Back to ScreenSleeves page
ScreenSleeves free download for Mac

ScreenSleeves Reviews

6.6.3
28 September 2019

Screensaver displays cover art and track information.

Jazzyguy
20 October 2013

Most helpful

Another GREAT app from Sheila the author of Bin-It that puts a trash can on your desktop. This one is terrific and well worth the money. I bought it immediately and love it!
Like (3)
Version 3.2

Read 22 ScreenSleeves User Reviews

Rate this app:

jude-1989
15 March 2019
This 'stand alone' version has replaced the older screensleeves, and I personally find it a downgrade. I used to be able to log out and screensleeves would be my screensaver, and it would appear as an option in the screen saver options in my Mac settings. What this did was enable me to access it by simply logging out using hot corners, and not have to open the app up first and have it permanently sat in my dock. If I had known this new limitation, then I would not have paid for it. Aside from this, it does what it says on the tin .
Like
Version 6.3.3
1 answer(s)
PeacockMedia
PeacockMedia
02 May 2019
I sympathise. It wasn't my choice to move from the screensaver plugin to a true app. Security enhancements in the system made the old screensaver impossible. From 10.14 any app requires your permission to control or even access information from another app. With most apps you're automatically asked for this permission, or you can add it in System Prefs. Apple made no provision for a screensaver to be given this information. If you're using a system pre-10.14 I'll be very happy to give you a link to the screensaver version but it simply won't run on 10.14+ . It has some features which make it emulate a system screensaver - the clock, switching to full-screen after a period of inactivity, switching back from ful-screen with a mouse movement or keypress etc. I'm looking into the possibility of adding hot corners.
Like (1)
smithjc1978
31 January 2019
question, as an app is it only time now that has it start, meaning if I am watching a video and not doing anything to mouse or keyboard, does it know a video is playing and stays off, or does it only recognize nothing has been touched and will turn on in the middle of my movie
Like
Version 6.3.1
1 answer(s)
PeacockMedia
PeacockMedia
02 May 2019
Since v6.1.0 there has been an option to prevent Screensleeves from going full-screen unless music is playing in one of the supported music players. Regardless of this option, if your video is full-screen then this should prevent SS from going full-screen too. So I think it's unlikely, but if you do find it happening, I'd like to know the circumstances.
Like
Kenaroni
07 July 2016
I don't use screensavers much anymore, but occasionally I'll turn on the OS X screensaver app while streaming music on iTunes, just to have the covert art displayed with Screensleeves. It does a great job of finding cover art for whatever is streaming. It can't find cover art for everything out there, but mostly does a great job. Is it possible to make this into a desktop app as well, with a transparent background window? I think there was another app that did this but I can't remember the name, or if it's still current. Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 5.0.1
smithjc1978
03 July 2016
I would like to see more players made available to use this if possible, for instance the new heart menubar app, I really like the screen saver though
Like
Version 5.0.1
mookee
16 April 2016
nice, but a "show only cover" option is missing
Like
Version 5.0.1
mookee
16 April 2016
nice thing, the similarest to winamps playlistbackgroundplugin i could find..thanks but anyway, why, WHY didnt they a. dont make the actually played trackname part of the showen infos WTF, and b. didnt give the opportunity to have a minimal look with just the cover and no text or whatever else?? please, PLEASE implement in an update ;II best c
Like
Version 5.0.1
3 answer(s)
mookee
mookee
16 April 2016
ohh:) a. is obsolete, sorry my bad;))

doesnt make b. less important though
Like
mookee
mookee
16 April 2016
oh and ähh, can you also add an "ignore <- > -> keyboardbuttons" option please :)

thank u. otherwise very well writen!
Like
mookee
mookee
22 April 2016
ohhhhhh keyboardsissue is obsolete two...hehe:)


so theres only the "show only cover" thing...but hey..

thanks for your great work

best christoph
Like
wellesradio
23 March 2016
The web site seems to be down and the links are all dead. I don't know if that means the software is no longer available. It would be nice to have an update on this.
Like
Version 4.3.3
1 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
02 April 2016
I don't know the reason for your problem on that day but the software and PeacockMedia are all still going strong. Please try again, it's a shame to have a one-star review because you couldn't access the download for an unknown / temporary reason.
Like (1)
emile-blume
31 August 2015
Pretty nice piece of software. Tweaking could be easier though or have better explanation. The really annoying part is that it activates iTunes which I never use (Spotify), hence the 2 stars. If this can be fixed it'll earn at least 4
Like
Version 4.1
1 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
02 April 2016
There has been a bug causing this in the past, but I don't think this will happen now. Please download and try the current version and let me know if you still see this happening.
Like
Wts
02 April 2015
Truly amazing screensaver. It takes some patience and understanding to tweek this screen saver. At the moment having some difficulty to "place" the current time in for example very bottom right hand corner. It also somewhat unclear that iTunes should be running first. I found that in lyrics mode it does not really follow the lyrics. For my budget the 8 bucks converted from British to Canadian is some what steep. Never the less, this specialized app deserves full marks and more.
Like
Version 3.9.1
1 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
26 May 2015
Hi Wts, thank you very much for your comments. There is a rundown of all the options here which may help if there's anything you're still not sure about http://peacockmedia-software.blogspot.co.uk/2013/04/screensleeves-screensaver-installing.html

It's impossible to 'sync' the lyrics, most of the time it doesn't get too far out, but things like extra long or short intros, or long musical breaks can put it out a bit. Unfortunately I'm not sure that it's possible to overcome these problems, but I'll keep working on it!

I appreciate your rating - thank you!
Like
Sheadixon
11 March 2015
For Spotify users who have found that Screensleeves no longer recognises Spotify following a recent Spotify update, it's a bug in Spotify 1.0.1.something. I'm hoping that they'll send out an update containing the fix soon but there is a workaround. I've just put screenshots on the PeacockMedia blog http://peacockmedia-software.blogspot.co.uk/2015/03/screensleeves-not-working-with-spotify.html
Like
Version 3.8
1 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
27 August 2015
Just an update to this comment as it's still fairly close to the top. Spotify has had a few issues with its Applescript interface, the worst of these (the one mentioned above) is now fixed. It's still not providing artwork, but there's a good workaround to this built into Screensleeves, so you shouldn't notice a problem. The only current Spotify issue that I'm unable to work around is the progress bar not working properly.
Like
Winco
31 October 2014
Superb addition to playing music on your Mac. Very configurable too. Apple should purchase this off the dev and incorporate into iTunes. Well worth the investment. I just did after 5 mins trial!
Like (1)
Version 3.6.1
Lounge-Deluxe
04 August 2014
Truly awesome screensaver. It would be great if it would support shared libraries too as I've recently moved to a shared music library situation (all music files are on a Mac Mini in our little home network) and ScreenSleeves won't work on our Macbook Pro's because the music files are not located in the local music library.
Like
Version 3.5
3 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
04 August 2014
Thank you for raising this, I wasn't aware of a problem, I share a library myself and SS works as expected. I'd like to know more, please could you contact the support email address with more details re versions of OSX and versions of iTunes? (On the computers storing the library and the one playing the music / screensaver)
Like
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
07 August 2014
I contacted the developer of SS regarding my 'problem' and received tremendous support from Shiela resulting in a new version of SS. Outstanding service!
Like
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
13 August 2014
As this conversation is giving concern to other potential users, I would like to make it clear that Screensleeves has always worked fine with a shared library, it was Apple's iTunes artwork screensaver which was giving this user error messages here. The new version mentioned simply alters a default setting affecting how SS switches to the alternate screensaver.
Like
Betty-Woo
26 May 2014
This kind of app you'd think is such a no-brainer 'obvious need' thing that I'm always shocked it isn't just built into iTunes itself. It drove me nuts that I didn't have something like this until found ScreenSleeves but now I have it and all is wonderful (and I can finally see what's playing in iTunes from anywhere in my room). I had it for 3 songs and donated very happily. I KNOW this will be one of my top 10 utilities at any time. YEAH!
Like (1)
Version 3.4.5
Jazzyguy
22 March 2014
GREAT SCREENSAVER!
Like (1)
Version 3.4.3
Jazzyguy
18 March 2014
AGAIN THIS IS A GREAT SCREENSAVER!
Like (1)
Version 3.4.3
Jazzyguy
07 March 2014
Another Great version from a Developer who should be commended,appreciated and patronized for her cooperation and communication with her customers.Talent like hers is hard to come by.
Like (2)
Version 3.4.3
Leoofborg
20 November 2013
There are really only TWO screensavers I pay for: G-Force and this one. I use ScreenSleeves in 2 situations: 1/ When I don't want fans churning. 2/ On 720p or 1080p screens when I want to 'present album covers' As others have said, the other solutions for doing that are gone.. and Screensleeves does a great job. PAY for this, folks... this Dev does excellent work.
Like (1)
Version 3.3
Jazzyguy
20 October 2013
Another GREAT app from Sheila the author of Bin-It that puts a trash can on your desktop. This one is terrific and well worth the money. I bought it immediately and love it!
Like (3)
Version 3.2
holodeck10
06 May 2013
After having lost overflow as a way to display album covers of the currently playing song, and after not finding a lounge version which supports the iOS 10.8, this is the only and very beautiful rescue for cover lovers. Easy and very well working.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Julsa1
29 April 2013
I listen a lot to my music on my Mac and I'm a huge fan of screen savers. This one combines those two. Very nice, works like a charm and the price is right ;-) Thanks to the dev !
Like (1)
Version 1.1
ValeryKondakoff6734
18 April 2013
A must-have utility for everyone, who are listening music on their macs...
Like
Version 1.1
Thresher-the-Shark
08 April 2013
Thanks to the developer for making this, although there does appear to be an issue at the moment. If you don't have Spotify installed on your system Mac OS X pops up asking you to locate it, which caused issues trying to exit the screensaver. Running on Mac OS X 10.8.3 BTW.
Like
Version 1.0.1
2 answer(s)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
08 April 2013
Ah - thanks for that. I thought one of my test machines didn't have Spotify but I'll investigate and see if I can stop that. There are other improvements in the pipeline too.
Like (1)
Sheadixon
Sheadixon
09 April 2013
.. and that issue is now fixed in v1.1. Thanks again.
Like