all intents and purposes dead in the water, Etrecheck Pro and Onyx are my two big maintenance apps. Worth every cent
Dancing-Brook
Dancing-Brook
Mar 29 2020
6.2.2
0.0
Mar 29 2020
0.0
Version: 6.2.2
Etrecheck may be helpful for some but beware it is like a phishing email. It says it’s free, and some of it is, but it’s actually an app that gets you to install it for free, generates a report that you can see part of but you have to pay for the rest of it, and a it does is collect information from your computer and puts it in a pretty package so you won’t be scared, just intimidated. Just call Apple Support and save your time and money.
jamjr40
jamjr40
Mar 25 2020
6.2.2
0.0
Mar 25 2020
0.0
Version: 6.2.2
On the surface it appears to be a good application for cleaning my Mac system. ever, when I ran it, it would not complete. The progress bar was near completion but just hung there for 5 hours. I ended up terminating it by force quitting the application. can you help?
jamjr40
jamjr40
Mar 25 2020
6.2.2
0.0
Mar 25 2020
0.0
Version: 6.2.2
On the surface it seems to be a good solution. However, when I ran it on my system it never completed, even after 4 full hrs. The progress bar had almost reached the end but would not complete. What can I do to make it complete the process?
MyronV9060
MyronV9060
Dec 22 2019
6.1.8
4.0
Dec 22 2019
4.0
Version: 6.1.8
The app hasn't really told me of anything I didn't already know about my Mac, as I already run a pretty tight system. But I can see where it would be useful for less technical users to obtain help resolving issues with their systems. However, it has been very helpful in identifying the non-64-bit apps still on my computer before I upgrade to Catalina. It does summarize your computer in an easy to understand format.
iMacWare
iMacWare
Dec 20 2019
6.1.8
5.0
Dec 20 2019
5.0
Version: 6.1.8
One of the best in diagnostics!
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Dec 19 2019
6.1.6
5.0
Dec 19 2019
5.0
Version: 6.1.6
The best single diagnostic app available for the Mac. However in the newest release,6.1.7, includes this note which is bound to provoke thought and controversy. It is giving me pause to think for sure!: Probably one of the most widely misunderstood topics is computer security. First of all, remember that Apple provides multiple layers of antivirus and malware protection in the macOS operating system itself. You don’t need any 3rd party antivirus protection. When you first turned on your Mac, it was probably the most secure that it has ever been. Most suggestions posted on the internet to install software or change system settings will make your machine less secure. Many popular 3rd party security products are simply scams and give you no protection of any kind. Most of the popular media headlines about security exploits do not concern your Macintosh. Do not pay attention to news media or bloggers. Trust Apple. Apple has a team of professional software engineers who specialize in system security. If your machine needs an update for security, Apple will provide it. The only security issue that is really a problem for Mac users is adware. Technically speaking, Adware is legal, although not ethical, and produced by actual companies, sometimes large companies. Adware uses deception and scams to trick you into installing it. Apple’s built-in security will not protect you from adware. Many popular 3rd security products also provide no protection from adware. EtreCheck will detect, and help you disable, virtually any current or new adware. Unlike traditional security software, EtreCheck does not rely exclusively on a signature list of known adware. Instead, EtreCheck looks at the behaviour and characteristics of software on your system in order to classify it as adware or not. EtreCheck only disables adware, rendering it a harmless file. EtreCheck cannot completely remove adware. There are a handful of other software products that can effectively and completely remove adware, but they require system modifications that could make your machine slow down or crash. These other products also cannot detect brand new adware as effectively as EtreCheck. If you have any questions about software that might be adware, EtreCheck allows you to ask for help from Apple Support Communities or directly from Etresoft itself. Apple Support Communities EtreCheck was designed for use in Apple Support Communities. On Apple Support Communities, there are thousands of knowledgeable volunteers available 24/7 to help you with your Mac problems. In virtually every case, you will receive prompt, polite, and effective help on Apple Support Communities. However, this forum is publicly accessible by anyone on the internet. Not everyone is prompt, polite, knowledgeable, or honest. Etresoft is not responsible for any suggestions or procedures that could damage your machine or cause you to lose data. Before you can copy your EtreCheck report, you will have to acknowledge this and agree to the EtreCheck Terms of Use. Unfortunately, that is just the world we live in today.
Filou53
Filou53
Dec 6 2019
6.1.6
0.0
Dec 6 2019
0.0
Version: 6.1.6
Excellent produit mais attention: la version complète n'est plus gratuite. Au de-là des 6 premiers rapports offerts, il faut payer 15 (Appstore) ou 18$ Excellent product but be careful: the full version is no longer free. Beyond the first 6 reports offered, you must pay 15 (Appstore) or 18$ see: https://www.etrecheck.com/fonctionnalites
Pfackelmann
Pfackelmann
Sep 9 2019
6.0.3
0.0
Sep 9 2019
0.0
Version: 6.0.3
The tenor of Mr Daniel's comment shows how much he cares. He is bragging about the number of service calls which he never solved. But now it works,-) A menu alert (which showed never before) told me to move the app into the application folder. I did that and placed an alias into the other folder. Surprise - it worked. Reminds me of the old days on Atari. The kiddies informed everybody: Never place my app in a folder!,-)
Pfackelmann
Pfackelmann
Aug 4 2019
6.0.2
0.0
Aug 4 2019
0.0
Version: 6.0.2
I use EtreCheck Pro (paid). From v 6 on it tells: Application Corrupted! EtreCheck has detected an internal corruption and must quit. Mr Daniel doesn't care. v 5.3.3 works fine, so the problem isn't me or my computer.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jul 4 2019
6.0
4.5
Jul 4 2019
4.5
Version: 6.0
v6.0.1 is now what downloads direct from the Etresoft website. The Mac App store is still back at v5.3.1. Here are some notes from the developer site regarding what extras are provided in the direct download version with no Mac App Store limitations: • Easy adware removal • Interactive storage display • Interactive analytics display with Power User package
Bob Jacobson
Bob Jacobson
Mar 24 2019
5.2
5.0
Mar 24 2019
5.0
Version: 5.2
New and much improved. The Pro version helps to remedy any issues that a prior scan reveals. Always use it after a new OS update, but more often for checking the condition of my Macs.
Albabe
Albabe
Mar 21 2019
5.2
0.0
Mar 21 2019
0.0
Version: 5.2
EtreCheck is NOT FREE... For any actual Diagnostics it requires Upgrading to the Paid Version.
baxsur
baxsur
Dec 28 2018
5.1
1.0
Dec 28 2018
1.0
Version: 5.1
Erroneously reported that my hard drive was about to fail. I took it in to Apple to investigate....They reported it was in excellent condition.
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Dec 27 2018
5.0.9
0.0
Dec 27 2018
0.0
Version: 5.0.9
5.1 is the latest version! http://www.etrecheck.com/details
cade1
cade1
Nov 15 2018
5.0.7
5.0
Nov 15 2018
5.0
Version: 5.0.7
Fantastic app, so helpful in tracking down, eliminating problems. Couldn't live without it again. Especially helpful if you like to tinker around and cause yourself some glitchy unintended consequences or problems, or if something glitches after another app's upgrade or installation. I use Etrecheck in conjunction with DetectX by sqwarq. Etrecheck is a must-have for OS X, IMHO.
gfxdgn-1
gfxdgn-1
Nov 10 2018
5.0.7
0.0
Nov 10 2018
0.0
Version: 5.0.7
Hello, Been informed that if I have purchased a previous version of EtreCheck that I am able to get a free upgrade to EtreCheck Pro Power User Package. I have tried to notify through the app itself but i could not find where I receive your response. I have been checking my emails on a regular daily basis. Please inform me of further actions that i need to take or the proper procedures that I need to do to get the upgrade. Thanks
Steinarh
Steinarh
Oct 4 2018
5.0.1
5.0
Oct 4 2018
5.0
Version: 5.0.1
I like this software. It´s easy to use. It tells you right a way what might be wrong as well as giving you an overall evaluation of the performance. Perfect for a. non-technician like myself. I've always been met in a politely and understanding manner when I've been advised . Thanks!
rwatters
rwatters
Sep 23 2018
5.0
1.0
Sep 23 2018
1.0
Version: 5.0
Useless software. It quits when it's nearly completed the test.
Nitroxer
Nitroxer
Sep 23 2018
5.0
5.0
Sep 23 2018
5.0
Version: 5.0
I've been pleased with EtreCheck and went with EtreCheckPro (v5) earlier this year. There was a glitch with the purchase of the optional solution feature that appears to be related to the payment processor. The developer contacted me before I noticed the matter, initiated an unsolicited refund (despite it being a likely 3rd party error), provided the solution feature without cost, and provided some insight into how the incident may have occurred - all without any support request. IMO, he far exceeded support expectations. EtreCheck continues to be enhanced - not "functionally stabilized". I value support very highly. The product, but more importantly support, far exceeds my expectations.
Pcbogert
Pcbogert
Sep 22 2018
5.0
5.0
Sep 22 2018
5.0
Version: 5.0
Deleted the previous version using iTrash, installed the version 5 EtreCheckPro, which picked up my license number with no problem. If you have problems, there is an offer to advise on how to fix all of the problems for $15.99. Which is cheaper than going to the Help Desk. But in most cases the problems can either be fixed or ignored without going that route. For example, Etrecheck rightly flagged "Unsigned Files." But they were all files I had installed. It told me that Time Machine was not running. But I knew that already, so fine - no help needed.

It might have been a bit more helpful had the author had explained this difference, but this is a decent utility to run on occasion to see if everything is ok, and certainly a good utility to run if you suspect you have a problem.
Pjaym59
Pjaym59
Sep 22 2018
5.0
0.0
Sep 22 2018
0.0
Version: 5.0
I've updated thru the app itself. and now I have two versions in my applications folder. How should I remove the older version?
robfol
robfol
Sep 21 2018
5.0
4.0
Sep 21 2018
4.0
Version: 5.0
Can't believe all the greedy mean correspondents here who think they are entitled to everything for free! This is a very good app for troubleshooting and well worth $10. V5.0 automatically accepted my V4 license. I would like to see it open up to a larger window and maybe a bit clearer in some explanations.

But a great addition to any Mac tech arsenal
Hermie
Hermie
Sep 21 2018
5.0
0.0
Sep 21 2018
0.0
Version: 5.0
And out it goes! Yes, it accepts my version 4 serial, but on the first launch while there's nothing wrong it tries to sell me something in-app. And I really HATE that behaviour, ergo: Exit.
june8
june8
Sep 21 2018
5.0
1.0
Sep 21 2018
1.0
Version: 5.0
EtreCheckPro 5 reports that I have more than one antivirus application installed (although I have one) but it does not display names of them until I pay for it. v5 tells you nothing until you pay. Untrustable behavior.
Hdmoss
Hdmoss
Aug 5 2018
4.3.6
5.0
Aug 5 2018
5.0
Version: 4.3.6
EtreCheck helped me a lot finding some flaws within the setup of my Mac. The developer made a very useful peace of software which collects infos about your Mac in a structured. way that even beginners can use. I had several questions which were answered with no big delay and no hassles. For me it was far more than I expected for a really low cost software. The dev really listened to my ideas and proposals. Great!
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Aug 5 2018
4.3.6
0.0
Aug 5 2018
0.0
Version: 4.3.6
Sure are a lot of updates for "Various improvements and bug fixes" Shouldn't most of those have been quashed BEFORE he began charging for it?
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
Jul 6 2018
4.3.4
5.0
Jul 6 2018
5.0
Version: 4.3.4
I forgot to leave a rating in my post below. I'm doing so now.
neartheredrocks
neartheredrocks
Jun 3 2018
4.3.2
0.0
Jun 3 2018
0.0
Version: 4.3.2
Only half a point because the software is listed as "free" although not being free. That is a crooked way to lure people into downloading this software.
Laine
Laine
Jun 2 2018
4.3.2
0.0
Jun 2 2018
0.0
Version: 4.3.2
Don't you hate it when developers try to help people, then later on say, "Hey, I can make money with this"!
JamesSheffield1859
JamesSheffield1859
May 26 2018
4.3.1
1.0
May 26 2018
1.0
Version: 4.3.1
This is junk software. It gives you nothing useful and the support if awful. I tried it for a while since it was free. When I had questions for their support, they actually got angry that I asked a question. Don't waste your money.
etresoft
etresoft
May 25 2018
4.3
0.0
May 25 2018
0.0
Version: 4.3
I have reduced the price to about $10 USD (more or less). EU and AU still pay more due to VAT and other costs. We'll see how it goes. I plan to have a major update in the next couple of months anyway.
LeroyMorrison
LeroyMorrison
May 17 2018
4.3
5.0
May 17 2018
5.0
Version: 4.3
I like EtreCheck. It's a handy tool that I can use to make sure that my Mac is working as it should be and I can tell that the developer pays attention to fine details when developing the app. I haven't actually had an issue with my Mac but I like running it here and there just to make sure that my Mac is performing as it should be and I trust this app to tell me if it were otherwise.
apyilgilliam
apyilgilliam
May 14 2018
4.2.1
4.0
May 14 2018
4.0
Version: 4.2.1
Useful and very helpful app!
MarioRodriguez7606
MarioRodriguez7606
May 14 2018
4.2.1
5.0
May 14 2018
5.0
Version: 4.2.1
I find it perfectly ok to charge for an App, please DO IT and ignore all those who want everything for free (99% non developers) but I personally find 20€ a bit too much for individuals. I would gladly pay 5€ for this app and 50 or 100€ if I was a Mac repairing technician. Something like EtreCheck Personal and EtreCheck Pro for Pros. It is much better many 5€ sales as few 20€ sales.
micrrhalevileal
micrrhalevileal
Apr 25 2018
4.2.1
4.0
Apr 25 2018
4.0
Version: 4.2.1
Good app. Useful and easy to use.
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Apr 6 2018
4.1.4
5.0
Apr 6 2018
5.0
Version: 4.1.4
I think this version, 4.x, deserves a higher rating. The new interface is a vast improvement for users who are not experienced in sorting out the code with the earlier versions.
Frenkieboy
Frenkieboy
Mar 31 2018
4.1
0.5
Mar 31 2018
0.5
Version: 4.1
Be VERY careful following Etrechecks advice to remove unused Plist files. I did, and it made my Kerio Mailserver completely inoperative.
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Feb 24 2018
4.0.4
5.0
Feb 24 2018
5.0
Version: 4.0.4
Quick. Chep. Accurate. Totally trustworthy. Get it!
George6
George6
Feb 22 2018
4.0.4
0.0
Feb 22 2018
0.0
Version: 4.0.4
@ Dev: it is totally ok, that you charge for the app, you dont have to excuse yrself. you'll loose users, but they dont matter as they are just freeloaders anyway.
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Feb 20 2018
4.0.3
5.0
Feb 20 2018
5.0
Version: 4.0.3
EtreCheck 4 is a major upgrade, well worth the price to those of us who like to keep on top of our system performance. It has helped me in the past to locate and eliminate problems, even without the flashy new interface. Though, frankly, looking for red marks in the log was not all that difficult. :-)
emerywehitney
emerywehitney
Feb 17 2018
4.0.1
4.5
Feb 17 2018
4.5
Version: 4.0.1
Good app to check for adware