Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Unclutter page
Unclutter free download for Mac

Unclutter Reviews2.1.2400

29 December 2020

Store notes, files, and pasteboard clips on the Desktop.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Gary30
Gary30
Jan 25 2021
2.1.2400
5.0
Jan 25 2021
5.0
Version: 2.1.2400
I just discovered this app as I was contemplating ways to simplify my new 13" MacBook Pro desktop. During the last decade, I've been going down from 17" then 15" and now this. I had been using an ancient version of Launchbar for its clipboard history function which still worked. I also use an ancient copy of Yojimbo for notes, but this is much better for the kind of quick notes I jot down during the day. However the ability to put my various desktop items in the Files module is what brought me to the app and implementation is brilliant. Design and operation are both very well thought out, and the developer seems to be keeping current with all the new MacOS software and M1 hardware. It's hard to find excellent software like this any more.
Cartoonasaur
Cartoonasaur
May 23 2020
2.1.2200
5.0
May 23 2020
5.0
Version: 2.1.2200
Does far more than most in a clean interface - I use it DAILY and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a solid clipboard manager - it is an ESSENTIAL app for professionals and regular users alike...
Drfrank
Drfrank
May 9 2019
2.1.1700
5.0
May 9 2019
5.0
Version: 2.1.1700
Unclutter is brilliant, I have no idea why it took me this long to try it. Notes saves opening my favourite text editor again and again, it’s lightweight and it’s just there, ready to go. I’m using Alfred’s clipboard alongside Unclutter’s clipboard with no problems so far. Unclutter makes it easy to edit clippings. Files has replaced Yoink.
JacAbu
JacAbu
Mar 7 2019
2.1.1700
4.0
Mar 7 2019
4.0
Version: 2.1.1700
Good app but it needs an iOS version to make it truly complete.
TVieceli
TVieceli
Dec 4 2018
2.1.14d
4.0
Dec 4 2018
4.0
Version: 2.1.14d
Nice app to help keep my desktop clean.
Noah R
Noah R
Nov 30 2018
2.1.14
5.0
Nov 30 2018
5.0
Version: 2.1.14
This app makes organizing your files a snap. Just like having a secretary.
xdaddy75
xdaddy75
Mar 22 2018
2.1.6d
4.5
Mar 22 2018
4.5
Version: 2.1.6d
Really helpful app. I love it!
batsabode
batsabode
Nov 9 2017
2.1.2d
5.0
Nov 9 2017
5.0
Version: 2.1.2d
Pretty good, really helps keep my desktop clean! Would like it to sync with iOS on my phone perhaps
ikimilikiliklik
ikimilikiliklik
Nov 9 2017
2.1.2d
5.0
Nov 9 2017
5.0
Version: 2.1.2d
Desktop clean the easy, fast and elegant way. And more features. Clean, neat software.
Mondele
Mondele
Nov 7 2017
2.1.2d
0.0
Nov 7 2017
0.0
Version: 2.1.2d
I find it interesting that the developer feels the need to tell everyone how to best use his app. I understand that he would have his preference, but not everyone uses a computer in the same way. If the default way is not convenient for some people, it's not the best way. Kudos that there are other ways to use this.
fritzsenn
fritzsenn
Oct 31 2017
2.1.2d
0.0
Oct 31 2017
0.0
Version: 2.1.2d
At a loss.: I bought Unclutter and got a receipt, Also your invitation to comment. But what is says is DEMO MODE Buy now …
rms-psychotherapist
rms-psychotherapist
Oct 27 2017
2.1.2d
0.0
Oct 27 2017
0.0
Version: 2.1.2d
I have only started using it. I could not manage the default way of opening it for some reason, so I swapped it for the CMD option.

Thanks for a great application!

On reflection, it should be 5 stars!

Ros
Bryan
Bryan
Oct 18 2017
2.1.2d
5.0
Oct 18 2017
5.0
Version: 2.1.2d
I've been using it for 6-months and I'm accustomed to having my drawer available for notes. I like keeping useful tidbits there that I know I'll need later. When I discovered I could make multiple notes I started putting useful program shortcuts in different notes there so I can easily reference my list of shortcuts and start to learn them for a variety of different programs. My only complaint is that it the drawer will occasionally drop down when I don't intend it to. There is likely a small change I could make to my preferences to avoid this, but it is now that much of an issue so I haven't investigated it.
anonymous-lynx-5546
anonymous-lynx-5546
Jun 9 2017
2.1.2d
0.0
Jun 9 2017
0.0
Version: 2.1.2d
Please add way to organize notes into folders, or categories, instead of piling all the notes into one box. I have hundreds of notes, a categorizing system would be fantastic.
AshBP
AshBP
Mar 31 2017
2.1.2d
5.0
Mar 31 2017
5.0
Version: 2.1.2d
Best of class. Was searching/testing apps forever that I didn't have to click to access (wow, lazy, no?). Perfect. Only little thing - it would be nice when a clip is open, if you could delete it from there. If you select the trash button, you get a "clear the clipboard and history" option or "cancel." Do love easy deleting from list view, but again, lazy me wants to delete within that clip. Doesn't totally make sense to have that option within the clipped note anyway ;-) GREAT APP!!
Paganel
Paganel
Mar 22 2017
2.1.1d
5.0
Mar 22 2017
5.0
Version: 2.1.1d
Cool
Tim27
Tim27
Jan 14 2017
2.1.1d
5.0
Jan 14 2017
5.0
Version: 2.1.1d
Really impressed by this app, especially for the price. Works great, looks great, and very helpful on top of that.
Evolut
Evolut
Jan 22 2016
2.0.6
0.0
Jan 22 2016
0.0
Version: 2.0.6
Question: Is it possible to disable the Clipboard feature entirely? This is not a desirable feature a all! This feature is very dangerous because it saves everything you copy, INCLUDING Passwords, right? I am using 1Password to manage my hundreds of passwords. One way for 1Password to work is by temporarily copying the password, and there is a safety feature to remove the password from the clipboard after a set time (like 3minutes)... but with Unclutter, your passwords will be saved in an unsafe structure in parallel with 1Password. This is dangerous! I like the Files and Notes feature, but the clipboard saving is a deal breaker!
Sergesouszero
Sergesouszero
Jan 5 2016
2.0.6
5.0
Jan 5 2016
5.0
Version: 2.0.6
Very useful. I put the Unclutter folder in Dropbox. Easiest way I found to transfer my files to Dropbox. Like Gryphonent said below, the only thing missing is the ability to paste elements from Unclutter clipboard.
ylluminate
ylluminate
Jun 16 2015
2.0.5
0.0
Jun 16 2015
0.0
Version: 2.0.5
Still waiting for a return to dark theme... :(
eugene-krupnov
eugene-krupnov
Apr 17 2015
2.0
0.0
Apr 17 2015
0.0
Version: 2.0
Hi guys! Just wanted to say that Unclutter is 60% OFF until the end of this week.
jashodas
jashodas
Apr 14 2015
2.0
5.0
Apr 14 2015
5.0
Version: 2.0
Small and very handy software. Makes life easier when I have to move files from one folder to another, and when I copy a few pieces of text from different sources.
jashodas
jashodas
Apr 14 2015
2.0
5.0
Apr 14 2015
5.0
Version: 2.0
Small and very handy software. Makes life easier when I have to move files from one folder to another, and when I copy a few pieces of text from different sources.
StrictlyBagel
StrictlyBagel
Apr 10 2015
2.0
4.0
Apr 10 2015
4.0
Version: 2.0
Great all-in-one tool for the clipboard, files, and notes. I’d wish to have shortcut keys for selecting clipboard items though. It is a bit cumbersome to click on entries and then paste back the selection to wherever you want it to go.
Sasasushi
Sasasushi
Mar 25 2014
1.3.1
5.0
Mar 25 2014
5.0
Version: 1.3.1
This is an awesome little utility. It is attractive, unobtrusive and has a very small footprint memory-wise. Just a quick single-finger down gesture with my Magic Mouse at the top of the screen and I am presented with the clipboard, commonly-used files that used to clutter my desktop and perhaps most importantly of all, a notepad. It is well worth the purchase price.
Andrewm8
Andrewm8
Jan 2 2014
1.3
0.0
Jan 2 2014
0.0
Version: 1.3
I was using Unclutter for 2 weeks and the app is easy to use and quite useful - but I had to remove it because it slowed down the system boot time to a crawl. My OSX 10.9.1 booted from SSD in under 20 seconds before installing Unclutter - with Unclutter the full boot takes almost 2 minutes!!! Removed Unclutter and I'm back to < 20 sec boot time.
BiL-C
BiL-C
May 8 2013
1.2
5.0
May 8 2013
5.0
Version: 1.2
Unclutter + Hazel = clean desktop + easy access to files removed from the desktop. I set Hazel to move any files over 2 days old from my desktop to the Unclutter folder (which i placed in my home folder) now files that used to be on my desktop are much easier to access, and my desktop remains pristine.
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
May 7 2013
1.2
5.0
May 7 2013
5.0
Version: 1.2
This version cured a lot of problems .Everything works fine now.This is a 5 star application.
MacGrobo
MacGrobo
Apr 18 2013
1.0.1
5.0
Apr 18 2013
5.0
Version: 1.0.1
Excellent utility. I didn't know i need it until tried - it is an everyday part of my workflow ever since. Great idea, great execution.
zaydon
zaydon
Feb 1 2013
1.0.1
3.5
Feb 1 2013
3.5
Version: 1.0.1
As far as I can tell, anything in the files box is actually moved to an application support directory for unclutter. I have a lot of network and usb mounted drives on my desktop and I wanted to put them in unclutter and it started to move the whole contents of the drive locally.. doh. Otherwise, its OK. .0 to .1 cpu and 67.5MB RAM footprint.
kaviaz
kaviaz
Jan 31 2013
1.0.1
0.0
Jan 31 2013
0.0
Version: 1.0.1
Files in Unclutter's Folder can't be found with search! Because it is locate in Library Folder?
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Jan 22 2013
1.0.1
5.0
Jan 22 2013
5.0
Version: 1.0.1
Excellent App I bought it immediately.It is well worth the money. It is very handy to use sitting in the menubar Very nice GUI and very easy to use.
Julsa1
Julsa1
Dec 8 2012
1.0
4.5
Dec 8 2012
4.5
Version: 1.0
Nice app, very handy ! Would be even nicer if you could copy/past the content of the clipboard and use it as a clipboard manager as well. Gonna use this a lot, one of those little apps that makes productivity just a little more productive...