Back to Lingon X page
Lingon X free download for Mac

Lingon X Reviews

7.4.3
06 October 2019

Run applications and scripts automatically.

ylluminate
23 October 2014

Most helpful

I used to be a big fan of Lingon (x), but I finally figured out that it was because it was really the only option out there. I contemplated creating my own to solve some of the issues I was having with it and to provide some other options. I now have discovered LaunchControl and I have to say that I'm pretty pleased with its functionality as compared to Lingon X. Additionally, I would have continued to keep Lingon X in my toolbelt had the upgrade fee not been implemented for the 2.0 upgrade, but there is just no real compelling reason anymore to stick with this now.
Like (9)
Version 2.0.1

Read 15 Lingon X User Reviews

Rate this app:

Helmo-Hass
29 April 2018
What would be this new implementation which keeps us from using it if not under 10.13? since v3 it's always been same story, new system new lingon? are you kidding right? there is no actual reason for this... but to force the customer buying a new one.. since actual licenses can be used for older version but i doubt that v5 lic. will be any good on this v6 release, GREED is the word to describe such kind of behaviour. As many devs now have put in place such a kind of policy... simply disgusting. Sometimes i'm really glad to see many of those apps pirated... its just what you deserve.
Like (5)
Version 6.1
2 answer(s)
MacDefender
MacDefender
12 October 2018
Have a look at LaunchControl. I prefer it as I don’t like to be forced to pay for nothing relly new and LaunchControl works just great and I got many updates for my license without being forced to buy a new one with every system.
Like (3)
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
12 October 2018
Thank you for the suggestion.. i'll give it a try
Like
George6
01 March 2018
lingon x is nice, but sadly it seems to completely ignore launch overrides. it would be nice to see if services are not loaded/active due to overrides and maybe even have a possibility to change the override status.
Like
Version 5.2.7
Mvasilakis
02 May 2017
Works great and has been working great for years. Thanks.
Like
Version 5.0.1
SMcCandlish
18 November 2015
This needs a different creator code from Lingon 3, or the App Store is perpetually trying to replace Lingon X with Lingon 3.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.3
Just-Fred
01 June 2015
While I see no comments or reviews since late 2014, I note that this product's ratings have gone from four to two stars. I think some of this is due to multiple versions and distributions available. I'm old school. And though I hear 'cron' has been "deprecated," it still works on my Macs running Yosemite. And to provide a visual interface to cron, I recommend the free "Cronnix." The only shortcoming with Cronnix I can find is that it does not allow for editing the root crontab, but only the user crontab. This isn't an issue for me, as I am the only user, so automated jobs run in my user space, anyway. If and when Apple chooses to remove cron, I'll have to look to launchctl, but it's more unwieldy than cron, so I am not yet ready to make that move.
Like (3)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
SMcCandlish
SMcCandlish
18 November 2015
If Apple actually removes cron, you can reinstall it through MacPorts, Homebrew, Fink, or by compiling the source yourself. Apple really can't dictate to usewhat Unix software we install and use. That said, it's probably better to have only one Unix-side launch daemon, so if you can tolerate lanuchctl might as well get used to it.
Like (1)
ylluminate
23 October 2014
I used to be a big fan of Lingon (x), but I finally figured out that it was because it was really the only option out there. I contemplated creating my own to solve some of the issues I was having with it and to provide some other options. I now have discovered LaunchControl and I have to say that I'm pretty pleased with its functionality as compared to Lingon X. Additionally, I would have continued to keep Lingon X in my toolbelt had the upgrade fee not been implemented for the 2.0 upgrade, but there is just no real compelling reason anymore to stick with this now.
Like (9)
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
noisdesign000
noisdesign000
01 March 2016
Thanks for the LaunchControl tip!
Like
Volcanus
18 June 2014
LaunchControl is much better. Also the entries of Lingon and Lingon X should be merged.
Like (5)
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
idomodo
idomodo
28 October 2014
Thanks for your comment, I was looking for a 'msconfig" equivalent and LaunchControl is excellent !
Like
Raven-
24 February 2014
Does the job perfect.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Raven-
Raven-
08 March 2014
But I like to see when Lingon opens some color or other mark next the active and no active items... Also the possibility from waking up from sleep modus! And if possible a quit possibility for what is running via timer... Glad to pay for more for a significant update.
Like (1)
George6
27 January 2014
there are 3 versions of lingon v3.x (appstore) is unusable, the important features are disabled v1.x (website) is ok now, but worse than the original v2.11 (opensource) the best version i hope the developer recognizes that with a list of xx plists his gui is just a mess. PLEASE GET US BACK A STANDARD LIST VIEW ! (rating is for 1.2)
Like (1)
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
28 May 2014
Concur. I've not upgraded this utility beyond the 2.2.1 I got from him before he sold it in the Apple Store and disabled the System features. That was the reason I stopped using it and switched to LaunchControl instead.
Like (1)
SickTeddyBear
27 May 2013
FYI, the original open source Lingon 2.1.1 is available here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/lingon/files/Lingon/2.1.1/ It does work under Mountain Lion.
Like (4)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Maddcow
Maddcow
10 May 2016
Thank you SO much for this info and link! I want to be able to disable system agents and daemons but didn't think this was possible.
Like
ronaldpr
19 February 2013
I only bought one Lingon version back in 2011 through the Mac App Store. I now paid happily the $6.99 upgrade price for Lingon X. It is a good thing when developers publish parallel versions, one 'safe' version on MAS with limited features as required by Apple, and one with the features that are missing in the MAS version for direct purchase by users who want to be free to use those features.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.2
Wanderer
08 February 2013
So I upgraded to Lingon 3.1.3, is Lingon X another upgrade I have to pay for?
Like
Version 1.0.1
3 answer(s)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
08 February 2013
This is a parallel release for people who cannot use the crippled Mac App store version of Lingon; Lingon 3 is still being shown on Peter Borgs site so I suspect both versions will be developed into the future...
Like
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
08 February 2013
Oh, the comparison table is here: http://www.peterborgapps.com/lingon/#comparison
Like (1)
Fishscale
Fishscale
19 February 2013
Yes, you have to pay for Lingon X - A higher price tag, much higher than L3... which really doesn't make sense considering earnings that Lingon 3 generated from sales through the Mac App Store had a large percentage of each sale go to Apple. I believe Lingon 3 was a way to attract attention to "Lingon" and then when so many power users complained it was an opportunity to make Lingon, an open source app for years, a paid app named Lingon X. Truthfully, I like Lingon, the original. The one that still can be compiled from source and runs perfectly on 10.8.2. I hate the Lingon 3 inspired interface. Of course I can't comment on much more than it's interface because it is non-functional without paying... but even so I prefer the old Lingon interface. If you would like a link to the source let me know, I'll post a link. I just bought LaunchControl. It is a great app by good, honest, and dedicated developers. Much nicer than Lingon, in any of it's forms, and more functional and powerful while also being easier to use. I do own, Lingon the original from MAS, Lingon 3, but I just refuse to buy Lingon X. LaunchControl is much better imo and that is why I posted this as a comment, not a review. I can't review the app when I can't save anything.
Like (3)
ylluminate
07 February 2013
Very happy to see this. I was quite literally about to develop this very same app myself as I was so disgusted of being stuck with v 3 and its limitations.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.1
Nontroppo
07 February 2013
I immediately bought this to support Peter Borg's move of Lingon 3 out of the Mac App Store (where it was completely crippled by MAS restrictions), and to say thank you and "pay" for his very useful Lingon 2 (which does not now work reliably in ML). Lingon X is very simple to use and has a very clean UI, with most of the launchd settings that are important to control. You can search through system agents/daemons too. However, if you are a geek/poweruser then I think that the new app LaunchControl offers a much more powerful GUI for launchd and costs the same price. Both apps are excellent, however I suspect I will be using LaunchControl more than Lingon X.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
Kankei71
04 February 2013
"Lingon X is based on the great Lingon 3" Does that mean that this is a paid upgrade of Lingon 3?
Like
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
Widber
Widber
05 February 2013
No. This is extended version of Lingon 3 without restrictions of the MAS
Like
sjk
sjk
05 February 2013
Click the Visit Developer's Site link here to visit this the page showing product differences, pricing, and other info: Lingon - Peter Borg Apps http://www.peterborgapps.com/lingon/
Like
Kankei71
Kankei71
07 February 2013
So, using MAS was a mistake. Should have avoid MAS since the beginning. At least, some people realize that it is better to stay free and independent. Now. I can just buy the app a second time. Not so happy.
Like (2)