Back to Lazesoft Mac Data Recovery page
Lazesoft Mac Data Recovery free download for Mac

Lazesoft Mac Data Recovery Reviews2.2.0

22 September 2015

Powerful data recovery utility.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
aualiyu
aualiyu
Apr 28 2021
2.2.0
0.0
Apr 28 2021
0.0
Version: 2.2.0
“Lazesoft Mac Data Recovery” needs to be updated - is the response I got when I installed and attempted to run ''Lazesoft Mac Data Recovery 2.2'' on ''macOS Catalina 11.15.7''. Even though the software is expected to run on macOS 10.5 or later version. Any suggestion on what to do? Thanks
aualiyu
aualiyu
Apr 28 2021
2.2.0
0.0
Apr 28 2021
0.0
Version: 2.2.0
Screenshot 2021-04-28 at 21.55.37
abd31at
abd31at
May 9 2020
2.2.0
3.0
May 9 2020
3.0
Version: 2.2.0
It’s not too much, sometimes works
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Dec 22 2017
2.2.0
0.0
Dec 22 2017
0.0
Version: 2.2.0
I usually run DiskDrill because it allows me to see files as they're found without having to wait for the scan to finish. Rarely (if ever) have I had to complete a scan to recover the file I was after, therefore it's a real timesaver.

But I decided to try out LSMDR and it was a complete waste of time (fortunately only a few minutes).

It didn't see ANY of the 3 internal partitions, it only saw the external drive that's currently connected. So I didn't even get to begin scanning my computer's HD.

It also doesn't have the standard "About" menu item to let you know which version it is.
anitacherry02
anitacherry02
Oct 25 2017
2.2.0
3.0
Oct 25 2017
3.0
Version: 2.2.0
i downloaded this and everything went fine. but my files only recover in jpeg and zip form. the jpeg files seem to be corrupted and do not open. this message displays 'The file “LostFilexxxxxx.jpg” could not be opened.It may be damaged or use a file format that Preview doesn’t recognise. and the zip files when i attempt to open the just does this vicious cycle of converting to a cpgz and then back to a zip and so on. Please help. Mac OS X El Capitan 10.11.6
yeonglinhan
yeonglinhan
Oct 23 2017
2.2.0
0.0
Oct 23 2017
0.0
Version: 2.2.0
i cannot use :( MAC OS Sierra 10.12.5, no hard disk found aparently, pls help, would donate if it works!!! need a file restored urgently
bartmeltzer
bartmeltzer
Sep 17 2017
2.2.0
4.5
Sep 17 2017
4.5
Version: 2.2.0
Works as advertised. This is not "Hostage Ware." Full recovery is free. Impressed with efficiency of program.
ahmed-dorry
ahmed-dorry
Jul 26 2017
2.2.0
1.0
Jul 26 2017
1.0
Version: 2.2.0
Hello, after installing this app, i get the following message: No hard disk was detected Click OK to exit... Can you please help? i disabled the Avast Antivirus , nothing change
ِEven i tried the cmmd line from the terminal , nothing change

My MAC is , MacBook Pro (15-inch, 2016), 2.7 GHz Intel Core i7

/Applications/Lazesoft\ Mac\ Data\ Recovery.app/Contents/MacOS/Lazesoft\ Mac\ Data\ Recovery

Any ideas can help me on that ?
pelayoggarcia
pelayoggarcia
Feb 16 2017
2.2.0
5.0
Feb 16 2017
5.0
Version: 2.2.0
After using this program on my MacBook on OSX 10.6.8, almost all deleted files were recovered. Quite satisfying. Some of the found images were sized at 1GB and more (up to 10GB!), which is enormous for a normal jpg file. As the images were protected against any changes (permissions), I had to follow the next sequence to create a manageable copy: create a copy, open de file with Preview, select all content and paste on a new empty file, then save the new file. This simple procedure will create an exact image sized at approximately 3 MB, solving the plus-1-GB problem.
jonthawk
jonthawk
Sep 6 2016
2.2.0
0.0
Sep 6 2016
0.0
Version: 2.2.0
After I accidentally emptied the trash with a valuable folder inside it (I guess it was nested inside something else), I found Lazesoft and did a recovery. The files SEEM to have been recovered (the files recovered were on the same order of magnitude as those I deleted) but they seem to be saved as unreadable .jpg files, when I'm pretty sure that they are actually folders... If you have any suggestions on how to convert these back into folders and recover the data, I would be EXTREMELY happy to give the product a 5 star rating!
fmcanuk09
fmcanuk09
Aug 19 2016
2.2.0
4.0
Aug 19 2016
4.0
Version: 2.2.0
Hello, after installing this app, i get the following message: No hard disk was detected Click OK to exit... Can you please help?
jwjb
jwjb
May 11 2016
2.2.0
5.0
May 11 2016
5.0
Version: 2.2.0
The Lazesoft team is quite responsive and helpful through email and this comment thread on MacUpdate and although in my latest data recovery attempt of photos on a 'ScanDisk Ultra 32 GB Micro SD Card' no files were found when performing a 'Deep Scan' I appreciate all of their kind assistance and 'Lazesoft Mac Data Recovery' is my new goto app for all my data recovery needs. For these and other reasons, I am giving this app 5 out of 5 stars as deep scans on other drives from various internal to external drives find any and all files without a hitch so the app is definitely sound, but in this case the SD card is non-functioning probably due to a hardware defect and is not detected by other apps even though it is detected using Lazesoft leading me to this conclusion.
jwjb
jwjb
May 8 2016
2.2.0
5.0
May 8 2016
5.0
Version: 2.2.0
I just installed 'Lazesoft Mac Data Recovery' and was hoping to run a 'Deep Scan' on a 'ScanDisk Ultra 32 GB Micro SD Card' but when I connect the card to my Late 2013 iMac I get this 'The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer.' error. Thanks in advance for any help you may have as I have looked through your manual and support pages, but have found nothing as of yet that addresses this error and when I sent an email to support@macdatarecoveryfreeware.com it bounced back so I thought I would post this comment to your MacUpdate site and resend the email too.
RavenManiac
RavenManiac
Mar 10 2016
2.2.0
0.0
Mar 10 2016
0.0
Version: 2.2.0
I downloaded this software and I received the following warnings from Virus Barrier 10.8.7. Now, I'm concerned that my Mac is infected. 3/10/16, 3:58:52 AM | Real-Time Scan - Malware Found (1 scanned, 1 infected, 0 repaired): MacUpdate Installer ▸ MacUpdate Installer.app ▸ Contents ▸ MacOS ▸ slacking 3/10/16, 3:58:52 AM | Infected (OSX/InstallCore): MacUpdate Installer ▸ MacUpdate Installer.app ▸ Contents ▸ MacOS ▸ slacking
aguilajackson
aguilajackson
Jan 19 2016
2.2.0
5.0
Jan 19 2016
5.0
Version: 2.2.0
This program is absolutely amazing!! It made my day! I had a lot of pictures from my trip to India with my girlfriend that I took with my GoPro, and unfortunately, the sd card had a virus or something, and not all, but a lot of the pictures disappeared, including some amazing pictures of the Taj Mahal. I was so f**** sad... After trying some program that could find some pictures but after founding you have to pay $90, I wanted to try another program. I found this one and it was amazing!! It found ALL my pictures and videos, and I can't be happier. I just made a donation of $20. Great job guys!! Thank you so much!! I will let all my friends to know about this program.
Archibeck
Archibeck
Dec 28 2015
2.2.0
5.0
Dec 28 2015
5.0
Version: 2.2.0
I used our new Nikon Coolpix to film video Christmas morning. However, when I tried to upload to the computer, something weird happened and the video appeared on neither the camera or computer. I spent some time trying to find a data recovery program that was affordable. Altogether, I spent a day and a half looking for something. I downloaded 8 programs that advertised as free but ended up costing at least $50. They were mostly good programs, but I had already overspent for presents. I began to panic and decided I would just buy another sd card and wait to find something online or ask friends. Then I found Lazesoft. I downloaded the program off of MacUpdate and opened the program on my 2013 iMac (21" 3.1ghz core i7) The program is not as sexy as the $100 programs, but it scanned my sd card and found the .mov file I had lost. I am most impressed and so grateful because I did not have the finances to buy a new program. Thank you, thank you, thank you!! blessings gary
sunmark6
sunmark6
Jun 30 2015
2.1.0
5.0
Jun 30 2015
5.0
Version: 2.1.0
Thank you laszesoft. It works.
robertgoldenme
robertgoldenme
Jun 23 2015
2.1.0
5.0
Jun 23 2015
5.0
Version: 2.1.0
Thank you for recovering my photos. Thank you.
Jrogers
Jrogers
Mar 10 2015
2.1.0
4.5
Mar 10 2015
4.5
Version: 2.1.0
Thanks for developing free software--it's working for me. Don't let busybodies like Wordweaver discourage you from improving this. Even a dated GUI is better than no GUI (as in other free data recovery tools). Thank you!
recoveryhelp
recoveryhelp
Feb 10 2015
2.0.0
0.0
Feb 10 2015
0.0
Version: 2.0.0
I just downloaded this software to try and recover 100's of Sibelius files that were accidentally thrown away in the trash bin... then the trash got emptied. It downloaded fine, but when I open it and select the "Undelete Recovery Mode" it takes me to a screen to select where to search for the missing files and for some reason my hard drive is not coming up. I believe I should be seeing MacintoshHD somewhere but all I see is the external hard drive that I have plugged in so save the recovered files onto it if I get them, and other three hard drives that the information box is calling "Toshiba". I tried selecting those three different hard drives but every time it says "No files were searched. Please use <Partition Recovery>. I found that selection in the options tab, but it still did not good. What am I doing wrong? I really need to get these files back! :(
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
Jul 30 2014
2.0.0
2.0
Jul 30 2014
2.0
Version: 2.0.0
I haven't had the need to use a file recovery type program for many years. However, being as this app is free, out of curiosity, I decided to download it and put it through its paces.

As other posters here have noted, the first thing you will notice upon launching this app is that it screams "Windows!". If you are a longtime, diehard Macintosh user, you may find the UI offensive to your taste. However, I was more interested in the functionality of this program, so I overlooked the obvious attempt of a Windows programmer to make his software work on a Macintosh running OS X.

BTW, once you choose to begin a scan, the app's window opens fullscreen; so if you have a 27" iMac, expect the entire screen to be taken up by the app. Of course, you do have the option to drag the bottom right corner of the window to your preferred size.

The second thing that makes this app scream "Windows!" can be found under the "File Type" tab on the left side of screen. Under that tab you will find jpg, zip, jar, jpeg, doc, xlsx and docx. I assume that these are the default file types that the program lists after a scan is complete. I am not certain, because there is no users manual or built-in help with the app, as far as I can tell.

Being as this developer is a Windows user, it would seem that he chose these file types with little regard or concern for what a real Macintosh user might look for.

Personally, I extensively use BBEdit .txt files, Adobe Photoshop .psd and .png files, .dmg files, .pdf files, as well as .mkv, .avi, .mp4 and .flv video files, and .html files.

Not one of these file types is listed under the "File Type" tab, which in my view makes this app very unMac-like. They should be added. Likewise, for the musically-inclined, a wide range of audio formats should be added to the file type list as well.

For my test subject, I chose my 1 TB external drive which uses USB 2.0.

After scanning the external drive for files for about an hour, the app had still only done 51%. Above the progress bar it stated that it had found 1,871,622 files.

At that point, I got busy in my web browser doing other stuff. When I went back to this app again, just as other posters below have stated, the scanner had started all over again and was back at 4% complete. I wasted over an hour and a half of my time.

This app may be free, and it may work for some people, but given what I personally observed with its performance, I cannot currently recommend it with confidence.
Foulger
Foulger
Jul 30 2014
2.0.0
0.0
Jul 30 2014
0.0
Version: 2.0.0
Great App but on Firefox 31 download breaks into pages of garbage. Downloads fine on Safari. Thank you for this free app.
davort
davort
May 6 2013
1.0.0
4.5
May 6 2013
4.5
Version: 1.0.0
Not the prettiest UI out there, and definitely not the easiest app to use, but it works! Once you remember to right-click and look for hidden context menus :)
KeelRow43
KeelRow43
Apr 17 2013
1.0.0
4.0
Apr 17 2013
4.0
Version: 1.0.0
Although a little hard to figure out, it DOES work and is also FREE!
nemecec
nemecec
Feb 8 2013
1.0.0
5.0
Feb 8 2013
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
One of the few FREE file recovery tools for Mac (if not the only one). My wife accidentally deleted all photos from SD card (1GB) and I was looking for inexpensive way to recover those files. Lazesoft Mac Data Recovery did the job. User interface could be improved A LOT, but hey - I didn't pay for it, so I will not complain.
Dorkypants
Dorkypants
Jan 28 2013
1.0.0
0.5
Jan 28 2013
0.5
Version: 1.0.0
Doesn't work. I used it to scan an external 1TB USB 2.0 drive mounted on a Core 2 Duo MacBook Pro running Snow Leopard with lots of available RAM. It never got past about 11% complete on the progress bar, instead constantly returning to 0% and starting over again. I quit after it was running for about 3.5 hours having gotten nowhere.