Back to Memory Clean 3 page
Memory Clean 3 free download for Mac

Memory Clean 3 Reviews

1.0.11
02 September 2019

Utility for purging inactive memory.

zo219
28 April 2014

Most helpful

Snake oil, my a**. Without the ability to run a quick purge without opening Terminal, I'd have to be restarting Safari way, way often. MacBook Pro, 8GB RAM, 10.9.2 ....and have been using Apple portables since some of you Superior Ones were in diapers. Instead of acting out here, go to Apple Feedback. It's Apple engineers who aren't fixing the hogs like Safari Web Process. Yeah, I want to use Safari, which is otherwise so fine ...
Like (6)
Version 4.0

Read 29 Memory Clean 3 User Reviews

Rate this app:

MHerndz
13 September 2019
This is one of the best utilities I've ever purchased. It does its job perfectly to the point I don't even have to monitor it any longer. On an old 2011 iMac I have no app crashes any longer from using graphic intensive applications. Just like the Showtime Rotisserie, you just set it and forget it! The UI is simple and understandable. The preferences are easily explained so you know exactly how to set it up. There can be no mistakes here. This app is worth every penny, I purchased for two stations. If you want to regain your memory from intense apps apps AND have it managed beautifully, just buy this.
Like
Version 1.0.11
DragonMaster
08 September 2019
The beat app of its type without question! The only issue and it only occurs when doing an Extreme Clean is that it will occupy 95% plus of your CPU. On the other hand it will free up memory when everything else tells you that you are bottoming out.
Like
Version 1.0.11
iMacWare
27 May 2018
Love this app because it saves me tons of RAM when needed.
Like
Version 1.0.7
1 answer(s)
iMacWare
iMacWare
29 May 2018
Love it! On Mac OS 10.13.5 Beta , it runs a little shady and laggy but it's necessary. Love this app!
Like
Big Johnson
19 February 2018
MC3 is VERY INACCURATE when calculating RAM usage for Safari.

It usually reads between 700-800-MB for Safari when it’s actually using 8.5 GB as MC2 accurately shows. Right now it reads 800.45 MB, while v2 says 9.27 GB.

That’s a tremendous and inexcusable difference!

I thought maybe it was just the latest version or two, but I reinstalled a few older versions and they ALL read incorrectly. But v2 displays the correct usage as soon as it starts.

Thunderbird readings are identical for both versions and the reading for Path Finder is within a few MBs of each other. Both display the same usage in the Menu Bar, despite the drastic differences in the main window.

Obviously theres a conspicuous bug that’s not being addressed since v2 is accurate.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
Big Johnson
10 November 2017
New version looks the same but has a newly-designed preferences window and some additional new features that are nice, like "auto clean after a memory hogging app is closed." Although I just began using this version, I never had anything but praise for the last one, so I’m rating it anyway. Anyone who thinks Macs are excellent at memory management so these apps are unnecessary is deluded. Even with 16 GB of RAM my free memory would fall below 3 GB free daily if not for this app freeing some up. And does it automatically when free RAM falls too low, unlike some apps that user activation. Keeping my free memory above 4 GB helps ward off a lot of beachballs.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.2
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
30 November 2017
I spoke too soon.
Shoulda known better than to put my trust in ANY developer.

The new version has an asinine function added that does absolutely nothing for me. Evidently the dev. thinks it's eye candy, but I find it an unnecessary and unwanted addition.

It's an item in the window that always claims to be "calculating app usage times." WHY? WHO CARES?!

I don't need to see what it's doing in the background, JUST DO IT!

There are no release notes above that give any reason whatsoever for upgrading. Evidenly nothing has been fixed or improved. The only change seems to be the OS version supported.

Not even the GUI changes are mentioned.

So I've gone back to v6.3, even though I prefer the look of MC3 better (minus the app usage bar).
Like (1)
d-starikov
04 July 2016
очень простая и удобная программа!
Like (1)
Version 6.2
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
10 November 2017
Translation: very simple and convenient program!
Like (1)
RogerKatz
22 October 2015
the current version is 6.0
Like
Version 5.9
Wts
27 June 2015
Not clear to me What is the difference between the paid version and free version ? As it is, the free version, seems to be all my iMacs ( 2009 and 2014 edition ) require.
Like
Version 5.6
1 answer(s)
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
14 September 2015
@Wts: As the App Store page and the developer website both note, the paid version includes a more thorough memory defrag option called "Extreme Clean" which digs even deeper into your sytem.

However, even though I purchased the commercial version a while back in order to use the Extreme Clean option, I have since gone back to just using the regular automated cleaning routine, because I think Extreme Clean was being too harsh/spartan on my system, and causing me some problems, such as beachballing..

I should mention that you can set the threshold for the amount of free memory, so it could be that I simply had it set too high, which made using the Extreme Clean option cause my system to drag.
Like (1)
WordWeaver
30 May 2015
While I truly appreciate what this app does -- and thus, I purchased the "Extreme Clean" version of this same app in the Mac App Store -- I feel that it is a bad move on the part of the developer to charge additional fees in order to access the extra themes. I can understand if the developer might want to charge an additional fee for extra themes for the free version of Memory Clean, but even then, it should be a one-time fee which covers ALL themes, and NOT an additional fee for each individual extra theme. However, for users who have ALREADY purchased the "Extreme Clean" version of Memory Clean, it is my view that extra themes should be freely included in any future updates of the app. To charge more for what should really be a natural part of the update flow is a bit ludicrous, and perhaps greedy as well. Yes, the "Extreme Clean" version of Memory Clean is rather cheap -- thank you for that -- nevertheless, charging extra just to change the colors in the already-purchased version of your app does not sit well with me, and I think that others will tend to agree with me. There are many developers -- including developers of free apps -- who will change their app's icon, or add additional theme options to it, who don't charge a penny. This, in my view, is a smarter, more positive marketing approach which will attract more users. Charging extra should be reserved for major product version updates and significant functionality improvements, and not just for the ability to change a few colors, in my view. Thanks for listening.
Like (3)
Version 5.5
bowlerboy-jmb
18 May 2015
I don't have the technical expertise to explain how this application works, or how it compares to others in its category. But I did discover today, after using it, that you get better results if you trigger the Clean Memory button to run for several passes. For example, on a MacPro running Mavericks with 8 GB RAM and only the Finder and one other application running (ScanSnap for the Fujitsu sheet-feed scanner), on the first pass, Memory Clean delivered 2.26 GB of free memory. I ran it again. After the second pass, Memory Clean delivered 3.39 GB of free memory. I ran it a half dozen more times, until Memory Clean had delivered 5.95 GB of free memory. Again, I can't tell you exactly what it did during each successive pass, but running it several times in succession does seem to be the key to optimizing its performance.
Like
Version 5.4
WordWeaver
29 April 2015
I have always been skeptical regarding apps which claim to accelerate a Mac, or which claim to recover fragmented memory. One reason is that a Mac will naturally regain most of the lost memory after using a memory hog, if given enough time to do so, even if you don't reboot the machine. Not only that, but a computer can't operate any faster than its actual clock speed. It may seem to be accelerated if you use one of those apps which rely on adjusting the nice parameter of your running processes, but it is basically an illusion. All you are really doing is giving the forefront app more processing power, while denying it to the rest. That isn't real acceleration. Nevertheless, despite the aforementioned reservations, yesterday afternoon I downloaded and installed the free version of Memory Clean on an early 2009 24" iMac with 4 GB of RAM, in order to determine if it really lives up to its claims. After letting it run for perhaps three hours yesterday, and seeing how it performed -- manually using the clean option does in fact regain a certain percentage of fragmented memory -- I decided to take the plunge and paid the $5.00 for the more advanced extreme clean version. Folks, I can tell you from firsthand observation that there is no hype here. In my case, I see a marked improvement in how much memory is recovered with Memory Clean when it is used in extreme mode, in contrast to the regular free mode. I now constantly have about 2 GB of free RAM on this 4 GB machine. I imagine that folks with more RAM will regain even more memory. What I most like is the "Advanced" pane in the preferences. On this pane, you can automate Memory Clean so that it will go into action whenever the free RAM drops below the threshold that you set. It even tells you what is a safe level to set here. Furthermore, you have two options on the "Advanced" pane. One is to enable Auto Clean, and the other is to enable Extreme Mode with Auto Clean. I have both boxes checked. In short, with the paid version, I don't have to manually clean when the memory drops, as you have to do with the free version of Memory Clean. This "Advanced" pane alone easily makes this app worth the $5.00 that the developer is asking for. For me, it has been a worthy investment. YMMV. I hope that the developer will continue to maintain and develop this app as new iterations of Mac OS X are released, and that he doesn't let it fall by the wayside. Job well done!
Like (1)
Version 5.2
TeRRyZx
14 March 2015
I am wondering if the new Memory Clean EXTREME CLEAN feature for a in-app of $4.99 is worth getting and exactly what it does? I have 16 gigs of memory on my MacBook Pro and I don't think I see a reason to get this. Any ideas?
Like
Version 5.0
4 answer(s)
birdman52
birdman52
18 March 2015
Just spent the $4.99 and I can report marked improvement in my Macbook Pro. Definitely increases speed. Worth the $4.99.
Like
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
29 April 2015
Terry, please see my above review. Personally, I say go for it! For a mere $5.00, you really can't go wrong with this app. It does what it says.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
18 June 2016
@WordWeaver, thanks for your detailed review.

However, I also fail to see why you seem to be giving a blanket "go for it" to someone with 16 gigabytes of RAM. I can see the need if you are actually getting near 14GB of used RAM. I don't see that happening for me. I don't currently run Photoshop, Indesign and similar, but even as I did print files seldom were as extremely huge to warrant worrying about memory and this was with 8gb. Now I have 16 and loads of free memory after hours and hours of intense use.

This might be a great app for what it does, but I see it as not needed by everyone. Especially if you can see you always have loads of free memory and a big SSD with 20% free space.
Like
Steve-Rogers
Steve-Rogers
28 November 2016
Mikael-B, I have 16GB RAM and usually have only 3-6 GB free. I typically run Google Chrome, Mail, iTunes, BOINCManager and often Firestorm (a Second Life viewer) - all of them memory-greedy - and these take up most of the available RAM. Setting Memory Clean to run when I'm down to 4 GB RAM prevents the lockup I would sometimes get when memory gets lower. This is just the free version, too. So I too would recommend it - as long as you have a system that actually runs low on RAM.
Like
Wts
26 January 2015
What is going on with MacUpdate ??? Memory Clean is at version 4.8 that was Updated: Jan 09, 2015.
Like
Version 4.7
Wts
25 January 2015
I really don't understand why my iMac (Yosemite) needs Memory Clean running in the background. I installed Memory Clean and have not noticed any computer performance difference except it makes me anxious watching the percentage numbers drop or rise in the Apple menu bar. I've been using Mac's for more then twenty years without this type of application. However, i have always installed the max amount of RAM which i believe is the key to maintaining max performance.
Like (2)
Version 4.7
2 answer(s)
Spank-Me-Baby
Spank-Me-Baby
14 March 2015
The two primary reasons why people use memory clearing/cleaning apps :

1. It is for people with limited RAM environments where the inability of the latest OS X to release the memory causes a reduction in performance of their Macs. The problem is worse for people who still use the traditional magnetic hard drives where OS X regularly swaps contents in RAM with cache files on the hard drive when you perform various tasks in your applications.

2. Where users do have adequate RAM, you may not notice a performance drop because OS X is able to utlise more RAM to run your applications at reasonable speed. However, memory clearing/cleaning is still useful for a number of these users because the latest OS X Mavericks and Yosemite now wants to retain enough data about the applications you have launched and used in the RAM irrespective of whether those application have been quit. This was not the case in previous OS X versions except for the fact that the Preview.app was a prelude to this feature as Apple tested the idea with users. More specifically, you may have noticed in your 20 years of Mac experience how Preview.app does not like to let go of the files that you last opened and later closed but for some reason you cannot trash the files. When you look at the Preview icon in the Dock, you suddenly see no dot next to the icon as if suggesting it has quit. It hasn't. You have to click on the icon, the dot appears very quickly and then you quit Preview properly. Then the file can be trashed. All this is part of Apple's attempt to see what happens if data about the files you thought was closed can be kept in RAM without your awareness. If so, Apple can go the next step of sending the data through from RAM to its servers while you are online using the latest OS X. So essentially, memory clearing/cleaning is also about protecting your privacy.

But if you are not concerned about sharing your privacy with Apple and you have plenty of RAM, memory clearing/cleaning apps on the whole have no real benefit.

I just wish sometimes the developers of these apps can explain the purpose of these apps more clearly so people know exactly what they do and why they can be important.
Like
Mac5
Mac5
21 March 2015
I tend to agree. I've been a Mac user for thirty years and have always installed the maximum amount of RAM possible. I generally do this ahead of any other update or add on and have found it has worked well for me, and most of my Mac's have run well with very few problems.
The only drawback can be the cost of RAM..
My new iMac is running well with 32GB of RAM.
Like (1)
Nontroppo
02 November 2014
"Memory optimizers are snake oil that are useless at best and harmful at worst." http://www.howtogeek.com/171424/why-memory-optimizers-and-ram-boosters-are-worse-than-useless/ This applies as much to OS X as Windows
Like (1)
Version 4.6
1 answer(s)
bbw7
bbw7
29 November 2014
Gosh, someone wrote something on the interwbez, so it must be true. Not.
This myth of the perfection of OS's handling memory is as out of touch as the notion that OS X users don't have to worry about malware.

Mac OS X doesn't handle memory perfectly. Just keep Activity Monitor open to the System Memory tab at the bottom, and see how memory fills up over time, and how the system starts slowing down and the fans start whirring when the total memory used rises above 80% or 90%. Note the inactive (blue) memory, then open terminal and enter "purge" and see what happens: the blue will generally be minimized and things will run better. Note that the purge command will stall all your programs for about a minute and some downloads might crap out,, but that is all.

Apps like this one do the same thing but with a fancy-schmancy GUI. And the ones that are free like this are pretty cheap snake oil. Yes, such apps aren't necessary, but they're a convenience to those who fear the terminal. Indeed developers that sell apps that only do this are snake oil salesmen, but that isn't the case with this app, all though at 3.8 mb, it is bloatware, and gawd knows what else it may be doing.

I recommend Shellbar (n.b. there are two versions at MU, get the one for 10.6+). It's all of 99 kb in size, puts an icon on your finder tool bar, and when opened leaves a icon in your menu bar in which you type the Unix command of your choice, which then runs. Thus it is much more versatile than memory cache clearing apps such as this.
Like (1)
Programhappy
03 October 2014
Great app! I set it to free up memory automatically!
Like
Version 4.6
2stepbay
12 August 2014
Works as intended. The bigger issue is how Apple chooses to allocate memory. I have 24 GB of memory in my i7 iMac. Safari alone will use a big chunk of it. No other browser eats memory like Safari. This has been true since Safari's intro. Fortunately I have an SSD drive on the iMac, so there is no loss of performance when memory becomes lean. But it's a different experience on my MacBook Pro with a standard 7200 drive. There, even though I have 16 GB of memory, beach balls when memory gets low. I don't mind closing apps. However, it's more the closed apps retained in memory that's the problem. Here, Memory Clean does what Apple doesn't - retrieves this otherwise unavailable memory.
Like
Version 4.6
1 answer(s)
bbw7
bbw7
29 November 2014
Actually Apple does what MC does; it just that you must use a Unix command to do it.
Like
Xenophile
24 July 2014
I compared all the memory purge utilities, and found Memory Clean to have the best interface, the most robust features, and a clear graphical representation of memory usage supported by a list of different types of memory used. A lot of thought went into this app and it shows. It's one of those "I can't believe this is free" apps. My only qualm is the menubar icon/text, which convey little info relative to the space occupied. iStat Menues has the best menubar memory icon/text design that I've tried, and it would be nice if Memory Clean were updated with something similar. A pie chart, and two lines of small font text showing used and free memory. Four stars for now, to be updated to five stars if the menubar icon is fixed.
Like
Version 4.5
1 answer(s)
Xenophile
Xenophile
24 July 2014
Arrrrggghhhhh! I rebooted and Memory Clean punk'd me with an advertisement!

If this happens again, ZERO STARS. I will not tolerate adware on my Mac.




Like
zo219
28 April 2014
Snake oil, my a**. Without the ability to run a quick purge without opening Terminal, I'd have to be restarting Safari way, way often. MacBook Pro, 8GB RAM, 10.9.2 ....and have been using Apple portables since some of you Superior Ones were in diapers. Instead of acting out here, go to Apple Feedback. It's Apple engineers who aren't fixing the hogs like Safari Web Process. Yeah, I want to use Safari, which is otherwise so fine ...
Like (6)
Version 4.0
Pissnaround
27 April 2014
Whether one believes this is snake oil or not, it does not work as it once did. It used to clean the majority of my 32GBs when I would bother running it. Now it only cleans 4-5GBs at a time.
Like
Version 4.0
Dana-Sutton
24 April 2014
Question: since Mavericks handles memory allocation in a new way, how much good to programs like this actually do?
Like
Version 4.0
4 answer(s)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
25 April 2014
The more accurate question is: how much performance degradation will I see (answer: the same as previous versions of OS X). All modern operating systems use caches for a good reason, purging them has never been shown to do good (apart from the subjective reports of general users that seeing more green in their memory map makes them think things are somehow "better").
Like (1)
Jpwgibson
Jpwgibson
14 May 2014
In my experience, using a similar application called "MemoryOptimizer", I am able to rectify an issue I encounter while running an audio equalizer application ("Boom"). If I am running a few applications and use Boom as well, I get a periodic (on average once every 15-30 seconds) clicking sound in the music I am listening to. Running MemoryOptimizer rectifies the problem each time. It has not once failed to correct this for me. Is this because my memory is being spread too thin? I haven't the slightest idea. I'm just glad it works.
Like (3)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
11 August 2014
In my personal experience, the new memory compression and allocation system doesn't work very well. I have 8GB of RAM, and OS X will try to allocate all of it... I understand the reasoning behind it, but as soon as I get down to just MBs free, performance slows down and I get lots of beach balls.

In the past I used the purge command in Terminal, and that would free up unused memory. But that didn't work very well in Mavericks.

Now (running Yosemite PB, which suffers from the same problems) I use MemoryTamer. That works great.

I've reported these memory issues to Apple, so hopefully they will address it.
Like (1)
bbw7
bbw7
29 November 2014
Yet another completely false and misleading comment by Nontroppo regarding memory usage. Any one who monitors the performance of their Mac, including viewing Activity Monitor knows otherwise. Purging inactive memory does make one's machine run better.

Nontroppo, do you also post in all the AV applications and say malware protection isn't needed for Macs?
Like
siamlotus
07 February 2014
Best memory app. that I have come across is this : http://vladalexa.com/apps/osx/memorymagic/ App Store app.
Like (1)
Version 3.1
GrenadeBait
07 February 2014
Great little app... Occasionally after prolonged computer use, I would run purge via terminal. I wanted something that I could just click in the GUI and be done. I tried a few of the other free and shareware memory scrubbers (lets face it, they don't optimize, they just release and defragment), but they had their limitation or complexities that kept me away. This app has been relatively effective and simple to use. A simple click is all I need to clear the RAM and prep the computer for apps with high memory use. Word of caution: repeated memory clearing (two or more attempts in a row) may yield a lot of free memory, but you will find that apps that are already running are a little sluggish at first and the start up of other apps will be a little slow as well. However, once they are running for a few moments, the degraded performance go away. This is very evident in the Finder speed which is slow at first after clearing the memory, but then picks up speed back to normal.
Like (2)
Version 3.1
iTruth
03 February 2014
I've a few memory optimizers but this is the best one and well worth the small price tag. Please disregard the drive by insult by someone who didn't have the decency to state what it was he/she didn't like. A program like this becomes necessary when you fire up memory hogging apps like VMware Fussion, Safari, iMovie, Photoshop etc. which will literally take up most of the 8GB of RAM on my MacBook Pro. Simply closing out the app does not recover the RAM back. In fact, only 2GB of memory is free when originally I had 5GB free before using these apps. Constant rebooting is just not convenient.
Like (4)
Version 3.0
3 answer(s)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
04 February 2014
You are being misleading/misled and/or don't understand how virtual memory works. Many technical computer users consider memory optimisers snakeoil and have for years. Read first about virtual memory. Then read some articles about why purging "inactive" RAM is useless and harmful to computer performance. This is a beginners guide and targets the Linux VM but OS X's VM (and VMs in general) is conceptually equivalent: http://www.linuxatemyram.com This is a great article from Sysinternals guru when this sort of junkware was all the rage on Windows: http://www.windowsitpro.com/article/internals-and-architecture/the-memory-optimization-hoax or http://www.howtogeek.com/171424/why-memory-optimizers-and-ram-boosters-are-worse-than-useless/ Rephrased for OS X users: http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13727_7-57589907-263/the-necessity-of-regular-use-of-the-purge-command-in-os-x/ And if you prefer a bit more meat to the bone: https://developer.apple.com/library/mac/documentation/Performance/Conceptual/ManagingMemory/Articles/AboutMemory.html Again, if it makes you feel better to see all that green "free" RAM then good for you, but thinking this is necessary ignores the technical reality of this kind of software...
Like (4)
2stepbay
2stepbay
07 February 2014
Totally agree. OS X Mavericks or Mountain Lion IMO are horrible at managing memory…especially inactive RAM. Memory Clean is the best one I have used, including Free Memory Pro. I use it on my iMac (24 GB RAM) and MBP )16 GB).
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
11 August 2014
@Nontroppo, the problem is that Mavericks and Yosemite's memory management system just doesn't work well.

As I posted above, once free memory gets below a certain threshold, the performance REALLY suffers. Why OS X needs some free unused memory is beyond me, but this is repeatable and is a real problem.

Without even looking at Activity Monitor to see how much RAM is being used, I can tell when OS X has taken all the free memory because every click results in a pause of several seconds and a beach ball. Purge the held, but unused memory, and things speed right up.

You can read as many articles about how things are SUPPOSED to work, or you can experience it for yourself. The real world is often different.
Like
Nontroppo
03 February 2014
New version, still misleading detrimental-to-performance snakeoil...
Like (2)
Version 3.0
VictorPrijker
03 February 2014
Snakeoil.
Like (3)
Version 3.0
Clarusad
04 January 2014
No OSX SnowLeo version ?
Like
Version 2.9
Dana-Sutton
24 November 2013
Works with Mavericks?
Like
Version 2.8
1 answer(s)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
05 January 2014
Well, it is probably even more useless on 10.9 as it was on 10.8 -- this kind of software was snakeoil on 10.8 and memory management changed significantly with 10.9, purging memory is even less relevant on 10.9...
Like (1)
Nobody cares about this app! They say, there are already a heap of apps which simply use the Terminal command 'purge' and in fact all the OTHER utilities gives the same result. THIS NOT This gives by far a much deeper cleaning (and, unfortunately, needs more time and freezing effect! MAKE YOURSELF A COMPARATION, with Magican, MemoryOptimizer… whatever! Well, just because so demanding, I'd like that there would be a preference to make it work when our Mac are idle, maybe after a given time.
Like (2)
Version 2.8
3 answer(s)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
29 July 2013
GianMarco, if this app makes you feel better, that is great, Placebo is a great medicine. But do note these kind of Apps are 99% useless and purging inactive RAM is detrimental to optimal OS functioning...
Like (4)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
29 July 2013
Placebo is the last hope of a desperate! With 8 GB RAM (my first 1 MB RAM Lisa of 1984 had a 10 Mb HD, partitioned: 5 MB for AUX!), the latest OS X and an almost up to date HW, I'm fighting with the speed and the spinning ball by a full decade! And… (maybe I have visions) I felt that when the free memory nears zero%, my Mac slows doooowwwnnnn… Ah, Apple… Let's wait Mavericks, hoping in a bette rmemory and CPU management!
Like (2)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
29 July 2013
The eternal fight for ever greater hardware requirements for software will never end! I do think Apple have been pretty lazy the last few releases, terrible graphics performance and several significantly suboptimal choices for the kernel, but really OS X virtual memory manager is basically contemporary with Linux and Windows 7+ -- so yes, lets hope Mavericks gets Apple back on track trying to make the best operating system in the world OSX again...
Like (2)