Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to ClipGrab page
ClipGrab free download for Mac

ClipGrab Reviews3.9.6

20 December 2020

Download videos from YouTube, Vimeo, Dailymotion, and more.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
rickywilson232
rickywilson232
Dec 23 2020
3.9.6
3.0
Dec 23 2020
3.0
Version: 3.9.6
The app is good, but I still like VideoDuke better. I have been using it for over a year. There's more feature and updates coming out regularly.
cinam
cinam
Dec 20 2020
3.9.6
1.0
Dec 20 2020
1.0
Version: 3.9.6
Not worked with private link https://vimeo.com/ :-( It's sad.
Zoz
Zoz
Dec 19 2020
3.9.6
5.0
Dec 19 2020
5.0
Version: 3.9.6
This app can do what others can't, and it's simple and easy to use
Zoz
Zoz
Oct 29 2020
3.8.15
5.0
Oct 29 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.15
works better than most other similar apps, I've been using it for a little more than a year and it never failed to do what it was supposed to do
Aargl
Aargl
Oct 28 2020
3.8.15
5.0
Oct 28 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.15
For the record: they offer a DL link for legacy OSes which is v3.7.8 but v3.8.5 runs perfectly on 10.11, AFAICT. At the present time it's still available at https://download.clipgrab.org/ClipGrab-3.8.5.dmg
ivryernest
ivryernest
Aug 31 2020
3.8.14
5.0
Aug 31 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.14
There are a lot of apps for downloading videos, but this one is the only one that is capable of downloading from Facebook. Conclusion : I adopt it !
Bill-601
Bill-601
Jul 29 2020
3.8.13
5.0
Jul 29 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.13
I didn't really stress test it, but it converted a video on the web to an MP3 on my computer. Works as advertised! Glad I found it.
Weasel
Weasel
Jul 2 2020
3.8.13
5.0
Jul 2 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.13
Works great! Needs OS 10.12 or newer. Using an earlier OS? No problem, go to the developer's website & download v3.7.8 which works on earlier OS versions. Just click on "Show all download options".
Sampler
Sampler
Jul 2 2020
3.8.13
5.0
Jul 2 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.13
Fast and easy downloading videos from Youtube.
cduerig44
cduerig44
Jun 15 2020
3.8.12
5.0
Jun 15 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.12
The best video downloader for YouTube is ClipGrab.
kinsellabd
kinsellabd
Jun 9 2020
3.8.12
0.0
Jun 9 2020
0.0
Version: 3.8.12
Just started using it and found it really great. Easy to use and fast......... For a free app, it is brilliant. Well done.
Slurp
Slurp
May 31 2020
3.8.12
0.0
May 31 2020
0.0
Version: 3.8.12
It says here "Mac OS X 10.7.0 or later". Not true!! Must be at least OS X 10.10 and higher.......
jtballz31
jtballz31
May 8 2020
3.8.11
5.0
May 8 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.11
Great! app just started using it. fast easy and sweet.....
joankhogn
joankhogn
Apr 12 2020
3.8.11
5.0
Apr 12 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.11
ClipGrab helps me a lot in both my work and play - helping me to save videos. It's so easy to use. Thank you for this!!
emtd48
emtd48
Mar 25 2020
3.8.11
5.0
Mar 25 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.11
First time used. Worked perfectly so very happy with this app
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
Feb 14 2020
3.8.9
5.0
Feb 14 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.9
Macupdate fix the listing: it says 10.7 or later but 3.8.9 requires 10.12
bramanbrian
bramanbrian
Jan 23 2020
3.8.9
5.0
Jan 23 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.9
this is indeed a wonderful app. It is easy, intuitive and has saved me so much grief in putting together power point using video
surucucu
surucucu
Nov 27 2019
3.8.6
5.0
Nov 27 2019
5.0
Version: 3.8.6
I use it all the time for YouTube videos. Works well. Supposed to have malware attached. I've run three anti-virus programs on it and can't find anything. Been using it for over a year. Recommended to my friends and relatives.
marcel52-1
marcel52-1
Nov 23 2019
3.8.6
1.0
Nov 23 2019
1.0
Version: 3.8.6
Does not run on Catalina 10.15.x
Aargl
Aargl
Nov 22 2019
3.8.6
5.0
Nov 22 2019
5.0
Version: 3.8.6
Website says: "The default version requires at least macOS 10.12 (Sierra)" v3.8.5 was still running nicely in 10.11, though, but v3.8.6 clearly doesn't.
Stevencee
Stevencee
Sep 19 2019
3.8.5
5.0
Sep 19 2019
5.0
Version: 3.8.5
It's a great app, and has been my go-to for downloading YouTube videos, & for downloading only the Mp3 music, from the videos. I've used it for years, love it, and thank the developers for an app that is what all apps should be, simple, intuitive, useful, and it works!
rmaniacnyc
rmaniacnyc
May 14 2019
3.8.3
5.0
May 14 2019
5.0
Version: 3.8.3
perfect downloads
Krupnix
Krupnix
Feb 20 2019
3.8.1
5.0
Feb 20 2019
5.0
Version: 3.8.1
Rarely been this happy with an app. Agree with Annie-Walker. Clip Grab is stellar. Just copy url to clipboard and Clip Grab does the rest when you switch over to it. Auto pastes the url, grabs the title, remembers your resolution prefs - all you gotta do is click Get. You don't even have to load the video, you can do it from the thumbnail page. After fiddling around with various plug-in downloaders over the years and being disappointed when they are obsoleted, I'll never look back wistfully again.
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
Jan 31 2019
3.8.0
5.0
Jan 31 2019
5.0
Version: 3.8.0
Don'tcha have a 10 Star rating somewhere? Perfect! Works better than any other of its same type. HIGHLY recommended! I'm guessing you get my point... I love this application. And I love that the developer is generous, talented and I may be starting a new Fan Club in his name ? Download it, use it –– and say thanks to Mr. Medien ? (Yes, I donated, but I don't mention this to "Virtue Signal" –– I say it to encourage folks to put their money where their mouth is)?
jcraig
jcraig
Jan 31 2019
3.8.0
0.0
Jan 31 2019
0.0
Version: 3.8.0
3.8.0 Fixed Login problems with YouTube resolved Fixed Connection issues with Vimeo resolved Improved Search function is now more responsive Changed Switched to Qt5
JD-1
JD-1
Jan 18 2019
3.7.2
5.0
Jan 18 2019
5.0
Version: 3.7.2
I usually use MacX YouTube Downloader, (not available here at MU) and it works great, but sometimes it can't get the clip I want. Well this little gem gets those stubborn misses and does it elegantly and quickly.

Very impressive app that I'm glad I was able to find and add to my tool box.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Dec 27 2018
3.7.2
0.0
Dec 27 2018
0.0
Version: 3.7.2
Similar Software, inexplicably not at MU:
iTubeDownloader from AlphaSoft. $6.99.
https://www.alphasoftware.co/
It's 5-star best-in-class for YouTube video downloading.
anonymous-antelope-2748
anonymous-antelope-2748
Jul 11 2018
3.6.8
5.0
Jul 11 2018
5.0
Version: 3.6.8
Great app to grab movies online!
Funjoy
Funjoy
Feb 11 2015
3.4.7
5.0
Feb 11 2015
5.0
Version: 3.4.7
Just downloaded a Vimeo documentary that neither Jaksta nor Mediahuman was able to grab. Awesome!
Steve K
Steve K
Feb 9 2015
3.4.7
5.0
Feb 9 2015
5.0
Version: 3.4.7
Love it. Easy, fast and works every time without issue. Thank you, developer! I will definitely donate to help keep this project going. Great job.
droscar
droscar
Feb 1 2015
3.4.7
0.0
Feb 1 2015
0.0
Version: 3.4.7
Version 3.4.9 is now available at the developer's site.
bbw7
bbw7
Dec 4 2014
3.4.7
5.0
Dec 4 2014
5.0
Version: 3.4.7
Have to agree -- a great application. Works on YT videos that fail with other downloaders. Very straightforward to use as well. Should note that at the developer's site it is now up to ver. 3.4.8, and that there is a legacy ver. 3.4.8 too, which works with older OS's (worked with SL for me).
Luca-Marziali
Luca-Marziali
Dec 4 2014
3.4.7
5.0
Dec 4 2014
5.0
Version: 3.4.7
Super fast... and free!!! I don't understand how I can download a complete video list. I download a single video at time!
Tempel
Tempel
Nov 30 2014
3.4.7
5.0
Nov 30 2014
5.0
Version: 3.4.7
I used it to download a HTML5 video from Youtube that I could not save to disk otherwise. Simply worked. Easy to use, too. Can't find anything to really criticise about it (well, the menu bar is not proper - no About, not Edit menu etc, but that's hardly an issue with this well functioning app). While you can use it for free, you are encouraged to send the author a little donation. I did so, too.
Cowicide
Cowicide
Nov 29 2014
3.4.7
5.0
Nov 29 2014
5.0
Version: 3.4.7
ClipGrab is the only one that very easily and consistently works to overcome Google's dickish methods of making 1080p, etc. YouTube downloading a pain. Most of the other apps fail or are too much trouble. On top of actually working, ClipGrab is simple, intuitive with a very Mac-like GUI that most people should be very comfortable with. It just works. I only wish the dev would make a Safari Extension to go along with it to make it download straight from the browser (or just be able to right-click on YouTube videos to get 1080p, etc.), but I also understand Google makes that difficult so I blame Google for this missing feature, not the ClipGrab developer.
Robertcoogan
Robertcoogan
Sep 1 2014
3.4.7
5.0
Sep 1 2014
5.0
Version: 3.4.7
Great little piece of software, performs exactly as expected.
alanB8048
alanB8048
Aug 30 2014
3.4.7
5.0
Aug 30 2014
5.0
Version: 3.4.7
easy good job 5 star
Andrew-K
Andrew-K
Jul 27 2014
3.4.2
5.0
Jul 27 2014
5.0
Version: 3.4.2
Great app. Always works for me. Better than some paid apps which I've tried for downloading videos. I think that I'll be sticking with this one now.
RoyPDX
RoyPDX
May 16 2014
3.4.2
3.5
May 16 2014
3.5
Version: 3.4.2
v3.42 seems to work fine with OS X 10.6.8. Although I didn't test it exhaustively, for what I use it for it's fine. I'm guessing the developer built it with Lion or above and just assumed it wouldn't work with 10.6.8. Since 3.4.0 no longer works, I'm fine with using this version as long as it works at all.
-M-S-
-M-S-
Apr 2 2014
3.4.2
4.0
Apr 2 2014
4.0
Version: 3.4.2
This is an amazingly solid video downloader, especially for a free offering. The user interface may be mediocre (Java-esque) and it's missing an obvious/small feature (automatically naming the video you're downloading), but it's very reliable with Vimeo and YouTube, even for Vevo's videos...
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Mar 18 2014
3.4.2
5.0
Mar 18 2014
5.0
Version: 3.4.2
Great App!
AnthoLogical
AnthoLogical
Mar 16 2014
3.4.2
0.0
Mar 16 2014
0.0
Version: 3.4.2
From ClipGrab site: - v3.4.2 is for Lion and Mountain Lion; - Legacy version is currently v3.4.0.
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Mar 15 2014
3.4.2
5.0
Mar 15 2014
5.0
Version: 3.4.2
Very Nice little app
GeogProf
GeogProf
Dec 11 2013
3.3.0.4
0.0
Dec 11 2013
0.0
Version: 3.3.0.4
From now on, I vow not to buy or use any software whose developer won’t include ‘What’s New’ info for updates on its MacUpdate page. It’s just so lazy and inconsiderate.
GeogProf
GeogProf
Jul 11 2013
3.2.1.1
0.0
Jul 11 2013
0.0
Version: 3.2.1.1
Not too bad, but it has a very long way to go.
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Jun 24 2013
3.2.1.0
4.0
Jun 24 2013
4.0
Version: 3.2.1.0
This program was able to download other than YouTube videos but the download speed is very slow. It took 30+ minutes to downland a 40 minute video. Hopefully, the developer cans speed up the downloads......
Ean
Ean
Mar 4 2013
3.2.0.10
2.5
Mar 4 2013
2.5
Version: 3.2.0.10
The description lists compatibility with several websites, but it only downloads YouTube video. The search function lists a maximum of only eight hits. Didn't try pasting in a YouTube URL to get past the limited search capability.
Robk
Robk
Feb 24 2013
3.2.0.10
3.5
Feb 24 2013
3.5
Version: 3.2.0.10
INMHO, this is one of the best FREE video downloaders with FREE video conversion. For a comparison of FREE video downloaders, see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Free_YouTube_Downloaders In addition, if you want to convert AVCHD video files to a more Apple friendly editable format, see Transcoding .MTS files (AVCHD footage) to an editable format (.MOV) http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=14161793#post14161793