Back to Opera Beta page
Opera Beta free download for Mac

Opera Beta Reviews

65.0.3467.32
12 November 2019

Opera browser with latest features and refinements (was Opera Next) (beta).

Jb4
30 May 2016

Most helpful

Just thrilled. Have used just about every Mac browser there has ever been, since Navigator and Chimera.... and now, after spending a few weeks with Safari Technology Preview, I am back again to Opera. I love the Beta, knowing I'm getting the most recent innovations. It is equal to, or beats the rest in; loading speed, page rendering accuracy and is more"user friendly, " than any of them. I even find it has the best extensions/add-ons: "ublock origins," "user agent switcher" and "E-mail page," are the ones I rely on.
Like (1)
Version 38.0.2220.12

Read 39 Opera Beta User Reviews

Rate this app:

expa
13 August 2019
The back mouse still does not work! Why!!!!
Like
Version 63.0.3368.29
Stevencee
19 February 2017
I like it some, but IT WILL NOT DOWNLOAD ANYTHING! Whether I use the Save As via the top menu or right clicking, or even using the download icon on a page with a pdf file, NOTHING WHATSOEVER HAPPENS! This is an obvious deal breaker until I can, plus the saving bookmarks has no Save or OK or Done button, and iI don't like that it will just put it wherever it feels like until I have to bring it back and do it.
Like
Version 43.0.2442.7
Derekcurrie
02 August 2016
""Opera browser sold to a Chinese consortium for $600 million The Norwegian company has sold its browser, performance apps and name." https://www.engadget.com/2016/07/18/opera-browser-sold-to-a-chinese-consortium-for-600-million/
Like (2)
Version 39.0.2256.42
1 answer(s)
Poetry
Poetry
12 August 2016
Would you advise against using it now?
Like
Jb4
30 May 2016
Just thrilled. Have used just about every Mac browser there has ever been, since Navigator and Chimera.... and now, after spending a few weeks with Safari Technology Preview, I am back again to Opera. I love the Beta, knowing I'm getting the most recent innovations. It is equal to, or beats the rest in; loading speed, page rendering accuracy and is more"user friendly, " than any of them. I even find it has the best extensions/add-ons: "ublock origins," "user agent switcher" and "E-mail page," are the ones I rely on.
Like (1)
Version 38.0.2220.12
LionessSue
26 November 2015
Something different I like it!
Like
Version 34.0.2036.3
2 answer(s)
MQLe
MQLe
12 August 2016
As far as I know, the deal has failed http://www.reuters.com/article/us-opera-software-m-a-china-idUSKCN0ZY0CA
Like
Jb4
Jb4
31 December 2016
The browser was sold.... even though the deal was scaled down.
http://www.reuters.com/article/us-opera-software-m-a-china-idUSKCN0ZY0CA
Opera and the Chinese group have instead come up with an alternative deal worth $600 million which strips out some products and services in a bid to overcome regulatory hurdles.

The so-called Kunqi consortium, which includes online and mobile games distributor Beijing Kunlun Tech Co and search and security business Qihoo 360 Technology Co, will now buy certain parts of Opera's consumer business.

It will acquire Opera's mobile phone and desktop computer browser business, its performance and privacy apps division, its technology licensing business, as well as its stake in Chinese joint venture nHorizon.
Like
sbchavel
30 July 2015
I have never left Safari. Until now. It's become too slow and buggy. So I tried the other obvious alternatives and even some less well known ones. Only Opera Beta is fast and stable. UI is clean. Page tabs are fixed size (hurrah!). Importing bookmarks, even favorites bar, was easy and intuitive. Important features to add: (1) Easy access to a link to contact Opera! (2) Simplify "Help"! (3) Customizable address + tool bar. (4) Share current webpage button, to email, facebook, etc. (5) Option so that "open new window" forces "open new tab" for clean-screen management.

MacBook Air 2014 / OS 10.10.4
Like
Version 31.0.1889.92
2 answer(s)
sbchavel
sbchavel
03 August 2015
(6) Needs a "home"page button. (7) Needs a "restore last session" command. (8) Is recording usernames and passwords although "do not" is checked in preferences. This is a deal breaker. FIX IT ASAP!
Like
sbchavel
sbchavel
06 August 2015
(9) When attempting to manage "all cookies and site data" the window that comes up does not allow access to all the cookies by scrolling. You have to delete cookies for others to become visible.
Like
Whisperquiet
06 July 2015
While not perfect. This version is solid, reliable and containing some nice features with the ability to use plug-ins. Crisp images and speedy rendering of the web; and its free.
Like
Version 31.0.1889.50
Jb4
09 June 2015
Anyone care to comment on why the regular (red) Opera is ahead of the Beta (white) at this point? Is the Beta being discontinued?
Like
Version 30.0.1835.49
1 answer(s)
Jb4
Jb4
17 June 2015
Ah so...
The beta of v30 went to regular release (red).

Now, they have released v31 on the beta, so the beta (white), is alive again.
Like
Dana-Sutton
05 June 2015
Can somebody tell me in words of one syllable exactly why the world needs another browser and what this one is supposed to do for me that the more established ones can't do?
Like
Version 30.0.1835.49
1 answer(s)
Jb4
Jb4
17 June 2015
Opera Beta Icon
Opera Be...
REVIEWJb4Jun 28, 201412345+1

2nd review.... been using for some weeks now as default browser and am having no issues at all, unlike Aurora which keeps crashing and disabling add-ons.
Opera is speedy and has a wonderful rendering which just seems a bit more colorful and rich than Safari.
Bookmarks, bookmark bar, add blocking, anonymity, all the features I need.... work just fine and Opera is a trusted name. Now that Camino is gone, perhaps the oldest mac browser.
Like
iMiNiMaL
20 February 2015
The Best!
Like (1)
Version 28.0.1750.31
1 answer(s)
Michael-Wayne
Michael-Wayne
20 February 2015
OK.......but can you tell us all why? A review perhaps!!! Most of us don't have mind reading capability's.
Like (1)
THEE:LEE
10 October 2014
Opera used to be a “ahead of it’s time” browser in many aspects, now it just seems like a skinned version of chrome but with some features taken away, I really can’t see the draw to this new Opera.. I know it’s a beta but so many other browsers have so much more to offer..
Like
Version 25.0.1614.35
EricR3951
29 September 2014
Every one asking wheres the bookmarks!!, not 1 reply from the Dev's as far as I can see. Its there own little project and its how they want it, not the Customers. There never going to give you bookmarks. Now moved to Seamonkey as now faster than Firefox that's now to bloated. Seems like its a competition between all the Browsers to keep updating every week and not for the better. Good bye Opera and FF. good luck, you will need it. Given 2 stars because they DON'T listen to anyone.
Like (2)
Version 25.0.1614.18
Steinar-Helgesen
05 September 2014
Fast yes but wth no bookmarks?? What is the point with that? Do i need to download a extension? Found one but its a tiny icon.
Like
Version 24.0.1558.43
alanB8048
25 August 2014
start to try opera download one extension on the store get instantly adware Yandex so bye bye Opera RIP
Like (2)
Version 24.0.1558.43
EricR3951
06 August 2014
Every one is asking for the Bookmarks import feature. why are you "NOT LISTENING TO YOU CUSTOMERS".. its not rocket science is it!!!, Yes its a a great browser but for one thing...have you got what it is yet!!!!.
Like (7)
Version 24.0.1558.25
2 answer(s)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
09 August 2014
Fully agree! If Safari and Opera developers would at least understand what we simple, humble, ignorant, spoiled end users consider a 'must have' of browsers, if they could understand that 'switching' from a browser to another one makes us discover FIRSTLY (and with high disappointment!) what we're missing BEFORE to discover (slowly and with efforts) the great plusses that a different browser has… well I said 'IF!', then, I humbly believe, they would have much more satisfactions by their creative ideas and big developer efforts!
Like
Ebatalha
Ebatalha
12 October 2015
GianMarco, I think Safari have the import bookmarks since ever…
Like
Cartelclover1983
06 August 2014
I like Opera but in your release notes give credit where its due. I'm not sure if Apple is the first company with Safari 8 (still in beta) to make private windows darker so you can tell which is which but come on... "we wanted to make private windows darker than normal ones so we came up with a small handy improvement...." give me a break.. I don't mind the feature being added to Opera because I like opera, however give credit where its do please because believe it or not people know whats going on ;) Just a word of advice be honest at all times. Other then that, I'm downloading the latest update now :)
Like (2)
Version 24.0.1558.25
tjekov37
29 June 2014
OPERA SYNC , not worked , like Google Chrome sync...bookmarks, password !!!!!
Like
Version 23.0.1522.24
Jb4
28 June 2014
2nd review.... been using for some weeks now as default browser and am having no issues at all, unlike Aurora which keeps crashing and disabling add-ons. Opera is speedy and has a wonderful rendering which just seems a bit more colorful and rich than Safari. Bookmarks, bookmark bar, add blocking, anonymity, all the features I need.... work just fine and Opera is a trusted name. Now that Camino is gone, perhaps the oldest mac browser.
Like (1)
Version 23.0.1522.24
dogwithsocks
28 May 2014
Text to speech not working in Opera on my computer anymore... Does anybody have got the same problem?
Like
Version 22.0.1471.40
Kyle-C
19 May 2014
The phrase 'new features' when talking about Opera now sounds nothing but a joke...
Like (5)
Version 22.0.1471.34
tjekov37
09 February 2014
OPERA Sync not worked ! I wont sync my bookmarks after preinstall MAC OSX 10.9 and... BIG NOTHING !!! Bookmarks SYNC worked correctly only in Chrome or Google Chrome.
Like (1)
Version 20.0.1387.24
tjekov37
23 January 2014
Where is Bookmark Bar Guys ?? !!!!! Why You are do not hear yours Users ?? WHY ? Your browser will remain back in the past, if you do not listen to your users !! Sorry for my English but i know that you understand me !
Like (8)
Version 19.0.1326.39
3 answer(s)
JST57
JST57
19 February 2014
Try 'preferences', 'user interface'! It's always been there! There doesn't seem to be an 'import' (it's greyed out', however.
Like (2)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
26 May 2014
Under the View menu, "Show Bookmarks Bar". Can't get any simpler than that.
Like (3)
EricR3951
EricR3951
07 August 2014
They just DONT listen, .....all we want to do is IMPORT bookmarks into a toolbar, if other browsers can do it why not Opera, come on Opera get your act together!!!
Like
Janichsan
15 January 2014
Still no proper bookmark manager?
Like
Version 19.0.1326.26
Turquoise
26 October 2013
Can bookmarks be considered a refinement then?
Like (3)
Version 18.0.1284.11
1 answer(s)
EricR3951
EricR3951
06 August 2014
Yes it can...lots of people asking for it,, could be better than a "Darker chrome color for private mode" and "tab preview" as in the latest update!!!
Like
Fyreflye
03 October 2013
The new 1Password 4, available now from the App Store and from the AgileBits web site shortly, will be supporting Opera. That's a game changer for me.
Like (2)
Version 17.0.1241.36
1 answer(s)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
20 October 2013
I was thinking the same and I pushed 1Password developers to not snob Opera. They didn't, I switched on LastPass. And now i regret to not have done it far before!
Like (1)
AlexS2255
21 September 2013
Less features (or bloat if you wish) than before but still a very good browser. The web is broken, immature and dominated by the will of very few but powerful companies. So, maintaining a non mainstream and custom rendering and layout engine for this mess was never going to solve the problem of Opera's inability to display "correctly" all those broken websites. This move makes sense, although i would preferred that the Opera team choose the non google webkit engine . I expect new features in the short term future releases that bring some of the old and new interesting, compelling and differentiating features for Opera. I have seen a lot of whining from some users that do not understand and have no clue about how this world works. Sigh . I hope that doe not affect the moral of the Opera team Opera now have to focus in : Mobile integration, developer tools, non intrusive social integration, Cloud integration, user interface innovation and goodies , performance and resources, Operative System integration, Security and Privacy features .... damn that is a lot of brave work! All of those have to be better than chrome and others. But right now, i like it better that chrome and that is good enough for me. Keep going
Like (4)
Version 17.0.1241.18
Fyreflye
06 September 2013
There's no sign of a way to import bookmarks in Opera 17 except a "Bookmark Importer" that's greyed out. The "Help" pages included are for Opera 16. I've seen enough.
Like (3)
Version 17.0.1241.11
5 answer(s)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
06 September 2013
I of course meant "no sign of a way to import bookmarks in" OperaNext 17.
Like (1)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
07 September 2013
Opera had tried to use the speeddial as a new "metaphor" for bookmarks, you can add in groups and links. Enough users are still tied to the traditional hierarchical model, and Opera hadn't fleshed out the speeddial variant with enough power features that they have started implementing the Chromium bookmarks API and model for traditional bookmarks back into opera as an alternative (still a work in progress I think, though there are extensions that apparently provide most of the required bookmark infrastructure). To be honest I've not missed my bookmarks at all, I prefer other methods of keeping historical details on interesting sites (bookmarks are often graveyards for non-visited sites). I do like the Stash, more more a "live" scratchpad for current browsing projects, though why it doesn't contain full-text search is beyond me...
Like
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
07 September 2013
I'm less tied to the traditional model of bookmarks than stuck with around 700 of them that will never fit onto Opera's Speed Dial. You're right of course that my bookmarks are a graveyard for non-visited sites, but I'd prefer to be the one who chooses to trash them rather than having Opera force me to do it. Since I've never been an Opera user (a guy with 700 bookmarks needs to have 1Password available) I'm less inclined to stick with the current model than its longtime fans are. If I could be shown that Opera's security features are much stronger than that of other browsers I might be persuaded to make the change.
Like (3)
Cgc
Cgc
15 September 2013
Opera was very good and is even better now with the Webkit/Chrome fork. Why did they ditch old-style bookmarks in favor of SpeedDial? They should offer both but at this point I need bookmarks as I have hundreds of them...
Like (1)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
16 September 2013
The OperaNext extension for importing bookmarks does work, though it arranges the result backwards and makes individual bookmarks hard to access. There's also now an extension that tweaks OperaNext so that you can download extensions (but not apps) from the Chrome Web Store. That one's a major plus.
Like (1)
sekachev
06 September 2013
Better than Crome + Old Opera together :)
Like (1)
Version 17.0.1241.11
Tomeg
21 August 2013
I'm not an Opera user but I keep it updated to use when Plan A ,B, C etc. have failed to clear up a html issue etc. So, not having visited this page for awhile, I want to know when Opera decided to switch from Webkit to a Chromium fork. (is 'fork' the correct term here, btw- i'm trying to forkward my computer literacy).
Like (1)
Version 16.0.1196.55
2 answer(s)
bbw7
bbw7
22 August 2013
Well they let the hoi polloi know about it in mid May. I'm guessing that people who perused the Opera forum knew sooner, and the decision to switch predates even that. That said, there was a fairly recent update to the "old" webkit-based Opera not too long ago. But obviously this is the shape of Opera to come. And frankly, because of the poor way the Opera organization has explained this change, Opera Next is at about Plan F for my browser of choice.
Like
odinho-[Opera]
odinho-[Opera]
31 August 2013
It was clear from the first announcement. We're building on top of Blink and at the ContentLayer API from Chromium. We're using low level stuff such as Skia for painting and e.g. their platform implementations of stuff like IndexedDB. Everything above that (like the UI), however, is all our own. The Mac browser is written in Objective-C in Cocoa, so it is fully native with no abstraction layer unlike Chromium. We are also contributing patches upstream to both Chromium and to Blink. http://operasoftware.github.io/upstreamtools/
Like (2)
Whisperquiet
08 August 2013
A glimpse of whats to come. Opera has come a long way and this 'next' version proves it. At the moment it takes three times the size of Safari on my HD and O Kay ... its missing a few things from the stable off-the-self version, but look beyond this and there is a promise of better things. Great potential and I'm liking this version a lot so far; why Opera is not more popular or as popular (as the Google browser) is still something of a mystery to me ... And its European based too; that has to be a plus.
Like (4)
Version 16.0.1196.35
Jb4
05 August 2013
I really like it. It works fine on my iMac 10.8.4 and am liking the hang motion mouse/trackpad (I use both) gestures. Sure I will still use Aurora the gecko engine (long time Camino user) for folders with many bookmarks and such, but I am getting used to the "speed dial" which does pretty much the same thing, but better. Stash opens my home page and from there the webkit browsing is as fast and stable as any other I've tried.
Like (3)
Version 16.0.1196.29
Bdkennedy1
04 August 2013
This is a ridiculous concept.
Like (1)
Version 16.0.1196.29
1 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
05 August 2013
How so?
Like (1)
Wade-Smith
02 July 2013
No frakkin' bookmarks. WTF?
Like (5)
Version 15.0.1147.132
Dgeo
13 June 2013
It's a "next" version but you can see what they think of the future and how much they care about their community. Don't expect them to bring back bookmarks, UI customisation by user, tab management, css and site preferences, etc (the list is long). They can set the argument about the post-pc era, etc. I am also a desktop user (I use the web more on my mac more hours than on my tablets/phones/gadgets) and I am staying with 11.64 (12.x was too buggy, you could predict such a bold move months ago by their reluctance to fix things) until I have to migrate to Firefox as my main Web Browsing tool.
Like (1)
Version 15.0.1147.44
bbw7
09 June 2013
So does this mean that "Opera Last", i.e. ver 12.X is on the way out? I went to the developer's site and can't find any information differentiating these two browsers. Would it hurt the folks at Opera terribly to give an explanation of this to end users?
Like (2)
Version 15.0.1147.24
3 answer(s)
Janichsan
Janichsan
12 June 2013
The info page for Opera Next is hardly hidden: http://www.opera.com/developer/next
Like (2)
Dgeo
Dgeo
13 June 2013
They practically threw away everything and came up with a Chrome clone, keeping only the name Opera. Most wouldn't mind borrowing webkit as their layout engine but they 've gone even further discarding most original Opera UI and logic features. While they won't say it officially, they don't look like they can or care about bringing back the old functionality that defined Opera on the desktop as far as their loyal userbase is concerned.
Like (1)
bbw7
bbw7
25 June 2013
@Dgeo, Thank you for the explanation. So it sounds like "Opera Last" is no longer in development or supported, and that they have moved to "Opera Next" @Janichsan, I never claimed the information on Opera Next was being kept hidden. The page you referred me to, I saw it before when trying to find out what has happened to the long-running Opera browse (which I'll refer to here as Opera Last). It says nothing about what is to become of "Opera Last" and what its relation is to "Opera Next", which was the point of my post. So YES, exactly what the deal is with Opera is being kept opaque. Yes, I can learn all about the shiny new Opera Next there -- although with nothing in the way of details -- but there is nothing about what that means for the old version of Opera. No doubt I could go to the Opera forum and dig around to find out, but why can't the company provide this information readily and upfront?
Like (1)
Fyreflye
01 June 2013
Looks like there's no way to import bookmarks, to bookmark a page, or to create a folder to put the bookmark in. The good news: 1Password can be installed on Opera Next. The bad news: there are no passwords in the field when you open 1P. Well, it's a start. Hopefully it will develop into a useful browser for me. But I'm sticking with Firefox until it does. (posted from Opera Next)
Like
Version 15.0.1147.24
2 answer(s)
Chachafance
Chachafance
06 June 2013
For now, you can use the "Stash" feature to bookmark pages. Just click the heart at the end of the address bar! "Found something you'll want to come back to? Stash captures a page with one easy click and organizes your pages into a simple, sophisticated list. Scan your Stash by resizable page preview or search what you've saved by keywords."
Like
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
06 June 2013
Yes, I discovered that a few days ago and should have come back here to report it myself. Thanks for correcting my error.
Like
Nontroppo
31 May 2013
Well long time Opera users won't really recognise this version, it is much closer to Chrome than Opera 12. Nevertheless they have built a completely native UI that isn't Chrome so that they can start to build back features unique to Opera. One very clear example is speeddial, but for me the biggest reason to use Opera 15 > chrome is mouse gestures are builtin. Opera 15 is built from blink, so it is much closer to a nightly chromium than Chrome rendering engine wise. Most chrome extensions are portable. I still miss lots of features, like custom search manager, the most robust per site preferences, tab groups, fast back performance, fast forward, notes, bookmarks with fuzzy search autocomplete, dragonfly
Like (3)
Version 15.0.1147.24
Robtpatrick
30 May 2013
I have used Opera from the start; all the versions have worked well, and without fault;this version Opera Next is built on Chrome; it has an HTML5 score of 360 out of 500, and passes all security tests; it is my "default browser" because it is stable, renders web pages correctly, is recognized by most sites, and has a wonderful "private mode" plus a "Do not track header" I cannot find any issues; it is a "release candidate" and there will be a final at some point; because this uses a different rendering engine, means compatibility with the Mac OSX system; in my case it works without any issues and is a welcome browser!!
Like (1)
Version 15.0.1147.18
Mehmet-Merih
28 May 2013
Yeah, this is faster than stable one. However, next and no 64 bit support. There is a paradox I think.
Like
Version 15.0.1147.18
1 answer(s)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
31 May 2013
Chrome is also still not 64bit, though suspect once the final bits are sorted in the chromium codebase then 64bitness wilcome soon enough...l
Like