Back to Scapple page
Scapple free download for Mac

Scapple Reviews1.3.4

12 December 2019

Free-form mind-mapping tool.

Derekcurrie
04 July 2019
Version: 1.3.3

Most helpful

Oh good. Now it can check for updates. I was back on v1.3.02 and hadn't manually checked to see it had been updated, until now.
(3)

How would you rate Scapple app?

Read 21 Scapple User Reviews

Derekcurrie
04 July 2019
Version: 1.3.3
Oh good. Now it can check for updates. I was back on v1.3.02 and hadn't manually checked to see it had been updated, until now.
(3)
Dr-Sparks
17 March 2019
Version: 1.3.2
"Scapple 1.3.2 30 Nov 2017". MacUpdate's date at the top is not correct. That date was about Scapple 1.3.1. The 1.3.2 version that downloads was launched in January, 2019: https://www.literatureandlatte.com/scapple/release-notes?os=macOS
(0)
Show comments (2)
5
DrPfaff
20 July 2018
Version: 1.3.1
An unbelievably simple app that does one thing exceptionally well. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles of other mind mappers, but it really helps you focus on what you need to do. It takes about one minute to learn the program, and then you never have to think about it again. I use it for planning events and software development projects. I started using the 30 day free trial, and bought it after just 4 days. Well worth it.
(2)
5
Teksestro
30 November 2017
Version: 1.3
Easy to use, intuitive interface, does its with just enough features to make it incredibly attractive, without becoming complicated. To top it off, it's cheap!
(2)
5
Haevuus
21 November 2017
Version: 1.3
I was beginning to despair about ever seeing this handy-dandy tool undated. In all honesty, I had begun to cast about for something else to fill the gap…and I found nothing that pleased me. Even though most offerings cost significantly more, they had bells, whistles and dancing-baloney that simply were not needed to get the job done. Sheer overkill, most of 'em.

How I see The Job: When ideas come pouring out faster than you can pigeonhole them, an app can't be asking for levels, indents, formatting decisions, background color, or any other fru-fru folderol. That just takes the precious heat of the moment and mis-directs it away from the critical brain-dump.

With Scapple, you can just start clicking all over the field, splattering the background with your gems of concept. Then when the creative firestorm has charged on by, you can go back in cool reflection and start making sense of it all. Scapple has enough formatting and connecting bits to keep the ideas sitting softly in your right brain, or once you drag everthing into a fixed structure you can use, just export it on down the road to your operating apps.

Yeah, it took Keith Blount a little time to re-visit this little tool, but when he weighed-in and took it to 1.3, he made it significantly better without gumming up the works. I don't think he even raised the price.

And hey…fifteen bucks?! For that you get a five-star, go-to gizmo!
(5)
5
ivanm
25 June 2017
Version: 1.20.1
I love Scapple so much – it has become my brain's extension in the last 5 years. I use it for to-do lists, product design drafts, game designs, software development notes, cheatsheets of what I've learned, etc.

Yes, it's not updated for years but there's not so much to add. It's a great virtual whiteboard with some mind-mapping features.
(1)
4.5
le-petit-compositeur
28 May 2017
Version: 1.20.1
Great app, no redundant bells and whistles, just the most important elements put into freeform canvas.
(1)
4
Funjoy
29 December 2016
Version: 1.20.1
Basic, basic, basic ... but useful. For an app that hasn't been updated in more than two years I still find it useful to make/draw back-of-the-envelope style mindmaps. It's simple and attractive, but lacking basic features present in mindmap apps like iThoughts or MindNode like groups and locking. Also, for an app that hasn't been updated in more than two years $15 seems a bit too high. Lately I've seen this app included in a bunch of app-bundle deals and it's a lovely addition to have but I am not sure I'd recommend it at the current $15 price.
(3)
3.5
Max-G
03 February 2016
Version: 1.20.1
While for the most part this app is great, it certainly needs some fine-tuning. Imho basic features like group/ungroup and lock/unlock are missing. And changing the appearance of connections/arrows is a crime. I do hope this isn't abandonware, the app is way to good to let it slip away. An alternative for Scapple seems to be the app 'Big Hairy Goal'. Although not working together with Scrivener as seamlessly as Scapple, imported BHG-files do show up as picture and allow drag/drop of text v.v.
(3)
Show comment (1)
5
Hkim
27 February 2014
Version: 1.1
This is a killer application for me. It is so simple and because of that is flexible. I missed the old version of Stickybrain and for me, this is the successor. I would highly recommend Scapple for anyone that wants to sketch out ideas or workflow or their thoughts in general.
(1)
5
Ronnb
21 February 2014
Version: 1.1
This is a most excellent bit of software in both flexibility and design. Unlike other "mind-mapping" software, it is easy to use. Maybe I would have called this "foolscap" instead of "Scapple", but it is a must-buy for me.
(0)
5
anonymous-rabbit-5199
08 February 2014
Version: 1.1
All other similar tools are too boastful and cluther your mind with too many features, whereas Scapple gets to the point: what's on your mind and how does it relate to your other entries?
(1)
5
Philosopherdog
20 January 2014
Version: 1.1
Simply brilliant. But what do you expect from the author of Scrivener. I've always found other mindmapping tools too limiting. A dropbox sync setting would be nice for those working on more than one machine. Love to see an iPad companion to this app.
(2)
2.5
csk137
06 November 2013
Version: 1.1
It seems that my mouse pointer slipped, and Macupdate's web site translated this into a 2.5-star rating for Scapple which I never posted and can't remove. I've only started to evaluate Scapple, but rather than leave Macupdate's spurious low rating, I'll give it five starts all around. It looks useful, and if it's even half as good as their Scrivener, it's a winner.
(1)
3
suzaiinwatsongmailcom3940
27 July 2013
Version: 1.0
Scapple seems like that it is a good mind mapping tool but i want to read the reviews of this tool. can please anyone share. http://www.mindmappingsite.com/sw-tool-reviews/software-reviews
(0)
Show comment (1)
macuser96
02 June 2013
Version: 1.0
That's EXACTLY what I was looking for for a very long time. Everytime I was asking for an application that lets me collect ideas and/or todos, people told me to use a mind-map and/or a todo-list. They never understood that this was not what I wanted.
(1)
5
Radus
28 April 2013
Version: 1.0
It is easy to use and fun to use. But it should be better integrated in Scrivener: - import scapple map into scrivener and open it as an external application ( now a scapple file is of "unsupported file type" ?? ) - maintain links to files dragged onto a scapple map, and give a way to open them in their favorite application But nevertheless easier than other mind mapp apps, 5 stars, but room for improvement.
(0)
Show comment (1)
5
darrel-2
20 March 2013
Version: 0.9.0.4
After seeing Microsoft Office OneNote on a PC for the first time just a few weeks ago and immediately recognizing its simplicity and value, I was unable to find a comparable application for my preferred platform until now. Scapple is *exactly* what I was looking for: a free form virtual board for writing down notes and ideas without all the (mostly unused) extras and features of your typical outlining program. Till today I've been using PostIt Notes (also known as FLYNs = "effing little yellow notes") for these purposes, but very likely no more. I'll be a registered customer as soon as 1.0 is released. The only thing I don't like about Scapple is its name!
(2)
5
Jazzyguy
17 October 2012
Version: 0.9
Great app!!! I love it!
(0)
4.5
Lord-Lightning
17 October 2012
Version: 0.9
If you are a writer and you want to take your ideas into Scrivener this is simply a must have app. If you are a writer and you want to capture your ideas as they come to you instead of using a whiteboard or a sheet of A3 paper this is simply a must have app. If you are a writer and you want to capture your ideas in freeform and shape them as inspiration leads you to your story this is simply a must have app. I have been using Spaccle to work a novel by chapter and scene in Scrivener. So, for example, I have Chapter 19, scene 2 where my hero has overcome a terrible temptation and just beaten the villain by a whisker, but he is left wondering if it was worth it or what it all meant. I opened a blank Spaccle page and just day-dreamed all over it - click-click/idea, click-click/idea, click-click/idea and so on, and now I have found a perfectly clear way to hook my hero's dilemma into the last chapter. Ideas as they come. OPML output to Scrivener's Corkboard. Easily drop one idea on another to make a connection. If you want to use a brilliant writing, idea capture and outlining app by the industry's best and most responsive developer just try Scapple. Scapple - Yes! (Scapple for Apple) Love it.
(1)
Show comments (2)
4.5
S/ash
16 October 2012
Version: 0.9
Great work! I was waiting for something like this. Really love the infinite canvas and the ease of use and the keyboard shortcuts. I'm looking forward to future releases.
(2)