Back to Airmail page
Airmail free download for Mac

Airmail Reviews

4.0.4
20 February 2020

Powerful, minimal email client.

zlazkow
18 February 2020

Most helpful

Spark is better, Thunderbird is better, Sweetmail is better, and of course number one is PostBox. NO subscription.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.3

Read 167 Airmail User Reviews

Rate this app:

haleason
24 February 2020
I've used Airmail for several years now, and like other reviewers here, my initial reaction to their going to a subscription model was negative. Time to look for an alternative. I had been ready to ditch Airmail anyway, primarily for a single reason - "search" (of my multiple connected gmail accounts) was painfully sluggish and incomplete. But, I decided it was worth at least trying the upgrade. After a few hours of use, I'm a believe. Search is fast. Many other things I like about the new interface, but for me, search was the key. I don't mind $3/mo if it allows a company to afford good devs to keep improving the product.
Like
Version 4.0.4
zlazkow
18 February 2020
Spark is better, Thunderbird is better, Sweetmail is better, and of course number one is PostBox. NO subscription.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.3
Dcannis
17 February 2020
Subscription after having bought the app? No thanks
Like (1)
Version 4.0.3
Michael-Vilain
14 February 2020
This is another company that's trying to convert a existing application into a revenue stream. The new version offers a "Pro" upgrade that's $2.99/month which is an in-app purchase. Time to buy a Voodoo Doll for the CEO of this company and allocate pins for it.
Like (6)
Version 4.0
Mojo
27 November 2019
This used to be a good replacement for Apple Mail, but it's now buggy. On occasion freezes up the whole system; sometimes doesn't show particular emails (unless I do a search for a particular item); the folder display is unwieldy, cumbersome, and sometimes misses items (e.g. the display all selector doesn't). The final straw was having to take out a subscription after having bought the app. So now it's back to Apple Mail
Like (3)
Version 3.6.73
Megavolt17
24 July 2019
I was using this for almost a year. I like being about to use custom icons and colors for accounts because it made it easy to know what account a message came from. Glitchy and about every 2 months I'd have to remove an email account and reinstall it, which would fix the problem They they decided we'd have to pay monthly or yearly for push notification... I already bought the Mac and the iOS versions and then they change the rules. No thanks, back to using Apple Mail on the Mac and iPhone.
Like (5)
Version 3.6.71
Bento de Espinosa
24 July 2019
I cannot live without this application. Very good!
Like
Version 3.6.71
Mcclough
06 December 2018
Best mail.app alternative for me. Much faster compared to the default Apple Mail app.
Like (3)
Version 3.6.52
susan26428
24 October 2018
Airmail will not setup for my Spectrum account... same error message everyone seems to be getting that I'm now reading AFTER I shelled out $10 because Airmail was touted as being one of the best for Spectrum. I get ""The settings are not valid: A stable connection to the server could not be established" . All of the settings are absolutely correct and I've got lightening speed and a great connection. Irritating !!!!
Like
Version 3.6.50
Acheteur
17 October 2018
I have a problem with Airmail 3.6.50: if I delete a message by putting it in the trash and then I delete it from the trash ... the same message reappears some time later if I ask to raise the mail. For information, all my email accounts are pop and I do not have this problem with the Apple Mail application.
Like
Version 3.6.50
Edeerly
11 October 2018
My version is 3.6.43 (527) and that fixed the broken plugins in Mojave, so it's running very well on 10.14. Name the email client and I've tried it. For all alternative email apps available for both macOS and iOS, this continues to be the best choice for me. Each update adds reliability and speed.
Like (2)
Version 3.6.42
Peter-Van-Den-Einde
10 October 2018
By far the best mail client for macOS. Using it for years with no problems. Thank you for the ongoing updates.
Like (2)
Version 3.6.42
Septimus
24 August 2018
Also: in my case Airmail doesn't work with Private Internet Access VPN. From their FAQ on their "support" page: Does Airmail work with a proxy server or VPN? In some cases Airmail may not work with your proxy server or VPN settings. Right. Thanks for a solution aholes.
Like
Version 3.6.1
Septimus
24 August 2018
Looks nice. But still these *H U G E* silly icons for attachments and no way to select (cmd and/or ctrl and/or shift click) multiple / the ones you need and save. Mega deal breaker.

Clients often send me Office documents, PDF files, zip archives, pictures etc in one email. How am I supposed select some of the attachments? For an email client and user experience point of view this is terrible. I can see why this app was a WWDC design winner in 2017. Apple's Mail handles attachments almost the same.
Like (1)
Version 3.6.1
RogerKatz
24 August 2018
The current version is 3.6.1
Like
Version 3.6
Marcossi
05 August 2018
I think Airmail team is getting cooky as they don't even bother to reply on support tickets anymore.

What disturbs me the most now is that they made a schedule function BUT it doesn't work if you are behind a router. The support suggested me to connect my desktop with my iPhone internet and the schedule function would work. What a joke!

Right now I am thinking to go back to Mail.app but are also looking for other alternatives. When I pay for a product I expect better features and proper support!
Like (1)
Version 3.5.9
3 answer(s)
markusvonkaenel
markusvonkaenel
11 August 2018
Mail.app with Mailbutler is my solution
Like
Odysseus
Odysseus
23 August 2018
Mine is Mail.app with MailHub (no subscription fee (unlike Mailbutler).
Like
Septimus
Septimus
24 August 2018
In my experience they never did. Terrible arrogant behaviour.
Like
AlexisDhooge
08 July 2018
Superb Mail replacement. Great GUI, very customizable and handles large amount of mails very quickly. Recommended !!
Like
Version 3.5.8
Septimus
21 June 2018
is it still using ridiculously large icons for attachments?
Like
Version 3.5.8
misterjspencer
12 June 2018
I bought this years ago and just never been able to use it. I thought I would give it another go and it won't let me set up my apple mail account. IMAP Test Failed The settings are not valid: Unable to authenticate with the current session's credentials. Please check if you need an app-specific password: but I dont use 2 factor authentication, is this something apple are now making me do?
Like (1)
Version 3.5.6
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
15 June 2018
As far as I know, Apple is now requiring an app-specific password for certain kinds of apps such as email. I think one password will cover all apps. I don't recall if it's 2-factor authentication related or not. I would google "Mac app specific passwords" to learn more. FWIW, I tried Air Mail, but I found it to hang occasionally. I'm back to using Apple's Mail.
Like
Zoidbert
25 February 2018
I've tried every non-OS email app since the beginning (going as far back as QuickMail, Claris Em@iler, and the like) and, after numerous false starts and disappointments (sigh; Sparrow), I stumbled upon Airmail. It does indeed do just about everything I need it to do, and it does it quite well. Some features are great and are now can't-do-without: the ability to snooze a message for any specified time-frame, the quick & easy way to file (I live & die by email filing). Some features are still perplexingly absent: the ability to send later or at a specific time (yes, you can do it BUT ONLY if you're using a Gmail/Exchange account, not an iCloud one), the inability to turn off color-coded folders, the inability to adjust fonts/sizes in the sidebar (where the folders reside). I'd also like the ability to view a la Messages (not meaning sort-by-sender like it is in the app, but take a look at Unibox, which sorts email like Messages sorts messages), and simple UI tweaks like maybe adding a divider line between days in the Inbox, or the aforementioned ability to turn off color-coded folders and/or adjust the sidebar a bit more (not just the fonts but also the overall width, which is limited). Overall, however: since its release, it's the email client I keep coming back to -- that's something I used to say about Apple's own Mail but not for a long time. Like Morgan-Alex notes in a separate review, there's never going to be a perfect email client for me until I make it myself, but since I've got zero coding ability, I'll be sticking with Airmail.
Like (2)
Version 3.5.4
Priosantos-Jan
27 January 2018
I’m using Airmail 3 for about 4 months now and like it a lot. The GUI can be easily tailored and offers a lot of tweaking. Everything is very fast too when using several mail accounts and bucket load of mails. It has a huge bug though: when importing a lot of mails, sometimes you get duplicates. If this can be fixed, this is definitely a must have mail client with a fair price.
Like (3)
Version 3.5.4
cybervision
20 January 2018
Used Airmail for several months. Having 12 accounts and more than 5000 mails, Airmail is getting really slow, search does not find emails, sync fails, mails got lost and so on. Tried Postbox after this experience and now, I give Spark a chance.
Like
Version 3.5.4
MacBookProUser
17 January 2018
I have been using Airmail for more than three years and found it to be something like a mixed bag. On one hand, it is greatly configurable and has amazing integration with lots of services for easy sharing. Also, the interface can be customised due to the needs. On the other hand, I found Airmail incredibly buggy. I have lots of emails where Airmail says there is no subject, however, opening them with multiple different clients is showing the subject like a charm. Also, I have recurring issues with pdf attachments that will be destroyed. So I definitely like all the fancy options and settings, but am dissatisfied with stability and reliability. The support is amazingly fast, but as soon as it comes down to technical issues they will just reply that the topic is moved to the development department. One will never hear again the status, according to my experience. I would love to use Airmail as my primary client, however, the issues preventing me from this move.
Like
Version 3.5.4
Septimus
27 September 2017
Is this app still displaying attachments as silly *huge* icons with truncated file names? That's a real deal breaker for me. Spark, Canary and even Thunderbird use a much more elegant way to handle attachments.
Like (1)
Version 3.5
Bart-Pans
11 September 2017
Truly amazing mail client. Looks great, works great. Recommended
Like (4)
Version 3.3.2
1 answer(s)
emailsupprt365
emailsupprt365
25 October 2018
Airmail is the best client for iPhone , Mac and OS etc ...
If you have any kinds of question or problem please go throw the Airmail Support . i'm sure it will help you.
Like
lazk
14 July 2017
I tried it and did not like it.
First they keep all your emails on their servers.
Not only that, their privacy policy is something that every user should definitely know.
Another extremely annoying thing - the first screen when I opened it, forces you to sign up for something I didn't like. It doesn't go away.
For the rest, I'm not impressed at all. The useless features are not for everyone.
I got rid of it after 5 minutes of looking around.
Canary Mail for me is the best.
Like
Version 3.3.2
3 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
24 August 2017
Like
lazk
lazk
24 September 2017
changed my mind, sorry. Although I did like Canary in the beginning, but dropped it after a short while, for Spark. Prefer Unibox, but too bad it's not being updated for a long time.
Like (1)
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
08 November 2017
"forces you to sign up for something I didn't like. It doesn't go away." Huh? I don't remember that happening to me.
Like
alzoub
19 June 2017
Many of us Mac users would like to replace the monotonous and a bit stiffy native e-mail client with something more cheerful, useful, colourful, whateverfull But do we really know what we are spending money on? For a long while Airmail was my mail client, a bit expensive but... you know, nice and smooth and functional and all the rest. But right know I`m reading something that I skipped when I bought the app - nobody is sticking under your nose the Privacy Policy of Airmail Mac. (https://www.iubenda.com/privacy-policy/558233/full-legal#_=_).
I will not make any more comments, I think it is something every Airmail user should have in consideration and judge with its own mind.
Like (3)
Version 3.3.2
2 answer(s)
Zoidbert
Zoidbert
26 September 2017
Just stumbling upon this. If one has used Airmail for some time, can personal data be removed?
Like
alzoub
alzoub
26 September 2017
@Zoidbert

„Place
The Data is processed at the Data Controller's operating offices and in any other places where the parties involved with the processing are located. For further information, please contact the Data Controller.
Retention time
The Data is kept for the time necessary to provide the service requested by the User, or stated by the purposes outlined in this document, and the User can always request that the Data Controller suspend or remove the data.
The use of the collected Data
The Data concerning the User is collected to allow the Owner to provide its services, as well as for the following purposes: Analytics, Access to third party services' accounts, Managing contacts and sending messages, Backup saving and management, Hosting and backend infrastructure, Registration and authentication and Infrastructure monitoring.
The Personal Data used for each purpose is outlined in the specific sections of this document.”

Read more and your brain will pop from such a dense talking with a blurry core. And, remember, you pay for this.
Like (1)
Sherman-Wilcox
28 May 2017
Lots of low ratings here, probably an early one by me. But Airmail has steadily improved, and is now a powerful and stable app for email power users. The integration through services with other apps is incredible, too many to list and the developers stay up-to-date on new or updated apps (e.g., Bear, Things 3). I own an embarrassing number of email apps and third-party add-ons for Mail and others. I periodically try them. And for the last year, except for an extended evaluation of Spark, I come back to Airmail on all my devices. Not perfect, but the annoyances I used to have are disappearing and the power is increasing.
Like (2)
Version 3.3.2
Gigadiva
22 May 2017
This app does not have full screen capabilites for reading or composing. If they ever add that, I will reconsider airmail
Like
Version 3.2.8
2 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
27 May 2017
At the least, I'm not sure how that's worth a 1-star rating. One missing feature = 4-stars lost? Please tell us you don't do your own taxes.
Like (2)
lazk
lazk
12 July 2017
who cares about full screen ? I prefer not a full screen in order to see other open windows
Like
Alex-Macinsky
14 May 2017
Love the app concept, but the features work erratically at best. The "bounce" feature is hidden and doesn't work on 80% of emails. The toolbar is hard to customize, and some of it you can't customize. Spam feature is weak (files marked as spam re-appear in the inbox when new spam from the same sender is received). Sorting is erratic. Emails get hidden for no reason. Conversations are hard to organize and comprehend. And a bunch of other annoying stuff. But it is a great concept, and when you run it without the dock icon, it is nicely nested in the status bar for quick access. It has gotten better, however it still needs a bunch of refining to be a contender for Mail.app.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.7
Madmacmad
23 April 2017
A lot of low rated review and comments here.... Yes lot of stupid users... who have no idea... Don't know what a email client should do for them... I've also evaluated all available email clients.... to replace Apple Mail ... AIRMAIL is the best for us.... 5 Stars
Like (2)
Version 3.2.4
armln
13 March 2017
Always with enough space for improvement, Airmail is the best e.mail client around!
Like (2)
Version 3.2.1
anonymous-dingo-826
06 March 2017
I switched form Postbox to Airmail back in Nov 2016. Reasons? I was unhappy with the upgrade price for Postbox 5 and didn't feel the new features were worth it. I moved to Airmail. After just over three months of frustration with Airmail (bugginess and confusing UI among other things) I've moved back to Postbox (now at version 5.0.11). I'm so pleased with Postbox. It's fast, folders, directories, etc.,. are where I expect them to be. Sorry I ever tried Airmail. Live and learn I guess.
Like (5)
Version 3.2.1
1 answer(s)
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
23 April 2017
sounds like you never have used Airmail !!!
nice try with you Postbox comments...
but as you see the reviews @ Postbox... it sucks and lack important features... etc... has no iOS App and is spyware... but go on with it... Airmail is for the rest of us....
Like (2)
team-noob
12 February 2017
Literal junkware. Have tried reaching out to their support to show how buggy their software is with screenshots and full "how to recreate the bug" flow-throughs and get absolutely no response. Stay away.
Like (6)
Version 3.2.1
1 answer(s)
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
23 April 2017
like you name say.... NOOB ;-)
nop problem with support ...
try it ... reply in 24h... what do need more ???
Like (1)
Madmacmad
17 November 2016
best mail app on mac. best mail app on iOS! long time user... know what i say about app's... this is the mail solution for most of us!
Like
Version 3.2.1
Morgan-Alex
13 November 2016
A lot of low rated review and comments here. Honestly, I cannot speak about all previous versions but 3.1 is pretty slick. I evaluated several email clients : Mozilla Thunderbird, Postbox and AirMail (free beta). After some days I removed Mozilla Thunderbird because it has too many problems regarding stability and sluggish GUI. Postbox is not bad but I don’t like the GUI at all. Its is counterproductive in many ways and I cannot slim down the GUI to my likeness. Also, in many occasions the preview render of emails, especially with a lot of content, is slow. And I meant SLOW. Therefore browsing mails becomes a pain and frustrating. I don't understand the 5 star reviews of Postbox. They do not reflect my findings at all. Of course my needs aren't the same as others. Still .. its odd. Airmail scores surprisingly very well. The highly customisable GUI is truly fantastic and all window animations are smooth working. Scrolling through mails is blistering fast, something I feel is very important and fails terrible with Apple Mail and Postbox. That said, I do not understand the wipe animations in Airmail for macOS. I mean, there are no macOS devices that have a touchscreen (yet). It is a bit confusion at times. Maybe it has been added to make the transition to the iOS version a bit more comfortable. I think it could be left out. My conclusion is that there is no perfect email client (for me). But Airmail is getting very very close. I now bought it at the AppStore for a fair price.
Like (10)
Version 3.1
Njronbo
16 October 2016
Airmail has been around forever, yet it’s one of the most buggy pieces of Mac software that I have had the displeasure of using. Now at version 3, the software still has its share of issues. The mail takes forever to download. Trashing mail does not work properly. With each update and fix that the developer team brings, there are always new bugs to contend with. The biggest problem is their development team. If you go to their support team with an issue, you will be treated rudely. I have never had such an awful customer support interaction with any company than I have with the Airmail team. They don’t want to hear about issues with their software, and even if you post those issues on their support forum, those questions will be deleted and go unanswered. The support team is overseas, and as you might expect from those circumstances, their customer service is less than optimal. I would highly recommend Postbox over this software. Postbox may not be as pretty as Airmail, but it is more polished in features and their customer support is far more professional than what you will find here. Please don’t support the Airmail team. They are not very nice people to deal with.
Like (4)
Version 3.1
1 answer(s)
Raddle
Raddle
16 April 2018
Very suspicious of this review. My experience with Airmail has been great, and while — like a lot of new software — it had issues in the past, it's not buggy at all now, but fast and powerful. Trashing this software while suggesting another option sounds either like a personal beef or a shill.
Like
Prlab
04 August 2016
This program continues to be a "dog". I want to like it but it's so damned slow. I compared (again) the latest version to Canary, Postbox and Mail and it was by far the slowest. Pass. No more.
Like (1)
Version 3.02
Bento de Espinosa
03 August 2016
It seems, on my MacBook Pro Core 2 Duo - Mavericks, Airmail 3 uses much more CPU than version 2, very often 40%!

Anyone having the same problem?
Like (2)
Version 3.01
Hermie
02 August 2016
Now at version 3.0.2 (while the dock icon still gives Airmail 2) and the Local Mailbox issues are still there. I've explained exactly what's happening to the devs multiple times, but nothing has ever been done about it. I'm giving up on this one.
Like (1)
Version 3.01
Cookie08
18 July 2016
This is getting better and better Creating a local account it can have email stored off line line as on this mac as in mail
Like (2)
Version 3.01
1 answer(s)
Hermie
Hermie
02 August 2016
Those local accounts are static. Make some changes in where it's coming from and import again. Now only the changes show up, while the import went smoothly without errors. So all mail must be there, but you can't get them to show up, rendering the whole operation and app useless.
Like
Alessandro82
25 June 2016
ugly garnage font size in mail viewer window is too small ,really a lack of respect for impaired vision people really hope other people wont wasye money in this garbage
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Kukkis
09 June 2016
Great email application. I would say this is the best email app for Mac right now. This is if you're looking for powerful email client and not a super simple one. GUI is aesthetically clean but the app has many powerful features so there is minor learning curve here.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Sherman-Wilcox
08 June 2016
I used to be quite less than happy with this app. But it has steadily improved, the developers are matching the OS X and iOS features, and it has now for me become quite a useful productivity tool. It's stable (never has crashed on me), fast at startup, and fast in operations (although in the latest version sending seems slower than before, but it's still more bearable than Mail). I don't see how search is overly complicated as one reviewer has said: I type "Rebecca" into the search box, and I get a list allowing me to select messages from Rebecca, to Rebecca, with Rebecca in the subject, etc. Select one, hit Return, and I have my search result instantly.

Snooze feature is nice and also nice that it works across platforms. A simple one-keystroke (D) brings up the panel to select snooze times (which I can also totally configure to my needs). I still find navigation to be funky and unpredictable in certain areas, but I've devised a set of KeyboardMaestro macros to do what I would expect it to do.

Attachment support is good. I like that I can easily send a Dropbox link if I need to send a large file. The Actions preference in v.3 allows me to set an arrow key for most used functions. I have right arrow set to the Move operation, which makes filing messages very easy.

Overall I'm happy and haven't gone back to Mail for quite a while. I was a MailMate user before (it's an incredible app), but I like using the same mail app on all my devices.

Is it tending to feature bloat? Perhaps, but the ability to configure it to my needs and desires is appreciated.

I also like Spark on iOS. They're developing an OS X app, and when that comes out it'll be something to check out. For now, Airmail is my go-to email client, and it works well for me on my MacBook Pro, iPhone, and iPad.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
Bento de Espinosa
07 June 2016
Why is this app rated so low? I tried many mail apps and this is by far the best one!
Like (2)
Version 3.0
ben-48
01 June 2016
They've destroyed a once good product. I agree with all the feedback on this discussion. It was a good product, with a few glitches that I could cope with. Version three introduces so many features it's no longer a sleek, fast client. It's a bloated client that is complicated. The features I liked have been changed and no options to change them back. I use Omnifocus and the integration has been changed which really annoys me. It crashes periodically. My mail isn't indexed properly and I have to reset the cache to actually find the emails again. The search is over the top complicated and doesn't work well now. Support is terrible and seems to be becoming worse. I'm not usually vocal about apps but I have to be this time, it was a good product that has been destroyed and I'm very unhappy. Don't buy it, find anything else.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
What a pleasant surprise! Switched from Mail Pilot 2 to Airmail 3, and I lov' it. Does exactly what I expect it to do, and I haven't found any major issues with it (yet). That being said: I only have 1 (one) active iCloud mail account. (Well, actually I have more accounts, but these all simply forward incoming mail to iCloud.)
Like
Version 3.0
TomasA
26 May 2016
Been trying alternatives to Mail.app, but to be honest this is not an alternative for me.
Why?
Well, the documentation is - to be polite - limited. No real way to find answers on their FAQ or in the support forum. They write that we- the users - can contact them on Twitter, but so far I have not recieved any answer.
I am quite happy with mail.app and MailTags, but there are some things I miss.Like adding emails to calendars or reminders. That function in mail.app is quite limited, and even with MailTags it is not quite there.
But if I am to switch I want some way to sort my emails with tags and have them moved to a certain folder with rules.
There are rules in Airmail3, but I haven't figured out how to tag emails like "work" "finance" and so on and get it moved to a folder of my choise without me having to move them myself.' Just as I can do with mail.app - tag as "work" with MailTags and a rule that says every mail tagged with "work" is to be in a smart folder with that name.

Tried to contact Airmail on this via email. No answer. Tried Twitter. No answer.

I can't really see why I should buy a program that I don't know if it fits my needs or not. Trying the beta now, but will drop Airmail.
OK, it looks nice. Bells and whistles and all that. But as an emailprogram it is not what I need. I think. But then how would I know since they have no support to answer questions.

Been trying quite a few different ones. MailMate is best, but too expensive. N1 is free but too limited. Airmail3 is overpriced and since it has no support it is quite useless to me. So for now I think Apples built in mail.app with mailTags is my choise.
Like (5)
Version 3.0
4 answer(s)
ben-48
ben-48
01 June 2016
Good review. It's honestly turned to crap. It was good with so much potential and they've destroyed it with too many features, half of which don't work, extensions that don't work or have changed between 2/3 that disrupt your workflow and it crashes or stops responding periodically.
Like (1)
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
17 November 2016
don't know what you talk about???
best Mail app out there...
it's always a question how you ask...
Like (1)
Odysseus
Odysseus
24 December 2016
"Overpriced"?! For $10?
Like
Cookie08
Cookie08
24 August 2017
This is one of the best out there it also is one of few that lets you store email offline for later reading almost all the other don't Spark is great but no offline on you computer storage of emails.
Airmail also supports drawing mail direct to desktop which is a file compatible with Mail.
Like
wickedsp1d3r
25 May 2016
It is not minimal anymore. Please remove this word from the headline.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Prlab
24 May 2016
Latest version 3 is still slow to open and even slower to load mail (I gave up and force quit twice this morning). Back to Postbox.
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Sherman-Wilcox
Sherman-Wilcox
24 May 2016
Something's wrong with your configuration or database. Airmail 3 launches in about 1.5 seconds on my MacBook Pro, and all mail is immediately available to read/navigate.
Like