Back to 2Do page
2Do free download for Mac

2Do Reviews2.6.17

08 May 2020

Create checklists for simple task-management.

How would you rate 2Do?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Filou53
Filou53
Jan 17 2021
2.6.17
0.0
Jan 17 2021
0.0
Version: 2.6.17
Excellent software But: what about Big Sur ? It seems that the developer is working on a new Swift version but it's not clear and his blog is no more updated' ;-(
rick-little
rick-little
Sep 1 2019
2.6.12
5.0
Sep 1 2019
5.0
Version: 2.6.12
I've grown with 2Do, had it for I can't remember how long, almost since its inception. It's a magnificent tool that I use across all my iOS devices for a broad number of purposes... and it will do it. You can keep it simple, escalate it to the complex, or find the optimal use/design for your individual needs. With its sharing, email-to and go-to capability, 2Do is no doubt at the top of the project, task, and list management category of iOS and Mac apps.
James
James
Mar 11 2019
2.6.5
0.0
Mar 11 2019
0.0
Version: 2.6.5
My needs are simple so I keep it simple I just use Apple Notes with a checklist. Can't argue with the price either. I would of put it in the 'Similar Software' list but MacUpdate does not list it.
ahmedhatata-ah
ahmedhatata-ah
Jan 2 2019
2.5.9
4.5
Jan 2 2019
4.5
Version: 2.5.9
The best task manager and to do list ever . The UI is very simple intuitive and effectively productive for every day tasks . The app satisfy all user needs , if you want to use as a simple task manager you can and if you want to use an advance features for more details on the go then it is the app for you . All in one and wonderful software from a great company .
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
Sep 22 2018
2.5.8
2.0
Sep 22 2018
2.0
Version: 2.5.8
The UI was an immediate turn-off. Way too cluttered and unnecessarily complicated. It is way overpriced as well. I gave it a fair chance to learn all the features, try all of them, read their documentation and read other people's blog articles sharing tips and tricks. It's very similar to OmniFocus in the sense that it gives you more things to manage instead of helping you manage and complete tasks. Using these apps in itself is a lot of work and learning to do.

It's a great app if you would like to focus on the process of optimizing your task list and fiddling with your apps, or if you enjoy the illusion of getting things done by fiddling and optimizing your task list.
Sonnendeck
Sonnendeck
Aug 27 2018
2.5.8
0.0
Aug 27 2018
0.0
Version: 2.5.8
My daily companion for years.
valgrey
valgrey
Feb 25 2018
2.4.24
4.5
Feb 25 2018
4.5
Version: 2.4.24
Use this app to manage my tasks. Recommend!
lunavibes33
lunavibes33
Feb 22 2018
2.4.24
5.0
Feb 22 2018
5.0
Version: 2.4.24
I tried 2do before using many apps and was overwhelmed with all of the features. After looking around and buying a few apps I came back to 2do and was pleasantly surprised to see that the features that were missing from other apps were included in 2do. It's an experience you must explore hands on. I won't go into any details about the features since the description of the app is plenty and stil does not do it justice. 2do is an expertly crafted task manager.
Almostwise
Almostwise
Jan 26 2018
2.4.22
5.0
Jan 26 2018
5.0
Version: 2.4.22
By far the best task manager I have used, and I think I have tried them all... This one checks all the boxes I need: 1. Support for "Start Dates" not just "Due Dates" - right off the bat this leaves a lot of the other task managers out. 2.iPad/iPhone app. The 2Do app on my iPad is awesome! 3. Integration with the other apps I use. I use Airmail 3 for my work emails, and this is where most of my 'tasks" come from. I can "send" emails with a swipe straight to 2Do, and they are automatically linked back to the task in Airmail. So when I open the task in 2Do, on either my desktop or iOS device, with one click/tap it takes me back to Airmail and the original email. Perfect! 4. Active support and development. The developer is great, constant updates, bug fixes, and improvements. There are more than a few promising Mac task apps that might as well be abandonware, for the lack of support and updates they get... Again, highly recommended!
Kerry-Dawson
Kerry-Dawson
Jan 9 2018
2.4
5.0
Jan 9 2018
5.0
Version: 2.4
2do is one of the better task management apps that is fully cross platform - it works on Android identically to IOS and the Mac. It is powerful, no doubt. Has Things, the Hit List or Omnifocus gone cross platform. NO. They don't get the word progress in its truest sense. Fortunately the new guys do.
isdn
isdn
Sep 17 2017
2.3.951
5.0
Sep 17 2017
5.0
Version: 2.3.951
2Do is the best to-do/task management solution. I tried lots of them, but 2Do is my favourite one.
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
Sep 6 2017
2.3.94
2.0
Sep 6 2017
2.0
Version: 2.3.94
I was hoping there was a more current review than last year, but I bought the application and the android app for my phone. I've avoided a purchased task management solution since Wunderlist was announced as EOL by M$. This app does the trick. Except the dropbox sync is broken in my version from the Mac Store. I've emailed support for help and we'll see how long they take to answer. I'll change my review accordingly.
D9
D9
Dec 14 2016
2.3
0.0
Dec 14 2016
0.0
Version: 2.3
I've loved using 2Do, on both the iOS and Mac devices. But I'm unable to use it regularly due to the lack of Exchange compatibility which I need at my office. Otherwise, it's got the perfect fit of features, interface, yet efficiency.
Gazman
Gazman
Nov 10 2016
2.2.2
5.0
Nov 10 2016
5.0
Version: 2.2.2
This is the best task manager for the way I work. I have it synced through Reminders (CalDav) so that I can use Siri to add reminders through the iOS app.. This has been my task manager of choice for over 12 months and I don't recall having a single issue with either the Mac or iOS apps.
Lo116
Lo116
Feb 22 2016
2.2
5.0
Feb 22 2016
5.0
Version: 2.2
This is my favorite task management app. I could go on and on about the usefulness it has to me. I'd like to have a bit more even deeper multilevel sub projects but overall it's wonderful. & ability to attach notes & other things. Please note that the required version for v2.1 and up is 10.11 El Capitan though!
dwp-1
dwp-1
Feb 19 2016
2.2
0.0
Feb 19 2016
0.0
Version: 2.2
I have tried them all and 2Do just keeps getting better and better. I only wish I got as much work done as the folks do at BeeHive Innovations. Great Software from a great company,
pakusumo
pakusumo
Jan 16 2016
2.1
4.0
Jan 16 2016
4.0
Version: 2.1
I use 2do for my personal, non work to do list. Got a mac app, iPhone app and iPad app. It was a bit overwhelming at first but I found my own system at the end. UI is fantastic, sophisticated, sync real time from the time I type on my mac to showing up on my phone. No disappointment. Downside: no web-based app, limited mean to perform multi device sync (using dropbox is still the best way to go), gotta pay additional $$$ for IFTTT. Overall, i'm still a satisfied customer.
steelie
steelie
May 7 2015
1.5.2
5.0
May 7 2015
5.0
Version: 1.5.2
Over the years, I’ve tried too many productivity apps like 2do: • The Hit List – MIA for years, still first version with really only bug fixes since 2012 • Things – no subtasks, no location-based tasks, odd information hierarchy presentation • OmniFocus – OVER PRICE, overly complicated, iPhone app takes too many taps to get to a list of items that are both due and overdue • Wunderlist – list folders don’t actually show task and notes are not visible in task • Todo Cloud – inconsistent experience between devices, opens separate window for notes • and others that have since disappeared from existence All of them left me feeling like I was settling for an “OK” version of what I wanted—a solid task management application that I could use (primarily) on my desktop, with a solid iPhone counterpart to allow me to act on items. Even those that had both didn’t integrate with each other seamlessly, and that was incredibly frustrating. Any time I settled on one, I always felt like I still wanted to try others, constantly looking for a better experience. Don’t get me wrong, for a while there, 2do was powerful but not consistent between devices either. However, with 2do 3.0 for iOS and 2do 1.5 for OS X, it changed everything. And now with the 2.0 upgrade to OS X, it’s basically perfect: • a “Today” list with due and overdue tasks • solid subtask support • lists and list groups that show you its full contents by clicking on it • notes visible in the list view • a calendar onto which you drag/drop tasks to create due dates • a consistent experience between ALL of their apps • solid and speedy sync though Dropbox • and much more After a number of years I finally don’t feel like I need to search for a better product. And I am strangely relieved by that. :)
David210
David210
Apr 28 2015
1.5.2
0.0
Apr 28 2015
0.0
Version: 1.5.2
Version 2 has been out for quite a while now. This MacUpdate page is still stuck at version 1.5.2, released in November 2013. Version 2 is fabulous. Quickly dumped other similar apps that I have used for years.
Hal2007
Hal2007
Apr 1 2015
1.5.2
0.0
Apr 1 2015
0.0
Version: 1.5.2
Version 2 is out as of now. It's a complete revamp of the previous version. The update is FREE.
burkanov
burkanov
Mar 6 2014
1.5.2
4.5
Mar 6 2014
4.5
Version: 1.5.2
Very nice app. I can't really say what's the magic behind this software (really good UI?), but 2Do has, somehow its own charisma and charm. I've tried all actual "to-do" apps, and though there are many good, I'd say "2Do" is the best of all. Best wishes to the developers & designers.
Guest
Guest
Nov 1 2013
1.5
0.0
Nov 1 2013
0.0
Version: 1.5
I've been using this on iOS and the Mac for a while now, after having used Things, The Hit List, and tried Omnifocus. Wunderlist is only good for grocery lists. This Mac version 1.5 is a good upgrade in many ways, but a downgrade in one key area: no way to add an email task as a link, so that you can get back to the email from 2do. The old applescript workaround from v1 does work to add the message, but it does not seem possible to get back to the message. I mean, this seems like such an absolute key usability function for software like this for someone actually working at a computer, it's crazy not to include it. Sure, an item like Walk the Dog is easy to add, tag, etc -- but who needs software for that? When I'm getting tasks by email from clients through the day, that's when things are complicated and I need help from software. Do I need to keep Things open so I can deal with clients/emails and then use 2do for everything else? Too bad!
MackinTush
MackinTush
Apr 19 2013
1.0.4
5.0
Apr 19 2013
5.0
Version: 1.0.4
I have tried Things, OmniFocus, The Hit List, SimpleTask, Apple Reminders, Notes, TextEdit (very simple), etc. All these help to be a useful for task management. I decided to keep the 2Do for simplify, useful and tight user interface, reference calendar with task markings, reminder numbers, due dates number icons, reminder alarm, voice notations, colorize able category titled, etc. Even with all these useful functions, the interface was not cluttered and very simplified due to a thoughtful UI design. It also has a good typographic layout for easy reading and looking graphically nice. I also like the way it does not take up too much vertical space. Very well done. I can tell by the app the creator has put a lot of effort and dedication in developing this awesome software.
Dingdongdaddy
Dingdongdaddy
Mar 28 2013
1.0.4
4.0
Mar 28 2013
4.0
Version: 1.0.4
A breath of fresh air. This does a nice job of being a simple task minder that easily expands, if you want it to, to manage projects with subtasks and loads of meta-info. I do agree with most of the wish-list items of previous reviewers, but I find it to be the task manager that keeps calling me back, despite having used the other big names.
Anon-Bud
Anon-Bud
Mar 1 2013
1.0.4
4.5
Mar 1 2013
4.5
Version: 1.0.4
I, too have tried them all. Really love OmniFocus and Things, but decided to give 2Do a try on my Mac. I like that it seamlessly integrates Reminders and with some iOS calendar programs lists these along with my events for the day. This marks the first app I've purchased in the AppStore, so it must be good! And many thanks to the demo, so I was able to try it out first. It also helped that I already had the iOS version and kind of knew what I was getting myself into. I do not know if 2Do will be the last word [I still use Things and am waiting for OF version 2.x to come out] but for now it is working like a charm!
Rmichelena
Rmichelena
Feb 16 2013
1.0.3
3.5
Feb 16 2013
3.5
Version: 1.0.3
have tried many of these apps, Things, Wunderlist, Omnifocus, etc etc... at the end 2Do is the one I'm feeling most comfortable with - an intuitive interface and a good balance between features and clutter, and sync with iCloud so I can use Siri (and I feel this was the deciding point). Some easy things that are still missing: 1) you should be able to insert links to emails and contacts the same way you can do for files or URLs 2) the quick task feature should capture the frontmost URL, email, file, etc. automatically, the same way Things does. 3) you should be able to snooze/reschedule notifications easily, be it in the notification itself or in the 2Do window 4) when you click on a file url it should open the file, not just show it in the finder and the not-so-easy ones of course: 1) teamwork: contacts, delegation 2) contexts? 3) task sequence templates: i.e. you have a task template called "send quote", when you mark it as done immediately another one pops called "follow up call", and so on. Or at least some option like: if you press and hold the "done" checkbox, a pop-up appears to create a follow-up task (marks this one as done and creates a new one for 1d, 2d, 3d, 1w, or so depending on your selection).
Cookie08
Cookie08
Feb 13 2013
1.0.3
3.5
Feb 13 2013
3.5
Version: 1.0.3
This is a good app does tend mix up the alarms a bit when syncing with reminders iCloud has crashed occasionally ver 1.0.3
Woodjoe
Woodjoe
Feb 11 2013
1.0.2
3.0
Feb 11 2013
3.0
Version: 1.0.2
I used the iOS version of 2do since the beginning. And at the beginning I was very happy with its huge amount of features. But after some weeks I began to use simple paper todo lists again. Why? Because it is simple to use. I realized that despite the nice UI and the features it is too difficult to use. And it's the same with the Mac version for me. I really tried to love this program and it is beautiful and all but when I add a project and try to add subtasks it takes too long. I can't use it for work because when I have to add tasks very fast I still need too much time. I can't use it for university for the very same reason. I returned using Apples Reminders.app because of its simpleness. Don't get me wrong, I am not satisfied with Reminders, either, but I can add tasks with Fantastical very fast. For people who have time and like to work a lot with their touchpad and their mouse, 2do is a good choice because of the features. For those who want to add projects, subtasks and so on very fast, have to try it, if it fits their needs.
Sheagirl
Sheagirl
Dec 6 2012
1.0.1
4.5
Dec 6 2012
4.5
Version: 1.0.1
I have used 2do on my IOS devices for a long time now and there is no better to-do program out there. I love it. When they have come out with a desk top version I was so excited to maybe have a complete to-do system complete with a good balance of features, consistently working sync, a reasonable price tag and a an intuitive and pleasing interface. The 2do people did deliver on the promised goods and the program is everything I wanted EXCEPT the desktop interface. It lacks the disarming presentation of the IOS version. There is nothing wrong with it but it just looks more like the IOS version than the IOS version does? That said it is a good solid program and I have paid for most of them. If you are not into strict GTD processes and steep learning curves but seamless sync, intuitive interface that is a little stark but easy on the eyes this is it.
Rochade
Rochade
Dec 6 2012
1.0.1
4.5
Dec 6 2012
4.5
Version: 1.0.1
2Do was my preferred todo list app on iOS and so I gave the mac app a try. And what can I say? I am using it for about 2 weeks now and it replaced Cultured Code's Things. The main reason for the switch was the iCloud sync as I don't want to be bound to any developer and its own introduced service. 2Do works as advertised and I couldn't find any problems yet. If you need more than a simple todo list, give 2Do a try. With the feature set for a high but reasonable price tag, it is worth to have a closer look.