Back to yCal page
yCal free download for Mac

yCal Reviews

1.6.1450
14 April 2019

Yearly calendar application.

piquadratpi2
17 February 2013

Most helpful

Bought it this moment because its translated into the german language too. And because I find it very important to have a good working cal with a yearview. The features are great and the price is ok. A big thanks to the developers...
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1108

Read 21 yCal User Reviews

Rate this app:

Funjoy
03 May 2015
Looks like a useful app. The year planner on my wall has months as horizontal, not vertical, and it aligns all weekends so you can see things (in my opinion) more clearly. It is a very popular calendar design in Europe and it looks like this: http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/81bHnne7kSL._SL1500_.jpg I just wish that this was a yCal option...
Like
Version 1.4.1260
Jbaret
29 June 2014
You cannot write text which is visible at all the dates in the yearly view... Pretty silly for a yearly calendar!
Like
Version 1.3.1243
1 answer(s)
WhizBits
WhizBits
03 May 2015
This feature has been added with v1.4... add notes to days and have them show in the year view...
Like (3)
Manofdogz
26 June 2014
Downloaded trial but it wouldn't import data from existing calendar - I guess because it's a shared across iCloud. Nice idea - I would appreciate the ability to look at the year in a glance but really needs to update this inability to work with shared calendars
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1243
1 answer(s)
Widber
Widber
26 June 2014
Hi Manofdogz, just tried the trial too and found that everything syncs perfectly on Mavericks
Like (1)
Isacin
01 January 2014
The year view is very useful.
Like
Version 1.3.1222
Starman63
28 December 2013
A nice idea but still very buggy. All day appointments very iffy, often color over other appointments - seems to depend on which order you make the appointment. I changed a view setting and found all the years changed to '-1' as a year number, with no appointments. Latest udate makes scrolling between yhears even more difficult (it was hard to start) Very unintuitive and far from ready for prime time.
Like
Version 1.3.1205
yellow-submarine
22 May 2013
basically nice idea, but more or less still a beta version: - integration with existing calendars currently only via ical - no option to drag and draw to enter appointments, neither on the yearly nor the weekly calendar view (major drawback!) - appointments can't span over several days - weekly view does only show 5 days (despite it's button label "7"?!) - not very clear what to do with annotations and markings. appointments is what we want. ;) - currently too expensive for what it does. complete it, and it'll be worth the money.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1151
1 answer(s)
Frankns
Frankns
28 July 2013
Have to agree ... Although I figured out how to get a 7 day view, performance is spotty. Some clicks work, some don't. Scrolling is uneven/unreliable. Hard to tell if I've done the wrong thing or if I need to wait for the app to catch up. That said, I like the UI feel in general and the use of a tab for all day events is clever. But not much there there for the money.
Like
vr64
04 April 2013
Hi, great app; configuration worked fine and everything seems to be there (both iCal and google cal). Only (huge) problem is I can't see any information on a selected day or period in the year-view (not hovering, clicking, space bar, nothing); and yes every calendar is selected, but all I can see are the colours...
Like
Version 1.1.1141
Max-G
29 March 2013
Huh? No Todo-list included?
Like
Version 1.1.1132S
Tswensen
28 March 2013
I bought it. I paid. None of the links from the MacUpdate pages or the email I received after buying it work nor does the link to your Web site. I can't download it so I can't use it. Please send me a link or a URL that will work. Thanks. terryswensen@mac.com
Like
Version 1.1.1132S
esspii
26 March 2013
I have tried and tried to get this to work- figured I would try the trial first - cant get past the repeated pop-up register reminder, and did not like how my calendars had their names changed. Not intuitive at all. Definitely a promising app, but I think its still in beta.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1132S
2 answer(s)
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
26 March 2013
Ignoring the very frequent pop-up register box, the issue of re-naming my calendars also annoyed me very much. It turns out the reason is that I had a Reminder list with my initials that conflicted in yCal with a Calendar with my initials. yCal resolved this by renaming my Calendar with no dialogue or warning or anything - one minute my Calendars were named as I had wanted them, the next they were appended with "-1" and I wasted another hour trying to rename them before realising the conflict scenario. The most annoying thing is that I now can't rename my Calendar back to what it used to be, no matter that yCal is no longer on my computer. It has left some legacy code or settings somewhere in iCloud or on my Computer that prevents me restoring the names of my Calendars in Calendar.
Like (1)
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
27 March 2013
hmm, BEFORE I tried yCal, I had a Calendar named ABC, and I had a Reminder List called ABC. No problems with any aspect of using them. AFTER I tried yCal, I had ABC and ABC-1 and I am unable to rename ABC-1 to ABC.
Like
Eric•Woehler
25 March 2013
Couldn't get it to work. Config assistant didn't help. I have 4 calendars and about 6 subscriptions but the calendar views all remained completely blank. Not a single event showed anywhere. Tried various command-clicks to see options for various calendars etc, tried various settings in Preferences etc and nothing worked. After 15 minutes of trying various settings and options/playing around looking to get this thing to work, I decided I had wasted enough time and have deleted it, and won't be back. Many thanks for the Dev for allowing trial before buying - I would have been v angry if I had bought this app and had been unable to use it as expected/advertise.
Like
Version 1.1.1132S
Christophe-LALEVEE
25 March 2013
Hello, I've just downloaded the app and start to try it. At a first glance, it's sounds efficient but I'm looking for french version right now to buy it.... How long should I wait? Clop
Like
Version 1.1.1132S
1 answer(s)
Christophe-LALEVEE
Christophe-LALEVEE
26 March 2013
hi, So, send to me your strings and I translate you the app. Can I get a free app for that? clop
Like
Ghw
25 March 2013
Great! Markers are the last reason for me to have a big paper calendar at my wall ... So it's a great opportunity for seeing at a glance what's going on during the year. But I miss the oportunity to print the year-view ... I can only print weekly views and it builds a blurry and strange output ... did I miss something or is this a future feature? :) p.s. kubaw comment is also a needed feature
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1132S
3 answer(s)
Ghw
Ghw
25 March 2013
Just recognized that improved printing is mentioned as backlog at developpers website ... hoping for a soon update!
Like
Ghw
Ghw
25 March 2013
Sorry, me again ... what's about a monthly view (with markers?)
Like
Ghw
Ghw
25 April 2013
With Update printing is now fine! Thanks!
Like
kubaw
25 March 2013
I was a click away to purchase - but the application is missing a feature that is crucial for me. Ability to assign particular day to one specific project of those I am currently working over. I could either use Notes (great) or Markers (even greater) but color indication is not enough for me (with 40 projects I immediately run out of colors) - I need to see a little Marker Name directly in 365 view. Also Note marker is not enough - as I need to hover to check whether my day is assigned to Project 1 or Project 2 or free. If author promises to add this feature soon (display Marker name or Note first words directly in 365 view cells) I promise to buy a license today. ;-)
Like
Version 1.1.1132S
3 answer(s)
kubaw
kubaw
25 March 2013
Thanks. I thought I made it clear: I would love to see the Note (a few first letters of course) without hovering. :-)
Like (1)
kubaw
kubaw
25 March 2013
You could also consider another option (among other two): displaying directly in calendar's cell the name of all-day task from selected calendars (if there are more than one all-day tasks: first of available). I know people who travel a lot, and use all-day tasks to indicate their planned location. Using calendar instead of Markers/Notes in this scenario allow editing outside of yCal.
Like
kubaw
kubaw
25 March 2013
Hmm, I'd rather meant that user had one of four options for "Show this text in each calendars cell:" - none - marker's name - note - first all-day task in selected calendars Until then the 365 view is a rainbow of meaningless colors. :-)
Like
Akashaenkil
25 March 2013
Not what I expected at all.
Like
Version 1.1.1132S
Akashaenkil
25 March 2013
When I select a day, there seems to have no way to see the information. Wether I click, double-click, space bar, on the day, nothing shows at all. Also, I thought it would have been possible to move the items from one day to the other from the 7 days view to the 365 days view. There are no modifications possible.
Like
Version 1.1.1132S
tadekp
25 March 2013
I have installed demo version but no entries from my iCal are visible. The available iCal calenders are listed on the left column but no data available in the single dates.
Like
Version 1.1.1132S
1 answer(s)
Akashaenkil
Akashaenkil
25 March 2013
My calendar is all there and synchronized. I see the different colours on my days in the year view. The problem is that when I select a day, double-click or even just bring the mouse on the day, nothing appears. I can't see anything from the year view besides the colours. I would have thought that it would have been possible to modify the event from the year view as it's the purpose of the year view. If I want to move an event from one date to another, I have to type in the date. Not really useful when you have many items to modify. Nothing more than iCal at this point.
Like
Eric•Woehler
25 March 2013
So how is this different from the version in the Apple Store? Both are v1.1, MAS version is AUD$16.99. Any differences in functionality, ability to upgrade etc? Am interested but want to know these things before I hand over the $.
Like
Version 1.1.1132S
piquadratpi2
17 February 2013
Bought it this moment because its translated into the german language too. And because I find it very important to have a good working cal with a yearview. The features are great and the price is ok. A big thanks to the developers...
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1108
rednose84
16 February 2013
I like the app! The overview on a whole year with the ability to mark days with colors is something I've been looking for for a long time.
Like
Version 1.1.1108
Gensch
27 January 2013
Excellent alternative calendar app with lots of helpful features. Especially the presentation of a whole year in one view and the ability to mark days and add notes are much appreciated. Would give five stars if it didn't still require iCal (or: Calendar in 10.8) for synchronizing with CalDAV servers.
Like
Version 1.1