Back to Popup Window page
Popup Window free download for Mac

Popup Window Reviews

1.3.5
05 November 2018

Quickly organize and access your files.

Lvdoc
31 March 2013

Most helpful

Many of us used to love the now defunct program, Sticky Windows. Many will also remember (perhaps fondly) the Mac classic's ability to turn windows into tabs. We've lacked anything truly capable along these lines for years, and I find Popup Window to be the most promising program to come along that can do these things for us. I bit the bullet and spent the $3 on the program. It works, it's stable, and it has good customization. I'd like to be able to adjust the speed at which the window appears, but that's fairly minor. Overall, if you like this kind of thing, I suspect you won't be disappointed. I'm on 10.8.3, MBPR.
Like (5)
Version 1.0

Read 13 Popup Window User Reviews

Rate this app:

misterjspencer
13 November 2018
What happened its still on the app store, but it no longer works. Poor support Scott is right
Like
Version 1.3.5
Sanchai
20 October 2018
Cannott find version 1.9.2 on Mac App Store. No result after searching for this app. Fix please
Like
Version 1.9.2
Scott-C-H-
28 April 2018
Let's see how long this one will be around before the developer decides to abandon it.

It's inevitable; this type of “system enhancement” software often ends up becoming an abandonware, and your novel workflow is at the mercy of whether the developer of this app feels like keeping up.

I’ve purchased so many apps like this one over the years. It is how it most often turns out; You buy something like this thinking your workflow would miraculously improve. Then, you notice some bugs here and there. Something doesn't work quite right some of the time. You start spending more time tinkering and troubleshooting. Soon, you become a volunteer beta tester while becoming more and more dependent upon a novel way of using your Mac. After a while, you stop seeing updates and bug fixes. Eventually, you painfully discover that the developer abandoned it because he or she couldn't make enough money or found something else to do. You will have to spend a lot of time unlearning your workflow in a massive level of frustration. Your workflow gets ripped apart only because someone no longer felt like developing their tools and couldn’t make enough money to sustain the necessary effort. I affirm the sincerity of indie developer just trying to build something that might be useful. Regardless, I am sick and tired of this classic pattern with indie developers.

I found that, in the long run, I was much better off just making good use of all the default features on my Mac and steer clear of anything that changes the way you control your Mac at the foundational level. A single troubleshooting saga handily nullifies any small gains in UI efficiency over time. In this case, folders in Apple Dock does the trick. I can even drag an icon to it, and it will spring-load-open the folder. Once dropping the icon, My other hand hits Command + w to close the open window instantly. I've gotten so used to doing it I don't even think about it anymore. Elegant? Nope. Cool? Nope. It's boring. But this little workflow habit works on any Macs built in the past few years, and it doesn't require additional software to install. It works lightening-fast. I don't have to worry about whether some indie developer feels like keeping up with his work.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.1
Helmo-Hass
28 November 2017
Now since here is listed at 15, 99 BUT when you reach the crAppStore is at 17, 99 i guess the sum of it (this and my previous comment) deserve a nice downgrade. Catalystwo Limited, lame is just a compliment.
Like
Version 1.3.5
Helmo-Hass
28 November 2017
well i was looking for a sort of windowshade app,
then i read the comments, so i was wondering, WHAT'S the point on offering an application full of bugs, since the last (at least) corrected one is 1.4.6 and the DEV still offer 1.3.5 as trial? a maso? At this point is not even worth considering, as last stable seems to be 1.8. are you kidding right?
Like
Version 1.3.5
Rjmorita
17 April 2014
This is exactly the program I've been looking for. I like being able to have all my frequently used folders at my fingertip instead of having to go back to the Finder every time. It's a great time-saver.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.6
Harrisam
16 April 2014
Now that they fixed problem, 5 stars
Like (1)
Version 1.4.6
Harrisam
12 April 2014
After setting up the windows for various folders with “Popup Windows” I shut down for the day. When I restarted some of the folders I had set up were gone & 3 of the folders had duplicate windows!! I have written them & look forward to a solution. I’m runing 10.9.2 on an iMac
Like
Version 1.4.4
1 answer(s)
Harrisam
Harrisam
16 April 2014
They fixed the problem & now I give it 5 stars
Like
misterjspencer
08 February 2014
Sorry @Fishscale but I did look at what it said on the tin and it kind of promises a lot but then is a sort of very cut down drag thing, or a launcher or something, its not good value, it does not have a lot of features, ooh then we get in app purchases...that IAP is bleeding us dry. I know there will be some that love it, but I am looking for innovation. I did think it was perhaps a little unfair so i have put it up to 2 stars
Like
Version 1.4.3
Vinoman
02 February 2014
Works as advertised. The price is a little high compared to other apps, but it works very well. To be recommended.
Like
Version 1.4.3
Fotodivr
07 May 2013
$9.99 - must be half of an OSX upgrade... Can't see the value.
Like
Version 1.2.1 Beta
1 answer(s)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
05 January 2014
Whoops, it's up to $17 Jan 2014
Like
misterjspencer
31 March 2013
OK this is not sticky windows or really similar, what it does is take a folder and create a tab from it. It does not allow you to drag a window to the screen edge and turn it to a tab. It a medium term organisation tool, that tabs folder to the screen edge.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
10 April 2013
Your right about the folder being turned into the tab, but the developer's video and description clearly state so, not like they are advertising it as something it's not... so the 1 /12 review is founded on the fact that it's not a sticky windows replacement? Which they never said it was? I don't own the app but it seems like those who need a folder tabbed quickly via drag and drop seem to like it. Did you watch the video before purchase or even buy the app? Just saying... one person's review about a false comparison does not diminish the app's worth or utility, at least imo.
Like (8)
Lvdoc
31 March 2013
Many of us used to love the now defunct program, Sticky Windows. Many will also remember (perhaps fondly) the Mac classic's ability to turn windows into tabs. We've lacked anything truly capable along these lines for years, and I find Popup Window to be the most promising program to come along that can do these things for us. I bit the bullet and spent the $3 on the program. It works, it's stable, and it has good customization. I'd like to be able to adjust the speed at which the window appears, but that's fairly minor. Overall, if you like this kind of thing, I suspect you won't be disappointed. I'm on 10.8.3, MBPR.
Like (5)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
05 January 2014
I'd love to give this review five starz. Well stated and concise.
Like