Back to SlimBoat page
SlimBoat free download for Mac

SlimBoat Reviews

1.1.50
07 September 2014

Fast and secure web browser.

Robtpatrick
01 December 2012

Most helpful

This browser caught my attention on the "mixed reviews" so I am providing a objective not subjective review. The browser has the best "security" in the following; complete deletion of your sessions, cookies cache etc. It has "private browsing, it took me for a walk thru for preferences, It may not be"speedy Gonzalez" and it may not have what the users wish as a preference, but in today's world, protection is important; with regards to "crashing" look at third party software and update or remove; like Opera certain browsers require updated plug in's; this is good practice, as Adobe, and others have taken their time on this issue; It came in at 204 on the HTML 5 test; that is fine in exchange for security; you have to go to tools, privacy and clear all trace, that will get rid of all your information. You will notice I require no preferences to make mr happy; just use the browser, and let the"third parties" do what they are suposed to. If an update comes so be it!. It has an "auto remember" function also; this browser is a cross between Chrome and Safari with no plug ins; it's ad block and "pop up blocker" are excellent.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.7

Read 23 SlimBoat User Reviews

Rate this app:

FireMuffin
08 September 2014
Is this browser WebKit-based? I don't dare hope it uses its own engine, but if so, it'll have my full support.
Like
Version 1.1.50
Jazzyguy
03 February 2014
The present state of this browser is BAD. I tried to get to the preferences and all I got was a spinning Beachball. It wouldn't do anything at all. I trashed it and all its preferences. You would be surprised at how many files it puts on your Mac. I had to clear them out with Find any File.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.45
macrookie12
28 July 2013
Some websites do not work properly. For example with kohls.com you can't open links. So the site is useless. You can't even log in. I do not know why this is happening but I did notify the makers of SlimBoat. So for now this browser can't become my main browser.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.32
I'm going to wait a while before actually "reviewing" this one, as I think it still needs some time before I can be fair about it. I was pleased with its overall speed... and that it has some extended control over search engines... though it still defaults to the Gobbler (a.k.a. Google) no matter what I add (tsk tsk). As to social system interpretation, sorry, but I'm not impressed. What it offers is the same that I can get (but sometimes better) in any other browsers I use or have tried. Give me an HTML editor that connects to override the textareas of some systems like Blogger (which is terrible and getting worse in its "we know better" formatting) and then I'll be impressed. As the developer keeps developing, I'll keep watching SlimBoat... as it has caught my attention. But for now, my alternate browsers will remain Chromium for adaptability and adequate security and SRWIron for (unsurpassed) security when needed.
Like
Version 1.1.30
2 answer(s)
Michaelthegeek
Michaelthegeek
02 May 2013
How are you running chromium and SRWIron on the ome Mac?
Like
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
15 June 2013
Don't know what to tell you, Michael. I just do. It works and that's all I can say. I also run the latest Safari (blech!) and Firefox (ho hum, as it has become too bloated) for the sake of testing changes to my online web systems. All run find with each other present, including all running at the same time.
Like
Jeff-H-
04 April 2013
I like the browser. Very quick loading. None of the cool Magic Trackpad gestures seems to work...only dealbreaker here.
Like
Version 1.1.27
bbw7
20 March 2013
This is a review for ver. 1.1.26 I notice a marked speed improvement in uploading pages at some sites, which Safari (5.1.7) doesn't render correctly, relative to version 1.1.24 (guess I missed the memo on 1.1.25 being out as I hadn't been using SB lately because of this slowness relative to iCab). Bumping my rating of it up for this feature accordingly. Very glad to see that there are developers who care more about Apple users who aren't using the newest OS than does the big A itself -- that "A" is starting to stand for another word that ends in "le". And I still don't see any darkening of my dock under OS 10.6.8 while running SB, so downgrade my comment if you must, whoever did so to my last comment on this issue. I'll also note that the developers are still putting out regular updates fairly frequently that have sensible version numbers (HELLO Firefox and Chrome), and that these updates seem to have definite improvements to them. Kudos, Flashpeak.
Like
Version 1.1.26
bbw7
23 February 2013
Still a bit unstable downloading from some sites and when trying to view some videos (not sure) which. Bottom line: do any large downloads from another browser, such as Safari. I do like Slimboat's download menu for renaming a file to be downloaded, so I use it for smaller and faster downloads still.
Like
Version 1.1.24
Hkim
22 January 2013
This browser runs quicker than Safari and Firefox in 10.6.8. I like the built-in ad blocking too. I wish it were a bit more configurable in that I would take out all of the linking to facebook and twitter since I don't need that. Overall, this is a very nice browser that handles javascript environments well. Disqus comments load quicker here than in Safari or FF.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.21
2 answer(s)
Ronnb
Ronnb
22 January 2013
It is faster with some sites but, on sites with a lot of javascript, it is sluggish and does bomb. The "history" list of URLs is awkward to use and so is switching from window to window. There are some good points to this browser though.
Like (1)
bbw7
bbw7
23 February 2013
Yes, it can be slow loading pages with Javascript, but at least it renders such pages correctly, unlike a number of other browsers, including Safari 5.x. I've noticed this slowness in both vers. 1.2.1 and 1.2.4.
Like
bbw7
21 January 2013
The current MU download is 1.1.6 (according to bundle listing in "info.plist") and the current version is 1.2.0, which is available at the developer's site. Flashpeak seems to be turning around a lot of little updates with a few fixes in each, which would seem to be a good thing. I have noticed less than stellar speed when loading webpages with Flash and other animations. To disable autoloading of flash animations: Tools->Download Control->Do Not Load Flash Object Automatically[toggle on with a check] Then Flash objects will show a Flash icon which one can click on if one is a glutton for Flash animation punishment. I found other aggrieving animations that this didn't stop, but which could be blocked by right clicking the the offending object and using the "Block Element" option, and this did the trick. Objects so blocked show up in the filter list under the Adblock menu, and there can be removed if you desire them to show again. This cuts way back on CPU usage and speeds up page loading and scrolling.
Like
Version 1.1.17
1 answer(s)
bbw7
bbw7
21 January 2013
Make that versions 1.1.16 and 1.1.20 which I was referring to. Wouldn't want to shame myself...
Like
bbw7
05 January 2013
Been trying this browser out for a little while now, and like what I've seen so far. Is stable and fast, and renders pages well. The built-in ad and pop-ip blockers work. Don't know if this is related or not, but those pesky "I like/we recommend" windows in the LRHC of a page on some sites is also minimized; for this alone I like this browser. The backwards/forwards functionality is also quite quick, along with extra little icon/buttons for a dropdown menu of past URLs to choose from. That said, there are several improvements that come to me straight away: 1) As is, when this app is open and I open a .txt file (by double clicking it), it opens it within the browser, even though my default application for .txt files is still TextEdit; by using the contextual menu I can still open the file in TextEdit. Looking in SB's preferences I can find no pertinent fields to chage, nor does there appear to be a thread on the SB forum about this. It's nice having this feature, i.e. viewing .txt within the browser, but it seems how it functions could be tweeked and preferences provided for. 2) The download manager window is a bit minimalistic; it could use more info, such as the file size and amount downloaded so far, as well as time remaining 3) It would be nice to have an auto-update/install feature. As is, if you check, it just directs you to the SB download page and you have to do everything manually. 4) This is more an issue of the SB/Flashpeak website: the versions page refers to ver 4.x, while the newest for Mac is 1.x; I'm guessing the higher-numbered versions is for Windows, but in any case it is confusing/inscrutable.
Like
Version 1.1.17
3 answer(s)
stvjhson
stvjhson
08 January 2013
Thanks a lot for your feedback, bbw7. The download manager defaults to a small size to avoid blocking webpage while the file is being downloaded. But you can right click on a download job and select "Open Download manager" to open the full size download manager. It's available from the tools->download manager menu. I am not able to produce what you described about the issue of SlimBoat opening text files. We didn't mean to do anything like that either. SlimBoat is designed to handle html files only. But I will take another look about it. We might consider auto-update feature in the future. I don't know where you see V4.x. We do have another windows browser called SlimBrowser from http://www.slimbrowser.net. But that one has version number of 6.01.xx. SlimBoat is currently at V1.1.xx.
Like
bbw7
bbw7
09 January 2013
@FlashPeak, Thank you for your reply. After writing my review, I came upon the additional Download Manager window, which is quite adequate in terms of the information provided. I'd also just add that I like how SB prompts one for the download location and filename; that makes it easy to add version info to software downloads. Just updated to SB 1.1.8 and I no longer have that issue with .txt files being read into the browser, so I think something must have changed in that rregard. Don't know what I was looking at before, but yes indeed, the "changes-log/what's-new page says version 1.x.
Like
Robtpatrick
Robtpatrick
12 January 2013
You should be ashamed of yourself for posting a review which contains "preferences just for you" The day I learned about this browsr, I downloaded it with no complaining or required peferences. I have used it from day 1 with no issues, and the download manager SHOULD BE tiny, and indeed contains a internet speed, and percent download; it is perfect; this is not a "preference" it is objective, not subjective; you wil not find this user complaining only praising the brwser.
Like
Jazzyguy
02 January 2013
On 10.6.8 on both of my imacs running this OS this browser DIMS the dock and to get my dock back I had to trash the browser and restart my MAC.This is really strange,but with Slimboat out of Snow Leopard everything is fine.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.17
1 answer(s)
bbw7
bbw7
05 January 2013
I'm running OS 10.6.8 on a 2010 MBP and have not noticed this dimming dock issue while running SlimBoat.
Like
Jazzyguy
01 January 2013
When I notified The Developer about the fast scrolling speed this is the reply I got. Stephen Cheng 9:35 PM (12 hours ago) to me Hello, Can you try modifying the mouse scroll speed in the system preferences->mouse? Best Regards Stephen Cheng FlashPeak Inc Email: support@flashpeak.com 2012-12-31
Like (1)
Version 1.1.17
2 answer(s)
stvjhson
stvjhson
01 January 2013
What we have found so far is that SlimBoat doesn't take the mouse scrolling setting from the system. But I am not 100% sure that's the cause of your problem. I will keep you posted when we found the cause of the problme.
Like
stvjhson
stvjhson
08 January 2013
We have added an option in V1.1.18 to allow users to set mousewheel scrolling speeds.
Like
hwgray
01 January 2013
It launches, asks whether the windows open at the previous freeze should be re-opened.. NO. Freeze. Repeat. Re-open? YES. Make default? NO. Freeze. Repeat. Re-open? YES. Default? YES. Crash. Repeat. Re-open? YES. Crash. Repeat. Re-open? NO. Crash. Fuck it. I guess this app isn't meant to work with an iMac running OS X pre-release v10.3.
Like
Version 1.1.17
4 answer(s)
stvjhson
stvjhson
01 January 2013
I am sorry. We haven't tested SlimBoat with OS X 10.3. We only support it for snow leopoard or later.
Like
hwgray
hwgray
02 January 2013
That's fine. FlahPeak. I'm happy to wait for the eventual update, then. But, bear in mind that, strictly speaking, "Snow Leopard or later" logically includes Mountain Lion! ;-)
Like
stvjhson
stvjhson
08 January 2013
You said 10.3. Mountain lion is 10.8. Or you mean 10.8.3?
Like
hwgray
hwgray
08 January 2013
Yes. OS X Mountain Lion v10.8.3 pre-release. I regret the error.
Like
Jazzyguy
30 December 2012
The scrolling is TOO FAST. It makes web Pages unreadable. There is no way to slow the scrolling speed down. I amusing 10.8.2.I like the browser but I can no longer use it in this condition.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.17
Jazzyguy
29 December 2012
Very Nice Browser.Nice GUI and runs well!
Like (2)
Version 1.1.17
Aeschylus
29 December 2012
I wanted to like this. It has possibilities. It really does. But it has too many flaws to use now. 1. The Magic Trackpad is incompatible. If the site is zoomed in, scrolling almost never stops. It is glacially slow, but goes on and on. 2. The folders I have in the bookmarks bar take up too much space, so I clicked on the double arrow to the right. Nothing. Can't see half my bookmarks. 3. A + and - option for zoom in the toolbar would be very helpful. There are lots of good ideas here. I hope the rough edges are smoothed, and I'll come back to this again.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.17
Robtpatrick
01 December 2012
This browser caught my attention on the "mixed reviews" so I am providing a objective not subjective review. The browser has the best "security" in the following; complete deletion of your sessions, cookies cache etc. It has "private browsing, it took me for a walk thru for preferences, It may not be"speedy Gonzalez" and it may not have what the users wish as a preference, but in today's world, protection is important; with regards to "crashing" look at third party software and update or remove; like Opera certain browsers require updated plug in's; this is good practice, as Adobe, and others have taken their time on this issue; It came in at 204 on the HTML 5 test; that is fine in exchange for security; you have to go to tools, privacy and clear all trace, that will get rid of all your information. You will notice I require no preferences to make mr happy; just use the browser, and let the"third parties" do what they are suposed to. If an update comes so be it!. It has an "auto remember" function also; this browser is a cross between Chrome and Safari with no plug ins; it's ad block and "pop up blocker" are excellent.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.7
2 answer(s)
Robtpatrick
Robtpatrick
06 December 2012
An addnedum to my review; the developer EMaiedl me about a new version;sure enouigh the version is now 1.1.14; the addition of a progress bar, and misc additions were made; HTML test was 240.
Like (2)
Robtpatrick
Robtpatrick
17 December 2012
Slimboat has been updated to 1.1.15, changes are below! • Automatically fill forms when a matching saved form is detected. • Save user agent settings on a per-domain basis • Fixed context menu in online email composer text area. • Added menu "File->Save Shortcut"
Like (1)
Maxter
28 October 2012
Fast and features packed Browser. Crashes every now and then. The GUI would need some polish. If you are (like me) allergic to "Chrome" give it a try. With some effort from the Dev this can become a browser of choice for the Mac.
Like
Version 1.1.7
Adorno
25 October 2012
I have an Intel MacBook running Tiger (v 10.4.11) and it does NOT run SlimBoat. When I try to open it, the app logo begins to "jump" in the Dock but quickly disappears. In other words, the app cannot be opened.
Like
Version 1.1.7
Merimac
22 October 2012
Very promising but please, please change those icons.
Like
Version 1.1.7
ChrisHowardpyva
22 October 2012
I tried it with Facebook; the redraw when scrolling was jittery. I also use a FB plugin called Social Fixer and without those features FB isn't what I want it to be.
Like
Version 1.1.7
stvjhson
21 October 2012
Great browser for Mac. Fast to load. Rich in features.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.6
darrel-2
14 October 2012
An amazingly feature rich WebKit-based browser offering YouTube video downloads, integration with popular websites, etc. with an extensive set of preferences. Unfortunately, the toolbar icons look like they were taken directly from Windows and it doesn't follow some typical browser conventions (such as Command + L NOT highlighting the location URL). After adding this, my list of web browsers for the Macintosh has now hit the 200-browser milestone.
Like
Version 1.1.6
2 answer(s)
Penguirl
Penguirl
22 October 2012
Stating the obvious, you can always change the kb shortcuts in the Keyboard Pref Pane.
Like
stvjhson
stvjhson
07 December 2012
The command+L has been added in the newest version.
Like