Back to Unclutter page
Unclutter free download for Mac

Unclutter Reviews

2.1.1800
21 August 2019

Store notes, files, and pasteboard clips on the Desktop.

Jazzyguy
07 May 2013

Most helpful

This version cured a lot of problems .Everything works fine now.This is a 5 star application.
Like (5)
Version 1.2

Read 31 Unclutter User Reviews

Rate this app:

Drfrank
09 May 2019
Unclutter is brilliant, I have no idea why it took me this long to try it. Notes saves opening my favourite text editor again and again, it’s lightweight and it’s just there, ready to go. I’m using Alfred’s clipboard alongside Unclutter’s clipboard with no problems so far. Unclutter makes it easy to edit clippings. Files has replaced Yoink.
Like
Version 2.1.1700
Bremen
07 March 2019
Good app but it needs an iOS version to make it truly complete.
Like
Version 2.1.1700
TVieceli
04 December 2018
Nice app to help keep my desktop clean.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.14d
Noah R
30 November 2018
This app makes organizing your files a snap. Just like having a secretary.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.14
xdaddy75
22 March 2018
Really helpful app. I love it!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.6d
batsabode
09 November 2017
Pretty good, really helps keep my desktop clean! Would like it to sync with iOS on my phone perhaps
Like (2)
Version 2.1.2d
ikimilikiliklik
09 November 2017
Desktop clean the easy, fast and elegant way. And more features. Clean, neat software.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.2d
Mondele
07 November 2017
I find it interesting that the developer feels the need to tell everyone how to best use his app. I understand that he would have his preference, but not everyone uses a computer in the same way. If the default way is not convenient for some people, it's not the best way. Kudos that there are other ways to use this.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2d
2 answer(s)
Eugene Krupnov
Eugene Krupnov
14 November 2017
Sorry :) Didn't want to seem intrusive.
Like (4)
Jim-Leff
Jim-Leff
16 October 2018
I find it interesting that you feel the need to tell the developer how best to describe his app.
Like (6)
fritzsenn
31 October 2017
At a loss.: I bought Unclutter and got a receipt, Also your invitation to comment. But what is says is DEMO MODE Buy now …
Like
Version 2.1.2d
1 answer(s)
Eugene Krupnov
Eugene Krupnov
14 November 2017
Hi! Sorry, I've missed your message.
If the problem is still there, write me to eugene@unclutterapp.com I will re-send you the license and show how to apply it.
Like
rms-psychotherapist
27 October 2017
I have only started using it. I could not manage the default way of opening it for some reason, so I swapped it for the CMD option.

Thanks for a great application!

On reflection, it should be 5 stars!

Ros
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2d
1 answer(s)
Eugene Krupnov
Eugene Krupnov
27 October 2017
Thank you! The default opening option (scroll down) is the best. Please see this short video to get familiar with Unclutter basic functions - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XVUFqnlD1Lg
Like
BryanatMU
18 October 2017
I've been using it for 6-months and I'm accustomed to having my drawer available for notes. I like keeping useful tidbits there that I know I'll need later. When I discovered I could make multiple notes I started putting useful program shortcuts in different notes there so I can easily reference my list of shortcuts and start to learn them for a variety of different programs. My only complaint is that it the drawer will occasionally drop down when I don't intend it to. There is likely a small change I could make to my preferences to avoid this, but it is now that much of an issue so I haven't investigated it.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2d
2 answer(s)
Eugene Krupnov
Eugene Krupnov
25 October 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words!
Maybe I can help with that false opening? "Scroll down" opening option is the best. Unintended Unclutter opening might be triggered by "hold" or "wait" options. Usually using only one way to open is the best choice. Please write me to eugene@unclutterapp.com so I can help more.
Like (1)
BryanatMU
BryanatMU
25 October 2017
Hi Eugene, I checked after writing this review and discovered quickly that the random drop down could be resolved by unchecking the "hold" option. A simple investigation did the trick ;-) I use the scroll down often but also have learned to utilize a customized shortcut key combo as well. Thanks for the tips!
Like (2)
Alex-Macinsky
09 June 2017
Please add way to organize notes into folders, or categories, instead of piling all the notes into one box. I have hundreds of notes, a categorizing system would be fantastic.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2d
1 answer(s)
Eugene Krupnov
Eugene Krupnov
26 June 2017
Thank you! There will be "Lists" + ability to assign a note to the list. Works like folders. You'll be able to see all notes or just notes in the selected list. And quick lists switching of course. By the way, the same functionality will be implemented for Clipboard.
Like (1)
AshBP
31 March 2017
Best of class. Was searching/testing apps forever that I didn't have to click to access (wow, lazy, no?). Perfect. Only little thing - it would be nice when a clip is open, if you could delete it from there. If you select the trash button, you get a "clear the clipboard and history" option or "cancel." Do love easy deleting from list view, but again, lazy me wants to delete within that clip. Doesn't totally make sense to have that option within the clipped note anyway ;-) GREAT APP!!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2d
1 answer(s)
Eugene Krupnov
Eugene Krupnov
03 April 2017
Thank you! Feature request accepted ;)
Like (1)
Paganel
22 March 2017
Cool
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1d
1 answer(s)
Eugene Krupnov
Eugene Krupnov
26 March 2017
Thanks!
Like
Tim27
14 January 2017
Really impressed by this app, especially for the price. Works great, looks great, and very helpful on top of that.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.1d
Evolut
22 January 2016
Question: Is it possible to disable the Clipboard feature entirely? This is not a desirable feature a all! This feature is very dangerous because it saves everything you copy, INCLUDING Passwords, right? I am using 1Password to manage my hundreds of passwords. One way for 1Password to work is by temporarily copying the password, and there is a safety feature to remove the password from the clipboard after a set time (like 3minutes)... but with Unclutter, your passwords will be saved in an unsafe structure in parallel with 1Password. This is dangerous! I like the Files and Notes feature, but the clipboard saving is a deal breaker!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.6
2 answer(s)
eugene-krupnov
eugene-krupnov
21 March 2016
Hi!

1. You can disable the Clipboard panel in Unclutter Preferences (Panels tab). This will stop recording the clipboard content.

2. There is a Sensitive Data list in Unclutter Preferences (Clipboard tab). You can add 1Password (should be added by default if detected when Unclutter is launched for the 1st time).

In this case, your passwords will show concealed (replaced with bullets) and not saved to disk. You will still be available to recall this clip with sensitive data and paste it.
Like (4)
AshBP
AshBP
31 March 2017
I think this is new - I just created a new password with 1Password and when I looked in Unclutter, it was shown as (dots) and had a lock on it with app name (1Password). Awesome! This app is fab!!
Like (1)
Sergesouszero
05 January 2016
Very useful. I put the Unclutter folder in Dropbox. Easiest way I found to transfer my files to Dropbox. Like Gryphonent said below, the only thing missing is the ability to paste elements from Unclutter clipboard.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.6
ylluminate
16 June 2015
Still waiting for a return to dark theme... :(
Like (1)
Version 2.0.5
4 answer(s)
eugene-krupnov
eugene-krupnov
17 June 2015
Working on it.
Like
eugene-krupnov
eugene-krupnov
23 July 2015
Ok. Almost done!
A little testing and we're ready to submit update to the MacAppStore. It took a little longer than I expected, but looks very good :)
Like
eugene-krupnov
eugene-krupnov
27 August 2015
Ready :)
Like
eugene-krupnov
eugene-krupnov
11 September 2015
Ready!
Like
eugene-krupnov
17 April 2015
Hi guys! Just wanted to say that Unclutter is 60% OFF until the end of this week.
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Panocha
Panocha
18 April 2015
It really needs to be able to show the file pane in list view.
Like
eugene-krupnov
eugene-krupnov
18 April 2015
Yes. Will be added with the upcoming updates. Thanks.
Like
jashodas
14 April 2015
Small and very handy software. Makes life easier when I have to move files from one folder to another, and when I copy a few pieces of text from different sources.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
eugene-krupnov
eugene-krupnov
17 April 2015
Hi! Thanks. You probably sent this comment twice by mistake. Thanks anyway! :)
Like
jashodas
14 April 2015
Small and very handy software. Makes life easier when I have to move files from one folder to another, and when I copy a few pieces of text from different sources.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
gryphonent
10 April 2015
Great all-in-one tool for the clipboard, files, and notes. I’d wish to have shortcut keys for selecting clipboard items though. It is a bit cumbersome to click on entries and then paste back the selection to wherever you want it to go.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
eugene-krupnov
eugene-krupnov
10 April 2015
Thanks!
OS X sandbox limitation will not allow to paste from Unclutter Clipboard directly into application you are working with.
So I was thinking about creating some helper app that will add this ability with some kind of key shortcut. Like OPTION+COMMAND+V or similar. But that is only a concept for now.
Like
gryphonent
gryphonent
10 April 2015
Thanks Eugene. Sounds interesting. I was using Cute Clips before Unclutter, but sadly the developer decided not to support the app anymore. I find the clipboard solution in Unclutter at present somewhat inconvenient. I’d prefer an option to list all entries and then simply press 1-5 and get it pasted automatically where I want it to be.
Like (1)
eugene-krupnov
eugene-krupnov
10 April 2015
Sounds great! What is the convenient way to call the list of all enries to be selected and pasted? Is it a key shortcut?

Oops. How to respond to a response? :)
Like
Sasasushi
25 March 2014
This is an awesome little utility. It is attractive, unobtrusive and has a very small footprint memory-wise. Just a quick single-finger down gesture with my Magic Mouse at the top of the screen and I am presented with the clipboard, commonly-used files that used to clutter my desktop and perhaps most importantly of all, a notepad. It is well worth the purchase price.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.1
Andrewm8
02 January 2014
I was using Unclutter for 2 weeks and the app is easy to use and quite useful - but I had to remove it because it slowed down the system boot time to a crawl. My OSX 10.9.1 booted from SSD in under 20 seconds before installing Unclutter - with Unclutter the full boot takes almost 2 minutes!!! Removed Unclutter and I'm back to < 20 sec boot time.
Like (1)
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Sasasushi
Sasasushi
25 March 2014
I'm booting from SSD as well and the boot times haven't changed an iota from before installing Unclutter. Incidentally, I LOVE this app! It is never going to be uninstalled from my system. It is so convenient to mouse swipe down and I use it constantly.
Like (2)
BiL-C
08 May 2013
Unclutter + Hazel = clean desktop + easy access to files removed from the desktop. I set Hazel to move any files over 2 days old from my desktop to the Unclutter folder (which i placed in my home folder) now files that used to be on my desktop are much easier to access, and my desktop remains pristine.
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Jazzyguy
07 May 2013
This version cured a lot of problems .Everything works fine now.This is a 5 star application.
Like (5)
Version 1.2
MacGrobo
18 April 2013
Excellent utility. I didn't know i need it until tried - it is an everyday part of my workflow ever since. Great idea, great execution.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
zaydon
01 February 2013
As far as I can tell, anything in the files box is actually moved to an application support directory for unclutter. I have a lot of network and usb mounted drives on my desktop and I wanted to put them in unclutter and it started to move the whole contents of the drive locally.. doh. Otherwise, its OK. .0 to .1 cpu and 67.5MB RAM footprint.
Like
Version 1.0.1
3 answer(s)
software-ambience-1
software-ambience-1
15 March 2013
Right, Unclutter moves files to its folder rather than making aliases to them. In future versions we'll think if we can also somehow make aliases when needed. BTW in the next update, you'll be able to set any folder to be used for Unclutter file storage. Thanks for your feedback!
Like
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
23 July 2013
FYI: The path to the Unclutter folder is ~/Library/Containers/com.softwareambience.Unclutter/Data/Library/Application Support/Unclutter Whenever Apple requires devs to sandbox such folders, I immediately locate them and drag an alias to my Finder sidebar for easy access. Unclutter has been a real godsend for me and my (formerly) very cluttered desktop. This team has done an excellent job with both this and Daisy Disk.
Like (2)
software-ambience-1
software-ambience-1
26 July 2013
@Prince_Isaac Latest versions of Unclutter allow you to move your Unclutter files and notes out of the sandboxed container to any folder of your choice. Particularly, you can move it to a folder inside Dropbox or another similar service and have your stuff automatically sync across multiple Macs. Thanks for your feedback! :)
Like
kaviaz
31 January 2013
Files in Unclutter's Folder can't be found with search! Because it is locate in Library Folder?
Like
Version 1.0.1
Jazzyguy
22 January 2013
Excellent App I bought it immediately.It is well worth the money. It is very handy to use sitting in the menubar Very nice GUI and very easy to use.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
Julsa1
08 December 2012
Nice app, very handy ! Would be even nicer if you could copy/past the content of the clipboard and use it as a clipboard manager as well. Gonna use this a lot, one of those little apps that makes productivity just a little more productive...
Like (1)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Welshpat007
Welshpat007
12 February 2013
Good, but once a day have to kill it in Terminal as it is running at near 90% of my CPU and has frozen in the Menu Bar.
Like
software-ambience-1
software-ambience-1
15 March 2013
@Welshpat007: The CPU freezing is a rare bug, we have already fixed it (hopefully :) ), the update is coming soon.
Like