Back to doo page
doo free download for Mac

doo Reviews

2.7.1
11 January 2014

A document organizer.

Derekcurrie
04 June 2013

Most helpful

Doo phones home to Google Analytics. The only reason to do so to my knowledge is to allow Google surveillance of my computer behavior. If your app is going to surveil my computer use, then ASK MY PERMISSION FIRST, DAMMIT. I have used my reverse firewall Little Snitch to deny Doo access to Google Analytics forever. I suggest other folks with reverse firewalls consider doing the same.
Like (17)
Version 1.2

Read 24 doo User Reviews

Rate this app:

Rob-h
14 February 2014
Just had an email from the company saying... "It is with a heavy heart we have to announce that “doo – the document app” will be shutting down on Monday, March 17, 2014."
Like
Version 2.7.1
6 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
16 February 2014
Full story here: https://doo.net/story.htm
Like
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
19 February 2014
Although not a user I'm still sad to hear popular and useful apps going under. I wish the Doo team future successes.
Like
Tonycr
Tonycr
08 July 2014
Well, I screwed up. I had doo for a long time and uninstalled it when I heard it was going away. However, I didn't consider that I have some docs still on my Mac. Is there any way you can post the last releases for Mac and Windows so that we can install? Thanks.
Like
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
08 July 2014
@ Tonycr: Bummer. However, as long as you have your files stored locally, there might be hop. Go to this page and submit a support request: https://support.doo.net/hc/en-us/requests/new an see if they'll send you a copy. Since it's been available on on the App Store, I don't think there's any other avenue open to you.
Like
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
08 July 2014
Spelling corrections on last post, "hop" should be "hope". "an" should be "and". "on on" should be "on". Sheesh, Time for more coffee.
Like
Tonycr
Tonycr
08 July 2014
@prince_isaac Thanks for the reply. I wasn't too awake when I wrote it either. The documents are local and they are all in directories as the usual files. All is OK.
Like
Robertcoogan
24 December 2013
Although this only failed me with respect to one problem, Mindplay hit the nail on the head. Do you really need a collector that links to a collector? I already have Evernote. The one thing I had an issue with was I was not able to change, add, or otherwise modify my local folder. Irritating.
Like
Version 2.6.3
Mindplay
21 November 2013
So you want me to collect Evernote notes inside doo?!? Why should one do that? To collect a collector? It’s funny, Evernote’s icon is the only one grayed out on their website. Doo? Doh!! http://t.co/f2MdbI0lH4
Like (1)
Version 2.6.1
burkanov
18 November 2013
The latest versions are hard to rate due to their extrem instability. Actually, I don't even manage to get this app running - though being downloaded and installed from the App Store to the 10.9 on a very capable machine. The app is so broken, that it even doesn't manage to send crash reports (as this feature is also totally broken). There is nothing to rate, the software doesn't exist.
Like
Version 2.5
burkanov
17 September 2013
Overall quite stable, but it's sorting is very hard to use (when possible at all) - a traditional spread-sheet like columns sorting would help much more. And the tagging is, similar to the first version, complicated and over-authomated. Generally, "doo" is an interesting experiment, but not really useful.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Sheagirl
07 September 2013
Ok I am really liking this program. Adding documents has been a breeze, syncing has worked well (only used twice) and the UI is nice. I have not had one crash and all is relatively easy to figure out…some documentation or a forum would be helpful. Just got it set up on my iPad as well and syncs went very well. I have a couple questions/concerns dev if you happen to be monitoring. 1. Is there a way to create a hierarical organization (folders) on the IOS version like the desktop version. Or at least link to each folder via tag? Here is what I mean. I connect my folders and bring files I have sorted on my drive indexed by doo. However, once I link the folders (3 or 4) I can open docs by folder so when I search within doo I am searching within a specific folder when on the desktop . On the IOS I just get a bunch of files regurgitated which requires me to sort through unrelated documents to find the file I need. I am aware of tags etc, but am not ready to review and verify tagging on each document prior to use. 2. Please create a forum on your site so users can share and learn without having to submit a formal request to support with each question. I have dealt with the phone home issues using Little Snitch without any problems so far. I have been a long time Devonthink user and as good as Devonthink is doo is just easier to use and the interface is so much better. Not sure i will not use Devonthink going forward but doo has taken it's place for right now.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Cookie08
27 July 2013
The bring problem is it is sloooow indexing, time line areas good leap is much faster does not create huge index file reloads much faster can search for any file the system can see also has time based sections etc.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.2
Derekcurrie
04 June 2013
Doo phones home to Google Analytics. The only reason to do so to my knowledge is to allow Google surveillance of my computer behavior. If your app is going to surveil my computer use, then ASK MY PERMISSION FIRST, DAMMIT. I have used my reverse firewall Little Snitch to deny Doo access to Google Analytics forever. I suggest other folks with reverse firewalls consider doing the same.
Like (17)
Version 1.2
Shiny22
04 May 2013
I downloaded this and ran it for about 10 days. Yes, I'm looking for an alternative to DevonThink that's easier on the eyes - doesn't have to match all the features, but come close would be good. Well this is certainly a better looking app, no doubt about it. I threw a folder with some 500 pdfs in it and a DevonThink db, as it happens, and left it overnight. I came back and all the indexing etc was done. But it was still hammering the processor. Removed the DevonThink db and that problem was solved. The good news: the searching includes find by content. So, stick in your terms and it'll show you which of the 500 pdfs have that terms. Downside, it won't show you where in the pdfs the term occurs, so then you need to open each one and search within it, in turn. DevonThink will show you the instances, and also rate them by relevance. So, if you're in a research or academic setting this doesn't really come close. However, if you're not, then you might have a winner here. And the price is certainly right. One thing I didn't like were the built-in categories - companies and so on. It also writes keywords to the pdfs and doesn't tell you it's doing that - which means if you import the document to another app they all show up, and frankly, not useful. So, you get what you pay for. If your usage is light, then this is a good looking app that will index your files and offer limited search results. If not, then you can hope that one day Devon hire an interface designer… At least that's what I'm back to hoping for. It really is a very powerful very ugly beast... BTW. Had a couple of interactions with tech support during my trial and they were prompt and courteous.
Like (4)
Version 1.2
Wchnlcc
04 May 2013
Won't start, keeps crashing, now I can't even get it to erset anymore... iMac 2010, ML 10.8.3
Like
Version 1.2
Sheagirl
23 April 2013
This is a qualified review as the iOS version is not available yet. But if this continues to improve it will replace programs like Devonthink for me because of it's ease of use and quick setup. I am not saying that Devonthink is not a great program although a little long in the tooth with a UI that is in desperate need of update but this program is up and running in a flash. My observations may not apply to all but I usually keep a very neat file system (part of my compulsive personality i'm sure) but once things are in the correct folders that is as far as it gets. I am aware of spotlight but I find it a bit cumbersome when I want something now. And since I am pretty good at getting things to the folder level Doo just takes it from there. It is so easy to just link my database to a folder and have visual copies of all the docs in the folder synced and updated without any work on my part. I am currently the administrator of an estate for someone who died recently and keeping track of all the court docs, deposits, checks etc is a pain. But now they all go into a folder that is backed up daily via my regular backup routine and is accessible via Doo whenever I have to produce a copy for one of the many attorneys, banks or family members. With Devonthink I had to add the doc to the data base/inbox sorter and then file in the folder and because I am busy one or the other just doesn't always happen. No longer a problem. I tried to do this in Devonthink but it was to much work and why bother when Doo will do the trick. I admit I am not the best when it comes to scripting so this works well for me. Not so sure I will ever move to the on line part of things, personal data on someone else's server makes me very nervous but keep up the good work developers and lets get on with the iOS version. I wonder if the iOS version will sync with the desktop version without going through their servers??
Like (2)
Version 1.1
MacMec
22 April 2013
Lean and clean interface with innovative Search and Filtering. I prefer Doo over Evernote or DevonThink.
Like (2)
Version 1.1
baxsur
22 April 2013
Very Clever and quite useful. Took me a while (I'm nor very bright) to understand that I could search any or all local folders. The Date Bar at the top is brilliant!
Like (2)
Version 1.1
Edu-mac
03 April 2013
It requires 10.8 and any other older mac os version
Like (2)
Version 1.0.7
1 answer(s)
Surfspirit
Surfspirit
04 May 2013
Yes, I also agree that the system requirements are completely nonsense!
Like
Garyi
24 March 2013
Its the same old story. this is doing nothing more than spotlight really. For instance it does not see or read indesign documents. the easy answer is to blame adobe, I agree, but whats the use of this programme that spotlight is not doing apart from a different interface? Or ADC or picassa or what ever? If it cannot do all user created documents, then its a fail.
Like (6)
Version 1.0.7
VM1910
13 March 2013
I have tons of documents. I've tried lots of other solutions that are really helpful, but none that take on the whole kit and kaboodle like doo. I also really like the look, nice and sleak!
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
QZabo
12 March 2013
doo is powerful, looks great and is coming soon for iOS! A lot of people criticise a new, ambitious app because it doesn't perform exactly to their specifications when it first comes out. But doo for OS X is already running well--now; given that it endeavours to expand features as well as platforms in future, I can only look forward to watching it progress.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.5
touchdown
12 March 2013
I downloaded this app the first day it was in the store, and I was just getting into it when I made the mistake of misplacing my home folder like Somnus. But their support got back to me quickly, and I fixed the issue - didn't seem to be that big of a deal. Anyway, I now have the new version and it basically does what it says (except the one crash I experienced. Support provided me with a workaround for this quickly as well). I'm pleased so far and excited to see what the new version will bring!
Like (2)
Version 1.0.5
BillSampson2440
12 March 2013
I just downloaded this app a couple of days ago. I hadn't much paid attention to it until today. When I opened it up all the folders I'd connected to it (email, Dropbox and my documents folder) were organized for me. That was pretty cool, because I am what you might call disorganized. This app has this really cool index that lets me choose by what sort of doc it was (really important because I have a lot of invoices) and open it up in the place it is originally saved. Definitely worth it, for people like me, and I think also for people who are anal about their docs.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.5
RRR1964
12 March 2013
I was impressed with their initial App Store release, but 1.0.5 is really nice. It runs smoothly on both my internal drives and has helped me organize and sync loads of documents.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.5
1 answer(s)
burkanov
burkanov
30 March 2013
Just wondering when doo will stop featuring their software with numerous nice-to-haves and will pay attention to must-be-theres. An EagleFiler lacks sync, but in terms of usability and productivity is light years ahead.
Like
Somnus
01 March 2013
Once home folder is located , it can't be modified from preferences. and cannot connect with external drive folders... I'll stick on iDocument for now.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.2
3 answer(s)
Ben-p-Williams
Ben-p-Williams
05 March 2013
Sorry you're having that problem, Somnus! That's an issue we're very familiar with, actually, and one that we will address in coming versions. For now you can reset doo by closing it and reopening the app while pressing SHIFT + CMD. You'll be asked to give a new base folder again. Afterwards you can safely move the documents from the wrong base folder to the new one and delete the old one or just make a new start with the new folder. Hope this helped!
Like (2)
Mountabe
Mountabe
06 March 2013
Somnus makes me want to get on antidepressants.
Like (1)
Somnus
Somnus
15 March 2013
Sorry, English is not my native language. I'm not sure if I did get what Mountabe meant Thanks for the help, Ben_p_Williams. Actually It didn't bother me much, I solved the problem with cleanapp right away. Just looking forward to next update will support external HDs. and give my 5stars to that version.
Like (2)
JasonE
22 February 2013
Make it work on 10.7 and I would love to try it. So tired of apps that require the absolute latest os when in most cases don't need to. I would pay for this app, if it worked and ran on something other than Apple's consumer OSes (10.7+).
Like (6)
Version 1.0.2
12 answer(s)
bbw7
bbw7
23 February 2013
A lotta 10.6.8 users would like to use an app such as this too.
Like (8)
Strob
Strob
23 February 2013
Ditto to what bbw7 said about Snow Leopard users. Unfortunately some developers listen to Apple tells them and some others listen to what their customers want. This developer seems to be in the former group.
Like (3)
Akanico
Akanico
25 February 2013
What about simply contacting the developer and offering him a deal instead of sharing your overall frustrations and/or gently accusing him of being some kind of sheep or whatever ? A comment as bbw7 made is enough to make a point.
Like
JasonE
JasonE
25 February 2013
You're right. I guess I was just frustrated and let it show. So many developers today lock things into the latest os release and the ones I have contacted nicely and directly never respond. You see I did offer to pay for a release that ran on more versions of OSX.
Like
Akanico
Akanico
25 February 2013
And you're absolutely right about those who doesn't bother to respond to any customer requests or troubles. That is useful information to share on MU when it happens, especially for apps that are not free.
Like
Ben-p-Williams
Ben-p-Williams
28 February 2013
Thanks for all the input, guys! At doo we're currently checking the feasibility of developing 10.7. You'd do us a huge favor by giving your reasons for not upgrading to Mountain Lion, so we can more accurately understand where you're coming from. Thanks again for taking the time to give us feedback. Keep it up! And stay abreast of any newness on FB, Twitter or our blog (blog.doo.net).
Like (1)
JasonE
JasonE
04 March 2013
There are a host of reasons people are not upgrading to 10.7 and 10.8. One of the biggest is the sheer number of bugs, inefficiencies and outright failures of 10.7 and 10.8 to professional users, especially creative users. Supposedly 10.8 corrects many of the glaring problems of 10.7, but in Apple's infinite wisdom, Apple removed the ability of a chunk of machines of even installing 10.8 (even $10k workstations). Other important reasons are the lack of speed. 10.6.8 runs circles around 10.8. I could give you a list 5 pages long on why 10.6.8 is a far better operating system. 10.7 and 10.8 are Apple's Vista pure and simple.
Like (1)
bbw7
bbw7
05 March 2013
@Ben_p_Williams, I -- and likely others -- appreciate your responding to find out why people aren't migrating to the newer Apple OS's and your considering possibly supporting 10.7. As a 10.6.8 user, I don't plan on "upgrading" anytime soon. Doing so would break my ability to use PPC-based applications via Rosetta. There is one app in particular, JoinTogether, which requires Rosetta to run, and which I use all the time. I would have to buy new software for this functionality (there are no free apps that do the same thing as JoinTogether). There are also a few other older apps I use from time to time, which I don't want to have to throw away. From what I have read of 10.7 and 10.8, I see no reason to migrate to either of these except for the fact that Apple is implementing planned obsolescence in their OS's by no longer supporting Safari (and likely other apps) for 10.6.8 EVEN THOUGH there is supposed to be one more update to 10.6, i.e. 10.6.9, before all is said and done with that OS. The newer Apple OS's seem to be driven to funnel users into being consumers of Apple's entertainment line of products and do little or nothing -- or even go backwards -- in terms of giving users more functionality and control of their systems. I know of a number of Snow Leopard users who have no plans to migrate to a newer OS. It seems Apple has lost its way, and there is no reason for its sensible user base to go down the dark road with it.
Like
Ben-p-Williams
Ben-p-Williams
06 March 2013
@JasonE and @bbw7 Your reasons for staying with older versions of OS X make perfect sense. Thanks for sharing them. We built doo for the newest version of OS X, and it may be tough for us to implement older versions. In a perfect world, doo would be available on everything. But we're a startup after all. And we've also got W8, iOS and Android to think about. We're still considering making versions for older operating systems, and your comments help immensely in that conversation. Thanks again.
Like (1)
JasonE
JasonE
06 March 2013
I completely understand. What would the feasibility of Win7 (pro) be? We're looking at moving our whole shop from Mac to Windows 7 Pro. Sick and tired of Apple and their consumer-only approach to products these days.
Like
bbw7
bbw7
07 March 2013
@Ben_p_Williams I understand completely too why you won't necessarily bring support to past OS's. OS's are only going to move forward and your company needs to rationally allot time and effort. My initial comment was just to express the point that this sounds like a useful app with a unique functionality, which is lacking for Snow Leopard users. Thanks for your replies.
Like
Joy-Livingwell
Joy-Livingwell
27 March 2013
I am sticking with 10.6 for my main machine for 2 reasons: 1. The software I depend on most runs on 10.6, whereas not all will run on later versions. 2. Usability of 10.7 and 10.8 is SIGNIFICANTLY lowered, without benefits that would make switching worth the cost. For instance, Mac OS switched from highly visible blue-and-white 3D scroll bars I can see out of the corner of my eye and click fast on without looking at directly, to narrow, hard-to-see, hard-to-click low-contrast gray-on-gray scroll bars that AREN'T obvious. They even require moving the cursor to see where you are in the document. (Tog wrote about this recently.) Plus LOTS of other UI fails.
Like
burkanov
06 November 2012
I was testing DOO since April, trying to get right with my library of scanned PDFs (about 450 files). Well, the general idea is quite good: to help people fight the papers. In Germany it is more critical than anywhere in the world, due to the ever increasing paper-traffic. After half a year of testing, I'm laying the app aside as I don't see any real improvements there - the very bunch of wrong solutions that was introduced in the early betas is still there. First of all, they rely too much on the AI, which should organize your documents. This is kind of an insane stuff, because even for the owner it's not easy to sort the documents the right way, and let some computer do it is even worse. There are lot of features, that not (always) needed, like the OCRs - why should DOO always re-OCR my .PDFs if they were already recognized? So, they rewrite my docs using worse quality as I have initially, and it's impossible to shut off. The general software is pretty slow: it takes time to do any move. The software utilizes "new, original, custom-designed" solutions for many interface elements, causing a chaos in the minds of users, who used to the normal behavior of things like tables and lists. Strangely, the DOO-devs believe, they're able to offer better UI solutions after a year of drawings, then both Apple and Microsoft after decades of designing and testing. Many functions missing or just don't work: the must-have things like "organization" are incontrollable (well, the dumb AI takes care of them) - resulting chaos in the list of organizations - of course, without possibility to fix it manually. iCloud or other storage I failed to test, because the whole "process" you have to go through to get your stuff uploaded is a usability nightmare - I simply did not manage to understand how to register / upload / or whatever is needed to get the stuff working. The software and the web-site use lots of nice skeuomorphic pictures, loud marketing bla-bla-bla and special effects. Sadly, there is currently nothing more behind this app.
Like (9)
Version 0.10.6
BlackMacX
29 October 2012
Not to critique this application, but looking at the website and also at it's security information, it's so light on real details that I would be very concerned about uploading any documents of a personal nature or containing any identifying information to a site that notes they are still working on things regarding their security. I have not tried the application because of reading the website and their information about themselves, it's too weak and early in their apparent gestation to trust an cloud application with any documents. Sorry, I will stick to TrueCrypt and Dropbox, Evernote, et al., until more information is brought forward by the company.
Like (6)
Version 0.10.6
4 answer(s)
pintapass
pintapass
29 October 2012
A half star seems pretty unfair. There's a whole section on the doo website that's dedicated to "Data security and privacy," and I found their FAQ as a whole to be fairly comprehensive and straightforward. The only thing they don't mention is the specific encryption technique used on the doo servers. doo looks like an interesting and forward-thinking document organization system. In a way, it's the shape I thought Spotlight and a re-imagined Finder might take waaaay back when Steve Jobs was talking about users being inundated with documents and folders being anachronistic. I'm eager to see how it develops.
Like (3)
::mile::
::mile::
29 October 2012
As you say yourself you haven't even tried the application so I have to agree with Eji that rating it half a star based on your impression of their website is kinda unfair -- you should have used the commenting option instead… And by giving it half a star you actually do critique the application, no matter whether you say otherwise…
Like (3)
BlackMacX
BlackMacX
29 October 2012
Review of doo v. 0.10.6 Interface The application’s interface is very un-Mac-like, looks more like a Windows application; for one that purports to be a Mac application (as well as Windows 8), this is a small but apparent issue. Cloud storage/transmission This is where I brought my issues up earlier and stand by them. The online file sync to the Cloud is very unclear as to what security they use, are they TNO, what encryption do they use, is it encrypted at the point of origin before leaving my machine and through a SSL tunnel or is it sent in the clear? Doo’s security with regards to data on their service is that they can share (in exceptional circumstances) the information with authorities; to this suggests that they hold your encryption keys and not you. This model is very much like that of Dropbox, and so, I again stand by my security note earlier, that you shouldn’t upload any documentation that is of a personally identifying nature (or encrypt it first; but this does away with the purpose of doo). Also, the data collected by doo about you is concerning as it tracks your internet usage pattern (regardless of why it is collected, they collect it Privacy Policy: Collection and use of data Automated data collection When accessing the doo website, your internet browser automatically transmits data for technical reasons. The following pieces of data are stored separately from other data that you might transmit to doo: Access date and time Operating system used URL of the previously visited website Quantity of transmitted data This data is at any time stored exclusively for technical reasons and is not associated with a specific person An regardless of whether is is anonimized, it is trackable back to you, as they time and date, along with your OS (and other information in your browser’s UserAgent string that helps to uniquely identify your machine), the URL(s) of previously visited website(s) and such. Also, as per their policy, they reserve the right to provide anonymized User information, so that says they have it in an unanonymized form originally. Sorry, but the more one reads about this service (their online cloud functionality and their privacy policy), the more you should be concerned about your privacy and the data you upload into the Cloud. The Privacy Policy is based on German requirements and laws, that is fine; but users need to be aware of those laws, it’s impact on them and that their privacy is potentially at risk. So, yes, I put my initial thoughts and concerns above; others have said it was unfair; but do you understand the lack of security that this application's Cloud has regarding your data? It is very poor and though they are fairly clear about how open they can be with your data and who you are, it should still concern you that beta software is being offered in this manner. That is my overall concern, that the application's Cloud is less then secure and less then private really. If you as a user want to upload private data and have it available to anyone that Doo provides information too (whether for investigative reasons, marketing, et al.), that is your choice; but be aware that they do track and retain data about you that should be really kept well guarded. Now, that all said, the application is free (though there is a pricing model for usage of their Cloud service); it does do a lot of tagging, which at one point was handy for me; but I learned to use the built-in functions of the Mac to meet my needs better then I found applications like Doo and others (Punakea specifically) provided. So, I hope it improves and that for users aware of what it is, what it is meant to do and also it's downfalls, that it succeeds. For me, I do not plan on using it anymore then I have to this point.
Like (5)
Wickedkitten
Wickedkitten
29 October 2012
For anyone trying the application, it doesn't automatically send your documents anywhere, you have to manually activate syncing
Like