Back to Alarm Clock Pro page
Alarm Clock Pro free download for Mac

Alarm Clock Pro Reviews

12.0.1
07 October 2019

Multi-featured alarm clock system.

Espiridion
20 May 2009

Most helpful

I'm a fan of Koingo Software. They offer many great products and excellent customer support. Having said that, I'm surprised that this is a paid upgrade considering that it consists mostly of bug fixes.
Like (10)
Version 9.0

Read 87 Alarm Clock Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

nobody2011
02 October 2019
It seems, that 99% of the ratings are spam-ratings to push the app on the top
Like
Version 12.0
randalle
23 July 2019
All the timers and stopwatches I need for my daily workout!
Like
Version 11.0.8
MarkusKrychek
17 July 2019
Keeps my emails and texts going out to contacts on schedule without any need for bulky and costly additional software.
Like
Version 11.0.8
suzanwarhe09
08 July 2019
With screenshots and webcam captures on alarms, I can keep track of everything in my office automatically.
Like
Version 11.0.8
StuFitzgerald
04 July 2019
Lets me automate a large amount of daily tasks just with alarms instead of complicated system utilities.
Like
Version 11.0.8
CodyEZ
27 June 2019
Never fails to get me up and moving on time, every time.
Like
Version 11.0.8
Riley Shore0023
25 June 2019
Allows us to run the computer on a schedule so we're always on time and saving power also means saving money! This is a great app!
Like
Version 11.0.8
Greg Ellis60028
24 June 2019
One of the few apps out there than can run everything from a simple egg timer to a complex shell script.
Like
Version 11.0.8
Cally Ferguson
20 June 2019
Wakes me up every morning whether I want to wake up or not!
Like
Version 11.0.8
rose8
12 June 2019
Makes setting up complicated scheduled alarms easy and painless.
Like
Version 11.0.8
acalstubun
02 June 2019
Interfaces perfectly with iTunes and Calendar!
Like
Version 11.0.8
minringpostrab
31 May 2019
I use it in the kitchen almost everyday instead of fussing around with old stove timers and buzzers.
Like
Version 11.0.8
retocypa
29 May 2019
I'd much rather use this every morning than my actual physical alarm clock.
Like
Version 11.0.8
waculothyl
27 May 2019
Powerful and elegant. Sacrifices an unnecessary over-the-top interface for pure functionality. Out-of-mind and out-of-sight until you need it!
Like
Version 11.0.8
surapider
26 May 2019
Makes managing my social life a breeze!
Like
Version 11.0.8
pimibaga
26 May 2019
The easiest and most effective time management solution for our home office.
Like
Version 11.0.8
gemini6ice
15 April 2019
I've been using Alarm Clock Pro for about a decade, I think. It works amazingly, and is my only hope of waking up in the morning. Seamlessly integrates with itunes, and their support staff turns tickets around amazingly fast!
Like
Version 11.0.7
tratolarja
17 October 2018
comprehensive feature set that is suitable for pretty much every user. just give it a shot and you'll wind up finding some use for it beyond just an alarm clock
Like
Version 11.0.5
dripetryve
15 October 2018
love the vast array of features. helps automate my workflow.
Like (1)
Version 11.0.5
prowafpisjo
14 October 2018
sweet app. has helped me wake up to my fav music for over 10 years. developer is super fast and responsive.
Like (2)
Version 11.0.5
Dana-Sutton
22 May 2018
A paid upgrade to a .01 version??? Right there that tells me I don't want to get involved with this product.
Like (1)
Version 11.0.1
Big Johnson
20 May 2018
Major Bloatware reporting for duty, Sir!

It’s nice that it offers more alarm options (streaming) than Awaken (at twice the price), but it does TOO much and you’re paying for many functions you’ll never use and would never expect to find in an alarm clock.

An alarm clock is supposed to be a clock with alarms.
It’s fine if it also includes reminders or other functions that are closely related to its primary purpose (stream music for alarms etc).

But it should not do all this:
"Routinely take screenshots or web cam shots and have them
e-mailed to yourself, ping web pages, launch URLs, open files, erase folders, execute shell commands, and perform a variety of other tasks."

It’s trying to do far too many completely unrelated tasks. Might as well rename it the "Wanna Do-It-All Thingy with Alarms."

There’s no logical reason for the menu to include shortcuts to all other installed Koingo software. What makes them think that when I’m using their alarm clock, that I might need to quickly open a wifi signal locator, display resolution controller, property cataloging app or any of their other software? I don’t.

There’s also no reason for there to be a separate menu item just to view the license details - it’s visual clutter and a complete waste of space!

And a subscription service? For a $20 app that’s often available for half price? You gotta be kidding me, Koingo! Greedy much?
Like (1)
Version 11.0
Big Johnson
16 May 2018
Can anyone explain why the icon appears to be a gyroscope?
Like
Version 11.0
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
20 May 2018
Evidently it’s to illustrate that users may become disoriented when they discover all the garbage this app does that have nothing to do with an alarm clock.

If you want a great alarm clock that’s strictly an alarm clock (and is only $10), I recommend Awaken. https://goo.gl/rmZNhy
Like (1)
BuffaloJohn
10 August 2017
This app is awful because they cripple the most important feature for me and then ignore support emails. I was given a license to this app but have purchased other Koingo software. My support emails have gone unanswered for weeks. The referenced crippled feature is text message alerts. The app allows me to set this up but the developer cripples this feature. All the user gets is an error message stating I have passed my quota of text messages (which is supposedly 10 per day). It does not allow me to even send 1 per day. The developer asked to have me send a copy of my drivers license to increase the 10 per day limit. In these time of identity theft I do not send my personal information like this. All I want is the 10 per day limit. Support doesn't get worse than completely ignoring your customer. I am all done with Koingo. I am switching to Onyx and TinkerTool System from MacPilot. Software that does not work along with zero customer service equals .5 stars. That is even being generous.
Like (3)
Version 10.2.8
JIMMY2006
24 April 2017
great app, thanks so much
Like
Version 10.2.8
@timi
17 April 2017
Jesus, MacUpdate. I can't download this without you shoving your malware down my throat. wtf. Why is there no direct download option?
Like (2)
Version 10.2.8
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
03 January 2018
Are you sure you're logged in to macupdate?
Like
dannyboone69
11 April 2017
Excellent. No complaints. does what it says and more. Got it on MU Promo in the past. Dev has been great about giving out free updates.
Like (1)
Version 10.2.8
cig0
11 April 2017
Stay away from this crap and these scammers!

My extremely low rating is due to the fact of the following things:
- When I originally bought this software I was billed a recurring anual subscription without asking me first!
- The applications uses constantly an average of 3~5% CPU on an rMBP 13" 2.9Ghz Early 2015;
- The support was close to non-existant, I guess that they decided to reply to end the constant flow of my complain emails and tickets (yes, I had to spam these faceless thieves in order to have an answer).

I of course ended up returning this crap and as you see screaming to whoever wants to listen my beware message about Koingo.
Who would say that a nice country as Canada had such stone faced jerks!?
Like (3)
Version 10.2.8
1 answer(s)
Koingo Software, Inc.
Koingo Software, Inc.
11 April 2017
1) During checkout on koingosw.com you are prompted to choose either Pay as you Go or subscription. You have apparently chosen the wrong one and forgotten. It has ALWAYS been designed like this. You can cancel at any time. There is no penalty. See our FAQ.

2) Yes, this is correct. It's an incredibly powerful app with a ton of features which require constantly monitoring the OS. 3% of CPU is almost nothing. But, we are always trying to reduce energy footprint.

3) Support is answered within 24-hours, and if not, within 72 hours.Likely you missed the e-mail with the reply to your ticket. You can always login to your customer account to view existing tickets and see our replies. As it stands, awe have ZERO pending support tickets in our system that are requiring our reply. If you are using forums like this one to request support, that could be why. Please use the contact form on our web site for contacting us directly.
Like
monty-3
13 March 2016
After all the difficulties as previously discussed (Arise), the current version 10.2.3 is proving to be reliable. There is one problem I have had, and my lower rating is due to the fact that you can get no support at all. I have two support tickets open. The first is over a month old asking a very simple question. The second is two weeks old and just asks how long before anyone response. Neither have ever been addressed.
Like (3)
Version 10.2.3
RustyIron
15 December 2015
I've used Alarm Clock Pro for years. Then Koingo stopped supporting the software and sent emails to all their users that the replacement software was called Arise, and that everyone should buy that. So I bought that. Then Koingo bought Arise, tossed it aside, and started supporting Alarm Clock Pro again. So I paid for the new new version of Alarm Clock Pro, and thought all was well. Now Alarm Clock Pro forgotten my License and won't run. I can't get it working, and Koingo Software is not responding to support tickets. It's been days. I don't have time to fiddle around with a $20 alarm clock widget, so I'm going to go shop around for an alternative that contains functionality and comes from a responsive developer.
Like (4)
Version 10.2.1
Andrewm8
17 July 2015
The misunderstanding with Koingo's team was resolved and my licenses reinstated to the Utility Package as advertised and purchased back in 2008. Thanks Josh.
Like (1)
Version 10.1.9
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
15 October 2015
This is so good to hear. I've never regretted buying the full Koingo Utility Package. Then again, I didn't get stung in the debacle between Koingo and MacUpdate. Koingo has some excellent stuff that I use regularly. Their change in leadership has been a positive event.
Like
Mrtomato
31 January 2015
I'm leaving a comment rather than a review mainly because I'd like to make a couple of requests, but also because my impression is that this app is still a work in progress as Alarm Clock Pro is merged with Arise. My requests are all to do with the stopwatch (I'm on a bit of a stopwatch crusade today): 1. Reduce the CPU consumption of the stopwatch. I can't use the stopwatch as is because I can't deal with loud computer fans. 2. Move the stopwatch function to the dropdown menu. 3. Show the stopwatch progress in the menubar. Thanks!
Like
Version 10.0.9
SunWolf
25 January 2015
Very impressed. I asked for a feature to be added two days ago, Friday, namely to have the chance to preview an alarm when you set up a new alarm, timer etc. The developer replied the same day, and today, two days later, has a new version out with this option added. Thumbs up and thank a lot!

Actually, the version number shown here by MacUpdate is not correct. I have 10.0.9 now.
Like
Version 10.0.8
RustyIron
31 December 2014
Excellent tool for creating alarms. In addition to the common uses of using this to wake up and for reminders, I use it to turn off my audio at night, and turn it back on in the morning. When I'm out of town, I use it to quit and start my Mail application. It does a LOT more.
Like
Version 10.0.6
Steven-Goodheart
12 December 2014
The upgrade says: "We have recently acquired Kallaxa Software and have replaced Alarm Clock Pro with their Arise app and are in the process of rebranding it and adding in features from Alarm Clock Pro..." This is confusing to me...am I upgrading to Alarm Clock Pro, or to what will eventually be called "Arise" or what? If they are going to strip out the best features of ACP and put them all in Arise, then why should I upgrade to ACP? It sounds like ACP is gong to disappear, eventually, to be replaced by Arise. Or is this big upgrade to ACP eventually become some renamed application? Or is ACP going to *become* Arise? Am I the only one who finds this confusing?
Like
Version 10.0.1
10 answer(s)
SunWolf
SunWolf
14 December 2014
No, Steven, you are not the only one who is confused.

I use AlarmClock Pro for many years and always have been very satisfied. What Koingo now sells as an upgrade, ACP 10, in fact seems to be the Arise software including the icon, just under the name AlarmClock Pro. If you like the features of a stopwatch, or several, and/or a timer, or several, displayed on your screen in a format easy to read, you will be quite disappointed with version 10. So was I. I had expected an improved version of ACP, but it is a completely different piece of software.
Like (1)
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
16 December 2014
Hi, we're actively developing Alarm Clock Pro 10 still - and are not closed off to ideas to improve it. The old legacy code and interface of ACP 9 just had to go. We needed a fresh start and purchasing Arise was a phenomenal way to do that. We did indeed remove many features that were unpopular or commonly replaced by other major solutions in other apps (ie. Task List Viewer). We didn't want to have the MS Office of alarm clock apps. But, if you feel a feature is now missing that was important to you, let us know, and we'll add it to our list. In January, we'll be adding a few of the top-requested features back.
Like (1)
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
17 December 2014
Koingo, so, if I understand what you are saying, ACP 10 is really Arise, and you are going to develop *Arise* under the moniker of ACP 10? And development of Arise *as Arise* has ceased? In other words, you are not developing two programs running in parallel. You are developing one program. It is the old Arise with the new name of ACP 10, and that's the future of "Arise" -- to be the new ACP 10.
Like
SunWolf
SunWolf
17 December 2014
Koingo, what I find *most* annoying in v10 is the fact that you have to hit the Dismiss button to stop an alarm. I use ACP mainly in meetings where we discuss the performance of people in assessment centres. To avoid the discussions being too long I have set ACP to ring after 15 min into debating each candidate, and then again after another 15 min and so on. It used to ring once, so even if I was not at my computer it reminded people of the passing of time. Now it would drive everyone crazy if it would not stop sounding the alarm. Do provide the option to have it ring just once.
Furthermore, I enjoyed the various timers which were large enough to be read easily. Now they all are in one window, which basically is a good idea, but just too small to read if you have not 20:20 vision. Could you provide an option to increase the size?
Like
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
17 December 2014
Hi Sunwolf, please uncheck the "Repeat" checkbox inside the timer setup window. We'll also add a large timer preview to a future version. However, to make sure we have a record of this please create a support ticket on our web site and it'll definitely hit my task list.

Steven, yes. Arise has been renamed to Alarm Clock Pro 10 and we've discontinued Alarm Clock Pro 9 entirely. App development on Arise separately has ceased. All Arise users have been given free ACP 10 licenses.
Like
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
20 December 2014
Koingo -- thanks for the clarification! And all the best to the further development and refinement of Alarm Clock Pro.
Like
SunWolf
SunWolf
22 December 2014
Koingo - thanks for clarifying. I was under the impression that "repeat" meant that the timer would start anew when it reached 0:00:00. This option existed in ACP 9 and sadly is missing now. Please add this again.
So repeat means that the alarm is repeated over and over until you hit "dismiss". It seems to be buggy, though: all my alarms kept repeating itself, even when the box was unchecked. Checking it and unchecking again seems to do the trick, though.
Like
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
22 December 2014
Sunwolf, no, that should not happen. Repeat means the Timer starts counting down again after it has executed - not that it repeats the audio continuously. Please create a support ticket on our site. I cannot reproduce the bug.
Like
Mrtomato
Mrtomato
20 January 2015
I thought I'd chime in to say that I could really use the stopwatch function too. I work from home at the moment and am responsible for keeping my hours. I've found that a stopwatch is the best way to do this, but the best stopwatch is currently in the Alarm Clock app, which was last updated in 2007.
Like
SunWolf
SunWolf
20 January 2015
Okay, I did find a workaround to avoid the alarm being repeated over and over. I deleted all the old timer settings, imported from the old Alarm Clock, and defined new ones. Now it works as it should.

Something which I really appreciate in ACP 10, which I missed in all previous versions, is that the alarm cannot only set the system volume to 100 per cent before ringing - that did ACP 9 as well - but that it resets the volume to the previous setting after alarm finished ringing. This can be switched off as well. Plus, the volume can be set to any value, not just 100 per cent.

Very well done, Koingo, thanks!
Like
Derekcurrie
10 December 2014
For owners of the Koingo Utility Package: Activating Alarm Clock Pro v10 is confusing. If you simply use your email address to unlock it, you're going to fail. I was able to swiftly work with Koingo's tech support to sort out that you have to do the following:

1) Log into your account at Koingo.
2) Scan down the list of all the stuff you have licensed from Koingo to the listing for 'Alarm Clock Pro'.
3) On the right side of the listing you're going to find a License Code to copy and paste into Alarm Clock Pro under your registration email address. Click the 'Unlock' button and you're ready to go!
Like
Version 10.0
3 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
11 December 2014
Alarm Clock Pro was just updated to v10.1. You can update from within the program.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
11 December 2014
Correction: v10.0.1 is available. Somehow v"10.1" comes up as available, including at the developer's website. But what downloads is 10.0.1.
Like
Don-Sykes
Don-Sykes
11 December 2014
Hey Derekcurrie - thanks for writing that up - saved me a ton of time!
Like
Akwarner
10 December 2014
How is this different than Arise by Kallaxa?
Like
Version 10.0
2 answer(s)
Alex-Macinsky
Alex-Macinsky
10 December 2014
They acquired the app from Kallaxa.
Like
Akwarner
Akwarner
11 December 2014
OK. Thanks.
Like
RustyIron
23 October 2014
I bought Alarm Clock Pro and it worked pretty good, but it hadn't been updated for a LONG time. Eventually the folks at Koingo sent it's paying customers an email suggesting that they purchase Arise, an alarm clock program from another company that costs only $9.95. Arise was almost identical to ACP, but with a more modern look and feel and without the bugs. Arise works nicely. So now Koingo has repaired a few of it's bugs that have been present for years, and it wants it's customers back. It's too late. Arise is nicer, and half the price.
Like
Version 9.6.1
smtips
14 August 2012
Doesn't seem that this app changes the clock in the plugin displays from 24 hour format. It's 3:16 pm and it reads 15:16. I thought I'd looked everywhere to find this pref, but it looks like it doesn't exist. It'd be rather dumb if it didn't, considering it has just about everything else under the sun.
Like
Version 9.4.7
Aargl
02 March 2012
version 9.4.5 is the last version working correctly on PPC (946 fails sometimes to wake the mac up, 947 crashes on launch)
Like
Version 9.4.7
Cowicide
29 December 2011
Feature request: I really wish this had the added feature of making alarms go off earlier if there are various severe weather alerts that happen overnight. This app does this here: http://itunes.apple.com/app/winter-wake-up/id487687174?mt=8 It's called Winter Wake-up and it's only for iPhone I think.
Like (1)
Version 9.4.5
Donmontalvo
15 March 2011
I want to buy this through the App Store, but there doesn't appear to be the option to upgrade from version 7.1.1. Yea, I know, I can download from the vendor's site...but I really want to do this through the App Store. I know, what the heck for, just trust me... :) Don
Like (1)
Version 9.4.2
6 answer(s)
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
15 March 2011
I should mention, the license I have for 7.1.1 is linked to an old (no longer being used) email account. Vendor...please advise... Thanks, Don
Like
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
24 March 2011
Wow, no response from vendor. Not from this site. Not from direct emails. Time to look for an alternative. Don
Like (2)
Penguirl
Penguirl
07 January 2012
My one experience with the developer was underwhelming and I have since moved on to other products. Fool me once…
Like
Aargl
Aargl
02 March 2012
Hi Penguirl! Could you name the other products you mention, please? I used to love Awaken, but I'm still on PPC, so that's an issue for me... Thanks :-)
Like
Penguirl
Penguirl
02 March 2012
@Aargl I use Alarm Clock.app and Apimac Timer as listed above in Similar Software, there's also MacTimer and Timer Utility. I don't know which are PPC compatible but I think your odds are good. :-)
Like
Aargl
Aargl
02 March 2012
Thank you! :-)
Like
Barnyb
03 December 2010
This the best shareware alarm clock by far. I tried a few others and the lame free ones but none could handle the complex schedules I needed like this one can. A bit expensive for approx. $20 but was worth the money when I bought during a promo for 50% off. I really liked how I was able to test this out without hinderance unlike some of the other shareware clocks that are crippled from the get go.
Like (4)
Version 9.3.6
Palmbeachflorida
26 September 2010
Hello Gents, Is this Alarm Program Free? Or is it big money, the 20.00? I currently use a Free Program called "Alarm Clock" and it works great. It's just I always see this Program being updated in the files all the time and I wanted to ask about it? Thanks,
Like
Version 9.3.3
1 answer(s)
Mart°n
Mart°n
26 September 2010
As you could read in the details above, Alarm Clock Pro is not free but costs $19.95.
Like (1)
Version 9.3.3
Koingo-Software
11 August 2010
Create a new "Timer" alarm type, then right click it in the main list and choose "Show Visual Timer"
Like (2)
Version 9.3.1
Geccoh
12 July 2010
I was really impressed with this app, but unfortunately it doesn't seem to have a countdown timer, or at least I couldn't find any mention of one anywhere. I'm also disappointed that the company doesn't even seem to provide an email address for support - I spent about five minutes of my time just trying to locate one, before giving up. Because of the above issues, I'm still looking for an alternative but will probably ending up purchasing this one ...
Like (1)
Version 9.3
Enxx
01 July 2010
I want to like this program but find it very unreliable. I make changes and it doesn't remember them. This is totally unacceptable when the program is an alarm clock. You can not trust it.
Like (1)
Version 9.3
Koingo-Software
08 May 2010
This update will require reinputting your e-mail address to activate the product; however, this will not use up an activation credit (you get 5 yearly with our lowest license: Single User), if you are re-activating on the same computer.
Like (2)
Version 9.2.7
2 answer(s)
Ronin-1
Ronin-1
15 September 2010
Why don't you clearly state the price of updates (or the product itself) up front rather than forcing people to go through a bunch of "buy it steps" just to see what it costs. I probably am not going to update this product just because of the less than straight forward way Koingo does business.
Like (1)
Version 9.3.2
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
15 September 2010
I think you accidentally missed the pricing page on our web site. 1. Click the Products menu, and choose the app. 2. Click Pricing on the left-hand sidebar.
Like (1)
Version 9.3.2
Section8
03 December 2009
Ok, I feel like I should write a review on this App and specifically the developer of this excellent piece of software. The previous version (9.2.3) had a but where weekly relative alarms would not register the correct date. I noticed this unfortunately after waking up late (not catastrophic-thank god) and promptly emailed the dev regarding this issue. That was yesterday. Today, the bug is fixed! That is a one-day turnaround people! Can you think of any developer that has as many apps as this Koingo does that has a ONE DAY TURNAROUND on bug fixes!? That is dedication people. I have been using this app to wake up every single weekday for the past 6 years and it has proven to be feature-rich, easy to use, lightweight, and backed by impeccable support! Thank you koingo for the years of wonderful usage. You guys truly embody what the mac experience is all about. If anyone is on edge about getting this application, Koingo is one developer that is really worth supporting. Thank you again!
Like (2)
Version 9.2.4
Iconz113
21 October 2009
I gotta say this is the best alarm clock app out for mac right now, not really any good competition.
Like (1)
Version 9.2