Back to Wi-Fi Crack page
Wi-Fi Crack free download for Mac

Wi-Fi Crack Reviews

2.1
26 March 2014

Wireless network cracking tool for OS X.

fuckthisname
29 January 2016

Most helpful

A.M.A.Z.I.N.G APP!! Thanks so much mate... really appreciate the work here. I was not interested in hacking a Wifi but I have moved to a new place and guess what, the new internet provider is just not working at all...and I can't work :/ So I spent 2 days trying to figure out how to crack a Wifi with Backtrack, but Backtrack wouldn't boot on a USB key with a Macbook Pro, you need a PC for that. Then I tried to run it through a Virtual Machine with VMWare Fusion but it would not recognize my Wifi card..well, it seemed impossible to even launch the attack, but thanks to your App which is amazingly simple to run I have made it!! You save my day and at least 1 week of work... Five stars! For the others who are reading this post, you need to install: -Xcode for Mac -Macports -Then run the command : sudo apt-get install aircrack-ng through the terminal (it may took some time to install aircrack) -then run the App of Coleman, you can have simultaneously the two terminal windows open (1 for sniffing the packets, the other for decrypting the key) -you need to wait before having the key decrypted (took an hour and half for me) -once it's decrypted, hit ctrl+c to remove the monitoring mode and access your wifi to a 'normal mode' THANKS AGAIN Bro!
Like (2)
Version 2.1

Read 48 Wi-Fi Crack User Reviews

Rate this app:

lalagriffin95
06 August 2019
I Want to use this medium in appreciating cyber golden hacker , after being ripped off my money,he helped me find my cheating lover he helped me hack her WHATSAPP, GMAIL and kik and i got to know that he was cheating on me, in less than 24 hours he helped me out with everything, cybergoldenhacker is trust worthy and affordable contact him on: cybergoldenhacker at gmail dot com
Like
Version 2.1
karim-elatiallah
24 May 2019
nice app
Like
Version 2.1
tyouggl
27 April 2018
good
Like
Version 2.1
steven-yeoh77
12 December 2016
Hi all experts, I just got my used macbook air with macos Sierra. I'm very new in this hacking things. Appreciated if someone could guide me step by step from type of software needed, installation and the process for hacking the wifi to get password. Thank you very much.
Like
Version 2.1
ecnn2015
26 June 2016
Thank You For My Help excellent work. Regard www.Hit2k.com
Like
Version 2.1
ee-lin
03 February 2016
i am facing problem. When i launch the wifi crack, try to scan network, nothing appears. can some pls help. i have install the following: - xcode 7.2 - command line 10.10 - macports - wificrack
Like (1)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
yara-friend
yara-friend
31 March 2016
Because there are no networks with WEP security around you. Nowadays it's veeeery hard to find the net with WEP type of encryption.
Like (1)
fuckthisname
29 January 2016
A.M.A.Z.I.N.G APP!! Thanks so much mate... really appreciate the work here. I was not interested in hacking a Wifi but I have moved to a new place and guess what, the new internet provider is just not working at all...and I can't work :/ So I spent 2 days trying to figure out how to crack a Wifi with Backtrack, but Backtrack wouldn't boot on a USB key with a Macbook Pro, you need a PC for that. Then I tried to run it through a Virtual Machine with VMWare Fusion but it would not recognize my Wifi card..well, it seemed impossible to even launch the attack, but thanks to your App which is amazingly simple to run I have made it!! You save my day and at least 1 week of work... Five stars! For the others who are reading this post, you need to install: -Xcode for Mac -Macports -Then run the command : sudo apt-get install aircrack-ng through the terminal (it may took some time to install aircrack) -then run the App of Coleman, you can have simultaneously the two terminal windows open (1 for sniffing the packets, the other for decrypting the key) -you need to wait before having the key decrypted (took an hour and half for me) -once it's decrypted, hit ctrl+c to remove the monitoring mode and access your wifi to a 'normal mode' THANKS AGAIN Bro!
Like (2)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
linkhusnain
linkhusnain
09 September 2016
Installed everything smoothly...when i open this app and try to scan network by selecting the MAC, it gives the error "operation could not be completed". Do you have any idea what is it?
Like
12324324535
08 August 2015
Getting the error: syntax error near unexpected token `(' can anybody help? P.S. Tt seems i'm not the only one having this problem.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
ytavlin
ytavlin
12 January 2016
I'm having the same problem. Can anyone help????????????
Like
ragon-2010
10 April 2015
Someone PLEASE help! I downloaded the Wi-Fi Crack program. When I load it I select my MAC address and click next. When I click next it takes me to the screen where presumably I should be able to see all available networks. All it says is "parameter error". What does this mean and how can I fix it?
Like
Version 2.1
j-v-1020
30 March 2015
Here's a good tutorial on how to use it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3bSmi43ZxfY
Like
Version 2.1
JessicaM
10 February 2015
Having trouble getting WiFi Crack to start. Already downloaded xcode and aircrack, all that seems ok. When I open the WifiCrack zip file it has some folders and files but nothing that opens like an app. So I click on the xcode file and a window opens up that looks like I can "build" the app? So I click the Play button then an error shows up, that it couldn't build WifiCrack because - "myappsfolder/Wi-Fi-Crack-master/Wi-Fi Crack/Wi-Fi Crack/WFCInterfaceSelectionViewController.m:122:43: Property 'deviceAttached' not found on object of type 'CWInterface *' Could someone please tell me hot to get wificrack working on yosemite 10.02? Hope that error message helps you tell me what I need to do next THANK YOU
Like
Version 2.1
LizBo
01 February 2015
Amazing job ColemanCDA. This worked like a dream with 10.9.5. After years of not being able to test any WEP networks with KisMac this was a godsend. As many others I initially got the “image not found” or “wrong architecture” errors with Wi-fi Crack because I was missing needed files and copying them from elsewhere also resulted in headaches. I installed Xcode 6.11, Xcode 6 command line tools, MacPort 2.33 and then I simply typed in to terminal “sudo port install aircrack-ng”. Then it was a matter of patience waiting for enough IVs to decrypt the key. Worked 100% on 3 WEP networks tested on different days and locales. Any hope ColemanCDA would consider adding a simple wpa/wpa2 dictionary attack feature? Thanks a million and best of luck with your iOS projects. Note to self and any one reading this: The decrypted WEP key from Wi-fi Crack is supplied to you as hex so just enter the password without colons and forget about converting it to ascii. lol
Like (2)
Version 2.1
2 answer(s)
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
26 February 2015
Thanks dude. When I have time I'll look into WPA. Mainly the issue is that the Mac's built-in hardware doesn't support sniffing or injecting into WPA.
Like (1)
kennyrivas
kennyrivas
05 March 2015
I did the same, and I get this "Failed. Next try with 5000 IVs." Any idea?
Like
ingebx
19 December 2014
When i try to scan for networks it cant find any. Does it only detect wep encrypted networks ? Kismac finds 15 wpa networks, but no wep networks..
Like
Version 2.1
pnpeedj
29 November 2014
hi , i need help , im getting an error message : The operation could not be completed ,=> com.apple.wifi.apple80211API,error error -3903, and the wifi on my macbook pro is on monitor mode. Could you please advise me for handle it thx
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
j-boubekeur
j-boubekeur
04 April 2015
Hi, i hope that you resolved this problem ?
i have the same and i didn't find yet how to fix it ? please would let me know if you can help ?
Like
GeogProf
12 November 2014
Does Wi-Fi Crack contain its own version of Aircrack-ng? If so, can it be used to crack WPA networks by entering Aircrack-ng commands in the Terminal on OS 10.7 or 10.8?
Like
Version 2.1
gonzod5029
07 August 2014
Pretty awesome mate, thanks for this. Now, I tried it out but it's giving me a wrong password. should it be the one between the brackets on the terminal, right? Starting PTW attack with 305074 ivs. KEY FOUND! [ ************* ] Decrypted correctly: 100%
Like
Version 2.1
Loconasc7617
30 July 2014
Hi mate, Trying to use this software but cant figure out how... Im not a teckhy and cant understand half the comments here. I et this note Last login: Wed Jul 30 11:00:45 on ttys001 Lourencos-MacBook-Air:~ locas$ "/Users/locas/Downloads/Wi-Fi Crack.app/Contents/Resources/aircrack-ng" -a 1 -b 50:7e:5d:67:ce:6f /private/tmp/airportSniff*.cap dyld: Library not loaded: /opt/local/lib/libssl.1.0.0.dylib Referenced from: /Users/locas/Downloads/Wi-Fi Crack.app/Contents/Resources/aircrack-ng Reason: image not found Trace/BPT trap: 5 Lourencos-MacBook-Air:~ locas$ whats the meaning of this? Ive downloaded the macports, but cant figure out how to use it.. can you explain in plain english how i can use this please...???? like step by step... many thanks L.
Like
Version 2.1
davidm2479
16 May 2014
Work good! but i need to know how can i make your apps to use my new alfa awus051nh! my card work good i have wifi on... but i cant use it with your apps i dont know how to use it :) Thanks i can only use my airport with your apps now but i need to use my awus thanks alot.
Like
Version 2.1
BramS3762
10 April 2014
Hi! I can't get it to work... I installed aircrack succesfully through Macports. When I start the "capturing"/airport tool, it shows this and stays here: sudo /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Apple80211.framework/Versions/Current/Resources/airport en1 sniff 6 Macbook-Bram-4:~ bramstadhouders$ sudo /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Apple80211.framework/Versions/Current/Resources/airport en1 sniff 6 Password: Capturing 802.11 frames on en1. When I open the "crack" tool, it says this: "/Users/bramstadhouders/Downloads/Wi-Fi Crack.app/Contents/Resources/aircrack-ng" -a 1 -b 1e:b0:94:a7:25:ac /private/tmp/airportSniff*.cap Macbook-Bram-4:~ bramstadhouders$ "/Users/bramstadhouders/Downloads/Wi-Fi Crack.app/Contents/Resources/aircrack-ng" -a 1 -b 1e:b0:94:a7:25:ac /private/tmp/airportSniff*.cap Opening /private/tmp/airportSniffX3wj3Z.cap Opening /private/tmp/airportSniffYppE6d.cap Opening /private/tmp/airportSniffkN86jl.cap Opening /private/tmp/airportSniffr5ndMy.cap Got no data packets from target network! Hope someone knows how I can solve this? Thanks!
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
TheRoxzilla
TheRoxzilla
09 July 2014
This is not a problem with the Wi-Fi Crack software. The problem is that they network you are trying to "troubleshoot" has not procured enough data to begin the cracking process. This may be due to a lack of network activity, or you are too far away from the base station. You can either "troubleshoot" a more activity network, or if it possible, connect a device to the network and generate network activity. The presumption, is that you are testing your own network. This means you should have the password to login. If you connect another device to the network, and download a large file, things will go much quicker. In the unlikely even that you forgot "your" password, and are using this to "recover" your own password. You will just have to be more patient, and/or move closer to the base station and await more network activity.
Like
AntoineT5234
03 April 2014
Hello, 1st of all thank you so much for your powerful tool.. I've been saving IVs for 4 days (reaching about 300,000), but when I quit and reopened the app it all started from the beginning :( I tried to find the old airportSniff files in /private/tmp/ but it seems that they disappeared. Would you think of any way to get them back or should I just be patient and start again from the beginning? Thanks in advance for your answer
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
04 April 2014
Unfortuneately you have to start from the beginning. But unless you restart your computer your temporary files should still be there. A cool thing you can do is have the packet sniffer tool open and aircrack-ng open at the same time (make sure to have at least a couple hundred packets at least) and very 500 IVs aircrack will try to crack the packets again until it finds it. If you're cracking a network of some activity, then you should be able to sniff enough packets in 30 min.
Like (2)
GeogProf
30 March 2014
Version 2.1 still does not work on OS 10.7. On my Late-2006 Intel 2.16 GHz iMac, after I've selected an interface (there's only one option -- en1) and clicked 'Next,' then clicked 'Scan' I always immediately get the error message "Parameter error."
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
31 March 2014
I'm sorry to hear that. Please attach a screenshot including the Terminal window visible to alseycmiller (at) gmail (dot) com and I'll try to see what I can do. Thanks for being a Wi-Fi Crack user since its first release :)
Like (1)
dontphunk242
26 March 2014
Hello, I'm experiencing the same issue as GeoProf with this new version. I'm running 10.9.2 on a Macbook Pro Retina. "GeoProf commented on 18 Jun 2013 A great app. However, recently I discovered that the cracking function won't work. Whenever I initiate the crack command, I get the following error message in the Terminal: "Last login: Tue Jun 18 07:18:23 on ttys001 "/Applications/Wi-Fi Crack.app/Contents/Resources/aircrack-ng" -a 1 -b 00:25:f2:9a:dc:4c /private/tmp/airportSniff*.cap Jays-MacBook-Pro:~ JayBo$ "/Applications/Wi-Fi Crack.app/Contents/Resources/aircrack-ng" -a 1 -b 00:25:f2:9a:dc:4c /private/tmp/airportSniff*.cap dyld: Library not loaded: /opt/local/lib/libssl.1.0.0.dylib Referenced from: /Applications/Wi-Fi Crack.app/Contents/Resources/aircrack-ng Reason: image not found Trace/BPT trap: 5 Jays-MacBook-Pro:~ JayBo$"
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
27 March 2014
Have you installed AirCrack-NG through Macports?
Like (2)
GeogProf
20 March 2014
Hmmmm, I cannot get Wi-Fi Crack 2.0 to start up on a brand new Mac OS 10.7.5 installation on a Late-2006 iMac with an AirPort Extreme card. I installed OS 10.7 on a portable USB hard drive JUST so I could run Wi-Fi Crack (I just changed the startup disk in the System Preferences from the onboard 10.6.8 drive), so I'm flummoxed that it won't work. I double-click on Wi-Fi Crack, and after the icon expands ....... nothin'. Here's the console entries, in case anyone can help: 3/20/14 6:17:42.991 AM Wi-Fi Crack: Unable to load nib file: MainMenu, exiting 3/20/14 6:17:42.997 AM com.apple.launchd.peruser.501: ([0x0-0x67067].com.ColemanCDA.Wi-Fi-Crack[333]) Exited with code: 1 Any ideas? It's still impossible to contact the developer, so I must rely on the community here :)
Like
Version 2.0
GeogProf
20 March 2014
Hmmmm, I cannot get Wi-Fi Crack to start up on a brand new Mac OS 10.7 installation on a Late-2006 iMac with an AirPort Extreme card. I installed OS 10.7 on a portable USB hard drive JUST so I could run Wi-Fi Crack (I just changed the startup disk), so I'm flummoxed that it won't work. I double-click on Wi-Fi Crack, and after the icon expands ....... nothin'. Here's the console entries, in case anyone can help: 3/20/14 6:17:42.991 AM Wi-Fi Crack: Unable to load nib file: MainMenu, exiting 3/20/14 6:17:42.997 AM com.apple.launchd.peruser.501: ([0x0-0x67067].com.ColemanCDA.Wi-Fi-Crack[333]) Exited with code: 1 Any ideas? It's still impossible to contact the developer, so I must rely on the community here :)
Like (1)
Version 2.0
5 answer(s)
GeogProf
GeogProf
20 March 2014
Ooops, I meant to say it's a brand new OS 10.7.5 installation, not 10.7.
Like
GeogProf
GeogProf
20 March 2014
Also forgot to say I'm using Wi-Fi Crack 2.0.
Like
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
20 March 2014
Hi Geoprof, long time no see. The 2.0 update breaks compatibility with 10.7. I'll release an update to fix that.
Like (2)
GeogProf
GeogProf
20 March 2014
Thanks a bunch, ColemanCDA. I truly appreciate such a rapid response! GREAT app, by the way.
Like
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
26 March 2014
Just released 2.1 - fixed the Lion UI bug
Like (1)
BuzleaP5372
09 March 2014
Hy i'm running on mavericks 10.9.2 and encounted this /Applications/Wi-Fi Crack.app/Contents/Resources/aircrack-ng Reason: image not found command line installed....and so on. PS; why cannot do the cmd lines as in linux?
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
27 March 2014
Try installing aircrack-ng through MacPorts
Like (1)
markg3982
28 February 2014
No results when I scan, the interface i'm using is eh0, I can see WiFi networks via the network manager built into OSX though? Given 5 stars as I can see from other reviews this product works, and it looks 1000% easier to use than doing it via a linux startup disk like I've tried before
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
27 March 2014
This only works on WEP networks. Thats probably why you don't see any.
Like (1)
GeogProf
18 June 2013
A great app. However, recently I discovered that the cracking function won't work. Whenever I initiate the crack command, I get the following error message in the Terminal: "Last login: Tue Jun 18 07:18:23 on ttys001 "/Applications/Wi-Fi Crack.app/Contents/Resources/aircrack-ng" -a 1 -b 00:25:f2:9a:dc:4c /private/tmp/airportSniff*.cap Jays-MacBook-Pro:~ JayBo$ "/Applications/Wi-Fi Crack.app/Contents/Resources/aircrack-ng" -a 1 -b 00:25:f2:9a:dc:4c /private/tmp/airportSniff*.cap dyld: Library not loaded: /opt/local/lib/libssl.1.0.0.dylib Referenced from: /Applications/Wi-Fi Crack.app/Contents/Resources/aircrack-ng Reason: image not found Trace/BPT trap: 5 Jays-MacBook-Pro:~ JayBo$ Any ideas about how to fix Wi-Fi Crack? I've already restarted the app and my Mac, fixed the permissions, repaired the drive, and used DiskWarrior on it, but to no avail.
Like (1)
Version 1.03
3 answer(s)
GeogProf
GeogProf
20 June 2013
Is anyone else experiencing the problem listed in my comment above? I'd like to contact the developer about it, but there's no contact info anywhere in either the app or his website.
Like (3)
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
17 February 2014
Hey. sorry for the year delay. I rewrote the app from scratch and optimized it. I submitted it to MacUpdate and it should be on here soon. If you want it right now go to https://github.com/colemancda/Wi-Fi-Crack/releases/tag/2.0
Like (2)
GeogProf
GeogProf
17 February 2014
Any chance you made that new version run on OS 10.6.8?
Like (1)
Claod
10 May 2013
Hi, Is that possible to change the .cap files's directory (/private/tmp/*.cap) because I have to backup them before all restart/shutdown. Before they're purged
Like
Version 1.03
1 answer(s)
JadeDra5691
JadeDra5691
30 May 2013
Is it usual for it to take more than 5000 ivs to crack a wep?
Like (1)
demcanulty
10 May 2013
I was able to get things to work by using brew to install openssl and then copying over two library folders to the opt/local/lib folder. Seems to be working pretty well now. Also I think some of the users aren't waiting long enough after hitting ctrl+c in airport. It's a little sluggish to quit, but if you wait after you see the ^C it will close itself out nicely and return the wireless to its normal condition. It does not, however, choose your wireless network for you, but that's not a huge deal, and that's airport doing that, not the GUI. If you have the code posted anywhere, I'd be interested in poking through. I don't know much about Objective C, but this seems like a fun project and the automation is very convenient!
Like (1)
Version 1.03
5 answer(s)
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
10 May 2013
I made it open source if you wanna fork. https://github.com/colemancda/Wi-Fi-Crack keep in mind that this was the second app i made when i was learning Cocoa, no its not the best, but its very convenient. Unfortunately I'm a full-time iOS developer now so I don't have time to update this. It is very hard to make a frontend to already compiled binaries (in contrast to frameworks) and the airport tool is a private apple framework so there's no support for that :(
Like (1)
demcanulty
demcanulty
10 May 2013
Thanks! I know just what you mean about getting busy, it's very hard to keep apps up-to-date. Thanks for sharing though, I didn't know anything about aircrack-ng before playing with this.
Like
WillL5130
WillL5130
26 August 2013
Hi demcanulty, were you receiving the image not found error as well? Which is an error linked to a missing library. I have installed open ssl using brew, can you clarify which two folders you copied over to /opt/local/lib? Thanks
Like
demcanulty
demcanulty
26 August 2013
Sorry WillL5130, I don't remember at this point, I probably did a search for the files that were missing using EasyFind and then copied them to the folder where the program was looking for them.
Like
WillL5130
WillL5130
28 August 2013
In case anyone else is having the same problem, I've found the libraries which are causing problem: libssl.1.0.0.dylib libcrypto.1.0.0.dylib You need to install openssl with homebrew, macports : 'brew install openssl' If you are still encountering the problem then you need to find the libraries and place them in the proper place. You can use the following commands to find them: sudo find / -name 'libssl*' -print sudo find / -name 'libcrypto*' -print Now copy them over to /opt/local/lib/ with this: sudo cp [Insert directory found from above]/libssl.1.0.0.dylib /opt/local/lib/libssl.1.0.0.dylib sudo cp [Insert directory found from above]/libcrypto.1.0.0.dylib /opt/local/lib/libcrypto.1.0.0.dylib Now run the cracking command again to hopefully see the error disappear. Unfortunately in my case, and perhaps yours too, the rabbit hole goes deeper. I had to change the pcap dump directory from /private/tmp to /tmp. Also the software added (null) to the end of the command (should be a value to relate to the -w) which I presume means you just have to remember to set a wordlist/dictionary in the WIFI crack settings. Also, you might want to change the attack mode. The command is currently set to WPA/WPA2-PSK it seems. -a Force attack mode (1 = static WEP, 2 = WPA/WPA2-PSK). Handy link here with all the possible flags (options).. http://www.aircrack-ng.org/doku.php?id=aircrack-ng
Like
it does what it says, for free. he didnt write aircrack-ng but ill still give him props for the useful, nagware-free, program.
Like (2)
Version 1.03
1 answer(s)
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
16 April 2013
Thank you. This was the 2nd Mac app i wrote when I started Objective-C programming and I hope it doesn't suck. I tried to make a GUI for a very advanced command line tool, so it wasn't easy.
Like (1)
GeogProf
26 February 2013
Does anyone know if Wi-Fi Crack can collect IVs for a period of time, then be turned off for a while in order to restart the computer or surf the web, and then turn Wi-Fi Crack’s IV collecting on again to pick up collecting IVs right where you left off without losing any of the IVs you’ve already collected? Also, how do we make the AirPort card go back to its normal mode without having to restart the computer? Also, I discovered that Wi-Fi Crack's IV collecting builds up a humongous file (/private/tmp/airportSniffm/M7Xlk.cap) that evidently is where it stores IVs while it’s collecting them. I have one now that’s 24 GB! When you turn off Wi-Fi Crack or restart the computer, does that file automatically purge itself to reclaim all that disk space, or should we nuke it ourselves? One last thing: do everyone else’s Macs slow down massively while collecting IVs like my Mid-2012 2.9 GHz i7 MacBook Pro does? Is there a way to alleviate this without shutting down Wi-Fi Crack and/or restarting the computer?
Like (1)
Version 1.03
1 answer(s)
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
16 April 2013
Sorry for the delayed reply, I'm an iOS developer now and I work full time. I did not put that file in the tmp folder, the command line tool did. But no worries, when you restart your computer its erased. I made sure of it. As for your first question, you HAVE to end the sniff command line tool with 'ctrl + c', if you do that there's no need to restart your computer.
Like (1)
GeogProf
13 December 2012
I’ve used this successfully on WEP networks, but how do I use it to crack a WPA Personal network (with only my new MacBook Pro’s AirPort card)? I have scoured the web and read about a dozen aircrack-ng tutorials (and even understood some of them), but I can’t figure out how to Aircrack a WPA network using Wi-Fi Crack. Is it possible?
Like (1)
Version 1.03
GeogProf
08 December 2012
Fantastic app! But, I wish it could run on OS 10.6.8.
Like (1)
Version 1.03
shane1800
06 December 2012
Very helpful software works well with WEP networks.
Like (1)
Version 1.03
1 answer(s)
shane1800
shane1800
06 December 2012
Can this software be used for dictionary attacks against WPA? I tried but an error made it seem like this was not possible.
Like
Exp
24 November 2012
I have it working now. Installed it using Xcode. iMac (10.8.2) Thanks Coleman. Hope you maintain it and improve on it.
Like (1)
Version 1.03
David29
19 November 2012
Can you use the built-in Airport hardware on a MBPro to get the full functionality of this app? Or must you get some different type of Wi-Fi capability (like a USB WiFi interface) in order to access all that it can do. Not that I would actually want or need to crack into a network (no, not at all...) I am just curious.
Like (1)
Version 1.03
1 answer(s)
David29
David29
20 November 2012
I would guess that WPA or WPA2 is next to impossible. If it IS, do I need another wireless card?
Like
mr-anderson
17 November 2012
with v1.0.3 i still can't get the app to start. the app will not start on MacBook Pro with 10.7.5 in both 32bit and 64bit mode. terminal says: objc[3519]: cannot form weak reference to instance (0x7fca7b64f8c0) of class NSPanel Illegal instruction: 4 strangely it starts in VMWare with 10.8.2 but there i'm not able to connect Airport or an external RT73 module. (the Ralink drivers are not signed for 10.8)
Like
Version 1.03
2 answer(s)
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
18 November 2012
Install through this .pkg http://colemancda.zxq.net/ColemanCDA/Blog/Entries/2012/11/18_Aircrack-NG_installer.html
Like (1)
mr-anderson
mr-anderson
18 November 2012
the package won't install... i had installed aircrack-ng through macports, maybe i have a newer version? The following files’ checksums did not match those specified in the package. The files may simply have been updated to a later version, or they may have been tampered with. Changed Files: /opt/local/bin/aircrack-ng /opt/local/bin/airdecap-ng /opt/local/bin/airdecloak-ng /opt/local/bin/ivstools /opt/local/bin/kstats /opt/local/bin/makeivs-ng /opt/local/bin/packetforge-ng /opt/local/sbin/airbase-ng /opt/local/sbin/aireplay-ng /opt/local/sbin/airodump-ng /opt/local/sbin/airserv-ng /opt/local/sbin/airtun-ng /opt/local/share/man/man1/airbase-ng.1.gz /opt/local/share/man/man1/aircrack-ng.1.gz /opt/local/share/man/man1/airdecap-ng.1.gz /opt/local/share/man/man1/airdecloak-ng.1.gz /opt/local/share/man/man1/airdriver-ng.1.gz /opt/local/share/man/man1/aireplay-ng.1.gz /opt/local/share/man/man1/airmon-ng.1.gz /opt/local/share/man/man1/airodump-ng.1.gz /opt/local/share/man/man1/airserv-ng.1.gz /opt/local/share/man/man1/airtun-ng.1.gz /opt/local/share/man/man1/ivstools.1.gz /opt/local/share/man/man1/kstats.1.gz /opt/local/share/man/man1/makeivs-ng.1.gz /opt/local/share/man/man1/packetforge-ng.1.gz
Like
Kankei71
17 November 2012
Interresting. But, who use WEP keys today?
Like (2)
Version 1.03
1 answer(s)
Frankof
Frankof
17 November 2012
enough people, actually :-)
Like
wantedboy420
17 November 2012
********-MacBook-Pro:~ *******$ "/Users/Mansoor/Downloads/Wi-Fi Crack.app/Contents/Resources/aircrack-ng" -a 2 -b 00:0e:f4:e2:bc:93 /private/tmp/airportSniff*.cap -w /Users/*******/Downloads/Wi-Fi%20Crack.app dyld: Library not loaded: /opt/local/lib/libssl.1.0.0.dylib Referenced from: /Users/*******/Downloads/Wi-Fi Crack.app/Contents/Resources/aircrack-ng Reason: image not found Trace/BPT trap: 5 ********-MacBook-Pro:~ *******$
Like
Version 1.03
6 answer(s)
Exp
Exp
17 November 2012
Same here! I thought he would fix that first. ;-(
Like
Frankof
Frankof
17 November 2012
still not fixed - what's the point of releasing an update if it does not fix the major bug that breaks the program for the majority of people?
Like
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
18 November 2012
Install aircrack-ng through MacPorts to fix that error.
Like
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
18 November 2012
here's a precompiled installer for its dependencies. http://colemancda.zxq.net/ColemanCDA/Blog/Entries/2012/11/18_Aircrack-NG_installer.html if this fixes the problem please tell me.
Like
wantedboy420
wantedboy420
18 November 2012
ColemanCDA no it didn't worked. The installation failed, it couldn't install some files in "\". This is the message i got when installation failed.
Like
Exp
Exp
18 November 2012
ColemanCDA, it failed here too, (10.8.2).
Like
GeogProf
17 November 2012
It’s even faster now? Yippee!
Like
Version 1.03
mr-anderson
15 November 2012
the app will not start on MacBook Pro with 10.7.5 in both 32bit and 64bit mode. terminal says: objc[3519]: cannot form weak reference to instance (0x7fca7b64f8c0) of class NSPanel Illegal instruction: 4 strangely it starts in VMWare with 10.8.2 but there i'm not able to connect Airport or an external RT73 module.
Like (1)
Version 1.02
2 answer(s)
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
16 April 2013
Download and use the latest version.
Like
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
17 February 2014
Download the 2.0 version https://github.com/colemancda/Wi-Fi-Crack/releases/tag/2.0
Like
Frankof
11 November 2012
This program has two major flaws: First, as pointed out by many others below, the program does not allow to leave monitor mode. The developer says you can stop sniffing with command+c but that does not work on my machine (running on 10.8.2). Instead, it prints out ^c. The easiest way I found to stop this was sudo kill [pid] with the pid of "airport" found by the top command. Second, the program relies on a library /opt/local/lib/libssl.1.0.0.dylib which is not provided, and there is no hint where to get this library from. I guess it comes from some Mac ports, and the developer does not realize that most other users do not have this library installed on the computers. Apart from these two problems, the second of which make the program useless for cracking in its current form, it seems to be nice and potentially useful.
Like (1)
Version 1.02
2 answer(s)
Frankof
Frankof
11 November 2012
the error message Terminal gives me is: dyld: Library not loaded: /opt/local/lib/libssl.1.0.0.dylib Referenced from: /Users/myname/wherever/Wi-Fi Crack.app/Contents/Resources/aircrack-ng Reason: image not found Trace/BPT trap: 5 about quitting, you're right that it actually terminates after some time (at least half a minute in my case) - this has escaped my notice before.
Like
Jaguar-Mu
Jaguar-Mu
13 November 2012
Hi ColemanCDA, Thanks for your app! I get the same problem as Frankof: The running of "...aircrack-ng" -a 1 -b 76:94:8a:a3:d0:14 /private/tmp/airportSniff*.cap" in the Terminal returns: dyld: Library not loaded: /opt/local/lib/libssl.1.0.0.dylib Referenced from: /Applications/Wi-Fi Crack.app/Contents/Resources/aircrack-ng Reason: image not found Trace/BPT trap: 5 I'm using Mac OS X 10.8.2. And I checked that the files *.cap were in the /private/tmp/ folder.
Like
GeogProf
11 November 2012
Many thanks to Wi-Fi Crack’s developer for helping to rectify a grave injustice. When I was emailed an MPAA-type warning for BitTorrenting ‘The Dark Knight Rises’ (which I didn’t do), I eventually discovered that my neighbor had cracked into my wifi network and was file sharing late at night on my dime. He denied it, of course, but my bandwidth drain ceased for over a week after I confronted him about it. Sadly, now he’s at it again. Not wanting to ruin the peace of our otherwise happy cul-de-sac by reporting him to the cable company, or the NSA, or whoever’s job it is to investigate wifi filchery, I instead turned to KisMac to fight fire with fire by cracking my thieving neighbor’s own wifi network and turning the tables in some benignly clever way. But it was the first time I ever used KisMac, and it was a nightmare. It wouldn’t run on my Mountain Lion Macs, so I had to borrow a friend’s older MacBook Pro. It took forever to learn how to use it, and then I discovered that my AirPort card severely restricts its capabilities. And what KisMac can do is done very S L O W L Y — after two days of hard and tedious work, I was still locked out. Then I happened upon Wi-Fi Crack, and it broke my neighbor’s WEP key in under three hours with minimal effort! So thanks a bunch, Coleman! Now I just need to devise a clever way to use this power on my neighbor without starting a feud.
Like (1)
Version 1.02
2 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
11 November 2012
Change your password again (first), then change the name of your network (second), then make your network invisible (third). That should help damper your neighbor. Also, you have the right to call the police - it has been determined legally that if a wifi network is password protected it is secured. Your neighbor is breaking quite a few laws.
Like (1)
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
12 November 2012
BTW, change to WPA encryption so your neighbour can't crack your Wi-Fi.
Like (1)
Edified
11 November 2012
Includes aircrack-ng but depends on opt/local/lib/libssl.1.0.0.dylib which isn't included.
Like
Version 1.02
Alan-Morales
11 November 2012
It works perfectly. Easy, fast and quick. And Coleman help me all the time on twitter.
Like (1)
Version 1.02
Bottacco
08 November 2012
Hi Coleman. I have tried your utility and it is not working for me. I am running OS X 10.8.2 and after capturing packets I go to the crack tab, click the crack button only to obtain the following message in Terminal.app: Machine:~ user$ "/Applications/Wi-Fi Crack.app/Contents/Resources/aircrack-ng" -a 2 -b 11:22:33:44:55:66 /private/tmp/airportSniff*.cap -w (null) -l /Users/user/Desktop/WiFiKey -bash: syntax error near unexpected token `(' (For security reasons I have changed my machine name, my user name and the MAC address). I have tried to find a way to send you a private email in your web site but none was found, so I decided to leave you a message here. I think your utility is nice but it is not very intuitive right now in the sense that to select an interface or network you just click on it making it blue but there is no actual checkbox to select it, so it doesn't follow Human Interface Guidelines... just in case you care about it ;) Cheers from Spain
Like (2)
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
Antoinesynopsis
Antoinesynopsis
08 November 2012
Exactly the same issue here.
Like
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
08 November 2012
Thank you for your feedback I'll take it into account and try to make it better. Apparently -w option is a word dictionary, and your output is (null) so you selected a dictionary or are cracking WPA but did not select a dicitonary file.
Like (2)
Bottacco
Bottacco
09 November 2012
Ok, perfect. Thanks for your reply.
Like
Rafdella
08 November 2012
Very, very disappointed. The link to developper URL is inavailable and app cracked continuously. I dont know where to send crack output. This it is one true jockey.
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Hdms
Hdms
08 November 2012
A simple reboot will restore wifi access.
Like (1)
sjk
sjk
08 November 2012
The dev site link here works now. This blog post has minimal info: ColemanCDA http://colemancda.zxq.net/ColemanCDA/Blog/Entries/2012/11/7_Wi-Fi_Crack.html
Like (1)
Higherterrain
08 November 2012
Don't bother with this app until Alsey adds the ability to revert back to the network that you originally were on before testing the network for a crack.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
6 answer(s)
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
08 November 2012
Could you please explain your complaint again? I don't understand. You can select the 'Network' tab to see the selected wi-fi network or change the selection. "the network that you originally were on before testing the network for a crack"? When you try WEP or WPA cracking the selected network does not change, the command line tool uses the selected network as an argument.
Like
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
08 November 2012
You mean you want the app to restore connectivity to the last connected network of the selected interface. I'm sorry this is a GUI for an advanced command-line tool. People that use Aircrack-ng are normally pro linux users and security experts. I think that people can manually connect back to their Wi-Fi networks after running an advanced cracking command-line tool that puts their Wi-Fi card in Monitor Mode. This is a GUI for aircrack-ng. Honestly the feature of restoring network connectivity to the selected interface is totally irrelevant and unnecessary for a tool like this. OS X 10.8's own "Wi-Fi Diagnostics" tool puts your card in monitor mode and doesn't restore connectivity after it finishes capturing packets. And Apple knows the code of their own private frameworks. I don't. I'm using an OS X private framework command-line tool to put the selected network interface in monitor mode. Putting your card into monitor mode for scanning packets is not a operation a normal OS X user, that expects the command line tool to restore connectivity, would use. I am a little offended that you complain about my app for something as trivial as that. Please complain about a real error or lack of a key feature. You can always restore connectivity to your Mac by going to the toolbar, clicking on the Airport icon and selecting a network in range.
Like (1)
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
08 November 2012
Seriously? YOU ARE PUTTING YOUR WI-FI CARD IN MONITOR MODE! What do you expect? Have you ever used KisMac or Wireshark? You're using an advanced feature, only available since OS X 10.5, that tells the selected interface's driver to do an advanced feature only available on Atheros and a handful of other Wi-Fi chips. And you complain about having to go to your toolbar and reconnect to a network? Nobody that cracks Wi-Fi keys would say "Don't bother with this app" about a feature as trivial as that and one that NO Wi-fi cracking or sniffing tool that I know of does. I really can't believe that you have have the guts to comment something as ignorant as that.
Like (1)
Antoinesynopsis
Antoinesynopsis
08 November 2012
Hi. I had the same issue than Higherterrain : after using your software, I was unable to restore my wifi : I was stuck in Monitor Mode and none of wifi was available in my menu bar or in my network prefpan neither the wifi diagnostic. So don't be offended and insulting if your soft doesn't work exactly the same way on all computers... I use 10.8.2, macbook pro 15, mid 2012. Anyway, a reboot put things in order.
Like (2)
Bottacco
Bottacco
08 November 2012
Hi again Coleman. I don't care about the revert to previous network. I use KissMac and WireShark and I do understand what you say, but should state in the app info so users know from the first moment that this is an advanced user program.
Like (1)
ColemanCDA
ColemanCDA
08 November 2012
I understand, thank you for the feedback. If that is the case, you want to EXIT monitor mode, it is very simple. You do not need to reboot. In the command line tool use the control+c combination to put your wifi card in its original state.
Like