Back to Airmail page
Airmail free download for Mac

Airmail Reviews5.0.4

20 March 2021

Powerful, minimal email client.

How would you rate Airmail?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
jacorademeyer459
jacorademeyer459
Apr 2 2021
5.0.4
1.0
Apr 2 2021
1.0
Version: 5.0.4
The functionality available in this app indicates that they have the potential to be one of the best email apps for Mac. However, non-existent customer support and apparently zero interest in resolving minor issues for paying customers leads me to believe that this is not worth investing time or money in. I do not say this lightly and have checked back several times over a 14 month period in the hopes that some updates might have resolved these recurring issues, with no luck. Pity though, as these are issues that could conceivably be solved easily enough if they even pretended to care about the consumer of their software.
stevengohcf
stevengohcf
Mar 20 2021
5.0.4
2.0
Mar 20 2021
2.0
Version: 5.0.4
I am a user of airmail and paid for their app. However, I wrote to them several times (more than 3 times) for support for help and situations where I had problems with airmail. The follow up emails never got replied. Had to switch back to Mac Mail. My advice, Its a good app only if the support comes with it.
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
Mar 19 2021
5.0.4
1.0
Mar 19 2021
1.0
Version: 5.0.4
Given the complaints about always asking for a subscription even if you've paid, I wonder if anyone has evidence he's collecting and selling this information to 3rd parties. I think that's illegal in the EU. He blocks email from people who complain. I wonder if he'd block INTERPOL from arresting him.
frans-3
frans-3
Jan 26 2021
5.0.1
1.0
Jan 26 2021
1.0
Version: 5.0.1
Delete mail, then even empty the trash and then wait. Your deleted mail will show up again ads unread... Label mail as read... it will appear unread again after a while. Something really really wrong here...
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
Jan 22 2021
5.0
4.0
Jan 22 2021
4.0
Version: 5.0
Frankly I have nothing to complain about it, they reduced the annual fee and $10 is nothing. Totally nag free. I have access to 6 email accounts inc icloud and gmail. It works and syncs everything fine between my mac, iPhone and iPad, can customise lots of stuff. Way better than mac mail or any of the others and I've tried them all.
Odysseus
Odysseus
Jan 21 2021
5.0
3.0
Jan 21 2021
3.0
Version: 5.0
C'mon folks, they're asking $10/year which covers both Mac OS and iOS versions. There are other email apps with subscriptions charging $8 *per month* for a single platform. Developers are entitled to a living wage. Let's evaluate this application in terms of its features and how it compares to other email clients.
SpiessensMark
SpiessensMark
Jan 10 2021
4.5.5
2.0
Jan 10 2021
2.0
Version: 4.5.5
I used Airmail in the past but ever since they walked the subscription model I left the ship. Even if you have the 'old' license, you are 'awarded' by popups for joining the subscription. I truly hate that. I wend back to Mail on macOS 11 which is, to my surprise, incredible good and fast.
sl90039
sl90039
Jan 9 2021
4.5.5
1.0
Jan 9 2021
1.0
Version: 4.5.5
TERRIBLE customer service. Like others on here I have paid for a subscription but every time I launch the app I get a NAG screen telling me I have to subscribe. I've emailed the app developer, followed the instructions and NOTHING works. This app is a waste of time! Avoid at all costs.
adrianondarza
adrianondarza
Jan 5 2021
4.5.4
1.0
Jan 5 2021
1.0
Version: 4.5.4
I needed support and they just blocked me!! Maybe is only one guy developing this app. Don't waste your money. Spark is better tons times!!
andreas-72
andreas-72
Dec 13 2020
4.5.4
1.0
Dec 13 2020
1.0
Version: 4.5.4
I Paid for Airmail, and now I'm getting a popup everytime I open the program that asks me to subscribe to Airmail Pro. The devs are not responding to my questions about this.
drpsych
drpsych
Nov 27 2020
4.5.1
1.0
Nov 27 2020
1.0
Version: 4.5.1
It's a piece of junk. Pure & simple. Most frustrating support service.
melvillesworld
melvillesworld
Nov 26 2020
4.5.1
1.0
Nov 26 2020
1.0
Version: 4.5.1
Sick of popups to try to sell subscription software after buying it.
neptune06340
neptune06340
Nov 25 2020
4.5.1
1.0
Nov 25 2020
1.0
Version: 4.5.1
I am generally satisfied with Airmail. But, now there is constant harassment from Airmail to upgrade to a yearly subscription to Airmail Pro. This is unacceptable. Is this going to continue forever??? It is becoming a good reason to try something else.
peymard
peymard
Oct 18 2020
4.1.7
1.0
Oct 18 2020
1.0
Version: 4.1.7
I already paid for this app, and now they want me to pay for a subscription... to read my mails, in 2020? No thank you.
bret-11
bret-11
Sep 5 2020
4.1.6
3.0
Sep 5 2020
3.0
Version: 4.1.6
Needs to have password protect or enable face id
Cookie08
Cookie08
Jul 22 2020
4.1.1
4.0
Jul 22 2020
4.0
Version: 4.1.1
The Beta works great in Big Sur
foolishservant
foolishservant
Jul 22 2020
4.1.1
5.0
Jul 22 2020
5.0
Version: 4.1.1
Tried Spark - no flame! Tried the rest and kept coming back to the best: AIRMAIL!
tanhongk
tanhongk
Jun 19 2020
4.1
1.0
Jun 19 2020
1.0
Version: 4.1
I paid for the Airmail Pro on Yearly subscription. I am most disappointed with this App. When it started, it was OK, does what it was meant to do. Had a few things I did not like, like I could not zoom out so I can see more on each page. I was willing to tolerate it. But on 17June2020, the whole app just hung and could not let me even get out. I am contacting Apple to ask for a refund to this piece of Junk.
juhani-1
juhani-1
Jun 17 2020
4.1
0.0
Jun 17 2020
0.0
Version: 4.1
Wow! And I was just about going to buy this thing. I really like the UI and the integration with Evernote and others. But then, it just crashed and would not start again. Rebooting the Mac many times, with no avail. Clicking Airmail app seems not to start it. And yet, I can sometimes (!!!) see the UI and my mails, and they function. BUT I miss the top bar menus, altogether. So, no access to settings or anything. And browsing Command+tab shows all apps, but not Airmail. Dead as a duck in the ditch! No stars... no purchase!!!
rkrichards1
rkrichards1
Jun 11 2020
4.1
1.0
Jun 11 2020
1.0
Version: 4.1
The search feature is horrenddous. I'm going back to MacMail. Shame on your airmail. What a waste.
Mercibeate
Mercibeate
Jun 9 2020
4.1
1.0
Jun 9 2020
1.0
Version: 4.1
Used to be good, now just TERRIBLE. Cannot maintain a "stable connection to the server" and lots of display oddities. Search engine is really weak. No one available and almost impossible to submit issues to tech support. Avoid like the plague.
craigpearson108
craigpearson108
Jun 3 2020
4.0.7
2.0
Jun 3 2020
2.0
Version: 4.0.7
Does anyone else have this problem I have? I work with many people who have more than one email address. They may write to me using one or the other. In Airmail, when I want to search for email from these people, I have to use a specific address. If I don't find the message I'm looking for, I have to use the other address. There's seems to be no way to see all the messages from these people at once. This is time-consuming and annoying and a virtual deal-breaker for me. In the Apple Mail search function, on the other hand, there's a "Sender contains" option where you put in the person's name and all their emails show up. Am I missing something in Airmail?
pvdplancke
pvdplancke
May 29 2020
4.0.7
3.0
May 29 2020
3.0
Version: 4.0.7
Has been working perfectly for me until recently. For a few days now I am unable to send any mail . I am continuously confronted with the annoying and recurrent message saying that a stable connection couldn't be established with my mail server. Apple mail no issues,. Very disappointing. Obviously I am not the only one. Hope this issue gets fixed quickly, otherwise I will be force to migrate to another system.
fredbreit
fredbreit
May 21 2020
4.0.7
1.0
May 21 2020
1.0
Version: 4.0.7
Constant isssues with sending & receiving, no solutions AT ALL from helpdesk. Just sucks.
auctioneersvault
auctioneersvault
May 19 2020
4.0.7
1.0
May 19 2020
1.0
Version: 4.0.7
used to love this, move to pro version and just constant isssues with it not pulling in mail, or sending. dropping the connection saying as stable connection couldn't be established with my mail server, apple mail no issues, so why Airmail ? I never had an issue prevous with the old version, just regret upgrading and now having to use Apple mail as its become unusable. very disapointing, something that has happened when they upgraded it is causing the isssue, lots of people having it so Airmail for god sake work out the issue and fix it.
renierc
renierc
May 15 2020
4.0.7
1.0
May 15 2020
1.0
Version: 4.0.7
I chose Airmail pro free version just to try it out. It looks great but after the trial expires it keeps asking me to pay for Airmail Pro if I click on one of my old mails saved in a folder. Also on my iPhone it permanently and annoyingly keeps a button on Airmail Pro at the bottom reminding me to buy the Airmail Pro. I find this annoying and therefor will be deleting Airmail Pro. I might have gone Pro if there was a buy option but I simply don't agree on subscriptions.
markusvonkaenel
markusvonkaenel
May 1 2020
4.0.7
0.0
May 1 2020
0.0
Version: 4.0.7
would be a good app if It could handle calendar invites correctly. It loses all information of the .ics files. I'm back to apple mail with mailbutler. Works perfectly.
steven-goh
steven-goh
Apr 26 2020
4.0.7
1.0
Apr 26 2020
1.0
Version: 4.0.7
Had a very bad experience with the fonts. Have they fixed it yet? I contacted support several times but they never got back to the issue. Finally uninstall and revert back to Mail. Did they every fix up the issue or did they just leave it there?
bhnelsen
bhnelsen
Apr 17 2020
4.0.7
1.0
Apr 17 2020
1.0
Version: 4.0.7
I like the interface, however, the autocomplete of addresses includes a list of virtually every email address to which you ever sent an email, not just recent addressees or contacts. Inevitably, you will have 20-30 suggestions and the one you want is somewhere in the middle of the list. There is no way to restrict or limit the suggestions. I switched back to my old email client after one day.
fuad-2
fuad-2
Mar 10 2020
4.0.6
1.0
Mar 10 2020
1.0
Version: 4.0.6
"Pro" version subscription after you bought full version? And, BTW "pro" version uses too much CPU for animation effects and space is not optimally arranged, I instantly hated it. It is "office" application, it is not visit to the Zoo.
Cookie08
Cookie08
Mar 7 2020
4.0.6
4.0
Mar 7 2020
4.0
Version: 4.0.6
Version 4 is excellent email app quick and stable also lets you drag emails out to the desktop as eml files which can be read or imported to any email app. Spark is good but you cannot store emails locally or drag them out of the app to store!!! Post box is a close second still no avatars and other small touches as in Airmail Postbox also uses standard eml files which makes saving and moving emails a sinch!
cjred
cjred
Mar 4 2020
4.0.5
4.0
Mar 4 2020
4.0
Version: 4.0.5
v4 is soo much better!
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
Mar 2 2020
4.0.5
0.0
Mar 2 2020
0.0
Version: 4.0.5
Well that was pretty stupid. I'm older and have limited eyesight. I have my screen at a resolution of 1280 x 720. The older AirMail window size could be accommodated to fit well within that. This new version goes beyond the edges of the screen. I can understand that younger programmers don't fathom eyesight problems, although you would think there might be some sensitivity to ADA needs. Regardless, this program is no longer viable for me.
Eric-Caldwell
Eric-Caldwell
Feb 28 2020
4.0.4
4.0
Feb 28 2020
4.0
Version: 4.0.4
Too much whining about it being a subscription product. These people have to make a living just like you do. If it bugs you, use Apple mail, it's a free email client. The one feature that kept driving me back to Apple mail every time was how SLOW the search was. I now find it faster than Apple for simple searches and getting better for advanced searches. I don't use advanced searching much, if ever but, its good to know they have that in the works. ****** Airmail PLEASE allow us to set the dang tones (or individually disable) sounds/notifications for received and sending mail. I have it disabled because the defaults are annoying for me.
haleason
haleason
Feb 24 2020
4.0.4
5.0
Feb 24 2020
5.0
Version: 4.0.4
I've used Airmail for several years now, and like other reviewers here, my initial reaction to their going to a subscription model was negative. Time to look for an alternative. I had been ready to ditch Airmail anyway, primarily for a single reason - "search" (of my multiple connected gmail accounts) was painfully sluggish and incomplete. But, I decided it was worth at least trying the upgrade. After a few hours of use, I'm a believe. Search is fast. Many other things I like about the new interface, but for me, search was the key. I don't mind $3/mo if it allows a company to afford good devs to keep improving the product.
zlazkow
zlazkow
Feb 18 2020
4.0.3
1.0
Feb 18 2020
1.0
Version: 4.0.3
Spark is better, Thunderbird is better, Sweetmail is better, and of course number one is PostBox. NO subscription.
Dcannis
Dcannis
Feb 17 2020
4.0.3
1.0
Feb 17 2020
1.0
Version: 4.0.3
Subscription after having bought the app? No thanks
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
Feb 14 2020
4.0
1.0
Feb 14 2020
1.0
Version: 4.0
This is another company that's trying to convert a existing application into a revenue stream. The new version offers a "Pro" upgrade that's $2.99/month which is an in-app purchase. Time to buy a Voodoo Doll for the CEO of this company and allocate pins for it.
Mojo
Mojo
Nov 27 2019
3.6.73
2.0
Nov 27 2019
2.0
Version: 3.6.73
This used to be a good replacement for Apple Mail, but it's now buggy. On occasion freezes up the whole system; sometimes doesn't show particular emails (unless I do a search for a particular item); the folder display is unwieldy, cumbersome, and sometimes misses items (e.g. the display all selector doesn't). The final straw was having to take out a subscription after having bought the app. So now it's back to Apple Mail
Megavolt17
Megavolt17
Jul 24 2019
3.6.71
2.5
Jul 24 2019
2.5
Version: 3.6.71
I was using this for almost a year. I like being about to use custom icons and colors for accounts because it made it easy to know what account a message came from. Glitchy and about every 2 months I'd have to remove an email account and reinstall it, which would fix the problem They they decided we'd have to pay monthly or yearly for push notification... I already bought the Mac and the iOS versions and then they change the rules. No thanks, back to using Apple Mail on the Mac and iPhone.
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Jul 24 2019
3.6.71
5.0
Jul 24 2019
5.0
Version: 3.6.71
I cannot live without this application. Very good!
Mcclough
Mcclough
Dec 6 2018
3.6.52
5.0
Dec 6 2018
5.0
Version: 3.6.52
Best mail.app alternative for me. Much faster compared to the default Apple Mail app.
susan26428
susan26428
Oct 24 2018
3.6.50
0.5
Oct 24 2018
0.5
Version: 3.6.50
Airmail will not setup for my Spectrum account... same error message everyone seems to be getting that I'm now reading AFTER I shelled out $10 because Airmail was touted as being one of the best for Spectrum. I get ""The settings are not valid: A stable connection to the server could not be established" . All of the settings are absolutely correct and I've got lightening speed and a great connection. Irritating !!!!
Acheteur
Acheteur
Oct 17 2018
3.6.50
3.0
Oct 17 2018
3.0
Version: 3.6.50
I have a problem with Airmail 3.6.50: if I delete a message by putting it in the trash and then I delete it from the trash ... the same message reappears some time later if I ask to raise the mail. For information, all my email accounts are pop and I do not have this problem with the Apple Mail application.
Edeerly
Edeerly
Oct 11 2018
3.6.42
5.0
Oct 11 2018
5.0
Version: 3.6.42
My version is 3.6.43 (527) and that fixed the broken plugins in Mojave, so it's running very well on 10.14. Name the email client and I've tried it. For all alternative email apps available for both macOS and iOS, this continues to be the best choice for me. Each update adds reliability and speed.
Peter-Van-Den-Einde
Peter-Van-Den-Einde
Oct 10 2018
3.6.42
5.0
Oct 10 2018
5.0
Version: 3.6.42
By far the best mail client for macOS. Using it for years with no problems. Thank you for the ongoing updates.
Septimus
Septimus
Aug 24 2018
3.6.1
2.0
Aug 24 2018
2.0
Version: 3.6.1
Also: in my case Airmail doesn't work with Private Internet Access VPN. From their FAQ on their "support" page: Does Airmail work with a proxy server or VPN? In some cases Airmail may not work with your proxy server or VPN settings. Right. Thanks for a solution aholes.
Septimus
Septimus
Aug 24 2018
3.6.1
2.0
Aug 24 2018
2.0
Version: 3.6.1
Looks nice. But still these *H U G E* silly icons for attachments and no way to select (cmd and/or ctrl and/or shift click) multiple / the ones you need and save. Mega deal breaker.

Clients often send me Office documents, PDF files, zip archives, pictures etc in one email. How am I supposed select some of the attachments? For an email client and user experience point of view this is terrible. I can see why this app was a WWDC design winner in 2017. Apple's Mail handles attachments almost the same.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Aug 24 2018
3.6
0.0
Aug 24 2018
0.0
Version: 3.6
The current version is 3.6.1
Marcossi
Marcossi
Aug 5 2018
3.5.9
3.0
Aug 5 2018
3.0
Version: 3.5.9
I think Airmail team is getting cooky as they don't even bother to reply on support tickets anymore.

What disturbs me the most now is that they made a schedule function BUT it doesn't work if you are behind a router. The support suggested me to connect my desktop with my iPhone internet and the schedule function would work. What a joke!

Right now I am thinking to go back to Mail.app but are also looking for other alternatives. When I pay for a product I expect better features and proper support!